Pearl Harbor II: Pearlmageddon (2001) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
People Just Don't Get It
SoncoChairman1 July 2003
I know loads and loads of people who have seen this movie and they have all told me how insulting and disrespectful it was toward the memory of the people lost in the Pearl Harbor attack. Folks, it is not making fun of the situations that it represents, it is a satire of the films directed by Michael Bay. It's accuracy in portraying the superficial storytelling and ludicrous shots that have been famous with Bay is unmatched. I think it is truly creative to blend three movies, Armageddon, The Rock and Pearl Harbor, into own ridiculous tale. I give the director of Pearlmageddon mad props for making this film. I laughed and laughed and laughed. My only problem with the film is that I didn't make it first.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Relax....
shadrach_7813 November 2004
I saw this movie a few years back at the Comedy Arts festival in Aspen when it got picked up by Cinemax. Great short, I think the people who find it insulting don't know the Michael Bay/Jerry Bruckheimer style film-making it mocks. Saying that PH2 is disrespectful to the veterans is like saying The Dancing Cow is disrespectful to Harvey Weinstein. Personally, I think the glossy portrayal of Pearl Harbor that Michael Bay made is more insulting than PH2, but thats just my opinion. As for Rob Moniot, this guy has a great eye and is a hilarious writer, and if you haven't seen his other movie, The Dancing Cow, check it out. Its just as good, if not better than PH2, knuck, knuck, knuck... -A fan
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The best spoof EVER!!!!!
DScottHewittEMTB17 December 2002
This fifteen minute short is a hundred times better than the revisionist crap it makes fun of. I found myself laughing all the way through it. I hear schools are making kids watch "Pearl Harbor" around December 7th. They should watch this short film, then a real movie about the cowardly attack on Pearl Harbor. A movie such as "Tora, Tora, Tora".
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BRILLIANT!!!!!
favrefanmt_2328 May 2004
Saw this short on Cinemax. I absolutely adored it! I've read a lot of the other comments about this film and they talk about how insulting it is to veterans and blah-blah. Well that's just crap. The intention of the film is to deliver a much deserved slam to Michael Bay and Jerry Bruckheimer (two of the worst filmmakers in all of film history) and their all style/no substance $100 million action flicks. And to this point the short succeeds impressively. With scenes of quick back-and-forth, genre-distilling moments ("I'm the smartest man on your panel who never speaks up unless the world is in terrible danger..."), Ben Affleck is blown up by a piece of asteroid. Funny, funny stuff. But more then funny, it's down-right clever. Congratulations Mr. Moniot, you just got yourself a fan! 10 out of 10
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Excellent!
cassondragordon31 October 2002
Yes! This is a most excellent film, making fun of all that is wrong with inane action thrillers full of eye candy but no plot. This is no medium for impossible technology, fast cars, and pointless special effects. This is the kind of farce I would make if I had the time (and the budget, and the eye candy).
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Decent Short Film....
tdvda22 July 2002
I caught this film on Cinemax, and i must say its a decent short comedy all though I've seen better on cinemax & HBO, like "In God We Trust" & "Da Six Sense."

If you like this film you'll differently like those. I give this movie 3 out of 5 stars.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
As much of a parody as a special effects show
Mr Dark Pink1 August 2005
Despite what you may think, this movie is not a Michael Bay parody. It makes fun of three of his movies, but they do not make fun of his style or his personality. Camera work makes no attempt to emulate Bay's DPs and most of the jokes are from the scripts of his movies.

Get one thing straight people: Michael Bay does NOT write his movies. If you are cheesed off why don't you blame J.J. "I made Alias and Lost" Abrams? He is as much responsible as Michael Bay.

Sadly, the screenwriters of Bay's films are often overlooked. One day Akiva Goldsman will be killed once someone realizes he wrote Batman and Robin AND won an Academy Award.

There is one great joke in the movie which parodies one of the best lines in The Rock. If only the rest of them chose to go that route instead of making Ben Affleck and Matt Damon jokes.

Lastly, the short film is about 5 minutes long. The first 30 seconds is the worst logo for a movie I have ever seen and the remaining time is spend on credits. The film truly shows off better than anything the talent of some people's home special effects. They look down right horrible, but still better than flash animation. I don't know whose idea it was to use shoddy special effects, when Bay actually uses some great ones. At least, the sets are amazing.

Does this film make fun of Michael Bay or Jerry Bruckheimer? Sadly, no. The film uses corny jokes and a poke at America every now and then. It's no better than if the director looked at the camera for 5 minutes and said: "Hey, isn't this funny because I'm making fun of stuff you hate?" Lame jokes get you nowhere, Mr. Moniot.

Bomb.
2 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poor Poor People...
katparker20 June 2003
Who spent the time to watch this move which is done in poor taste and insults one of the greatest American leaders. Don't waste your time. I would rather get injection into the base of my finger nails then watch one second of this "film" which is in true poor taste and form.
0 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poor Poor People...
katparker20 June 2003
Who spent the time to watch this move which is done in poor taste and insults one of the greatest American leaders. Don't waste your time. I would rather get injection into the base of my finger nails then watch one second of this "film" which is in true poor taste and form.
0 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Short and silly
Carroll-37 December 2002
Appears to be an attempt to satirize all past movies about Pearl Harbor. And maybe all other movies about war. The credits are more interesting than the movie - maybe longer, too. But the production quality is surprisingly good. I do hope there's not a sequel :)
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed