The Moment After (2002) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Fast moving, sexy intrigue, a joy to uncover
jack3mungovan9 March 2004
This movie kept me guessing. I kept trying to discern what was beneath the action. The flashbacks offer insight without giving away the story. I was completely caught by surprise. The fast pace of the movie compells the viewer to be cerebral, yet intimacy lurks throughout the film. We bounce between joy and sorrow and become reminded of those we love as well as the crazy friends who love us. Then as the mood turns we are blasted by the tradgedy. There are very few of us that don't know someone who has befallen such a tradgedy and many of us have indeed asked ourselves "I wonder what went through his/her mind." This film explores that and the deep sorrow of ...the moment after. A great story
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Powerfully touching story!
lorenzocallender22 October 2003
I must say that I didn't know what to expect when I sat down to watch this "gay" film. Now, after seeing the film I can honestly say that I hate the fact that this film has any "label" other than "outstanding". Seeing this movie from the eyes of a "straight" man, I can say that the movie really touched me. It gives the audience an amazing insight into life and the opportunities that knock on our door everyday. In a world where so many people are starving for love, this beautiful movie reminds us that often love is right in front of our faces and all we have to do is open our arms and embrace it. What I really love about this movie is that it's themes are universal- black, white, gay, straight, male, female....whatever! I take my hat of to Mr. McCullough and I hope we'll soon see more of his incredible and courageous vision.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Beautiful
Dante Zuccaro11 June 2018
Beautifully done short film. I'm glad I had the opportunity to watch. There are a series of flashbacks throughout the film, that will keep you guessing as to what is really going on. My mind was blown by a revelation at the end, which simultaneously explained a lot & brought it all together. The film teaches a good lesson in a very smart way. It will really make you think & reflect. Additionally, it is shot very well, with stellar performances by the cast. The Director clearly had a vision for the film and did a wonderful job executing it.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Excellent short film, well acted, excellent production
MLMailbox24 October 2003
This was a really moving and emotional short film. The acting was excellent as were the production qualities. I would recommend it to any festival looking for quality programming. I am looking forward to seeing the future endeavors of this film maker.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
This film does for life, humanity, and emotion what poetry does for words.
Corey Taylor15 June 2005
There are so many levels to this film that it's interesting to discuss interpretations immediately afterward. In this way, it is very much like poetry. I can easily imagine watching this film ten years from now and having it mean something completely different to me than it does right now. That is another element that makes this film like poetry. I encourage people to watch this film with a small group because a discourse is guaranteed to follow.

I was in a hurry the day I first saw The Moment After and had the thought that I would simply "fit it" into my day. 13 minutes and 30 seconds later, I sat there in awe, mulling over the thoughts and emotions the film was bringing out in me that seemed to keep coming for a significant amount of time. I am changed.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Left breathless and inspired ~ Perfect package of writing, acting, music and editing
gerrysjunk22 October 2003
A poignant message of opportunity and appreciation continues to race through my mind after watching what seemed to be the best short movie of the Image+Nation Montreal Film Festival of 2003. The Moment After follows the story of a social and emotional recluse whose ability to capture opportunity is precluded by the fear of rejection and the propagation of past criticism and failures. The juxtaposition of Tracey's lost opportunities with his striving for the future draws a delicate foreshadowing of the film's ending.

All people, straight or gay, woman or man, would cherish and appreciate the permeating theme of hope, regret and human imperfection. Gerald McCullouch does not waste a second of screen time, where the transitions are crisp, making the 13-minute movie flow seamlessly despite the numerous flashbacks. The acting is genuine, and the emotions are well-balanced throughout the film to provide an entertaining, captivating and unforgettable performance. Although the running Birthday theme seems cliché at first, it establishes a dichotomy of the joyous nature of the event and the consequences that ensue. The soundtrack is haunting and layers perfectly with the scenes; moreover, the main theme's guitar, piano and voice are enough to carefully embrace the emotional pulse of McCullouch's masterpiece.

I highly recommend this film to everyone. It's a much needed reminder that we are human, and that if we allow ourselves to lose control on life, life begins to take control on us. Stellar production ~ Carpe diem!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
a perfect example of the power of something truthfully expressed
lizmaccie29 September 2003
As a female living in Los Angeles I must say this film, often coined as a "gay movie" is so much more. It was powerful, loving, beautiful, sad, hopeful, tragic and joyous---but most of all----quietly human. See this movie---it's a perfect example of the power of something truthfully expressed.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
a brilliant short
pau501126 September 2003
a great achievement from a fresh voice. technically mesmerizing. it is so difficult to tell a story in a few minutes. The Moment After achieves this successfully. There wasn't a moment of wasted time. Tightly edited and tightly scripted. The nudity didn't hurt either.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
One of the most powerful and beautifully made short films that I have ever seen. Go see this unique and important film!
chrismdow24 September 2003
"The Moment After" is perhaps the most powerful short film that I have ever seen. It's message is strong and lasting, but not forced, thus allowing each viewer to walk away with their own interpretations, their own thoughts on life, death, and happiness.

It is beautifully shot, well directed, the acting is excellent, and the editing superb. My hat goes off to Gerald McCullouch, who wrote, directed & stars in the film. Gerald has a unique voice in the making and telling of this story, and I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.

I am a very discerning viewer, and for me, the sign of a good film is if it stays in your mind, and forces you to look at life in a different way. "The Moment After" definitely does that.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
facing your mortality-everyone can relate
kisalex15 September 2003
I love this film. A universal story and theme told with a unique voice and vision. Everyone can relate to the moment in your life when you make a choice that will change everything for ever. I laughed, cried, and watched it again. Any film that makes you think about your life and your mortality is a treasure. Thank you Gerald. Can't wait for the next one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
7/10
IT HITS THE HEART AND THE MIND
cinema-4630 July 2003
Like a programmer of Gay & Lesbian Film Exhibition from Barcelona, I must say the Moment After is a very important film to be shown in that kind of Festivals but also in the Festivals of general issues (good script/ history and very good realization).

The moment after is a very well contructed drama with an unexpected final, and transmits a lot of feelings. When I decided to program the film, I did it after seeing the pre-view tape, I decided, with no doubt, that the film has to be shown. First for the movie in itself, the history. But then for what transmits, at least to gay and lesbian people but I think also heterosexual people can share the feeling, the decision, the idea that i'm sure mostly of homosexual people though once in "That moment" in one moment of their live. And after seeing the film you think: "lucky to have the moment after".

If you have the oportunity you have to see it: DO IT!. Doesn't matter if you are gay or not, because is an interesting and good movie and you will understand certain moments of gay people lives.

Thanks Gerald for this Moment. People who attend the Exhibition liked the movie the puntuation given by the audience (1 to 5) was 4.2 (average), GOOD. We wait for your next movie!

Jaume Gil
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Sure hand
schellee25 July 2003
This gem grips the viewer from the first moment of it's thirteen minutes. It is directed with a sure hand and wonderfully executed, with powerful imagery and superb acting. Notable also are the cinematography, editing and sound design. McCollough's glimpse into a life not lived is poignant without being didactic. It delivers it's message with heart.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
Incredibly well done...
markbradleymiller22 June 2003
I saw this film as part of a series of shorts in the Lesbian and Gay Film Festival in New York. While all the other films had their strengths, this film, by far, was the standout. First, the professional quality of the film was striking. The cinematography, the sound, the performances, the writing, the fast-paced editing and the incredible direction were all top-notch. The story line, although quite dark, was very beautiful and touching. To try to comment on much of the subject matter, would be to give away too much, and that would be a disservice to this film. All of the acting performances were strong, especially that of director/writer/star, Gerald McCullouch. It is amazing to me that a film of less than twenty minutes made such a strong impact on me, and on those with whom I've discussed the film. As a stand-alone project, this is quite an accomplishment. As a first film for this innovative and creative man, this is outstanding. I look forward to many more of his future projects.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Blown away!
WileEphile10 June 2003
I was totally blown away by this film. Without giving anything away, it was the heights of exhilaration and the depths of despair all rolled up in one. Quite a roller coaster for the emotions. I look forward to what Gerald will do next!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Beautiful
tutnyc10 June 2003
Just recently saw the film at the New Festival. It was a very well told story. Great acting, colorful characters, beautifully shot. It held me from the first shot, running me through the full gamut of emotion in a mere 13 minutes. Brilliant! Quite a promising start for the talented young McCullo
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Had me from the start...
massageRI25 August 2002
Great experience, had me from the start and took my emotions for a ride! It touched me and reminded me of my own process of coming out. The joys and sorrows and emotions that rollercoaster from extreme highs to lows.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
comments, The Moment After
roverstreet5620 September 2006
I found the film well-done, entertaining, and thought-provoking. It's one I can recommend to others. HOWEVER, somebody in the production staff just hadn't done their homework before the film was made. On a number of occasions a U.S. military officer was part of the action. He was repeatedly addressed "Lieutenant" by others. The man was wearing CAPTAIN'S bars on his cap. The rank insignia are the same for Army and Marines. This may sound like nitpicking, but that is the kind of thing that can put the credibility of the rest of the production into question in the minds of some people you might like to wake up with your message.To give you an example: decades ago I read a bit of what Erich von Dänicken was publishing at that time. After finding a number of obvious historical inaccuracies in his books, I simply tuned him out as someone who hadn't researched his material thoroughly. I have found this on other occasions as well. A great book on the fallacies of evolution by the Creation Research Institute began with a glaring historical error in the first sentence. How do you expect people to listen if you don't even proof-read your stuff? Richard A. Overstreet
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link
A gem!
spenbeglar31 August 2003
A riveting, powerful film that zeroes in on the issues of regret and loss but leaves the viewer feeling inspired and empowered to make better choices in his or her own life. Strong performances, great cinematography and a sophisticated story structure pull you in and keep you watching through the inevitable climax. An honest, artful and poignant film.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful?
Report this | Copied to clipboardCopy link

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews