Jericho (2000) Poster

(2000)

User Reviews

Review this title
23 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Quality is an art not a budget.
Dana Marek13 March 2006
This movie is a great example of why so many people are watching independent, "Indie", movies now. The absence of large amounts of capital requires the artists, (producers, directors, writers and actors) to become more creative.

The story is original and the dialog is realistic. It passes my "Believability Test" for action/drama movies. (Do you believe this could happen, in this way?)

Leon Coffee is a surprisingly good actor. If he ever tires of dodging bulls, (he is a professional rodeo clown) Hollywood could certainly use his talent.

Many of the extras in this film were cowboy "re-enactors" from around Texas. They provided a bit of extra authenticity to the film.
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Terrific Western in the spirit of the Golden Age of movies
wbygodv22 July 2007
Mark Valley's charisma and excellent acting are clearly on display. Leon Coffee is terrific as the itinerant cowboy preacher. Supporting roles by R. Lee Ermey (superb as always), Mark Collie (the country singer), and Lisa Stewart keep the story moving. While clearly a first movie from a young production company, they put together a very good film that is suitable for the entire family. Extraordinarily well-written story that is anything but predictable. Minimal violence but none of it graphic. I'm surprised that Valley didn't get offered additional movie roles on the basis of this. Believe that he and Coffee had excellent on-screen chemistry. There should be a sequel.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This western is an excellent return to quality film making for the whole family
sirlinda6 January 2007
We own a videos shop so we preview a lot of movies and we get very bored with bad ones very quickly. I found this film to be a wonderful film made the way good westerns were. It has many good values taught through out it; by people/characters trying to do what they feel is right. It doesn't fixate on violence with all sorts of meet me at high noon on Main Street for a shoot out. That isn't to say there isn't any bad guys in it, and there are shootouts. It is more real than that. I didn't feel it dragged it covered seven years of a man's life in a short space of time. Sum it up this way, my daughter who isn't into westerns and my husband who is both enjoyed it and that says a lot.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An excellent western with a great plot twist.
rabaldy15 July 2001
This is an excellent movie with some good acting. It is a great plot that has a very unique twist. It is well directed and is definitely worthwhile seeing. There are some excellent western scenes and the action is also excellent. I would recommend this movie to anyone who not only likes Westerns, but who just likes a good mystery plot. Well done.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
It is a great movie with lots of action
jcham15 July 2001
The movie "Jericho" has a different twist to the bad guys. It is really a mystery with a lot of western action. I saw it at the Houston Film Fest and would love to see it again. The actors all did a great job and it was easy to believe what was happening.The sound, lighting and directing was excellent. I would recommend this film to anyone who enjoys the old west and a good mystery.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A good old fashioned western!
Ejner Fulsang27 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This movie took me back to my youth when Hollywood routinely did great westerns. I would have given it a 10-rating but the dialogue was a bit 'TV' in spots. Some, though certainly not all, of the cast suffered a bit in the same regard, but I forgave that. These guys are just getting started, and as such, provide an essential 'farm-league' for aspiring actors looking to do serious work.

The aspects that were most appealing to me were the clever plot twist about three quarters in, and the classic hero-myth story format--at times I thought I was watching Homer's Odyssey set in the old west. **Spoiler Warning!!** The protagonist's routine trip to Jericho (Troy) ended up lasting many years, while he wandered about in the wilderness of his lost memory. Along the way he encounters the Cyclops, the Sirens, and the Land of the Lotus Blossoms. He eventually finds his way back to his loyal Penelope, and his son--now a man. There was even a suitor, though not a very serious one. Stories the follow the hero-myth format tend to resonate with readers and this one was no exception. Even my teenage kids enjoyed it and they don't normally watch westerns. Anyway, kudos to Black Knight Films for a fine debut! I'll be watching for their next-up, "Diamonds in the Rough."

--Ejner Fulsang, author of "A Knavish Piece of Work," Aarhus Publishing
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Decent flick...not really a Western, though
Christopher E. Meadows14 January 2004
I saw this movie in a theater, with a Q&A by the director, in Springfield, MO, which is one of the places the director calls home and where one of the actors (Woody P. Snow, a local radio DJ) is from. It was a decent movie for its essentially shoe-string budget. Not really what you'd call a Western...it's more of a character study or psychological drama that dresses itself in Western trappings. (Sort of like how "Little House on the Prairie" was set in the west without having the constant gunfights and things that you associate with a Western.) It also had a few problems with the pacing, particularly toward the end where it suddenly and without warning drops into a 15-minute flashback. Had a few interesting ideas in it, though...particularly in regard to how what you think you see at the beginning isn't what you really see at all.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
An Intriguing Mystery that will Entertain the Whole Family
cawilmont5 August 2001
From its mysterious, Hitchcock-style opening to its satisfying conclusion, Jericho is a delightful and intriguing movie. Set in the old west, Jericho is a suspenseful story of friendship, loyalty, and determination. Filmgoers will find themselves sharing the fast-paced adventure of the main character who is searching for his true identity. Along the way, be prepared to experience a wide range of emotions. Beautiful cinematography and a stirring soundtrack suit this heartwarming story well. Our family enjoyed watching this movie twice!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
I like westerns and this was a good one.
Milbourne Whitt19 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Well, the second time was better than the first. Mark Valley was a new face to me, and as most old timers, I am reluctant to accept new actors. This one, however, was great, and gave us a very interesting, but different story. Some pictures are never seen because they are looked upon as "sleepers". Since I have been watching Digital Channels, some of the best movies and good stories are from Ch.150 to 170. Valley was a marshal with amnesia due to a whack on the head with a shotgun. He had been convinced he was one of the robbers and stayed on the run, taking jobs as a cowhand. There were near misses of people who knew him but all thought he was killed in the holdup. After being gone 8 or so years, he returns to his hometown. His memory is beginning to return in spurts. Finally, he goes home, stay outside, and sees the candle still burning in the window for him. It ended happily and I thought it a good western.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
OK western
ctomvelu-129 June 2008
Mark Valley (who?) stars as a cowpoke suffering from amnesia, trying to regain his memory in this low-budget STV job shot on location in Texas and New Mexico. Along the way, he works as a cattle drover, a gold panner and a ranch hand before discovering his true identity in a twist ending. One thing for sure: he knows how to handle a pistol, and does so frequently in this gritty but clichéd western. The costumes and general look of the characters and settings feel authentic enough. What's missing is a Sam Elliott or Tom Selleck to give the movie a certain zing. I will say I stuck with it to find out the guy's true identity, which for most viewers likely will come as a complete surprise.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
i love westerns but this one falls flat
lisaannpuckett8 September 2002
this movie had a great chance of being a wonderful western. Until any of the actors spoke. There is no good acting in this movie although the script is a mostly original idea. One actor actually copied moves from Gus in Lonesome Dove. Even if you could get over the flat delivery of all the lines the camera angles were horrible. The camera weaved around and the screen went fuzzy like a poor quality dvd on all the shots in the "jericho" set. This is truely a memorable waste of almost 2 hours.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
peculiar and spotty, but surprisingly well-thought-out mystery/Western that may or may not ring your bell
TheUnknown837-120 September 2009
Although very obscure and a little hard to locate, "Jericho", a film which has nothing to do with the city of the same name, is a combination of the genres of mystery and Western that results in something that is quite delightful, however not extraordinary.

The story feels more like it should be set in the 1940s as opposed to the 1880s and it has some truly bad dialogue and ridiculous moments such as in the opening third of the running time and a few spotty performances, but in the end, I thoroughly enjoyed "Jericho" and the mean reason was because obviously the writers had clearly outlined their story a few times to create a fairly complex, but understandable mystery film that really shows its true colors in the final act.

Typically when I review a film, I go into a deep analysis, but this time I'm going to cut short, because "Jericho" was not a film that had my enormously involved or incredibly disinterested. I was somewhere in the midpoint between these two verdicts. I basically liked the movie but more or less as a guilty pleasure. The story is good, but the screenplay is a patchwork of good and bad dialogue, there are some mediocre performances save Mark Valley, Leon Coffee, and some of the supporting cast, and the music score was completely off-kilter. It does make up for this when the mystery of the story is solved towards the end, but then it's sort of ruined when the movie reaches an abrupt, non-conclusive resolution. In the end, if you like Westerns, or better still, if you like mysteries, you may or may not enjoy "Jericho." This is a film that will find its reviewers split right down the middle.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Slow moving western with a very good storyline.
peyton943 April 2004
Mark Valley did a good job of portraying a man trying to figure out who he is. Leon Coffee became an instant likeable character and did a very good job. R. Lee Ermey did the job that would be expected of someone who can portray a great bit character on a constant basis. Of course Buck Taylor did his great job as always and you learn quickly to like the character he plays. Mark Collie improves with each film he is in. Once again he can surprise you with the character in him. The storyline was great and it took me almost a third of the way in to start realizing what was going on. You couldn't stop watching it just to see the ending. A couple of odd part were left hanging but I really don't think they would have made a difference in the production. This was a very enjoyable western and for our time now it was completed with good thought and acting. Rare nowadays with all the blood and guts being shown. You'll enjoy it.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An excellent and unusual post Civil War western
grafxman23 February 2004
This film is an excellent western and also a mystery with a stunning twist at the end. Mark Valley (AKA Keen Eddie) plays the title role with his typical low key and easy going attitude. The unknown Leon Coffee gets as much screen time as the lead in this, his first film. I hope to see more of him.

Do not be mislead by those reviewers who said bad things about this film. Watch it and you will not be disappointed. It has an excellent and original plot with fine acting. That's why I gave it a 10.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
This is a great movie for the whole family.
theparrs14 July 2001
Jericho is very well done, with a wonderful story of great family values, told in a western setting. I have seen this movie three times, and cried every time. You will be surprised at the ending. It is well worth seeing if you get a chance.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A jewel in the rough
sweetteasutlery28 September 2003
I was very glad i rented this film..

it's been on my short list for awhile but I finally grabbed it...

the beginning is a bit rough with some odd night lighting... but the plot is fresh and has a great twist...

it also has some noteable performances in it... most especially the lead character of JERICHO! Great screen charisma and talent! Buck Taylor was another stand-out role!!!

Worth a look, YES!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Love this movie
Anna Marie26 July 2016
I love this movie. I don't get to see it enough on cable. Guess I have to buy the DVD - Does anyone happen to know who the signer is of the soundtrack song Before this night is through and WHERE can I get a copy of it MP3 - I know it was not Bonnie Tyler who sang it in the movie. Im about to locate the music editor Haffner to find out. As for the plot - I could see something like this happening in that day and time. Mark Valley does a great job as the lead actor. I also like how an Indian woman was added into the movie. I love the ending of it as well. The length of time the sheriff was gone and the wife always holding to hope that he would come back. What a great movie it is.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Awful
dustybutt8 January 2004
I forced myself to sit thru this awful movie to see the "Gunny" act. I think it is one of those film school project films. Overacting, underacting- this thing has it all. Pitiful.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Too bad. Could've been a good movie.
MBT7 September 2002
Acting and script are spotty at best, production values are low, and the music interferes with rather than enhances the dramatic effect; but this low budget film does manage to work in all the cliches of the politically correct Western with a sufficient body count and a plot twist at the end. If you're an uncritical fan of Westerns, you might enjoy it, but it doesn't come close to measuring up to some of the modern classics like The Long Riders, Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid, The Wild Bunch, or even John Wayne's Rooster Cogburn films. These set a standard that not many films can come up to and this one doesn't even come close. If you decide to rent this one, make sure your fast forward is in good working order.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Horses??
Sum Flow21 January 2007
In the opening scene the outlaws send their horses out of town to create a diversion for the Posse.

Why would horses just in from the trail leave town? These Horses would smell the feed at the livery.

They would smell the other horses.

What do you think Horses want?

Wouldn't they know that no one was riding them after a few steps?

Where were they going?

Why did the stay together?

Flaws like this so early in the scrip are really a cause for wonder.

I don't buy it!
2 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
I loved the Movie
kylesbabygirl200510 June 2006
I saw the movie once before my husband and I got together. When he told me that he was in the movie I really didn't believe him until I saw it for myself. So I am married to a guy that was in the movie. It's pretty cool being married to him, and his family I love them all. We meet through a friend of mine when I lived in Texas but now we are in Oregon. I really thought that it was cool to know that he played a part in the movie. Not only did he tell me that he was in the movie but his mom and dad also told me to which I also thought was pretty cool too. I enjoy be married to him, he's a lot of fun. He played the part of the Shierff in the movie also known as young Will. I think he played a pretty cool part in the movie. I also think that he's a really good actor, and the movie was filmed in or near by the town that he grow up in.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Wow, this was horrible
ceandersons_sis30 November 2008
My whole family decided to rent this movie. The cover looked good and the story sounded interesting, right? Wrong. We actually did have a little fun watching it, but only because of the sheer stupidity, cheesy-ness, and overall confused mess of the story. The amount of laughs we got out of it was the only reason I gave it a four and not a one. The acting was absolutely wretched and there was no plot. All I can say is what were they thinking? The best was when the Indian chief and some of his tribe members walked right through the middle of the old western town. Yes, feathered hat and all. Oh, that made my day.

I guess I'll stop bashing now and say please do yourself a favor and do not watch this movie with any good expectations. They'll all come crashing down within the first 5 minutes. *shakes head* Pitiful.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Painful
gmarnef26 July 2006
It's just painful to watch the movie!!! It's just a wast of time and money!! And the made like so many mistakes, like for one you can see the microphone several times. Merry Christmas the say in thick clothes but u can see the trees already having new leaves and you can hear the birds sing??? When they get at happy new year they already wear just a shirt! In several scenes there body is already acting but there are no facial movements or words! overacting and underacting! I seem to notice the return of certain people in different characters! This is a reason for not becoming an actor! the reason why this movie gets a very high rating for what it's worth is probably cause the actors voted for it themselves!!!
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews