The O'Reilly Factor (TV Series 1996–2017) Poster

(1996–2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
For some reason I like it
Melbster4 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
**SPOILERS**

Let me begin by pointing out that I'm a die-hard liberal. Some of my favorite people to listen to are Maher and Stephen Colbert. Yet, for some reason I like this show. Maybe it's Bill himself. Maybe I've just gotten too used to the Fox standard of Hannity and Glenn Beck that this becomes slightly good in comparison.

There's something about The Factor that makes it worth watching. Maybe it's the fact that, despite is staunch conservative views, Bill actually does appear have a mind of his own. He doesn't just spew off the usual far-right conservative talking points like Hannity, or Beck's insane conspiracy theories (yes I know he's left Fox a while back). He seems to have no problem taking on fellow conservatives on issues that he doesn't agree with them on, like when he defended Ellen DeGeneres against the One Million Moms organization, or the fact that he views himself as an environmentalist. He also tends to invite 'opposites' like Jon Stewart on his show every once in a while, which usually leads to very entertaining, yet respectful conversations.

What I will say is that he often does have a bad habit of talking over his guests (though I think this has gotten better over the years), though he's not nearly as bad as certain other commentators. He also does say some ridiculous things, like his infamous segment about Amsterdam and drug policies.

Bottom line is though, if you need to fill up some sort of a right-wing talk-show quota, this is one I can recommend. It is far better than Michael Savage or Rush Limbaugh. I often hear liberals say that conservatives should watch Real Time to get a different perspective, well then I will say the same to liberals about The O'Reilly Factor.
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I dont think I've ever wanted to reach through the screen to throttle someone before.
Kelly G.30 June 2003
I actually used to watch this program a few years ago, from say, about early 2000 to 2001. And you know, I actually kind of liked it, even though I rarely agreed with what he said, mostly because it was nice seeing normally namby-pamby politicans actually answer a question once in a while.

But as time has gone by the show has changed quite a bit, and the reason why is actually pretty simple: Bill's head has become so overinflated, I'm surprised his neck can support it.

So now that Bill has the ratings, the show has practically become an hour long rant that goes beyond news analysis, and at best has become an endless trip inside his need to make himself feel important, and at worst is like listening to the old man in the diner booth next to you complain about how everything he cant find has been stolen by some punk kid.

Now as much as I want to, I wont get into the whole "conservative" thing in regards to Bill or Fox News channel, even though I really, REALLY want to. Let's face it people, this dude is as whacked out republican as any blowhard talk radio twit. Oh, wait a minute....Bill has a radio show during the day, dosent he? Hmmmm.....

Actually, I'll just keep my comments to his show. Listening to Bill yap and yap and point his fingers at the guests (and at the viewer) just got real old, REAL fast. To call him a TV bully almost sounds too easy, and in someways he's more like a 19 year old who overcompensates in heated conversations by yelling due to a percieved lack of anyone ever listening to him. This is probably the reason why he'll spend segment after segment calling anyone who wont go on his show a "coward." Deep down this guy just cant belive that someone wouldnt go on his top rated show. It's actually kind of cute, really, even though he's seemed to become angrier and angrier over the last year.

There's a story on TakeBacktheMedia.com about how a guest from "Not in Our name" (an anti-Iraq war group comprised of relitives of 9-11 victims) not only had his microphone cut, but was told off air by an enraged Bill that he was going to "----ing destroy" him.

I'm sure that if you are a fan of Bill's, then you are pumping your fist in the air with approval. Id like to think that there are plenty of people like me who are nearing the breaking point in regards to shows like this. But since, according to conservative types, "no one wants to listen to liberals with TV or radio shows," people like me may be in for a long haul.

But I believe that this goes beyond what side of the political fence you lie on. This is about a big bawl-baby who dosen't know when to quit flapping his jaw, and unfortunatly has three cameras recording every word that comes out of his mouth.

And really, is anyone really afraid of the guy? C'mon, he's no different from anyone's dad.
86 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Terrible, terrible
TheMediocreGatsby2 January 2003
This is a terrible show. It's incredibly biased, and it's mean. Bill O'Reilly is rude and has no respect for his guests. If you want fair "no spin" programming, then look somewhere else. The editting is all in Bill's favor, and whenever the guests try to bring up a good point, Bill just silences them by interrupting them repeatedly. He's a disgrace to Harvard.
97 out of 183 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Insulting and dishonest toward his guests and core audience.
tannersalcido18 January 2011
As a liberal I've tried watching this program to get a perspective on conservative view points as well as my own. I've always been of the opinion that in order to understand your own opinions you should understand the views and ideas of those you disagree with. This is not the show you want to watch if those are your goals. Bill O'Reilly is rude, mean, biased, and a hypocrite. His show attempts to get the point across through propaganda methods and twisting the truth. It is actually an insult to his viewers that he can't get his point across through honest, thoughtful discourse but rather through shouting over his guests, and by using quotes and videos out of context. Honest discourse is not achieved through name calling and intimidation, or by misrepresenting the opinions of those with whom he disagrees. A credible and worthy idea will stand up to even the strongest criticism. That O'Reilly must arrive at his point through bias and trickery shows a lack faith in the ideals he defends and a belief that his audience doesn't have the capacity to come to the same conclusions thoughtfully and rationally.
33 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
comical at best
kevinpatp6 June 2009
to give this show 1 out of ten is a complement, it can be funny but frightening that people hold such opinions. the presenter needs a lesson in ethics and the danger of instilling panic and hate upon the viewer, in years to come people will look at this and regard it alongside the vileness of Nazi propaganda. an objective view is a foreign concept to this presenter. but if you want to have a laugh it may be worth a go but you will leave it with your doubts in man kind confirmed, or a scathing view of this show and its retarded presenter. to summarize this show is laughable its a bear pit for the refuse of public opinion
34 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Love it or hate it, the 'Factor" is one of the most entertaining news shows on television...
Lady-of-Rohan11 December 2005
"You're about to enter a no-spin zone!": those are Bill O'Reilly's opening words to his very own show The O'Reilly Factor. You'd think with these opening words, the show would be a no nonsense look at world events with a no-spin host seeking justice in an untruthful world. But the end result is one of the most venomous, most entertaining, and plainly biased news shows on television.

O'Reilly is not exactly known as one of the more humble personalities on television and apparently, Bill is well aware of this. This strikingly obvious conservative bias is what helps the show entertaining despite the eye-rolling attempts to convince his audience that he is a "traditionalist". (A traditionalist- how'd ya like that?) Elsewhere, venom spitting and his repeated attempts to tell the guests to "Shut up!" are common and frequent and unfortunately this is one of the reasons why the show is so addictive and so sinfully entertaining.

O'Reilly is also known for some hilarious and at times, frightening quotes. Recently, he described how the United States and Britain "bailed Europe out" during the Cold War. Uh-huh. And before the invasion Iraq, he responded to a soldier mother who was concerned on the number of possible troops deaths that, "{It's} their job! That's what they do!" Compassion at it's finest, Bill!

More recently, The O'Reilly Factor is to many Ground Zero on the supposed "War on Christmas". (Good Lord, how many of these wars are going on?) The show is up to it's neck at times about earth shattering topics such Christmas trees, nativity scenes, and Christmas cards describing how the "liberal secular media" is trying to destroy that special time of year. At least it gives the audience a break from Bill's weird fascination with Jesse Jackson and Howard Stern.

In conclusion, the O'Reilly Factor is quite frankly, a very entertaining show. It's great if you want to be entertained and get some laughs but it's my last choice if you want truthful, non-biased journalism.
40 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Breath of fresh air for cable news
livin01228 January 2007
After reading another comment posted about this show I had to laugh. This show is just the type of thing that needs to be aired on cable television because instead of putting a (generally left) spin on various subjects and news items, it covers some of the most outrageous news items going on around the country and each item is analyzed by people who represent conservative and liberal points of view. I've seen just as many liberals as conservatives on this show, and thus labeling O'Reilly a conservative because of his viewpoints on certain matters is premature to say the least. I've seen him be critical of both Republicans & Democrats. He's what one would consider a traditionalist, and since many of his viewpoints are shared by conservatives, people think he's a far-right Republican lapdog and this is simply not the case. When you watch this show you will hear viewpoints from both sides on an issue as well as O'Reilly's personal views. If you don't consider yourself a traditionalist, then you probably won't like what he has to say, but if you're just a liberal then you're not necessarily someone he would disagree with. I highly recommend this show to anyone who wants a fresh take on the news items of the day as it provides interesting if somewhat heated debates on some issues that other news shows and networks wouldn't dare tackle for fear of offending people....

If you choose not to watch it because you think you know who O'Reilly really is then you likely have no clue at all....
34 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
O'Reilly is a Good Journalist, and I'll Tell You Why...
camgon29 December 2006
I'm going to give a fair analysis of Mr. O'Reilly without the name calling, as so many people like to do. I'm going to give facts and examples, like so many people like NOT to do...

Bill O'Reilly is one of the most controversial and possibly one of the most hated journalists in this country. It is his expressed goal to expose controversial situations and people who abuse their power (like the Judge in Vermont who sentenced a child rapist to only 60 days in jail!). This is why he is hated so much: he is not afraid to challenge the people who usually get the media cakewalk.

Agreed, O'Reilly leans to the right. You should also note, that almost every study indicates that electronic and print media lean at least slightly to the left. O'Reilly is hated because he is not afraid to challenge the left, which many other news and media organizations do not do (which is also why Fox News is also hated--it is one of the only networks that leans even slightly to the right).

If you actually watch his show, you will know that he challenges the far-right as well as the far-left: e.g. the far-right ultra-religious zealots who parade around soldiers funerals saying "God Hates Fags" (and subsequently give the average Christian a bad name).

To say he only allows conservatives to speak is ridiculous. Again, if you actually watch the program, you will know that he almost always has both sides present to debate. Most of his guests ARE people he opposes. There are few people, if none, who he refuses to invite onto the program. However, many radicals from both sides decline the invitation; most radicals do not have facts or examples to support their view, and they know Mr. O'Reilly will tear them apart for that.

Bill is cocky and is a loudmouth...and he admits it. He is known for "throwing people off his program" and shouting at people he disagrees with. Once again, if you actually watch the show, you will know that there is more to it than meets the eye. He doesn't simply yell when someone brings up an opposing viewpoint. Most of the people he brings on the program DO oppose him, yet most episodes he doesn't fly into rage like many of you have probably seen on the internet. I have yet to see him kick anyone off his show (although that doesn't mean it hasn't happened).

However, he does get angry when one of his guests begins to make accusations or radical viewpoints without evidence to back it up. That's the "spin" he refers to. When a guest makes a ridiculous claim without then presenting any facts or examples, he gets angry. When someone purposefully dodges a question(s), he gets angry.

He is not "in it" for the Bush administration. Once again, if you actually watch his show instead of relying on what others say, you realize he is actually very critical of Bush and the war in Iraq. He has said countless times on his program that Iraq is a mess and the administration is not doing well. Yet, he is able to be critical without the name-calling and fact-less bashing, as many people seem so fond of doing.

O'Reilly is fiercely hated, no doubt about it. He challenges the ones who never get challenged, and pays a high price for it. He makes mistakes, like all journalists; and when he does, the propagandists pounce all over him. His Achille's tendon is his ego and fierce temper, which he pays a high price for as well.

Bill O'Reilly is a good journalist because he is not afraid to do what most journalists wouldn't dream of doing.

And as always, before you seriously consider my comment or anyone else's, watch the show for yourself and decide for yourself.
41 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
unfair and lopsided as Fox News itself
wynonasbigbrownbeaver28 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
On one episode, O'Reilly once stated that "all" war veterans are reaping the benefits they deserve once their service has been complete and that there are "no" homeless veterans in the United States. He wasn't prepared to eat his words, once a horde of homeless military veterans actually stood outside the Fox News building in protest, demanding his presence to prove to him he was wrong. A petition, that was several hundred pages thick, had names of all veterans experiencing little benefits for their time in service.

He once argued with a son of a deceased 9/11 victim, losing his composure in the process in front of live camera feed, that "he has done more for his country" than his guest "has ever done in his entire life!". Mr. O'Reilly, what have you really done for your country? Do you really look out for the troops your news network claims to support? Certainly your 10 million dollar a year contract reaps more than the troops ever acquire in their time of service and they risk their lives and their limbs out on the field.

Stating this, I AM a capitalist Republican from the south and are appreciative of Republican values portrayed on the News Network. But at least have some integrity when it comes to acknowledging the facts. O'Reilly, your methods of a Republican message to society does a disservice to America. You've done nothing for your country and are an embarrassment to me as an American.
20 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Second Page was Better
senhortesudo22 December 2005
I looked at the comments. On the first page all I saw were messages from individuals whining about how "mean" O'Reilly is. Then on the second page comments were made by people who actually watch the show with some regularity.

One man complained that "Bill has made enemies of people and organization such as Michael Moore, Al Franken and the New York Times". This indicates that he must be doing something right (especially in the case of Moore). When has the eminent documentary producer ever offered a viable solution for all of the problems and injustices that he complains about? Complaining without offering solutions is whining. O'Reilly tells it like it is. Not as some people want to hear it.
26 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Seeking the truth in a world of spin
Verbal-1716 April 2004
I know that a lot of people don't like this show, and its host has been labeled as arrogant, mean, and self-centered, among other things (it has been hilariously spoofed on Mad TV and The Daily Show, among others). However, as a loyal viewer for the last few years, I'd venture a guess that a lot of the people who are bashing it have never seen it, or have just briefly glanced at it in passing. If they took the time to sit down and actually watch it, they'd realize why it consistently gets better ratings than any other cable news show out there- it's an intelligent, witty analysis (not report) of the daily news, and host Bill O'Reilly no-nonsense approach is refreshing and honest.

I think there are a lot of misconceptions about this show that are simply not true. One misconception is that O'Reilly himself is a harsh, arrogant host who rudely interrupts his guests and acts like he's always right. The reality is, Bill is not mean, he just has no patience for BS, or "spin" as he calls it. When a guest tries to dodge one of Bill's questions by changing the subject, distorting the facts, or just plain lying, Bill refuses to let that continue. Yes, interrupting is rude, but so is lying, and if Bill allowed guests to BS all day (as most talk-show hosts do), he would be cheapening his show's integrity and doing a disservice to his viewers. As long as his guests are straight with him, he treats them with respect and courtesy.

Example: shortly after 9/11, he had poet Amiri Baraka on the show; Baraka, an outspoken anti-semite, blamed Jews for the attacks in a ridiculous diatribe. Bill (rightfully) told Baraka that his opinion was wrong-headed and unsubstantiated, but he never interrupted him, raised his voice, or told him to shut up (in my three years of watching the show, I can only recall hearing Bill say "shut up" a couple of times, and the people he told it to definitely had it coming).

As for the charge that he is "always right," at least once a week I see a guest change Bill's mind on something, usually by offering a point of view that makes him admit that "I hadn't thought of that."

Just to be clear, I'm not trying to convert anybody into a fan here. I'm simply trying to point out that many of the labels this show has received are unfair and simply untrue. I've never read Bill's books and I certainly don't agree with all of the things he says (who could?), but what keeps me watching is his straightforward demeanor and no-nonsense attitude. Like him or not, this man seeks the truth and has no room for spin and in the modern-day American media that makes him truly unparalleled.
29 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I don't agree with some of the stuff he says but...
josephtheowl1 June 2007
I do find it entertaining.

I like watching the one-sided interviews where some peon is getting pummeled on national television by a guy with decades of experience and preparation.

Things I don't like are when the Factor producers hound someone for a story. That's a bit much. And the shouting contests. And the interrupting. And the perpetuation of celebrity faux-news. But it's part of the show, like trailer-trash fights on "Jerry Springer" or ego-feeding and Hollywood.

Yes, I know the show is conservative, but I watch a bit of Stephen Colbert, Jon Stewart, Glenn Beck, and Bill Maher's shows too. It's a good idea to listen to different opinions, even if (and especially because) you don't agree with them. Would anyone really WANT to watch a show where they smiled and nodded with every single thing the host had to say? It would be boring and pointless, not to mention preaching to the choir.

The fact that so many people hate O'Reilly is good for ratings, and not only that, it engages people and it helps people choose a side. And let's be honest, guys like O'Reilly, Maher, Beck, even Colbert are just different characters playing the same game, and it reminds me of pro-wrestling (except nobody takes those guys too seriously). It wouldn't be any fun if there were only 1 kind of personality on TV "bloviating", as Bill likes to say, about the news.
25 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I find it alarming!
czarntnme17 August 2007
I noticed that Keith Olbermann got an 8.9% rating and O'Reilly got 2%.O'Reilly doesn't lie through his teeth like Olbermann and he is doing some good for kids out there with pushing Jessica's Law, is Olbermann doing anything good for our country? No, but he sure is good at bashing our country. You all must be so proud of Olbermann's accomplishments (none)! So this group of "voters" are ridiculous! Remember, O'Reilly is the #1 Cable News show in America! He didn't get there for not being #1. Stop thinking its OK to go around bashing your country! You fools! Your obviously not very bright, huh? This is the best country in the world and obviously you have had everything handed to you, that you don't even realize how lucky you are to live here! Why don't you move out of this country, honestly, we don't need you complaining all the time. Bunch of whiners. Spoiled brats, you don't even know how good you have it here so leave, or are you to scared you may not have it so good out there?
30 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This is one "factor" that needs to be factored out.
Htom_Sirveaux3 January 2012
As a man who likes to think for himself, I don't trust any news agency in its entirety; I do trust some more than others, but there isn't one I trust entirely. Among them, the Faux... sorry, Fox News Network is one I trust the least, and they have totalitarian-minded narcissists like Bill O'Reilly to thank for that.

One thing that Billy Boy likes to pride himself on is being a "crusader for the First Amendment." And what are some of the things he does to show his "support" of it? He rapid-fires questions at his guests (primarily people he disagrees with) without giving them a chance to answer with numerous interruptions. He continually tells his guests to shut up. He cuts the microphones of those he is losing arguments with. He calls it "dangerous" when people post things about him on the Internet that are "completely untrue." But this is the best part: Bill once threatened anyone who called in who he didn't like to receive a visit from Fox security. This is his idea of what freedom of speech is supposed to be? Oh, wait a minute... he's defending HIS freedom of speech, but not that of anyone who disagrees with him. What's that they were saying about "no-spin zone"?

Sorry Bill, but it's easy to disagree with someone who supports politicians who flush our nation down the toilet (though nowadays, that pretty much pertains to all of them on either side of the spectrum), makes ludicrous and unfounded claims against people one doesn't like (yet thinks it's "dangerous" for people on the Internet to say "completely untrue" things about him), comes up with idiocy such as a "war on Christmas," and calls anyone who disagrees with his nonsense "unpatriotic." Speaking of which, I seem to recall a term for ludicrous, unfounded claims... ah yes, it's called LYING. All the while, he calls his opponents "ideologues" as if it were some kind of insult. The guy's living proof that not everyone who gets into Harvard is intelligent.

I'm sure Bill's buddies won't care for this review, calling it very opinionated if trying to put it politely. Well, your buddy Bill is extremely opinionated as well, so deal with it. You can't have it both ways, something your precious Billy Goat doesn't seem to understand. If you're a rational, thinking person - and by that I mean whether you're conservative, liberal, or moderate, as unlike Bill, I'm intelligent enough to know that most people are far more complex than any particular political ideology - you can use "The O'Reilly Factor" for one of two reasons: you need a good laugh or you feel the need to get angry at someone. Either way, you won't be disappointed. In the meantime, if you haven't already, be sure to seek out the video of Bill in his younger days as he throws a hissy fit for his ineptness at reading a teleprompter... it's really quite entertaining.
18 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Credible News Show
PWNYCNY3 August 2006
Critiqing a news commentator is like trying to critique an editorial page editor. Everyone has opinions and on the "O'Reilly Factor" opinions are flying all over the place. Mr. O'Reilly has his opinions and his guests theirs. He confronts his guests and elicits responses. What makes this formula effective is that Mr. O'Reilly pulls no punches and gives his guests ample opportunity to respond, leading to interesting and revealing exchanges of opinions on a wide variety of controversial topics. Also. Bill O'Reilly doesn't duck anyone, and on every show presents his views and invites comment. This format gives "The Factor" credibility and is therefore a news program that should be watched.
28 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Why O'Reilly's Show Is So Successful
ccthemovieman-12 March 2008
Despite the fact that he's rude and obnoxious, he has the best cable news/ commentary show on television.....and knows it. Nobody is even close to him, frankly, and the ratings verify that. Why is the O'Reilly Factor so successful? Several reasons.

He's intense, somewhat unpredictable, usually has a good mix of culture and politics as the night's subjects, puts up with none of the usual "spin" you hear on other programs, keeps things rolling with a number of segments and, if something works he stays with it.

Although favoring Conservative views over Liberal, he will go either way on certain issues, as "60 Minutes" pointed out earlier in 2007 on its program. He won't allow boring guests, often cutting them off if they begin to "bloviate." His biggest fault, to me, is his constant interrupting. Sometimes I get impatient with that and turn the program, simply for that reason. Yet, if he isn't hosting the show, I usually am not interested. Nobody runs this program better than O'Reilly Everyone else seems dull compared to him. What I appreciate is his attention to the culture and how entertaining he makes the program.

Like a number of other talk show hosts, including sports guys, if you refuse to come on his show, he really tees off on you, considering you a coward for not confronting him. His favorite guests, other than guys who make him laugh like Dennis Miller, are pretty women. Most of the women who are regular contributors to the show have one thing in common: they all have beauty and brains. Examples include Laurie Dhue, Megyn Kelly, Lis Wiehl, Mary Katharine Hamm and Michelle Malkin (formerly a guest host). They all contribute, literally, to the look of this show each week. You don't see many, if any, plain or ugly women on this show. I doubt that is an accident. I am not complaining. As a guy, it's tough to me to ignore Kelly or Dhue, in particular.

O'Reilly also balances the "heavy" material with the light, having weekly fun segments of pop quiz contests and having a former TV icon as a guest each week - people many of us grew up watching - discussing their old shows.

O'Reilly can absolutely infuriate you, but he's fearless, outspoken, and more open to both sides than his critics will leave to you believe. This is one of the very few people who state he doesn't belong to any particular political party, and I believe him.
27 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most neutral journalist on TV
Jon Usher26 March 2004
I couldnt stand Bill O'Reilly at first, but anyone who has watched this guy perform for several shows will realize that he is the most non-biased, neutral journalist out there. Every time I hear people slur "he doesn't let anyone talk" or "he's too arrogant" or whatever, drives me nuts. If you listen to him for several segments or multiple shows, you will see that he is as middle-of-the-road as anyone. He says it the way it is, and lets you decide. So, watch a couple of "Factors" and you'll understand what I'm talking about. Please everyone, report the news as it is from a neutral standpoint, and let the PEOPLE decide.
28 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Biased/Unbiased If you're a liberal,just don't watch it!!
artdecokc19 May 2006
A wonderful show that is unbiased,unlike the crap from CNN.Bill O'Reilly is to the point.Mr O'Reilly gives liberals every chance in the world to try and get their muddled point across,but they always fail.The left gets equal time here,but they don't make good use of it.The strange part of the show is when you see Greta Van Scarface interacting with Bill and occasionally you can see the look on his face when she asks a stupid and inane,typically liberal question.I'd just smile because it makes him look even more intelligent.If it weren't for this network,I wouldn't even watch the news.The liberally biased media has screwed up the networks,not to mention everything else they touch.Bill O'Reilly makes the news watchable,again.And the beautiful women on the daytime news make Fox News Channel the best news out there.
22 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Smartest Show On Television
derektgumin8 May 2014
You don't have to agree with O'Reilly's politics, nor do you have to think he's the most humble man on television; however you cannot question is honesty and unbiased approach toward politics. I'm a registered republican, but I'm a social democrat when it comes to abortion, equal rights, and freedom of expression; aspects of politics that Mr.O'Reilly and I don't quite see eye to eye on all the time. Yet somehow he puts things in perspective and makes sense of it all without being offensive or dishonest with the public.

Many show's like to spin the truth based off of the political values of their own hierarchy, which in turn promotes a bias side of the news to the public. Many MSNBC & CNN watching liberals like to accuse FoxNews of being dishonest and bias, but in reality Fox is the only news station that asks the hard, significant questions- the ones those other stations don't ask because it might hurt the current administration's poll numbers.

The O'Reilly Factor is the foundation that holds FoxNews together providing integrity & and an unbiased intelligent program for people who want get the news straight. Not the diluted, twisted form you get on many other news programs. Let me conclude by saying that if there were more news anchor's like O'Reilly, the United States would be a much more profitable, patriotic, and united country.

P.s. #1 in Prime Time News since 1996 deserves more respect than 3.3 on IMDb. Too many haters out there, not enough love.
15 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The best news program on television. Bill O' Reilly your head and shoulders above the rest!
blanbrn30 March 2006
The Fox News Channel made a wise choice in 1996 when they hired Mr. O'Reilly for his own news program. Bill O'Reilly had been a veteran news reporter for over twenty years and even had hosted the syndicated "Inside Edition", so he had paid his way so to speak. Well to be honest I'm glad I watch this program, because Bill is true to the point, and honest his program is highly entertaining. O'Reilly covers topics and issues that other news people on CBS, NBC, and ABC will not even mention like the current problems the United States has with illegal immigration about what to do or not to do he even has the guts to ask the politicians the tough questions. Bill covers the culture wars going on, he even fights hard for the rights of victims like the sexually abused, by profiling the cases to get the people's attention, by starting awareness to pressure politicians to pass laws in states for protection to take the power away from soft judges. The most updated news and interviews of information on terrorism, politics, and everything is always covered on "The O'Reilly Factor". I like the way that Bill stands up against bad and immoral organizations like the ACLU, plus Bill will speak his mind to politicians and even against the liberal powers of Hollywood. Oh many people say Bill is a hero for the right-wing and Republican party, I disagree he's fair and balanced just like the rest of Fox News, because I've seen him challenge views of republicans and conservatives just as well. Liberals just don't like Bill because of the truths he reports about the way many not all of them are trying to change the culture of America and make it so untraditional. O'Reilly even stood up for traditional values like Christmas!! way to go Bill. Even I will say Bill can explode sometimes the way he told a young man to shut up on air, just because the boy disagreed with his views about the causes and need for the Iraq war, when the boy had lost a father on 911. I guess everyone blows up like that, but Bill is just so passionate. I like the way O'Reilly exposes the liars, cheats, cons, and charlatans he's doing such a great job even the little people can relate to him for taking on the big guy. To me he may lean right or republican but so what he still gives everyone the same balance except for the one time I mentioned above, I think he's straight down the middle. Watch this program when you can you will feel entertained and informed when you leave the no-spin zone! Just to mention also please check out this book he wrote "Who's Looking Out For You" a great piece of work, you will enjoy reading it you'll probably be like me and read it about five times, it's a must read and just remember that family is the most important thing in your life.
21 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fair and Balanced
sixstringedstress3 February 2004
I think O'Reilly is under rated. He is obviously a man who has done his home work so to speak. He's worked in broadcast journalism for many years and is well educated, unlike his rivals such as Al Franken. I have been watching the Factor for a couple of years now, and I don't agree with 100% of his views. Those who shun him probably have seen his show once.
23 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Analyzes the news, so you don't have to.
nor3aga17 May 2004
He does not allow for any spin or BS.

The only people who hate him are the radicals. He is not favoring ANYONE.

He treats everyone equally, and gets answers from the tough questions. He may seem to favor one side, but in no way does he try to influence the viewer to join his side. He presents the information and you decide how it sits with you.

He also finds the stories no one is talking about, and is critical of the elite media. He is quick to point out that the left media unfairly criticizes the right government.

I don't agree with everything he says, but I do agree with the questions.
22 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
As Bill says "No Spin Zone"
lrldoit28 March 2002
Bill's program and interviews are limited only by his intelligence, which is considerable. This is as good as it gets to fair commentary that is driven only by a desire for the truth, regardless of ideology. I don't always agree, but so what. Bill O'Reilly is a treasure.
20 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
When this O'REILLY FACTOR first came on, we were expecting to see William Bendix.* Wrong Show, Schultz!*
redryan6420 March 2009
HAVING been on the Fox News Channel for about 13 years now, THE O'REILLY FACTOR (Fox News Channel, 1996-present) shows no signs of going away. The series, which is a sort of combination of a News & Commentary program like that the late, and singularly great Paul Harvey did over the Radio Waves for well over a half a century with MEET THE PRESS (NBC TV Network, 1947-????). It has the distinction of having been the most watched Cable TV Network News Show for some years now; having shown no signs of slowing down.

CRITICS of the program, and there have been and remain quite a few, have constantly ragged on the star for being opinionated, close minded and pedantic in attitude and in his treatment of both guests and viewers alike. His on air feuds have been frequent and good for ratings. O'Reilly's adversaries are fairly evenly distributed over the Political Spectrum; having had criticism from the "Big 3" Networks' main talking heads; as well as with Conservative Radio Talk Hosts, such as G. Gordon Liddy and Michael Savage.

THE success that Mr. O'Reilly now enjoys was not easy coming. Prior to his nightly spot at 8:00 P.M. (7:00 Central Time), he had been a teacher, newspaper reporter and local TV news man. The 'place' that we first remember seeing him was in the Anchor's Chair on the syndicated Tabloid TV Show, INSIDE EDITION (King World/CBS TV Syndications, 1988-Present); being in that capacity from its inception in '88 up until '95.

OVER the years, Mr. O'Reilly did many a guest shot in many different types of programs; from series TV, news, talk and even feature films. His meandering around the bright lights of show biz came to a screeching halt with the ascension to the chair of his own news-talk program. The assignment fit him to a tee and he steadily built up a following.

REASONS for such success seem to be mysterious, yet obvious. O'Reilly projects a certain personality, which effects all differently; but is impossible to ignore. While one may really like this persona, others may find him repulsive. It is an obvious and classic example of "love me or hate me, but don't ignore me."

WE confess that he is not our favourite exponent of our Conservative Political views; preferring the likes of Gordon Liddy, Sean Hannity, Laura Ingraham and Michael Medved. We still find THE O'REILLY FACTOR to be a part of the typical evening's viewing. The program is usually most informative and seldom boring.

HIS long reign continues right up to this very evening and appears to be a long, long run; which will continue until he decides to hang it up. His chosen image of being smug and always right has managed to survive all those barbs from the Left Wing Liberal Press & Electronic Media, as well as accusations of Sexual Harassment; being he Ultimate MOAB of charges.**

ODDLY enough, amid all this domestic political strife, Bill O'Reilly claims that he is neither a Liberal nor a Conservative; just a guy looking for the truth. You be the Judge, Schultz!

NOTE: * For the benefit of all of our readers who are too young to remember (and that probably is about 80-90%), THE LIFE OF RILEY had been both a successful Radio Comedy in the 1940's as well as a mainstay as a TV Sitcom in the 1950's. In both cases Mr. William Bendix portrayed Chester A. Riley.

NOTE: ** This MOAB is a modern, military term; being an acronym for " the Mother Of All Bombs. While not being nuclear, it is clearly the biggest, baddest and most powerful.

PODLE SCHNITZ!!
11 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Name & Town, Name & Town, Name & Town
DKosty12331 July 2010
Warning: Spoilers
When you enter a "no spin" zone, you have to expect some air pockets. The air pockets here are in the fact that Bill O'Reilly really polarizes people. He does it on purpose. He is like the reverse of a David Letterman. Where Letterman makes it clear he does not care about anyone or anything & can never be serious, O'Reilly tries to care about others & stands up for them.

He does expose folks for what they are often in interviews. What is interesting is how much he employs x-President Dick Morris. For those of you who haven't read Morris book about the 1990's, you need to realize that Dick Morris was Bill Clinton's right hand. He wrote all of Clinton's speeches & pretty much ran the Clinton Administration from day one for 8 years. Clinton has never denied anything in Morris book about those "good old days".

When Jon Stewart came in for an interview this year, the atmosphere was so electric that even UN-edited versions of the interview are on You Tube.

As far as serious news, sometimes the Factor gets derailed by the amount of it. The factor does create some of it's own news due to needing to stay on top of it's ratings. As long as this formula holds, the ratings here will continue.

Are there ways for the factor to get better? Sure there is, but as long as the ratings are high, changes will be slow in coming. At least this show does not pretend to be something it is not.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed