Horses on Mars (2001) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
One of the most engaging and touching stories in short films
hohomer29 August 2001
Horses on Mars is a wonderful journey taken by very small creatures. It doesn't have to work hard to hold your attention and the characters are truly memorable. Most of the credit must go to Eric Anderson for his choice of visual style and for writing an interesting story, but credit is also deserved by Anuj Majumdar for the narration and the wonderful music score. These choices were obviously not an accident. If you can, see it in 35mm scope for the most impact. It is quite a beautiful film!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
very enjoyable!
mimi_sharen4 September 2001
I loved the movie. The story-line and animation were very enjoyable and entertaining to me. I loved the story and believe the voice of the character was perfect for the part. I was not ready for it to end and I look forward to more from Eric in the future. Good job, Eric!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I think a good movie is one you don't want to see end.
Dander021029 August 2001
I am not a movie maker but I know it is hard to tell a story and draw people into it in only seven short minutes. I think a good movie is one you don't want to end. Eric did a great job of developing the charater of the microbe and making him seem "human". Loved the music and the voice used for the microbe. I am looking forward to seeing what Eric has in store for us in future films. This is one movie I didn't want to see end. Great job.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterful animation and story
truce577 April 2002
Horses on Mars is an engaging animated short that takes a sometimes comical look at the process of evolution through the eyes of those yet to evolve. The story is personal, and at times sentimental, and is supported by strong digital animation and narration that involves the viewer in this science fiction story. I was fortunate enough to view this short in widescreen format at the 2002 Sundance Film Festival, and must suppose that when transferred to the small screen, it will lose some of its ability to draw the reader into the no less thoughtful story and stunning graphics.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Anderson firmly breaks the barrier of traditional sci-fi genre
clex5 September 2001
In the history of cinema, every great film-maker had to create a first film. Many times when viewed after they have become a success, a light bulb goes on in our heads. The connection is made and we see the solid foundation from where they started. So it is with HORSES ON MARS. It is the subtle humor woven around a seemingly straight-forward narrative that tells a great story, but allows you to enjoy the visuals at the same time. In the imagery, I found great attention to detail and a production polish that is rare in any student film.

A young film-maker always has improvements to be made. But if Mr. Anderson continues on this path, I think we will someday look back on this film as the beginning a great career.

You should definitely view this film. Nothing beats the grandeur of the big screen.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You don't want to see this move end. Pure enjoyment.
Dander02101 September 2001
I'm not a movie maker but I do know it is hard to tell a story in seven minutes and draw your audience into the character. Horses on Mars does this and more. When you are watching a good movie you don't want it to end. This is how I felt watching this film. It is visually expansive and the microbe takes on such human qualities that you feel you are on the journey with him.

Really looking forward to see what exciting adventures Mr. Anderson takes us on in the future. Well done.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A lonely microbe has been stuck on Venus for years since being separated from his friends when a meteor smashed into the surface of Mars and propelled them all into space. Hoping to reunite with his friends
SMOOFv31 August 2001
Anderson's animation easily rivals that of Pixar and goes well beyond most anything I've ever seen Disney do. While some say the story is a bit too abstract, I find it a thought-provoking and refreshing change from the exaggerated characters and bumbling animals typically found in animated shorts. It's an interplanetary version of CASTAWAY! Anyone who has left the safe harbor of home and gone off to a lonely, frightening place by themselves, will readily identify with this forlorn microbe. Excellent work, Mr. Anderson!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must see!
tracihon28 August 2001
I've seen this movie a few times and with each viewing I still feel the excitement of embarking on a journey and the frustration of trying to overcome the barriers that impede the path. It's more than a mere desire of finding home; it's about the very basic human spirit of finding one's way in the world, of overcoming despair, of facing the character foibles that deter our goals. Underlying these human endeavors is the challenge to reconsider the origin of life. While this film is imbued with serious ideas, it has just enough comedic lines to leave the viewers hopeful. It is surprisingly funny. The execution of the story line is excellent! This is all packaged with visually engaging animation. A must see.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
about hope
Kirpianuscus28 March 2018
Beautiful animation. nice story. a pledge about adventure. hope. and miracle. poetry of images. inspired music. and the special feeling about a trip in universe.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Really skillful animation, but...
Randall Good7 August 2001
...an incomprehensible script (when it shouldn't have been) dependent on a rather flaky voice-over.

The animation, however, show real talent.

Quite visually impressive.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed