Diggity's Treasure (2001) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Heaven Must Wait a charmer
sjanders-8643021 October 2020
Andrew McCarthy does a good job as a southerner inheriting an English church. There's a wandering guinea pig. And Diggity is the orphan boy at the center of all the drama. Romance and a treasure: What more could you want? Angels of course!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not A Bad Movie Except The Oh So Fake & Awful Southern Accent Ruined It All
YabbaDabbaDabba24 October 2020
I'm from Georgia, and if I ever heard somebody from Georgia speak like that I would shoot them with one of those muskets the demorats are trying to take away from us. He was obviously a carpetbagger that never made it lower than New Jersey. My ears are still hurting from that guy's fake Georgia accent. So my best rating was generous at a '1' because it was in color.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Forrest Gump goes to England ?
jayroscoe8 November 2020
Actually a good movie with a slow start, but ends very well. The only bad part is the awful Georgia accent- Andrew needs to research his roles better. Otherwise this is a great movie, especially for kids
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fun
startrekfan728 May 2021
This is an amazing family film full of good values. Good clean family entertainment you have to excuse a bit of the accents as it was filmed in England it definitely does teach the power of God the power of heaven I like that there is no violence no swearing no inappropriate subject matter just good clean honest family fun I would rate this as a b movie but definitely worth a watch especially if you've got access to YouTube Tubi.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sweet Movie
joesoundman11 January 2022
Warning: Spoilers
For me, it was too sweet a story to be bothered by the things some other reviewers were annoyed by. As I'm not an atheist, angels are not forbidden territory. As I'm not a fundamentalist religious guy, metaphysics are also fine. And I admit to being a sucker for redemption movies, be it this, Shawshank, or American History X.

Of course this was not on the same level as those two, and it didn't have to be. I felt warm, felt good inside after watching this. So to anyone who feels any kinship to what I said here, give this a watch. You will also be rewarded with some sublime cinematography.

Actually my one complaint was not with the movie, it was with Tubi, which NEVER lets a movie's credits and outro music go to the end before starting another movie that you DIDN'T select. And I believe that in this case, it mattered a lot, since the final scenes of this movie were being shown as the credits were rolling - with what very well may have been the final very important one. Spoiler alert: the guinea pig. I knew it would happen. But I knew it likely didn't end there either; the final last scenes - thanks Tubi - we don't get to see.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Geogia Boy Andrew McCarthy meet very small Hamlet some where in the English hinterland.
srjphorton-767553 October 2020
This McCarthy film is a very good "feel good" movie. McCarthy's character Raymond in the movie might have been dropped on other side of the earth when he arrives from Georgia in this small English Village where most of the people are quaint and friendly except an old curmudgeon who is up to no good in a very big way. The old crank reminded me of Ebenezer Scrooge. The movie possesses a degree of pathos. Watch and see. I liked it for it charm and it certainly would be good movie for the whole family!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Film! Flawed however
dan-desjardins-18 April 2007
I really enjoyed this film - Espectially Louise Lombard. Unfortunately Raymonds Georgia accent is contrived and horribly flawed - to the point that I became slightly embarrassed by it. Hint - a never-do-well southerner doesn't have the accent of southern aristocracy (even if he has a good heart)! Sad - because this is an absolutely charming film. It's a great story - extremely well written and not overly contrived. The setting is accurate and wonderful, though a bit narrow in scope, and the cinematography is top-notch. While it could have benefited from stronger directing - it still was charming and fun. Louise Lombard played the role with perfection The two things that save this film are Louise and the story-line. I certainly recommend this film - but you will have to concentrate on not laughing at Andrew McCarthy's poor interpretation of Raymonds character.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cute family movie
alfie4ever22 November 2008
If you watch this movie to hear accents you should be watching something else. I never noticed Raymonds accent not being from Georgia(unless you are from there who cares). Raymond's a loser from Georgia who inherits land in England. Raymond meets a town full of strangers and Diggity a boy who wants to earn his wings by helping Raymond and Rachel find their way in life. In the town is a crazy old man(Mr Slee) who is more interested in trying to find lost gold than to spend time with his orphaned grandson. Will Raymond sell his land with a broken down church and land which a family lives on? If you want to know watch the movie. This is a movie the whole family can sit and watch together with laughter.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Cute Movie; Bad Theology
smalleyds17 November 2020
People do not become Angels. Oranges do not become apples. Dogs do not become cats. Although this was a cute movie (except for the Georgia accent)-- and I'm a huge fan of "It's a Wonderful Life"--both movies perpetuate the incorrect teaching. When I die, I hope to become a saint in Heaven.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed