Caillou (TV Series 1997–2010) Poster

(1997–2010)

User Reviews

Review this title
82 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Whiny Stinkbomb
titus22711 May 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This show is horrible for a variety of reasons, most notably, Caillou's consistent unacceptable behavior. I actually signed on today specifically to write this negative review of the show and after reading the other comments, I think I know why my son has been whining non stop and throwing tantrums. Let's take it one at a time.

The writing is bad. The characters in the show say everything in the absolute simplest terms that it can be said, and then they will repeat it a couple of times and then the narrator will reiterate the point, just in case you missed it. Caillou, at times, seems completely unrealistic with the frequency and intensity of his bad behavior, ironically, often due to his own actions. (the famous episode in which Caillou thinks today is circus day.) This show is written as if it is a reality show or is somehow otherwise unscripted. In many episodes, the progression of the story is not linear or is completely broken, the two halves of the show not relating to each other. Lastly, much of Caillou's behavior goes unpunished, consistently leaving loose ends at the end of an episode.

The animation is worse. All of the characters are poorly drawn and the 'lines' with which they are drawn are 'Chunky', varying in width, like a bad pen that lightens, darkens and bleeds unexpectedly while drawing. The pallet is much too 'baby' oriented. These colors are what adults think of when a woman is decorating a nursery, not what the palette of an entire show. The backgrounds are almost never completely filled in, giving the impression that either the work was rushed, sloppy, done by a lazy man, or that Caillou's entire life is a dream. I have seen entire backgrounds that consisted of a blue block-like shape with rounded corners. The movement by most characters in most situations is extremely clunky and when objects in Caillou's world are manipulated, they quite often ignore the laws of physics.

The behavior is the absolute worst. Everyone in this show is a douche bag. Caillou is ALWAYS whining about something and often throwing tantrums, yelling, breaking things on occasion, and doing pretty much every unacceptable behavior that you can think of. His parents act like they are on Valium all the time. They often take no notice at all that Caillou is acting out in any way and NEVER punish him or take any action that might result in a lesson being learned. They are so aloof, in fact, that in one episode, the father leaves his 2 yr old on the changing table and exits the room completely, leaving the child unattended on top of the table. Rosie, Caillou's 2 yr old sister, seems to have a better grasp on the language than Caillou and throws less tantrums, however, she does throw objects and food at people, yell, scream, fight with her brother.

Basically, the average 'plan' for the episode is something happens, Caillou responds by acting out, his parents ignore his behavior and a couple minutes from the end, Caillou gets what he has been wanting the entire episode. The problem is that 4 yr-olds do not relate to Caillou the way the writers think they do. Rather, they imitate Caillou's behavior as he spends the majority of the episode trying for a goal and then acting out with every setback. The children don't follow the show close enough to really grasp the plot devices, so they see a kid whining and throwing a fit for 20 min and then getting what he wanted.

HORRIBLE SHOW all the way around.
18 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
This show has been banned from my house!
juli-bachorski22 March 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Oh man, where to begin? First of all, my 2 1/2 year old was incredibly sweet before watching this show. I know a lot of people are saying "I have a hard time believing that a child could be affected so much by a TV show." This IS the case with my daughter. She has been watching the Sprout channel and this is the ONLY show that showcases a whining child with parents who seldom discipline him and let him get away with REALLY bad behavior. We have recently banned this in our home for the following reasons: If I hear my daughter say "That's mine!" "Give it back!" "NO!" "You can't play with it!" "But I don't want to!" "But MOOMMMMYYYYY!" "It's YOUR fault!" or "I want it!" again, I'm going to lose my mind. These are phrases that are NOT used in our house. Caillou says at least two of these in EVERY episode. She also throws herself on the ground, kicking and screaming, in typical Caillou fashion....which you should google if you haven't heard it. It's extremely unique and annoying. I don't care if that is how 4 year olds really act. I don't care if it's "real." My daughter sees him act this way, and since this is her favorite show and he is her role model, repeats it. He is the very definition of a bad influence. The target audience is preschool...so WHY WHY WHY would this show feature a whiny brat when the group of kids watching is comprised of little sponges?! Children this age are SO impressionable...so why let them watch something that could potentially set them up for thinking they can have everything they demand? While this show has taught my kid some cute things (about magic tricks and subways), the good does NOT outweigh the bad. I am now working REALLY hard to repair the damage that this show has done to my daughter. I seriously regret being tolerant of his rudeness for the sake of my daughter's entertainment. This was her favorite show. This is the worst kid's show I've ever seen!
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Spoiled bratty child who acts like a baby
schultzclan68 August 2006
I hate to sound so harsh, but it must be said that Caillou has had one of the worst influences on children I have ever seen. Caillou is a 4 year old bald child who is very spoiled by his parents. They spoil him so much, that when they tell him to wait, he breaks out into a tantrum and begins to cry and scream "I want this now!" Honestly, this is something you would expect from a 2 year old child. The parents don't ever get mad at him nor do they teach any good manners. Instead they give him what he wants almost like a reward and he yells "Yay!", then plays like a little baby.He also has a baby sister Rosie, who is pretty bratty too, but she is little so I can understand. The 2 dimensional cartoon's animation is very, very bad. Pictures are drawn sloppily and appears very fake.

Let me close with this as proof that this show is a bad influence. I have a 4 year old brother. Like most 2 year old, he used to break out into tantrums. Then he began to watch Caillou. The only thing that he has matured in his speech. He still has temper tantrums and is a crybaby for a child his age. I recommend this to a to-be parent that wants to know how NOT to raise a child. As far as children go, don't let them watch this. You'll have a brat on your hands in the near future. Put on The Wiggles.
66 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Kids love it, parents hate it...
gshann27 September 2006
Both of my daughters (5 and 2) love the show. They will sit and watch it almost mesmerized. It is great to put on when my wife and I really need to get the kitchen cleaned up. However, since they have been watching it with more regularity, their behavior has changed, and not for the better. They now seem to emulate Calliou's impatience, tantrums, and the lack of please/thank you. It's hard to tell if the show is a cause, but since it's been available on-demand, and with a recent DVD rental, it has been on more frequently, and it seems like it has been a bad influence. As a result, we no longer put it on. While it may ACCURATELY depict how a 4 year old would act, remember that 4 year old's do not behave properly. I've met some. Much like all kids (except yours), they are selfish, defiant, disobedient, and often disrespectful unless taught otherwise. In this show there are no repercussions to Calliou's often bad behavior. I'm no developmental psychologist, nor do I have any kind of interaction with children this young other the one's in my neighborhood. I do believe that it has been a bad influence, and would not recommend prolonged exposure.
43 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Caillou's voice is like Chinese water torture
Aaron G.McCaskey17 August 2001
The little boy, Caillou, teaches children about growing up effectively enough; this without any unpleasant stuff to go along with it like many children's shows that have either unpleasant content (Cow & Chicken) or empty content (Zoom).

Some such shows contantly have things in them parents don't find appropriate whatsoever, yet I cannot object with any of the shows content. It is excellent in that regard.

My only complaint is that Caillou's voice is Chinese water torture. Maybe it's just me, and it strikes a chord that makes me wince, however I do not think that this is the case, as my dog and cats sometimes leave the room (in a full run) when my niece is watching this show.
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Annoying and a REALLY bad example for kids
beeryusa22 January 2008
As a 45 year-old parent of a 4 year-old daughter I must say I have to agree with some other reviewers here - this show is terrible. I guess the developers of this show fail to understand that 4 year-olds will see Caillou as a role model and they do not get the character arc. So when Caillou is being whiny or ungrateful and he learns how to behave in the last few minutes of the show, what kids remember is the whininess, not the lesson.

Caillou is a horrible show that teaches kids how not to behave. My daughter actually started to behave much worse after being exposed to this show than she did before seeing it. At one point she even copied Caillou's style of tantrum - where he falls on the floor and kicks his legs while crying - on one level that was amusing but it was clear that our daughter was using the show to learn very bad behaviour. Thanks to the title lock on our DVR this show is now blocked and our daughter has once again become the sweet, well-mannered and happy 4 year-old she was before she saw Caillou.
42 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
What this kid needs is a good long spanking
jediforce1029 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
If you want a show that teaches good morals and is a great role model for kids, then you better avoid this show then. Caillou is as irritating and bad as you can get with a kid's show. The main character, Caillou, is not what I'd call a role model. All he does throughout EVERY episode is whine and complain about everything. He's always wanting something and is so demanding about what he wants. He constantly misbehaves to everyone, including his own parents, and he even goes out of his way to hurt his younger sister, Rosie. It doesn't help that the parents are so lax on how they discipline Caillou and never punish him for doing something wrong.

In one episode, Caillou pinches Rosie, who's a newborn baby, and she starts to cry in pain. What does the dad do? He takes her away and doesn't scold, lecture, or punish Caillou of any wrongdoing. I don't know about any of you, but if I did that to my cousin when he was a baby, I'd get into a lot of trouble.

Another example is how Caillou whines about Rosie having his Teddy shirt since it no longer fits him. He yells at his mom, demands it back, and throws a fit over this. The mom does nothing at all to punish him for how he yelled at her. She even apologizes to Caillou for taking the shirt like as if it's her fault. What she should've done is punish Caillou for all the back talk he did to her and for being so rude to her. Again, if I did this as a child, I'd get into trouble.

By far though the worse thing had to be the fact that in one episode, Caillou was going to the circus, but when he learned it was tomorrow, he threw a big temper tantrum, talks back to his dad, yells at his dad, and throws a big fit. Again, no punishment or repercussions occur as a result and Caillou is let off the hook.

In fact, most of the time, Caillou's parents GIVE him what he wants and ultimately spoil him. What kids learn is that doing these bad behaviors make them think they won't get into trouble and frustrates parents when their child suddenly acts this way. They don't learn any moral or anything, they act up and think their parents will give them what they want.

And as if the bad morals, annoying main character, and terrible parents aren't bad enough, there's this Grandmother who acts as a narrator in all the stories and constantly tells us what Caillou was feeling. Do they think kids don't know when somebody looks upset or sad? Seriously, why have this narrator around when all she does is tell us how Caillou or the rest of the characters are feeling?

The artwork is very poorly done in this show. The sets and characters are terribly designed and look very sloppy. There's also this white border around each scene. There's also so much white in the show. It's dull, lifeless, and lazy. Where's the color? Not to mention that everything looks so sloppy and poorly thought out.Honestly, the artwork looks very rushed and unfinished in many areas. Did the artists not have time to complete the pictures? The animation in general is sloppy as well and has several glaring inconsistencies.

Now to be fair, the ONLY and I mean ONLY good thing in this show were the puppet segments since they were somewhat entertaining. Unfortunately they've been replaced by terrible musical shorts that are horrible and not catchy in the least bit.

But unless you want a spoiled and rotten child who will make you miserable and frustrated, then don't let them see Caillou at all.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
PBS should be ashamed.
naugy_trix20 November 2001
My daughter is not allowed to watch this show anymore. Caillou is the biggest brat. He is constantly whining and disobeying. Granted, his parents do correct him eventually, but they are like flower children from hell themselves. My daughter, after watching a couple episodes, started acting like Caillou - whining, calling people "stupid".... So we don't watch this show anymore. I can't believe this show was up to PBS standards. I think they need to reevaluate their program guidelines.
45 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Many problems with this show
DazzleProductions2 November 2003
While my 3-year-old seems to enjoy this show, I think it may be very bad for him to watch.

Among the many problems I have is the child character's constant bad behavior, mostly his complete lack of manners, I have yet to hear a Thank you or please (often it is "I want").. this could be a cultural difference with the French.

The episode in which he gets scared of monsters at night, rather than helping my son; inspired him to become scared of monsters (he never thought of monsters being in his room until he saw this show).

I often see many safety issues brought up in the show, in one episode Daddy leave a newborn baby (Rossie) unattended on a change table.

The "world view" of the show is too politically correct and homogeneous to the point of encouraging conformity in children. In fact I find the nonwhite characters to be portrayed ina very disturping way, bordering on racism... the Chinese family eats only Chinese food, visits China on vacation, has a house decorated in Chinese decor.. in fact every part of their life we see is completely enshrined in Chinese culture; as if they have no identity other than being Chinese. In another episode a Mexican family has a birthday party, and of course it is a fiesta! I hate children's shows that only define multicultural people/families by their race/nationality as if that's ALL that defines them; it is an ignorant view of our world.
37 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Cailou is a very bad kid!
pattypattyzap17 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This show is a mind poisoner. My 5 year old was a polite kid who respected orders and obeyed me. He even took his own shower, and smelt like the best thing ever! Until one day, he watched Caillou. He watched it over and over, and when I heard the word stupid, I ran to the TV to turn it off. I said that it was a bad show to watch, because it said stupid! Then he screamed in my face. He has not done that since he was 1 years old! What happened? Barney taught him caring, my little pony taught him friendship, Dora taught him new language, and all Caillou taught him was to throw fits! But why? I experimented him. I banned the show for about 2 months, and he was a nice little kid, and I made him watch it again. 2 weeks later, he noticed a wheel popped off of his car, like Caillou's car. Then he slammed on the floor, woke my 2 year old baby up, and broke the flower vase! I watched Cailou since I wanted to know how. It was terrible! He threw a fit, and next thing you know, he gets whatever he wants! His baby sister is 2x younger, and is more mature. Caillou pinched Rosie, and his parents did not care! Rosie was in extreme pain. Cailou shows kids that whatever you do, you will not get in trouble. I had to block this show from him, and he became my little sweetie pie! Do not let your kids watch it! It's mind poison!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Steer Away from this Show!
belacane9 August 2003
I agree with the other comment about how bad this show is. Caillou is a 4-year-old kid and he does and says lots of bad things. It often takes several minutes of watching the show before he is castigated for it, and by that time, the children watching have forgotten that he did anything bad. Plus, the grandma voiceovers reinforce the badness. An example is that Caillou is supposed to go somewhere with his parents, while the grandma stays at the house and watches the baby. Caillou lays down on the floor and starts throwing a temper tantrum. The grandma voiceover says, "Caillou didn't want to go with his mommy and daddy." Then the parent moseys on in, says, "Caillou, time to go!" He cries and whines a bit, and then the parent says something like, "We're going to stop for ice cream on the way home," and Caillou jumps up, all happy, and goes. I feel this is poor programming to show to young children.

My son likes Caillou, but I won't let him watch it anymore. (He's 3, we stopped watching it when he was 2).

I wrote a nastygram to the Caillou email that's given on the PBS website, and got back a response as follows:

"The premise behind CAILLOU and his adventures is that they reflect the real life experiences and emotions of a 4-year-old child. However, we do take your comments seriously and we will share your concerns with the production team and their child development consultants."

I am sure that Caillou's "emotions" are pretty close to those of a 4-year-old! I'm just not sure that the Caillou adults handle him in an appropriate manner. I don't want my kids to expect the kind of treatment Caillou gets, when they act like he does.

Trivial thing: one of Caillou's stuffed animals is a T. Rex named (predictably) Rexy. Rexy claims that his favorite food is lettuce. If my son grows up thinking that T. Rex ate lettuce, I'm not doing my job as a parent!!

Donna
24 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Make it stop
gwashington173220 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I am severely angered by this show. It is quite possibly the worse show that PBS has ever aired.

Quite possibly the worst thing about it is that kids idolize that little bowling ball headed brat. All he does is whine about anything that happens. I honestly can't see how it teaches anything but, "Whaah Rosy hit me, mommy!" After seeing, probably a minute of this crap I was smashing my head against the wall trying to make it leave but they just don't make ear plugs powerful enough to cancel out that whiny little monster. I actually had to V-Chip PBS for a few months until this show could be forgotten.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
wah;wah
snstanton1014063 January 2012
it's sad to say, this cartoon makes me miserable! My daughter loves this cartoon, but every time she watches it; i cringe! It is possible to make a cartoon that helps kids learn morals and lessons without whining. He talks in a whiney voice and cries over anything and everything. I want....is not what I want my daughter to learn. He also doesn't talk like a 4 yr old. He talks like a 2 year old. His baby sister sounds smarter. I am going to try and break my daughter of this show. She will NEVER be aloud to watch it again. Too Bad, the writers do not care what we think! My daughter has learned some of her bad habits from this show. I know some people think a show doesn't teaches this, but when this is the only show she wants to watch; she picks up the actions. She has started whining and throwing tantrums; also, one of her favorite sayings now is "i want"! frustrating!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
racist and offensive
nidhijais29 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This show is banned in my house. I only watched a few episodes and found jaw dropping racism in most of those episodes. In one episode where Caillou is safety helper in his class, the only kids who break the rules are black. In another episode the one in which Caillou is fire fighter, black kids have the discipline problem in the class. In Caillou detective episode, why does the black girl decides to be monkey for the entire episode while the white kids do not stay in character after the story time is over. In another episode, where Caillou makes poster for the store and gets picture taken with his classmates who helped him in poster making, why white kids get to sit and the black kids are standing for the picture.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Caillou is unappealing
pinkarray11 February 2016
Caillou is a pre-school show about a little 4-year-old boy and his daily life. The events are typical of everyday life from having siblings born to eating food you don't like, to having rough days. It's typical in every kid's life but the kid can react harshly to them. Now, when I was 4, I was a sweet kid, which most 4 year olds typically are until they grow older where they may become brats.

Caillou is a rude boy who lies, picks on his sister, and says naughty words (picked up by someone), which is basically things I don't like to see little kids doing nor understand. These days, kids are more mature than they should be. Despite contrary belief that 4 year olds are rude, this boy can do and say things that makes him a mean person. Rosie is two years old, who also cries, does things she is told not to do, and ruins Caillou's playtime, whom I also don't like and is forgettable.

So, why is he named Caillou anyway? Why is he bald? The story is uninteresting, it just shows typical days and maybe even with friends and disapproval. The drawings and animation is bad.

And I forgot to mention the mom and dad, who do nothing to punish Caillou nor help him out, which every kid gets when misbehaved. The opening is unrealistic, none of the kids in the framing device are even interesting, and voice acting done for Rosie doesn't even sound like a toddler. I wasn't even that interested in the show when I was little.

Avoid this, especially if you do not like little kids misbehaving.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
How the heck did this get on TV?
Warning: Spoilers
Like seriously Jesus Christ.... How did this piece of crap get on TV on PBS Kids? If you want me to be honest, there probably could be other shows for preschoolers that are worse, but let me tell you something this might be the absolute worst TV show for preschoolers in the history of television. If there worse, please do me a favor and don't let me know.

I've seen Peppa Pig, Lazytown, Dino Dan, Oobi, Dora The Explorer, Yo Gabba Gabba, The Wiggles, Go Diego Go, Ni Hao, Kai-Lan, Max & Ruby, Tickety Toc, The Fresh Beat Band, Teletubbies, and Barney the purple annoying dinosaur (and You thought Barney was worse enough) CAILLOU TAKES THE CAKE! I am not even kidding... This show is even worse than Barney!

Caillou's parents always seem to let him get in their way like a doormat. The parents don't even seem to really give a crap about their kids at all.

Their was this one episode where Caillou's little sister Rosie kept on bothering him and then Caillou goes tell his mother. The mom says "I am busy! Maybe Rosie just wants to play with you", Caillou then says "But I don't want to play with her!". Caillou's mom then says "Caillou I'm busy! I cannot be solving your problems all the time! You and Rosie need to learn to work out your own problems!" Caillou then yells "NO WE CAN'T!".

Are you kidding me.... What the heck is this? Is this a preschool show or some sort of cliché reality show? Most of the episodes are written like it is a reality show, rather than a preschool show.

To make it even worse in the episode where Caillou is still being bothered by Rosie, she comes into Caillou's room when he wants to be alone while reading his book, he then kicks her out of the room and then she starts banging on the door and starts crying. Caillou's mom then knocks on the door and asks "Did you made Rosie cry?" and Caillou replies with a no. Then what do you think the mother does? She shrugs and picks up Rosie and then she leaves...

Caillou is such a liar and his mother believes that her son did not made Rosie cry. What the hell.....

There was also an episode where Caillou is tired of being a big boy and decides to behave like a baby because he says his sister Rosie gets all the luck and doesn't even have to clean up. The mother then says "Okay if you want to behave like a baby then fine go ahead!". You know? If I decided to behave like a baby when I was a kid my mother wouldn't let me do anything like play video games or go to the movies. Caillou's parents are seriously careless... Its like they never even heard of Supernanny! They sure do need her!

But now for the worst episode of the whole show. The infamous episode "Caillou Joins the Circus". In this episode, when Caillou got all dressed and brushed his teeth, his dad comes in and is proud of him (Which is alright, after all getting dressed by yourself and brushing your teeth by yourself when you are little is a pretty good sign to show that you are growing up) until..... When Caillou says "I don't want to be late for the circus" Caillou didn't realize that the circus was actually supposed to come tomorrow. His dad then says "Oh no Caillou that's not today! The circus is not until tomorrow" and then what happens? Caillou gets all upset and yells "NO ITS TODAY I GOT ALL DRESSED ITS TODAY!!!!!" and then throws himself on the floor throwing a fit and even woke up his sister Rosie.

The dad didn't even told Caillou to go to his room and told him that you are grounded or anything!!

What kind of preschool show is this? Is this even for preschoolers? I swear whoever created this show, I bet he/she had witnessed some messed up stuff as a child.

The animation is awful (Max & Ruby which was somewhat similar to Caillou had better animation than this) The backgrounds are murky and very sloppy, they look so fake when you look at them!

Believe it or not, Caillou's voice makes The Wonder Pets sound like a Celtic Woman song.

The background music is alright but not very inspiring, in fact some of the background music sounds like a sick elephant trying to blow its nose into a tuba.

If you want me to be honest with you, I know you people have seen many bad preschool shows before but no, let me tell you. THIS SHOW MIGHT BE THE #1 WORST PRESCHOOL SHOW EVER CREATED IN TELEVISION HISTORY!

You know what? If I actually went on vacation with my kids and at the hotel, we were only allow to watch either Caillou or Barney, I would certainly choose Barney. Barney might be an annoying pile of sh*t but at least he doesn't throw temper tantrums or inspire horrible ideas to help our children think that its okay to get our own way all the time. I am not kidding you guys. Caillou is much, much, much, much, much worse than Barney or any other horrible preschool show in the world!

The fact that Caillou is telling our children that its okay to break the rules, and whine to your parents all the time, pretty much means, that this is really where the real hellhole is in this show.

But if you would love your child to become spoiled and rotten and throw temper tantrums all the time and yell at you all the time, then you can let him/her watch the show.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Diabetics: Be Warned
Kay-2910 October 2003
"Caillou" is one of only two PBS for Kids programs who's appeal is totally lost on me...and my children don't like it either. Part of it is the vocal characterization of Caillou-who's whiney little voice is like nails on a chalkboard. Couple this with insipid dialogue and sickly-sweet plotlines and you've got a show that, despite it's intent, few kids will want to sit through, let alone learn from.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Caillou Has Killed My Son
quibbyt2 November 2015
First off, let me begin this by saying that Caillou has killed my son's spirit and sense of purpose in life. Honestly, Caillou has turned my son into a seemingly inanimate Amiibo in every sense of the term. Throughout the series, Caillou, as a four year-old male, is completely bald. In watching this show, my son has shaved his head using my father's shaving knife with whipped cream in place of shaving cream. This has led him to a very cut up, unevenly shaven, nearly bald head in my 5 year-old. Once he found out that he didn't look exactly like Caillou he told me that he could not "help out like Caillou in 'Caillou Helps Out.'" This is only the beginning in the tearing apart of my son's heart through Caillou. Through watching Caillou cry when he doesn't get what he wants, as well as freaking out in excitement when he does get what he wants, my son has developed early onset schizophrenia in order to attain the items he wants in life. I see him on the floor petting the air, repeatedly saying, "Good Gilbert. I love you Gilbert." We don't even have a cat, and know absolutely no person named "Gilbert." Now, upon watching "Caillou's Toy Trouble," an episode in season 5, all he'll talk about is trading his friend a shovel for the damn stickers he wanted, and my son throws a fit every time he sees an Asian, a boy named Jay, or stickers. It's honestly so aggravating and difficult to watch. Upon seeing the boy, Jay, who is Asian, my son has fits of PTSD apparently relating back to his days in Vietnam. In the middle of the night he randomly screams, "You're just saying that because I was in a controversial war!" Finally, I rest my argument on the extremely controversial, "Caillou goes to ISIS Camp" episode in season 4. Honestly, my son has been on the computer for days on end researching ISIS recruitment in our area. So, in conclusion, thank you Canada, as well as Caillou. You've made my schizophrenic, PTSD having son join ISIS. Nice.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Encourages Neediness
j_mock-486-50115814 December 2012
My daughter (2) loves Caillou. I hate it! It's annoying and encourages temper tantrums and neediness. Before my daughter started watching the show she was willing to try and figure things out on her own, now all she does is throw herself down on the floor and say "I can't do it!" if something doesn't work for her and it's always the worst right after she watches that ridiculous program. The other problem is the parents on the show, they have an unrealistic amount of patience and never punish Caillou for doing something wrong. Sorry, but in the real world there are consequences for negative actions and I want my kids to understand that.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
OK for children between 1 and 1.75
alterationsbyemily10 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
My daughter started watching this at 1.75 and instantly was absorbed in it. It allowed me to get work done and other stuff. But after reading a lot of other reviews, her new behavioral problems have been explained. She runs through people like Caillou, she throws her food like Rosy, she throws herself on the floor like Caillou in a fit, and will not sleep in her crib because there was a show about monsters in the bedroom. She is now 2.25 and this show is over for us, I will take barney and Elmo over this crap. She even started to hit people and throw her stuffed animals.

This show should have a warning label just make sure you don't watch too much.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
my review of this garbage
nathanelmer3 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Terrible. Calliou is a brat who cries and throws fits.... on television! I mean here are 5 things wrong with this show: 1:terrible animation 2:calliou is a brat. 3:this is on TV 4: annoying theme song/narration 5:pretty much every thing else.

This teaches kids to act like spoiled babies who never get in trouble and get to eat Mcdonalds after-wards. This,like somebody said, is why no one edits stuff anymore. I mean,the animation is sloppy and rushed,the voice acting is bad and calliou acts like some brat who has no respect for anything! He acts like some baby! stay far far away from this. no stars for me. Remove this show,Pbs.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
This show is a bad influence!!
Savahana williams16 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I have started noticing that my little brother was starting to refuse to do things that I had asked him to. Then my friends and teammates brought it to my eyes that He was talking different and he was throwing more fits and tantrums. I then realized that Caillou does all the same things my little brother is doing. I personally suggest that if your child watches Caillou and isn't being themselves it is probably the issue. I hope that everyone realizes that this show has a negative impact and not a positive one. I hope that this problem will be fixed because a lot of kids love the show. I personally believe that this show should not be aired until the problem is fixed. My little brother used to count with his fingers and now he is not. This show could effect the way your child learns.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Caillou is detrimental to character, personality and behavior
albertbolivar17 November 2007
Let me begin by clarifying that I am a father of 5 children and have plenty of experience rearing these little people.

At first I allowed my 18 month baby son to watch Caillou. I thought it was a great alternative to Barney.

After just a few weeks my son began to have tantrums and to feel apparently depressed when he didn't get his way.

As we searched for a cause, perhaps in the way we were dealing with situations...Thank God my wife caught one of the episodes in which Caillou thought he was going to go to the circus. He's brushing his teeth and his dad walks in and explains that "circus-day is tomorrow and not today Caillou". The stupid whiny little brat throws a complete fit! So OK, kids do this, however it's in their best interest for the parent to correct and discipline the child. This didn't happen in the episode. The dad practically ignores the fact that Caillou is acting like a complete prick and treating his sister badly, throwing things and kicking and screaming!

Also, the narrator in the show is constantly remarking "Caillou was disappointed", "Caillou wasn't happy", "Caillou didn't like" etc, etc. I feel that this takes events from the wrong perspective. It points out that the child is upset, but doesn't teach children that they should obey their parents regardless of how they feel. Children should be taught that what their parents decide is best for them, and not to be constantly depressed over their decisions. The off-screen narration would have been perfect for this.

Let me also throw in the whiny voice, the hippie careless and racist parents and an off-screen narrator that only points out the bad and the ugly.

I will not have this model being shown to my child. Caillou is now officially out of our U-verse. GOOD RIDDANCE! Now to work on my child's bad habits acquired from watching this bad excuse for a cartoon show.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
There are two problems: The scripts and the acting.
Lisa Lias2 September 2001
There are two problems with this show: the scripts and the acting. Every character is an extremely idealized human being performed in one dimension. And there's no humor! A strained lightheartedness is not humor.

Though some might feel the "positiveness" is good for children, in fact it underestimates their intelligence. In addition, uninteresting performances don't foster artistic discernment in children - it's never too soon to just say no to things which are not artistically worthwhile, even if the intentions are good.

Bring on Sesame Street. Caillou, Dragon Tales and Barney are terrible.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews