American Pie 2 (2001) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
411 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Why does everyone hate this so much?
MovieAddict201631 August 2005
I'll be first to admit that I hate teen comedies in general and typically frown upon most of them - I didn't even like "There's Something About Mary" too much, although I'm not sure it's really a "teen" film.

I own all three "American Pie" films on DVD because they are one of the few teen series whose characters seem real and you actually feel empathy for. They're not awkward characterizations of real people without emotions - the movie takes time setting up their personalities, quirks, etc., and then places them in embarrassing situations. For example, the movie "Swingers." That telephone call Favreau makes is a painful experience for the viewer. Would it have been so painful if we hadn't gotten to know him throughout the movie? "American Pie" is kinda like that. It works well because of the characters. It's crude, yes. It's crass, very. It's sexist, maybe. But that's how guys are. It doesn't exploit these elements as many teen sex comedies do - some are moderately entertaining (like the Johnny Depp film "Private Resort") but unbelievable and basically just lots of skin. "American Pie" is better, one of the best of its genre.

Everyone seems to hate the first sequel, which was released in 2001, a couple years after the original. Jim (Biggs) returns from college and hangs out for the summer at a beach house with his best pals. But with Stiffler (Seann William Scott) there, it's not too easy because they soon end up in more embarrassing situations.

This movie is very similar to the original and normally I have a problem with this. Basically all the scenes are "updates" on scenes that existed in the original. E.g. the lesbian strip over the walkie-talkies, the incident with the glue, the whole thing with Stiffler's mom and Finch.

Nevertheless it is effective, entertaining and funny. The characters are given more room to develop and believe it or not, I think I like this better than the first film. (The third is probably my favorite, if only for the focus on Stiffler and the introduction of Fred Willard, one of the great character actors of our time.) "American Pie 2" is somewhat recycled and some people may find it one of those "pointless" sequels, but I liked it, and this is coming from a guy who typically loathes these films - so considering I'm giving this seven stars, that says quite a lot. Either I'm out of my mind or there's something about these films that's just more accessible and likable than others in their genre.
67 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A satisfying second slice
hall8959 September 2005
Well here we are, back for more of the same antics we got in American Pie. There may be a sense we've seen this all before but somehow American Pie 2 really works. All the characters we know and love (or hate) from the original are back and they're constantly being placed into outrageous situations which will inspire gut-busting laughs. Even though we're going back over much of the same territory, the sequel is more consistently and explosively funny than the original. What could have easily been a pointless, unnecessary sequel actually manages to be something fresh, funny and appealing.

As with the original the Jason Biggs character of Jim is the glue holding the film together. Everything revolves around him in one way or another. Where in the original film each of the main male characters came with his own romantic storyline this time around Jim takes center stage. Most of the female characters have been shunted to the sidelines here with Shannon Elizabeth, Tara Reid, Mena Suvari and Natasha Lyonne being mere bit players. Their absence doesn't hurt at all and may actually help by making the story more focused. This one's all about the boys with Jim and friends renting a summer home following their first year of college. Back for more hilarity are Chris Klein as Oz, Eddie Kaye Thomas as the increasingly bizarre Finch and Thomas Ian Nicholas as the comparatively dull Kevin. And even though none of the others like him the script finds a way to contrive to get Seann William Scott's juvenile, vulgar, obnoxious Stifler tossed into the mix. Where the other guys might go to the edge of what is appropriate Stifler is always willing to go careening over the edge and his antics are a hoot.

If you thought nothing could be more embarrassing than what happened to Jim in the original film, just wait. And along to heighten the embarrassment is Jim's father, played wonderfully by Eugene Levy, who in trying to help inevitably just makes things worse. And the one female from the original who actually has a major role here, Alysson Hannigan as Michelle, also does a great job. Oh, the wacky things that go on at band camp. With a slew of familiar characters moving from one hilarious situation to the next, all backed by a winning soundtrack, American Pie 2 succeeds in equaling and even surpassing the original.
24 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Party sequel of college guys ever good as the first one
NightmareOnElmStreetFan14 September 2019
Good as the first one American Pie this sequel in my opinion is the best party sequel about college guys ever. This was my favorite movie of the first two movies in high school at the time. I was in senior year before I transher to other school. This in my opinion is good as the first one. All the gangs are back and they decied to make their own party since Stifler party was busted by cops. Great comedy, sexy, friendship, intelligent and smart. It is my third favorite in the "American Pie" franchise.

American Pie 2 pick's off where the first one left off it is been one year since the guys loose their virginty and they attendet collage. Some couples are together some broke up. The first year of college is over for Jim (Jason Biggs), Oz (Chris Klein), Kevin (Thomas Ian Nicholas), and Finch (Eddie Kaye Thomas). Reuniting back in East Great Falls to trade stories about sexual escapades and university life, the boys find themselves having to deal with the women (Tara Reid, Alyson Hannigan, Mena Suvari, and Shannon Elizabeth) they rudely left behind. Determined to make the most out of the promising summer, the guys, along with their revolting but affluent friend Steve Stifler (Seann William Scott), decide to rent a beach house to help sort out their confused, combustible lives. Running into mischievous lesbians, masturbation sessions stymied by Krazy Glue, the wonders of band camp, Jim's Dad (the invaluable Eugene Levy), Stifler's Mom (Jennifer Coolidge), and parties galore, the four young men learn valuable life lessons as they awkwardly navigate all the tomfoolery of their summer break.

This movie is about party on the beach house and the boys decide to make one of the best summer ever. Kevin (Thomas Ian Nicholas) and Vicky (Tara Reid) are no longer together weird, I did not like that. Jim (Jason Biggs) is still deeply in love with Nadia (Shannon Elizabeth), but asks Michelle (Alyson Hannigan) the band geek to help him out, so he could get better in sex. Oz (Chris Klein) and Heather (Mena Suvari) are still together but they are MILES seperated because Heather goes to study to Europe. Paul Finch (Eddie Kaye Thomas) is still horny about Stifler's mom MILF (Jennifer Coolidge). Stifler (Seann William Scott) is still a dick and he is brother Matt (Eli Marienthal) is funny.

The film is outrages laughable I have the VHS home and I do have to Blu-ray disc which contains Unrated version of the movie diffrent from the teacrical cut I used to had. The movie has jokes like Jim glues him self, I really like Jim's dad (Eugene Levy) defending his son after a older woman attacks JIm about his sex orientation, when he had a VHS tape glue on his hand. I would stick up for my son that way too. Shannon Elizabeth is still gorgeous in this movie she is great and sexy as Nadia. Gorgeous Tara Reid is awesome in this movie. Mena Suvari is hot. Sherminator (Chfris Owen) is back in this movie and he lands up with Nadia funny. We have two lesbians in this movie who force the boys to jerk off Stifler's private part. Denise Fey and Lisa Arturo were great as Danielle and Amber as two lesbians.

Love the soundtracks: Blind Spot by Transmatic, Want You Bad by The Ofspring, Blink 182 - Every Time I Look For You, Good For a Woman by Alien ant farm-smooth criminal and more songs. James B. Rogers directed well this sequel so it is one of the best comedy's of 2000's. They don't make em like this anymore. My third favorite "American Pie" movie.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Another Brilliant Slice of Pie
mjw230515 January 2005
I don't think this movie would work, if you haven't seen the first. It relies too much on characters and story from the first encounter set one year earlier.

This said it is a great sequel that simply picks up where the last film left off, it retains all the characters from the first film and places them in equally embarrassing and hilarious situations.

Slick, funny and entertaining

If you've missed it, then check it out, but see American Pie first

If you like it then see 'Road Trip' and 'Old School' as well

8/10
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
As good as the first
twist198018 August 2001
To make things blunt, I laughed my butt off. I went and saw the movie downtown Seattle the night it opened at the Cineplex Odean at midnight...that was the best crowd I've ever seen a movie with. I could usually tell what was coming, but I was still shocked when it actually happened. I'm usually pretty conservative when it comes to movies, but the American Pie movies have been two of my favorite movies ever. The second movie takes over at the end of the first year of college. The first scene can be figured out by seeing the previews, but there were still a lot of surprises in the movies.

There are a lot of great scenes at Stifler's party, and I was surprised to see that not only were the main characters back, but most of the supporting characters were back as well (remember the two guys from the M.I.L.F. scene?....they were in the second movie as well). Even Stifler's brother is in the movie.

The movie is pretty shocking, but still very funny, I think my favorite part involved Petey. I think everyone needs to see this movie, from junior high aged and older...its destined to be a classic.
61 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Decent sequel
mattymatt4ever1 February 2002
I saw the movie in theaters and laughed out loud. Now, I rented the DVD. I can't say I got as many laughs as the first time, though, and I started to notice more flaws. At first I thought this movie was better than the original. Now I'm not sure. They both have great redeeming qualities that pretty much balance the scale.

The two films movie at a similar rhythm. In the original, we opened with Jim's Dad walking in on him while masturbating. In the sequel, he walks in on him while he's having sex, only it's taken to the next level with the girlfriend's parents walking in as well. And we have the keg party, with a Steadicam shot following Stiffler around, who yet again gets into a mishap with bodily fluids. And of course, in homage of the famous Nadia scene from the original, we have the guys walking in on two lesbians.

The laughs are still there, and there are some genuinely funny moments. I don't want to give them away, though the previews and some of the other reviewers probably already did.

The cast still got it. Eugene Levy steals the show yet again as Jim's Dad. I do have to say, Stiffler's character got a little too obnoxious at times. It's often funny to hear his foul-mouthed insults, but by the hundredth time you hear him use the word "f**kface" it gets kinda old.

I'm always going to hold the "American Pie" movies several notches above the standard gross-out teen comedies, because they have zest and originality. Not to mention they're done in a professional manner. The gags are as intelligent as they are crude, and delivered with exquisite timing. And to top it off, it's a heartfelt film that is not literally all about getting laid. I thought the original had more heart to it, but the sequel also has its heart in the right place.

The music is great. The soundtrack is full of really cool songs, including "Smooth Criminal" by Alien Ant Farm. And be sure to check out the unrated DVD special edition. The commentary is cool and--unlike with the first "American Pie" unrated edition--there is some bonus footage worth checking out. The lesbian scene is extended significantly. In the theatrical version, there was only a brief nudity, but you get to see much more in this version.

I'm still not sure if I would consider this movie better than the first, but it is one sequel that lives up to the original--and that's saying a lot!

My score: 7 (out of 10)
32 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not much plot, but who cares, it's funny
MLDinTN17 August 2002
I liked this movie and got a lot of laughs out of it. It wasn't as good as the original, but then again, most sequels aren't. This movie is basically several funny skits all thrown together. And some of the jokes are just repeats from the original, but others are new. So, that's why this comedy works.

But, why did they even bring the girls back from the original except for Michelle. Vicky, Nadia, Heather, Jessica added nothing to this movie. Each one of them only had a couple of lines. The guys are what makes it work. Jim and Stifler are the funniest of them all. And Jim's dad is great too.

FINAL VERDICT: It's funny. It's raunchy. Its got lesbian and porn scenes. What more could you ask for from a comedy!
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not as flat as some may think
stamper2 December 2001
First of all, this is (of course) a film for people who want to laugh (mainly at others screwing up). Especially Jim (Jason Biggs) seems to get himself in the most embarrassing situations over and over again. But there are other funny moments too, with the Stifmeister (Sean William Scott), Ozzy (Chris Klein), Kev (Thomas Ian Nicholas) and Finchy (Eddie Kaye Thomas). Mainly the film is about what moves people my age and any other age most, the opposite sex. All that obsessing and wondering about the other (does he / she like me, do I love him / her?) is really greatly portrayed and realistic. Of course the people in the film are all not too shabby looking and there are some sick and perverted moments in the film, but you really have to look at the bigger picture. You have to look past the babes, the booze and the parties. You have to look past that ‘every guy's perfect summer' and see that this film is not about sex, it is not about being sexy and cool. This film is about being whoever you are, being true to yourself and your friends, but most of all it is about love. I mean the latter thing may not be true for all characters in the film (e.g. Steve Stifler), but it sure concerns the ‘main characters' life (Jimbo's life). The rest of the film is however pure fun and freedom, that any college student hopes to get. I sure hope my first summer of being in college will rock like that. Can't wait to see the sequel. And again, I do not think I have to force someone to make a sequel.

8 out of 10
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Horny pie served up smashingly well
dfranzen708 September 2001
Raunch used to be so simple! You'd go see Porky's, you knew you were gonna see some T&A. Oh, and maybe a small heartfelt lesson about how people are generally good, even those who are different from us, as long as we have the same goal of getting laid in mind. Those were such wonderful days! Now, everyone's more jaded, even (especially) the kids. You show a kid the shower scene from Porky's, and he'll love it, but I bet after the first few viewings it won't be as much fun. Kids need something new all the time. Now, American Pie is an R-rated film, so at least the intended audience isn't the teen crowd, exactly, but then neither was Porky's (or any of its knock offs). The cast from the original American Pie is reunited. The time is now one year later, and the gang's home from college for the summer. Jim (Jason Biggs) still has his sexual hang-ups. Remember Michelle (Alyson Hannigan), the band-camp girl? Jim went to the prom with her, and she didn't talk to him after that. But don't worry, she's at band camp again and figures prominently in this movie. It seems Nadia, the exchange student whose escapades with Jim made the Internet, is back in the country and is ready to hook up with our hapless lead character. What to do! Jim still has no experience. The guys try to help him out by renting a lakeside cottage for the summer. Meanwhile, Stifler's (Seann William Scott) still trying to hump everything in sight; Oz (Chris Klein) is remaining celibate while his girlfriend Jessica (Natasha Lyonne) is in France; Finch (Eddie Kaye Thomas) is still lusting after the legendary mother of Stifler, after their much-talked-about union at the party in the first movie; and Kevin (Thomas Ian Nicholas) is aching after his breakup with Vicky (Tara Reid). There have been no drastic character changes, either; everyone's as you'd expect after a year of college. Which means, of course, that all the guys are hornier than a sex addict in a penny whorehouse. But that's what drives raunch comedies - the testosterone of single-minded males. As in real life, although the males in the movie have grown up, they still think like high school kids. (And someday this nubile cast will learn that that particular characteristic never really leaves the male of the species!) But while the theme of the movie is sex, sex, and sex, hidden under the layer of bombast and teenage oversexdrive is a theme of tenderness and fallibility. When kids graduate high school, they think they know it all. "Bring life on!" they chortle with glee. "We know it all!" But there's a certain vulnerability that everyone feels at some point, and that's the issue of sexual conduct for the first time. And here's where American Pie 2 deviates from other raunch films. In those yesteryear movies, there was always tremendous pressure for one schlub to get lucky once and for all. I'm talking huge peer pressure! But in this movie, while all of Jim's friends want him to get laid, they never, ever make him feel like he's below average or beneath them because he's not experienced what they have. And that, to me, makes this a very special movie - although, rest assured, it's still as raunchy as the first one. In addition, the ending is so unlike those earlier raunchfests that you actually sit there and admire the screenwriters for not, for once, pandering to the least common denominator. But hold on! Don't look at me like that! You're thinking that if it has good intentions and good messages, how much fun could it really be? Trust me, if you enjoyed the pastry coitus in the first movie, you'll get a kick out of Jim's misadventures in this one, too. The writing is way above par for movies in this genre, and the cast is both lovely to look at more than capable in their deliveries and actions.
28 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Oh For The Love Of Sqeezing Money!!!!
RPullen20 December 2002
Well talk about the biggest and most blatant bit of squeezing as much money out of a franchise.

Yes, yes the original ended set up for a sequel with....

"To the next step!"

But still, they got what they wanted and went to college!

THE END

But it wasn't, more of the same stuff occured and that was all well and good!

This film again was made good by Sean William Scott and Jason Biggs as Stifler and Jim.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilarious
Mr_Sensitive18 February 2005
After watching it more than 60 times I still enjoy the movie as much I watch it the first time I watch it. My comment might be a little bias; after all I'm a big fan.

After the first year in the Uni, the gangs reunite for the Spring Break Party near the lake where they lend a love palace for their wild party.

This is considering being one of the best by most people since it is more sophisticated kind of way (may be because it got the least of dirty stuff of the three). But to me it is as good but not better than the first. It is a great fun to watch this, and proudly to say that it is still up to its standard.

Reason To Watch: · It is American Pie sequel (so it funny by nature), · Still got all the gangs member, · Great Soundtrack

Reason Not To: · None

Rating: 9/10 (Grade: A+)
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilarious movie of all time.
yasir61926 December 2018
This is one of the best and funniest movie i have ever seen in my whole life..Movie is totally fun and one of the bestest scene ever.The scene at lesbians house was so funny that i watched it with non stop laugh.

Incredible fun and totally straight and clear story is.i loved the whole movie,man.I watched American pie 1 yesterday and it was less than this.this one is more funnier and best than ever.The stifles is insane..in every scene he just nailed in and the guy finch :D is totally a nerd.I loved it, man.totally fun and Awesome movie.Father of jim :D "My son glued his hands into his penis,Do you have a penis? I think you do" haha totally funny man.i just watched this Awesome movie after a many years i think.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great movie, but better series
buddhadan-120 September 2006
As I noted in my review of the first movie, this movie is hilarious by itself but better in the movie series.

The first movie helps to set up the characters, brings us a lot of humor, and can truly be watched by itself without seeing any of the sequels.

But, to truly get the most out of the three movies (I don't count the direct to DVD movies that came out later), it's best to see each of them in order.

The first movie has our characters as young and still fairly stupid as far as life is concerned. They learn a bit at the end, grow a bit, and we all get to go along for the funny ride.

This movie has at least one of the group (no spoilers, just see it) already maturing from his role in the first movie and the rest of the characters either resisting the call to adulthood or working their way through their own twisty hilarious paths to maturity.

Again, if you are going to see them, I strongly recommend watching them in the order that they came out in so that you can not only enjoy the humor in each, but so that you can notice that the characters are growing into adults throughout the series, ending in the American Wedding movie.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Better than the first one!
rradosti23 February 2020
GOOD INTERESTING STORY THAT IS FUN AND PRETTY EASY TO FOLLOW = 1 Star

MEMORABLE DIALOGUE = 1 Star

FEEL A PULL TO WATCH IT AGAIN = 1 Star

MUSIC OR SCORE STANDS OUT = 1 Star

NO NOTICEABLE PLOT HOLES = 1/2 Star

STORY GETS RESOLVED OR FEELS COMPLETE IN SOME WAY = 1 Star

I PERSONALLY LIKE OR FEEL A CONNECTION TO THIS STORY = 1 Star

MEMORABLE OR LIKABLE CHARACTERS = 1 Star

MOST THINGS ABOUT THE STORY COULD ACTUALLY HAPPEN OR ARE BELIEVABLE = 1/2 Star

STORY ISN'T BORING OR REPETITIVE = 1 Star



Despite being a similar story and plot to the first one, I believe this was an improvement to an already good movie. I love the flow and vibe of the bachelor party house in summer. The quirks are more hilarious and the love interest plot lines are much less annoying in this installment.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Slight Decrease In Comedy
FilmFanInTheHouse9 January 2008
American Pie 2 (2001, Dir. James B. Rogers)

The whole gang are back and shows that they are as close as ever. They decide to get even closer, by spending the summer together at a beach house. They decide to hold the biggest party ever to be seen, even if the preparation doesn't always go to plan. Especially when Stifler, Finch and Jim become more close to each other than they ever want to be and when Jim mistakes super glue for lubricant.

When the 'American Pie' gang returns, everyone knows that they will be expecting gross out humour and wild characters, and this movie doesn't disappoint. All the wonderful characters are back, including Eugene Levy as Jim's Dad, who steals every scene he is in. Stifler is his usual self and Finch is more entertaining this time. A lot of the female side of cast have a reduced role in this movie. Alyson Hannigan's role is expanded, whilst the others only appear in a few scenes. The jokes again are well written, but like the first film, are not the most cleanest of jokes. If you saw the first movie, then you would know what kind of adult material is found in this film. Although, the film holds up well alongside it's predecessor, it had a slight decrease in the comedy. Still, it's a fun and entertaining movie to watch.

"The force is strong with that one." - Stifler (Seann William Scott)
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hahaha I laughed out loud of this!
meydiana-652423 June 2021
As good as the first.

To make things blunt, I laughed my butt off. I went and saw the movie downtown Seattle the night it opened at the Cineplex Odean at midnight...that was the best crowd I've ever seen a movie with. I could usually tell what was coming, but I was still shocked when it actually happened. I'm usually pretty conservative when it comes to movies, but the American Pie movies have been two of my favorite movies ever. The second movie takes over at the end of the first year of college. The first scene can be figured out by seeing the previews, but there were still a lot of surprises in the movies.

There are a lot of great scenes at Stifler's party, and I was surprised to see that not only were the main characters back, but most of the supporting characters were back as well (remember the two guys from the M. I. L. F. scene?....they were in the second movie as well). Even Stifler's brother is in the movie.

The movie is pretty shocking, but still very funny, I think my favorite part involved Petey. I think everyone needs to see this movie, from junior high aged and older...its destined to be a classic.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A new way to see what is in college
badyfird4 August 2020
I liked this movie and got a bunch of laughs out of it. I couldn't say it was as good as the original, most sequels aren't. This movie is basically several funny skits all thrown together. And some of the jokes are just repeats from the original student life, but others are new. It works.

But, why did they even study the girls back from the original except for Michelle. Vicky, Nadia, Heather, Jessica added nothing to learn something new. Each one of them only had a couple of lines as we learn it in school. No special things. The scholars are what makes it work. Jim and Stifler are the funniest of them all. And Jim's dad is awesome.

FINAL VERDICT: It's funny. It's raunchy. To get and learn more it can work as it definitely helps you to get more knowledge about not ideal adult and college life.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Almost as good as the original!
muamba_eats_toast21 July 2020
Couldn't stop laughing one of the best sequels in a long time! The original was marginally better but still very much worth watching!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nostalgic,the best sequel!
goswamidiptanshu1 June 2020
It was awesome and like X 2 from prequel in any aspect,the whole party and making memories it felt like really relatable and amazing AF,same as 1st one the situations were awkward,surprising,funny and awesome.the partners and there desperation among them it was great,it was relatable AF no one wants changes in life and make memory with same person,It was a awesome sequel Again a Classic!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Teen gem from the noughties
stemelia2127 December 2019
The story is none existent but there was never surposed to be one. Group of guys that want to have sex end of story. The first one was good but this one is just as funny.

I was the right age in 2001 for this movie so it will always hold a special place in my heart. If you want a laugh, some blink 182 / sum 41 tunes in the background then watch it.

It's not the greatest film ever made but it's getting a 7/10 for laughs and the related subject in every boys life growing up.

Their all on Now TV binge watch them all, you wont be disappointed.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This SEQUEL is GREAT!!!
dockerykelli6 July 2019
American Pie 2 is such a wonderful, hilarious movie and basically picks up from where we were left in the 1st movie. Silly antics THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE MOVE!!!! True Friendships, love, and blossoming love story! Beautifully shot!!! A+++ Film
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Even better than #1
gamergcfan24 June 2015
This is much funnier than #1, but the story isn't quite as good. Overall, I found it better. I was even tempted to rewatch it a week after, for it was just so funny. Even if the drama isn't as good, it didn't get boring due to having a load of hilarious, continual jokes. Oh, and wait... The soundtrack also gets better!

Pros:

  • Even funnier than #1


  • I like the soundtrack even better than #1


Cons:

  • Story not quite as good as #1


Score: 10
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It sucks.
wabus4420 December 2001
This has to be one of the worst "major" releases in recent memory. This should have gone straight to video. I can enjoy gross out humour ala Something About Mary. I can find redeeming qualities in teen movies like the excellent 10 Things I hate About You. There was nothing enjoyable or redeemable in this boring and unfunny thud. (I must admit to chuckling at a couple of technical gaffes though). This movie can only be enjoyed by people who are on medication, are self medicating, or are suffering from withdrawal symptoms of American Pie.
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An OK sequel
TBJCSKCNRRQTreviews17 April 2004
Considering how great the first one was, I'm a little disappointed over this movie. It just seemed like they pretty much remade the first, just taking it a little further, making it more gross and more extreme, which may work for some fans of the first, but I honestly enjoyed the realness and laid-back feeling of the first far more than the gross scenes and stereotypes. Now, the stereotypes and the gross scenes are multiplied, to a point where it just gets a little tiresome. The apparent lack of any real original ideas, rather than just rehashes of the first, was a bit annoying too. But, all in all, it's an OK sequel, and a reasonably good teen comedy. The plot is OK, but it just seems too much like it was made up just in order to make a sequel to the first. The characters are a little too stereotypical, and not as well-written and real as they were the in first one. The humor is more or less the same, too much the same, in fact, as many of the jokes are just reused from the same formula as the first, like several of the scenes. Overall, the movie is not as good as the first, but it's OK. It's worth watching, if you want to see the characters again. I recommend this to fans of the first, and fans of teen comedies in general. 7/10
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed