Strong Medicine (TV Series 2000–2006) Poster

(2000–2006)

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
This is such a great show
kitty24shoes20009 March 2005
It is the best show every on small screen. Rosa Blasi (Dr. Lu Delgato) and Patricia Richardson (Dr. Andy Campell) are great actors!!!. When Rosa Blasi yells you want to hide, when Patrica turns serious or worries, you are dying to know what is the matter. I know I have cried numerous times during the show. You can watch any episode and know what is happening. That one episode you watch, will not be your last...I guarantee!! Everything that happens is so realistic!!!!! I love that show. Jenifer Hawkins (Lana) is so wonderful!! Peter and Lanna's story can be the funniest and coolest part of the show. I know almost anyone who watches it will love it!!!
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Excellent series
pennywise55b31 January 2005
Strong Medicine is an intelligent drama dealing with issues from a women's perspective, not seen very often on TV. The story lines are full of thoughtfully resolved problems that I have experienced in my life. I can see if I were younger, it would help me understand why things go the way they do in life. I like the various characters, and the wide diversity in terms of their ethnic and economic background. I also like that they generally support each other, develop friendships, and understand them. The characters are not cardboard, and I really wish it were put on network television. It was hard to find it, and the friends I've recommended it to, love it as well. I'm glad there is not too much gore, as the ER series has started to have, so I can learn about hospital life without seeing body parts and lots of blood.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Powerful Stuff
Juliet Gabriella Kaleigh20 August 2000
I like this show. It's real. It shows you what being a doctor is like, and how the patients deal with their doctors, and how they handle things. The first episode really pulled you in, I plan to watch it every week. I think people should really check this show out.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Overlook the flaws and be entertained!
dodgerdiva4 February 2005
Yup, Strong Medicine does go "over the top" frequently, but what hospital show or courtroom or detective/police drama hasn't? And yes, it also flaunts a decidedly feminist perspective, but what else would you expect from Whoopi Goldberg on Lifetime TV?

Strong Medicine is not intended to reflect reality all the time, because if it did, it would either be too gory or too boring to have entertainment value. The acting is very credible, the writing is creative and sensitive and the direction is first-rate though not unusually clever for an emergency room show.

Rittenhouse Hospital doesn't exist (I did a quick search) and its characters and patients are fictitious. But the entertainment industry asks us to suspend our logic and common sense every day for the sake of, well...being entertained. And we do it gladly.

So sit back and relax and watch "Lu", "Andy Campbell" and the rest of the Rittenhouse staff tackle fascinating women's health issues with their usual confidence, expertise and sense of humor -- and OK, a bit more schmaltz and drama, just for fun.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
entertaining, albeit typical Lifetime fare
blanche-26 March 2005
Produced by Whoopi Goldberg, Strong Medicine is an immensely popular show, currently starring Rosa Blasi and Patricia Richardson. Both are very strong actresses. The rest of the cast is peppered with interesting characters and good acting as well. Jenifer Hawkins is particularly enjoyable as Lana, who always speaks of herself in the third person. The talented Phil Casnoff plays the head of the hospital.

Strong Medicine is a real women's show, and why not - it's on Lifetime, after all. It's preachy and talky as all get-out. Somehow it manages to entertain quite often with compelling stories. It just hits its messages a little too hard. But I imagine if you don't have much medical education and you're a fan of this show's, you've picked up a lot of valuable information. That is, after all, one of its objectives, and it succeeds admirably.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Rosa Blasi is the best actress ever!
kim12238423 March 2004
This show is the best show ever.. Rosa Blasi is the best actress ever! I hope the show is on for years to come. I also hope that Janine Turner will guest star on this seasons in at least one show, because that would be the best guest star ever on the show! A lot of fans miss her and would love to see her back on the show even if it is just for one episode! Also I would like to say that I will watch this show for as long as it is on, because there is no other show quite like it! I mean who doesn't want a doctor just like Lu? I know that if my doctor was just like Lu I would never be hesitant to go and get checked out! Even a doctor like Dana would be great or even Andy! I mean they are all wonderful doctors! Also Christopher does a great job as Mark! Who doesn't want a son like Mark? Lu and Mark are like the perfect family even though there is no father in the house! They don't need one!
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Strong Medicine is the most moving and compelling show out there!
Charlies_girl768127 October 2002
'Strong Medicine' deals with the latest medical findings and procedures. I think that the best part about the show is, other than the great actors, is that Whoopi Goldberg and Tammy Ader (executive producers) appointed the lead characters to be women, very different women. At the end of the show, people get to see the points of view from the down-to-earth free clinic doctor Luisa (Lu) Delgado, played by Emmy nominee Rosa Blasi, and her partner, the high ranking, Dr. Dana Stowe, played by Emmy winner Janine Turner. The acting is superb! The supporting cast has won numerous awards for their work in various shows and movies. People are not blasted over the head with the show saying this is the answer at the end people can think; well I wonder what the answer really is. In every episode I promise that you probably won't make it through without crying. The show also has many funny characters that lighten the mood. Strong Medicine helps you understand what goes on in a hospital and what an ER, OBGYN doctor's day is like, including their personal lives. Right now the show includes doctor who just adopted two children, and another is trying to recover from her . If you are even the slightest bit curious about hospitals or a dramatic show, this is the one for you. Strong Medicine is on Lifetime 8:00 pm Sundays.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
the best thing I have ever seen on TV
mikelcoca27 November 2004
this TV-series is the best I have ever seen. yes I love it. It's incredible the things you can learn from this series: learn about medicine, about personal problems and how to solve them... That series should win an Oscar! usually, the series that are on TV in Spain are all reality shows that the only thing they teach is how a man can eat 2 hundred worms in ten seconds.... that's pathetic. this series should be known for all the people around the world due to it's incredibly and amazing way to say things. it gives the people who watch it the things that other TV series don't do.. like love, faith, friendship,etc. I encourage every person who wants to see it,It's worth to see it believe me!
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great show
thelibrarian_oook15 June 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Why is it that as soon as a strong woman character or story lines relating specifically women, it's "feminist propaganda" and the characters are seen as blazing uber-women who obliterate men with single word? God forbid we have strong women characters on television in stories dedicated to women's health.

The show does have its faults (can often be over-the-top, cheesy, and things wrap up a tad conveniently), but it's still a great show. Good mix of humor and drama, and the stories have consistently gotten better as it progressed. It's nice to see women's health issues having some more light shed on them, in particular the story of Lu's rape was very well done and poignant. Well done!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Rosa Blasi is the best actress ever!
kim12238423 March 2004
This show is the best show ever.. Rosa Blasi is the best actress ever! I hope the show is on for years to come and I hope the rumor that Mark is killed off in season 5 is not true! I also hope that Janine Turner will guest star on this seasons in at least one show, because that would be the best guest star ever on the show! A lot of fans miss her and would love to see her back on the show even if it is just for one episode! Also I would like to say that I will watch this show for as long as it is on, because there is no other show quite like it! I mean who doesnt want a doctor just like Lu? I know that if my doctor was just like Lu I would never be hesitant to go and get checked out! Even a doctor like Dana would be great or even Andy! I mean they are all wonderful doctors!
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Very Good Show!
Shari27 February 2004
I would recommend anyone to watch this show. Lifetime has an eye for brilliant ideas when it comes to their shows. The storylines are real and open up the viewer's mind to the frailty of life and how other people are coping with things you can't imagine. I lost touch with it a little after Dana left because I didn't think I'd be accustomed to the mom from Home Improvement as her replacement. I don't quite remember why Dana left. I think she wanted to have kids? Anywho, Dr. Delgado is awesome and puts her opinions out there for the world to know. Even in medicine, there are systems of inequality and I like that they let you know that. I love Lana's character and how she fits into the equation. Their lives are pretty interesting too, but the show focuses on the neglected needs of women which is what is really interesting. What's good for the goose isn't necessarily good for the gander.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One of the best shows EVER made for television!
elizabethbennett13 October 2002
Well, what do I say about SM except that it is probably one of the best shows that has ever graced the small screen. The acting, writing, directing.....everything and everyone involved does a great job! The storylines are also good as I always walk away from this show on Sunday nights feeling like I have learned something new everytime! I hope to see more of this show for years to come. I give it a 10+ on a scale of 1-10. Great stuff!
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Could've been a GREAT show, but... Ergh!
mizunoakashi27 April 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Sorry to burst your bubble, thelibrarian_oook, but the other commenter HAD a point. Strong Medicine's greatest flaw is its absolute misandry, since men are too often portrayed as being either too evil or too stupid to be real and women are practically always right and perfect whether they're victims or justice fighters.

One example was the ridiculous break-up of Andy and Leslie, where a man who was an excellent person and even better husband for 30 years was transformed into an angry bastard for the sake of Andy angst. I felt cheated about such a thing, anbd since then I skipped all the parts referring to it. Another example is Dr. Bob Jackson, always opposing to Lu and practically ALWAYS losing to a man lady who started out very well and ended up as a borderline Mary Sue, always screaming and always being right and never really learning a lesson if she was not.

Remember, script writers! Wimpification and villanization of men =/= empowerment of women. I'm a female and a feminist, but I HATE how show writers think that feminism is about forcing the stupid and evil men to bow to the power of the holy vagina. Misandry is just as bad as misogyny and the reason why feminists aren't taken seriously.

--- Maria.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
GREAT
CharmedvsBuffy31 December 2003
This show is REALLY good. Just fantastic! I think Lu is definitely the best..... Only the fact that all her patients call her "Lu" and not Dr. Delgado makes her cool. Unfortunately we're behind here.... Anyway, there's no more I can tell about this show. It's just a great show.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Copying other shows and overdoing everything to attract audience. Also a feminist propaganda.
NoeMan28 November 2003
In this TV program, EVERYTHING goes over the top. A woman gets breast cancer and everyone cries, later the doctor reveals that her mother died from breast cancer, a few minutes after that another doctors mom gets diagnosed with breast cancer and they all cry together. This is what this show is like, they copy other shows with the drama we have seen hundreds of times before and just add little on to that making it cheesy and lame. The actresses are crap, overacting everything and always looking like they just spent in the chair having a make-up artist work on them, no wait actually that really is the case here they just did that. It´s also clear that this show is a feminist propaganda, which Whoopy Goldberg is behind.

Dreadful. 3/10
8 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Strong Feminist Propaganda
cootum27 June 2004
In the 1970s, TV 'doctor' shows often promoted minority agenda with story lines in which an all-knowing minority MD would come on the scene to save a desperate patient from ignorant white, university docs, who just couldn't come up with the correct 'zebra' diagnosis. Afterwards, all the white docs would grovel at the feet of the hallowed minority doc, and the latter would disappear from the series, never to be seen again. 'Strong Medicine' runs in the same vein, but the 'cause' promoted in this unrealistic series is the super-human female MD, better known as the feminist MD. Again, these femmes are all-knowing, overly familiar with every possible disease known to woman (heaven forbid to man), and have attitudes which go along with the farce. Worst of the lot is Dr. 'Lu' Delgado, made even more unpleasant by the gigantic chips permanently rooted on both of her tiny, Hispanic shoulders. Tiny, yes, but loud-mouthed and ever-ready to jump on a screaming, ranting, raving, feminist soapbox, should ANY man look at her in ANY way remotely romantic or behaves in a non-subservient manner toward her. After all, she was raped at some point earlier in her life, according to the plots, and she's never recovered completely from the ordeal. Therefore, she mentally castrates all men and does little to hide her utter contempt for them. 'Strong Medicine' is perfectly suited for the feminist-oriented Lifetime Channel.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Absolutely Fabulous
InstantEntertainment15 February 2004
I know, I know... that's another show. Strong Medicine is just fantastic, and I feel pretty bad that it took me so long to discover it, but having been an ER-viewer for so long, it was odd to discover a much better hospital series. Not that ER is much at the moment, so my comparison might go wrong there. I just love this show and Rosa Blasi, who plays Dr. Lu Delgado, is just fantastic. When she gets mad, you just want to go into hiding yourself. Too bad that Janine Turner's character Dr. Dana Stowe doesn't give much resistance to the strong personality of Lu and sometimes I wonder if her task is just to have a sheepish look on her face. Lana (Jenifer Lewis) is a great character too, a little over the top like she's supposed to. Nurse Riggs is very unique in many ways, but I loved the scene in which he goes to console Lu after she's been raped and he has tears sliding down his cheeks. He seems like the perfect guy. The character of Dr. Jackson is cold and strict but human too. In short: a terrific show! Funny and sad at the same time, pointing the finger in a subtle way at flaws in the system.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Music on SM
ana_stefanaaa4 November 2006
I was wondering if anyone can help me. I am watching this show on TV , and I can say I like it.Here we are a bit behind with the episodes, and I am a bit sad to see that Andy left the show :( cos I really liked her :( Now I need some help cos last week I saw an old episode :season 3 -episode 19 -when Andy is sending her husband away-there is a song , that I like a lot. I was trying to find out who sings the song but no luck :( . So I am wondering if anyone can help me out - by telling me the name of the song and who sings it .I cant remember any line from the song :( I only remember that is something with ''Smile '' :D :D And a woman is singing the song :) Thanks :)
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
this is an awesome show that everyone should watch.
surfergen7 May 2006
i love this show.I miss it so much.it just more than a medical drama,it is a show about womens problems in everyday life!I hope that all the seasons come out on DVD so that i can watch this awesome show 24/7!!alot of ppl say that it is a just another TV show and that it is a waist of time but it's not!it is a show that informs women of all ages!StrongMedicine mentions breast cancer and cancers that are fatal to women.Like did u know tat heart disease is the number 1 killer of women?i didn't until i watched StrongMedicne.I know the show ended but i don't think that the ppl who work with LIFETIME could take it off that air completely!that would just be horrible!plz watch the show..the first time u watch it u will get hooked!
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
love the show
Fairydustdreamz22 March 2006
i have watched this show for a while... it makes u feel like they are real people that have the same problems everyone else does... i wish it wouldn't have ended it is one of my favorite shows i watch all the reruns... i live in pa and to have a show come on TV that is from this state just seems so cool to me and my friends... i love how it ended but it would come back i would be very happy... i think that the show showed how real people have money problems and not everyone has health insurance and cant pay for medical care... i also liked the chat room on the show i think every hospital should have one... when Dylan came on the show it showed not every womens doctor has to be a female it can be either...
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews