Rape Me (2000) Poster

(2000)

User Reviews

Review this title
236 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
a sexual and violent experience....but a very nice one
jeroenberndsen114 September 2003
Maybe it's because I live in Holland and have a very open mind to sex, drugs and well, maybe not to murder but I was not that shocked.

Of course the rape scene was a bit hard and did not leave much to your imagination, but the rest.... Me and my girlfriend were just entertained by the rest of the movie.

I just read some other 20 user comments and I was in fact shocked by those. Prudish americans and british telling you that it is shocking and garbage and so on. A 5.0 average makes also clear that most of the people are still filled with tabboos.

Big erections and mindless sex.... so what? shooting people up there arse? surely I'd prefer that compared to what happens to the guy that rapes marsellus wallace in Pulp Fiction.

Indeed this was a low budget movie and the camerawork was perhaps of poor quality but it suits the pic. As a student indeed a search for reasons and meaning and I find it hihgly irritating that some people complain about things left unexplained. What are you? Can't you think and maybe even guess for yourselves? Does everything have to be explained?

We both liked it and surely I understand this is not a movie for everyone. I think more of it as an experimental piece of work, seek your own reasons for what they are doing, enjoy this wild ride and if you persist in having a monumentuous storyline, oscar performances and so on, and you are not specifically entertained by x rated sex, lots of blood and the socalled 'holes' in this story then....

Just don't watch this movie!!!!

The backside of the DVD or VHS gives plenty of clues that this is a controversial movie and when you have an open mind and like these kind of movies, i recommend it.

We give it a 7.0
153 out of 206 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Definitely not for everyone
Reggie_Charan3 November 2003
Don't be swayed by all the negative comments, Baise Moi is a worthwhile film. Yes the sex is explicit, and much of the violence simply pointless, but underneath it all remains a compelling vision of two people on a road trip to hell. Both leads may come from porn, but their acting skills are totally credible. One of the most nihilistic movies ever made.
54 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A thought provoking shocker...
murphmeister7513 January 2004
I've read a lot of the comments for this movie and think that many of you have missed the point. The directors claim this to be a movie about friendship - and that the bonds of that relationship have nothing to do with the circumstances from which they are born. I'm somewhat sceptical about that. If you just wanted to make a movie about friendship, it could be about nuns. Or puppies. Or just about anything. But Baise-moi (which translates as Shag Me, not F**k Me) serves to highlight very clearly the moral hypocrisy that surrounds cinema, and has done ever since the days of the Hayes Code. The irony here lies in the fact that it is the explicit sex that caused the film to be banned in so many territories. No one has a problem with the violence. Sure, the violence might be simulated, and the sex isn't - but they both occupy the same space on the screen. And while it's legal to have sex in the privacy of your home, the violence depicted could never be legal. After all, you can see worse violence in Freddy vs. Jason, and more explicit sex on any porn video you might choose, so what is it about the combination that riles people so? I'll concede that the film is flawed, and demonstrates the debutant directors lack of experience, but for the challenge it sets to our jaded set of morals in the west, it should be applauded.
87 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Such a shame
winkimation3 March 2005
It always interests me that anyone can really call this porn. This is an interesting film, even if you think it's 'crap'. Why is it that all the men I know who've watched it, think it's crap? I teach this film as part of a course and without fail all male students thus far have said it's 'not porn' and the thing they most objected to was seeing 'grannies doin' it'. Could it be the fact that for once we actually see men's faces when they come that disturbs so much? What we never or rarely see in porn, is a male appearing vulnerable. In Baise-Moi this is explored. As is said above, yes the 'plot' may be virtually non-existent, but isn't that the case with most regurgitated mainstream films anyway? This film isn't about stimulating an audience sexually, be they male or female, indeed it is just as objectionable to women as it is to men. But I do believe that the reasons are different. The feedback I've received is that men are expecting to be aroused either through plot, character or scenes of a blatant sexual nature. Women are generally just intrigued and then often put off by the violence - by the women - that is often apparently unmotivated. We don't really see films where women are violent without 'good' cause, it's too disturbing and dispels too many myths that potentially undermine society, supposedly. Only just over a decade ago a film, which by comparison views like Bambi, was almost not made because it depicted 'female violence'. Thelma and Louise was viewed as a rather risky production.

So I'm not surprised that Baise-Moi gets a slating. It may well be all those things that the above reviewer suggests, and indeed there are elements I agree with. But this is an important film, even if you watch it just to hate it. If you do hate it, all I ask is that you really think about why you hate it. If you want CGI, predictable narrative structure, drip-feed invisible editing, and to feel absorbed and immersed (I knock none of these things), then don't bother. If you're a thinking person who has an inquiring mind, give it a go.
154 out of 219 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
No Closing Your Eyes to Society's Injustice
Nodriesrespect28 September 2007
Why are people so outraged by BAISE-MOI (which literally means F**K ME, the English language title is a travesty) ? Is it because of the explicit sex (far more fleeting than that shown in any porno tape freely available at most corner video shops), the stylized ultra-violence or the combination of the two ? Unlike some films, this one doesn't in any way glorify violence though, it merely shows the sad inevitability of it as far as its two main characters are concerned.

Both Nadine (Karen Lancaume aka Karen Bach) and Manu (Raffaella Anderson) routinely endure violation both in word and deed on an almost daily basis as sex workers, prostitute and part-time porno performer respectively. The gang rape of Manu and her drug-addicted friend shown here is totally different from the clichéd they-may-protest-at-first type of rape scene encountered in some adults only features. While the other girl cries and screams throughout (and is ever more horribly abused because of it), Manu adopts a facade of indifferent resignation, cleverly robbing her rapists of their sadistic thrill. Rest assured that the scene goes on a lot longer than anyone would want it to and that it is very painful to watch, which is the whole point of it.

When Manu and Nadine meet and embark on their violent road trip, fully aware that they ultimately can't 'get away with it', sex becomes a source of liberation to them. Like so many guys on the lam in any criminal buddy movie you can think of, they take what they want, when and how they want it, casually discarding (not always violently) their casual partners post-orgasm. One of the most common accusations at porn's address is that the explicit sex scenes dehumanize the people performing them, but here that could not be further from the truth.

Former hardcore actresses Lancaume and Anderson are both terrific in their parts and the sex they have (and, yes, it is 'real' sex) enhances their characterizations, rendering them more complete. The 'cinema vérité' rawness of the digital video format in which it was shot, interrupted by sudden flashes of style when violence erupts (an artistic decision to give the viewer a feel for the power and pleasure the women derive from their acts as an escape route from their drab lives), draws the viewer uncomfortably close to the action. Again, that seems to be the point.

So don't let the negative publicity fool you. BAISE-MOI is a rare film that utterly achieves what it sets out to do and it bodes well for debut cinéastes Despentes (author of the sulfurous source novel) and ex-porn star Coralie. You may love it (as I obviously did) or you may hate it, but this is an important film that no one is likely to ever forget, no matter how hard they might try.
39 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Coarse and Crude: the Film as Well as Its Subjects
RJBose25 July 2001
I first saw a poster advertising this film on a street in Helsinki, Finland in June of 2000. What caught my attention was the proud proclamation advising all readers that the movie, although itself French, had been "Banned in France". Upon returning home to New York, I discovered that one of the "Art House" movie theaters in the City was screening the film, and so (with my Finnish fiancee) decided to see what all the fuss was about. Boy, did we ever.

From the comments read here, and the reviews I knew the movie was violent and sexually explicit. Not necessarily offended by either of these two conditions, I went with an open mind to see what had perturbed the sensibilities of our Gallic cousins. Presumably, as anyone who is reading this will know, the story involves two women who embark on a crime and murder spree in France (the movie has English subtitles). The resemblance to "Thelma and Louise" however, ends with that; the sex is unusually graphic (and in copious supply) as is the violence (a lot of stomping to death, and a lot of blood and other organic matter splattering after bullet impact).

On an intellectual level, one could make the case that the film's very essence is the relationship of sex and violence (as manifested by the only sex these women know: one is a small-time prostitute, and the other has earned money from time to time by performing in pornographic films. When they, during their descent into crime and murder, have the upper hand over their sexual situations, they react only with the same violence and brutality that they themselves know and understand. It is important to note, however, that the victims of their rampage are not only creepy men interested in creepy sex, (of which there are several)but innocent passersby, a woman at an ATM, for example, as well.

I myself do not really understand why the repeated "porn-movie" shots were all that necessary, (except to depict the physical contact as cruel, unpassionate and debased) and the unrelenting gore did get rather tedious after the first few violent spasms.

It is a coarse and crude movie, but in fairness, it is dealing with coarse and crude people and equally unpleasant circumstances. From one point of view, the lives of the French underclasses is explored, and it's pretty grim; a travelogue for France it definitely is not- perhaps that's why the French banned it.
86 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
useful perhaps in looking at the issues it raises
Chris_Docker23 September 2007
I'm not exactly a Francophile. I love the cooking but hate the restaurants. French is one of the great languages of the world, but I find the French attitude to it xenophobic. Yet there is one thing that always stirs my passion. I admire them for it. I wish we had an ounce of it in Britain.

The best known examples of course are the film protests in 1968 – a time when everyone was protesting about everything. But they helped, indirectly, to restore the international prestige of French cinema. When Baise-Moi was banned shortly after release in 2000, there were spontaneous street protests. Now this is a bit different – the film's artistic merits or lack of them are still a matter of debate. But I take my hats off to the French. I would love to see the British protest in the name of cinematic freedom. (The ban was eventually lifted after separate protests signed by Parisian intellectuals.)

As you will already have guessed, the issues around this film are complicated. And they get worse. There is a tendency to react emotively to any highly charged sexual issues. This tendency can maybe blind us somewhat when it comes to analysing more important ones.

This is a film made by women, about women living on the fringes of society. I was once importunate enough to argue with acclaimed filmmaker Gaspar Noé (after a public screening of Irreversible) that his film didn't address the issue of rape as well as Baise Moi. I still believe that, although Irreversible is a landmark film for other reasons entirely. Most films about rape follow male-orientated story lines. They often emphasise the purely physical, violence-aspect (as in Irreversible) or have a strong woman seeking and finding redress (as in The Accused). The reality is that most rape victims are traumatised mentally and emotionally. Physical hurt as a result of violence is no less an issue, but a separate one. Although The Accused looks at some of the metal trauma, it ultimately plays out as a success story. Few rape victims take on such a masculinised determination to succeed against the odds. Odds which are still stacked against the victim.

What I liked about Baise-Moi is that it eschews the woman-survivor scenario for a more realistic picture of lasting psychological damage. Films that show the real horror of rape may discourage it more than ones that show women 'getting over it.' One of the victims of rape in Baise-Moi actually 'lets' her assailants get on with it, commenting to her friend afterwards that at least they didn't wind up dead. The rape (and the violence) of Baise-Moi convinced me that she probably hedged her bets wisely. Her lack of struggle didn't, in my mind, make her any the less a victim. And neither did the unpleasant fact that she was a part-time prostitute make her any more 'deserving.' This is something that it is not easy to live with. As a society, we have moved past the point where a girl in a short skirt acting flirtatiously (The Accused) is 'asking for it' or 'deserving of rape.' But where is our cut-off point? The marginals in society are often seen as dispensable. No-one wants to acknowledge them – least of all mainstream filmmakers. Yet they can be just as much victims.

Another thing I like about Baise-Moi is that the two girls that form a bond and go on a road trip are fully developed as characters. Like most young women, they enjoy having a good time and going after boys. But they have been mentally scarred. One of them has been brutally gang-raped and the other has watched her only friend being killed. They are not 'good girls gone bad'. They are fairly 'bad' already. But they are still victims. Beneath their bravado their mental deterioration is apparent. In Black Snake Moan, the horrific effects of a redneck woman's history of sexual abuse and rape are given some time through Christina Ricci's great acting, but the plot is driven by male characters towards a stupid and not very believable conclusion. In Baise-Moi, it is the trauma that the women went through that drives the plot. (Sadly one of the main actresses, Karen Bach committed suicide in 2005.) The film is arguably weakened by a change of style. The initial scenes are very realistic, including the horrific rape. But then the main protagonists go on a killing spree reminiscent of Natural Born Killers on trash aesthetic. Perhaps this is appropriate – they live in la-la land as long as they can. But it will confuse some viewers.

"To reclaim women's rights over their true sexuality, to seize it back from the male gaze. It's always men who have a problem with a woman's sex: that's their problem, not ours." A noble aim by the filmmakers. But will feminists baulk when they realise that one of the directors and two of the stars have previously worked in hard-core pornography? "There's no logical reason why sex scenes should only be in porn," says Trinh Thi. Indeed, Hollywood agrees. I am sure there are convincing psychological arguments, but realistic sex still upsets many audiences (personally I have more of a problem with overly-realistic violence).

This analysis has outstayed its welcome. I have laboured the good points of the film and rated it accordingly. On a technical level, the idea of using only natural lighting also works well. But apart from its stand against censorship and the way it deals with rape, the film is lacking in many respects. It was made on a very small budget and it shows. The acting is acceptable but not much is demanded from actors in terms of interiorisation and so on. There's a good soundtrack. But the main reason to see the film may probably be to argue over the issues it raises.
26 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thelma & Louise for grownups
lastliberal11 December 2008
This was not one of the infamous video nasties, but it is nonetheless a nasty video. The sex is raw and the violence is in-your-face, just like the title, which was translated into "Rape Me" in the US, but is more appropriately "F*ck Me." I noted that it was supposedly banned in it's home country, France, and it was certainly banned in other countries like Australia or heavily cut. Do not think for one moment that it was banned for sex or violence. It was banned because of the depiction of men in the film, not a single one with any redeeming social values. It is a hard film to take because all the men in it are pigs.

It is based upon a novel by Virginie Despentes who, with Coralie wrote and directed this film. This is a women's film about women's rage. If this is the way women really feel when they are p*ssed, then you better be warned.

It open with a rape that leaves nothing to the imagination. There is no doubt about the pain being felt. One of the victims, and another woman who just saw her friend killed, join together in an adventure across France. It becomes more and more violent as they go on. Not cartoonish, like Natural Born Killers, but raw violence; uncaring, unmerciful, and brutal.

The sex is real, but it is like nothing you see in porn films. The sex is driven by the women's needs, it shows the vulnerability of men during orgasm, and the men are discarded like used tissues, if they are not killed, when the women have been satisfied.

They even have a Thelma and Louise plan to die together by jumping off a cliff. Circumstances do not allow that to happen, and the ending is rather abrupt and somewhat lacking.

Men joke about PMS, but if it is anything like the rage depicted by the women who made this film, you better watch out. This rage is nothing to joke about.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Simply not very good.
El_Farmerino_Esq8 June 2006
Amidst all the controversy about the porno-style sex scenes, random acts of violence, liberal depictions of drug use and so on it seems the central question has been lost - is Baise-moi actually any good? Well, the answer is "No - not really."

It starts well enough, nicely setting up the two main characters with some very well-acted, almost documentary-like scenes. Well, I say nicely - the word seems hardly appropriate when these scenes include Manu and another woman suffering a genuinely harrowing rape while Karen prostitutes herself, along with a liberal smattering of general sex, violence and substance abuse. Nevertheless, the opening is well-played out and directed with surprising flair (especially considering that this is the debut movie for both its directors).

However, when the plot kicks in proper and the two women end up on the run together the film's interest begins to drop fast. Oddly, the further out of control the two protagonists get the less exciting the story is - it gradually becomes a mere retread of countless other low-grade revenge/exploitation movies, simply with a slightly more porno feel. By the denouement, to be brutally honest, I was bored stiff (a stiffness which is nothing to do with the pornographic element of the movie, I assure you).

One of the main problems is the inherent lack of any kind of point. The beginning of the movie seems to be setting the film up as an analysis of our responses to violence - of how an upbringing in a cruel and violent environment can manifest those tendencies in ourselves - and also as a commentary on the parallels and links between violence and the act of fornication. However, it completely fails to deliver on either of these promises in the second and third acts and, increasingly, one gets the feeling the film's only reason for being is that it thinks it is cool. Unfortunately for Baise-moi, it isn't. It's a wasted opportunity. It's only real use is as a shock tactic, but even this is wasted on anyone who's seen a porn film - the violence side of it is no worse than is seen in any number of straight-to-video action/thriller flicks.

Ultimately, all there is to recommend Baise-moi is a couple of impressive acting performances, a few amusing lines of dialogue and a thought-provoking 20 minutes at the start. The rest, sadly, is nothing to get excited about.
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's got nobs in and I don't mean rich people
Rathcoole15 April 2003
Baise-moi is the second example of the recent French Graphic Rape Wave of cinema. Like a skanky French Natural Born Killers but without the talent, irony or indeed entertainment, the heavy-handed symbolism and maddening acting should have you turning off after the first 40 minutes. You continue to watch however, mainly though a fascination as to how far the director is willing to push the boundaries of good taste in order to convince us of his point. Something to do with society raping people and by-products of the system, a reflection of the perversity at the root of civilisation, monkeys with guns and Girl Power.

Joining the sensational release of Irreversible, with its centrepiece a nine minute rape scene, it could look to some that modern French cinema had found itself in a quandary, desperately seeking its next big theme in the rapidly thinning file of the last taboos. Thankfully, L'Homme du train dispelled those fears,at least for now. And maybe just two films don't make a wave, perhaps just a ripple.

However, nothing changes the fact that when the closing credits finally arrived, I was angry. Because it was rubbish. Not a patch on the glory of La Haine which dealt with a similar rage, but with far more heart and intelligence. Baise-Moi also has the worst soundtrack ever. I've got to stop wasting my life watching all these terrible films.
46 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unpleasant, unnecessary.
limette30 April 2005
This is one of the rare movies that I did not immediately discuss with my friends after watching it. This wasn't because it had particularly entranced or impressed me. The contrary, it had given me nothing at all.

Why? Because somehow, everything was so much overdone that I couldn't take this film seriously anymore. There was so much sex and violence that I got the strong impression that the film was trying very, very hard to be offensive, as if it was aiming at superlatives in ugliness, rather than in telling a convincing tale about two women caught in a spiral of crime.

Baise-moi had been described as "Thelma & Louise with actual sex" to me. Well, it is true that the main idea is similar. There are two women traveling through the country because they've committed crimes and know that their lives are finished now, that the police are going to catch them, and they decide that now that everything's over anyway, there is no way to hold back.

Baise-moi had been described as a feminist film where women, who had suffered from male dominance in the past, exact revenge upon the men that they encounter.

This is something that I had never interpreted into this film, simply because none of these women had ever been innocent, and because they do not just kill irresponsible, violent men, but also men that they seduce themselves, men that show the sense of wanting to do protected sex. And they kill women. No, they are in no way better than the characters that they encounter and murder in hideous, brutal ways.

How easily the "heroines" decide to murder, and how much pleasure they take in it, made it absolutely impossible for me to relate to them in any way, or even take them seriously. It was just all too much. Too much sex, too much violence. I got the feeling that sex and violence were only there in order to create a superlative in ugliness, rather than in conveying a story, or making a point.

Baise-moi left me with no impression, hadn't set me thinking, because it was so far removed from any real world. So constructed, unrealistic and over the top.

There was nothing that I could do with this film, there was simply nothing about it to think about, other than "Why did they make this terrible film?" Had the intense unpleasantness going on in this film, served a purpose, I'd easily accepted it. But since I found nothing, since the film's story appeared to be not more than an excuse to squeeze as much and as ugly sex as possible into one film... I filed it away under "unnecessary torture", decided to never ever, EVER, watch this film again, and I now consider this to be the worst film I've ever seen.

Worst, not just because it really isn't my cup of tea to watch people get raped, rape, have sex in other forms and kill one another... but because whatever it was that the makers wanted to tell the world with their film... if they wanted to say anything at all... it just didn't work. And there's nothing else that could save this film, because it's also filmed in such an ugly style.
64 out of 112 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A new benchmark... in bad movies.
Sir Didymus2 May 2003
I've just had the misfortune of sitting through this film. That it's title translates into 'F*** Me' in English was hardly promising - but I tried to keep an open mind throughout.

Within minutes - I was left baffled by a plot that barely makes sense, acting that makes daytime tv soap operas look like Oscar material, and some of the worst directing I've ever seen.

The violence within the film is highly graphic, but nothing particularly terrible. There's much worse in several critically acclaimed films that I really enjoyed - so that in itself isn't a problem for me. What is a problem is that the film's protagonists have no reason for doing what they do - other than their graphic rape at the beginning. If this film can be compared to 'Thelma & Louise' in any way, its that Themla and Louise were both likeable people who ended up in a bad situation they couldn't escape from. The leads in this film are not exactly likeable at the start of the picture, let alone when they go on a killing spree murdering anyone and everyone that gets in their way.

The rape sequence is very graphic - and certainly more realistic than your average Hollywood attempts. But there is no real explanation as to why it causes the characters to lose control - it just does. Obviously, rape is a tramuatic experience - but this film seems to just trivilise their order in an attempt to score cheap 'shock points'.

The explicit nature continues with sex scene after sex scene. Blow jobs, sex from both front and behind, standing up, lying down, on all fours - whatever your dirty favourite - chances are its in here... and seemingly for little reason other than titilation.

Chances of the film being saved by feminist undertones are not taken. Thelma and Louise took revenge on the kind of men who raped them, this women just kill whoever they feel like. Not even 'Ms 45' killed everyone she could - only men who she had an understandable fear of following her ordeal.

Certainly not a film for the faint of heart, I thought I could stomach almost anything - but watching them murder yet another person unjustly whilst having sex with yet another person who they later murder - it all became a bit too much. I didn't so much find it shocking, as entirely boring after a while. That the potentially enjoyable scenes were scuppered by violence seconds before they could've gotten interesting didn't help either!

To conclude - I learned nothing from this film. It's appalling direction and somewhat hammy subtitles (in English, possibly identical to the French - but I couldn't tell you for certain), as well as some dreadful acting from its leads... and worst of all - a jumpy nature that effectively ruined every murder - simply left me unable to find any merits within this picture. I may have seen a worse film... but I'd be hard pressed to name one!

Avoid like the plague!
26 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
My review (contains spoilers):
SanderStrijbos22 May 2002
Warning: Spoilers
Controversial. Explicit. Uncut. All true? Big yes. But does it live up the hype? I rented the tape in the same week as it was banned in Australia and for the same reasons the people there went to see it, I rented it: I just wanted to know what kinda film created all the buzz.

Two women kill - separately - two people and they decide to run. They meet at the train station and find out there are no trains going anywhere at that time of the night. They go together with a car and leave a trail of destruction behind them.

Combine this with explicit sex (even porn), lots of ultra violence and you've got a clear picture of Baise-Moi. The most controversial thing about this film are the sex-scenes, which are - at times - hardcore. I admire the fact the makers had the guts to film them and even let it pass in the editing room, but I have a suspicious feeling they did it just for the effect.

The violence is also explicit and sometimes gory. But ladies, nouvelle violence died about seven years ago. They also discuss the fact they should say something cool whenever they kill people. But somehow they never manage to really say anything important, to make a statement. Okay, they are both on the run and one of them was raped earlier in the film, but they never give a clear motivation for the killing. Is it they want to have revenge on "all the men"? Well, later in the film, in a sex-club, they also kill women.

If you look beside the controversy you can see that this could be a good movie, an evil Thelma and Louise, but the makers are too much focused on the sex and the violence and that makes it nothing more than an exploitation flick. The ending was good, though.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Hard movie, not for weaks or censors!
velocidad221 May 2001
I have the luck of watching Baise Moi in the Buenos Aires film festival. Its a movie banned in several places because of it explicit content of sex and violence. Its a crossover between hardcore pornography and gore, something very unusual(another movie in this way is Porno Holocaust by Joe Damato but that movie have the sex and the violence more in a commercial way and the sex scenes looks to be filmed apart from the main movie). In this movie, the use of extreme hardcore and violence help to create a very politically incorrect situation, and thats the best of this movie. The censorship hates this kind of movies, like some part of the society who are weak people and priest-minded idiots. I give this movie a 10 because of its courage.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Strong stuff!
HumanoidOfFlesh23 January 2003
"Baise-Moi" is one of the most shocking movies ever made.The film is truly ugly in its depiction of sex,brutality and rape.The story is simple:a rape victim and a hooker join together to trek Paris leaving trail of bloody corpses behind them.The two leads(real porn stars Raffaella Anderson and Karen Lancaume)have graphic sex and they also do a lot of drugs and kill plenty of people in many gory and bizarre ways.The film is extremely violent-the rape scene at the beginning is very ugly and uncompromising.Many viewers sitting with me in the cinema left the theatre offended.This is strong stuff and definitely not for everybody,but it still has some kind of a social impact,so I wouldn't go so far to call it mindless exploitation.It is raw and convincing when when it shows women being abused by men or when it shows women working in the sex trade.Highly recommended.10 out of 10.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Who said porn stars can't make a film
dolarhydecb29 April 2006
Interestingly enough, THEY CAN'T.

This movie tried it's best to rank with other video-nasties. In remembrance of Thriller-A Cruel Picture mixed with the plot of Thelma and Louise, this movie fails to offer any original style at all. Many women state that men can't openly watch this film and that men are closed minded to films like this. Others conclude people don't like this film because it's too explicit. Well let me be the first to say that, unlike the film makers, most human beings are intelligent people, specifically those commenting on this board(other than those that even consider this movie worthwhile). If you don't like explicit material, than most people naturally don't watch it. And if you are new to the genre, you're probably not starting with this film. Therefore we can conclude logically that most people seeing this film have experience with films by Lucio Fulci, Pier Paolo Pasolini, Gasper Noe, Alejandro Jodorosky... The difference, however between the above filmmakers and the makers of this film is that they offer intelligent, thought-out pieces that often work as metaphors of particular events. To say that this film is a metaphor of the way women feel towards a male dominated society is just ignorant.

Some people say this film does not have a story, unfortunately this is not true. The film does have a story, a very simple revenge story that seemed to be written by aggrevated 8th graders. The directing in the film is insulting and it insults the other great film makers who spend long hours writing brilliant allegories and then translating through the film medium. This film, if anything, resembles that of a Troma film with explicit sex. The movie is almost laughably bad, trying to achieve a high status through publicity. The violence is, however, well done, and that does give the film some merits. But the inclusion of completely unthought sexual scenes ruins this immediately. It's not like people watching this film have not seen the act of sex before.

When a movie goer goes to see a film, specifically one calling itself an art film, they expect to see fresh, thought-provoking material. What we have here is a mess. Unfortunately this movie clarifies that not everyone can make movies. Women who like this film and argue it to be revolutionary are missing the fact that there are good writer/directors out there that touch on women rights much more thoughtfully. Apparently this film is supposed to deliver some sort of message, but in order to voice such a message, you must first demonstrate a level of respectable intelligence that would allow a viewer to value the opinion of the writer/director. This film never comes close to accomplishing any level of respect and clearly the filmmakers lack any knowledge AT ALL in film-making(Other than the effects). If you're going to make a film that is controversial with a message be inventive with your film making, be inventive with your story line, be inventive with your characters, be inventive with your camera shots. DO NOT THINK THAT JUST BECAUSE YOU SHOW TWO PEOPLE REALLY HAVING SEX THAT YOUR FILM DESERVES RESPECT. The message in this film is so ineffectively delivered that I think I have scene porn films that offer more insight into life than this film.

Anyways, the only reason I felt compelled to comment on this film is due to the lack of people intelligently commenting on this film as a film. Nobody wants to hear that this film is bad because of the explicit nature and nobody wants to hear it is good on that account either. The moral of the story here is, just because of a film is cutting edge doesn't make it good. Hey look at Island of Death for example, that film was banned all over the place. Or even Cannibal Ferox, which offers nothing but gore. The only problem is, those films are designed to shock and entertain through the shocks, this movie tries to offer a deep message embeded in worthless shocks, just like IOD and CF. What this film is is a PORNO made by ACTRESSES IN THE PORN INDUSTRY with BLOOD, no more, no less. Anymore analysis gives the writers too much credit in life. Pretty much they picked up a camera one day and said, instead of just having sex today, lets simulate rape and call it art. WHO DOES THAT?
23 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
If you want a good film watch"Thelma & Louise, if you want good porn watch "Deep Throat"
jasonspooner15 April 2003
This is a fairly mediocre porn film dressed up as art. Extremely violent, and border line hardcore. Stanley Kubrick talked for years about wanting to make a porn film for mainstream audiences, but I doubt even he could have got this past the censors.

The plot(which has been likened to Thelma and Louise) concerns two french girls who go on a sex and murder spree after falling foul of a couple of degenerates. They are fairly indiscriminate with thier victims, both male and female. The film basically moves from one set piece to another; sex-murder, sex-murder, and thats it.

I know people will say i`m missing the point, that it`s about female empowerment, but I would have thought you could tell that story more effectivly if the film had less T+A. I don`t want to sound xenaphobic, but I wonder if this film would have got past the censor, if it had starred someone such as Tabitha Cash, rather then being a franch "art film"
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
"Requiem" for a Pornstar.
armando_mariani7 February 2005
I've seen "Baise-Moi" on DVD several weeks ago. The movie made also a short run in Adult Theaters here in México City as "Viólame!" but I don't think it scored high. I enjoy a "pretty strong stomach" and, with the years passing by, I became more open-minded and tolerant (thank God something good comes also with the aging process...). The movie contains a graphic rape sequence, a few more explicit sex scenes and "tons" of gore and violence, without being able to deliver a message. Perhaps it was supposed to be just a provocative movie but, the violence in particular, remains almost unexplained and gratuitous and, therefore, it can only be considered pure exploitation. Graphic depiction of violence and sex in movies absolutely don't offend me (on the contrary, if well done and essential to the plot, I surely like it), but I wasn't very impressed by this one. I mostly agreed with the comment posted on IMDb so, I didn't feel any interests in posting another comment, since there was not much else I could say. However, last week, I heard on the radio, while listening to a variety program which deals with music and movies, that on January 28th, Karen Lancaume aka Karen Bach, "Nadine", one of the two main characters of this movie, took her own life at age 31. A suicide news note is always a sad note but the suicide of a person who has gained certain notoriety, usually (and unfortunately) stirs-up a process of exploitation based on bad publicity and I wouldn't be surprised at all, if the movie would make another run in theaters and the sales of the DVD would benefit of an important boost. How sad! Poor "exploited" Karen; she surely was a pretty lady and perhaps even a fine person but, at age 31, in spite of being still a young woman, she already passed "prime-time" which for an "Adult Movie Star" (that's what she was whit 28 porn-vids and one main-stream movie, also classified as porn, in her résumé), is just about around that age. The porn industry system is allegedly very cruel and burns-up those girls, who decide to go for it, very quickly. The competition of new young "hungry" starlets perhaps became unbeatable and unbearable for her or else... We shall never know why she did it; we can only guess she was profoundly unhappy and severely depressed. I wish (and I hope I'm not the only one), she has now finally found the peace and happiness she couldn't find in life. Karen: "REQUIESCAT IN PACEM"!
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Absolutely, definitely Porn
JoshuaDysart29 August 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Everyone who defends this (needlessly) controversial film likes to say that it's absolutely, definitely not porn. They say this because "the film is not meant for masturbation" or some other legally defining excuse. Even the filmmakers have cried out, "This is not porn!" in their own defense.

But the thing is… this movie is totally porn. It gleefully fetishisizes violence, rape, drug use, lesbianism, domestic abuse, sodomy, robbery, gambling, blow jobs, punk-music, revenge, menstruation, patriarchal oppression, suicide and your good old fashioned non-simulated sex. Most of the time the script feels like it's just ticking off boxes on some all inclusive list of kinks. And it's all done for the money shot, baby… every time. You know why it's porn? It's porn because it shows all of those things in detailed close ups… but it has nothing to say about any of them.

Directed in a classic DIY style and squarely falling into the "New French Extremism" movement, it was made by two-women. One a former punk turned massage-parlour hostess and the other an ex-porn star. It features two other female porn actresses mass-murdering and fornicating (imdb won't let me use the word I want to use) across France, all in "trash" aesthetic video and shot in available light. It's a female power fantasy. An act of sexual reclamation that reverses the conversation on gender violence and it's created by actual sex-workers. So that, in and of itself, is interesting… the actual film, however, is tedious and artificial.

At times the movie does seem to show a passing interest in addressing genuine gender-war rage, but that's all thoroughly lost in its own appetite for shock imagery and its desperate need to be offensive. I've read interviews where the filmmakers claim the movie speaks to all kinds of social injustices, from class separation to racism, and I suppose those ingredients are there in the mix, but in the end this movie is really only concerned with being more pornography in a porn saturated world.

Although the fact that the movie has been banned in several countries, including France, suggests that it's just the sort of artistic exercise society needs. Sadly. So there's that.

If you're into camp, actual on camera sex (Raffaela Anderson is pretty hot) and you don't mind a very intense rape scene (why is the sex so real and the violence so cartoonish in this movie?), I guess it's a pretty intriguing thing to watch.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Unpolished and real...
ezrollergbg16 July 2004
An apocalypse to the inevitable end: death or capture. The rawness and the really simple store amplifies the characters, two born losers. Two victims of poverty and a society where violence and lack of respect for women rules they are (of course) a hooker and a porn-film actor. This is definitely one of the most violent films I have seen. And the violence is never made to look cool, it looks and feels what violence is: ugly, smelly and disturbing. A bit in the same style as "La haine" ("Hate" in the US) but less refined. Not a perfect film but definitely a punch in the face.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Exploitation Punk Rock Riot
gillman1124 August 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Not a movie for prudes. Not a movie for the squeamish. Certainly not a movie for people who like their films to make sense and for their protagonists to have clear motivations and a full and resolved character arc.

SPOILERS (kind of) and I'm male so I could have completely missed the point if so I apologise and await my education.

This is punk cinema - nihilistic - take no prisoners - anybody can do this - f*** you if you don't like it. It is been designed specifically to offend as many people as conceivably possible - its protagonists have no feminist agenda - they are women simply because the filmmakers can get away with more gratuitous sex and violence than if the protagonists were male and this way we get to see Karen Bach posing with guns in her underwear.

I put a spoiler alert just to be on the safe side but theres really no point in a synopsis. One girl gets raped (she doesnt mind too much - I can't recall another film where a rape victim shrugs off the attack in the same way and its another example of the reckless disregard of the filmmakers and I bet that p**sed off loads of people) the other is a prostitute at the beck and call of some junkie loser (who looks a little bit like Gary Oldman but isn't) for reasons which aren't defined. They both kill someone in anger and meet up by chance at the local train station after the last train has left. They kill a woman for her cashpoint card despite only seconds earlier one of the characters saying she has 10,000F to spend (told you it doesnt make any sense) I could go on but won't - watch it and decide for yourself, its only on 77 minutes.

And finally - clear up some of the misinformation from earlier comments:

1. The directors were both women - the screenplay was based on one of the director's novels.

2. Manu clearly states that the rape didn't bother her and the reasons why - she snaps because her brother gets angry not because she's been hurt but because his territory has been invaded - uncomfortably probably a typical male response. Nadine just seems to go along with it cos she's got a bit of a screw loose and she has the hots for Manu, besides its fun and fun is number one.

3. The guy with the condom was killed for being a hypocrite - guess we'd best all watch out.

4. The literal translation of the title is F*** Me not Rape Me. Aside - how could it be Rape Me - if you're asking then its not rape, right? Always puzzled me on In Utero too.

I thought it ruled - its only a movie, right?

Oh well, baise moi!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Tuff, Tuff, Tuff
mgangadeen15 November 2002
Not for the faint-hearted. Baise-Moi defies categories--it features pornographic sex scenes and violent shootings, but it won't fit anyone's definition of an erotic thriller. After separately committing murders, two French women join together in a spree of crime and sex. Because both have endured abuse at the hands of men, the movie seems to start as a self-righteous parable--but the women's actions quickly degenerate into amoral, near random killings, with women shot as casually as men. One reviewer described Baise-Moi as "Thelma & Louise with actual penetration," but it's actually Thelma & Louise without Hollywood sentiment. By refusing to condemn or justify the protagonists' actions, and by depicting both sex and violence with unglamorous realism, Baise-Moi forces the viewer to respond in the most contradictory and basic ways. You may find the lead characters surprisingly sympathetic. Jarring, unsettling, and well worth watching.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A bleak portrait of contemporary France.
cbarry391 May 2001
When I first saw Baise-Moi, I felt somewhat disoriented and it took me several days to really make sense of it. What I discovered, was that the most memorable thing about Baise-Moi, was not its graphic sex or violence (and there's plenty), but rather this strange meloncholy, intentional or not, that drenches every frame of the picture.

Every character in the "Baise-Moi" is flawed; either they are abusive or they are abused, victims or victimizers, and it's really in the throw-away scenes, like when a drug dealing acquaintance of one of the main characters is savagely beaten in an alleyway, that Baise-Moi is most effective, reminding us of the environment that prompted these women to do what they did.

Although the filmmakers have mentioned in interviews that they were just trying to make an exploitation film and had to pull off the intellectual stuff after being threatened with an X rating, it's clear that both women, one of whom has worked in pornography, possess an anger that burns so deep within them that they can't seem to acknowledge it themselves.

Ironically, there's even a scene in the film where the two anti-heroes murder a bourgois psychologist for suggesting that they must have "been hurt really bad" to do what they do. Well, the fact is, they have been hurt, whether they want to admit it or not. A lot of "Baise Moi"'s energy emerges from this crucial point.

The only thing that I didn't like about "Baise-Moi" was that the main characters were women. Although it's widely accepted that it's daring to show "women as victimizers", I felt that this device was a bit of a smoke screen. If men were put in the exact same position, (a la "I Stand Alone") the film would have been fifteen times more disturbing because it would have been, utterly, utterly senseless, almost to the point of indulgence (see Pasolini's Salo.). The fact that the characters are women, redeem "Baise-Moi" somewhat, because it's bridging cinematic ground and playing with stereotypes. This sensibility allows "Baise Moi"'s audience to forgive the women a little more than they should.

Certainly, "Baise-Moi" isn't for everyone, but it is a strong reminder that in this world, a little bit of compassion or self-worth goes a long, long way. Ultimately, like Heneke's "The Seventh Continent" or Gaspar Noe's " Seul Contre Nous", it really ends up asking more questions than it's prepared to answer, but in the end, it's a better film for doing so.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The power of controversy
DenimChicken1 August 2006
Right. Take away the gratuitous sex, show the sex in a way that is not designed to make people recoil in disgust, edit it in a way that make the audience aware that they are just about to have sex, are having sex or are being raped without going into vivid detail and what are you left with?! NOTHING! just a violent poor example of feminism I have never seen. When my film studies lecturer compared this to LOTR for some reason, and declared it better! I almost lost my voice arguing with her, obviously 2 totally different films but still..I ramble...wtf is up with this film, there are no positive aspects; 1. Acting- poor, even though I don't speak french I know this 2. Direction, Mise en scene, editing, location, sound, cinematography. etc.- Substandard, below par, just plain poor, could be shot with a *beep* Philip's camera from 10 years ago, from my back garden with some randoms off the street and still be better.

3. Message- not powerful, a very simple message with no depth and full of pretentious nonsense about 'girl power'.

May all trace of the film be burnt, re-burnt, the ashes put into a plastic pot, melted, sculpted into a figure shape then burnt again and thrown into a volcano, then if it becomes possible at any time, have the volcano destroyed (maybe by Godzilla? or mechagodzilla?) Sorry to rant, I just plain hate this film.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
a piece of talking doo doo would be more entertaining
perry-kerr5 April 2006
well...well..well lets just say that Iwill never have that hour or so of my life back! but... so there was this one part that really blew..ooo wait..wait..that was the whole movie. this is just a guess but I think this was some wealthy..upper class..rich..poor attempt at well..what were they trying to attempt.. ruin a perfectly healthy plot with actors that carried the weight of a dying pig fetus. lets just say the one positive thing I got from this film was the confidence to make film. If your an aspiring film maker and you think your work will never get played..Guess again. anything held next to this tragic attempt would look like gold among rusting copper!

My spelling has taken a turn for the worse after watching this movie. I think this film is the one thing in my life that isn't an illegal substance that has caused me significant brain damage. You know how after passing a car wreck you don't turn away even though you know you should? This is the one time that you should actually turn away. A period in a sink? A gun up an anus? Good lord. Every word out of the actresses mouths was a curse word. No subtlety in the dialogue whatsoever! These actresses had all the emotional range of porno actresses, and their sex scenes were the least arousing I have ever experienced. My penis not only remained limp, it grew downward. The fact that someone actually financed this heaping pile of bloody vomit, and that Time Magazine listed it as one of its top ten European movies of 2000, my God. I am rendered speechless. Someone please kill the Time Magazine film critic. Screw Flanders, Screw Flanders, Screw Flanders.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed