Tucker (TV Series 2000–2001) Poster

(2000–2001)

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Extremely funny!
Kelly-1512 October 2000
I stumbled upon this show in my lifelong obsession with all things Seth Green, and I have to say, I'm hooked. This show is SO funny! The jokes are great, the characters are engaging, and basically it's just a welcome change from all of these shows coming out with famous stars that aren't funny at all. I really need to know the name of the actor who plays Kinicke (sp?-I haven't seen Grease in a while)- he is amazing! Of course, the most amazing part is that these people somehow manage to make Seth Green look tall. Interesting. Anyway, watch this show!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
this is like The Wonder Years with an "R" rating
Zane-053 October 2000
I watched the first episode last night and I was nearly in tears from laughing so much. Eli Marienthal is a talented and likeable young actor, and could be the next Frankie Muniz if he gets the right roles. About the show---the numerous male adolescent sex jokes and penis jokes did not offend me one bit---this kind of humor is right up my alley. So please, please NBC, do not axe this show like you did with Freaks & Geeks.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A new GREAT funny show! Better than Malcolm in the Middle
Pat19733 October 2000
Ok first of all the great cast is why I like this great show! Tucker is a comedy show about Tucker and his mom moving in with her sister(Tucker's Aunt) and her son and her husband. The story is that Tucker's mom is moving on from her deadbeat husband who fell for another women and so that's why they are here in her sister house to live! It's a show that is better than Malcolm in the Middle. It's kinda like that show but a whole lot funnier! The pilot is so funny I laughed my butt off! Every word and action in this fast paced show is great! Watch it! I know it's only the first episode but I'm already a lifetime fan and I'm going to watch it every week! Don't miss a must see comedy! Watch and tape theses shows! Out of 4 stars I give it 4 stars! It's that funny!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Side Spliting!
mad_4_movies27 September 2003
Ive seen a lot of teenage comedy programmes and this was up at the top! Its so funny! All the actors were great and Seth Green was so funny! Its such a shame that they arnt showing it any more because if it was put on the right time and night then this probably could have been as big as Malcom in The Middle. Its exactly my kind of humor and is just the type of thing that you feel like watching on a Friday night.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Bring this out on DVD!
newtt114 January 2007
I loved tucker!!!!! It was so great and true and funny........i cant believe it was cancelled ..........we never found out if he got the girl! This needs a DVD release now!!!!!!!! Plus it's got Seth green and Alison lohman : so they can use them to sell it!!! Katey Segal was so funny as the evil auntie-she reminded me of my own aunt who i had to stay with sometimes! I just remember how much i loved the episode where it was thanksgiving dinner- and they all went to the resteraunt where tucker's mom worked to see her and then tucker had this big dream sequence where his mom + dad got back together+ it was really hilarious when the auntie pulled the waitress outfit off.........hilarious. Yet another great nickelodeon show that has been buried instead of given a great DVD release-along with Sabrina the teenage witch and Are you afraid of the dark?.....Get them out on DVD now, Nickelodeon!!!!!!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
very funny, loved the uncle. needs more of him.
ratfishranch6 October 2000
my family and i really enjoyed the first show. it brought back memories of when i was going through the tough teenage years.my wife and my kids really loved Uncle Jimmy. we thought he was so cool, the way he delt with Tucker and his wife. we would love to see more of him. keep up the good work, and keep us laughing
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An inspired stinker
Mr. K19 October 2000
This sit-com is really far too mean-spirited to be taken humorously and too sappy to be taken seriously. It tries to stimulate nostalgia, but instead gives us a frustrating look of the world through the eyes of a helpless, hopeless, horny young man. Oh, he's a fine performer and does a remarkable job with the role he's offered, but the character itself receives little sympathy from me. The writing is banal at best. The concept doesn't lend itself to much longevity that I can foresee. However, this looks exactly like the type of show that would burden itself with the introduction of another kid, or a new dad, or something further down the line to help boost forthcoming sinking ratings (if it even survives long enough for that to be a concern, probably a moot point). I was interested to see Katey Sagal's name in the credits. I was more interested in just how much I can't stand her character. Of course, it was designed that way. I'm not supposed to like her. But, good Lord, I think they need to let off the gas with the 'evil aunt' element. She didn't have to be so hate-inducing. We want to like her on some level. This show won't work if we don't. Otherwise, we'll just go through the paces of Tucker vs. Aunt like Oliver Twist plowing through unhappiness with his evil caretakers. This show needs to be more human in regards to its characters. It needs charm. Otherwise, this show will soon be a parting memory.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
This show rules!
Cucumber-47 October 2000
This show is the best!! It has great acting, great jokes, and it's just an all-around GREAT SHOW!!! I've been to the set, and everyone's really nice! I really hope this awesome show does well. I give it (*****) out of (*****). Keep it, NBC!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
very good show
lorelei1111 November 2000
I loved Tucker while it lasted... the uncle and the cousin were great, but my absolute favorite character was Kinicky, one of Tuckers first friends. He really cracked me up, especially in the scenes between he and Leon in the mini golf episode. Also, I liked him in the 2nd episode when he was first introduced. ("think she likes penguins?"..."who doesn't?"(Kinicky) hahaha. So anyway this show was awesome I can't believe it got cancelled.

It was my new favorite...but oh well maybe fox family will pick it up...(hint hint)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Too good for NBC!
idonotgetit30 October 2000
Okay, so this series won't get any points for originality, how many shows today do?! It's a little corny at times and the whole Seth Green thing seems a little wierd, to me, but this is a very funny show.

The language and the references to sex (which shouldn't be changed at all) make this a little more than I would expect to see on NBC. Maybe when they cancel it (and they will) the Comedy Channel will pick it up. I just hope someone keeps it going because it is really funny.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
It is NOT funny... At all
Junkyard_Dream21 May 2002
I think this the most boring TV-show EVER! All the times I've seen this piece of junk, I fell asleep! I can't imagine that TV networks actually spend time and money on this.

"Malcolm in the Middle" is WAY funnier than "Tucker".
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Intriguingly pointless
Ripe Peach16 June 2001
It strikes me that a lot of money and talent has gone into producing something that's a lot less than the sum of its parts.

I'm not quite sure who the title character is supposed to appeal to. Tucker has no gimmick; he's neither charming, nor sharp, nor stylish, nor savant. Apparently Tucker is supposed to be horny, but I'm not seeing any evidence of it - not compared to actual male teens anyway.

The other characters are equally banal, with only cousin Leon being given a shred of personality. Katey Sagal is sadly wasted. The Seth Green plot would have been funny as a one off, but it gets old rapidly.

The humour is scatalogical but in a desultory, perfunctory, sterile manner. There is no dramatic drive, and the dialogue seems to be in slow motion, always lagging behind the viewer's anticipation.

All in all, this is an overproduced, badly flawed mess. Tsk tsk.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The "Heaven's Gate" of TV sitcoms!
blondie173017 February 2001
NBC really screwed up with their next to be successful sitcom "Tucker" it went from becoming a sure to be hit to becoming a dissapointing show of its time.The jokes are unfunny,the cast is terribly mispaced(not counting Katey Segal),the scripts are way too off center,and the show is real sad waste of talent.NBC is probably the worst network in history despite their adult oriented shows,the same goes for CBS,and FOX who also cancel their shows rapidly.I think NBC should be ashamed of themselves and eventually should not have made the show in the first place.Screw you NBC! SHAME ON YOU!
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
It Could've Been a Hit
Sammy18 September 2003
This show was great, and had a cult following in the NBC.com group. Teenagers who watched the show loved it, which isn't a surprise as it was based on and for teenagers.

Either way, it was a great show that was, unfortunately, put on a Monday night against a hit ABC show, so... it died after 5 episodes (which is too bad, because that cult following was awaiting the Halloween show, only to find that we ended up with some generic news show during the time slot)

Tucker was a good one. Seth Green was hilarious as himself (heh!) and Katie Segal was great. It's sad to see that she's got stuck in these dying shows, because with the death of John Ritter, I can't see 8SR lasting much longer, despite them trying.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Extremely funny!
Kelly-1512 October 2000
I stumbled upon this show in my lifelong obsession with all things Seth Green, and I have to say, I'm hooked. This show is SO funny! The jokes are great, the characters are engaging, and basically it's just a welcome change from all of these shows coming out with famous stars that aren't funny at all. Of course, the most amazing part is that these people somehow manage to make Seth Green look tall. Interesting. Anyway, watch this show!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Moron In The Middle
Bolesroor19 September 2008
"That 'Malcom' show on FOX is really making a killing... can't we do our own version?" I speculate and paraphrase, of course, but in our hearts we all know this was how NBC came up with the idea for "Tucker," and that the only thing they added to the 'Malcom' metric was sex. And, boy, did they add sex...

Tucker gets a boner and covers it up with his skateboard. Tucker accidentally walks in on his Aunt in the shower and she accuses him of watching her and masturbating. Tucker spies on the preteen girl across the street, and although he wants to see her topless she teases him by smiling and closing her bedroom window. This is all in the pilot. And Tucker is thirteen.

Take it from a grown man- a boy's puberty is so sex-crazy and testicle-driven it is impossible to make it funny for a mainstream audience. The only times anyone has ever come close has been in movies, and you can count those on one hand. So it's no surprise that "Tucker" has the warmth and appeal of a strip-club bathroom. Did the network actually think we would like watching testosterone-drunk teenage boy grapple with puberty? Isn't this the stuff people go to jail for? If you doubt the show's depravity consider this: 13 episodes were filmed but NBC canceled it after only 4 episodes aired; they then made the unprecedented move of "burning off" the remaining episodes by airing them AT MIDNIGHT so no children could see them. Ironic since kids were originally the target audience.

Apart from its general scuzziness Tucker features a running voice-over from the lead character to flesh out the shoddy writing. Even in 2000 the show was horribly dated, with it's ska incidental music and super-smarmy sarcasm. I couldn't like any of the characters enough to laugh at the jokes and the jokes didn't exactly come a mile-a-minute... Shame on NBC for this dirty rip-off... they're better than that.

GRADE: C-
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
All I know is that I kinda liked it.
perni27 February 2003
NBC barely let 3 episodes of Tucker get on the air before they axed it and sent it to the Neilsen graveyard. Which is pretty unfair, since they stuck it on a bad night for TV in general and then expected it to do as well as Malcolm in the Middle. They did this to Freaks and Geeks as well, another cool show about teenagers. Honestly, I don't know what goes through their minds up at NBC. But anyway, I liked the little bit of Tucker that I saw. True, the characters were one-dimensional. True, it tried to be Malcolm, which admitedly is funnier than Tucker. But in its own way I thought it was worth encouraging. Maybe somewhere down the line it would have turned into something really jazzy, but for now all we have is 12 episodes to reflect on. I liked that they made Tucker constantly horny (a thing that many kids can relate to, especially when the guy's got a major jones that he has to hide from others), and Andy Lawrence was cool as the best friend. The two characters that did not work for me was the always evil Aunt and the cousin who was almost too much like the character Reese from Malcolm, in that he was an idiot with about 3 brain cells. They definitely could have been reworked to look more realistic in terms of personality. As it stands, I give Tucker 2.5/4 for trying to make it in an evening of crappy TV that no one watches. I salute thee!
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Weird for Nickelodeon UK to pick up
stephen_didlick113 April 2002
Ok, so Nickelodeon UK and Nickelodeon USA have big differances, but, especially when Nickelodeon UK started showing Tucker. Nickelodeon UK have been known in the past to pick up 1 season, then cancelled shows like examples of "Two of a Kind" and probably the same with teh just recently shown "Raising Dad".

Though, this show was so great and so funny when I first thought it, yet Nickelodeon UK had the nerve to repeat the show and get through all the episodes in two weeks for like 4 months straight.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Borderline of being kid and adult oriented.
OllieSuave-0074 October 2013
I only watched a few episodes of this show, but this series didn't last long anyhow. It involves the life of main character Tucker, whose parents are divorced. Therefore, he is forced to move into his Aunt Claire's house, with her pilot husband Jimmy and strange cousin Leon. Things take a turn when Tucker meets neighbor McKenna, whom he wants to date. But, he has to compete with her boyfriend played by actor Seth Green.

There are some funny moments in the show, but lacks a compelling story. There are several crude jokes that make you wonder if this should be a family-oriented sitcom, especially starring a 14 year-old lead.

This show was canceled after only one season, and I don't recall if it even lasted for the entire first season run. But, I didn't care for this show too much. If you're a fan of slapstick and teenage flicks, give it a try but, overall, I think the sitcoms made in the late 1990s and on lack originality, real humor, class and a compelling story.

Grade D
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
"Malcolm" With Hormonal Imbalance
Nicholai4 October 2000
The only comparisons I can make of this new NBC sitcom with "Malcolm in the Middle" is that the character's name is included in the title, there is an absence of a laugh track and the main character is the narrator (Although Malcolm speaks directly at the camera while Tucker's narration is off-camera). Other than that, this show is not like "Malcolm" at all. "Malcolm" is a well-written, well-directed, superbly acted and, above all, avoids constant and gratuitous vulgarities. "Tucker", however, seems to be fixated on only one thing the title character has, and it's certainly not his skateboard. Secondly, all the characters except maybe Tucker and his mother are largely one-dimensional. They are either: boorish and braindead (his cousin), spunky (the girl next door), evil (his aunt), and God-knows-what (his uncle).

The bottom line, however, is that if someone were to strip away the vulgarities this show bashes its viewers in the head with, we would be victim to an inane sitcom with an overly hackneyed plot line (Boy One moves in new neighborhood, hates said neighborhood, discovers Girl One in same neighborhood who, inexplicably, fosters the same interest as Boy One. But Girl One is already maintaining a relationship with Boy Two) that even the Disney Channel would reject, due to its lack of originality compared with its other shows. And also the show professes that Tucker is just as smart as Malcolm in the other show. However erudite he is, that fact is lost amidst a compost heap of locker-room jokes and neuron-killing, puerile humor that would overfill the Marianas Trench. I am giving it two stars because, for some strange reason, I see a potential of this show to improve plus I only watched the first episode and I live by the old maxim: DON'T judge a sitcom by its pilot. (** out of four stars)
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great show (really!)
Sarahrooie11 March 2002
I watch Tucker and I'm damn proud of it. Okay so the same 12 episodes over and over. Slightly yawnsome. Okay so I watch it because I think Andrew Lawrence is hot. But the show. Funny, sometimes. Some whole episodes that seem to lack direction. We have Tucker in love with McKenna a girl who knows he's in love with her and uses it to her advantage. She's always evil to Tucker and it's a bit depressing sometimes.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great!!
ministry_of_skank24 February 2002
I love the show. Seth Green and Eli Marienthal are both so hot! There scenes together are so funny! I love the episode Big Putts. I think that Andrew Lawrence does his best peformance yet. I am sad though that is only 12 episodes. They could have done really well if they did more.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I Really Wanted to Like This But. . .
TelevisionJunkie5 February 2001
What were they thinking? I was excited when I learned Katey Sagal would be returning to sitcoms in NBC's "Tucker," but I was horribly disappointed when I finally saw what had happened. First of all, NBC stuck it on what I refer to as "Must-Kill-TV" night. This was paired with the funny tried-and-true-traditional-sitcom "Daddio," (which NBC went out of their way to 86) and the Oliver Platt Drama "Deadline," all of which had nothing in common. And not only did "Tucker"'s makers blatantly rip-off FOX's "Malcolm in the Middle," but they made it far too horny and unlikable. This is one of the few shows that didn't have a single character that you could be sympathetic to, particularly the obnoxious title character. The acting was good, but when all of the characters are evil and obnoxious, what's the point? After three episodes I wasn't at all sorry to see this one go!
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
wills_queen3 October 2000
I'd have given it only three stars, but one of the characters--"Cousin Leon"--so attracted my attention. I found the McKenna/Tucker scenes pretty boring, but when Cousin Leon tackled Tucker I was rolling. Sure, the hair thing was a little gross--but what about when Leon's mother called him pumpkin and he blew up? That was a scene of great acting.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews