Freddy Got Fingered (2001) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
642 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A classic
jehovahdictator2 March 2004
I recently found this on DVD for $10 and I'm glad I did. I'd already seen it once before, but subsequent viewings proved to me the genius that this movie is. Nothing is certain in this movie and its humour is beyond compare. The thin plot is a perfect vehicle for Tom Green's style. Random event after random event flies by and it gets funnier all the time. The plot line that eventually explains the title is ridiculous and hilarious. I highly recommend this movie. I don't feel like getting redundant, so I'll just say this: One of the funniest movies ever, perfect for viewing again and again, especially early in the morning. Favourite scenes: the baby being born and the cheese sandwich factory.
83 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Tom is unique genius
programskinalog21 April 2018
Actually, I'm deeply sad because I've never seen Tom's shows until few months ago. My life could've been way better if I saw any of his shows as a kid. This movie has pretty much the essence of his series, with a difference that he acts here. He gives approval to the healthy dose of insanity which every person should express in order not to be the part of uniformed majority and keep the sparkle of unique "self". His work is basically a course of how to repair the old ego, and boost it as it's the new one.

Another thing that I really like about his work is that he NEVER suggested drugs, prostitution, murder, violence, cigarettes or alcohol in his series or movie. For a moment I was worried about my approval of Tom's work because I saw many reviews of people saying how Tom's work is "unethical" and "disgrace". After you enter into their profiles you can see where they rate high some movies which scream with violence and vices and there you can see how they're just hypocritical conformists. I can freely say that Tom Green is a guru of fun life
65 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Most bizarre comedy ever made and masterful because of it
UniqueParticle10 January 2020
The most unique experience you could have watching a movie that's the best thing about plus being so funny. Tom Greens humor is the most genius thing put on screen, I'm so happy I finally own Freddy Got Fingered! I still laugh so hard when watching it although I do understand why the movie was hated so much it's very different but makes me happy. Also I'm the 666th person to review it and it's my 742nd review!
40 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It was ahead of its time
nathanhewittgranada10 February 2021
Still one of the funniest movies I have ever seen, I go back to this so many times, just to laugh hard. It only got hate because it was too much back then...If it came out now it would be well loved
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterpiece
MrMagoo829 January 2021
In 2021 this is the gift that keeps on giving, and whilst I love and empathise with my fellow humans if you truly think this is a 1/10 life is / must be really difficult for you. I say this because even with my degree in Astrophysics, I can't calculate how the human mind could not enjoy a grown man having sowed a variety of pork to a keyboard and his appendages and played a loving song for his Father offering him the aforementioned Pig slabs.

In my humble opinion this is one of the greatest viewing experiences left in the mOdern World and could even be entered into the Modern 7 wonders
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
No Way This Is Below 5 on IMDB
peeedeee-9428115 January 2021
Freddy Got Fingered is brilliant. I've enjoyed it since seeing it on video cassette around when it left the theater. It wasn't a movie I wanted to see because I didn't care for Tom Green at all. I thought his type of comedy was lame, just pranking but in an offensive way. This movie is NOT about him pranking. In fact, it's a fairly well-thought out, well-shot movie. The dialogue is absurd, but quote-worthy. That's if you enjoy the film. It's garnered a love-hate relationship with movie audiences since it came out. I'm disappointed it hasn't gotten the cult status the movie like The Room has gotten. The Room was just plain bad, terrible acting, directing, etc... Freddy Got Fingered on the other hand, was sharp, witty, and yes, offensive, but in a movie way. Why does Freddy Got Fingered really work. Think of it as Tom Green's f-u to Hollywood. Not that he hated Hollywood, at least I don't think he did. But he did EXPLOIT its excesses in the movie. I mean, the giant explosion alone is an example of this, probably blowing a huge budget on that scene, which I highly doubt was in the original script the way it turned out. He's not only exploiting Hollywood on the budget, but also on what is considered offensive. How did he get away with all the stuff he did? I'm surprised it made it through with an R rating. Tom really pushed the boundaries of decency all for comedy, but looking back at it now, it's almost like he foresaw the way things would go in real life. I mean, everything today is about hyperbole and over reaction, or instant gratification. I also look at the movie as a parallel to Tom Green's life, and how he got the money to make the movie. If you're easily offended, then of course you will hate this movie. The casting was also perfect. Harlan Williams as the best friend, Rip Torn as angry dad, Marisa Coughlan as the girlfriend (she had to say and do some crazy things). The title character 'Freddy' doesn't appear much in the movie and isn't really a huge part of the film, because it's all about watching Gord's journey. But he was still important but he never really takes front and center in the film. I have watched this movie more than a dozen times, and I expect to watch it many more!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not nearly as horrible as you've been led to believe
uglykidmatt1 June 2001
Comedy is perhaps the most subjective of all forms of entertainment. Judy Carter, in her wonderfully insightful "Stand-Up Comedy: The Book", summed it up best: "Some people will laugh at a guy slipping on a banana peel. Some people will only laugh at Hitler slipping on a banana peel." What kills with one crowd will die with the next, and no two people will laugh at the same thing for the same reason. Comedy, in many ways, says more about the laughers than the comedians themselves, and it is no wonder that comedy shop talk is filled with violent images ("If I don't bomb, I'm gonna murder that audience"). Comedy, to put it mildly, is DANGEROUS.

"Freddy Got Fingered", Tom Green's scabrous black comedy, illustrates this principle to a T. Since his earliest days on Canadian cable-access television, Green has based his career on pushing the envelope. Like Andy Kaufman, his bizarre stunts (many involving animal carcasses and the sexual humiliation of his parents) are primarily about the reaction of both their hapless victims and US, the audience; if you don't step back and consider how you're taking this humor, and why, you're not really getting the whole Green experience. "Freddy" carries this sensibility into a fictional format, giving us the strange tale of a man who lives his life as an experiment in riling people up.

Gord Brody (Green) is a young aspiring cartoonist who fails miserably in his attempt to break into the Hollywood big time. He is forced to move back home with his parents, setting off a titanic battle of wills with his stentorian oaf of a father (Rip Torn), an escalating conflict that involves accusations of child molestation, sausages on strings, elephant penises, horse penises, Green's penis, and really badly made cheese sandwiches.

Of course, all of this story nonsense is just that: nonsense. It serves no function but to provide Green and co-writer Derek Harvie with a framework for grotesque, deliberately shocking set pieces, many of which work surprisingly well. There's a brief sojourn at a stud farm, where Gord lives out an apparently lifelong fantasy, wagging a horse's genitals while yelling "I'm a farmer!" like a drunken barbarian. In another scene, Gord delivers a baby, ripping the bloody umbilical cord with his teeth. He picks up a wheelchair-bound girlfriend (Marisa Coughlin) who gets her jollies by being caned in the legs with a bamboo stick. And there's the wonderful little boy who spends the whole movie getting accidentally brutalized, hit by cars and running into airplane propellers, always with much blood and flying viscera.

Now I know this may not sound that funny, and indeed, "Freddy" has gotten the most dastardly reviews that I think I have ever seen for a major release. Critics don't just hate "Freddy"; they seem personally hurt by the film, as if Green had made the picture just to upset them and get their goat. What they don't seem willing to acknowledge is that Green made the film for EXACTLY that reason, and is getting exactly the reaction he wants. Therefore, his film can be regarded as something of a great success.

Personally, I agree with many of the critics who have described "Freddy" as surrealist. There is no attempt to integrate this action into anything resembling the real world. Gord is not a human being, but rather a collection of characteristics. Green plays him as a bizarrely aggressive man-child, a mishmash of helplessly repeated words and phrases, slack-jawed willful stupidity, and screaming, utterly pointless hysterics. Frankly, I admire this approach to the characterization. After seeing so many recent comedies ruined by the filmmakers' need to make their characters both laughable and likeable (most recently with the stultifying "Joe Dirt"), it is refreshing to see Green so willing to come off as annoying, hateful, cruel, UNLIKEABLE. This lack of relatability allows us to laugh at him without feeling like we're also laughing at ourselves.

I am not making the claim, as some on this page have, that "Freddy Got Fingered" is any kind of masterpiece. Green's direction is not the equal of his acting bravery. The film suffers from too many muddy visuals, and many moments just lie there on the screen, wriggling when they should fly. Still, the film does what it is supposed to. Half the time you're laughing, the other half just staring at the screen in goggle-eyed shock. You may hate "Freddy", you may love it, but either way, you have to admit that you've never seen anything like it before.
184 out of 352 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Biggest Joke
fugu_28623 April 2002
I know, I know I have commented on this film before. But I felt it was worth pointing something out for what its worth. To the people that criticize this film for not having a plot, being a rough patchwork of silly (and sometimes repulsive)scatological gags, let me just say that...

THE JOKE IS ON YOU!

Like the late great Andy Kauffman, Tom Green has consistently relied on his sometimes unsuspecting public for most of his larfs. As a matter of fact, that's why he cancelled his TV show. Too many people had begun to recognize him and he could no longer make them the butt of his jokes. But he had one last prank to play. And "Freddy Got Fingered" is it. Although it has some geniuinely funny scenes (especially the ones featuring Rip Torn) many scenes exist purely for their shock value. It is hard to sympathize with any of the characters in the film and it does get tedious. And this is precisely what Gteen had intended. "FGF" is Green's version of Kauffman's "Great Gatsby" bit. But for those of us who enjoy abstract humor, "FGF" is a godsend. The biggest joke is the fact that the film actually got made and somebody greenlighted this project. The film actually references this in the scene when Gordy presents his Zebra family idea to the producer. Just try to imagine Green pitching his idea to a bunch of suits who've probably never watched his TV show but know from their charts and graphs and statistics that the show is popular among young males. And imagine them forking over the check...
135 out of 256 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
More like Godard than Farrelly
Fustfick9 May 2001
Freddy Got Fingered may not be the "laughiest" picture of the year, but it is surely the most original. It remindes me more of the challenging work of Godard or Bunuel than of the slew of recent "gross out" comedies that stink up our screens. Illogical and abusurd, ridiculous, funny, and disturbing, I guarantee it is unlike any film you've ever seen.

I sat in the theater, amazed, as Gord Brody (Green) leaves home in a rush on his skateboard...to meet up with his parents at the bus depot. Why is he meeting them there, if they all live together? There at the depot, his dad presents him with a car. Why bother going to the depot if his dad's going to give him a car? Then, after clearly establishing that Gord is going to Hollywood to sell his "cartoons" and after a close up on his new license plate reveals their location to be Oregon...a superimposed map of the coast shows us (ala Raiders of the Lost Arc) Gord's path from Oregon to Hollywood.

Redundant? Of course. And hillarious. Green makes a mockery of tired film cliches and crap mise-en-scene. Then, ten minutes into the movie, it brilliantly deconstructs itself. Anthony Michael Hall (as cartoon mogul Dave Davidson) gripes that Gord's drawings aren't bad...but they just don't make sense, they're not funny, they're stupid, and entertainment needs to be inspirational. Oh does it?

Kudos, Mr. Green, for your uncompromising debut.
165 out of 323 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Above the heads of most
chester-frollo26 August 2005
I'll bet that the majority of people who express their hatred this film on the grounds that it is too vulgar had a jolly time sitting through movies like American Pie, Scary Movie, and all that deplorable garbage.

Those films and their vulgarities were incredibly labored and insincere creations designed to pander to hateful stereotypes and equally petty repressed fears and desires of feeble-minded perverts and uneducated teenagers. However, though Freddy Got Fingered contains equal vulgarities, they exist not for their own sake but to serve a greater, dadaistic post-modern vision. This is evident in the structure of the film. Other "gross-out" comedies present their vulgarities with the sober convention, creating a pornographic aura that is shameful instead of funny. The lack of artistic direction in a sea of recycled inspiration never fails to create an uncomfortable confusion as to whether the vulgarities are serving the higher part of our minds that pertains to comedy or meant arouse a repressed sexual perversion (American Pie, for example).

Freddy Got Fingered separates itself from such worthless trash by breaking free from convention and re-appropriating it. Rather than cold and unflinching eye with which hacks such as the Wayans brothers present their vulgarities, Freddy Got Fingered uses innovative editing to de-familiarize the audience to whatever on screen, such as incorporating Sam Peckinpah's "pause-burst-pause" technique in the restaurant scene, or the revolutionary cut from the bleeding child (Tommy) to a closeup of roast beef at an all-American family dinner. It should be mentioned that while Freddy Got Fingered is discussed for it's vulgarities, it makes a point of balancing shock with classical comedic conventions: the majority of the gags in the film consist of non-sequiturs, slapstick, and satire (the main target being dramatic conventions in film, which is achieved through mixed-modalities rather than exploiting the ephemeral icons of pop-culture).

The film's brilliant re-invention of comic film-making technique creates an intellectual framework that invites an oppositional reading to some of the vulgar content on screen. Freddy got Fingered is not a simple presentation of vulgarities, but rather in dialogue with them. The running gag of a child being injured is clearly a parody of the increasing darkness of comedy, and yet it is simultaneously a manifesto, in Tom Green's post-structuralist shattering of our perceptions of taste. It is this self-reflexive nature of the film that transcends its vulgarity, while other "gross-out" films not only fail to do this, but often fall one step lower by depending on extra-textual sources (again, usual ephemeral pop-culture icons).

In conclusion, the equal magnitude of the vulgarities in relatively un-criticized movies such as American Pie and Scary Movie effectively invalidates the most critics' dismissal of the film on the grounds of excess vulgarity. The only difference between Freddy Got Fingered and its other "gross-out" counterparts is the film's original approach to film-making technique. However, I cannot imagine why this is more repugnant to them than the pornographic practice of using conventional film-making to enshrine vulgarities set before the camera (for example: even "Booty Call" has an orchestral score). Perhaps by being the first mainstream film to elevate the lucrative "gross-out" comedy beyond the reach of formulaic film-making, many perceive Freddy Got Fingered as a threat to the tradition, despite the fact that it has liberated conventional film-making techniques from being subjected to vulgar subject matter, saving both from demeaning each other. More likely is the possibility that the structure of Freddy Got Fingered is so foreign to film-goers weaned on convention that they cannot get themselves comfortable enough to laugh. If they are so accustomed to convention, then they are also desensitized to it, which explains why they cannot see its presence in other vulgar comedies, and hence their unsettling perversion. In any scenario, Freddy Got Fingered has failed to garner the praise it deserves because people just can't bring themselves to take this sophisticated social-commentary post-modern manifesto at anything but face value. And that is shameful.
124 out of 240 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
TheKingCatalyst3 October 2005
This movie, although not solid in plot, is that of comical genius. People are too easily offended by the actions of Tom Green, not able to see the comical genius this movie has. Breaking barriers is comedy, and that is exactly what Tom Green does in this film. The things he does, from jerking off a horse, to pretending to be a deep sea diver are all great ways to get the point across, this movie is something different. People who have any sense of moral value or a tendency to vomit should stay away, but who has moral values anymore? In the end this movie is nothing more then an inspired way of making me laugh. The movie is funny enough as it is sober, I however would suggest you see it stoned or drunk off your ass.
196 out of 404 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Like a root canal, but without the anaesthetic
TheLittleSongbird4 October 2009
I honestly hated this movie, and this is coming from someone who did give it a chance. I didn't find it funny at all, it was vulgar, crude, offensive and very unsubtle. It was truly awful and one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It made the Farrelly Brothers look like choirboys, okay I may be exaggerating, but instead of laughing, I was literally crying with disgust. I will admit it starts off promisingly, but after the first five minutes, it falls rapidly downhill, into complete disaster. Some parts of the film were excruciatingly painful to watch, like when Gord cuts the dead deer open and starts wearing and dancing in it, I felt as though I wanted to be sick. The script was just puerile, it didn't feel like a script at all, it actually felt like the actors were improvising the whole time. Most of the time I do not like Tom Green, here he overdid the humour and mugs embarrassingly, and Gord's drawings by the way are awful. Rip Torn, an actor who I respect, and deserves more recognition, deserved much better than he was given. Although he was without doubt the best actor in the movie, he was let down by a abysmally-written script. Everybody else failed to rise above the material. I understand if anybody loves this movie, but I will be honest, I did not. I am sorry, I did have to watch this in chunks, pausing either to cry or to vomit. An example of a film that was like a root canal, but without the anaesthetic. This also happens to be the first really negative review I have written in ages. 1/10 Bethany Cox
21 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I'm speechless
Mr. Bug15 January 2003
If you think that child abuse, animal bowels and penises, child birth and paraplegics are really funny subjects, go ahead and watch this abomination of a 'film'. If not flee in horror. You have been warned. I had not, unfortunately.
38 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Much worse than getting fingered.
glittle1001 May 2002
I've seen Road Trip, and this is supposed to be similar to American Pie and Scary Movie. The only similarities I saw were some recognizable actors doing cameos and some interaction with animals. The rest of the movie was Tom Green screaming and acting like a three-year-old having a tantrum. I don't think the other actors had to rehearse to give him the strange looks. I felt bad for everyone else in the movie, and the best part was when my wife told me that Drew had divorced him. After seeing this movie, I don't think she was acting when she was yelling at him in the animation studio. I post this as a warning: Don't waste your time, unless you are really searching for a movie that tries to be funny and isn't, that tries to have bad taste but comes across as mediocre.
25 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just look away and you won't be hurt.
lifft25 December 2001
If you think, "I'm not going to turn off this movie, it just has to get better!!"..... It doesn't. Just turn it off, the sooner the better. Better yet, don't even allow your friends to be subjected to it. This movie is so bad, the powers that be should pull the copies off the shelves to protect the innocent. I forgive Rip Torn. We all should be allowed to make mistakes.
25 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
"zzzzzz.... is it over yet?" - typical "Freddy" screening
B Lawless20 April 2001
At about 10 minutes into this film, I realized that I had seen all that I needed to see to get a clear picture of its worth. After those 10 minutes, everything that followed failed to involve me in any way. I didn't laugh. I wasn't shocked. I wasn't angered by the audacious depravity of Tom Green's antics.

Why?

Because Tom Green is only funny (or shocking, or anger inducing) when his material is freewheeling, unscripted mayhem upon unsuspecting good ol' folk. For these elements, I enjoy his TV show immensly, both vicariously and intellectually.

This movie has none of those elements. It's a vacuum. It plays out like one of those hyperactive, annoying 2nd graders who will try anything to get your attention. For 90 minutes, it's like the screen is screaming "Hey look at me! I'm being naughty!!" Big deal.

This movie must have looked great on paper. It might have even worked had it been broken up into segments for his television program. But now I know its all scripted. And now I wonder if it all had been scripted before. If it wasn't, the joke is (still) on the unsuspecting masses. If it was, however, then the joke is on Tom Green.
25 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
awful!
4746423 October 2003
I'll be brief, what was Rip Torn thinking about when he signed up for this - absolute rubbish from start to finish. It's obvious that Tom Green hasn't an ounce of comedy in his body, cringeworthy garbage - That's all I have to say.
26 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie so damn suck!!
dantesparda9 October 2003
The title sez all. Watch this movie and u will regret it for whole ur life because I do. Should have fill my time with more good film other than this. Avoid it at all cost. This guy tryin so hard to make ppl laugh at his not-funny-lame-stupid-joke. Friggin movie!
26 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
You have to be pretty messed up to really like it
krazykat1014 August 2003
The first time I viewed this film, I abhorred it. It is was too long, dull, and contained few laughs. I was actually expect something watchable. Then I watched it on cable again expecting nothing and it actually grew on me. Yes I acknowledge the fact that Tom Green has little talent and only works as a supporting character(Road Trip) But hey who cares?

One thing: If you are a normal, clean minded individual, DO NOT WATCH THIS FILM. If you are sick, perverted weirdo like me watch it and revel in such jokes as "Look Daddy, I'm a farmer!" and "Get inside the Animal" While this gags would sick, they were amusing. I DID NOT like to see that little kid getting constantly injured. Now as a sick weirdo, I can stand adults getting hurt, but with kids its just plain tacky.

For Normal People: 1/10 For sickos 5/10 (The plot needed serious work)
26 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
An exercise in horrible.
paulychamp2 January 2002
Freddy Got Fingered is amazing. Amazing, in the fact that it is probably the worst movie I have ever scene. I can enjoy the Tom Green Show from time to time, but this movie provided me none of the enjoyment of the show.

The plot of the movie is non-existant, allbeit that the film belongs to a genre where a lack of plot is sometimes acceptable, typically when coupled with humor. The humor in Freddy Got Fingered is however, as non-existant as the plot.

It doesn't surprise me that Tom Green's movie is as bad as it is, but shame on Harlan Williams, Drew Berrymore, Anthony Michael Hall, and other actor that's produced an enjoyable film for participating in it.

To sum it up... This movie was soooo bad that it prompted me to post my first comment here on IMDB.
26 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the worst movies
Maniac-98 March 2012
I really wish I could Vote this movie as a 0, but 1 is as low as they allow me to do so. It's unbelievable just how bad this movie is, it really truly has no redeemable values to it. Even average or worse movies I try to find some good thing about them, I can't even begin to do that here. This is a movie for people with basically no standards and even less intelligence. It's basically Tom Green acting like a retard for 90 minutes and not much else.

Tom Green is best used in movies like in Road Trip where he is used just in small dosages. He's fine as comedic relief but he clearly doesn't have the skills to carry a movie by himself. And to say he doesn't have any acting skills is an understatement.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Painfully horrible
Gehrig412 April 2003
Wow. This movie is actually watchable because it's so bad. You can't take your eyes off the screen because all you keep thinking is - someone read this script and greenlighted it? Someone actually put their own money up to finance this movie? Somebody actually thought this movie would make money? It is absolutely the worst piece of trash I have ever seen since Men at Work with the Sheen brothers. And I like Tom Green, but this is the absolute worst thing anyone has ever put on screen. Don't wasted one minute of your time watching it.
27 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So sick it's not even entertaining
Bendrago6 April 2003
I have seen a few "sick" films in my time, albeit they tend to be in the exploitation/horror category, but this "movie" is a disgrace to humanity. If someone honestly finds this "movie" funny or good at any level he seriously has some issues and I would hardily recommend a visit to the local shrink. Even if you take all the really sick & weird bits off the "movie" still is horrible, it is just plain stinking horrible, a total waste of anything applied on it except garbage bin.

Avoid at all costs, watching paint dry is great entertainmet compared to this.
27 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
One of the worst movies I ever seen....
WorldMast26 May 2002
Yup. I seen a lot of movies but this one is one of the worst (maybe THE worst) I ever seen. Lame Jokes.... (and I'm a "campus comedies" fan so imagine how lame are the jokes!!) Avoid this movie or you'll be depressed for a week.
27 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed