Another State of Mind (1984) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
THE Greatest rock 'n' roll documentary ever made
zwolf28 June 2000
This documentary follows members of the bands Social Distortion and Youth Brigade on an ill-fated tour across the U.S. and Canada. They fix up an old school bus that has seen better days, pack up all the band members and roadies, and set out on a tight budget. The farther they go, the more strained things get - Social Distorion almost breaks up because the going got to rough for 'em ('cept for Mike Ness, bless 'im) and the bus breaks down and they just can't go on, so they stay with Minor Threat for a couple of days and then pack it in. Lots of interviews with real punks, lots of concert footage with some *excellent* music (all three bands are great) and shows that even though the tour was a failure overall, people can still do things on their own with limited funds if their hearts are really in it and they can maintain unity. Some scenes are funny, some are kind of scary (those Canadian punks were kinda feral), and a sense of desperation builds... but it's always real and always true. Don't miss a chance to see this one - I've watched it probably a hundred times and don't mind if I see it a hundred more.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
If you're into punk rock, you better check this out
hecklerdanny3 July 2003
I've basically watched this movie about once a year for the last 8 years or so. (Although calling it a "movie" isn't really correct...it's a documentary)

It follows around Social Distortion and Youth Brigade on tour..basically. That's the best way to put it. And at times it cuts off and shows us these kids who go to punk rock shows, and live in the street, all that stuff...that stuff gets sort of boring, but everything with the bands is funny or just good to watch.

Oh yeah, and we see some of Minor Threat in this movie, when they stay at their place...

Just check it out.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun tour tape of Social Distortion and Youth Brigade!
13827 May 1999
Any fan of Social Distortion or Youth Brigade must see this. Documents the tour and lives of the band members and roadies. Great live footage and commentary.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Punk before hot topic and the internet!!
ultravio1326 April 2013
I saw this movie tonight for the first time since 1985, when I caught it on Night Flight. Seeing it 28 years later, I was amazed how much of it I was still able to recall, but more than that, how much the perception of Punk has changed since the 80's. Having a shaved head or pink hair does not raise an eyebrow today, you even see kids with those kind of hair styles, tattoos and body modifications, who aren't into punk, or aware of where those styles originated from. A number of times in the Movie, you have various punks mention how people harass them for their appearance, and it was so true, back then it took a lot of guts to walk around like that. This movie brought back a lot of memories of being a teenage punk, how it was almost like belonging to a secret society that most people had no idea existed. I also like how un-PC punks were back then, unlike today's army of whiners. I wonder what became of some of the people in the Film? Like Marcel or that gorgeous death rocker Valerie ? In all it's a very interesting time capsule of a time that will always be dear to me.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the movie that taught small town kids how to be punks
danebecky10 August 2008
they use to play this movie in the mid to late 80s on night flights on USA network. living in a small rural community in western pennsylvania seeing this film and renting suburbia is what taught the local scene how to be punks. for so reason i don't remember any of us actually having access to decline at the time

we had no access to live bands until we made our own venues(briefly) in the early 90s, we had no connections to scenes in the near by towns and cities until we knew there was something our there to connect to. this movie more than anything else got us started, showed us what was possible(or maybe impossible), its a ten for that alone. it was eye opening, we watched this film and suddenly the world was full of possibilities that hadn't existed before(as well as hairstyles).
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
amazing piece of punk rock hostory
phuckyourfashion1 September 2005
If you have any love for punk rock you need to see this movie. If you call yourself straight-edge you need to see this movie. Watch how life on the road cab destroy friendships and how good intentions go away when people are faced with harsh realities of life in a bus on the road. My favorite part is actually seeing the creation process of the social distortion song "another state of mind". At one point during a minor threat show ians mike goes out and the crowd doesn't seem to care and sings in unison for him. Very powerful show scenes. If you can track down a copy of this kick ass picture buy it, hold on to it and share it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Sloppy Nostalgia
coagula25 December 2004
Some of the concert scenes took me back to my late-70s/early 80s SoCal childhood in an intense way. There is way too little concert footage though, and way too much talking heads (not the band, the blabbermouths). With 22 years hindsight it sounds like so much spoiled suburban brats and less like rebels. If I hear the phrase "just getting out aggression" one more time as an excuse for thuggy slamdancing i would have stopped the movie right there. Kids practicing there stagediving in their swimming pool - hmm, a swimming pool, eh?

One problem is that the punk look adopted by these kids is ubiquitous throughout mainstream media and suburban life nowadays - you get no sense of how radical a kid shaving his head was back then.

About ten percent of this film is brilliant, especially watching the creative process of Social Distortion (primarily Mike Ness) slowly compose the song ANOTHER STATE OF MIND (one of the band's best early classics). But these scenes are almost lost in a sea of the pompous Sean Stern pontificating (although he does get blamed for being an egomaniac by mutinous crew members). The film is downright boring whenever Sean has to talk on and on about punks being apart from society. ZZZzzz. Stern seems to have calculated that his band needs a great headliner for the ill-fated tour ahead - sort of like a lousy Presidential candidate, Stern finds his charismatic VP in Social D and uses them to further the name of his lousy Yoth Brigade.

There was no movie I was more prepared to love than this and I am thoroughly disappointed with the results. One day the Decline of Western Civilization (the original) will be released and trip like this flick will pale in comparison to that masterpiece.

One last thought - comparing the cross-country bus commune of ASM to Tom Wolfe's Hippie Opus ELECTRIC KOOLAID ACID TEST might tell you all you need to know about the very early Southern California punkers.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
One of three or so essential hardcore docs
Polanski_Fan3 October 2006
Along with "Decline of Western Civilization," and (now) "American Hardcore," this is crucial viewing about early US DIY punk. What's weird is that neither Social Distortion's nor Youth Brigade's music has aged very well (Social Distortion being better known for their 1990s roots-punk), and Minor Threat, who are barely in the film, have become the definitive band of this scene. Nonetheless, the live footage of Social Distortion is interesting, because Mike Ness is so corny, and how inept the rest of the band is--he is just begging to be surrounded by ringers. Youth Brigade come across a bit better, slightly more tough, definitely more dedicated and principled: more suburban, but also less self-absorbed. The direction and production is not much to speak of, and the film is not edited for drama the way it would be now, rather telling a very simple story of things falling apart on tour. There are a dozen or so classic moments, the music is OK, and you get to see Mike Ness "get out and push" a bus.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Commentary
lundenwarren2 October 2018
You need to get the 20th anniversary edition and watch it with the commentary it is a lot better than the regular versison
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Decent movie
lundenwarren2 October 2018
I love Social Distortion they're my favorite band...but you could live without seeing this movie...what the bands were thinking and doing was great but the directors made it totally commercial punk...but if you want old band footage this film is a must
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Best punk rock doc
rdoyle2925 April 2016
Probably the best documentary on punk rock that I have personally seen. "The Decline of Western Civilization" is more entertaining and has better music in it, but this feels more authenticate and deals with some interesting realities that that film does not confront. The setup is a North American tour set up by Youth Brigade for themselves and Social Distortion. It's a real D.I.Y. effort with Youth Brigade buying an old school bus and putting up the money and making the arrangements. A lot of the youthful idealism of punk rock is faithfully captured ... the shows are all "all ages" shows, the bands stay in communal houses in cities they visit, and nobody is in it for the money ... or at least they don't think they are. The movie also captures what happens when youthful idealism runs full steam into real life. The bus breaks down, they don't get paid for shows, and pretty soon nobody is getting paid anything, and band members and roadies start deserting the tour. The tour is essentially called off in DC where the bus fails completely and Social Distortion jump ship. Fascinating stuff from an "early days of punk rock" perspective (especially for Canadians since the tour goes through Canada first ... Calgary, Winnipeg and Montreal are highlighted), but interesting even for those not interested in punk per se.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
wonderful documentary
pinkfairy425 January 2006
Another state of mind is an excellent movie that shows the trails of life back in the 80's punk rock scene. It follows three punk bands (social Distortion, Youth Brigade and Minor Threat) on their North America tour in a broken down school bus. Their goal was not only spread the word of punk and their music, but also to promote themselves as So. Cal punks that aren't out to hurt anyone. I love this movie because it's not only real, but it shows a different side of the spectrum when it comes to people thinking punks were just bad kids that only cared about hurting the system and destroying the government. This movie will open your eyes to a new world that you wouldn't normal see and relate to as the 80's. It's has a more meaningful subtext then just a bunch of punks doing a bunch of shows.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed