The Jetsons Meet the Flintstones (TV Movie 1987) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Culture shock!
OWUbear31 March 2001
In this movie, two great Hanna-Barbera families are thrown together when Elroy Jetson accidently time warps his family to the Stone Age. Personally, I like George Jetson. He's funny, so it's easy for me to feel for him when he puts up with Mr. Spacely and the time warp. Mel Blanc can also prove he's capable of playing selfish people, but Mr. Spacely wasn't his best performance. I like Dino better.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
You could see it coming
Op_Prime16 March 2000
What were the odds that a special, uniting these two families, would not be made? In my opinion, I find it hard to believe no one could see it coming. This was pretty good, but had some faults. The story left something to be desired and animation wasn't as good as the tv shows'. But this was able to capture the charm and humor of the Jetsons and Flintstones. Highly recommended.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A great host of voice actors!!
Jjmak20047 June 2005
I own this video and i've seen it on TV many times. The movie pretty much combines the stone age Flintstones with the space age Jetsons. The voice work in this movie contains some the last major performances for the top two voice actors in my opinion. Daws Butler, who gave voice to Elroy Jetson, Henry Orbit, and Cogswell Cog, passed away in 1988...a year after this movie was completed. Mel Blanc, who gave voice to Barney Rubble, Dino, and Mr Spacely, passed away in 1989. The rest of the cast lived on through much of the 1990s with Henry Corden {voice of Fred Flintstone} passing away just recently. I won't give away the crux of the movie but i will say i enjoy watching the movie very much. No matter how many times i've seen it, those VOICES and the people who gave life to these characters make the movie a joy each and every viewing...Don Messick's vocals are amazing in this movie. He is the voice behind Astro, Mac, and the quivering computer named RUDI plus he gave voice to other nameless roles. The one and only John Stephenson was on hand as Mr Slate. Penny Singleton was Jane Jetson; George O'Hanlon was George Jetson; and Janet Waldo was Judy Jetson. Jean Vanderpyl was also on hand as Wilma Flintstone, Rosie the Robot, and Judy's talking diary. I give this 9 out of 10 stars because of the sub-plot of Judy falling in love with the stone-age rock singer. I didn't enjoy that aspect of the movie very much. All in all, this is a great cartoon...family friendly, too, and a wonderful spotlight on some legendary voice actors.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
if past and future really could meet...
Lee Eisenberg11 November 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Prehistory and the space age finally come face to face in this cartoon, as Elroy Jetson's time machine takes the family back to the stone age, where they meet the Flintstones. Then, lo and behold, the Flinstones accidentally get sent to the future, leaving the Jetsons in the past. As anyone might expect, both families have a hard time trying to cope with these new environments. "The Jetsons Meet the Flintstones" is pretty interesting. Granted, it's mostly intended for children, but I would suspect that practically anyone could like it. And overall, seeing what both families experience makes one content to stay in the present, even if the present isn't perfect. A real treat.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Mixed feelings
Henry A. Stephens23 September 2001
Warning: Spoilers
The publicity all says, "Elroy invents a time machine...." But in reality there is time for two separate Jetson and Flintstone plots to develop before Elroy starts tinkering. Jetson faces a job loss because of a security leak at Spacely Sprockets, while Flintstone IS fired because he skips work on an overtime assignment.

So there is a reason for this plot, which I didn't expect. Bravo.

But some things bugged me. Both shows were satires of our society, but in different ways.

The Flintstones worked because, ha-ha, we knew they REALLY didn't have all those "modern" conveniences and heavy equipment made from animal labor. They really didn't wear tattered versions of our American clothes. And they didn't have TVs made from rock or newspapers made from slate. But it was funny to see them use their available resources to look like us. That was the fun of it.

The Jetsons worked because, ha-ha, we knew we MIGHT have those machines one day. It took our 1960s "modern" conveniences into the future and made them even more so. Jet-propelled grocery carts, automatic tooth-brushers, honeymoons on the real moon. Machines and robots did everything. And it was funny to watch people with more resources look like us.

But I find it hard to mix them. They both ask for different suspensions of disbelief. The Jetsons asks us to accept that we will become so dependent on our machines that we can't even get dressed without them. The Flintstones asks us to accept that we were once doing well enough with rocks and animals. George Jetson might exist one day. Fred Flintstone, however, never did. Maybe there were extroverted, opportunistic cavemen back at the campfires, but no rock televisions. So the Jetson pokes fun at future possibilities, while the Flintstones pokes fun at past impossibilities.

(Spoiler warning) Check this: Rosie at one time uses the time machine to go back into the past to rescue the Jetsons from Bedrock. But she first stops in medieval England, where two jousting knights are on ... horseback, the way knights REALLY fought. But hey, if the Flintstones already had cars, why are the knights reduced to horses?

Really, if the Flintstones were that advanced in Bedrock, what happened? Why the decline?

I mean, by the time of the Roman Holidays cartoon series, we saw that Fred's foot-powered car had developed into Gus Holiday's roadster with actual horses under the hood. What led to the decline next?

I never asked that while watching the Flintstones, but throwing the Jetsons into the same movie brings this question.

Yeah, yeah, I know. It's only a cartoon....
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Interesting cross-over that mostly works well
TheLittleSongbird23 June 2017
'The Jetsons Meet the Flintstones' had an intriguing premise, taking two difficult families and putting them into different universes and meshing them together. Was a little worried as to whether the two would gel but actually it mostly works well, coming from somebody who really likes 'The Jetsons' and loves 'The Flintstones' (still one of my favourites).

Not without its flaws by all means. To me the biggest flaw was Judy's rock star romantic subplot, that went absolutely nowhere and was practically neglected. It just felt unnecessary for it to be there in the first place when so little was done with it and like it was there solely to pad out the running time. Too many of the characters have too little screen time, some even completely wasted, and with little to do.

Animation quality is uneven, faring better with The Jetsons, where some vibrancy and imagination can be seen, than with The Flintstones, where things look cruder and more rushed-looking.

However, both the Jetson and Flintstone families are immensely enjoyable and are well characterised, especially Fred and George. The terrific voice cast, full of highly respected voice actors who give their all and succeed brilliantly, helps hugely. There are some nice small details as well, such as Fred being given his favourite breakfast as a way of persuasion by Wilma for a vacation.

Writing is very amusing, perhaps borrowing a little some gags from both shows, but the humour is very true in spirit to both shows, corny but often very funny and smart (especially with The Flintstones). The story deals with the fish out of water premise in a way that's compelling and fun to watch and gives a real sense of nostalgia, which are enough to compensate for its relative predictability and one useless subplot.

Overall, interesting and mostly works well. As far as the "Superstar 10" made for TV specials/films go, 'The Jetsons Meet the Flintstones' while not one of the best is a long way from one of the worst. 7/10 Bethany Cox
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Good one!
Movie Nuttball12 July 2005
I thought that the characters were really funny and all had great personalities. The animation in My opinion was crisp, clean, and really clear. Not to mention beautiful! Most of the characters in this show are like the hilarious Looney Tunes characters that we all love. in My opinion these characters are the funnies and talented ever seen. In fact, The things that goes on in this series' cartoons are in My opinion nuts which that is what makes them hilarious! There are so many to like and laugh at and the silly things they do! If you like the original Looney Tunes and animated films then I strongly recommend that you watch this movie today!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
fun movie, for kids
ShortCuteBlonde1 November 2002
when i was like 6 or 7 i watched it and yeah i liked it, a lot, it was a good movie and a perfect re make of the cartoon, but i watched it a few weeks ago, im 14 now, with my little brother and it just seems way out dated, they either should have made it come out back in the 70's or the 80's or not made it at all. 4/10
0 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews