Boy Meets Girl (1998) Poster

(II) (1998)

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
I love this movie.
Pippin's Diamond7 July 2000
I got it only because I needed to see a particular actor that's in it, and I thought I was going to have to endure it because as a rule I despise romantic comedies. But this one... by God, I liked it! In fact, I love it, and I've never regretted the 10 bucks I paid for it. It's so very charming. Even my brother liked it, and believe me, that's really saying something! This movie manages to exist in its own little world, it creates an atmosphere. That's something I find lacking in many movies. Some people complain about the silly special effects, but IMO they're part of the atmosphere and they make it all feel somewhat magical. The music is also very good at setting the mood (I really wish I could get that Al Di La song somewhere!). If you've ever been in love, go get this film.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
a romantic comedy with something different
HermioneJWeasley6 January 2005
I liked this movie for many reasons, and mostly because it was a romantic comedy that was something different. There is a feel of mystery and magical realism that I found intriguing. It wasn't a standard boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy gets girl. For me, the magical couple (Il Magnifico and Mrs. Jones) and their apparent affect on Angelina and Mike's romance. was the most interesting part of the movie.

The scenes in which Angelina and Mike were in together were great - I wish that there had been more of them. I like the scene in which Angelina appears to be speaking in English without her Italian accent, and Mike appears to be speaking Italian.

If you like Italy and the Italian language, chances are you will like this movie. If you are Italian, as I am, you will relate to the characters. There was a good amount of Italian in the movie. There is a funny scene in which Mike learns Italian "gestures." and what they mean. He also gets a sort of magical romantic makeover.

I'm not sure where this movie was filmed (Canada, maybe?) but I thought that the scenery was beautiful. It sort of reminded me of the Little Italy in Montreal.

I like the fact that both men and women will enjoy this movie - it's not a typical "chick flick." All in all, a good movie - a must - see for Sean Astin fans or anyone who likes romantic movies.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful
southernbloke1824 January 2004
i must say this one one of the greatest romantic comedies i have seen ever seen, i mean its a funny and highly interesting film but it is also very beautiful, with the languages, the settings the people the script i was totally captivated on this film after the first minute of it starting, it is a wonderful film, and gave me an uplifting freshness to my thoughts on love a poetry, i have always been a romantic but over these last couple of years it seemed love and romance just wasnt about, but i watched this film and it made me look for the beauty and romance once again which this world is losing, a romance to life in our everydays, a passion for life and other people we need to regain, this film is inspiring and has a soulful message in it. there are no words to show my appreciation but it is a wonderfully beautiful film
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A sweet romantic comedy; artful and funny
tara_retro31 January 2004
I loved this movie. Sean Astin was (as always) completely adorable, and I'd never seen Emily Hampshire in anything before and thought she was very good as well. This movie had a beautiful tone and color; the music was perfect (the Italian and the children singing-- I loved it) and the cinematography was unique and fun to watch. Sure, this movie wasn't the funniest or the most well-written of all romantic comedies, but it was simple and sweet and a perfect Valentine's movie. I highly recommend it for fans of romantic comedies who just want a little love in their lives!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very kind and touching movie
Mulder-6330 January 2004
I would like to start from that point, that there are not enough films like this one. I was touched by this movie, my hard was happy and sad, I was laughing and sad. If you wish to spend spending evening with you real love, watch this movie or eve if you are single and wish something to remember, watch this movie too and you will get memorable evening.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Valentine's Day Movie
lucky-523 April 2002
Sweet, hysterically funny. Beautiful play of colors and music, awakens the Italian in all of us. Feels like a classic movie, such as "Roman Holiday". For all those who, in innocence, still believe in the perfect love. A great Valentine's Day movie
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful tale of romance and its absurdity
andi-663-8277382 March 2010
This whole movie contains an underlying vibe of comedic moments interspersed with an anticipation of the personalities involved learning to and falling in love. It has this feeling running throughout, and captured perfectly in both the writing and directing.

The main characters are very obvious, and the supporting roles really enhance and drive the story, but seemingly they create a vivid picture that is so lacking in many 'romantic comedy' type movies.

It is a serene experience watching this movie. I seldom find a blemish free movie. But i have to say this is a gem. The music is great and there are some fantastic segments capturing the magic and vitality of love. Bliss.

You can switch it on, and forget the world with this one. ( If only a DVD would come out, you would not need to keep rewinding & wearing out the video tape... )
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An Imaginative Romance
midnightmusing28 August 2006
I own this movie and have watched it several times and intend to watch it many more times. It is very imaginative and off-the-wall at times. I recommend it only for romantics, specifically those who follow their hearts in romance.

My favorite scene is the stag party. The directing was fantastic throughout the movie but especially in this scene. The men at the party were all in tune with their movements and expressions. Most of them did not have speaking parts but their collective energy through the music focused on the two dancers. One of them in particular stood out with his unique antics that enhanced the cohesiveness of the group.

The flavor of the movie is definitely Italian. One is continually educated in the customs of Italy throughout the movie. No matter what heat or coldness occurs between the characters, the movie emits a warmth that any romantic loves to bask in.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
great movie
catherine-heiby21 November 2008
i agree that this is a wonderful little movie, it almost comes across as an independent film! it is one of the best romantic comedies that i have seen since Doris Day! most current romantic comedies all seemed so forced and unnatural BUT this one is fresh, sweet and very innocent. in real life new love, when it comes to individuals, always arrives to lovers unexpectedly and very passionately and arduously! that is exactly the way this movie delivers love to the audience. this movie--- the whole package, is all so wonderful and delightful. i cannot say enough about it nor can i find exactly the right words to express my enjoyment in watching it. i didn't know just how much i could enjoy old Italian love music, red red lipstick, elbow-length gloves, red flocked wallpaper, corny love peotry, tight Jackie Kennedy dresses, the hairdo called "the flip", guys in dress shirts (and especially unbuttoned just alittle). nothing in this movie is actually new and yet it is all presented in a new way, and this is probably because no other movies of this time period were done this way, so that makes this new even though it is really all very old. sounds confusing? it may sound confusing but wha ti say is true! it is obviously not a high budget film BUT EVERYTHING IN THIS MOVIE WORKS!! even the economy works. i love this movie and i watch it whenever it comes on every chance i get and eventually i will buy it. and oh my! how i love the ending!!! honestly, i did not expect the ending, at least not the way in which it was done! if you have not seen this movie YOU HAVE GOT TO WATCH IT!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Charming little Italian Cinderella
PFG-525 April 2000
This is a very charming movie. It takes heart, a sense of humor, imagination, and a penchant for the romantic to understand the magic of the Italian-Fairy-Godfather. It seems that this film is set in the early 60's yet the characters use modern equipment such as cordless phones, and you see mini-vans along the road. Watch this movie with a light heart and do not expect more than the magic of true love. If you think sometimes that events in the movie do not make sense, remember this, the powerful magic of true love is rarely understood. I would recommend this movie if you want something light and romantic to relax with.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
MY LADY'S BIRTHDAY IS ON FEBRUARY 14th & I AM A ROMANTIC.
tvlspecial8 October 2004
I'm not sure that this movie was made specifically for Valentines Day. However, the 1st time we saw it, was on that day. We found the movie to be a fun, romantic movie. Sean played the perfect "Innocent young man" as did the girl. They represented an Innocence not often seen in movies these days. A credit to the director & writer of the story and/or screen play. The poet & his lady gave it a sensual excitement that kept coming back as the girl read or referred to the poem. The music, Italian restaurant & the Italian fiancé were also appropriate.

For some reason I have not been able to find this movie and/or know anyone that has been lucky enough to have taped it. The reason it is not available to the public yet, maybe due to it not being released. I understand it was co-produced by CBC Television, whom may own the rights.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
amore
flitterbik22 February 2004
this film was gorgeous. beautiful use of color, light, and language. it's a very common plot line, done in a very unique, quirky, and sweet way. i was surprised to see sean astin in a romantic lead like this, but he did an absolutely wonderful job.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An Excellent Romantic Movie
jujabang21 August 2000
I really liked this movie. The romance between the lead characters was really rich. And they got out of most of the horribly sticky situations they got into rather well. It is a pretty clean movie, and I just really liked it, that's all I have to say.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Somewhat spoiled by silly effects
rsoonsa6 April 2000
This could have been much better. The story was quite good, but was hampered by silly use of speeded cameras, and confusing and unexplained fantasy elements. Nonetheless, it was quite pleasant, with Emily Hampshire interesting in the female lead role. Joe Mantegna and Kate Nelligan also impressed. There were several amusing bits parodying Italian emotional characteristics.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very cute and very original!
Rosie-lass14 March 2002
I found the bit of Angelina speaking English made perfect sense. The Jones couple dropped those rose petals onto their shoulders, making Mike and Angelina able to understand each other perfectly. What didn't make sense were the Jones, they were all magical. How were they able to do those things and all? Like the words shining through the wallpaper...

But otherwise, it was a very good movie. And like always, Sean Astin did an awesome job!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Marvelous
nando197019 November 2004
I scored this movie to the highest expectations, because of the amount of Love and Romance it expressed.

A heart felt movie. It was filled with a poetic atmosphere.

I was moved by storyline, giving me more motivation to learn Italian. It's another romance language that expressions stream out with such a creative meaning, more

than is said. It was a sweet creative, well put storyline.

I heard about it before, and never saw the movie until this year.

I have written poems before, and I desire to write one in

Italian as well. Going back to the movie. Emily Hampshire did wonderfully in her role.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great
southernbloke1825 January 2004
I think it is a brilliant film and have watched it twice over and would like to see it again, but i cant find it on DVD or video or even a book, i luv the film with all its attridutes to the behavior of the people and the language, its has inspired me and is a film for the true romantic
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cute Italian Romantic Comedy
Dark-911 July 1999
Although a few scenes in this movie make no sense (ex: Angeline speaking English), Boy Meets Girl is a cute 'Cinderella' sort of retelling with catchy music and lots of comedic scenes. After watching this, you'll once again see that love really does conquer all.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Lovely romantic comedy, different though.
Notquiteperfekt24 March 2002
It's a cute comedy, with many funny lines, and many odd scenes. It's different, I'm not sure whether it's in a good way or a bad way, but it sure is different. It's kind of hard to fallow, if you fallow me, and the way it's filmed, it maintains a sort of soap opera quality throughout the whole thing, not the acting, or the dialogue, but the actual tape, it's all very.. . different.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed