The Stewardesses (1969) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
7 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Fly Me
weinerm2 May 2000
I must confes than I am a big fan of Monica Gayle, who although does not appear in the credits, has a phenomenal scene where sit sits naked and meditates and stretches her nude body every which way but loose. That scene lasts 30 seconds. The rest of the movie isn't much. Lots of pretty girls with a minimal amount of nudity, but not much in the way of plot. The film ends with Monica Gayle addressing the plane over the P.A. system. Watch her introduce the stewardesses and, amazingly, forget her name as well as the name of one of her co-stars. Incredible that they didn't re-shoot it, but that's low budget films for you.
27 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Pretty Actresses But No Real Plot
Uriah4316 October 2015
This film essentially revolves around seven or eight stewardesses who have an extended layover in Los Angeles and decide to have some fun. Since there are a number of various subplots within this movie I have decided to list them for the sake of clarity. First, "Samantha" (Christina Hart) happens to meet an advertising executive named "Colin Winthrop" (Ronald South) and because she desperately wants to be an actress eagerly goes out on a date with him. What she doesn't know is that Colin has a hidden secret that he has been nursing for several years and it's going to change their relationship rather dramatically. Meanwhile, "Cathy" (Kathy Ferrick) and "Jo Peters" (Anita de Moulin) go to a club to unwind but eventually head back to Jo's apartment. "Wendy" (Janet Waas), on the other hand, seems to have a thing for men in uniform as she first cavorts with a sailor in bed at the start of the movie and then afterward spends some time with a soldier who has orders to return to Vietnam. Yet another stewardess named "Annie" (Donna Stanley) decides to go home and drop some acid instead. Last, but not least, "Tina" (Paula Erikson) manages to get invited over to a playboy pilot's home which results in "Cindy" (Beth Shields) being left all alone. There is also another stewardess who apparently cheats on her boyfriend but I don't believe her name is mentioned. Now, as I stated earlier, there are quite a number of scenes involving different people and because there is no real character development-or much of a plot for that matter-it's quite easy to get confused on exactly who is doing what. This is the primary weakness of this movie. Throw in an extremely limited budget and awful background music and it's not difficult to understand why this movie has historically been rated so low. Rather surprisingly however, all of the actresses were quite attractive (with Kathy Ferrick being the best of the bunch in my opinion) which certainly helped this film immensely. Additionally, from what I understand there were a couple of promotional gimmicks and revisions done to this movie which dramatically enhanced the bottom line well beyond its actual merits. Of course none of the gimmicks can make this movie any better than it actually is and because of that I have rated this movie accordingly. Slightly below average.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
3D vision, great sex, forget plot
hollywoodshack27 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This film is not like too many today where the medium is more important than the content. Just look at 3D Avatar or digital TV. There's nothing on the TV to watch but plenty of writing on the corner of the screen and menu gadgets to play with. The Stewardesses are interesting and involving characters. Christina Hart plays an ambitious stewardess who wants closeted gay adman Michael Garret to help promote her career as an actress. She discovers a downer of a nightmare evening together with him. Jo is the lesbian head stewardess who has a wild fling with Kathy, promising a promotion for her in return. The 60's are well captured in segments featuring nude yoga and a 3-D acid trip! Each erotic adventure is well staged and never repeats the same style of the last one. The drawbacks are objects filmed just to show the 3-D vision at work, but these are minimal and don't distract from the story or actresses involved. 3D on a full color DVD did not work for me. The best parts that looked 3D with glasses were not as good as a double coated baseball card picture.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The Stewardesses has some pleasures, but only some
tavm25 January 2019
Well, after a few years of reading about this 3-D soft-core porn film, I finally watched this on two places online. The first place I saw this abruptly ended after an hour and 3 min.-right in the middle of a lesbian love scene. So I managed to watch the rest on a porn site. Pluses-that lesbian scene as well as a lovemaking scene between a uniformed army man and a woman with delicious close-ups of her face reacting. Minuses-one scene of a woman doing it with a face bust on a lamp stand, complete with silhouette of her pleasuring herself and the ending "love" scene with the woman not enjoying it and resulting in a tragic ending. So that's my review of The Stewardesses. Oh, and the version I watched was not in 3-D which is just as well because, other than some scenes at a haunted house in an amusement park not to mention on a roller coaster, it wouldn't be thrilling to watch in that format...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Tripe
billmarq11 May 2004
I saw this in the theater in its 3D version when it was originally released in 1969. It stunk to high heaven then and it can't be any better now. Scenes of a woman being brutalized in the bedroom and then jumping out a window hardly fit into a movie described as a comedy-drama. Nudity for no other purpose than titillation does not a movie make. The 3D effects were not all that good and did nothing at all to add to the enjoyment of the film. It has been 35 years since I saw this movie and I still think of it as the worst film I have ever viewed in a theater. My companions and I asked for our money back but were refused. Other vignettes within this "movie" included the story of a man who was traumatized by an act of sodomy. Cheery stuff, eh?
19 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting as when i saw the first time.
mmcgee28217 January 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I remember coming out of the Capri theater,not in Dallas,after seeing Diamonds are forever,James bond film, and saw the advertisement of this film back in 1971.I wanted to see this film cause it was in 3D.I became a 3D fan when it was dead.The problem is that it was rated x.Years later I learned that it was re rated as an r back in 71.I was under age.I finally saw it during the 80's revival of 3D.It was in wide screen and 3D.For a long while ,years later,I was wondering when it was going to come out on DVD in anaglyph 3D.There was an internet discussion on the web page that I ordered Ed woods only hard core feature,Necromania ,some times back.It was recently that I discover that it was released on DVD in 3D anaglyph back in 2009.So I got it.The only problem is that they gave you only one pair of 3D glasses and it was the wrong type.The anaglyph on the film is red right blue left.The glasses they gave me was blue right red left.I was using my plastic ones .I had to turn them upside down.After that the 3D was okay.It's not the best film in the world but it's fair .It's a cult classic.Another thing it was not letter box for wide screen.It was cropped.I later learned that it was shot in a single strip process splitting up two images and due to the fact they had to include optical sound track,The producers had to squeeze it,giving an artificial wide screen affect Both color and black n white 3d was good .The flat was also excellent print.It include interviews from the crew and the actors and producers.This was 2005.Al Silliman j.r. was still preserved .So was one crew man for the road show version.That handsome pilot,make up artist and actor William Condos was now a very old and probably in his 80s.Christina Hart,who hated doing the production was still very much youthful in 2005 for her being in her fifties.She regretted doing this film and thought it was a bad film ,when she was interviewed.The 3d was good,but, it be better in blue ray Polaroid.It was stereo vision process that was used in films like Jaws 3d and Friday the 13th 3d.What probably killed the 80s revival is the fact that the simpler method of shooting a 3D movie made the image smalls and theaters had to close their screen aperture down.The 3D images were smaller I also learned that it did not work in drive in theaters.I still enjoyed the movie.01/17/16.Boy! it was not too long ago that I had blogged the anaglyphic version. The Blu-ray is now out .This results in a sharper clearer images on shutter active and passive active smart t.v. screens.This version does not have the interviews.I don't understand why.It's not released by the same company. It contains a soft core 3D short ,Experiments in love,which the review can be seen in the adult section of i.m.d.b.The 3D was good in the Samsung 3D t.v.It was also good in the red green#d of my Blu- ray burner player in my computer.It did very well in my color code adapter,3D Wizard. The only differences was that on the menus the title pops out on the shutter active and the red-green ,but, stays hardly popping out on the color code,the whole film pops out of course.It's still only 7.12/28/16
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Spotty Movie - Fantastic 3D!
spiritof677 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The 5-out-of-10 rating is strictly for the technical quality of the 3D in the film, the naturalness (and nakedness) of the actresses and the contemporary nature of the "plot".

SPOILER ALERT HERE

Well,there's no real"plot" at all. There are a number of stories, told almost Love-American Style style but much more adult, and with casual full nudity from most of the actresses and nearly as much from the actors. Gay themes; relationship/fidelity themes; humorous drug themes. And done with 1970's-style nudity, proudly unshaven. Bushy, even. One high spot in the showing I attended was the hallmark of any good movie: a couple left in a huff about 20 minutes into the film. Full marks there.

But the pinnacle is (as of 7/17) the quality of the prismatic 3D. I have seen 3D movies since the 1950's and this film has some of the very best I have ever seen. There are some depth shots here that are almost unsurpassed at any budget level, and this was a low budget. But that said, this time "all the money was on the screen" is a truism. The technical level (on a movie screen, mind you) was mindblowing.

SPOILER ALERT HERE

Well, not really needed but this isn't a full "adult" (i.e. no penetration) film. There was an alternative version done with X inserts but this isn't it, evidenced by the copy I saw at my local Alamo Drafthouse. But if you want to see what CAN be done with the old technology of 3D, see this on a screen. It's impressive technically - just not as a movie.

Unless you have a 3D TV and a recent Blu-Ray copy of this film or you are lucky enough to actually catch a theater showing of The Stewardesses I can't recommend it. With either of those (and preferably on a screen) it's a must-see.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed