The 4th Floor (1999) Poster

(1999)

User Reviews

Review this title
47 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
There's Hell beneath your feet on the 4th Floor
sol121810 June 2004
Effective and original little thriller set on the island of Manhattan about a young woman terrorized in her rent-controlled apartment by unknown forces that want her out.

Juliette Lewis, Jane Ehelin, is at her feisty best as the victim of this horror drama who won't let herself be driven out of her apartment as the terror below her that at first is just annoying begins to turn deadly. The movie "The 4th Floor" has a lot of false leads as to who the person or persons are that are terrorizing the hell out of Jane. If your very attentive you'll notice something almost at the beginning of the movie, that is repeated in the films final sequence, why all of this is happening to her.

After her Aunt Cecile was killed from a fall down the stairs of her building it was found out in Aunt Cecile's lease that she put Jaen on it as co-occupant to her apartment. Jane was all set to move in with her boyfriend Greg Harrison, William Hurt, a local TV weatherman in the house that he just bought in the New York city suburb of Westchester County. Jaen instead canceled her plans in order to move into that empty and very affordable apartment in the city. As soon as Jaen moved in things began to happen all originating from the 4th floor, the apartment just underneath her.

The director and writer of the movie "The 4th Floor" leave a lot of red herrings as well as yellow and orange maggots and white and gray mice to what is behind all this and you almost suspect everyone in the movie that Jaen comes in contact with. The ending is quite a surprise because even when it comes it still may keep you hanging as to what was the reason for tormenting Jaen and driving her almost mad and out of her brownstone apartment. The very last scene in the movie really explains it all.

Besides Juliette Lewis William Hurt is very good in an unusually small but important role so are Shelley Duvall, Martha Stewart, no not the Martha Stewart in the news. There's also Austin Pendleton, Mr. Collins, as Jaen's neighbors and a very good performance by Tobin Bell the locksmith and next-door neighbor of Jean who knew a lot more to what was happening in Jane's building then what he let her on to.

Tension-pack and really creepy movie that will make your skin crawl as Jaen is slowly constricted by the four walls around her as the terror, that's a lot closer to her then she thinks, closes in on her for the movies surprising as well as really weird and shocking conclusion."The 4th Floor" is a lot better then you would, or I did, expect from many of the negative reviews that it got and is well worth seeing.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Surprisingly good!
NoName198917 August 2006
I liked this film a lot. Juliette Lewis and Austin Pendleton did a very good job in this movie. Also William Hurt acted O.K.. Some movies in this genre are predictable, but this one wasn't.

The 4th Floor is Josh Klausner's first movie. I must say he did a very good job. The movie is certainly not a masterpiece, but it is very exciting! Pay attention to the last scene of the movie. Some of the music is very good!

I recommend this movie to everyone!

I learned a new word in this movie: I'm only going to give the first and last letter, because I don't want to spoil. The word is "P..S". People who saw the movie, will know which word it is.
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Truly scary movie
Adam Brosnan11 July 2002
I was looking last night in my video shop and found this in the really cheap area and thought hmmm the story line looks ok, straight to video so I thought what the hey i'll get it out and see what it's like.

I strongly reccomend watching this film alone with the lights out. The film itself is nothing special no big special effects, but I still found it quite scary. The feeling of being alone and lack of privacy and conspiracy all seem like powerful points to this film. A definite Rosemarys Baby comes through with the strange characters all being possible suspects and the building itself almost feeling alive very shining. (Note the lens on the room 4's door).

The films has it all frights, the bad guy is truly crazy and the twist at the end leaves a nasty taste in your mouth.

If you have seen all the new releases definitly give this a try. I can't promise high budget but can promise you the creeps
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Great offbeat thriller, Juliette Lewis and William Hurt
MarieGabrielle7 April 2006
portray central characters in this film. Hurt in particular plays a pretentious weatherman, with a bow-tie, and is very amusing. Lewis plays a niece who inherits a rent-controlled apartment in the big city (NY, of course) and along the lines of "Rosemary's Baby", starts to realize there is something strange happening in the building.

Some of the tenants are: Shelley Duvall, Austin Pendleton, and the locksmith Tobin Bell (always excellent, and creepy). There are some scenes reminiscent of Hitchcock's "Rear Window" as Ms. Lewis is observing the goings-on in her neighborhood- be careful of what you may find out! The movie culminates in terror, and if you have ever lived alone in a city with strange neighbors, you will enjoy this movie. Watch it on a rainy night- better than the original "When a Stranger Calls". 9/10
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Not perfect, but worth the time
dead_doll0010 November 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is a far cry from perfect. But then, few movies are nowadays and one has to learn not to be picky. If you're looking for some entertainment on a boring Saturday night, then this is a good way to go.

Despite the whining of her weatherman boyfriend, Jane becomes the newest tenant of a rather creepy looking apartment building, having inherited the place from a dead aunt. Over time, Jane comes to meet the various people that make up the rest of the tenants. They include a snoopy, loopy old lady, a slightly unhinged superintendent, a mysterious but kind old man, a blind and deaf old couple, and a rather mean-spirited old woman. Not to mention the man across the way from her may be a murderer, but, hey, can't win 'em all, right? Amidst all this, Jane finds herself being attacked by the woman living one floor below, obsessing over the "oral disturbances" that Jane just can't seem to cut out.

So yeah, rather a predictable, old plot, but still unique in a strange way. I own the movie and have watched it a few times already. Perhaps its the atmosphere and quirky, in some cases almost stereotyped characters that keep me coming back. Perhaps its the smooth, creepy music or use of scenery. Then again, it's probably Tobin Bell in his role as the Locksmith. Yeah, that could be it too...
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Unplausible
Mattias Petersson2 July 2007
There are many problems with a movie like this one. First of all, you've seen it all before. A lone woman (or just lone person) moving into a flat in a building filled with psychos is a popular theme. Second of all, the story might work up until the end. Then it usually falls apart more or less completely, the way it does here.

Juliette Lewis and William Hurt are both decent actors and they do a decent job here. The supporting actors have bigger problems with Shelley Duvall and Austin Pendleton both coming off as completely unbelievable characters, playing neighbors in the strange house.

What i think worked well in this movie is first off the house itself. It's got a nice Gothic New York-feel to it, with seedy run-down interiors and huge staircases. Also like i said above Hurt and Lewis do their parts OK, although i feel Hurt almost always has something a bit unnatural about him. I don't know what it is, but his delivery is slow and contemplated, almost theater-like. It's not always fitting.

The negative aspects are mostly the supporting actors, which have a hard time with the script giving them characters that are just too much to believe. The one that stands out especially though is Sabrina Grdevich as Lewis work colleague. She seems to be in a porno-movie or something of the kind, flirting with the camera no matter what she's saying. Also the script has other problems, mostly with plausibility. That is not unexpected though as these kinds of movies usually need a villain capable of extremely intricate measures for a very small potential gain.

In the genre, this is not a disaster. I can't say i recommend it though. 5/10.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Very Good Thriller
cameron-kills-it10 August 2009
"The 4th Floor" is about a young woman (Juliette Lewis) who moves into her late aunt's apartment much to her boyfriend's (William Hurt) disapproval. The other tenants in the building are very strange, Jerry (Artie Lange), Martha (Shelley Duvall), and the woman on the floor below her are very shady as well as the man across the street (Tobin Bell). Mr. Collins (Austin Pendleton) seems to be the only normal person in the building. However, odd and eerie things begin happening in the apartment below her, and Juliette Lewis suspects that things are not what they seem. This was much better than I had expected, with an all-star cast and a good script, this movie went a long way. Suspense and mystery made this a win-win movie, with barely a boring moment. Beware of the many red herrings in this movie, almost every character could be a murderer. I strongly recommend this eerie thriller!

Rated: R for Violence, Brief Nudity, and Profanity.

Grade: C
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Gave it a 3, for technical competence only.
Craig Duncan29 April 2000
My wife invited my son and I to watch this on cable TV on a lazy Saturday evening, thinking that it might show an unusual role for Juliette Lewis. On this promise, at least, the movie delivers: her character is ineffectual, adhering to nearly every slasher-type horror movie cliche. As does the movie. A cataloguing of its studied adherence to them would be an exercise in recall of something I hope to quickly forget, so I won't make one. Basically, this is a whodunnit, heavy on the red herrings: everybody appears guilty, rather than just the two one suspects from the beginning. The "rule out the logical and obvious, and what's left is it" rule of bad horror movies works well on this one. The only surprise to have any impact on me was its final snagging of the indeterminate ending cliche: will Jane keep her appointment with her attempted rescuer, who will tell her the (obvious to the audience) identity of the 2nd conspirator, propelling her into another round of hysterical victim-play. Mercifully, I will never know.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Unorignal and predictable movie but with some nice moments.
Boba_Fett11385 March 2005
This movie is fairly unknown and I see no reason why this should be any different. "The 4th Floor" is an highly unoriginal thriller/horror movie. There have been made dozens of movies like this the last couple of years and difference is that most of them were better than this one.

Yes, the movie does have some good moments and suspense but you can tell that director Josh Klausner is too unexperienced. There isn't much originality and the movie falls into some obvious clichés. Josh Klausner normally only works as second unit director for the Farrelly brothers. My advice to him is to stick to that job.

After a couple of minutes I already figured out the ending. Smart you!' you might say but I think it says something more about the originality and predictability of this movie than about my intelligence.

Still it was fun to see Shelley Duvall in a movie again. Besides "The Shining" I don't think that I ever have seen her in a other movie. I also enjoyed Tobin Bell who I like as an actor. Too bad he never ever really stars in big roles in big productions. William Hurt is a good actor but his role was simply too small in this movie to be really notable.

I can't think of any reason why you should watch this movie. But when you still decide to do so, you won't be completely disappointed, just as long as you don't expect too much of it.

5/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
apartment hell
Lee Eisenberg27 March 2012
"The 4th Floor" has a neat premise, but it seems as though the whole thing peters out early on. Maybe it's just that there have been so many movies about mysterious neighbors that this one came across as a rehash. It wants to be an homage to "Rear Window"; instead, it ends up being more of a joke. Juliette Lewis, William Hurt, Austin Pendleton, Shelley Duvall (with bleached hair!) and Tobin Bell (Jigsaw in the "Saw" movies) are wasted. As it turns out, the movie got released theatrically in Germany, but went straight to video in the US. Truth is, either they should have written a better script or not made the movie at all. Really, truly saddening.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
You got to love Juliette Lewis
Warning: Spoilers
Well, I saw this movie last night. I got to say, it is pretty decent thriller with elements of psychedelic.

Young woman gets apartment from her died aunt and starts accommodating when strange things start to happen. Some are believable, some ...somehow not. I really liked the atmosphere of danger and a little weirdness. The whole world in this movie seems to be a little odd, kinda 3 inches to the left. You got a feeling that not everything is as it should be.

Unfortunattely I could pretty easy predict who is the main "bad guy".

I liked Tobin "The Saw" Bell small part, also Artie Lange was not bad in part kinda not his styla.

Now , minor or major, spoiler, so beware.

In 1976 Roman Polański made The Tenant (Le Locataire) based on great novel by late Roland Topor. If you saw that movie, The 4th Floor will be VERY familiar. Unfortunately, what worked in France is not that great in Da City.

Also, you got to love Juliette Lewis, she is not shy in front of the camera :) If you got nothing better to do - see this movie, but if you have to go to the Blockbuster - get The Tenant. Bye.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Good neighbors are hard to find
rambow29 April 2000
The basic idea behind the film is a good one. The suspense builds for the first part of the film nicely, but in the second half too many points are unrealistic or too unbelievable. Far too many references to Hitchcock's Rear Window show us what could be instead of what is. If you really want that type of suspense watch that one. I found myself saying out loud that no one is that dumb, no one would do something like that. But the lead character was. I'd say more but some of you may actually watch it. I wanted to like what was happening, but I can't get around all the problems with the script. Once more we're shown that without a good story the project is doomed to fail.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Boring old claptrap
eshark1118 June 2011
I love bad films, but this was so boring I gave up after an hour. My better half confirmed the outcome was as we had expected.

Shelley Duval is great in the small time she has on screen. If only the rest of the film was as good.

Reliance on too many million-to-one coincidences is never a good sign, but that is only part of the problem. If you want to make a story that will involve and (hopefully) scare the audience, sticking to basics would be useful.

Deciding whether it is a comedy or a serious film would be a good start. Sadly the filmmakers cannot seem to decide.

Throwing the kitchen sink at the screen is only good if it is intended as a comedy. Otherwise it just makes the whole thing look stupid.

My tip? Watch "Fanny by Gaslight" instead.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Why Put Up with that Garbage?
whpratt121 May 2006
Enjoyed viewing this film and could not imagine just why Juliette Lewis,(Jane Emelin),"Daltry Calhoun",'05 put up with all the horrible creeps in her apartment dwelling. The landlord, Superintendent, and practically the entire building was a loony bin of all kinds of characters. William Hurt, (Greg Harrison),"Syriana",'05, lived with Jane Emelin and did not like the idea of her going off and getting this apartment; he even told her how much he loved her. As the film progresses, all kinds of strange and mysterious things seem to happen in the apartment and an old lady living on the floor below Jane really started to raise all kinds of hell for her day and night. All the actors gave a great performance and you will probably figure the ending out, but it was not the greatest of William Hurt films.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great film! How did this one not get noticed.
STCC19734 January 2006
Juliette Lewis has another very impressive performance in this terrifying psychological thriller. She plays the part of an cool-headed but fiesty woman who will not back down from the person who lives on the floor below her. Her performance was so completely believable. I felt in watching this movie that it was reality and not just a movie. I don't think many actors have the ability that she does to be so convincing in a role. The movie had so much reality with me and will with others because of the story. I'm sure almost everyone at some point has had some neighbor who was a bit strange and hostile. This is a must see film as you will see Juliette Lewis at her best and a story that will remain with you way after it's over. I really don't know how this one flew underneath the radar.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Homage?Influence?How about good,old-fashioned RIP-OFF!
tone14323 September 2004
If the majority of these reviews were written by people under 28,you're forgiven.If not,well-there's a monstrous gap in your film education.

Since every last plot line,lighting concept,and even verbatim dialogue was copped directly from Polanski's "The Tenant"(masterpiece)and Hitchcock's "Rear Window"(another masterwork),a proper homage should have been done here,since the control-maniac weatherman boyfriend went to all the trouble to re-create the paranoid world of the film,"The Tenant",in order to force his independent girlfriend to move back in with him,including the elaborate hieroglyphic hallucinations(courtesy of Ms. Simone Schuul,of "The Tenant").The 2 films should have been featured as "characters" in the movie.Of course,this would require the film to elevate itself to black comedy,which requires talent,none of which was present here,except 2 talented actors selling out to do a parasitic piece of cr_p like this.If you want to see a way better ripoff of "The Tenant",see "Apartment Zero"(1987?),a South American production with Colin firth and Hart Bochner.At least there's an original twist there.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Bra-less in a tank top.
TxMike5 October 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Juliett Lewis is good to look at. Even though her face is not beautiful, it is interesting, and her cute figure, accented by wearing mostly tank tops and not much else. Her boyfriend is played by William Hurt, who is the weatherman "who will do whatever it takes." She decides to move out of his place, and into an apartment she inherited, and we wonder, "will he do whatever it takes?" This is a suspense movie, but frankly it is pretty dull most of the time, and the actions of most characters don't make too much sense.

SPOILERS follow, please read no further.

Right after she moves into her new place, strange things start to happen. It is clear that someone wants her out. The tenants, the super, the locksmith, all act strange. She finds mice and maggots in her apartment. In a penultimate showdown, she is hit on the head and left in her apartment with the gas on. She survives, but then in the last showdown, is in the strange man's place, they fight into the hallway, her boyfriend shows up, the strange man goes over the bannister, falls to his death. She then moves out, back with her boyfriend. Then we see the locksmith painting tenants using a pair of binoculars. One of the pictures is of her boyfriend (Hurt) and the strange man at a table, talking. The boyfriend had evidently hired the strange man to scare his girlfriend (Lewis) out of there and back to him. He did "whatever it took."
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Shining meets Rosemary meets Window meets Diabolique
tedg8 April 2001
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers herein.

Forget the acting. It is adequate. (Scientologist actors have a distinctive fixation on the face, which annoys.) Forget the story too. It is adequate, following current standards for thriller twists and red herrings.

What's interesting is the notion of space. It figures in the story, but more importantly, it is the fulcrum for the cinematic vision. Not many films make a commitment to space, because it is hard, and audiences like their characters to be people. But it can be really rewarding.

Perhaps the best of these is Welles' `Othello,' (which merged the space with the viewer). Perhaps the best known is `the Shining,' (which made the space a character). The key notion here is to center the camera in the space, so that every plot element has a physical anchor. They tried that here, so get a lot of extra points from me.

From that premise, a film can come alive. Every position of the camera carries meaning. Shots of certain parts of the building itself can carry meaning and advance the story. Characters become more richly annotated by their environments. The art of the image is greatly enriched. They don't exploit this as well as they could, and the level of art is not high, but the mere commitment goes a long way.

The photography is dark. That's good. Wish they had photographed the foam like PT Anderson did in the pool in "Boogie."
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Chilling, mainly during the second half
vchimpanzee2 November 2004
Greg is a weatherman for 'Rise and Shine New York' who has gotten a national job. Jane is his girlfriend who doesn't want to move in with him, instead taking over her Aunt Cecile's fifth-floor apartment.

It was Martha Stewart (no, not the famous one) who found Aunt Cecile dead at the bottom of the stairs. And she's only one of the quirky neighbors. Some are in Jane's building (such as the super, who is the landlord's mentally unstable nephew Larry), and others can be seen from Jane's window--including

a cross-dresser, and the man who may have killed his wife.

Alice apparently lives in the apartment below Jane's, and she has real problems. Though never seen, she leaves numerous trash bags in the hall, and sends Jane nasty notes about her behavior, even though Jane is relatively quiet. Later, Jane gets more than notes.

I don't care much for scary movies, but this one was just chilling enough to be entertaining, especially toward the end. Those who can't stand 'Fear Factor' might not want to see this movie.

Shelley Duvall made quite an eerie character, and I genuinely despised her. Mr. Collins was nervous but nice, and he reminded me in some ways of Fred Rogers. I won't say just why I thought Austin Pendleton did a very good job.

The movie left us not knowing what really happened. We think we know--OR DO WE????
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I've seen this all before
Judge808019 June 2004
The 4th Floor(1999) Inane suspense about young woman(Juliette Lewis) who moves into her late Aunts walk-up apartment in New York City. Since this is a fairly short movie, it doesn't take very long for Ms. Lewis to find that she has some very bizarre neighbors. She is warned by one (payed by an almost un-recognizable, Shelley Duvall) to stay away from certain tenants and is given a list of rules of the building that would choke a horse. All heck breaks loose from there. The film is very predictable and the stalker of Ms. Lewis should be learned of by mid -film for many viewers. Lewis is an interesting actress and is not hard to look out but the real disappointment is William Hurt who plays Lewis' weatherman boyfriend. Hurt looks bored, has a very bad hair weave and its sad that an actor with his status has been reduced to second rate roles. No fire in him at all. Overall '4ht Floor' is a mediocre flick and cant be over soon enough. rated 2 of 5 stars.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Odd thriller keeps you guessing
rosscinema13 May 2003
Warning: Spoilers
This film had all the ingredients of a very bad and predictable "Woman being terrorized in her apartment" thriller but I have to admit, its really not that bad. Story is about a young woman who moves into her late aunts apartment but her boyfriend wants her to move in with him. Juliette Lewis plays Jane Emelin and William Hurt is the weatherman Greg Harrison who is dating her. Jane moves in and meets all the strange tenants like Shelley Duvall who is the resident snoop. Austin Pendleton is always running up the stairs in a long coat to try and avoid Duvall and Artie Lange is the Super who lives in the basement. Once she is in her apartment she watches the tenants in the other building (Like "Rear Window") and thinks she might have witnessed the locksmith murdering his wife. The neighbor below Jane keeps banging on her floor and leaving notes telling her to keep the noise down and gives her instructions on when she can make noise. Jane bangs on their door and replies to the notes but no one answers the door. Soon Jane has maggots coming up out of her drain and is plagued by mice! This little film is directed by Josh Klausner who has worked primarily with the Farrelly brothers. Its his first job as the main director and he does a pretty adequate job. Its not fancy but he seems to know exactly what he's doing. Klausner also wrote the script and its not predictable (For the most part) and as I watched this film I have to be honest and say I really didn't know what was going to happen next. You watch each strange character and its hard to guess who is doing what. *****SPOILER ALERT***** The one aspect of the film that didn't surprise me was the fact that the character by Pendleton is behind everything. He came across as the only normal guy so of course he's behind it all. But wait! He's not the only one behind it and the last shot of the painting with Pendleton and Hurt together is one that I did not expect. At the beginning of the film I suspected Hurt but then I figured it was someone else. This is one of the few times that Lewis has actually played a normal role. She carries the film well but why would she be dating a dullard like Hurt? And after all the maggots why didn't she call the health commission? Isn't it the job of the exterminators to report things like that? This is just nit-picking because the film does keep you guessing and its not a bad overall thriller.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Lacks Believability
Falcon-514 May 2000
The story revolves around a young woman named Jane (Juliette Lewis) that moves into an apartment with some very strange tenants, particularly the mysterious one below her on the 4th floor. The first problem is no one should have cast Lewis for this role. There are certain roles in which she is ideal for but, this is not one of them. Still I will give her credit for trying hard and doing a better job than she has done in the past. William Hurt on the other hand seems to have deteriorated since his great acting days in such films as "Broadcast News" & "Body Heat." The second problem with the film is too many questions are left unanswered. That causes the film to lose direction. Finally the biggest problem is the film has no believability to it. For this film to be successful you have to believe what you are seeing in order for it to surprise you later. At the first sign of trouble most people would have left the building, but the character Jane seems impervious to every attempt to scare her off. She keeps putting up with it and that's where the plausibility lies. Definitely not a well made thriller.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Not much more than an inflated television drama
David Downing29 April 2000
What we have here is an episode of a half-hour television horror/suspense anthology -- e.g., TWILIGHT ZONE, ALFRED HITCHCOCK PRESENTS, TALES FROM THE DARKSIDE -- drawn out to feature length and spiced up with profanity and graphic violence. That being said, I did find myself compelled to watch it through to the end to find out what happened.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Mediocrity Lives On 'The 4th Floor'
great_sphinx_422 July 2001
'The 4th Floor' is a decidedly mediocre film starring Juliette Lewis as a young interior designer with a heck of a problem neighbor. Jane (Lewis) has recently inherited a terrific 5th floor apartment from her grandmother, and per agreement with the landlord, gets a ridiculously low renting rate. Her boyfriend (William Hurt as a creepy weather man) wants her to move in with him, but she wants her own space. So she moves in, and weird stuff starts happening, and because this is a B-grade horror flick, there's a dumb, not-to-be-found-in-reality reason why. As the none-too-intriguing Jane keeps trying to tell others- her boyfriend, the police, coworkers- what's going on, everybody thinks she's losing it. So, of course, she has to face the problem- the lunatic living right below her- alone. Neither scary nor interesting, The movie's single saving grace is Lewis. She's a very fine actress but poorly used here, which is not to say she isn't the best thing about this flick- because she is. She has feral charisma and holds the screen better than a dozen of the silicone bimbos that routinely populate this type of movie. This type of movie, though, is not worthy of her- which is ironic, given that she's probably the only reason anyone would see it.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great material, for a 50 min tv show
tijgertje29 April 2001
What is happening on the 4th floor, halfway in this movie you will not even care. What do we have here, a young girl is going to live in the appartement her late aunt lived in, when she arrives the blood from the fall that killed her aunt is not even removed yet and everybody in the appartement has the looks of an axe murderer; and is trying to act as creepy as possible, welcome home dear. If you can swallow this there is also William Hurt who is acting like he fell asleep at the beginning of this movie and never woke up, and who can blame him. This is the kind of movie that builds up to the grand finale, and everybody who watches it is trying to bite through the cheap plot twists (maggots anyone, and what the hell are they doing in the curtains, flying maggots??) and is trying to stay awake for that great finale, but here is a surprise, there is no climax, at least not one that I could figure out. The only thing that saves this movie (a little !!)is one of the very last scenes, but hell, all the viewers are sleeping by then or are teaching maggots to fly.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews