Game Day (1999) Poster

(1999)

User Reviews

Review this title
12 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Blown away by Richard Lewis. Great basketball sequences.
SGNYC1 February 2021
I'm a total sports movie junky so I was surprised to see this title pop up. I didn't recognize it, but I love Richard Lewis (and Greg Giraldo is in this, btw) and the trailer on YouTube looked cool, so I gave it a shot. I have to say, I've seen a lot of sports movies, and this one has some of the best game footage/editing that I've seen. Also, while it can be a bit raunchy at times, it's really funny. And Richard Lewis was a total revelation. Definitely some of his strongest acting work as the down and out coach.

Anyway, this one brought me back to my love of classic 90's sports films.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
one funny basketball movie.
fmsaleen12 January 2005
When I first saw this movie it was because I was up late at night and couldn't sleep. It was showing on shotime, and I decided to watch it because it was a sports movie. I really enjoy watching sports movies because they are inspiring. Unfortunately this movie didn't inspire me at all, but it made me laugh real hard. The movie has many characters, and it takes you into their lives one by one. The drugged out basketball coach, the town mayor who gambles people's money, and the basketball player who feels like a he didn't accomplish anything in his life. All of these characters all share one common interest, and that is that they're all going to be at the national game against Miami. This movie is really funny, and Richard Lewis is really funny as he plays the role of the head coach. His pre-game speeches are just hilarious. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who is into that dark sort of comedy, and I would give it 4 out of 5 stars.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
All things considered...
CityofNY11 January 2001
While this movie isn't exactly "Hoosiers" or "Pride of the Yankees", it is a pretty good movie, a must see for every girl or boy who has dreams of playing big time college sports. Richard Lewis is at his neurotic/wise guy best.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thoroughly entertaining, thought-provoking Hoop Flick
amidayan-950396 February 2021
A brilliant snapshot of late 20th century America, Game Day is a pressure cooker plot, with viewers increasingly dreading the inevitable, thankfully surprising and rewarding, explosion.

A dark Basketball Cinderella story, with a middle of nowhere underdog team getting a once in a lifetime chance at fame and glory; making it to the national championship, lead by a washed up 'has-been', that literally has been to the national championship five times before, and lost every single time - coach Steven Adler. Richard Lewis delivers his best dramatic performance as coach Adler, a role that covers everything from uplifting motivational speeches to disturbing manifestations of self destruction, as he gives up on everything... except, the game. 'I am good at the game' says Lewis in a blend of self determination and an ironic excuse for everything he is not quite as good at. An unsettling charisma around his character draws you in and keeps you hooked, like it or not.

The film is beautifully shot and edited - blending intense heart-racing peaks, with insightful social commentary and dark comedy. Speaking of comedy, casting the incomparable late comic Greg Giraldo is a beautiful touch.

I couldn't recommend this enough; great charismatic protagonist , well-crafted, thoroughly entertaining and thought-provoking - Game Day's got it all.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Movie That Is One of My Keepers
nipsip19 March 2017
I rate this movie at the same level as Hollywood Knights Very watchable and movies that you and probably not many of your friends have seen or on Kodi. The main characters are priceless and I do not think they have ever reached the same level that they did in these movies. Steve Adler and Newbaum Turk are two great characters in b level movies that are really enjoyable. The pot smoking scene with Steve is quite good.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Walmart
mabc24 September 2006
Don't buy this movie in the one dollar bin from Wal-mart... they must have cut out all the good parts like the nudity and drug use.... I discovered this when I found that there was no cursing and saw the movie was cut from 105 minutes listed on this IMDb page to the 75 minutes i saw. Overall i thought it was a good film. A few laughs, a few stirring moments and a twist ending that will will stick to you like rice to teriyaki chicken...

Imagine my surprise after watching this film that there are thirty five more splendid moments of cinema left to watch. I was horrified. Watching RIchard Lewis change from a comedian to submitting one of the most stirring portrayals of a basketball coach is something that was a joy to watch. Anyhow, I recommend this film to all studying movie-making.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Great addition to "Horrible Video" Collection
jenkins.29515 December 2000
My friend made me watch this, the latest addition to his "horrible video" collection (also featuring King Cobra and The Video Dead). I must admit, this sack of tripe hits its peak in the first scene in which Richard Lewis, Ohio State alum, (go Bucks!) takes a shot, then downs a beer, before drinking a double strength coffee, before sparking a joint. The only thing I was wondering was Where's the Boku?

The one shining star, referred to affectionately in the film as "Moron Boy" may also be best known as the love child of Bob Dylan and Adam Sandler. His sniper rampage almost breaks the tedium that is the half hour of slow motion basketball and Richard Lewis' inspirational spouting of obscenities, but does not break this aforementioned tedium. Every female character becomes topless at some point in the film and has a preoccupation with pleasuring the coach and smoking pot to "get horny."

The lack of monetary funds for this movie is quite prevalent in the scenes filmed in the locker room and gym. It is quite obvious that all scenes in the locker room were filmed at the same time, as the players do not perspire as the game progresses. It is also apparent that they only used half the court to film on, because the film breaks the 180 degree rule of filmic virtue.

In summary, if you or any of your friends have been forming a "horrible video" collection, this would be a brilliant addition.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great main characters, good subplots
SummerChase30 October 2000
I am always surprised to see a movie on cable that I never even heard about, and I really like. Richard Lewis is a very convincing coach, although I think that small town would drive a coach like him crazy. I especially like the key basketball player coming to the realization that his career and life to that point has been a monumental waste. The coach's conversation with the stripper was very important for the audience's understanding of his talent, and how it transcends his debauchery. What I mean is he can perform in spite of his "sex, drugs, rock and roll" lifestyle.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hoosiers meets Fargo, with sex and drugs
MEdwards16 October 1999
This may very well be the greatest sports movie ever, if you're interested in the underbelly of college basketball. Why this never made it in theatres, I absolutely cannot understand. Richard Lewis proves he may still have a career.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Richard's best work. A wonderfully funny film that can be watched more than once.
sdupost4 May 2004
Richard Lewis shows why he should be considered for many more parts than he has in the past. His range as an actor is confirmed by his performance in this wonderful look at college basketball. The game sequence is one of the best I've ever seen in a sports movie as far as realistic play is concerned....that from an ex-basketball player from Kansas. Despite the fantastic finish, the play of the game, the flow of it, is much more credible than any basketball film I've seen before but it is so much more still. As a commentary on cannabis, it is non judgmental and wonderfully objective. I just think that anyone with a good sense of humor should view this film and see Richard Lewis at his best. It opened my eyes to his talent and I have since been a big fan of his.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Mesmorizing! Stupefying! The greatest sports film ever made!
This film chronicles the sad and pathetic existence of a second-tier college basketball coach (Richard Lewis) as he prepares for the big game. Rather than preparing by running drills with the team, or going over special plays he catalogs his drug collection and scams on the local college girls. Everything culminates on game day, with one of the most unpredictable basketball games ever filmed.

Richard Lewis is brilliant in this film. His "pep" talks to the basketball squad sound as if they were written by Mamet on his best and most cynical day. The delivery of one speech in particular is perfectly done, you will recognize it when you hear it. This speech is the antithesis of every lame "rah-rah" game winning speech I have ever heard in a sports related movie.

The tag line for this film is: "This ain't Hoosiers," and it is an apt one. It is as if Steven Klein (writer and director) has seen every relevant sports film and passed judgment on them, banishing the sports film to a strange bizarro-world, then returning it, just recognizable.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Too many plot line makes a film without direction.
ktmphd10 August 2000
Warning: Spoilers
This film cannot make up its mind as to what it is. It asks am I a comedy? or a drama? or a sports film? or a film about revenge & retribution? or about David versus Goliath? or about seamy, no good people? or all of the above? Unfortunately Klein, the writer and director, chose "all of the above" and accomplished none of them.

Richard Lewis, a comedian, shows good flair for the dramatic & does a very good job at it. It is too bad that his character is such a low life that you cannot possibly care about him. In fact, the film has not one character whom one can root for or care about.

The basketball game sequence is a nail biter & grabs your attention until a murder occurs which the Lewis character turns into a piece of "good luck/miracle" for the team (but, certainly, not for the murder victim)?!? Go figure.
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed