American Psycho (2000) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
190 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Very Smooth but gory thriller
chain6722 April 2000
American Psycho is a classic in it's own mind. Yes some people like myself might enjoy it, some people will be disgusted by it and some people will hail it as a masterpiece, but overall this is just a very smooth, stylish and entertaining bloodbath.

But for a bloodbath with a lot of nudity American Psycho has a coherent story, excellent acting and a chilling if not satisfying conclusion. Give 90% of this movies credit to Christian Bale who is excellent as Patrick Bateman the very cool, handsome and smooth wallstreet trader who by night kills for fun.

The novel could of been translated better had Mary Harron not tried so hard to avoid an NC-17 and cut many scenes. Willem Dafoe gets quite annoying at times as the detective on Bateman's trail and Jared Leto is perfectly cast as smooth trader Paul Allen who has a nicer business card than Bateman. Witherspoon is average as Bateman's fiance Evelyn.

This movie won't please horror fans as much as it will please fans of smooth, entertaining thrillers. Overall 9 out of 10
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A darkly humorous and ambiguous satire
Afracious25 April 2000
Patrick Bateman is a twenty seven year old wealthy businessman, who resides in a modern chic apartment. He grooms himself with skin lotions, and likes to look his best. But he is not satisfied, because he likes to kill people. An old tramp, prostitutes, and a fellow worker(or does he?) The film is laden with little clues, and the ending makes you think. Bateman can't hide his guilt, but nobody seems interested that he kills people. It is a satire on the eighties, including some good music from that decade, Bateman giving us some info on his favorite artists of the time. There are not many graphic scenes, but one where Bateman is running after a hooker in his apartment with a chainsaw stands out. Christian Bale is perfect as Bateman, suave and softly spoken, and believable as the deranged killer. It's also darkly amusing. One to watch.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Heart-warming Family flick
bakedogg5924 April 2000
Okay, so maybe not. American Psycho was quite an interesting show with a subtle twist in the end that will probably leave most movie-goers with a "Huh?" look on their face.

Christian Bale played the part of Patrick Bateman perfectly. To think that Leonard Dicaprio was even considered for this role is, to me at least, unfathomable. He lacks the depth that Bale gives the part. Also, Reese Witherspoon plays Bale's girlfriend and really shines in the short time she is in the film. The story is well written and the casting is superb. This is a great period piece as well...You have got to love the Eighties and the materialistic consumerism that goes along with it. I would recommend this movie to cynics, (and do so with a clear conscience), and people who can enjoy a good film laced with extraordinary amounts of blood. I gave this film an "8" mostly for Bale's job. He made this movie.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent 80's...
Mr.Uxo10 May 2000
Christian Bale is excellent. The film is excellent providing hours of laughs and conversation even after the films end. A must see for any 80's movie buff. Watch for some very funny scenes including how the lead actor takes care of himself, business cards and one great sex scene.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A nice little adaptation...
bjpw ben22 October 2000
Taking into consideration the novel's high dependence on often shockingly violent content, the like doubtful to ever be repeated again, the director has no doubt pulled off a minor miracle in adapting AMERICAN PSYCHO onto the big screen. Aspects of the book's distinctive anti-corporal views and mind-blowing ultra-violence are pleasingly incorporated into this movie adaptation, although both are toned down several distinctive notches in certain instances. What we are left with is an intelligent, well scripted, overall enjoyable movie experience leaving more to the imagination than most movies would dare to. Great stuff.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I thought this movie was great
tuttle1831 November 2000
I was not expecting to become so fond of a psycho killer. But Bale was so charismatic and funny. His descriptions of the bands are great. When he runs through the hall with the chain saw I cracked up. Don't get me wrong, this movie isn't B movie funny It isn't even black comedy, but i don't really see this movie as a drama. Its more of a satire,but its a rather sloppy one if you look at it that. But I suggest you don't take this movie too seriously. I dont like to objectify killing but its the beat way to see this movie. I might be a sick guy but this movie is so damn funny
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Blackest Humour
glenn-826 November 2000
This film knocked me out. Forget the 1980s subtext - this film is raw and represents, at the heart, the perversion of a human mind and existence by the sheer boredom of having everything - money, success, jobs, women - EXCEPT - respect, and self-respect in particular. Patrick Bateman consumes himself with self loathing and, in the end, is ultimately revealed to be even more empty, vacuous and incapable when the denouement of the film reveals that he does not even have the substance to have done what he fantasises about.

You can speculate endlessly about the artistic, psychological, or otherwise angles - what counts is that THIS FILM HAS SUCH A HIGH IMPACT and pace about it, and such a strong central character that it draws you into fascination and captivation even though its fairly disgusting if you think about it whilst eating your lunch or something like that.

I'd recommend it if you like stuff like Cronenburg. Total quality.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Original and interesting movie
bobbyelliott10 November 2000
Bateman is a young urban professional (yuppie) who is full of contradictions. He simultaneously adores himself and hates himself. He is surrounded by "friends" but is utterly alone. He preaches about the poor but kicks a down-and-out to death. He complains about the objectification of women but watches pornography. He enjoys (and analyses the lyrics of) popular love songs while engaging in violent sex. The movie can be viewed at two levels - as a traditional (and often funny) slasher movie or an allegory of contemporary American society.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sick, but genuinely intriguing!
isnogud-der-grosswesir31 January 2001
The film is really sick but somehow you cannot take your eyes off the screen. The film keeps you riveted and especially Bale is BRILLIANT and genuinely scary as the lunatic, Bateman. Don't miss it but have someone you trust next to you..........
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What the hell was that?
billy_loomis128 March 2001
Well that supposed to be a masterpiece? i don't really know. Call me stupid but i do understand why it is made, to show us the life of the sick stock's men in wall-street, back in the 80's. O.K i agree that the were sick, i don't say i didn't enjoy the movie, but what did the director meant? I mean i gave this film 6, i will gave it 8 but i don't think it deserves that. I will see it again, maybe i will find out... Any one who has a clue mail-me!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Appropriately named
JesNollie25 June 2001
This may be the most appropriately named movie I've seen. The humor is so dark I wasn't sure at first if I should be laughing or cringing, so I did a bit of both ;) Christian Bale is mesmerizing and psychotically funny. I loved the business card scene. It may be too dark and violent for some, but if you're a fan of dark comedy you really should see this movie!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cartoonish Comedy
Otis Lou Bohr6 July 2001
This film is, rather surprisingly, nearly devoid of gore. It might offend the sort of person who disapproves of the violence in "Roadrunner" cartoons, but I mean really, you're renting a movie with the word "psycho" in the title.

"American Psycho" comes across as much more of a straight-out (and straight-faced) comedy than I had been led to expect. The idea of satirizing a subculture that's been dead for well over a decade is a bit perplexing, but perfectly in keeping with the film's surreal cartoonishness.

This cartoonishness perhaps does not serve the secondary characters (or the plot, assuming there's supposed to be one) well, but Christian Bale portrays his preposterous character brilliantly, and I was kept entertained throughout.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
perfect screen adaptation
quasimodo8527 October 2001
in my opinion , making a movie of the book A.P is an almost impossible task, since the violence in the book is so extreme, showing who bateman nail girls to the floor with a nailgun and more, should have been too much. but the movie succeeds to tell the story, without showing almost no violence at all. and still it is a very strong movie, Christian Bale takes on the role as Pat Bateman in an very impressive way. in short : one of the best adaptations of a book to the screen that i have seen.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not really a horror movie
ab-210 December 2001
American Psycho is really not a scary movie. I orignaly had a comment praising this film highly, well I change my mind. People, try to ignore that comment. I thought about this movie for a while and while the movie makes you wonder whether the people he kills are really murders or not, it doesn't scare the viewer. Yes the movie is at times thrilling, but not scary. Movies like The Evil Dead and Texas Chainsaw Massacre make you scream and hide in under your blanket. This movie didn't make me. I would personally not recommend this movie to horror fanatics because it is not horror really. If you want real horror, watch The Evil Dead and its sequels.

8/10
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Confusing
bsinc5 February 2002
This is a movie I would probably not bother seeing, had it not been for its trailer. I was on vacation in Las Vegas and saw the trailer which was really convincing, for some reason. I saw it so many times that I remembered all the lines everybody said. And the music, used in the background was great. After seeing this movie in the comfort of my home I can only say that it is a very confused movie. I didn't quite get it. The main reason why I liked it was Christian Bale, who could definitely pass for an American. With honors! But the ending of the movie is sort of disappointing and the movie altogether is short. But the way the movie is made really impressed me. It was like watching a big budget movie, but only the good parts, when in fact it was made for a much smaller amount of money.

But it's very confusing.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
HIghly original and darkly amusing.
sam6918 August 2002
This film was i feel highly underated, and deserved a lot more praise. Patrick Bateman is easily one of the best characters in cinema, his lack of remorse and emotion is funny and yet scary at the same time. Not as violent as the novel this film implies a lot of the gory goings on instead of showing them, which makes it more superior than the average horror by avoiding the buckets of blood. The script is provided with enough comical scenes to make this similar to Scream only darker and more intelligent. Also the encorperated soundtrack makes the movies main character even more amusing in certain scenes, watch the film and you will know what i mean.

A great movie that should be seen and watched very carefully to avoid missing anything.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A dark look at the subconscious mind of the typical American male.
Anonymous_Maxine10 September 2002
American Psycho seems to be concerned with what it is that Americans really think about, and puts forth a rather disturbing assertion. This movie reminds me of an old video I saw of Jim Carrey back when he was a stand-up comedian. I think this was even before his Saturday Night Live days. He was talking about how we all have these weird, violent urges many times a day, but luckily we all have that voice of reason in our heads that tells us not to act on these urges (`Ah-ah-ah, turning the car into oncoming traffic – is counterproductive!!'). Christian Bale's Patrick Bateman is a guy who has those normal urges, just like any normal American, but lacks the voice of reason. He acts on his urges, and basically becomes what any of us would become if we did the same thing.

Sure, I'm kind of going out on a limb to say that any normal American would turn into the murderous monster that Patrick Bateman is, but there is definitely an element of truth to that. If everyone acted on their urges, the world would be a nightmarish place.

The movie starts out by introducing Bateman as a typical young businessman in the tradition of the guys in Boiler Room. Completely obsessed with money, superficiality, a dizzying array of skin creams and ointments, reservations at the trendiest restaurants in town, the goofy names for the colors of his business cards, etc. You know, things that normal people don't care about. But of course, Patrick Bateman is not a normal guy. These are all things that reflect the heavy undercurrent of sexual symbolism. This film is packed with references to the insecurity of the typical male about his sexuality, and Bateman acts all of these things out in every way from the kind of business card that he has to the kinds of people that he kills and how he kills them. Not a pretty idea, but the film definitely has something to say. This is not just some frivolous exercise in sex and violence and murder and rape, the movie has a message to deliver and it knows how to get some attention.

American Beauty had a million things to say, not the least of which had to do with modern American society's obsession with superficiality and skin-deep beauty. American Psycho has some similar things to say, most of them much darker than anything in American Beauty (which had some pretty dark stuff in it!), but not delivered in quite the same stunningly skilled and complex package. American Psycho is a masculine film about American males and directed by a woman, which is just as well because a male director may have been a little insecure about portraying a deeper level of male consciousness in such a brutally accurate manner.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An extremely intelligent satirical examination of materialism *** (out of ****)
jaesboxer27 December 2002
In adapting Bret Easton Ellis' controversial though tedious novel, screenwriters Mary Harron and Guinevere Turner have taken the meat and essence of the source story and turned it into a fast paced, energetic, and scathing film. Christian Bale gives an outstanding performance as the avatar of '80's materialism, Patrick Bateman, a yuppie who is cold and completely indifferent to his environment, not to mention totally insane and homicidal. American Psycho takes the viewer on a daring journey into the darkest reaches of the human mind, and although noticeably flawed, it comes out as a thoroughly entertaining and thought-provoking study of man's dark desires.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Quite good satire about American life
Jatoy23 May 2003
Not scary at all (as could be thought before watching), quite disgusting, but actually quite funny satire about life and competition in America. The fact that it is a satire should be remembered when watching in order to understand the movie right. Characters are interesting and simply great, because of their superficial lifestyles and the way those have been represented. The way American psycho ends is good - everything is not as simple, well-structured!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Psychoticly hilarious!
aeriz3 June 2003
One of the best films I've seen over the last few years. Although it's a horror film about a serial killer, I found it more funny than scary. The one liners nobody seems to understand are so bizarre and out of the blue that you can't help but laugh. Bale just acts so... well, psychotic when he kills that he looks like a visual comedian. Full of multiple meanings and disturbing to some viewers, American Psycho is a must see film for whatever opinion you may form afterward toward it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
a misunderstood film, I think
80sgal16 June 2003
I think a lot of people took this movie as a straight-up psycho, hacking up women kind-of movie, and that's unfortunate. To me, this movie is a satire of corporate/upper middle class life, and actually gets to be pretty funny at times when you think about what's really going on (not to give away the end, which actually works for a change). Watching the main character struggle with trying to fit in, trying to be noticed, and trying to maintain an image of what he thinks his co-workers want him to be, and then having this glaringly contrasted with his inner rage at having to do all this and having it not work so well...there's a great scene when christian bale's character is just seething inside because someone upstaged his new business card...it's perfect. and so funny! unfortunately the satire and necessary humor are downplayed too much at times, and the movie loses its footing, getting a bit too serious and letting the satire (which is its main pull for me) slip away almost entirely at times - like the director couldn't decide what he wanted the film to convey. But overall, it's a pretty enjoyable film and should be given a chance.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
So good filmmaking..
ichabod8120 January 2004
Again not having read the book, I can't say how good of an adaptation this is, but as a film, it's exceptional. Add to that, this is the role Christian Bale was born to play. I just can't see anyone else doing it. A special thumbs-up must also go to Mary Harron for giving the whole thing a very enjoyable off-beat feel. The performances are overplayed, but on purpose and it works like a charm. It would be totally wrong to call American Psycho just a horror movie. The film is a delicious satire of yuppies and I can't remember laughing so hard recently. Loses touch a bit in the last reel, though, but not enough to make it standard fare. Simply brilliant! And by the way, that's **** for my Rules of Attraction comment. I urge you to give Patrick Bateman a chance.. or are you afraid you might like it? "Is that Ivana Trump?!"

**** / *****
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Patrick Bateman is truly psycho.... and funny!
SushiJin-224 February 2004
You have to have a slightly dark and twisted sense of humor to get Patrick Bateman. If you are squeamish or prefer feel good type movies, you're on the wrong page. The Patrick Bateman character is very interesting, as he is probably the most self absorbed main character in the history of film. He feels he's the most refined and among the greatest of all intellectuals. And perhaps he is 90% of the time. The other 10% he's cutting it up, so to speak. (In this case, literally) There's a lot of dark and subtle humor here that might not appeal to some, but I think it's a nice effort, and it's a part of my DVD library.

Rating: 8/10 great dark humor with some bloodshed. Let the meek beware
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the darkest, most cynical movies ever made - but maybe not for the reasons you think.
Ben_Cheshire19 April 2004
Warning: Spoilers
I think this movie deserves to be controversial, but not for the reasons it has. I don't believe it is in any way irresponsible filmmaking - never did i feel the filmmakers were endorsing the behaviour of Patrick Bateman and the society he was a part of (1987 New York Yuppie) - if anything, they too strongly hint to the audience that they are satirising this materialistic world through turning character into charicature. In fact, this movie gives new viciousness to the word "satire."

It is a fascinating movie - absolutely compelling, in fact. Its cartoon-like characters are marvellous to watch, and often it is very funny, though we are constantly reminded that the jokes are at the expense of these obnoxious characters, who in turn are sending up an entire way of life now referred to as "the excesses of the 80's." But through this very specific period-grounding of the film (1987, constantly reinforced through the soundtrack and the fashion victims...badum, ching!) the movie creates a very dark picture of human nature in general, and warns against letting society become like this again, where material worth and surface value are all that matter.

At one point Bateman's girlfriend says to him, "We have to talk." He replies: "You look gorgeous, there's nothing to talk about." This precice bit of dialogue encapsulates the lack of real human interaction in this society. No two characters properly have a conversation in this movie - everyone is constantly performing a monologue at someone else, to satisfy their own whims.

The director described the movie as having dual stories: Bateman's group of "friends" and business associates provide social satire of this vacuous society, and the other story follows the misadventures of Patrick Bateman, Serial Killer by Night. This part of the movie is really no different to any other crime movie, where we follow the criminal. Certainly not as controversial as i had heard, because the filmmakers are constantly trying to make a point.

(spoilers... what i think that point is...)

These two stories are not totally independent, they very much serve each other. The central point of Bateman's being a serial killer is a very dark demonstration of what one does if one loses all contact with other human beings. If you only care about surfaces, and not about anything deeper, then there's no reason not to go out and slaughter people, if this satisfies you. In this way, Bateman is enabled by the society around him (which encourages the worship of surfaces). This is perfectly presented in the final scene of the movie, which may seem not very climactic action-wise, because it is mainly a climax of the unification of these two story lines. No-one will listen to Bateman when he tries to confess his crimes. No-one will hear him, because everyone only cares about themselves and surfaces. The irony of Bateman's uncontrollably going out and killing people at whim is that this then becomes a secret for him, something deep and real, that, perhaps for the first time, he feels emotion over. It is something that goes beyond the usual "where should we make a reservation" or "check out my new business card" chit-chat that is the level this people live on. So when he tries to tell his lawyer this, the lawyer suddenly pretends not to know him.

(spoilers still!)

Identity is a big thing for Patrick Bateman, which explores the issue: if the physical/material is all that matters in this society, what is a human being? At the beginning Bateman tells us he has all the physical attributes of a human being, but on the inside, there's nothing, just an empty shell. This is why Bateman's mentioning "the inside" again in the final scene is significant. Ghostly visual references to Bateman only being an empty shell abound: Bateman's face is constantly shown hidden, distorted through translucent glass.

(end spoilers)

I think its a movie to see. I saw it again, and liked it a whole heap more the second time. The more you see it, the more of its satire you pick up (not that its subtle, but you laugh at it more).
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Darkly satirical social commentary
floatmyboat9 February 2007
American Psycho is a dark, blood-soaked chunk of satire about a hideous beast that isn't as uncommon as we think. As what we wear and where we eat start taking priority over what we do and how we do it, this monster could very well be any of us. Based on the 1991 novel by the same name, this is neither a horror nor a slasher film. The caricatures and allegories give an entirely other-worldly feel to what otherwise seems like regular, recognizable settings.

This is the story of Patrick Bateman (the buff and often butt-naked Christian Bale), who is the epitome of a yuppie. He knows which exfoliating creams his face needs and which water-proof bath gel works best for him. He does a thousand crunches a day and gets himself artificial tanning and regular manicures. With this level of self-love, comes an overpowering sense of narcissism and the insatiable desire to get attention. Obsessively name-dropping, sporting the most desirable brands, and being seen at some of the most exclusive places is most of what Bateman and his ilk do. As the life of conspicuous consumption carries on, we see his conversations becoming trite, relationships losing any meaning, and quick ways of getting high taking precedence. Most of Patrick Bateman's social interaction are shown as awkward and understandably so, as a person as self-involved as him will not be able to carry on a normal conversation with anyone.

Things slowly start getting out of hand as his craving for attention turns into uber-competitiveness that turns lethal for those involved. The hunger for highs, the callousness from having all luxuries one can ask for, and a lack of purpose push Bateman into a darker world where he prowls the night soliciting prostitutes and potential slashing victims. Things slowly take a turn for the fantastic as ATMs start demanding feline offerings and random people getting shot by the dozen. After a certain point, it doesn't even matter whether these things happened. And it is at this level where the film works its magic.

There is a distinct quality of surrealism throughout the film. In this topsy-turvy world, people talk in a strange tongue and give importance to the oddest things. The symbolic and satirical tone of the film works perfectly, and it seems like there wasn't another way that would have worked. The extremes shown in the film do efficiently what a more direct way couldn't have. This is certainly not one of the easiest films to watch or appreciate. But to say that it serves only to shock you would be doing disservice to it. It doesn't preach and instead shows us the despicable psychopath that lives in a small corner within all of us.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed