Resurrection (1999) Poster

(1999)

User Reviews

Review this title
122 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Russell Mulcahy, eh? He's a funny one.
Leigh L.28 June 1999
Given the opportunity of clambering to the top of the directorial heap on the back of the magnificent Highlander, Mr. Mulcahy instead managed to shoot down his own chances by unwisely having any association at all with the not-quite-so-well-received sequel. Nevertheless, Resurrection, while not exactly a triple-A title, shows that the old dog's still got a few tricks up his sleeve - even if they are being deployed on straight-to-TV efforts these days.

With old chum Chris Lambert (a man equally cursed in his career choices, and looking very old all of a sudden) on board, the scene is set for another shameless reworking of Seven - which might be an obvious comment to make, but that doesn't make it any less true. While the deadly sins are replaced with the names of apostles, the relentless rain, gloom and gritty gore are still there in force, and the plot's just as threadbare.

But! That still doesn't make it a bad film, as such. It's decently performed and nicely shot, with a few nifty camera tricks thrown in to break up the free-roaming NYPD Blue feel of the general proceedings, and there are one or two genuinely effective twists encountered along the way (with some glaringly obvious ones to balance them out, unfortunately).

So it's worth catching, as long as you're not expecting mould-breaking brilliance. One of Lambert's better films, certainly, and an example of the sort of high production values he should be aiming for. So sit back and enjoy... all in all, it's better than you might expect.
27 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
More than a rip-off of "Se7en"
Johnnee-227 November 1999
While I sat through the first half-hour of "Resurrection", all I could think about was how closely it resembled "Se7en". It had the same basic theme: two cops investigating a series of brutal (and unsettlingly gory) murders that follow a common theme. I couldn't help but dismiss it as a pointless, direct-to-video rip-off, but soon I found myself strangely immersed.

"Resurrection" is better than I thought it would be. Once the story started rolling along, I was surprised at how well the movie was made. The suspense scenes are first-rate, the screenplay is smart and intriguing, and the acting is well above average. Though it's not a great movie, it's definitely well worth a watch if you're into the serial-killer subgenre. 7/10
21 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of Lambert's best!
jbfichera20 August 2002
We all him as the original Highlander and as Rayden in the first Mortal Kombat film, but Christopher Lambert has been around for awhile and has made a pretty impressive number of films (however the quality of many of them is not that impressive). Though many of his films lack something to be desired he has made some classics and he always brings in a solid "Lambert" performance and every now and then he brings in a performance that even surpasses that. Resurrection happens to be one of those performances.

The film itself is actually quite good and it is a bit of a shame that it did not get a wide release in theaters, but unfortunately Lambert just can't bring 'em in anymore (however he is a staple in the straight to video market). The film is a gritty detective story (so NO SWORDS guys) in the style of SEVEN and re-teams Lambert with his Highlander director, Russell Mulcahy. What is interesting here is that the film is co-written and conceived by Lambert, which I think is a first for him (though I'm not sure). What makes this significant is that, Lambert gets to branch out a little and play a character with a little more depth. Which I'm sure is something he's been longing to do since GREYSTOKE. Another interesting thing about the film is that it has genius/director David Cronenberg acting in a small part as a priest(That's what I'm waiting for, the Crononberg/Lambert, Director/Actor team-up).

The film is well shot and acted. It is suspenseful and even a little more thought provoking than the average suspense/mystery. It has a twist that I believe works pretty well.

Well in other words, the film is good. See it if you can.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It has some flaws, but it's still pretty good
Wizard-81 June 2010
I put off watching this movie for a long time, seeing how director Russell Mulcahy has made a number of stinkers over the years, and that actor Christopher Lambert hasn't exactly impressed me with his acting over the same period of time. (The fact that he co-wrote the story of this movie didn't exactly give me much hope.) To be sure, this movie is not perfect. The visual look of the movie is too dark at times, and there is a mysterious fog in many scenes (even indoors) that looks out of place. Some of the clues that Lambert's character uncovers come out of nowhere, seemingly because the screenwriters couldn't figure out how the hero would uncover them at the same time as the audience. The subplot about the hero's loss of his son is eventually forgotten and never brought up again. And Lambert, except for one crying sequence, is pretty stiff and unemotional.

Despite those things, and a few other nitpicks, I still found enough to enjoy in this movie. The atmosphere of the movie is very good, bleak, dark, and horrifying. Murder is shown to be definitely not very pleasant. The progression of the investigation is very easy to follow, unlike some other murder investigation movies. The actor playing the killer is really creepy. And I can't say that at any point I was bored. So if you come across this on cable, give it a try.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Get past the similarities
refinedsugar9 September 2000
Resurrection is intended to be a dark and creepy ninety minutes of serial killer heaven so probably the first thing that will jump to mind is 'that other movie'. You know the one I'm talking about. As such, its bound to suffer the wraith of armchair critics everywhere, but if you can keep your expectations in check, you'll find a decent flick that stands on its own. Don't be too quick to judge this one.

The dark foreboding imagery, religious overtones and a crazed, mystery killer has been done. The constantly dreary atmosphere, dark locales, the detective with a broken past, the second string banana who's the direct opposite of his partner, the twist you're not supposed to see coming. These are the conventions, that is formula, but its unfair to label Resurrection a rip-off. It features some good production values and there's no denying this is one of Christopher Lambert's better efforts. He's one of those guys that has slipped into B-movie obscurity like some actors do. Appearing in the dredges of the direct-to-video market. In fact, this was such a pleasant experience than it almost made up for those poor Highlander sequels I sat through.

No one (me included) is going to come out and say Resurrection is the best thing ever, but all things considered, it's better than eighty-five percent of the dtv offerings I've picked off video store shelves. The acting and story might falter at times, but there are also moments that try to rise above. A must-watch for Lambert fans and a satisfying flick in its own right.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Parts of a Man
sol121822 November 2008
***SPOILERS*** What the movie "Resurrection" shows is that religious nuts, from all dominations and cultures, are about as dedicated to their religious beliefs as those who try to suppress and eradicate them.

This deranged psycho is out on the streets of Chicago trying to replicated Jesus' Easter suffering by using unsuspecting persons, whom he kidnaps and brutally murders, body parts in his recreating Jesus' ordeal on the Cross. This wacko goes so far as seeking out his victim in that they have the same biblical names that connects them, in the Bible, with Jesus' Apostles! He also makes sure that his victims are also the same age that Jesus was when he was crucified: 33 years old!

It's transplanted , from New Orleans, Cajun Chicago police detective John Prudhomme, Christopher Lambert, who gets the jump on the killer by deciphering his notes, that he carved into his victims bodies, he left at his crime scenes. Det. Prudhomme's attempt to catch the elusive killer leads to his partner Det. Hollinsworth, Leland Orsen, ending up not only getting shot by the police, in mistaking him for the killer, but having his left leg cut off, by the killer, when he's left alone and under intensive care in his hospital room!

As things turn out it takes FBI profiler Agent Wingate, Robert Joy, to get Det. Prudhomme as well as the Chicago PD to finally get it straight in not just why this psycho is committing these ghastly crimes but who he really is! This revelation, on Agent Wingate's part, is by far the most shocking and surprising sequence in the movie.

What really makes the movie "Ressurection" go completely downhill is that after the killer's identity is revealed he walks right into a trap, that with his great intelligence and intuition he should have seen coming, that Det. Prudhomme and the Chicago PD set for him. With the killer being so smart as well as omnipresent during the first 75 minutes of the movie he then, after he's discovered, does everything in not at all bothering to prove his innocence that he easily can, by his manipulating the law and the courts, but goes out of his way in his death wish-like effort to prove his guilt instead! This has him going on a mindless and murderous rampage knocking off some dozen people by the time the movies over! Most, if not all, of those that he murders have nothing at all to do with his sick scheme in replicating the Miracle of Easter!

You have to have a really strong stomach to be able to sit through this movie that tries to outdo the film "Se7en" which has an almost identical storyline. "Ressurection" goes to show how unchecked religion, or religious fanaticism, can effect a disturbed and unstable mind who uses it for his own sick and maniacal purpose's. In the case of the movie "Ressurection" the sick person who's mind is effected uses religion, like the psycho in Se7en, to mask his dark and deep psychotic and murderous fantasies by having it justify not, what in reality it would do, condemn them!
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
This scary and violent crime movie results to be an impressively nasty thriller
ma-cortes30 September 2020
Chicago homicide detectives Prudhome and Hollingsworth are assigned to investigate a murder . Both become entangled in the scheme of a mesianic serial killer whose goal is to recreate the body of Christ by dismembering members of murdered corpses , adding extreme bloodletting. This is a thrilling film about two homicide detectives (Christopher Lambert and Leland Orser) in desperate hunt for a serial killer who justifies his crimes as a holy sacrifice . There are various suspects but eventually seems the crimes were the work of the same man , a weird person murdering mercilessly a lot of people . Two stubborn detectives in an effort to understand the killer's modus operandi scoff at difficult efforts to get inside the mind of a killer...There is an evil which I have seen under the sun , and it is common among men . Ecclesiastes 6:1. Be afraid. For he is coming.

This is a nice thriller in which serial killers and mismatched cops overcoming antagonism , including thrills , chills , noisy action , violence and loads of blood and gore . The typical crime movie plot in ¨David Fincher's Seven¨ style blending genres to grim and gripping effect , dealing with two police inspectors tracking a serial murderer who is killing men , this time for a main purport , to use parts of his victims to reassemble the body of Christ in time for Easter Sunday Resurrection . Our protagonists slow voyage from claustrophobic murk into blinding light and rain making for a vivid dramatic metaphor . A sinister and eerie movie with dismal and gloomy environment , in which the murderer's terrible capacity is graphically demonstrated in the dark and subdued tones characteristic of film noir . It packs a great number of scenes with plenty of gory violence , these frames have been shortened for the US version where went straight to DVD . It is visually striking , in fact filmmaker Mulcahy gained fame directing films with stunning visuals.

It contains a moving and rousing musical score by James McGrath . As well as a somber and tenebrous cinematography by Jonathan Freeman . The motion picture was professionally directed by Russell Mulcahy who often cast Christopher Lambert , in fact this is 3rd film Lambert did with Russell Mulcahy after the first two Highlander I and II . The movie was theatrically exhibited in most of Europe , Asia , Africa and Australia in the United States was direct to video . Russell Mulcahy is a good filmmaker , a craftsman with a long career , he began shooting video clips for such famous artists as Elton John , Duran Duran, The Buggles , Culture Club , and Bonnie Tyler. He is also well known for feature films , starting off with the comedy Derek and Clive Get the Horn (1979) , the horror film Razorback (1984), the spectacular sword and sorcery of Highlanders (1986) , followed by the sequel Highlanders II (1991). He directed Denzel Washington and John Lithgow in the violent Ricochet (1991), Russell made a film version of the comic book : The shadow (1994) with Alec Baldwin and took the helm for Tale of the Mummy (1998) . In recent years Mulcahy has been involved in directing several telemovies , episodes of TV shows and other various films of all kinds of genres , including Queer as Folk (2000), 3: The Dale Earnhardt Story (2004), Teen wolf , The mysterious island (2005) , The curse of the tomb Tutankamon (2006) , Resident Evil: Extinction (2007) , Crash and Burn (2007) , King Scorpion 2 (2008) , Grimm (2010) , Adventures of Errol Flynn (2018) , among others . The picture will appeal to Christopher Lambert fans . Rating : 6.5/10 . Acceptable and decent sinister thriller .
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Too derivative.
gridoon22 July 2000
There is a strong sense of deja vu dominating "Resurrection", and I'm using the term "deja vu" literally: there are whole sequences and bits of dialogue that you can almost SWEAR you've seen and heard before in several other movies. Director Mulcahy tries to redeem the hopelessly derivative script, but he fails: his technical tricks and fast cuts are sometimes effective but more often pointless and annoying. Lambert gives the poorest performance in the film, though the supporting performers aren't particularly memorable either.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A cleverly written and stylish directed 'crime / thriller / mystery' film, which marked the reteaming of "Highlander"'s director, Mulcahy and his lead star, Lambert !!
DeuceWild_7731 July 2018
Coming from the videoclips' world to the unexpected success of "Highlander" ('86) made the Melbourne native, Russell Mulcahy, a promising director that earned his '15 minutes of fame' until "Highlander II - The Quickening" ('91) was released to theaters and was destroyed by both critics and audiences. It wasn't entirely Mulcahy's fault, but due to the troubled production in Argentina and the producers' ultimate cut which made the film halfway to the obnoxious' territory (thankfully that was corrected in the director's cut called "The Renegade Version").

That misstep did not affect the friendship between the director and his lead star, and a couple years later, both started the concept for a 'crime / thriller' film, written by Lambert himself with the collaboration of Brad Mirman, and the result was "Resurrection", a well-crafted addition to the 'serial-killer' sub-genre. The obviously comparisons to "Se7en" ('95) started to flow, even if the David Fincher's directed film was only made due to the resurgence of the genre with the 5 Academy Awards' winner, "The Silence of the Lambs" ('91) and even prior to "Se7en", Christopher Lambert was the lead star and producer of a largely underrated 'mystery / crime / thriller' film, set in the wicked world of a 'serial-killer' called "Knight Moves" ('92), also starred by his then wife, Diane Lane with Tom Skerritt, Daniel Baldwin & Ferdinand Mayne in supporting roles, which served as a forerunner to films like "Se7en"; "The Bone Collector" ('99); the french film, "The Crimson Rivers" ("Les rivières pourpres", '00) or "Taking Lives" ('04).

The only major difference between the two productions is that in "Knight Moves" did not star the ladies' boy toy from the early 90's, Brad Pitt, and Tom Skerritt never had the star power of Morgan Freeman, who only had his breakthrough in the industry when he was pushing 50 and the late director Carl Schenkel wasn't a MTV protégée like David Fincher, the guy responsible for ruining the "Alien" franchise, but curiously still have a legion of devoted internet fanboys.

Back to what really matters, "Resurrection" suffers from limitations within the budget ("Se7en" had much more money invested in it) and the team Lambert / Mirman, should had withdrawn some "Se7en"-ish elements from the screenplay, like the beginning of the film when Lambert is up to work or the constant raining or even the addition of Leland Orser as Lambert's partner (Orser was in "Se7en" playing one of the last victims, but he was also in "The Bone Collector", another similar film in its tone and screenplay, so...)

Aside from that, and some less appropriate camera work that resembles TV shows, "Resurrection" fully engages the viewer into the mistery due to a clever writing, featuring some great, creative & unexpected plot twists and a competent notion of characters' development / motivations and last but not the least, a great visual impact provided by the director Mulcahy who never lost his touch.

The movie makes use of far more interior shots (due to the budgetary reasons above mentioned), but the team behind the décors, props and make-up / special effects did a great job here (once again better than "Se7en"), except for the baby part which looked so fake that almost ruined the climax (they should have edited better that sequence or made the doll looking more realistic, but in that way it could have shocked the audience even more...)

The sense of grotesque and 'body horror' are well patent and ironically, the master of that sub-genre, the director David Cronenberg appears in a two scenes' extended cameo as the obviously 'red herring', playing an eerie looking catholic priest named Father Rousell.

In terms of performances, Christopher Lambert delivers a way better performance than Brad Pitt, who acted in "Se7en" like he was in a training mode for the cuckoo's nest in "12 Monkeys", filmed just after "Se7en" wrapped production. Unlike Brad's David Mills, Lambert's John Prudhomme does serious detective work here (more like Morgan Freeman) and he have far more relevant character's arc due to the writing than Mills, whose only purpose in that movie was living up to the climax.

In short, forget the "poor man's Se7en" comparisions written here by the other reviewers, "Resurrection" is far more interesting and works so much better as a 'detective thriller / mystery' with plot twists along the way that keeps the viewer envolved and not just building for the final reveal, acomplishing nothing more throughout the film than the "let's go from crime scene from another crime scene" like "Se7en" did.

As a final note, thank you Christopher Lambert (also for "Knight Moves" which i will review it here very soon), Brad Mirman & Russell Mulcahy for one of the best films ever produced in this genre.

Recommended !!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
far better than average
khouston8627 November 2002
Not a very well-known film, but far better than the average thriller/suspense/horror rental. Good story, good acting (except the out of place Rick Fox in a small role), very creepy killer. Don't worry about the "Seven" comparisons. It isn't all that similar, really, and I don't consider it a rip-off. Extremely gory in some scenes, but effectively so.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The year's best thriller!
tp32021 July 1999
Man, what a movie! I see well over a hundred films per year and although I enjoy many of them, there are only about four or five which really impress me and this one definitely did! Of course, one could say that this film is simply another rip-off of "Seven". And in fact, it is. But is that a bad thing? I liked "Seven" and want to see more films like that. And in my opinion, "Resurrection" has a better plot, better music and more atmosphere. It may borrow the elements (rain, darkness etc.) from David Fincher's thriller but it enhances them so well that if you watch "Resurrection" before "Seven", you might even be disappointed by the latter. I know I would.

I like Christopher Lambert. I think John Prudhomme could only have been played by him. He has the looks, the screen presence and the charisma. Some might say he's wooden but I think he's acting style really worked well with this film. Prudhomme has lost his only child a year ago and there is something in Lambert's performance which reflects that, something sad but hopeful, which really makes you care for his character. This is a man who's been through hell and now he's finding out that he's seen nothing yet. I also liked the performance of the actor who played his partner.

The script is clever. The dialogue works very well and everything moves at a perfect pace. But what really sets this film apart from it's competitors are the high production values. There are clearly very talented people behind the camera. The cinematography, the music, the lighting, everything works extremely well together. I would really have liked to see this film in a movie theater but unfortunately it came direct-to-video in Finland.

I'm sure some people will be complaining about the gore. This film is quite bloody but I believe a film like this must be. In here the gore really enhanced the mood and I think the film wouldn't have been as good if it had been less bloody. There are some films which work best when the details are left to the imagination but I'm glad the director knew that this wasn't one of them. If you don't have the stomach to see gory bodies, don't watch a film involving a serial killer.

Overall, "Resurrection" is a superb thriller which should appeal to anyone who wants to see more films like "Seven". I gave "Seven" an 8 but I'm giving this one a full 10.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Redefining the term 'devine retribution'.
Spike-6526 June 1999
Warning: Spoilers
Due to the inability of Mitsubishi to make a VCR that can last any reasonable length of time before it dies, I had to wait two days to see this film. The frustration was worth it. This film is quintessential Christophe Lambert and a must-see for any admirer, especially if you are also into gore of the 'n'th degree (hence the British R18 rating).

The plot centres around a cop (Christophe Lambert) and his partner (Leland Orser) and their attempt to track down a serial killer (Robert Joy) who is reconstructing the body of Christ in time for Easter and the Resurrection. It is not for the faint-hearted and should be viewed during the daylight hours, as there are segments of it that will have you alternately on the edge of your seat and then running for the bathroom. Some may compare it to Seven, but the storyline is richer and more varied.

Jonathan Freeman's cinematography is ethereal, but intense, like a rollercoaster at an amusement park, with colour so subtle, it makes some scenes seem almost daguerreotypical. Just when your eyes have adjusted to the pitch of the camera..it changes. There are scenes reminiscent of many of Christophe's previous films, among them are Subway, Knight Moves, Mean Guns, Highlander, Why Me and Adrenaline. Watching it on a big screen helped, as the mood was dark, enhancing the effect rather than detracting from it.

The plot is sound and the (often unknown) collection of actors is acceptable. The only fly in the ointment was the surreptitious use of 'the laugh' at one point; one would hope this was put in to please Christophe's admirers. But once again we see the passion and the sheer volume of commitment that Christophe has given us all before. The score is understated, not at all overdone like the dozens of thrillers thrown at us lately.

If you want to sample a thick slice of what this guy is all about, it would be opportune to catch this one, especially since Christophe and Brad Mirman wrote it, while Russell Mulcahy directed. One would suspect this was a partnership made in heaven...so when do we sinners get the next taste?
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Gruesome story.
Jonathan Horner14 July 2000
Resurrection sees Christopher Lambert play in one of his more serious roles. Instead of the usual Sci-Fi, fantasy gun tooting, sword slashing role he normally plays (the Highlander movies, Fortress, Mean Guns)

Lambert plays a hard hitting cop who is trying to track down a serial killer, once the killer has killed his victim, he takes one part of their body and uses it to reconstruct the body of Jesus Christ, which you see near the end of the movie and it's not pretty.

The story line may freak a lot of people out but if you have a taste for crime thrillers and you have a strong stomach, then this movie is the one for you. But be warned there are a lot of gruesome scenes in this movie which I won't go into detail about. You may want to look away from some scenes.

Overall, a good but gruesome thriller. One of Lambert's better roles.

7/10.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A very interesting movie
mrolivegarden21012 February 2000
This is the type that is made for people who love to see blood and gore.

Similar to "Seven", this film takes place in Chicago as John Prudhomme is on the trail of a serial killer along with his partner, Andy Hollingsworth, who is killing men for their body parts.

I enjoyed the way that the story was told. For example, the killer is killing to resurrect the body of Christ, which I found very interesting because I have not seen it done in film before.

I am not a huge fan of Christopher Lambert; however, this film has proven that I should take a look at more of his movies because he can be a dramatic actor as well as an action star.

I'm glad I saw this movie
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What, that wasn't a joke?
TBJCSKCNRRQTreviews5 October 2012
A precinct already working hard fitting every cliché of these genres(psychological thriller, cop crime investigative flick) into just one 100-ish minute picture is hit by several brutal murders where limbs are missing, and Lambert(who lost his daughter... son, I'm sorry, she... he... looks... uhm, great... anyway, he died in one of those ridiculously contrived sequences that only happen in this type of movie, and that could, by the way, easily have been avoided by the introduction of common sense... oh, and if you think that will pay off, don't hold your breath, it's a cheap setup with minimal payoff) is brought in for his experience with decapitations and paint-by-numbers plots. You can figure out the basics of where this goes, everyone talks in Hollywood Dialog(and immediately after, dramatically turn to walk away, signifying how deeply they feel about how lazily this is supposed to conjure up emotion(with that said, this does make you care about some of what we see... though at least once it utterly betrays whatever confidence they might have earned for that)... did I mention that the villain has impeccable luck in where he hides is a regular occurrence(planning...does...not...cover... it)?), for every good performance there is at least two that are over the top, but still, this is a cool enough concept(I will not reveal what the endgame is... though I will say that I don't know where the bad guy got it from, nor what his motive was, and there wouldn't have been a film if it had been slightly different, and less random...), it keeps to a fast pace(you're not bored...it does help to MST3K it), there are chilling bits(helped by the impeccably done practical FX) and, directed by the usually dependably visually interesting Russell Mulcahy, it's nicely filmed and edited, except for when the cameraman gets zoom-happy in a desperate attempt to increase the tension(which is successfully built here and there), the tracking shots(typically doing a semicircle on a character, so they can remain in place and still do a powerful change of position) that are so fast and start and end so suddenly, I've nicknamed them Whiplash-pans, and it, gradually, using the "nausea-vision" filter excessively. The DVD comes with trailers for Elizabeth and Rounders. There is a lot of strong language, a moderate amount of bloody, gory, disturbing violence and a little full frontal nudity of both genders in this. I recommend this to big fans of this kind of thing, as it gets the job done and has solid production values. 6/10
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Seven rip-off it might be, but it's a good one
Leofwine_draca30 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Here's yet another serial killer thriller, adding itself to the genre which has been all the rage in a post-SEVEN world. RESURRECTION has an interesting religious killer to recommend it, as well as lots of grisly gratuitous carnage and an above-average performance from Christopher Lambert, but is let down by a perfunctory script and a story which has too few surprises. Director Russell Mulcahy - teaming with Lambert again after HIGHLANDER - seems too engrossed in creating a slick "stylish" film instead of telling a proper story which is where the film falls down.

The roving camera-work quickly becomes tiring, giving the appearance that the cameraman was drunk rather than making the film disturbing and disorientating as I believe was the intention. Now I know I do moan about static cameras in earlier films but this just takes the biscuit and is far more headache-inducing than THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT was, at least in the latter it had a reason and fit the context. On the plus side, RESURRECTION has an excellent pacing which makes the near-two hour running time fly by, and a surprisingly subtle score which adds to the film's atmosphere. Once again the colour palette primarily used is a dark grey one (a must after SEVEN) but this has the added bonus of making the film very easy on the eye - even during the gory murder scenes.

Speaking of gore, this is a surprisingly unpleasant and gruesome little picture. The grue comes from the scenes in which the bodies of the murder victims are discovered missing various limbs (arms, legs, heads, etc) with blood usually splattered all around the vicinity. Shots of the naked headless corpse of an old overweight man are designed to shock and are creepily effective. Similarly, a scene where Lambert discovers a body still barely alive and is splashed with crimson gore is something you're not prepared for, so only strong stomachs need apply.

I've always been a fan of Lambert (despite the fact most of his films are pretty bad) and his performance here is a strong one. His character is a dark and moody one with an inner torment (he failed to save his son from being run over, as per usual for these kind of flicks) and Lambert manages to create a strong screen presence out of him. Leland Orser is also good as the twitchy partner while the familiar Robert Joy makes for a very creepy killer. The supporting cast of unknowns also do their jobs well. While RESURRECTION offers no new twists to the serial killer genre, it remains a highly watchable dark thriller with some very disturbing bits (the image of the resurrected body is unforgettable) for those who like that sort of thing.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Refreshing, low-budget thriller in the vein of "Se7en".
hu67517 October 2007
An seasoned police detective John Prudhomme (Christopher Lambert) is having a tough time communicating with his wife Sarah (Barbara Tyson) after the loss of their son (Michael Olah). John lost his faith in God and He's been assign to a murder case, along with his partner (Leland Orser). Which they examined the body, which the body has an arm missing and the man bled to death. Two detectives find more dead bodies in the city with missing parts of the body. On the first victim, a message was found in blood saying "He Is Coming". There's marking on the dead bodies, they found and John founds out that the marking are messages from the bible. Which the killer is taking different body parts for the "Resurrection" of Christ. Which John and his partner have to stop this murderer before Easter Sunday comes.

Directed by Russell Mulcahy (Highlander 1 & 2, Resident Evil:Extinction, Razorback) made an clever, entertaining thriller that the filmmakers were certainly inspired of the excellent cinematic instant classic "Se7en". Lambert is good as the dedicated detective, who tries to capture this crazed psychopath. This movie is set in Chicago but it's obvious it was filmed in Toronto. Which there's a few continuity errors in the locations in the film. Only a few scenes were filmed in Chicago.

DVD has an good anamorphic Widescreen (1.78:1) transfer and an strong Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound. DVD has an commentary track by the director, which he's informative at times but there's plenty moments of dead air. DVD also includes trailer, TV spot and cast & information. This underrated thriller is actually much better than you might think. This film was release in Cable TV before hitting to video. Which it was only shown in theaters in Overseas. This picture has plenty of familiar Canadian actors in supporting roles and bit parts as well. Orser was also in "Se7en", who had a memorable bit part. Filmmaker:David Cronenberg appears in a amusing cameo as a Priest. The film also has a good supporting performance by Robert Joy as a mysterious FBI Agent. Which Character-Actor Joy is no stranger to Fantasy/Horror films like "Amityville 3-D", "The Dark Half", "Fallen", "Land of the Dead" and the recent remake of "The Hills Have Eyes". If you enjoy "Se7en" or other smart suspense-thriller with elements of horror, don't miss it. Screenplay by Brad Mirman (Highlander 3:The Sorcerer, Body of Evidence, Knight Moves). From a story by Mirman and actor:Lambert. (****/*****).
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Easter is drawing near! he's coming!
ulicknormanowen1 May 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Christopher Lambert (Christophe Lambert when he works in France where he has made many films too) was certainly impressed by "seven " ,for his screenplay bears more than a distant resemblance to Fincher's work : the seven deadly sins , it spawned one of the greatest thrillers of the nineties ; so what about the passion of Christ ,why not? So the cast and credits read "screenplay by Christopher Lambert( and a collaborator whose name escapes my mind)".

This muddled screenplay includes the gospels ,the apostles ,numerology (we see the detective doing knowing arithmetic ) ,Easter (which ,unlike Xmas ,is rarely exploited) ; Lambert has plenty of go , and the supporting cast is up to scratch ,particularly Leland Orsen and Robert Joy ; the role of the profiler ,who had become hackneyed in the late nineties,is renewed ,but it spoils the ending.

The main problem is that Lambert wanted to surpass "seven " in horror for lack of a strong screenplay : it's more a horror film than it is a thriller ; enough is enough and the viewer often feels sick.

"Seven " is a peak of the serial killer thriller ,"resurrection " is just OK.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Interesting
akhilles8431 October 2001
I had no big expectations for this.I discovered it accidentally.But i was intrigued by it almost from the start.

What gives this film its dimension is the incredible acting of mr.Lambert.This is one of his strongest performances and it should have been awarded.The plot is already familiar from films like "Se7en",but it still makes you follow the film with anticipation,because the character of John Prudhomme is different than the other hero characters in similar films.He is a man torn apart;by loss of his only child,by his shaken faith in god and also bad communication with his wife.All he has now is his job and the murderer thats waiting for him.

I recommend this film to anyone who wants an interesting story on a rainy evening or who likes Christopher Lambert. 7 out 0f 10
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
'Resurrection' in Need of Resuscitation
jtx24 January 2000
This film truly was poor. I went to the theatre expecting something exciting, and instead was afforded the opportunity to hone my "guess the next plot twist before it happens" skills. Seriously, the plot was written with an extra thick crayon so everyone could see. Nothing was truly shocking. In fact, even the gore was met with such complete suspension of belief that it really didn't add up to much.

The excessive wise cracking and cops talking shop at the crime scenes made it seem all the more phony. And the scene where Lambert's character is struggling with the clues and reaches his "investigative epiphany" goes to great lengths to indicate the level of intellect expected from the audience - little.

Probably the most annoying aspect of the cinematography was the "X-Files" treatment: Every building in the film, whether it's the precinct building, or a house at noon, or a hospital, was suffering from a lack of any discernible lighting (not to mention a lack of 'patients' in the case of the hospital). I don't recall a single scene when someone flipped on a light switch. It sure would have been nice.

Mr. Lambert really isn't an Oscar-grade actor, so I suppose you have to take this film for what it's worth. In the end, I've reached the conclusion that the only thing that would make this film seem more entertaining is to watch it after watching "The Warriors". Otherwise, you're left with an effort that is dull and unoriginal, and nowhere near the equal of films of the genre such as "Silence of the Lambs".
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Religion with a twist
dragster-27 November 2006
I saw this movie on TV for the first time. Right from the beginning, I had a strange feeling of sickness and disgust and the top scenes were not even on yet. It is compared to Se7en, but I feel it has more action in it while the gore is the same in both movies. The serial killer is very disturbing and has no pity towards his victims like most "respected" SKs. I don't remember the soundtrack to the movie, but I think it does give that eerie touch to a movie that is in itself disturbing all along. The killer doesn't give himself away that easily and he is seriously involved in what he's doing. The final scene is one of the best in horror movies, but can be quite sickening for many light-hearted viewers.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A GREAT SERIAL KILLER MOVIE!!
psycho_15320 January 2000
Many people say it's too much like Se7en and yes it is very similar in alot of ways. Some of the puzzles were solved too easily but still I enjoyed this film. There isn't much gore but there are after shots of the death scene like in Se7en so we don't actually see the killing. I enjoyed se7en so something similar wasn't bad it was much better than other serial killer movies like The Bone Collector give this one a go.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Nothing special
shinsrevenge7 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Resurrection is your average thriller movie about a killer, who wants to build his own Jesus corpse by collecting body parts from his victims. Christopher Lambert plays the main role as the cop who tries to catch the killer. Be it on purpose or accidentally, his performance is rather bad.

It's the supporting actors that safe the movie. Leland Orser plays his part very good. Better than his jokes ^^. And then we have Gerald Demus. The villain and evil mastermind. He is such a genius that he can even pretend to be an FBI Agent and talk to them about the case. The "Agent" helps Lambert with advice and is quite likable. His superior intellect helps him keep his calm even when he gets arrested, because he knows that they don't have any evidence. So I really liked that part.

But then you have detectives throwing up all the time, victims peeing at themselves because of electro shocks and newborn babies hanging around. Not necessary! And what about Lambert? Apparently no one likes him in the office. Except Orser. Yet after they take away from him the case everyone is nice and friendly and takes him along to the investigations and before you know it he is the one in charge again.

His character is also somewhat shallow. They show a scene where he lost his child and some of the problems he has with his wife, but you can't bring yourself to really care about it. It's merely filler and doesn't help to carry the story.

To sum it up, the movie is about average. Nothing you will regret watching once. But you will forget about it the moment it's over.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Much like Se7en
Naughtia_Nah2 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
In many ways 'Resurrection' reminds me of the movie 'Se7en', the plot seems quite similar.

Christopher Lambert stars as a homicide detective who is assigned to investigate a mystical and cruel murder. When he digs deeper into the case he and his family find themselves in great danger. The killer takes different parts of each murder victim and it becomes obvious that the killer has a biblical argument for these killings.

I sat down to watch this movie one night and I got stuck to my television, I just had to see the end of it because it was really catchy and exciting. I like Christopher Lambert and haven't seen him in many movies lately, I want to watch more of his movies.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not that Bad
raegan_butcher22 July 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This wasn't bad at all. It does bear a strong resemblance to SEVEN but its interesting enough in its own right to warrant at least one viewing. The film looks great, all washed-out greens and blues and grays--and it benefits from the restless, edgy camera-work by Jonathan Freeman. There is a surprisingly good performance from Christopher Lambert. Leland Orser also provides strong support as Lambert's partner. The film breaks down and becomes somewhat predictable by the 3rd act; there are a few too many car chases and shoot-outs,and the rooftop showdown with the villain dangling a rubber-looking baby over the rainy precipice is actually rather laughable, but for the first two-thirds, RESURRECTION is pretty gripping. It's nice to see the director Russell Mulcahy teaming up with Christopher Lambert again. Perhaps its their long association that has enabled Lambert to give one of his best performances; when actors form working partnerships with specific directors, the results usually get better and better as their collaborations progress. I enjoyed this film more than ALONG CAME A SPIDER.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed