The Beast Within: A Gabriel Knight Mystery (Video Game 1996) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Find this game. Play it.
dr_foreman7 September 2005
"Gabriel Knight: The Beast Within" is not only the best computer game ever made, it's also one of my favorite horror movies. I guess you could say it's half-game, half-movie...although, in truth, it's so well-researched and cleverly written that it reminds me more of a novel. Who cares what it is? It's just awesome.

Like other games of its type, "The Beast Within" is very linear. If you're looking to wander freely through a huge 3D environment, wasting polygon creatures with a shotgun, you'll be disappointed. Your job in this game is basically to solve brain teasers and push the plot ahead to the next mini-movie segment. I suppose there is a passive aspect to the gameplay, and I do get frustrated when I can't solve a particularly obscure puzzle and my progress grinds to a halt. But the rich storyline and sharp dialogue - courtesy of Jane Jensen, clearly a talented writer - more than compensate for any shortcomings with the game's format.

The movie segments feature several strong actors, particularly Peter Lucas, who makes for a very suave villain indeed. The underrated Dean Erickson is extremely likable as Gabriel Knight; in fact, I prefer his interpretation of the character to the oily purrings of Tim Curry in the series' first and third games. Too bad he seems to be doing real estate deals these days! Oh, and come on, hands up - who else recognizes Clabe "Preiss" Hartley as the evil Caliban from Trancers 4 and 5? Oh...nobody? I guess it's just me, then.

I won't summarize the plot much; suffice to say, it involves German history, werewolves, and homo-erotic tendencies. When I played the game as a teenager, I was a little impatient with all the background information on Ludwig II, but when I replayed the game recently I found it all pretty fascinating.

It's a shame that this type of game - that is, the cerebral type - has all but died out over the years. Hopefully, at some point, the computer game industry will climb out of its rut and start taking an interest in good storytelling again.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
More like a book...
melankolia22 November 2000
I cannot say anything else of this FMV-IF-game that it is magnificient. Great cast, great plot, great music, amazing atmosphere. After the stiffness of the early game Dean fits in the role of Gabe like a fist in the crack. The feelings when played through were more like having read through a magnificient book series than having played through a game.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Magnificent: Gets better as the story progresses
DerBarenJude6 February 2004
I'll admit...when I first saw the opening movie with Dean Erickson behind the typewriter, I chuckled to myself and thought "who the hell is this joker?" Indeed, as the game began, Erickson did little to change this sentiment. But then something happened: he got better and better as the game went on. Don't get me wrong, he's not exactly the same Gabe that was written for Tim Curry, but Erickson has a personality all his own. In the hunting lodge, Erickson reaches the apex of his character. He just seemed so cool and natural, a regular guy (albeit a schattenjager) caught up in an extremely horrendous situation.

But the rest of the acting is also superb. I've played a few FMV games and they were TERRIBLE. God, even the one with Christopher Walken was a disaster. But this game, filled with unknowns, delivers the best acting that I have ever seen in a video game. Kudos to all involved.

The oscar goes to: Peter Lucas. A 200 year old werewolf with homo-erotic tendencies. This guy was great. Funny, charming, likeable, and very cool. You never know exactly what he's thinking.

Also, the girl that played Grace was excellent, which is good because you control her for half the game. In fact, nobody really stunk. Wait a minute, this is a game we're talking about right?

Oh yeah. Great story, great puzzles, great sound/music/video/everything. Jane Jensen is GOD.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wonderful story! Excellent acting!
Kinmui13 November 1999
Even if you are not into computer adventure games, I assure you it's worth it to play this one so you could watch all those great FMV! Especially Peter Lucas as Von Glower! Trust me, it's you loss if you miss his performance as the charismatic baron. And the story itself is first class!
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Ah, Gabriel, so good to see you.
the_oak25 May 2000
Ah, my friend Gabriel, come in, its so good to see you.

These are the words politely uttered by Gabriels lawyer in Munich. German politness, but the local police chief sneers at him like a rabid schaefer. The mysterious Baron von Glover is the coolest caracter in the game. He hangs around in an expensive hunting club, and he is just beyond coolness. All in all a great game. Forget that is is a few years old, its still good fun.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
very nice.
MT-99 August 1999
"Gabriel Night : The beast within" was "only" a videogame.....but I think it would be a wonderful movie.....I hope someone else will think about it. (Using the same cast,of course!)
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just Amazing!!!
Vel23 March 1999
I loved playing this game... It was really great... And thanx Peter for the best Von Glower we could have... You are the best character of the game!!!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best FMV of all!
JoeNo30 January 1999
Not many Full Motion Video games being put out now, but The

Beast Within is the best of them all, hands down. The second in

the Gabriel Knight series, Gabe is now in Germany trying to

solve murders involving a werewolf. But what does a lost opera

by Wagner have to do with it? Incredible storylines, fine acting

by all involved, and wonderfully rendered backgrounds.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
More Gabriel Knight CD-ROM Games Please!
MLisaLov22 January 1999
Warning: Spoilers
Words cannot describe how much I really love this game. I love how they make it into a movie. It is hard to find good and entertaining games like "Gabriel Knight: Beast Within." I truly love the characters especially Baron Friedrich von Glower - he was the BEST. I love just about everything about this game. I give this game a 10.0 out of 10.0. However, I thought the ending was pretty strange how Mr. von Glower died. I hope he'll be resurrected in a future Gabriel Knight game. I don't think that is how a werewolf dies. Hopefully, the producers will fix that, and hopefully, we'll see more of Peter Lucas's character. :-) Other than that, this game was AWESOME!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprisingly good
TheLittleSongbird16 February 2011
I do not think A Gabriel Knight Mystery is as good as Sins of the Fathers and Blood of the Sacred, but as a game it is a lot of fun. The story is great, quite complicated but it is a lot of fun to see unfolded and resolved, with a number of interesting sequences. The look of the game impresses too, it looks colourful and sophisticated and all the characters are impressively rendered. The score is very good, with plenty of energy.

The dialogue is witty and smart, and I liked the characters. For the first time, I thought Gabriel was overshadowed by the villain of the piece a suave, mysterious and charismatic one by the name of Baron Frederich Von Glower, brilliantly voiced by Peter Lucas. Dean Erickson does do an above average job as Gabriel, he is funny and clever not to mention both likable and oily, but there are one or two times when his line delivery falls a little flat. Although I much prefer Tim Curry, who actually IS Gabriel, Erickson does do a good enough job to not make me feel I missed him too much.

All in all, a surprisingly good game and definitely worth playing. 9/10 Bethany Cox
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best adventure game I have ever played
casper_andrea19 April 2001
What gameplay, what actors, what scenery... It's all perfect. It took about 3 months to complete this game, and I loved every second of it. It really caught me. I actually went to see the sites from the game, and I read a lot of the history behind it... See "Gabriel Knight: Blood of the Sacred, Blood of the Damned" as well, it is also great. I cant wait until GK4 is released...
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must for PC Gamers
Sliverbane10 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
When I bought my first computer while in college (1995) I instantly became interested in the games I could play on my, then, state of the art computer. I found point and click games fascinating! I played Gabriel Knight 2 before playing GK1 and I was smitten with the cast and storytelling. Since then I have played the game dozens of times - and I still introduce new people to it till this day. Many of my friends never heard of this game. I tell them they have to play this game and they are often surprised how much they like it. Spoiler: One of my favorite parts is Grace's dream sequence close to the end of the game when Gab and Grace share a kiss. Niiice. If you can get your hands on this game - please do. If you're not familiar with point and click adventures this is a great way to start.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome game
madiha-muzaffar29 November 2014
I just played Gabriel Knight 2 for the first time, and I am astounded that it is actually quite a few years old but still hardly feels dated! I had heard such good things about it, and it lives up every bit to it's reputation. GK2 isn't just a game - it's an experience. Like another reviewer mentioned, you'll come away from it feeling like you've read an amazing novel or watched a stunning movie. The story line is complex and engrossing, and the acting for the most part is above-average. But what elevates the game from excellent to out-of-this-world is Peter Lucas' performance as the enigmatic and sexy baron von Glower. It's such a shame FMV has a bad reputation, because I feel live actors breathe life into their characters in a way that 3D never can. I would love love GK4 or a Gabriel Knight movie, featuring the same cast of course, even if they've aged!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not as good as the original
DWaterson3 April 1999
Though sequels are always a problem, this one tries very hard, but just doesn't quite make it. Dean Erikson is the disaster; in the original, Tim Curry made Gabriel a funny, smart, likeable character, but here Erikson's voice is just too flat and acting too wooden to raise a giggle. The film quality is remarkably good for FMV and a wonderful libretto was written specially for an opera section, but Erikson does drag the whole thing down. Otherwise, the acting is usually quite (surprisingly) decent, and the sound quality is variable, but generally acceptable. The puzzles, however, are ridiculously easy; I completed it in 3 days. Let's just hope the return to the GK1 style for GK3 will help was some of this one's aberrations under the carpet. Overall, it's all just rather too serious and sombre to be great fun.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amaizing game!
Adaam2 January 2002
A great combenation betwen a tragic sory, great actors, amaizing soundtrack, beautiful characters and some real facts. This game is another masterpiece made by Jane Jensen. A "dont miss" game (Just like the others in the series). This game is highly recomended! Oh and do not mind that it's titled "Horor", the game is not that scary, It's more A mystery game(again, like the others). So, you'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll be afraid... Everything!!! A great game indeed!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great story, acceptable acting
bond007-127 June 2001
This game has a great storyline that really draws you in. The historical background (the mysteries surrounding the German king Ludwig) and the location (Munich, Germany) add to the atmosphere and credibility of the story. The horror elements create a good tension. The actors are not always believable, but not bad enough to become really irritating.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the greatest game ever!
niggen10 January 2001
Hi.

Gabriel Knight is one of the best game ever. The actors plays fantastic, and the plot is surprising. The game is based on a book by Jane Jensen; "The beast within". Jane Jensen is a very famous author, who has written many great books. If you buy this game, you will be surprised about the quality of it. It makes you sleepless, and a Walkthrough is recommended.

BY THE GAME TODAY!!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The best adventure game ever.
Catherine Hodgson3 June 2000
The Beast Within is one of the few adventure games that you can play over and over again, and still enjoy it just as much as the first time. The whole cast were fantastic, Dean Erickson was the perfect choice for Gabriel Knight (he beats Tim Curry hands down).
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Awesome game!
loevborg21 August 2005
Albeit not as good as the first part, Gabriel Knight II is still a very entertaining interactive movie. Even (especially?) for Germans - it's intriguing to see how Americans imagine Europe to be like! Sometimes they're not that far off, but it's mostly hilarious. Jane Jensen made up a whole new history of Baveria - occasionally you need to look up in your history book if it's real or fiction. The acting isn't as bad as you might expect from a video game. If you don't like the movie sequences, you can always skip them. The same goes for the somewhat lengthy dialogs which can get tedious after some time. Anyway it's refreshing to watch the actors' gestures throughout the conversation scenes. Also the puzzles tend to be weird (use the walk-through!). But if you appreciate a good story, lean back and enjoy the ride through Baverian mythology.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not as good as the first, but still a fine game
DeKlerk16 March 2000
Gabriel Knight returns in the most visually-impressive game of the trilogy. One of the best things about this game is the excellent use of Full-Motion-Video (FMV), a much-abused game element at that time in the industry. Unfortunately, being all FMV made the game seem more like a series of awesome screenshots with sound than a real "game". The feeling of actually being Gabriel Knight is much rarer in this installment when compared to the first one. More interactivity would have lent itself so well to character and plot development. However, this is still a great game with an excellent story, and I would recommend it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed