Can't Hardly Wait (1998) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
291 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Much much better than Never Been Kissed
baumer28 June 1999
I am a product of the 80's slasher film and the teenage film generation. Films in the 80's like Fast Times, Wild Life, Revenge of the Nerds and Ferris Bueller's Day Off and such, were films that may not have been classics to the critics, but to a fifteen year old boy, they were our Citizen Kane. They taught us how to pick up women, how to attempt to have sex, how to skip school and why to skip school. They taught us that parents and adults really don't understand us and that kids really aren't that bad, we just want to have a bit of fun before life gets too serious. We have all been through emotions and experiences like the ones that those movies preach about, so it is easy for us to relate to what those films are trying to say. And it makes it that much more fun to relive those experiences ten years later. Can't Hardly Wait is the closest to an 80's teen film that I have seen in quite some time. Compared to films like the aforementioned Never Been Kissed and even She's All That, this movie is a classic.

The film was written and directed by Harry Elfont and Debra Kaplan, and if they are not about my age ( late 20's ) they certainly are lovers of 80's teen films, because it shows here that they did their homework. Some of the scenes in this film are complete homages to great 80's films like Sixteen Candles ( the two geeks on the roof ) Wild Life ( a huge party where some of the characters grow up and learn a bit about themselves and each other) and even Say Anything ( a not so popular guy in love with the school hotty.) It seems to me that Harry and Debra are lovers of the films that made growing up in the eighties so much fun.

The story is about a party on the day of the completion of exams. Here we meet all the major players in the film. And yes, they are all contrived, but that is what a film like this is about. They were not trying to re-invent the wheel here, they were trying to stick to a formula that made so many movies work. You have Amanda Beckett ( Hewitt ), the prom queen that just got broken up with by the star jock named Mike Dexter ( played with so much zeal by Peter Facinelli, look for him to have a future in Hollywood ). Then you have Preston ( Ethan Embry ) who is not necessarily a geek but he is far from a popular jock, think of Dawson. Anyway, he has loved Amanda for all of highschool and now he is finally getting the guts to tell her of his undying passion for her. You also have William Lichter, who is the school geek that comes of age in the party. He does all the things that you would expect a typically written geek in a film to do--- get drunk, have a public display of wildness that gets people to see him in a new light, and of course, in here it is his karaoking to Paradise City ( which is one of the film's funnier scenes ) and of course get laid. As I said, this movie sticks to a very popular formula. Don't look for a film like this to say new and something profound about today's youth. This movie is here to entertain and that is it. And it does that well.

Also you have Kenny Fischer ( Seth Green ) as a very white guy who thinks he is black to cover up his insecurities, and his friend from public school named Denise. Needless to say many issues are going to be raised at the party and some of them are hilarious.

A great cameo is turned in by Jerry O'Connell who plays Trip McNeely ( the ultimate jock name ). He was idolized by all the cool kids when he went to their high school. Now he is in university and according to him , in a converstion with Mike Dexter, he tells him that " guys like me and you bro are a dime a dozen. Chicks are a lot different in college. They care about the environment and things and they all date guys that are in pre-med. " It is a very funny scene.

What makes this movie so much fun to watch is that it is reminiscent of an 80's film. And that is the highest compliment that I can give it. Because, just like they don't know how to make movies like Halloween and Nightmare On Elm Street anymore, they sure as hell don't know how to make films like Breakfast Club, The Sure Thing and Secret Admirer. But this film comes really close to being like those. And if you remember those ones as films that were some of your favorites when you were sixteen, see this, it will make you laugh and entertain you, and that is an accomplishment on its own.
62 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not Just Another Teen Movie
Minus_The_Beer3 July 2017
In the wake of the John Hughes teen-flick boom of the '80s, the '90s was well-stocked with a plethora of coming-of-age films aimed at teenagers. Some were better ("Dazed & Confused") than others ("Empire Records"), but regardless of where you stood on the social ladder, there was most assuredly a film tailor-made just for you. For every "She's All That," there was a "The Craft." Perhaps no film so perfectly encapsulated the late '90s vibe better than "Can't Hardly Wait," a film named after a Replacements song jam packed with music from the likes of Eve 6 and Blink-182. Arriving just one year before "American Pie" would close the decade with a definitive thrust, "Can't Hardly Wait" didn't exactly make a big splash upon release, but has proved to be one of the most re-watchable of its time and of its kind.

It's the last day of high school at Huntington Hillside and the class of '98 packs into the house of one of its more unfortunate classmates for one last hoorah. A virtual melting pot of geeks, stoners, jocks, morons and miscreants, this is a party for just about everyone. Most prominent is our lead character, Preston (played by Ethan Embry, recalling a time when the actor was known as more than "that creepy guy" from any number of horror/thrillers), who is taking advantage of the occasion to finally tell the girl of his dreams, Amanda (Jennifer Love Hewitt, recalling a time when the actress was the "it" girl), just how much he admires her. He's been silently stalking her through the halls, writing a long-winded love letter that he plans on giving to her tonight (because that's not creepy or anything). On the other side of the party, disgruntled nerd William Lichter (Charlie Korsmo) seeks revenge against his tormentor, the insufferable jock Mike Dexter (Peter Facinelli), who -- depending on who you ask -- is either a god, a role model or an a-hole.

The guest list is jam-packed with a slew of actors who were either in every other film of its era or who would go on to do bigger gigs. From Seth Green's wannabe poser, to the criminally underrated Lauren Ambrose (who turns into Green's unlikely love interest), you can't throw a cat in this film without hitting a "Hey, I know that guy/girl!" Jason Segal, Selma Blair, Jerry O'Connell, Breckin Meyer, Clea DuVall, Freddy Rodriguez, Donald Faison, Jaime Pressly and Jenna Elfman, playing an angelic stripper. This film is stacked with young talent. Thankfully, none of this ever feels cluttered or disjointed. Directors Deborah Kaplan and Harry Elfont duck in and out of different social circles with ease, delivering a memorable moment just about every other minute. The film is high-energy and the cast is more than up to the task of making the sum greater than its parts. Though Green and Ambrose nearly hijack the narrative with their natural chemistry, the film truly belongs to the entire cast.

More than just a time capsule, "Can't Hardly Wait" is a great example of a teen flick done just right. The audience is never insulted, though there is admittedly more than enough sentiment on hand. Unlike the aforementioned "American Pie," the film never goes for gross and never cheapens its characters. These feel like real people having a real experience. Though it didn't have as big an impact as it should've, chances are, if you came of age during the late '90s and saw this film, it's an undeniable part of your DNA at this point. Insanely re-watchable, even those of us in our '30s and even '40s (!) will find it worth revisiting from time to time, unlike our actual high school experiences.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This one's a nice party...
jpschapira9 February 2005
Yeah, yeah. It is the girl, it is the boy, it is the crazy one, it is the geek, it is the popular one, it is the party. I know all those things that most of the time come along in the package of a teen movie. But this film is really one good piece. I can't say great, but I can't also say bad.

Here, unlike many teen comedies, we get to meet the characters. To know details and things about them, because they aren't comic creatures. They aren't one dimensional, you know? It always happen that some characters just got to be there, and don't have much development, but some others do. And it's not easy to create much development for one night only, because there is only a party.

This guy, Preston. He is totally mad for this girl, so that he thinks they are meant to be. And maybe they really are. And this girl, is so trapped in her world (no matter what that world is), that she's not looking anywhere else. And if she looks, it might be too late. Jennifer Love Hewitt and Ethan Embry are more than alright for this characters. She (Hewitt)is gorgeous, and she doesn't need a lot of effort to play Amanda's part. It's just the part of a gorgeous girl. He (Embry) is impressive. In his eyes you can see that he has been left aside, most of the time. Embry gives some kind of depth to his characters, even if he doesn't have to. I liked him in "White Squall" and I understand him here.

The rational character is Denise. She doesn't want anything to happen but she hasn't even tried. Ambrose gives simply the best performance of the movie. And Seth Green made me laugh. His character, Kenny, wants anything to happen, but he has looked to much, and needs to stop a little bit. As for William, well, he is that neutral character, he needs some new things in his routine. His life has been the same for too long. Many things could happen in this party.

All the rest of the cast is in and out, going and leaving, talking, remembering. High School is ending, it must be enjoyed, I think.

Last, but not least: there's fate...
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Huge Surprise!!!!!!
tayster12-56 April 2002
While walking through my local video store, I have walked past this cover box a trillion times and never really looked at it. Then one day, I noticed that Seth Green was on the cover, and since I became a fan of him during "Buffy", I picked up this movie, thinking, "What the heck, it's free!" (I had a Rent One Get One Free Coupon). I took it home not expecting anything but a few laughs from Seth, and boy was I ever shocked!

"Can't Hardly Wait" is not the greatest movie ever made, but I'll be totally honest with you, it's the biggest surprise of a movie I have ever watched.

I now own this movie, and it's one of those movies that, when I'm just not in the mood to go to a "galaxy far, far away", (yes, sometimes it happens) I pop this in and giggle hysterically.

Seth Green is wonderful playing the wannabe gangsta. The members of Loveburger are a riot. And Jennifer Love Hewitt isn't even all that annoying.

The soundtrack is quite amazing. With a movie like this, you'd assume that it'd be just Smash Mouth, Blink 182 & Third Eye Blind, and yes, those groups are included, but during the party scenes, there are a number of classic party tunes from Guns -n- Roses, Tone Loc and RUN DMC. Not to mention the whole Barry Manilow "Mandy" references.

No, this movie will not be re-released for a 20th Anniversary, but it's definitely worth watching, and ranks far above all the other "teen flicks" that are swarming to your local theater as you read this.
30 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of the better teen comedies.
Jack the Ripper188831 December 2002
Again, like the many, many teen comedies to come before it, CAN'T HARDLY WAIT has you watching as the teenagers run around, crack jokes, yell at each other, scream, drink beer, and kiss and fall in love. Yes, it's all very mushy and romantic. Not so much in this movie...

Like 10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT YOU, this movie doesn't really concentrate on the romantic elements until later in the film, which I like. It is more original and gives the movie more flavor. This is why most of these teen romance flicks are not really big at the box office. Its because they are predictable, they have been done a thousand times before and because everyone knows how it will turn out. That is why horror movies are always big. Because at least with a horror movie you usually have to figure out who the masked killer is or something like that. But with these boring teen comedies, you always know how it will turn out. This movie is different.

You never really know what is going to happen, because this movie takes the honor of having a very large cast of characters and follows each of them very specifically, developing a story and history for each of them. The cast includes Ethan Embry, Seth Green, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Melissa Joan Hart, Charlie Korsmo, Lauren Ambrose, Peter Facinelli, Jenna Elfman, Breckin Meyer, Sean Patrick Thomas, Brandon Williams, Jaime Pressly, Liz Stauber, Clea DuVall, Brian Klugman, and Jerry O'Connel have parts in this movie. Many of these people only have small cameos, but all are hilarious in this delightfully funny teen romp.

CAN'T HARDLY WAIT gets 5/5.
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Easy watch
jimgigs13 April 2020
Good teenage party flick. All the stereotypes represented in a fun way. Has some good laughs, and it's not over the top raunchy. Cast is full of familiar faces. Nice, fun , easy way to spend a few hours watching a flick.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Light, Funny, Heartfelt Teen Movie
Jared_Andrews13 July 2020
For as superficial and unoriginal as the "Can't Hardly Wait" is, I must admit that I found it be entertaining in the early moments. The conversations, music and bouncy energy of it all is funny in a frivolous way, which is enough for a movie like this one. It's all perfectly benign, intermittently charming enough to elicit a smile but not funny enough to make anyone laugh out loud. It's noisy enough to make its presence felt but not so loud that anyone is rattled. And It's considerate enough to cause an occasional slight head tilt in thought but not provocative enough to lead to any serious exploration.

An average guy and his platonic female friend fill the roles of the two lead characters. I won't mention their names because I don't remember and honestly it doesn't matter anyway. The guy has obsessed over some pretty girl for years despite never uttering so much as a single word to her. Through high school he has remained convinced that they are cosmically tethered because they both ate strawberry Pop Tarts in class once (he talks about Pop Tarts as if they are some sort of immaculate French pastry, which illustrates precisely how distorted this dude's world view is).

His female friend rolls her eyes at him because she rolls her eyes at everything. What's her story? Not much. She goes to high school and doesn't like it. Cool. She must be a blast to hang out with.

The guy learns that the popular jock dating the girl of his dreams has recently dumped said girl so he can date college women. This is average guy's chance, he decides, so he plans to give dream girl his letter that professes his love to her. It's a silly plan, but this is a silly movie, so it is to be expected.

All the characters are delusional, caring deeply about the shallowest of everyday things. Everyone feels like a token representative of one group or another, even if many of these groups are not representative of a real high school student body. The jocks are at their jockiest, the overachiever strives to conquer one more challenge, the disillusioned girl thinks this is all lame, the band thinks this could be their big break, and yada yada. Each of the kids is a caricature of some broadly defined click. Cartoonishness is not limited to the people at the party - the part itself is a caricature. Somehow the whole movie manages to be completely cliché without being in any way accurate.

Amidst all the shallow events that litter the movie, there is one genuinely tender moment. After the jock decides he wants to get back with dream girl, she rejects him. Embarrassed, he calls her out in front of a crowd, exclaiming, "Who would want you now?" It's a brutally dehumanizing thing to say. But she stands strong and replies, "Somebody." The moment is sweet and would actually be moving, except the moment is undercut by the fact that this girl is beautiful and has had guys chasing her constantly from the second she became single earlier that day.

Still, I must admit, I kind of liked the scene. That's how I felt about the movie overall. It's flawed in very obvious ways that are easy to make fun of (which is why I made fun of it), and yet it still has a certain level of likability. All things considered, I'm glad I watched it.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ranks high in its genre
cdr-222 January 2000
What a sweet movie this is! Predictable all the way, but saved by it's extremely likeable cast: Ethan Embry, as the daydreamer nice guy, Seth Green, showing off is talent in his part as a wigger and the photogenic Jennifer Love Hewitt, who has the part of "perfect girl" down to perfection. (Is there any other way to describe it? She really is that good at it.)

Like most good films in its genre Can't Hardly Wait has many witty moments, pace and charm. The parallels with Fast Times At Ridgemont High are obvious.

Seth Green as a white boy who really would rather have been a black boy is a very funny and to the point social comment. It's a shame, however, that the film can't break loose from the stereotypes that resurface in every teen comedy. There's the blonde bimbos who just look pretty and are armpieces to the jocks. There's the jocks who drink beer and pick on the nerds. There's the nerds who have big glasses and re-enact scenes from Star Wars and the likes. Why don't producers seem able to break away from those stereotypes? The moments where these characters are brought into play, the boring slapstick they engage in... Those are the moments where the film loses it's pace and that's why these films only brush upon interesting subject matter. This is also the reason why new generations won't be bored to watch until the end of this film in twenty years time. I know I changed the channel 30 minutes into Fast Times...

Without the everlasting stereotypes and standard storylines (nice boy wants girl... nerd gets cheerleader for one night or forever more) this kind of film might actually distinguish itself. As long as that doesn't change the rating of this film is likely to remain stuck at 6.3, at which it is stuck right now. That's where the genre deserves to be as it is. I rate this film slightly higher at 7.
25 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A cute funny little movie
aurora-311 August 1998
This movie was great. It's not blockbuster, but it wasn't made to be. It was something geared towards teenagers, so older folks beware. I would not go see it if you're out of your twenties. It was funny, it was sweet and that's about it. The two best performances were given by Ethan Embry and Seth Green. Ethan was male lead, Preston who convincingly yearned for Jennifer Love Hewitt's character, Amanda. Ethan pulled his role off wonderfully. The second awesome performance was given by Seth Green who was the local gangsta-wannabe Kenny. This one had me rolling on the floor laughing because sadly, most of the guys i know are just like him. So, if you just want something to entertain, make you laugh, and not think to hard, I'd go see this movie.
35 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Oh look, it's the 90s!
bh_tafe31 July 2014
Wow, Blink 182, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Seth Green, Tupac RIP references, Dharma (but not Greg) {Jenna Elfman}, that guy with the high pitched voice from Empire Records (Ethan Embry) and OMGZ!!! is that the little kid from Hook (1991) all grown up (Charles Korsmo)? Looks like this one's about the late 90s, and it's a decent example of a prime vintage.

I can't really explain the nostalgic value of seeing Jerry O'Connell drop in for a cameo, seeing Selma Blair get hit on by Mike Dexter, seeing Sabrina herself Melissa Joan Hart run around like a kid with ADHD and seeing Breckin Meyer ask us if "Anyone ordered a Love Burger?" But it is magic. And if you look really carefully, there's Jaime Pressley and Jason Segel, present at the role call as well.

When they were making this film they were looking for more than a fast hit, casting some popular young actors in a clichéd situation involving a party after the last day of High School. They made a film that encapsulated the time perfectly. Not just the fashions and attitudes, but the way movies were being made, and the way popular culture viewed the world. This movie was accurate to the time by showing its characters to be shallow, materialistic and oblivious. It didn't have anything to say about 90s teen culture, but caught what it was. While I don't give the film credit for its clichéd characterizations, I do give it credit for the way these clichés engage with each other into a coherent, though predictable whole.

The main story being told involves Amanda Beckett, who has just been dumped by her jock boyfriend Mike Dexter. Nerdy classmate Preston Meyers, flanked by his nerdy friend Denise Fleming, decides that this is the night, at the end of High School Party, to confess his love for Amanda. And that's pretty much it. There are a lot of subplots and minor characters but it all happens around the main narrative.

Ethan Embry, as Meyers, is pretty funny, Korsmo, as a vengeful nerd seeking revenge on Mike Dexter for a life time of cruel pranks is actually pretty good. Lauren Ambrose is decent as Denise, but her character is annoying and quite hypocritical. Most of the cast come across well in limited screen time, and some good cameos and funny scenes fort the trailer, with a theme by Smashmouth "I can't get Enough of you Baby," and it was a minor hit at the time it came out.

More than a decade later, Can't Hardy Wait is the ultimate nostalgia fix. It looks like a 90s movie, follows all the conventions of a 90s movie and is made like a 90s movie. Not intelligent, but still entertaining. I'll admit a personal bias, but still recommend it if you are a fan of the era.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this party movie so much
UniqueParticle27 April 2020
Such a wonderful benchmark for all the cast and always enjoyable every time I watch it. I love everything about Can't Hardly Wait, the soundtrack, writing is nicely done, the way it was filmed, eccentric scenes, and wonderful vibe! A lovely balance of comedy and romance; an ounce of drama. Not enough talk about this wild one and that's unfortunate!
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
If I'd gone to a party like this, my life might've turned out better
MJPandDAS24 October 2005
After a while, it's hard to remember back to that immortality of youth that this movie captures in a very clever way. The number of now famous actors and actresses who pop up in this epic is amazing. The characters are well polished: The jerks are jerkier, the nerds are nerdier, the jocks are even more jocked up, and as a boy who remembers what it was like to love the most popular girl from afar, the pain you suffered with that love was of a white hot intensity that the hero of this movie could not let go, much to his betterment, and to my loss (I didn't go, and she never knew).

Brilliant.
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Much Better Than Most Others in this Genre.
Movie-ManDan15 April 2017
There's a total of about 15 minutes in this film that does not take place during the time of the most out of control high school party of the year. Party central is an isolated place where recent high school graduates raise hell and where they all learn more about themselves. What makes this so much different and better than most party films is how well it knows to handle...almost everything!

Several high schoolers star in their own stories that make this film what it is. We get to care about these characters right away. They're not super deep that they're Oscar material, but still deeper than most in other flicks. There's four major stories: Seth Green plays a wigger desperate to have sex and gets locked in the bathroom with Lauren Ambrose's character (who some people think is the only smart one). There's no telling when they get together and break up, only that they do it many times. Charlie Korsmo stepped out of retirement for one last hurrah before having a decorated education. He plays the geek of the class named William. He and his two other geeky friends have a plan to crash the party for revenge, but he just gets loaded and becomes a ladies man. The heart of the film involves Jennifer Love-Hewitt's character named Amanda. Her longtime high school boyfriend, the jock and pretty-boy of the class just broke up with her to date college girls. Meanwhile Preston, who has always had the hots for her and believes in fate, is ready to make his move on her. This is the bulk of the film where the needed seriousness comes from.

All of the songs used in this film are awesome. Some are new, and some are old, some are rock, some are pop. There's a variety, unlike nowadays party films that strictly go by dance tunes from the past year. But most importantly, the film knows exactly what to do with these characters and exactly how to make them and their situations likable. They are so much more than your average dumb party-goers. Love-Hewitt's story is the best, but Korsmo's is the funniest. It is his best performance.

3/4
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A typical nineties teen comedy
Rectangular_businessman28 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
"Can't Hardly Wait" summarizes perfectly well every single cliché and archetype from any of the teen comedies done in the nineties. Not That this is a bad thing, and think that I prefer the clichés from the teen movies made in that decade than most of the awful and unfunny comedies from the recent years.

Even when some of the references in "Can't Hardly Wait" could considered "dated" by modern audiences, and despite the fact that the story from this film is totally stereotypical and predictable, at least it still has a certain level of entertainment value to be worth-watching.

Personally, I'd rather see a movie like this than stuff like "Project X" any day.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
best teen movie EVER!!!!!!
meekusthegeekus0079 April 2005
this movie was great! i first saw it myself and it was really boring, but when i saw it w/ my friend it became my favorite. i guess this was because u feel stupid to laugh by yourself, and this is a movie u need to watch w/ someone. my fav character, like everyone else, is kenny fisher played by seth green. sadly, i know a lot of people just like him who are wannabe wangstas or wiggers. its hilarious. he reminds me so much of my best friend who's like that. also the small appearance of Jerry O'Connel was good. this is my fav Jennifer Love Hewitt movie, and a lot of people i never even heard of did a good job. i also liked the TINY roll of Breckin Myer who i think is hilarious. this isn't just a teen movie because my parents loved it.
30 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
This cast is everything
Calicodreamin24 January 2021
Gotta love the awesome 90s vibes and all star cast. There isn't a plot, but it doesn't really matter. Just one raucous house party with hilarious antics and a warm fuzzy ending.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I loved it!
Ethans_Sisko_lover8 March 2000
The plot was ok. I love the actors. Jennifer Love Hewitt was amazing. She really pulled it off. Ethan, of course, was good. He made Preston Meyers the person we all cheered for. Seth Green once again came through with his humour and his serious side. The movie is a good movie if you want a laugh, or if your a romance type person, it's also very good. Or if you just want to relax and watch a pretty good movie, this is it.
31 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I couldn't hardly believe it but...
dee.reid25 July 2005
...This is actually one of the most entertaining teen comedies I've seen yet. In the post-John Hughes teen era, 1998's underrated multi-character comedy, "Can't Hardly Wait," a joint venture by directors Harry Elfont and Deborah Kaplan, is funny and engaging in a way most teen comedies aren't anymore. This is a movie I've seen a fair number of times over the years but I have to admit a particular fondness for the characters, despite an uneven script and other writing issues, as it brings back memories of my high school career, which I left in June of 2004.

In the movie, Denise Fleming (Lauren Ambrose) reminds the audience that "fate works in some really {expletive} ways sometimes" - we get rebuffed every time we want something to happen but doesn't. But sometimes life cuts us a break and that's what would happen for Lonely Guy Preston Meyers (Ethan Embry). For four long years, Preston has pined for Amanda Beckett (Jennifer Love Hewitt), who is of course the pretty cheerleader and has conveniently ended her relationship with her idiot jock boyfriend Mike Dexter (Peter Facinelli). In the opening sequences, Preston explains the circumstances regarding his "fateful" relationship with Amanda. An aspiring writer, Preston has revised and revised a soul-bearing love letter that will confess to Amanda the feelings and reasons for why they were destined to be together despite life elements that have proved otherwise. Preston plans to give her the letter at a post-graduation party the night before he's scheduled to leave for Boston. And of course, a number of circumstances and misunderstandings will hamper Preston's dogged determination to give Amanda his letter. But before one writes this off as a typical teen romance, please let me continue...

Even more interesting, are the various subplots taking place paralleled next to the main plot line. Mike Dexter isn't exactly the most cherished individual in high school, as explained by William Lichter (Charlie Korsmo), in a verbal tirade that parodies Bill Pullman's inspirational speech from "Independence Day" (1996). Along with his two geek buddies, William plans to lure Mike and one of his random jock friends to the pool house, take Polaroids, and capture them in a "naked embrace." However, circumstances allow William to become the unlikely life of the party. Meanwhile, wannabe homeboy Kenny Fisher (Seth Green), plans to "sex as many honies" as possible at this party. He's got the full kit in his backpack, including the "Kama Sutra," the Hindu book of love. But his plans take a backseat when he's locked in the upstairs bathroom with Denise. It is here that the two former friends, now strangers, confront one another about the drastic changes their lives have taken since junior high, and it is this portion of the script that comes to be the most interesting, largely because of the interaction between Ambrose and Green. In addition to these, there are plenty of smaller subplots including a foreign exchange student, the party hostess as she tries to control the night's events (as well as her sanity), a yearbook geek (Melissa Joan Hart) who wants to be the first to get the signature of every graduating senior, William's nerd buddies who are on top of the pool house, and a band called Loveburger (fronted by Breckin Meyer) tries to get its act together but in-fighting nearly proves to be the group's demise. Boy, it's going to be one hell of a night...

Despite its script problems, "Can't Hardly Wait" is sure to get some kind of a cult following in a few years, which of course comes from the fact that the subplots are far more interesting than the core story. But I dismiss it as nothing truly detrimental to the film as a whole. Of course, my favorite story just happens to be the one with Amanda and Lonely Guy Preston. (I guess it's because I more or less fall into the category of high school Lonely Guys who pine for the pretty girl but don't get the pretty girl.) Yet, "Can't Hardly Wait" obviously can't hardly wait for some kind of cult fame over the next couple of years.

7/10
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Sleep aid
ctomvelu123 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Badly dated teen party flick that might have played better in the 1980s. Ethan Embry goes to a high school graduation party in a private home where he encounters Jennifer Hewitt, whom he has loved since childhood. He spends most of the movie trying to find a way to approach her. She, on the other hand, has just broken up with the class jock and is besieged at the party by an army of guys looking to hook up. Why she stays as long as she does is a mystery, but it makes for a convenient finale when Embry finally catches up with her. Dullsville. Blandsville. A more interesting storyline has supernerd Seth Green getting stuck in a bathroom with chubby classmate Lauren Ambrose. They have never been particularly fond of one another. So they argue and fight, then they make out, then -- well, you will have to see the movie for the rest. But frankly, I wouldn't bother.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another superb 90's teen flick
JUICEZ-49ers28 July 2020
Funny, decent soundtrack great characters. Amazing feel good flick. No nudity like a lot of todays teen movies just pure decent innocent fun. This film is full of 90's and a for a few was their first movie. Many you will notice when on to show up in a lot of the 00's teens films. There is stars from American pie, Scream, Austin powers, road trip and so on. Oh and come on Jennifer Love Hewitt. If you liked this film and JLH please try Trojan war another great 90's teens flick, and leave a review.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
If nothing else, at least this film has Jaime Pressly.
TOMASBBloodhound13 March 2004
Although not in the same class as The Breakfast Club, Sixteen Candles, or even Better Off Dead, this is still a highly effective teen movie. It's really the only teen movie made in the last 15 years or so that I keep in my collection.

The plot is simple enough. We have a bunch of high school kids getting together for one last party after graduation. We see all types interacting with one another and getting pretty wasted in the process. Our main character is a sensitive writer type who has been lusting after the most popular girl in school for the past four years. She has recently been dumped by her jock boyfriend, so this Mr. Sensitive thinks this party is his chance to finally hook up with her! Along the way we see several side plots involving nerds, sluts, stoners, jocks, white guys trying to act black, and any other type of kid that the high schools of today produce. Overall, this film is very, very well done. I'm still surprised how much I like it.

And every 15 minutes or so Jaime Pressly can be seen strutting her stuff. I swear that girl is amazing! It's too bad she doesn't have that many scenes. The last we see of her is when the cops bust that party. She's all curled up and passed out on a chair. Just waiting for that special guy (like me) to carry her out of that party and take her home! Oh well, we can dream, can't we? By the way, the guy who plays her boyfriend is the guy in the pickup truck whose buddies beat the crap out of Dirk Diggler in Boogie Nights!

Anyway, I like this film. The sensitive writer guy is a lot like me. I also connect a little with Seth Green's character since I was accused of acting black in high school because I was the first kid in the suburbs to listen to rap music. There's a little of each of these characters in all of us, I suppose.

Do yourself a favor and watch this film if you get the chance. It's nothing profound or deep, just a bunch of kids having a wild party and learning some things about themselves and each other along the way.

Oh, and have I mentioned that Jaime Pressly is in the movie?

I'll give it 8 of 10 stars.

So sayeth the Hound.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Where's the story, the character development, the structure...* out of ****
Movie-125 July 1999
"Can't Hardly Wait" is the kind of movie that would rather talk about its characters rather than develop them. It prefers to leave out all concepts of plot and just consisting of hundreds of babbling teens. It is amazing how the movie ever got the green light to be shot.

I won't tell you the story to "Can't Hardly Wait," mainly because there is no apparent story. Even so, I can explain the main characters and their roles in the film. But first, the setting: It's graduation night a Hunnington High School. The seniors all plan to throw a big party. All sorts of things are supposed to happen there.

1. Jennifer Love Hewitt is Amanda Beckett. The popular, and I mean popular, talk of the school. She is described as a legend who just broke up with the much-liked jock named Mike Dexter. 2. Peter Facinelli plays that jock, Mike Dexter, who flirts with all the good looking girls and broke up with Amanda because he thinks that the college women will be much more interesting-and attracted in him at that.

3. Ethan Embry is casted as a meek Preston Meyers who has been in love with Amanda since the second he first saw her. He is just to shy to ask her out…or even speak to her. 4. Lauren Ambrose is the films only half interesting character named Denise Fleming, who realizes that her classmates are a mess, but the filmmakers destroy her credits too by locking her in a room with the half whited and self centered Kenny Fisher. 5. Kenny Fisher (Seth Green) is that fool who only cares about having sex with some of the local party girls. He has a specific list of victims whom he plans of hitting on during the night.

Well, take a good look at them. None really have anything to do with the other. All are moralless idiots who have no clue about anything except the present day. I don't think that I actually cared about one of them. There are also many other frantics present at the big celebration. There are prom queens, many more jocks, beer bellies, the wild ones, the mild ones who are always teased and made fun of, the spaced guys, the lustful guys, the foreign, the irritated, the irritating, side unknown, no parents or adults of any kind, and the girl whose poor house is being used for the party, which of course gets out of hand. Also there are "special" guest appearances of Melissa Joan Hart as a yearbook obsessed chatterbox, Jenna Elfman as an angel stripper who offers good advice to one of our major characters, and even the heartthrob Breckin Meyer from "54."

The script is nothing more than a series of mindless party favors, meaningless conversations, and teen chitter chatter. I can't judge the structure because I found none. And how about the comedic perspective of the film. Well, here's a one-liner that directors Harry Elfont & Deborah Kaplan (You mean there are two directors? My my my, I could have guessed that there weren't any) might want to consider next time the make a movie called this: Hey, I saw a movie the other day and during the production I was muttering to myself "I can't hardly wait for it to end."
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Can't Hardly Wait for It to Be Over.
anaconda-4065830 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Can't Hardly Wait (1998): Dir: Deborah Kaplan, Harry Elfont / Cast: Jennifer Love Hewitt, Ethan Embly, Lauren Ambrose, Seth Green, Jenna Elfman: Teen comedy about moving onto the next stage of life. It centres around a party where sex and loud music are the norm. Jennifer Love Hewitt is tired of countless sexual innuendos and Ethan Embly is a love struck graduate who has kept a hand written love letter for four years in hopes of giving it to her. Film serves as another example of teens viewed as sex starved alcoholics. Predictable tripe directed by two people, which is perhaps the film's biggest surprise. Their names are Deborah Kaplan and Harry Elfont who do well in a sequence in which a note transcends about a room. Unfortunate a decent script never floated about the set or this might have been better than the concocted formula crap that it became. Hewitt basically sits and looks pretty while Embly bellows and wails about his urge to share his feelings. It is obvious that they will connect and that Hewitt will look at him with starry eyes. Lauren Ambrose and Seth Green dislike each other and are trapped in a washroom until they finally put differences aside for sexual conquests. Then there is Jenna Elfman making a ridiculous cameo as an angel who hasn't anything better to do. With its total lack of anything original, I can't hardly wait for studios to quit producing crap like this. Score: 3 / 10
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not like I remember high school
Ross-4523 September 1999
Geez, this movie is sure made for teenagers (which I'm not). The only reason I watched it was because it happened to be on cable. I'd be upset if I'd actually payed money to rent it much less see in the theatre (of course I never had any intention of either). Pretty much every character in the movie is completely shallow and not believable, including Amanda and Preston, whom we're supposed to be rooting for. The only reason these two characters look good is because everybody else is so bad. I mean come on, one day she doesn't even know who he is, and then the next day meets him at the train station where the two start making out after only a couple of minutes of conversation? And the rampant sex, even amongst total strangers, at the graduation party? And the nerd has the girls drooling over him after singing karaoke to "Paradise City" by Guns 'n Roses? Gimme a break! Anyone who thinks this is a good film is either a) a Jennifer Love Hewitt fan or b) just hasn't developed any taste for decent film-making yet. Everything about this movie is catered directly to teens, and is quickly lost on anyone else.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
All for the love of a girl
michaelRokeefe1 November 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Newly high school graduates attend a wild party celebrating an uncertain future. Love struck dork Preston Myers (Ethan Embry) , gathers his courage to act on his long time feelings for former prom queen Amanda (Jennifer Love Hewitt). This crowd of mostly horny teens all have different agendas for their life. Some laughable situations. In spite of its stupidity, an enjoyable flick.

My main reason for watching is Lauren Ambrose, a sensible loner, who shares cast credits with Seth Green, Sean Patrick Thomas, Selma Blair, Peter Facinelli and Charlie Korsmo.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed