South Park (TV Series 1997– ) Poster

(1997– )

User Reviews

Review this title
405 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Sadly Misunderstood
Raven_Z10 December 2004
South Park is one of the most misunderstood, and also the most intelligent shows on television.

South Park is a satirical look on most anything from Western society - politics, the media, today's youth, celebrities, violence in our society, and much much more. However, instead of presenting these issues as they are, they alternately project them through the exploits of four young boys in South Park, Colorado.

Unfortunately, many people take the show solely at face value, refusing to see the intelligence in it - South Park is admittedly filled with racist and sexist jokes, along with other offensive material. The problem lies within the fact that most people don't seem to understand the concept of satire and self parody.

I admit that I, myself, was one of these people - for years I refused to watch that "garbage," until finally a friend forced me to actually watch a whole episode, and I realized that the show was actually making a point.

So, if you haven't done so, go - watch an episode. You'll feel smarter when you're done.
919 out of 1,086 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good, rude and relevant satire: when naughty humor and smart minds come together, great things will happen
gogoschka-114 October 2016
Now in its 20th season, South Park still dissects the most ridiculous behaviour in our society with merciless precision, and nobody comes away clean. And it's funny how people still react the same way to the show as they did 20 years ago:

The self-proclaimed flag bearers for our nation's moral standards still can't see anything in the show beyond its naughty language and (perceived) vulgarity (and while half of them are genuinely offended by the show for those reasons, the other half secretly loves the show precisely for its naughty language and overall vulgarity and toilet humor).

The ones who make fun of the self-proclaimed flag bearers still believe only they are smart enough to see anything beyond the obvious naughty language and overall vulgarity in it (and while most of them pretend to only love the show for its satirical elements, the majority of them actually love it because of its naughty language and overall vulgarity and toilet humor).

And then there's the third group of people who get the satire but just flat out admit that it's effing hilarious seeing Gerald getting peed in the face by his loving wife Sheila or when the boys protest the girls' protest by proudly taking their tiny wieners out while raising a fist.

If anything comes close to good satire and ruthless comedy in the vein of Monty Python's 'Life of Brian' today, it's South Park. Blind followers of any movement beware: Matt and Trey have it in for all of us, nobody is safe. God help us all if they ever decide to retire, society would be all the worse for it.

Come to think of it: Let's start a petition for a co-presidency in the U.S. so they both can run for president and save the country (and the world!) from either the giant douche or the turd sandwich.

Damn, that last comment makes me a follower too.

Favorite TV-Shows reviewed: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls075552387/

Favorite films: http://www.IMDb.com/list/mkjOKvqlSBs/

Lesser-Known Masterpieces: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls070242495/

Favorite Low-Budget and B-Movies: http://www.imdb.com/list/ls054808375/
83 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Comedy Central's marquee series. The very best political, pop culture and current event satire on television.
liquidcelluloid-19 January 2005
Network: Comedy Central; Genre: Animated Comedy, Satire, Parody; Content Rating: TV-MA (for dark comic content and graphic language, sexual content, violence & animated gore); Available: DVD; Classification: Modern Classic (Star range expanded: 1 - 5);

Season Reviewed: 10+ seasons

Stan Marsh, Kyle Broflowfski, Eric Cartman and (sometimes) the ill-fated Kenny McCormick are 8-year-old boys growing up amid an adult world in the backward, frozen-over mountain town of South Park, Colorado. Their adventures, that make up creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone's animated comedy "South Park", include fending off everything from supernatural demons to the biggest names in the Hollywood intelligentsia. "South Park" is several things. It's rude, crude, shocking, smart, decidedly adult, completely original, and it is indulgent in the whims and imaginations of it's creators. It's also the very best political, pop culture and current event satire on television.

The show started as something of a fad - the new vulgar, don't-let-the-kids-watch show on the block. But as real world events changed, "Park" evolved along with them. Standing as the kings on top of a soap box they constructed out of swearing kids, talking poo, homosexual hand puppets and hermaphroditic parents; Parker and Stone where blessed with the freedom of a hit series, hip status and a network that gave them the freedom to do whatever they want. As the show aged, they matured in their storytelling abilities and the show went from shock value fad to a barbed satire of American culture.

"Park" is brought to life with oddly beautiful, vibrantly colored 2-dimensional cut-and-paste animation. The episodes are masterfully constructed. The writing a witty showcase of Parker and Stone's love for pop culture parody, graphic violence, pornography and a bold willingness to take on the hot button issues of the week. It is a free-for-all virtuoso where nothing and nobody is safe, every establishment media position gets flipped on it's head and every politically correct sacred cow gets eviscerated. Now that's comedy - if you can stomach a barrage of extreme scatological humor with your social satire. The vomit jokes and fat jokes on "Park" aren't there for the sake of it, but have substance behind them. And nobody does them better.

Eric Cartman, Mr. Garrison and more recently Randy Marsh (stepping up as a reliably hilarious scene-stealer) are classic characters, but Parker and Stone have gone further and developed an entire town of colorful caricatures. They aren't made to be as endearing as those in "The Simpsons", but aren't supposed to be. The characters aren't just vacuous idiots, and the laughs of the show come from a very socially conscious place.

Straight men Stan and Kyle are the show's most underdeveloped. They serve mostly as a mouthpiece for Parker and Stone's conservative libertarian philosophy, often literally giving a speech to a crowd in the show's finale. There is not a single other place on TV where you can see environmentalists, the anti-smoking lobby, illegal immigrants, trial lawyers, news media hysteria, elitist Hollywood liberals, abortion, sex ed in schools and every celebrity from Mel Gibson to Paris Hilton all get ripped to shreds. The show pulls it off because it has a unique ability to deconstruct and reconstruct current events better than anyone else (notably Comedy Central's overrated "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart"), giving them a hilarious or supernatural explanation without moralizing getting in the way of the laughs. They take their own messages to such loony extremes it's impossible to take seriously.The cherry on top is the seemingly endless quality of the original songs provided by the creator's cover band, DVDA.

With a skeleton crew that writes, directs, animates, voices and scores the show, this is independent television in it's purest form. This means it often labors on Parker and Stone's geeky indulgences - episodes center around a full-length "Star Wars" parody, the class gerbil making it's way up a human bowel or Timmy, a handicapped student who can only say his name. Occasionally, their shock value execution creates a gagging reaction that obscures an otherwise brilliant point ("Fat Camp"). But I'd rather have a show that challenges me than one shackled to clichés and network mandates. When "South Park" goes for the shocking ending, you better believe it actually will shock.

Still, "South Park" is almost impossible to recommend in a casual sense. The show is truly an acquired taste, but one I have to come to support whole-heartedly through the years despite (and because) I have absolutely no idea what to expect when sitting down for a new episode. How rare is that? Where so many other shows cower in the corner, begging for our approval "South Park" is constantly taking risks and re-inventing itself. We've got terrific stunt episodes, episodes built around one joke or building to a single knock-out punch line. They use the smash-cut ending better than anyone ("There Goes the Neighborhood"). Sometimes the experiments are to it's own detriment and the episode is a 22 minute bore, but even then it's almost unheard of to find a show in it's 10th season that is still water cooler television.

"South Park" grabs us by the collar, shakes us around and dares even it's biggest fans to come back next week for more. The show is a monument of creative freedom with a wicked imagination, a true (and hilariously funny) sense of comic timing, and an insightful, socially conscious ear that smartly reflects a point of view starving for attention in mainstream television. It is a hugely entertaining, fiercely visceral, fire-breathing, red-blooded American satire made by, for (and most appreciated by) the most jaded and discriminating TV viewers. We just don't have shows like this on TV today. Anywhere.

* * * * * / 5
380 out of 504 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wake up! South Park rules!
Op_Prime14 August 2000
I don't know why this show is getting such negative reviews. A lot of people (adults mainly) keep assuming South Park is nothing more than wall to wall curse words and gross out jokes. Far from it. Sure, they swear and there is an occasional gross out jokes, but the show is also filled with quality and classic humor. The plots are genius. So what if it's offensive. Big deal! For some reason, people assume that cartoons are just for little babies, and some people appear to have difficulty accepting the fact that times have changed and animation is not just for kids anymore. Face it, we are living in an age of shows like South Park. Can't deal with it? Then that's just too bad.
442 out of 605 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious!
jessicagarnergirl29 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This show always makes me laugh. I've been watching for almost my entire life....it was basically my childhood! This show has always been my favorite adult cartoon, and maybe even one of my all time favorite cartoons! All of the characters are likable in some way.

This show was also a miracle for adult cartoons' reputation, along with Rick and Morty. While I feel like Family Guy isn't doing so well in its later seasons, along with the Simpsons, and American Dad has quite a couple of duds, I feel like South Park really stands out.

South Park is also a very creative show. It has an art style that I've never seen before in a show. Also, it has such controversial jokes and plots that many adult shows wouldn't DARE to step into.

If you enjoy controversial humor and hilarious shows, I'd highly recommend South Park. :)
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An Excellent Program All Too Frequently Dismissed
Muldwych21 February 2005
Both cartoons and sci-fi have long been the only place where thought-provoking social commentary can take place, unmolested by censorship, and both are all too frequently dismissed because of their least important characteristics. South Park is an intelligent, humorous and thought-provoking show that is often ignored or decried by people who judge it only by the very things it deliberately throws in their face, such as profanity, simple animation, and graphic violence, because the creators know that people like this are easily offended by these things, and will always miss the point. The simplicity of the animation, for example, has been criticised by people who miss the point that it's deliberately meant to be simple, in the face of those high-budget major studio cartoons that are more concerned with using cgi and selling toys than having anything to say. Nope, this isn't a show for those who don't appreciate irony. The episodes tackle a wide range of issues, from 9/11 to violence on television to celebrity obsession to religion, through the use of comedy, which is usually the best way to handle such matters.

The main characters are four children who are basically mouthpieces for their creator's opinions, expressing views that would sound arrogant coming from adults. Stan represents the liberal viewpoint, as does his friend Kyle, who as a practising Jew, allows opportunity for religious comment. Is the show anti-religious? No, but fundamentalists like to think it is. It has the essential message of 'believe what you like, but leave me alone'. And of course there's Eric Cartman, the ignorant foul-mouthed selfish redneck, and funny as hell. Sometimes I think he's there to remind us not to take anyone like him seriously. That and to provide a lot of the show's humour. Easily my favourite character. Other characters on the show usually represent majority/opposing views as the plot requires.

Like any long-running show, some episodes are better than others, not all have something to say, and not all are funny. But creators Stone and Parker 'retool' the show periodically with new characters, and try to keep up with current events, and I enjoyed the latest series (8th) for these very reasons. I've watched since the beginning, but they're making an effort not to let South Park go stale.

No doubt South Park will continue to be derided by those who think the most important social problem today is swearing, yet have probably never sat down to watch an episode. And beside them will be the offended parent brigade who still haven't learned that not all cartoons are for children. But the rest of us will still be here to enjoy it, hopefully exchanging righteous indignation for a few laughs and maybe a thought or two about the world we live in. If you've never seen South Park, don't listen to the hype. Watch it and decide for yourself. Hopefully you'll be glad you did.
263 out of 369 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Princes of Animation Comedy
lambiepie-210 November 2003
I remember when these four little boys were nothing but private greeting card art. Now look at them!

In all seriousness, I love this show. This is the funniest adult cartoon there is, and thank GOODNESS Comedy Central took this series and allowed the creators to do "almost" anything. If there was an alternate universe for "Peanuts", you've hit it in "South Park".

There are very few (if none) episodes I didn't like. We all have our favorites, and my number one is still "Cartman Gets an Anal Probe". I laughed until I cried on that one. The next one that is very close to that is last years (2002) Christmas Special when Jesus was "packing" to rescue Santa out of Iraq after he was shot down. This was one of those episodes where I DARE you not to laugh and enjoy it.

The supporting cast about South Park is also stellular. The lives (and minds) that intertwine with Stan, Cartman, Kenny and Kyle are just hilarious. Chef, Mr. Garrison. Kyles Mom and Dad, Cartman's Mother, Butters, Timmy!, Sherrif Bar Brady, Principal Victoria, Wendy, BeBe, and..Big Gay Al..etc....etc..you name it, they are just too much.

Wonderful and ground-breaking (even though the animation isn't state of the art) nothing is out of bounds for these guys...South Park is an instant classic and a great time to be had by all.
209 out of 320 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Extremely offensive, and beneath it lies huge laughs...
SSJAniFan24 October 2003
Matt and Trey need to be commended for this series. It takes shots at EVERYTHING, and it does it in really questionable taste. But that's why I love it. Because, beneath the crude language and vulgar humor, South Park contains one of most biting satires in existence. This show is hilarious, constantly taking current events, such as Stem Cell Research, or fads, like the infamous Poke'mon craze, and spinning their own view on them. Thank you, Matt Stone and Trey Parker. Thank you.

BOTTOM LINE: One show I try to never miss on Wednesdays. This series gives me something to look for.
157 out of 247 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I Laughed Till' I Cried
chthon220 May 2003
This is the show about the four foul mouthed little kids in Colorado. Well, three now, with different kids rotating in and out to fill the spot that Kenny left.

Matt Stone and Trey Parker are comedic geniuses. I think that people who simply brush this off as uninspired pandering to foul mouthed kids like the ones in this show aren't looking deep enough. There is actually a lot of intelligent social commentary here - it's just masked under anything they could possibly offend someone with.
153 out of 250 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the funniest television shows on TV
MisterWhiplash19 February 2000
South Park is a great cartoon, even with it's occasional pitfalls every season. It combines satire, music and comedy to create a terrific masterpiece of an animated show. Trey Parker and Matt Stone bring the weekly antics of a inbred mountain town in a way that has never been done before and it is drop dead funny. Sometimes it seems like the seasons get better, sometimes they seem to get worse for some. But episodes like "Chinpokomon", "The Passion of the Jew", "Tolerance Camp", and "Clubhouse" are classics. And most episodes get funnier every single time I see it and thanks to Comedy Central giving Parker and Stone full control for language, nothing is out of bounds.
119 out of 205 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great Series That Was Ruined by Season 20
superredlam17 January 2017
The newest season of South Park is absolutely awful. Not only was it garbage but there was so much potential for it, but they wasted it all on the US election and memberberries (Which are more annoying than Jar Jar Binks). Those could've easily been their own episode but Matt and Trey just decided to reuse the same jokes over and over again. There were so many things they could've destroyed this year but they didn't. Where was the Harambe episode? Where was the Music.ly episode? Where was the Pokemon Go episode? The jokes weren't even funny thisseason, I probably only actually laughed maybe 3 times, which is horrible considering I used to laugh every second of every episode not too long ago. I give the season 20 5/10 stars and everything else 10/10s, expect for seasons 18 and 19 which get 8.5/10 stars.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Southpark teaches us to laugh at ourselves.
Vogul20 February 2010
I read in complete disbelief the comments that called the show racist, homophobic, anti-religious and even one that said it promoted animal cruelty. LOL! There isn't a single race, religion, political group, sexuality, gender, nationality, celebrity etc etc that it doesn't make fun of. The show even pops fun at itself in some episodes, signalling to the world that they themselves are open to ridicule. If you think the show has a nasty message about a certain group then your just not getting it and i'm glad you have ceased watching and have moved on to more brain numbing programmes that don't cause you to think (might I recommend 'Friends').
30 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The funniest and most intelligent show on television
tedvangreen22 November 2014
Warning: Spoilers
South Park continues to excel as perhaps the best show on television( in my opinion at least). While the last few seasons hinted at a possible downtrend, the current season has been hilarious, smart, clever and downright enjoyable. Some people look at the show and they see the crude humor and the sometimes offensive positions taken by the characters. However, South Park is so much more than that. It tackles many different events that occur in the world in a smart and funny way. Matt Stone and Trey Parker always find the best way to parody the major events in the world. Everything they put into each episode is supposed to be there, even though it may seem offensive or disgusting. In order to truly appreciate South Park, you have to look past the obvious things, and look at the meaning behind the things that are said and the actions that the characters do; because when this happens, you see the true magic that makes South Park one of the best shows on television
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
By far, the funniest show on TV...Ever.
jcdugger6 October 2009
Let's just go ahead and say it...South Park is the greatest comedy show in television history! Most people don't know what to make of this show. Most see a cartoon, hear kids speaking bad language...then get completely confused because most episodes actually include a coherent plot and a moral message. Because of this, the show has morphed into one of those shows where people absolutely love it -- or terribly hate it. Count me in as one of the ones who absolutely love it...this is my favorite comedy TV show. And my favorite 1/2 hour TV show. And my favorite Animated TV show! What gives "South Park" big points from me is actually how unique it is. Some would scoff at that comment, but seriously...name me one other show where Elementary school kids talk like they really do (dirty!). One where people shove food up their anuses and excrete it orally (haaa!). The day I see another TV show talk about the size of one's crap (and arguing whether or not it is a record) is the day I'll consider South Park typical! :) The seasons get better and better as they go...so if you haven't seen an episode yet, I suggest the newer ones. The first couple seasons seem terribly dated when watching them today. But the newer ones are fresh and very original.

Along with "Real Time With Bill Maher", "South Park" is the best show on TV! JD
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The greatest political cartoon
Priapism6922 July 2008
Although crude, abrasive and rough around the edges, Southpark is perhaps the greatest modern day political cartoon being made. I am continually surprised by how the creators write, create and air an episode within a few months of the event the are "discussing".

The reason this show keeps me engaged is its ability to remain non-biased and illustrate the ridiculousness of the hype around the subject matter in the episodes. From smoking to racism to Scientology to Britany Spears, Trey Parker and Matt Stone find a way to get me to question subjects that I normally take at face value. At times they even make fun of themselves for the sake of proving a point. It seems that every time I get into a discussion about current events I can site and episode of Southpark to support my (or someones) point.

I ask that no matter how terrible you think the show is, watch it and look past some of the obscene jokes and interpret/understand the underlying meaning in the show. I am surprised English teachers aren't more supportive of the show given the symbolic nature of most of their characters.
20 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Too good!
Eddy_y2k124 January 2002
This show is great! The first series was very good, but then it dropped off a little in Series 2 and 3, however the introduction of Butters, Timmy and Ms. Choksondik has made the series much much better. A great improvement has been made to series 4 and series 5 is even better.

The Simpsons maybe everyones favorite family, but this show is improving and quite frankly the Simpson's plots are getting worse.

South Park already has a movie (quite successful and a good laugh) and it hasn't finished it, unlike the apparent rumors that The Simpsons will be finished when the movie is being made.

How the kids respond to Kenny's death now has been improved, so you don't put up with "Oh my god, they killed Kenny" every week.

To finish, great show hope it goes on.
109 out of 213 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Regardless, I like this show
Xophianic23 February 2000
OK, so it's a bunch of badly animated cartoon characters most cursing, fighting, delivering toilet humor and offending just about everyone. Regardless, I like this show. If you don't get offended by everything and can just enjoy yourself every once in a while and take a joke, you could too. The humor is toilet humor (no pun intended about Mr. Hankey, who I don't think is funny), but it's very funny and makes fun of certain issues that really do need to be made fun of. I really find the stereotypes spread throughout this show too (fat kid, Jewish kid, British kid, black starving kid from Sally Struthers commercials, etc) because I think they're funny. This isn't my usual type of humor, though, and I do perfer good sketch, improv or standup comedy, but this is a very clever and fun show.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
New to the show and I love it!
twins17294 June 2006
When I was younger I never had any intentions to see this particular program. When my younger siblings would watch it I would shut it off and yell at them. I thought it was a stupid and immature show, boy was I wrong. To date I've seen probably around sixty of the episodes (I could be off), I own the movie and season 5. I only started watching the show a couple of months ago. You see I never watched it before, but late night at 1:30 in the morning on the FOX station where I live, this show is played and when you just get home from work and you want to watch something more that infomercials of TV, this was perfect. My sister and I watched it together and soon fell in love with it. The jokes are up to date and hilarious. The characters are the funniest and the show is all around an outstanding achievement. I have now come to realize that Matt Stone and Trey Parker are geniuses and I have now seem much of there work because of the brilliant show. It amazes me why I like this show because my movie and television favorites range immensely. My favorites shows are "Queer as Folk" (USA only), "CSI: Crime Scene Investigation", and of course my newly beloved "South Park". My favorite movies are the entire "Lord of the Rings" Trilogy, "Brokeback Mountain", and "South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut". So if you are or were like me and too stubborn to watch to wonderful show, give it a chance I'm positive you'll love it.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best show ever
sinisterdrecc8826 March 2009
South Park is the best. I love everything about it. The hilarious characters, the good animation, the excellent humor, and anything else about it that I haven't mentioned. Hence my name, you can tell I am a big fan of this show. I love all the episodes, especially the Imaginationland trilogy, made into a made for TV movie basically. The show is without a doubt one of my favorites, and I really don't care who knows it or not. South Park is great. The only episodes I really hated were "Stanley's Cup" and "Major Boobage", but the rest of the series is pure gold.

10/10
17 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Probably one of the funniest, most irreverent shows on television - I love it!
MovieAddict201618 August 2005
When "South Park" first came out I ignored it and thought it was another passing fad for young kids. I never gave it a chance. I figured it was crude for the sake of being crude and didn't watch more than five minutes of an episode.

Then I saw the movie, which I thought was just about one of the funniest things ever. "Uncle F***a" had me in tears. "Bigger Longer & Uncut" is one of the most consistently funny films I've ever seen, and even as a musical/animation it worked very well.

So I gave the TV show another chance. I fell in love with it. I watch it much more now. Sure, it is very crude, sometimes a bit too much so. It's immature and juvenile. But it's also very clever.

Trey and Matt get away with loads of stuff other people could never get away with on TV. I don't know how they keep pushing the boundaries. One episode of "South Park" had so much swearing, a profanity was outlawed from public television "indefinitely." Sometimes the gags are kind of lame because they are so juvenile, but for the most part it's really funny. Matt and Trey basically do all the voices including celebrity impersonations.

I think this is a really clever, really self-satirical show that's sorely needed during times as restrictive as these. With "South Park" pushing the boundaries on public TV we can all sleep safely at night knowing our nation's level of tolerance is in good hands.
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Creative and Intelligent, the best satire out there
fatehsmann14 December 2010
How creative are the makers of this show,making over 200 episodes, with each one (except the famous episode-Scott Tenorman must die) featuring at least two plots, each plot being somehow inexplicably and bizarrely linked to the other? Whether it was More Crap (the episode in which Bono got ripped) or Insheeption (the parody on Inception), the makers have an amazing talent of starting a story in one direction, completely veering it on its head and then proceeding, while adding further, random elements to it, all adding to the chaotic but somehow congruous final product. Southpark isn't about the witty one-liners or sarcasm that Friends was built on. It's a delightful mix of completely unsubtle and in-your-face profanity and vulgarity with satirical humor dispensed both openly and cryptically. It's bottom line is to rip on everything and everyone,from businessmen to environmentalists,from politicians to activists, no one is spared. It routinely blows normal situations to ridiculous and comical proportions and the makers set no boundaries for in this show, absolutely anything can happen. And its funny. It brings up normal everyday things, and shows us the funny side. It hardly ever takes one side, but rips on both of them. This is one of the most intelligent shows out there. It's a slap in the face of the overtly-sensitive, the conservative and the insensitive and the liberal at the same time. It's a satire. It's gross and graphic. It has no boundaries. It's racist and insensitive, but in a light manner. It's controversial and contemporary. Bottom line-It's one of the best TV shows of all time.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
South Park
grossincoming37 October 2014
South Park was a great, great show back in the day. Its satirical, clever humour, its hidden gags, its characters. This was a show ingeniously constructed and was far and away the best cartoon back in the day. Seasons 1-6 are the best in my opinion, that was when the stories were at their peak and the jokes were most fresh. Personal favourites were "Pip", "Cartman's Silly Hate Crime" and "The New Terrence And Phillip Movie Trailer".Seasons 7-11 were watchable, but lacked that definitive edge that the first 6 seasons had. After Season 13 finished, I stopped watching; the show had gotten too ridiculous with its plots and the show had lost a lot of its humour.

I feel the reason why South Park went on a steady decline when the 6th season finished was not down to lack of ideas or originality in their episodes, it was down to character development. Cartman was affected the worst; in the earlier seasons he was a spoilt, cynical egotistical character that was the center of all jokes in the show. He was a brilliant character and whenever he spoke, you could guarantee that a joke was soon to follow. Slowly though, he transformed from this childlike character to this evil, spiteful character that had a lack of apathy for his friends and the other South Park residents. I also did not like the replacement of Pip Pirrup. Pip was a great character and had a lot more potential that his replacement, Butters. Pip was my favourite character in the show; he was a caring, happy-go-lucky character that also possessed a mean streak when taunted by another character. He was a very solid, dimensional character and his presence drew in an international audience and I'm still confused to this day why he was pretty much ostracized from the show. Butters is a weak, generic character who offers little in terms of plot development or storyline. I also don't like how they pushed Kenny out of the main gang as well, he was a great character in his own right, a fearless, brave character who is willing to fight for his friends; the juxtaposition of the gutless Butters. Giving good characters such as Officer Barbrady, Mr Mackay, Big Gay Al, Chef, Jimbo and Ned less air time and promoting characters such as Randy Marsh (the most overrated character in the show) was also a big mistake.

Overall, the first six seasons are easily a 10/10, but the ones after are less funny and have weaker story lines, which is why I give this a 7/10.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Twisted adult homur
delenn723 June 2014
I like some episodes of this show. South Park in recent years has been more about the town and it's other characters; not always just focused on the four young boys. Garrison seems to no-longer have in drama with his sexuality, gender or any drama for that matter; Liane id not really a sex manic at the moment. But certain things haven't changed; Cartman is a bigot that makes him the character who is he. Butter is always confused or curious. Stan is always righteous, Kenny seems to be Princess Kenny/Mytserion or whomever he wants to be, Kyle is still a Jew. So this show may go onto it's 20th season. Well let the twisted humor live on!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Grossest and Funniest and Most Honest Comedy
PartialMovieViewer12 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I started watching this show a couple of years ago. The first episode I watched had the "Timmy" character as the main star (?). Of course - I immediately thought to myself, "Is there no shame…is there?" I was also - laughing so hard, I could not stop crying. This is a show for those who have no political allegiance and were born with that rarest of attributes…thick skin. If you like this kind of humor (and I do) the laughs are non-stop, cutting edge and always outrageous. If you are offended easily, watch something else. Maybe a show like 'Friends' is right up your alley. You will hear the same overly-clichéd and acceptable hard-left jabs at conservatives, which are all reinforced by the tiring sounds of obvious laugh-tracks. These guys (on South Park…not Friends) are no one's lapdog. They dig at everyone and anything. Nobody is holier-than-thou and everyone wears a comedic target on their back. Because of this approach, I feel the show is more honest about its humor (much like, 'Saturday Night Live', was in the '70s), where nothing is sacred and nothing is expected. The big difference is that you don't have to wait the entire show for a laugh. The writers are not a bunch of Suzy-suck-ups and write on strictly impulse…now that is courage. Additionally, I think each one their little animated characters are destined to become cult-heroes…or not. Fun show and thanks for the laughs. I cannot wait to see the spin these guys put on 'The 2014 Sochi – Olympics."
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best !!! TV series I have ever seen
saurabhv11 December 2013
This is one of the wittiest television series. Characters are perfect. Voice for characters is so nice that it could not have been better. Eric Cartman bring totally unimaginable, humorous ideas. Butters, Stan, Kenny, Iyke all help bringing up taste to stories. I just love how they make fun of famous celebrities, TV series, movies etc. People might have issues with some of the stories and language used throughout, but if you like comedy with satire and some adult references you would enjoy this series.

I liked the episode based on Warcraft game(season 10,episode 8), if you are going to start watching it you can start with this episode.

Big applause for Trey Parker and Matt Stone the creators of South Park. They also have voiced many characters in the series.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed