Mousehunt (1997) Poster

(1997)

User Reviews

Review this title
94 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Genius
concordepa20 January 2003
When I first saw this movie in the theater, I did not really know what to expect. In the end, I never laughed so hard in my life. Granted, its not everyone's kind of humor (which certainly can be seen by the IMDB people that trashed it) but it is an extremely intelligent, yet slapstick dark comedy that may have you rolling on the floor.

I do not think that this movie is good for kids. From the very beginning, the movie isn't afraid to "cross the line" by causing upheaval at a funeral. But it handles things without the gratuitous use of sex, unlike most comedies these days.

Some of the funniest things about Mousehunt are in the details. (Keep an eye on the painting...) But the thing that I enjoyed the most was how the mouse was interweaved into the rest of the story. Although the movie isn't really about a mouse (it was about two brothers coming together in the wake of their father's death), I think we all could use a little chaos in our lives once in a while.
62 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Many hidden gems in this film........
bladerunnerdek4 February 2000
Nathan Lane just makes me laugh........this film is sophomoric and silly but it's so inept that it's hilarious, however improbable it might be. Christopher Walken is superb in his small role, and the mouse is magical ( notice he takes a dump in Walken's mouth at the end of his sequence ) , down to his sense of nostalgia ( pictures of Hawaii on his wall , and old mementos ) Don't dismiss this first time round, you'll need to view a few times to catch the clever inserts ( like when Nathan Lane says " akuna matata " to an Arab at the auction ) Also note the beautifully whimsical moments of labor within the garishly dated string factory.......a lot went into this and although it is ridiculous there are many things to love about this film.............James
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Laurel And Hardy Live !
aesgaard4129 March 2001
I love this movie because Nathan Lane and Lee Evans both seem to be doing an homage to the slapstick movies of Laurel And Hardy. One of my favorite actors, Nathan Lane has quite a few scenes where he looks like he's duplicating Oliver Hardy's mannerisms and quirks. Bronson Pinchot could have made a better sidekick especially for the physical humor, but even with Evans, the movie is a fast furious laugh riot as the guys try to catch one inescapable mouse which knows the house better than they do. Ian Abercrombie of Seinfeld fame also joins the fun as does veteran actor William Hickey of Wings in this his last role. The mouse which is in part portrayed by real mice, puppets and computer animation steals much of the movie as does a cat from Hades which then in turn unleashes a wild and funny John and Larry (Tom and Jerry ???) sequence far funnier than the sadisticly lousy cartoon. This movie rates a ten for humor, plot and camera effects as we see the world within the walls of our house.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Hilarious!
Steve C25 December 2005
This is one of those movies that catches you off-guard. As campy and seemingly silly as it is...it's still all around fun. From the first opening minutes you'll see some of the humor is a bit on the dark-side, which is what holds it's appeal. The brothers both seem dim witted, yet lovable. You see their just as fumbling and off as many of us have felt attimes, which helps us relate to the characters. The way the CGI andmouse was done gives a real sense of interaction, and a surprise cameo by a notable Hollywood HEavyweight is a nice surprise. Yet in the end, without giving too much away, it's about tolerance and someone trying to find a balance to everything and their surroundings. This falls along the ways of Babys Day Out. So if you enjoy prop driven humor and gag setups or just need a break from the stamped out Hollywood flicks, this is a MUST see and you'll find yourself laughing uncontrollably. :)
23 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Funny and touching
bob the moo30 June 2002
When their father dies, brothers Ernie and Lars inherit a rundown string factory and a run down house. When they find the house may be worth millions they set about renovating it to auction it. However they don't reckon on the house's one inhabitant – a small mouse – who has no intention of going anywhere.

In the wrong hands this could easily have turned into a cruel slapstick and nothing else. It's easy to see this sort of thing turning into a Home Alone type thing with the mouse dishing out cruel punishment after cruel punishment. However it's more than that, although it has elements of those films. The film is witty – mixing the slapstick with a more adult humour and, although the slapstick is cartoony, it is also clever and imaginative in most cases.

The strength of the film is in three performances. First and second is Lane and Evans, both have an air of Laurel and Hardy (especially Lane) and they make for a good double act. Lane gets to do his usual stuff while the more goofy antics of Lars suit Evans' stand-up routine background to the ground. However the main success is the mouse. In other hands he would have been a mere excuse for destruction, however here he has `humanity' – a character if you will. This is perfectly demonstrated by the unintentional chase with a nail gun – how dramatic! How tense! But also how touching – the mouse is given intelligence and has a motivation for what happens.

Of course at heart this is a kids film and it is a very good one at that. However these other points give it the feel that it was made for adults too. Certainly the inclusion of Walken as a pest controller is one no child will get.

Overall this is well made and is more that just a crude slapstick affair. It can be enjoyed on that level but it just feels that little more mature. To illustrate what I mean – can you imagine the difference if Chris Columbus had directed it? Now you've got me!
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
An overall sweet family comedy with enough comedy for the grown ups and enough cute mouse for the shorties.
slumlordian6 October 2006
Luna Macwilliams, age 6, Chicago, il.- 10 stars. "I love this movie because there are real people and a real mouse and it's real-ly funny! I also like the mouse's secret tricks that the viewer will wonder-how did he do that? Check out the mouse swinging across a chasm on a light bulb chain! It's amazing!" Kris- I give this movie 8 stars. Luna, age 6, gave it 10 stars and I thought since this is a family film, one I might not have seen without her, she deserved a voice. She gives a lot of kids flicks 10 stars, but not all. I thought the film captured the perfect feel of a cartoon, but done in live action. There are a few films that come to mind from the past that pulled off the cartoon feel, the Coen's Hudsucker Proxy, or more so even, Raising Arizona, Tim Burton's early films and a few others. None may be shot as perfectly in cartoon style as Mousehunt however, and none are as perfectly suited for kids age 3 to 10. Some of its visual delights could be called cinematic bliss, as great as anything procured by Welles or Lean. There is a fade from a white plastic home on a white cake that dissolves into a white home on a snowy white hill that should be shown in every film school. There is use of shadows and water that would make Ingmar Bergman proud. And of course, there is the mouse. The effects and photography are done so well that he convinced the kids he was real, and really smart and acrobatic. Lee Evans and Nathan Lane are perfectly cast as black and white characters. They don't look like they're related, Evan's too nice and Lane is too mean, but hey, it's a kids movie. Their characters work perfectly in the cartoon world they inhibit. They make you laugh, no matter how old you are. Christopher Walken plays an exterminator and it was right before he became overexposed in every other hip movie made. His best dialogue comes off-screen from a tape recorder. Walken could be just as funny on radio I guess, it's all in his verbiage. So rent or buy this for the family. It's one of those few gems that will have you all laughing at the same joke.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Predictable..... But Fun!
GrantCAGE10 June 2001
Nathan Lane and Lee Evans star in this fun and sometimes touching film as brothers Ernie and Lars who inherit a mansion from their father. They are really dissapointed when the mansion turns out to be an old dump! They're keen when they find out that it's worth an absolute mint! They go about selling it to a collector of LaRue houses for loadsa dosh but there's one problem.....the mouse living in it! Throughout most of the movie we see the two comic stars chasing after the mouse and coming off the worse for it! It's fairly predictable but still very funny and the storyline and the scripts are actually quite original. Nathan Lane was pretty good in this movie as was Lee Evans. I'd say that this movie appeals to adults and kids because it has a decent storyline and engaging comic moments. 8/10
22 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
a successful tribute to Tex Avery
dbdumonteil4 December 2002
What a pleasant comedy! Here's a movie that brings back a subject which was specific to the cartoons from the forties and fifties: the game of the cat and the mouse. Here, there's a real mouse and the cat is epitomized by the Schmuntz brothers who wish to get rid of her in order to sell an old but expensive house. The more the film advances, the more the traps prepared by Lars and Ernie Schmuntz are worked out: it begins with the simple, trivial trap: the mousetrap and it ends with the appearance of the mouse-exterminator ( an unexpected and irresistible Christopher Walken). In short, what it seems to be a child's play at the beginning of the movie, ends up becoming a merciless fight in which there'll be no winner, no loser... Gore Verbinski adopted an inventive and clever making and he rightly choose his actors. Nathan Lane and Lee Evans form an ideal duo, not very far from the legendary Laurel and Hardy. They've got a different personality but are united to kill this mouse. Moreover, the movie doesn't only focus on this "mouse hunt" but also on the Schmuntz brothers' efforts to earn money in order to save their father's string factory ( a world without string is chaos...). Let's add some hilarious and efficient gags ; the movie pays a tribute to Tex Avery. Dialogs that kick the bull's eye and some cues are powerful such as: "in this mouse's mind, you are the intruders" says Walken to the Schmuntz brothers. At last, the real mouse is, of course, a little pest (she's even compared to Hitler with a tail) but in parallel, Verbinski attempts to make her touching. At the end, a comedy without too many claims but efficient enough to please to a large public.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Laurel and Hardy vs. the mouse
filozof9 January 2001
Smuntz brothers are Laurel and Hardy type buddies inheriting an old house from the father. They discover that the house is a real classic and worth millions. However the current houseowner, one little mouse will give them a hard time.

Smuntz brothers'war with the mouse is really great fun. Christopher Walken as the Exterminator Caesar with his weird mouse hunt equipment is wonderful.

Don't hesitate to see this film. Though it is rather for kids, it has still much to entertain all. Enjoy it.
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A true family classic.
Alice Liddel14 February 2001
A children's film with a moral. Unlike a certain purveyor of saccharine entertainment, however, this moral is political, even metaphysical - if you exploit your workers, if you pursue greed until it makes you mad, if you break the ties that bind; if, in short, you snap the string, a Pandora's Box of chaos will be your lot, until you become a latterday Roderick Usher, your crumbling mansion a metaphor for your disintegrating mind.

With its Gilliam-like recreation of a dank, Orwellian universe; with its Tim Burton pervading of Gothic atmosphere; with its twisted Coens' live-action cartoon sensibility (imagine Christopher Walken in a children's film? Even better than that), and you have fun for all the family.
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One of the funniest movies I have seen
ctyankee122 September 2015
This movie is so funny. Nathan Lane and Lee Evans are the sons of a man that died that owned a string factory.

Right in the beginning the fun starts. The brothers argue about the color of Lee/Lars Smuntz's funeral clothes. As they walk down the stairs of the church the handle breaks off the casket, their father's body goes flying out of the casket, into the air and down a open manhole in the street.

The characters are all funny. The animation is amazing. Nathan/Ernie Smuntz has a restaurant and serves dinner to the Mayor who is very fat who is with his family. His daughters see a cockroach without a head running across the table. The Mayor realizes he has eaten the head. He falls back in the chair and passes out. The movement of this giant roach running on the table is so hysterical.

The sons inherit a house from their father who was kind of weird. No one lives in the house and when the men go there they find a mouse who is like the owner of the house. He crawls in all the spaces and takes what he wants and just takes over and causes problems for the sons. The animation of what the mouse does and what they do to catch it is so funny.

The sons end up hiring a man to trap the mouse. The exterminator is played by Christopher Walkens. He is really good in this movie. He has his own equipment and is experienced. He talks loud so the mouse will hear what he has to say because he believes the mouse understands him from his experience and he is trying to fool it. More laughter.

The mouse is smarter than everyone this is a great funny movie to see.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Fun Fare!
namashi_19 February 2015
'Mousehunt' was one of my favorites movies as a kid, thanks to its funny script, that held my attention, much more than I would've thought of. But even today, 'Mousehunt' remains as a fun fare, that hasn't lost its touch.

'Mousehunt' Synopsis: Two stumblebum inheritors are determined to rid their antique house of a mouse who is equally determined to stay where he is.

Don't ask questions & I can assure you 'Mousehunt' will prove to be nothing else but fun. Its twisty plot, coupled with the series of unfortunate events that happen to its protagonists, bring the house down on numerous occasions. Made with heart & joy, this 1997 box-office hit doesn't run out of gas, despite a few hiccups in its Screenplay.

Adam Rifkin's Screenplay, despite a few bumps, is a riot overall. Gore Verbinski's Direction is typically solid. Cinematography is grand. Editing is well-balanced. Art Design is comment-worthy.

Performance-Wise: Nathan Lane is stupendous, pitching in a genuine comedic performance from start to end. Lee Evans supports Lane, admirably. Christopher Walken is deliciously weird in a bit role. Vicki Lewis is first-rate.

On the whole, Wanna laugh & relax on a lazy weekend? Watch 'Mousehunt'. You won't be disappointed!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Gloriously silly, but tremendous fun
DAVID SIM10 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
MouseHunt has a plot that wouldn't have looked out of place in a Tom & Jerry cartoon. The idea is very simple. Two brothers inherit a rundown house from their late father. Hoping to renovate it, and auction it off to the highest bidder, they first have to evict a mouse that's made its home there. And what follows is an increasingly hilarious series of outlandish schemes, traps and slapstick.

The plot may be wafer-thin, and it is really a one joke film, but I love MouseHunt! It really is that funny. Director Gore Verbinski knows all about cartoon slapstick in live-action. Something that would reach overkill in his Pirates of the Caribbean films. But in MouseHunt, the short running time means that this is a more tightly plotted endeavour, and all the more enjoyable for it.

The film uses a combination of animatronics and CGI to create the mouse. And they really are very inventive. They undoubtedly used real mice for some stunts. Like the cute scene of the mouse running on top of a wheel of cheese like a giant hamster wheel. But the more difficult ones, such as swinging from a light-bulb cord, jumping onto a spoon, or hanging on for dear life to avoid being sucked up by a vacuum are all accomplished by some very impressive special effects. They recall the brilliance of the exceptional Roald Dahl film adaptation The Witches.

The mouse is the real star of the film, and you can tell Verbinski considers him the hero of the piece. Placing him up against insurmountable odds like an insane cat, fire-hoses and propane explosions, the mouse emerges triumphant every time. There is some wonderful slapstick in these scenes, and they're all perfectly orchestrated. I love the part when cat and mouse are inside a piano, running on the keys, and it sounds like an ominous film score.

Providing the human element, the two brothers Ernie and Lars Smuntz (Nathan Lane & Lee Evans) are both on top comic form. Evans gets to sport his usual stand-up shtick, and Lane is on fine form as the scheming older brother. He gets the lions share of all the best lines: "He's Hitler with a tail. He's The Omen with whiskers. Even Nostradamus didn't see him coming!"

The two of them take quite a beating over the course of the film. Like when they mousetrap themselves into a corner. Or a marvellously executed sequence that has them sliding down a flight of stairs in a bath, over a hill and onto a frozen lake. Then they go in the lake. It's an energetic piece of inspired lunacy that has you laughing so hard your sides feel like they're going to split open.

A lot of people who've reviewed MouseHunt have compared it to Home Alone. And not without reason. The violent slapstick is just about on a par, but believe me, the mouse is much more endearing than Macauley Culkin ever will be.

There's also a fine supporting cast. Vicki Lewis is perfectly horrid as Lars' scheming wife. But look out for Christopher Walken's star turn as the slightly mad and very twitchy exterminator Caeser. Like Ahab after Moby Dick, his mouse catching contraptions turn out to be his undoing.

Verbinski ensures that things never run out of steam, because wisely, he doesn't allow the mouse-catching to be the sum of the film's parts. MouseHunt avoids a pitfall most other films would have fallen into. He includes interconnecting subplots that form a more substantial backbone. Such as Lars' wife, April agreeing to help them with their financial problems so she can turn a larger profit when the house is sold. As well as the future of the string factory they too inherited from their father, who a couple of heavies are interested in buying. They're weaved into the plot and called upon when required.

All the different plot strands converge in the inspired last 15 minutes. The night of the auction. In one long, continuous running joke, the slapstick builds until it reaches critical mass. Its something that wouldn't have looked out of place in an episode of Frasier.

The final scenes are actually quite touching, and I liked the way the mouse proves to be Ernie and Lars' salvation in the end. MouseHunt is a real treat. Delivering laughs, heart and fun in equal measure. And the musical score by Alan Silvestri is one of his best in years.

Not to be missed!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
I remember laughing so hard
rubenvanbergen7 October 2013
It's been many years since I saw this film but I remember at the time (I would have been about 8 or 9 years old) I laughed and laughed. And that's exactly what this movie is supposed to do: make kids laugh. And if their parents get anything out of it that's a nice bonus. So everyone here who's critiquing it as if they were expecting an intelligent grown-up comedy (reviews whining about it being "crude" or even "too dirty" - seriously?) have only themselves to blame and should probably have a bit of a think about what they're doing knocking a funny, innocent kids movie for using slapstick and being a tad predictable (that's what's great about being young: clichés are often still new and so execution is more important than novelty).

If you are a child or have one, this movie will not disappoint.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A world without Laughter is chaos
Farhan Mizra22 October 2012
Two brothers Ernie (Nathan Lane) and Lars (Lee Evans) inherit a museum- like thread factory and a debt-ridden mansion after the demise of their father. They soon discover that the mansion was designed by the infamous Charles Lyle La Rue, and actually worth millions of dollar. Eager to furnish and sell it, they forgot about the other "caretaker" of the house, a cute, cunning unnamed Mouse. Things got wacky when the brothers start to get rid of the mouse, using one method after another.

This film was like 15 years ago but its humor is still fresh. It's one of those comedy-films where you'd laugh at the same scenes, over and over again. The first family-film by Dream Works, I dare say it's a classic. Jokes and laughter aside, Mouse-hunt teaches audience the family value, the quality of life and… how to catch a Mouse. One should ponder deeply what Mr. Rudolf's saying - "A world without string is chaos" really means.

Verdict: Watch and laugh.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
"You have to get inside their mind. You have to know what they want, need. You have to think... like a mouse!"
Galina5 March 2009
This movie came with the highest recommendation from my friend who insisted that I should watch it. I missed it when it was released and I was not too eager to see a family live/animated drama about two simpletons who want to get rid of the mouse in the house but in the traditions of Tom and Jerry or Home Alone always get outsmarted by a much smaller but smarter, quicker and unpredictably creative opponent. But hey, when someone whose opinion I respect tells me that it is one of the greats and I must keep my expectations high, I at least should check it out and see for myself. The fact that it is included in many viewers' Top 10 lists like BIG TIME SLEEPERS, Forgotten Gems, and Laugh-out-Loud actually added to my interest and anticipation. Besides, any movie with Christopher Walken doing what he does best - a crazed, creepy, and funny character, is a must see.

So the story is simple - once there was a mouse, a very smart mouse that lived in an old mansion alone. One day, two brothers (rather losers) who inherited the house found out that it was a forgotten architectural masterpiece worth of millions. They wanted to sell, the mouse wanted to stay -thus the epic Mousehunt began. I am happy to report that I had a truly wonderful time watching the movie. It is darkly funny and creative. It combines live action and animation masterfully and seamlessly, and one hilarious scene runs after another without any pause culminating in the auction sequence that was made as an astounding mixture of slapstick comedy and disaster movie. Another favorite scene was at the animal shelter where Ernie (Nathan Lane) and Lars (Lee Evans) wanted to get the meanest scariest cat, "and preferably with a history of mental illness. I'm talking' one mean pussy", in short -not just a cat but Catzilla. Christopher Walken's exterminator who took his job very seriously by trying to get inside the mouse's mind and to think how the mouse thinks, delivered a delightful cameo. I also think that the movie benefits tremendously from its timeless look meaning that we don't know in what decade of the last century it takes place but that's exactly what makes it universal. It won't look outdated for many years from now.

The film was a first feature for its director Gore Verbinski, who had stunned millions of TV-viewers in 1993 when he created now legendary Budweiser commercial featuring three croaking frogs, for which he was awarded the advertising Silver Lion at Cannes and also received four Clio Awards. Verbinski then delighted the whole world with three (well, he delighted this viewer - with two) films of Pirates of Caribbean. For some reasons, Mouse hunt received controversial and rather harsh reviews from the critics that accused the film of not been able to find a target audience and not creating any characters the public could identify with and root for. I believe it is a great film for the whole family, and it talks about serious mattes while entertains. I was fascinated by the clever inventive little mouse, and the movie kept my interest and child-like joy until the very end. Even the fact that the premise of the movie in not new or original did not make it any worse. Lane and Evans are very funny together, and the movie is a work of art from the enormously visually and sound talented director, his cast, and his production team.

9/9.5
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Mousehunt
Jackson Booth-Millard4 March 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This is an early film from Pirates of the Caribbean director Gore Verbinski, his second, and I have to say it is a really good one. Basically the Smuntz brothers, Ernie (The Birdcage's Nathan Lane) and Lars (Lee Evans, after Funny Bones and before There's Something About Mary) have recently lost their father, Rudolf (Prizzi's Honor's William Hickey, who died soon after), they inherit the family string factory, and an old house. Lars, the loyal son, refuses to sell the factory, making his wife April (Godzilla's Vicki Lewis) mad and chuck him out, and Ernie, the not-so-honest son, has lost his five-star restaurant because of the Mayor's death (ate a cockroach). With no place to go, both of them sleep in the old house, but they soon find out the place is worth a fortune, the architect of 1876 was the famous Charles Lyle Lerue. They decide to fix the place up in ready for an auction, and Alexander Falko (Entrapment's Maury Chaykin) is the most likely high-profit buyer. The only problem they have while fixing the house is a mouse, so they are trying everything they can think of to hunt it down and get rid of it. This includes many mousetraps, a cat named Catzilla, a pest control man named Caesar (a brief but great Christopher Walken) and just chasing it and getting themselves injured to hell. Also starring Eric Christmas as The Smuntz's lawyer, Michael Jeter as Quincy Thorpe, Debra Christofferson as Ingrid and Camilla Soeberg as Hilde. Filled with hilarious slapstick, not just from Lee Evans (his trait) but Lane has some fantastic moments of frustration. This is great family fun, unless you have a thing with mice. Very good!
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Cute but not funny, stereotypes abound.
Kimble-318 March 1999
My wife Andrea and I waited several months for this film. We love animals. In fact, we have 17 gerbils, two cats, a dozen or so raccoons who come to the door, not to mention a wild house mouse we call Beatrice. But, unfortunately, Mouse Hunt is not funny. We never really get to know the mouse. Sad really. It could have been so entertaining. Instead we find cliches and stereotypes.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Not really my cup of cheese
smatysia1 November 2000
I guess I'm not the target audience for this film. It's like a live-action cartoon, with apologies to Warner Brothers. Any criticism I have really just means that I don't care for this type of movie. For instance, the actors ham it way up. But I understand that they are supposed to. The mouse, and other special effects are pretty good. If you like this sort of film, see "Mouse Hunt." If you don't, don't.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The Mouse Owns The House
Nick Damian1 January 2009
One of few comedies that is a true comedy.

For the most part, this entire movie can be a silent movie and still be just as funny.

The lead cast and even the supporting cast are great...but nothing beats the mouse...and I do mean...nothing beats the mouse.

A very creative film with some really cool concepts and absolutely hilarious structured story.

From the very opening scene to the very closing scene...pure genius. With clever storytelling, awesome effects and some bold daring stunts (BY A MOUSE) - this is one of the est films I've ever seen.

When I first heard of it, I thought that this movie was just a lame kids film - like most are, however I was very wrong.

Even William Hickey's part was great...and his menacing photo on the wall looked like it changed faces in every shot...did it? Superb story - even if it is largely animated...

  • and you might even feel sorry for the next mouse you try to catch.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
i am sick of home-alone-like films
Mickey Knox15 January 2001
This is crap from the beginning til the end. I am not kidding, it is the worst movie i have seen in a very very long time. I'm not gonna waste my time to tell you what the plot is - cause it is not too hard to guess. It's a copy of Home Alone, except that it's not a little boy against 2 stupid guys, but it's a little mouse against 2 stupid guys. The gags are not funny at all, i didn't laugh a bit, not even my younger brother who is actually the main reason i watched this film, didn't laugh at all. And it's not just that the gags aren't funny - they are not original either. The acting is absolutely horrible and the ending... phhh... it s*cks.

I totally disagree with one of the other users who said that this is for adults too. That is false. This is a misfortuned combination of Home Alone and Tom&Jerry cartoons. Nothing more.

Vote: 1 out of 10.
10 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Loads of awesome fun
NateWatchesCoolMovies2 August 2015
Gore Verbinski's Mouse Hunt is a comfort movie for me. I find myself revisiting it during times of stress or hardships, and it always has me laughing and feeling better. It's an overlooked classic in my opinion. Implausible? Yes. Silly? Oh yeah. But this is the movies guys, it's where we go to escape. And this one is an hour and a half of pure joy. Nathan Lane and Lee Evans are stellar as Lars and Ernie Smuntz, two bumbling brothers with an unmissable kinship to Laurel and Hardy, who fall on hard times financially. When they inherent a spooky old mansion in the sticks, life begins to look up as it seems the estate is still worth a tidy sum. There one problem: the house has a tiny, belligerent resident, a cute little mouse who is faster, smarter and more resourceful than them, and damn impossible to get rid of. From there the movie takes off in a funhouse of slapstick pratfalls, brilliant physical comedy, cartoonish and imaginative set pieces, and a sense of humour that's playful, yet ever so subtly not appropriate for kids. Verbinski is one of my favourite directors, with a very diverse filmography. He a.ways has a great sense of spectacle and action, winning us over with fluid, funny, balanced sequences of cinematic satisfaction (Pirates Of The Caribbean, Rango). The 1940's setting adds a cool twist and almost feels like a silent film type aesthetic at times. The supporting cast is speckled with knowing comic turns from various characters actors: Maury Chaykin eats the scenery, and everything in sight as a real estate debonair, William Hickey makes a ghostly cameo as the brothers father, and literally looks like he's on his death bed for real! When they inevitably call an exterminator, he's a wacky loony toon played but Christopher Walken because of course. Walken is time capsule gold as Cesar, bringing his well known loopy side to the short but sweet role. I don't get the negativity for this one. It's fun, beautifully crafted, great for kids but with a subversive, wink nudge bit of fun for the adults too, and made with an undeniable love for the screwball comedy, and cinema itself. Check it out.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
What happens when you combined the elements of the Coen Brothers with Laurel-and-Hardy and Home Alone, you get Mousehunt
adog199028 December 2013
This is one of my favorite comedies that I love and this is the film that made audiences skip Home Alone 3, to see this. While I love Home Alone and I am a fan of slap stick, this film is much better with the slap stick than Home Alone 3. This film is is the debut of Gore Verbinski (famous for the Pirates of the Caribbean trilogy and Rango) who does a really good job at mixing the elements of the Coen Brothers with Laurel-and-Hardy and John Huges in this funny movie. Although I love John Huges and I am one of his fans, Gore Verbinski had beating him in that year for the funniest slap stick movie. The humor is golden and laugh out loud and it has some wonderful Christopher Walken moments in it. If you are a fan of Home Alone and want something new in the slap stick world besides Home Alone 3. Rent this movie, it is a very funny film you and your kids will enjoy and laugh.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A major laugh-fest
KenseidenXL27 April 2002
This movie is actually an homage to the old "Tom & Jerry" cartoon strips of the 1940's through 1960's, especially when the brothers bring in a cat to try to kill the mouse. This is one the funniest movies I have ever seen. This was also one of the first movies to be released by Dreamworks studios, and it bodes well for future releases from them. Though the humor is mostly physical, one is always anticipating the next fiasco. THIS is a GREAT film for ANYONE! Especially for the family.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Mouse hunt review
mcancea17 January 2018
Mabye my favorite comedy. If I don't like this movie you have no brain the 6 out of tens are rediculas is easily one of the funniest movies ever made you have to been dumb to not like it. It is a film with nathaNathan lain and they are part of fhia string factory and find this house and they fix it up to have this occsion and they have a mouse i the house and it just gets crazy. The best part is it's its just kike a classic carroon it has all these crazy moments that you find in these cartoons no spoilers cuz not enough have seen this movie I don't think. This is for me the best movie of 1997 and holds up well now as a comedy and it is just amazing and hilarious and a must see if you like comedy' s.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews