Grosse Pointe Blank (1997) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
297 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Firing Blanks & a little romance
Greg Lord17 April 2000
I love this film! Starring John Cusack, England's patriotically-named Minnie Driver, plus Dan Ackroyd, Alan Arkin & Joan Cusack, ‘Grosse Pointe Blank' is funny, clever, action-packed & has a great ‘eighties soundtrack.

John Cusack - as the film's protagonist Martin Blank - is superb, & virtually carries the whole movie. He plays an assassin who started out working for the U.S. Government but has now gone freelance, having managed to rationalise his cold-blooded killing. He is an amoral, sharp, ruthless killer, but also vulnerably human, neurotic, conscience-ridden, tender & romantic. Despite these ostensibly impossible personality contradictions, you never once question that his character is real, you can't help but like the guy, & never stop hoping that things work out for him. Pulling this off is a remarkable achievement & Cusack does it brilliantly.

He reluctantly accepts a commission that takes him back to his hometown, Grosse Pointe, coincidentally at exactly the same time as his old High School reunion. While there he visits his childhood sweetheart, local DJ Debi (Driver), for the first time in 10 years – when in a fit of madness he had ditched her on their prom night to run off & join the army. As neither she nor anyone else had heard anything from him since then, her feelings about this are understandably rather mixed!

Blank visits his institutionalised Mum & the family home, which to his great distress is now an ‘Ultimart', & eventually convinces Debi to go with him to the reunion. His reacquaintances with his former schoolmates are very funny & even quite touching, & are sure to strike a chord with anyone who's ever been to one of those things.

Meanwhile various other assassins, chief of which is Blank's rival Grocer (Ackroyd – brilliant as ever) are out to kill him. Their reasons are many & varied – mainly involving an ‘Assassin's union', secret Government operations & a dead dog (yes, really!). As you can probably guess, these are not the sort of things that are conducive to a successful High School reunion, & mayhem ensues.

‘Grosse Pointe Blank' is extremely funny, full of deadpan, twisted humour - mainly from Cusack, but ably supported by Ackroyd & Arkin. I particularly liked the running gag of Blank's response to the inevitable "what do you do for a living?" question: a completely matter-of-fact "professional killer", which of course not one person takes seriously. I also loved the hilariously neurotic exchanges between Blank & his hounded shrink (Arkin), who ends every conversation with "Don't kill anyone!" There's also a lovely little story involving a pen...

The film is also a great action flick - it has some brilliantly choreographed & executed gunfight & hand-to-hand fight sequences – in fact some of the best I've ever seen. Cusack looks, or at least is made to look, like a pretty decent athlete himself. The finale is a real tour-de-force, & for me sums up the movie itself: a great gunfight, clever & hilariously funny.

This film is wonderful from start to finish – if you haven't done so already, see it now!
113 out of 126 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Consistently surprising and entertaining
SKG-222 February 1999
One of the complaints about movies these days, and justifiably so, is that they're predictable. This movie is not predictable, and I never thought I'd be able to say that about a movie with four credited writers. Every time you think you can guess where it's going, it throws a curve. It was also very funny, which is nice because good comedies are becoming a rare species. John Cusack continues to show what a great actor he is as hitman Martin Blank. He doesn't wink at the audience, saying, Oh look, I'm a hitman, but plays him as normal, with the right amount of misgivings and tenacity. Minnie Driver is quite good as the woman he's still obsessed with (although she was good in GOOD WILL HUNTING, she should have been nominated for this performance), and Alan Arkin and Jeremy Piven were good, as ever, in support. The surprise, however, is Dan Aykroyd. Just when I was prepared to write him off forever, he comes through with a great performance here. The soundtrack is terrific too, avoiding the cliched 80's songs to provide a fresh, and compatible, score.
91 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of my favorite films
lastliberal6 May 2007
Some movies have a good story that is made great by the casting. This is one such film. It has a cast to die for and makes what could have been an interesting film superb.

John and Joan Cusack play great characters along with Minnie Driver in a film about a hit man returning to his home town for a high school reunion. he reconnects with a lost love while competitors are trying to rub him out.

There is an assortment of characters in the film: Alan Arkin (Little Miss Sunshine) as Dr. Oatman; Dan Akroyd as Blank's main competitor; Hank Azaria, K. Todd Freeman and Jeremy Piven.

This film has enough laughs amid the shooting and romance to satisfy anyone.
41 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I'm drawing a complete...
Noir-58 January 1999
Good movie. Particularly the part where John Cusack is using the frying pan to put his point across to the bad guy on the kitchen floor. It's hard not to belly laugh. I thought it took cues from 'Blue Velvet', with its uncommon blend of humour and ultra-violence.

I read that parts of the dialogue were contributed by Cusack and a couple of [real-life] school friends, though cannot confirm this. It's believeable though - for example when he meets the legal guy propping up the bar at the re-union. His offering of the pen, the aside that Cusack should 'read the cap' and asking to use the funny quip - 'they all seem kinda related' - must have been based on a real person. Too sad to be fiction.

Minnie [cab] Driver, Joan Cusack and Dan Ackroyd personalise their performances very well. The support cast were excellent too. The music was an oddly enjoyable mix and the fight sequence with the pen was the most realistic (and exhausting) I'd seen. It was the attention to small detail which swung it in the end though. Cusack's buddy's coke-fuelled, paranoid banter was spot on ("Jenny Slater, Jenny Slater") as was the burning the fingers on the furnace, to name just two random details. The effect of this, is that they all add up to a movie which you can enjoy watching many times. And that makes it a rare gem.
72 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Movie
eastbergholt20022 December 2007
I love this movie. Grosse Pointe Blank is smart and witty and has a stunning 1980s soundtrack. Martin Blank (Cusack) is an angst ridden international hit-man who has stopped enjoying his work. He searches for meaning in his life and returns to Grosse Pointe, Michigan for his 10th year High School reunion and one last job. Blank meets his mom, some old friends and discovers that his childhood home has been knocked down to make way for a convenience store. He ponders his life choices and has recurring dreams about Debi Newberry (Driver) the girl he stood up on Prom night.

Blank's activities have attracted a collection of hit men trying to find an excuse to kill him. These include Aykroyd, two federal agents and a freelance Basque hit-man. There is a shoot-out at the end and overall the film has a large body count, but Cusack makes Blank seem like a lovable version of Jason Bourne. The film is something of an ensemble piece with great comic performances from Alan Arkin, Joan Cusack, Jeremy Piven and Aykroyd. The film pokes fun at the loner tough guy hero featured in so many Hollywood movies. At the time of its release the story was a little unusual but Mr and Mrs Smith has since explored similar territory of rich cosmopolitan assassins trying to blend into ordinary American life.

Blank spends most of the movie in pursuit of Debi. Will she forgive him? Will he have time to complete his assignment? This is my idea of a great movie. It's funny and clever and the characters are flawed but likable.
36 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A '90s classic!
jellyneckr2 June 2001
Although not nearly as popular as it deserves to be, GROSS POINTE BLANK has become an increasingly respected cult flick in the year following its theatrical release and it's not hard to see why. The movie is probably the only film on earth that is able to blend comedy, graphic violence, and romance together perfectly, which is what makes it such a classic. John Cusack is excellent as Martin Q. Blank, a hit-man who attends his ten-year high school reunion. At first he doesn't want to, but decides to go since he has a case there and he wants to see his old girlfriend Debbie (Minnie Driver) again. This dark comedy is heavy on exciting action, suspense, gunfire, laughs, and fun, but it doesn't have not quite enough character development for my taste (a bit more on how Martin became accustomed to killing would have been nice). Still, GROSSE POINTE BLANK was one of the best films of 1997 and one of the better comedies of the 1990s. There were rumors of a sequel happening for a while, though the chances of that happening are slim to none. Too bad.
48 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Nutshell Review: Grosse Pointe Blank (1997)
DICK STEEL8 January 2006
I've keeping my run of John Cusack movies with each trip to the library. Not that I'm on the lookout for his old movies deliberately, it just happens. Not that I'm complaining, but he's always been one of the few who play characters so diverse, it's almost impossible to stereotype him. He's fast becoming one of my favorite actors, besides Morgan Freeman, and Denzel Washington, amongst others.

School reunions are one of those social events that you either love, or loathe. If you're a somebody back then, and are sort of somebody right now, it presents to you an opportunity to brag about it. If you're cruising along fine, then you're probably curious about how others are doing, and want to take stock. If you're a nobody then, or now, then you'll probably not want to attend at all.

John Cusack plays Martin Blank, a professional hit-man whose at the crossroads of that decision. 10 years ago, he abandoned his date for the prom, and never made contact ever since. Also, he's wondering how he could possibly tell anyone about his current profession. He's also finding that life is becoming meaningless, and is seeking for something to lift him up from the doldrums.

His secretary (played by real life sister Joan Cusack - there are a total of 4 Cusack siblings in this movie) arranges a perfect opportunity for him to mesh work and play, and packs him off back to Grosse Pointe. Naturally he seeks out his old flame Debi Newberry (Minnie Driver), and tries his best to make amends by offering to go to the reunion with her.

However, his nemesis and hit-man rival Grocer, played to hilarity by Dan Ackroyd, is mad at Blank for not wanting to join up in his union, and he wants to bump Blank off. He's provided with some of the best dialog, and banters with Cusack so well, you just beg for more of their scenes together.

It's a quirky movie (aren't most of Cusack's movies) which is thoroughly enjoyable with its excellent selection of songs, wonderful dialog, and delightful action toward the end. Watch out too for a short appearance by Jenna Elfman! The Code 1 DVD is nothing to shout about - the bare bones version.
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Quirky, lively, kind of like Cusack himself
ill_behavior24 October 2003
Cracking little film, great fun.

The chemistry between the characters is good, the dialogue is funny, the premise itself is a novel idea and it could have been really poo, but it wasn't. It's dark, but at the same time manages to float very lightly

"They all have husbands and wives and children and houses and dogs, and, you know, they've all made themselves a part of something and they can talk about what they do. What am I gonna say? "I killed the president of Paraguay with a fork. How've you been?" "

The fact that movies now have to be events that are glorified Mcfilms takes away the reasoning of why films like this should be more popular, but aren't.

Watch it.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wonderfully fun comedy
bob the moo17 October 2001
About the same time as this film was made there was a spate of hitman focused comedy dramas (from Leon to Coldblooded) so this risked being viewed in the same way as these. This is strictly a comedy - there's no deep soul searching here, the analyst is also in it for comedy value.

The story is funny and lively, the soundtrack reminded us that not all 80's music was rubbish and the whole feel of the film is one that it must have been fun to make. John Cusack is excellent as the hitman, he just seems to bring the character to life and play him in a jokey way without making fun of the film, Dan Akroyd gets the best role he's had in years as the hitman trying to get Cusack to join his union, while Minnie Driver is girly and fun - the whole cast are excellent in fact!

The film is not a classic by any means and many see it as a down side that it ignores any serious issues or that the film is set so far away from reality but for me this is part of the fun. Sit down, don't take it seriously and just enjoy the ride!
42 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilariously Light and Fluffy, Yet Dark Comedy
gavin694221 August 2006
Sometimes one bad apple ruins the whole thing. One drop of taint makes the best things in life go bad. An this movie was full of potential taint. It could have been Minnie Driver (the weak point of "Good Will Hunting"). It could have been Dan Ackroyd (whose comedic routines can go from great in "Ghostbusters" to stupid in "Coneheads"). Or maybe it could even have been the fact the writers and director really have no prior experience in making a big film. But the potential taint never happened and this film came out almost flawless.

Minnie Driver was given such a small role that her poor acting and unbelievable character (which, I guess isn't her fault) could be overlooked and placed in the margin. Not her worst performance, but not her best (which might be "Beautiful").

Dan Ackroyd was superb, actually presenting us one of the funnier yet darker villains in cinematic history. His delivery of Bible verses while shooting willy-nilly through a target's house? Diabolical! The directing was respectable and the writing was spot-on. Some great dialog between the characters and the story could not be beat. Seriously.

The Cusacks? Oh my! John Cusack is a winner in everything he's ever done (besides maybe "One Crazy Summer"). This movie is one of his best, almost as memorable as "Say Anything" (though that one is flatly unbeatable). Joan Cusack was also pretty cool as a receptionist and her rapport with John is clear and shines in the film. I'm not buying a phone from her, though. And John's sparring with his kickboxing instructor? Those lessons have paid off! Jeremy Piven? Stupendous, as good if not better than his "Chasing Liberty" role. Having starred in 10 films with John Cusack, this is probably their best together.

There are so many more praises I could heap on this movie, but I shouldn't have to. If you want to see a funny, quirky and well-crafted tale about a professional hit-man and a high school reunion, this is your film of choice. You might rent "Michelle and Romy", but not only will you not get the hit men, but you'll get a piece of dog doo, as well. So choose wisely.
23 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I killed the president of Paraguay with a fork. How have you been?
tieman6419 October 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Directed by George Armitage, "Grosse Pointe Blank" stars John Cusack as Martin Blank, a neurotic hit-man who has spent the last ten years of his life stuck in an existential rut. As such, Blank spends most his time contemplating the meaning of life, reading magazines titled "making sense of creation" and brooding about the perceived pointless of all existence. If life has no worth, Blank muses, then why not profit from killing?

In true Woody Allen fashion, Blank discusses all these issues with his psychiatrist (played brilliantly by Allan Arkin). He's searching for some meaning, anything to fill a certain existential void, an emotional roller-coaster which Cusack has made a career out of conveying. Indeed, Cusack made a name for himself in the 1980s playing wisecracking teenagers who struggle with adulthood, are contemptuous of others and posses an inner wisdom. You might say "Blank" takes these characters and pushes them toward sociopathy.

Cusack has always been cool, but here he oozes ultra-cool, ever body motion, mannerism and gesture fine-tuned. The film offers an endless stream of witty dialogue, numerous neat, subtle touches (Blank is very picky about where he sits), a killer soundtrack and a hilarious subplot featuring Dan Aykroyd as a fast-talking, overweight hit-man. Aykroyd's attempting to set up a hit-man trade union ("Solidarity!"), but Blank's not interested in joining. The duo share a priceless scene in a café, both men with weapons hidden under a table.

Bizarrely, "Grosse Pointe" marries at least six genres. It's a high-school reunion movie, an assassin flick, a return-to-small-town movie, a romantic comedy, action film and 1980s teen nostalgia flick. Armitage handles the tropes of all these genres well, but outdoes himself with the film's many action sequences. They're surprisingly well choreographed, particularly an intense fist-fight with famed martial artist Benny Urquidez.

Much of the film plays like a 1980s, teen flick. Here Minnie Driver's the object of Blank's affection, she playing the girl Blank abandoned 10 years earlier at a high school dance. Blank's attempting to reconnect with her as a means of escaping what is essentially a stasis borne of nihilism and apathy, a fact which gives the film's eighties nostalgia some touching subtext. Blank wants to mend his childhood, to start over, but the universe won't let him. In the end, it's Driver who embraces Blank's philosophy, though Blank changes a little too. In one scene, holding a baby whilst Queen waffles on the soundtrack ("...dares you to change your way of caring...."), Blank learns something about the fragility and preciousness of life. Seconds later he kills a guy and dumps the body in a furnace. Baby steps.

The film's romantic climax is rushed and unconvincing, and Minnie Driver irks with the facial bone structure of a caveman. Still, "Grosse Pointe" is some kind of classic, and in a way continues the evolution of the hit-man genre (from Yojimbo to Le Samourai to The Professional (1980) to Nikita to Leon to Ghost Dog to Grosse Pointe Blank). Here, Cusack acts as a sort of deconstruction of the Hit-man. No longer is he an angel of death (Melville's film), or a mentally damaged human, but a totally self-aware, thoroughly postmodern, neurotic wreck. The film completely autopsies the genre, which will probably lead to a lot of noble, somber, "stable" and "righteous" hit-man movies in the future. Every genre's eventually reset.

9/10 – Cult classic. See "High Fidelity" and "Pump Up The Volume".
28 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Love
sharkwrangler115 November 2003
I found this movie wonderfully complex and startling close to issues in my life. If you can't follow the psycho-babble and jerky dialogue, then you probably don't get Dennis Miller comedy either. I love John's work and was delighted to enjoy his work over and over. I do have one request. Someone, anyone, please, tell me the name of the song playing in the background while John holds the baby in the reunion scene. I couldn't find it on the soundtrack or in any listing. Please, email me with the answer. I'll send you a souvenir from Juwanna Mann or the Patriot if you help me. Thanks.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I bought it for $5
MrsRainbow20 January 1999
Great soundtrack, solid cast, and so many offbeat moments make this a great watch. I love the scene where Cusack and Driver meet for the first time in 10 years. Weave back and forth warily, kiss frantically for five seconds, and then withdraw and stare again. It's very hard to pick a best scene but I would choose Cusack talking to Driver's father before they head out to the reunion. Love the dialogue. And I'm not a child of the 80s.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hit men need love, too...
Howlin Wolf28 November 2007
Warning: Spoilers
... but where to find it when even your own therapist is afraid of you? We all have feelings that maybe old friends are quietly judging us when there's a meeting after a long time and we're invited to share what we've accomplished in our lives; so imagine how persistent that sense of awkwardness must be if it turns out that you've become a professional killer. In such a position, is it possible to rectify past mistakes, or will you always be marked out as a loner following a lethal agenda?

One of my favourite sequences in the film is when Martin Blank returns to the house he grew up in, only to find that it's been razed to the ground and turned into a convenience store. Any fond memories he might've held concerning his old identity have been destroyed, and instead of the chance to reminisce, he finds himself pitched into a gun battle inside this most blatant symbol of personal change. How can he complain about such mercenary corporate acquisitions of land, when he himself has chosen his morally dubious career also for the pursuit of profit? The person who is the highest bidder wins the spoils, and if he wants to rekindle his lost love, then he'll have to be brave enough to confront old ghosts from the past at his high-school reunion.

John Cusack has always been skilled at projecting a low-key, angst-ridden conscience on film, and Minnie Driver is also perfect playing the level-headed lass who often evaluates situations with a kind of bemused detachment. With the help of the rest of the cast, the pair make this off-kilter romantic comedy glide smoothly along, and help to guarantee that there's also room left over for a few moments of poignant reflection. "Grosse Pointe Blank" is a film that hits all of its Gen X targets with ruthless efficiency.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best dark comedy's ever
alisdair-9252819 March 2016
I love this film the dark comedy and choice of soundtrack is amazing and the cast work so well together . It works on many levels and I have to say it's amazing. John cusaac is a great actor. His ability to portray a dark souls and yet keep aspect of him redeemable and funny. Dan ackroyd is comedic genius and has a good touch of phycopathic lunacy. Joan cusaac has a great ability to to go hot and cold in a blink of an eye is perfection as the put upon assistant. Minnie driver displays a range not seen in her earlier rolls and to be honest not seen since. The whole film set around a hit man reaching a midlife crisis of sorts and having the ability to go back home. Choices made and a future of new found respect for life is fun. The action sequences are completely believable and no gratuitous unrealistic expectations of gun play and hand to hand fighting. The pen really is mightier than the sword.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sharp and Pointy Forks
**AmyG**2 June 1999
This has to be one of the best movies I have ever seen, and I've watched it a couple thousand times.

I really love John Cusacks acting, and having his sister in it was nice.On the bad side most of the music was awful and some of the swearing was out of character. But the expression on John Cusack's face when he said it made up for it.

The funniest bit had to be near the end where he was shooting and talking at the same time, and the 'fork' line. But there was so many good little touches- This is going to be the first movie I'm going to buy on DVD when I get a player.

I think it deserves 10/10
18 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love John Cusack
Huda_ramadan14 October 2018
I don't know how many times I watched this movie, but I still remember that it is the best that I've ever seen. John's funny soul and beautiful acting make it great.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just not funny
Irish-Sunglasses13 May 2003
Warning: Spoilers
What a confused movie this is. Is it a comedy? A Pulp Fiction wannabe? A John Hughes Eighties High School movie? It tries to be all three, but in doing that it fails to be what it needs to be: a good movie.

It's very Pulp Fiction-ish in its use of "witty banter during extreme gunplay." The John Hughes element is obvious...Cusack could even be the same character from Better Off Dead ten years later. In fact, THAT would have been funny, but I digress.

If it's an action movie, I think Cusack and Aykroyd are miscast. Maybe not Cusack so much, but Aykroyd just sucks. As in most action movies, the characters use their guns like hoses and only reload after 50 shots have been fired from a pistol that holds 10 bullets.

The romance is not convincing. There's just no chemistry between Driver and Cusack, and not much time is spent on them. Nor is enough time spent with Cusack's old school friends and enemies, which could have been fodder for a better movie.

Particularly shocking is the violence in this supposed comedy. (SPOILERS) Cusack's encounter with the "ghoul" in the school ends disturbingly, in my opinion. And I have no problem with violence...Pulp Fiction was great, but of course it wasn't marketing itself as a comedy! And the gunning down of the two NSA agents at the end just makes no sense and didn't seem to even fit with where the movie was supposed to go.

The movie could have been FUNNY if Cusack's character was a bumbling hitman, not an expert assassin. But hey, that's just my opinion.
19 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Public Is Smarter, More Moral Than Film Critics
ccthemovieman-110 October 2007
When it comes to movies, the public usually will give you a lot better idea about the merits of a film. I can't recall how many times I have seen a "critics favorite" be a piece of garbage while another film the critics dismiss was a big hit and a good movie to watch.

This is another example of one of those critics' favorites, one of these modern- day black comedies in which the humor is almost nonexistent and the characters are mostly annoying. Make no mistake: Minnie Driver IS annoying, big-time, in the female lead "Debi Newberry."

I like quirky characters in films, but if you don't pull it off right, those weirdos aren't funny, they are just dumb. In "Fargo," they are funny; in this they are stupid. And if you are looking for good-guy hit men (oxymoron?) stick with Jean Reno in "Leon,." not John Cusack's character in this box-office flop.

Give the public credit: it has infinitely more sense than your daily newspaper critics.
21 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Another Cusack disappointment
susansweb14 January 2002
What is it with John Cusack movies? They always sound good but when I see them, I don't like them. In this movie, a hit man with a burgeoning conscience decides to go to his 10-year high school reunion but has to deal with a hit man union out to get him at the same time. It sounds promising and as with all Cusack movies has a great soundtrack and some pretty good lines. But I had a very hard time believing that Cusack was a hit man. He always strikes me as somebody trying very hard to be cool but can't quite pull it off. The only other person that I would have an even harder time seeing as a professional killer would be...Dan Aykroyd. His performance as a psychopath is even harder to watch. This movie was also too violent. I know that it is a black comedy and some other good comedies are more violent but in this one, the violent scenes seem to belong in another movie. The ending is particularly unsettling, with Cusack and his snappy patter blowing away the bad guys. The only thing that keeps this movie from sinking into the really bad movie morass is the aforementioned soundtrack and a nice performance from the always welcome Alan Arkin.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Highly Overrated
zombear2 February 2002
I don't really see the appeal of this movie. I thought "Hey, hitman goes to class reunion... That ought to be good." and was really looking forward to seeing it, but boy was I disappointed. It's not very funny and I find it impossible to like John Cusack's character (or any of the other characters, for that matter.) Not to mention the presence of the ever-aggravating Joan Cusack. Ugh. Why does John keep dragging her into his movies? Or is it the other way around? Anyway, it is better than High Fidelity, so at least there's that. For a funnier, more exciting, just-plain-better hitman movie, check out The Big Hit. For a better class reunion movie, see... oh wait. There are no good class reunion movies. For a better 80's soundtrack, see The Wedding Singer. Or even American Psycho (though, technically, much of that music is early 90s, I think. But hey, it's also a better movie where the main character kills folks regularly.)
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not Exactly En-Grosse-ing!
sddavis632 October 2007
It seems at least vaguely possible that this movie provided a bit of inspiration for "The Sopranos," as its main character, Martin Blank (John Cusack) is a hit man who has so many issues from his past and his profession that he's in therapy trying to deal with it all. Everything finally comes to a head at his 10-year high school reunion. The problem was that by the time Blank got to the reunion I had stopped caring. Frankly, I found this movie a drag from start to finish.

It had potential. There was a reasonably good cast, headed by Cusack and Dan Aykroyd, playing Grocer, his arch-rival in the hit-man business, along with Minnie Driver as Debi, Blank's high school sweetheart who he stood up on prom night, and a limited role for Alan Arkin as Dr. Oatman, Blank's psychologist. That fairly talented cast never really seemed to come together, though. The drama lacked intensity and the comedy lacked real humour. What I thought had the most potential to be a comedic storyline was Grocer's proposal for a hit man's union, but aside from becoming a bit of a running joke, the idea never really got developed. As for the romance, one wondered why Debi would even think of letting this guy back into her life.

There were a handful of chuckles, but nothing really caught me and held me and I spent most of the movie wondering whether this thing was ever going to start to click. It never did - not for me, at least. 2/10
13 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Sloppy and unimaginative
mbrailer13 September 1998
I found "Grosse Point Blank" messy, confused and unimaginative. From the opening scenes, with upbeat music clashing with what should have been a tense contract killing, I could see that the movie was going to abandon sensible values like pacing, mood setting, etc. for random gimmicks and quirks. (Even naming the lead character "Blank" in order to give the film its oh-so-clever title was probably a lot funnier to the filmmakers than the audience.)

Minnie Driver does a great American accent, but if you listen, you can hear a little British slip through in a couple of scenes. John Cusack is good, but his sister Joan seems to be acting too intensely in her scenes.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A movie to forget
mkmacauliffe19 May 2005
This movie is one of the most boring movies I have seen so far. In this movie there are only two good scenes and the pace is okay, but otherwise it is a rather silly or even preposterous movie. Story is as well ridiculous. There are no other funny things about and everything is exaggerated. The actors and actresses are okay, although I have seen better movies from Cusack, Akroyd and Driver. I would recommend Blues brothers for Dan Akroyd, Good Will Hunting for Minnie Driver and Con Air for Cusack. If you haven't seen this movie, you haven't missed much. The percentage of reality is very low (what could happen in reality) and also as a fiction there are better ones.
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Sharp comedic executioner...Cusack , 'dead-pan' master
buzznzipp199529 October 2006
Although, this had a very well together cast of players, it seemed to not make it as big as I believe it should have. Cusack, is 'on' in this curious hitter comedy action flick, from the Midwest. I worked in a movie, back in 1994 with his brother Bill. In all those in the Cusack family that are working, I haven't heard bad reports about any of them. And you know how bad news amongst the actors travel? Very fast. I have seen a real mild mannered good guy in Bill. He was in fact refreshing. From all the wannabes in that movie who were looking to get attention and all the rest, Bill Cusack was a 'real' friendly type. Seemed unassuming, calm, smart and well mannered. So when I watch the stories that they are involved in, I am always curious what they will play out like. I truly enjoyed the sharp-witted and faster-on-the-trigger, agile hit-man that John proved to be in Grosse Point Blank.

I like the way he is, thinking about his life and pondering what it is that he is doing now and will do in the future. He doesn't mis-focus either. Even under heavy handed pressure from the competition. Sincerely, Dr. Oatman, (Arkin) is masterfully the frustrated, out of answers for the patient, Psychiatrist that he has run out of patience with that patient, and never really wanted in the first place. Debi, old flame, new love, one in the same. These two have a sort of building up to it, 'Love magic' if they can make it through the problem of his employment. He shows strength in his character's direction and yet he is sympathetic and brings compassion to a dead drunk loser from his high school education's past. Piven adds a funny edge to the story as his old buddy from school, Paul Spericki, the wild real estate, pot smoking old time stories from the past good time pal! Who is a mis-directed, coward at heart. But alas, he comes around to a point in his life as even I did, when contemplating the little baby boy, (at his reunion) he locks eyes with. That is a curiously lost in the moment stare, that he takes with the infant. He finally starts to figure out what his life means for him as well as to him. Answers to a dark mystery he has been living with for years.

The only reason I did not give this 10 out of 10 and I probably should have considering, the well thought out character development and story, etc, was Ackroyd's, Grocer's 'fouler than that'-mouth. Even though I was aptly into all else that this story was telling.

I recommend this, see John do it again. Especially on Cleanfilms.com...I don't really mind who agrees or disagrees with my commentary about the film or the cursing.(****)
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed