The Rock (1996) Poster

(1996)

User Reviews

Review this title
421 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
With enough energy to generate an entire city, The Rock will absolutely blow you back into the 90s.
diac22811 July 2008
The 90s was home to a slew of great raw, uncut, action flicks that shot straight for the rated "R," despite the guarantee that it would make less money than the money-friendly PG-13 rating. While Die Hard and Lethal Weapon may have jump-started this craze, the peak of this was during the next decade, when we saw the likes of Terminator 2, Speed, Face-Off, Con Air, Die Hard: With a Vengeance, The Matrix, Bad Boys, Point Break, Under Siege, True Lies, Desperado, among others (Quite a list I accumulated, eh?). The 90s was certainly a good decade for action fans, but few movies of this genre can quite top the powerful, gripping, and edge-of-your seat action blockbuster The Rock. The name alone sounds powerful, and behind it is two hours of incredible special effects, superb acting, great action set pieces, and good dosage of writing, and Michael Bay on top of his game.

Few action movies carries as much morality and questionable circumstances as this one. In The Rock we follow a furious general (Ed Harris) leading a group of Marines to take control of Alcatraz Island (along with tourist hostages), a location that used to house criminals. Accompanying them are over a dozen missiles that can spell tens of thousands of innocent lives with every blast. However, he isn't just a trigger-happy man gone crazy, he is a man seeking justice for the dozens of lives he saw taken from warfare without compensation. A villain with a "moral" agenda, yikes. The only hope for the United States is the only man that has ever broken out of that prison (Sean Connery) and a chemical "superfreak" (Nicholas Cage). With the odds obviously against them, the Pentagon is one order away from destroying the entire location regardless of the innocent lives located in the island. Mindless this movie is not, as the stakes are high, there is always a risk of an innocent life going under, and our heroes rarely ever have the scenario under control. It's just enough to make you squeal in frustration.

With the tension remaining edgy and the solution never being oh-so-close, we can thank the writers for delivering a slam-bang storyline full of great one-liners, likable characters, and a villain that isn't as simple to figure out as the average evildoer. The writing staff ranges from the writer of the third Die Hard to even Tarantino. A major reason for the film's quality is the casting. Sean Connery and Ed Harris are excellent in their roles and Nicholas Cage albeit a few lines does a good job. The supporting staff helps as well, as we see the likes of David Morse, John Spencer, and Cage's love interest Vanessa Marcil.

Unlike Michael Bay's latest films, which run from mediocre to just plain bad, he blends plenty of drama and suspense along with action here. As a matter of fact, the first half of the movie is all suspense, as the situation is developed, and the risks are presented. Disregarding a superb car chase, there isn't much exploding in the first 80 minutes. However, once the protagonists enter the Rock, it all goes on the uphill action swing. We get brutal fights, brutal shootouts, near-misses, double-crosses, triple-crosses, chases, and enough explosions for action fans to sink their teeth into. The funny thing, the two main actors at the time weren't expected to be in such action. Connery was aging, and Nicholas Cage just didn't have the look or the attitude for it. Fortunately for us, they proved us dead wrong.

Bottom Line: If you want to see a true action classic, The Rock is a great example. Rising above the average action movie and above the decent ones as well, this is by far Michael Bay's best work and one of the signature flicks of the 90s. Combining tension you can cut with a steak knife with thrills, chills, and plenty of carnage, The Rock has aged well and continues to influence the work of modern action movies and the work of Michael Bay as well. Grab some popcorn and enjoy this ruthlessly clever movie. Recommend to the max, as long as you don't mind a bit of blood spewing onto the screen. They just don't make em' like they used to.
100 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Definitely underrated!
F0RCE21 March 2001
"The Rock" combined action, adventure, comedy, romance, special effects and a great plot into one of the biggest worldwide blockbuster action films in decades. Add to the mix, Sean Connery, Nicolas Cage, Ed Harris and a great supporting cast including John Spencer, William Forsythe and David Morse, and "The Rock" is one of the best ways to spend two hours. This film also devotes a great deal of time and effort to character development, something that most action movies neglect. This film is definitely underrated and is worth more praise than it has received.
307 out of 368 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Adrenalized..... yikes
mstomaso27 March 2005
The Rock is one of my all-time favorite suspense - thrillers. Believability - almost always a problem for this sort of film - is enhanced by a very compelling script, sets, and powerful performances by masters Sean Connery and Ed Harris. Like a good work of fiction, it's the quality of the telling that makes it believable, not the likelihood that it might happen. There are no problems with the way this story is told. The acting, editing, directing and visuals do not slip at all. Nick Cage - in a performance which approaches his best work - adds a bit of campiness and humor to this explosive mixture, and John Spencer, Tony Todd, David Morse, and Michael Biehn all contribute substantially to an exciting, fast-paced and emotionally draining film. Any avid movie-goer will be hard pressed to find a single actor in this sizable cast who has not either become a major star or a fine character actor over the last nine years.

The plot takes a number of twists and turns along the road, so to discuss almost any aspect of it in detail would require at least mild spoilers. None of the plot twists are unbelievable if you are willing to accept the basic premise. The story begins with Ed Harris - a Viet Nam war hero and field leader who is now a general and has become fed up with the abandonment of covert forces operatives by the US government. To get what he wants, he recruits some of the best officers under his command to take control of and hold Alcatraz Island, holding 70-some-odd civilians hostage and aiming four missiles loaded with deadly Sarin gas directly at the heart of San Francisco.

Biehn heads an elite Navy SEAL team assigned to infiltrate and disable Harris' capabilities. Cage joins him as the FBI biochemical specialist assigned the task of disarming the warheads, and the only man who can get them in to do their respective jobs is an aging British intelligence agent who has been incarcerated for 30 years or so by the government that now needs his help. Connery's John Mason escaped from Alcatraz during his incarceration, and for all intents and purpose - is a much rougher, more real James Bond character without the gadgets and the comic-book super-villains. All of the above is established in the first ten minutes of the film and the next two hours is a wild ride, with some very tense moments and some very intense performances.

I'm sure a lot of people will pick this film apart for the occasional unbelievable scene, etc, but it's worth while to remember - as my spouse is always telling me - "its only a movie".

If you want reality, take a walk outside or go to work!

There are no discernible powerful political messages in this film. While it must be acknowledged that the USA does sometimes treat members of its armed forces in an unappreciative and cavalier manner, this film does not really drive this point home in the way that, for example, Saving Private Ryan did. While it is also true that the US government does occasionally cover-up its own illegal activities, or soft-pedal them with propagandistic white lies, these issues are not really the subject of this film. This is made abundantly clear by the oddly out-of-place references to Roswell, New Mexico. The writers either did not want to dignify any perceived political messages by bringing up real-world transgressions and cover-ups - many of which are far more sinister than the secret development of stealth planes. This film is pure entertainment and - at that - a work of art. Treat it as such and you might just have a good time with it.
78 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Classic Action Movie
Dandaman69245 November 2004
This movie is all a man could hope for in a movie these days. Action packed, but followed with a meaningful story that relates to today. The harsh reality is, what takes place within the movie is not too far off from what could happen in reality. I feel that if anyone fears domestic terrorism as well as foreign terrorism, this movie is a must see, while it bends the facts a tad for action and interest sake, its central story is compelling and thought-provoking.

The best quote of this movie: "This isn't about terrorism, this about justice. It's about reminding you people of something you find politically convenient to forget."

-General Hummel
124 out of 163 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Review
clanger19771 May 2004
The Rock was an awesome film to see in the cinema. Over the top action, amasing driving scenes, an all round enjoyable film. Excellent casting of Sean Connery and Nicholas Cage, interesting idea, ex-military take tour hostage and threaten chemical warfare. But it's all in a days work for the FBI. Scientist risks life and limb to rescue city while pregnant girlfriend looks on. Sean Connery' character is portrayed as a hard ex SAS spy and Nicholas Cage is the mild mannered Scientist/Chemical Expert. Good film, not too taxing on the brain and overall, very enjoyable! A must see for Action Fans.
121 out of 159 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Michael Bay's masterpiece
ajohnwoofilm7 December 2001
Although i have seen many of Bay's films and enjoyed most of them, nothing is in comparison to this 1996 bay area based action film. I am just curious why it is not as popular or well known as it should. Dont get me wrong, granted it is a familiar film amongst most people yet it never appears in their top ten? Currently this film sits at number 5 on mine. I felt this film carried the most wide range of cinema aspect that any action film can carry. There was a mixture of minor romance, drama, and comedy which is why i am pleased to see that the criterion collection values it. Apparently the AFI probably wont but what do they know, the most action based film they would even consider is Saving Private Ryan which was also a good film but it seemed to be more of a Drama than action even if i reconsider the opening seen. What I think Michael Bay does best it simply put, he makes his stuff cool. He chooses the right angles to show the right section of what every he is filming. You can shoot a navy seal rising from the water in many different ways but his straight on established shot as the seal so rises up and pans his weapon from left to right was amazing. It is the small things like that which eventually amounts to a great film. He doesnt only focus on the big action scenes but the minor ones as well and it work wonderfully because it keeps us all tuned for the duration of the film. It is a film that any action enthusiast would enjoy over and over again. If your considering on purchasing this on DVD, remember to shell out a few more bucks and get the Criterion Collection version, the extra money will be well spent once you see Ed Harris re-doing his takes. I must also give the writers of this film some credit because or it's several directions they went with the script while keeping action the main subject. I mainly focus on action films (although currently in film school i am considering on doing dramas) and from all the ones i had ever seen i think this film is surely the best overall, not my number 1 favorite but the overall best pick for anyone to see and i truely believe that is someone doesnt enjoy this film regardless of age, gender, etc. you have problems and something is wrong with you. And for all the people who have seen this film, i would like to ask ou to reconsider this film's greatness for what it deserves. ENJOY THE ROCK!
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An action packed, high octane thriller with great performances. ***1/2 out of ****.
Movie-1220 March 2000
THE ROCK / (1996) ***1/2

Starring: Sean Connery, Nicolas Cage, Ed Harris, Jon Spencer, David Morse, William Forsythe, Bokeem Woodbine, and Vanessa Marcil. Directed by Michael Bay. Running time: 135 minutes. Rated R (for strong intense violence, language and brief sexuality)

Notes taken while screening The Rock:

· The film contains superior character development of both the antagonist and protagonist. Each is clear and well defined. We also learn the characters motives, reasoning, dramatic situation, and premise--all brilliantly introduced within the setup.

· Sean Connery provides us with strong character development through John Patrick Mason--although the character is somewhat a rip off of the Anthony Hokins' Hannibal from "The Silence of the Lambs."

· It is uncanny how well the movie's visual style works. It propels the film's suspense the extra mile, increasing the tension and enticement. Also contributing to the style is the fitting soundtrack.

· Some of the events are excessively coincidental. For example, during an exciting chase scene, Mason dashes out of a building, escaping the clutches of concealing police, discovering a Hum-V seemingly awaiting his arrival. Experienced chemist, Stanley Goodspeed (Nicolas Cage), chases after him, in a high speed Ferrari sitting outside his position in a building. Another coincidence occurs in the high security prison, where Mason escapes a grenade blast by dashing at random into a room, where, of course, there just so happens to be a secure bathtub to climb in.

· There is a stolid, aggressively effective cast present. Each actor contributes a taut, penetrating performance, especially Ed Harris as the film's villain, General Francis X. Hummel who demands a moral purpose holding the lives of an urban area at stake.

* The character's motives and perfectly defined, especially General Francis X. Hummel. Even as the film's bad guy, he serves an understandable position, thus we empathize with him, unlike most villains witnessed in modern day thrillers.

· The standard three act structure is flawless: each scene propels the plot forward. The sequences either create a new problem or complicate a previous conflict, favoring with the later concept. This raises the line of tension even further.

· Most of the production takes place in a high security prison, Alcatraz, crafted with a complex, awe-inspiring atmosphere towering over that of most action movies.

· Sean Connery handles the complicated role of John Mason with mere simplicity, yet easily torments the audience with a sense of omniscient knowledge of the plot.

· The picture is unpredictable and contains several inducing and unexpected twists proving this movie is imaginative and free to surprise us. The conclusion is not fomulatic. "The Rock" is filled with artful design and crafty performances. It is one of the year's best action films.

Brought to you by Hollywood Pictures.
75 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Michael Bay's best film
DrewDeLand7 November 2020
This is a great action film and I believe Michael Bay's best film. Also, Sean Connery was clearly playing James Bond right?!?
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Too watchable, only the music gets tiresome
popsucksrapswallows5 July 2004
Fantastically made. Undoubtedly one of the best action films in the last 20 years, Bruckheimer had a fantastic effect on this as his oh so loud impact fashioned this movie into what it is, quite possibly one of the finest in its' genre. Connery puts in a sturdy performance as does Cage but the show is stolen by the one and only Edd harris. His commanding performance carried the movie through small snippets where boredom may have set in, his emotion in the delivery of his lines left nothing to be desired and the role seemed so fitting for such a man, although his height was comic in comparison with the other marines.

All round great film with good acting with just the right amount of comic relief when it was most required. thumbs up fellas
79 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Unsung Villains Steal the Show
bek-1225 December 2000
This movie is definitely for action junkies. If you enjoy disecting a movie looking for silly dialogue, plot holes, or looking for inner-meaning in a movie, you might want to skip The Rock. This movie is 2 hours, 15 minutes, but the action is almost nonstop and the movie moves briskly. It's typical Jerry Bruckheimer fare, including plenty of action, an implausible storyline, and big stars doing a fine job of acting.

Some Bruckheimer characteristic events were obvious, such as the scene immediately after the car chase where Cage stands, and the camera rotates around him. This is reminescent of a similar scene in Bad Boys, another Bruckheimer film, where Martin Lawrence and Will Smith are standing in a similar pose with the same rotating camera view. Also present was the presidential address and accompanying slow-motion dramatic scenes near the end, ala Armageddon. I'm not saying it's bad for Bruckheimer to reuse his old ideas, just that if I was able to spot them, other people probably did as well.

Some of the dialogue was way over the top, and tended to get a bit macho and silly. When Mason tells Lomax, "...you're between the Rock and a hard case", I felt like groaning. There was plenty of self-referential comments, such as this one where Mason refers to himself as a "hard case". There were also other comments where the characters would try to "build up" the other characters, such as when Lomax says, "You don't know Mason." I hate it when movies do this. They try to make you believe how tough a character is by other characters talking about him. I would prefer to SEE how tough he is by his actions, rather than be told about it constantly using dialogue. Several parts of the movie, such as the stalemate in the shower, seemed melodramatic and reheased. I couldn't imagine Michael Biehn, in real life, giving the "We spilt the same blood in the same mud" speech to a general that's holding a gun on him, but that's just my opinion.

Cage plays the geek very well, with some very humorous scenes. The scene near the beginning where he's difusing the bomb, and finding the Playboy mags and gas mask, and his assistant screaming about the long needle, was darkly hilarious. I love that sort of humor. There were lots of very good scripting, such as the dialogue between Cage and Connery about the difference between winners and losers, and Cage's "Actually, I'm a chemical SUPER-freak" response was a great one-liner.

I did feel like there some were plot holes, or at least some weird occurances. For example, when Cage calls his girlfriend and tells her not to come to San Francisco, she yells back into the phone, "Like hell I won't!" and hangs up. Why would she do that? Wouldn't she more likely ask something like, "Why not?" Or at the very least, maybe start accusing him of being with another woman? Of course, this was the perfect vehicle for her to come to San Francisco against his wishes and have to be rescued. It didn't make sense, but it made the story move along. Also, she runs away from the FBI agent when he comes to pick up her. Why? Because the FBI agent refused to answer her questions about where her boyfriend (Cage) is. Why would she run away? I would assume the FBI agent is there to take me to safety or to her boyfriend. But again, by running away this furthers the plot--now she's in danger and Cage can agonize about her fate, and thus he has motivation to disarm the poison rockets. If she had stayed and allowed the FBI to whisk her to safety, he would not have been motivated to save the city. He'd already been shown to be a bit of a coward in the scene where he's throwing up out of nervousness. Of course, in other scenes he's terribly heroic. His character was a bit inconsistent, but you could explain it as him being thrust into the situation and once there, exceeding his prior limits.

The incinerator was another weird plot device. It looked a bit unrealistic. It was obviously something dreamed up for an action movie, with moving cogs (wheels) that would turn and have to be dodged by the hero, all the while fire is rushing through the same area. I've seen an incinerator, and it didn't resemble this monstrosity at all. I have no idea if the motion sensor that detected the marines arrival was accurate and if the military really has something this sophisticated, but I thought it was an ingenius idea.

You may feel differently, but I actually enjoyed the villains of the story more than the heroes. Most of the lines that struck me as powerful were delivered by the noble villains, Harris and Morse. I found the combination of Ed Harris, David Morris, and Michael Biehn (admittedly not a villain in this movie) a powerful combination. I consider all these actors excellent, and the stalemate in the shower room was especially powerful, as well as the standoff with the villains near the end. These scenes didn't feature Connery or Cage, or the occasional humorous tension breaker. These scenes showed us that all villains are not the same, and that some villains are evil, and some just misguided. This degree of gray, in an otherwise black and white character movie, added a level of complexity to the film. Thus, a film that I would have otherwise said was "okay" became a really good action movie with some characters that I actually cared about.

There was lots of violence and profanity, and a brief sexual situation (although no nudity) near the beginning. Despite my problems with some of the dialogue and plot, I found this movie enjoyable and engaging. If you don't mind overly macho acting and some silliness in the dialogue, and you love action, then you'll probably love this movie. If seeing serious characterization and motivation if more your style, you might want to check out Steel Magnolias and leave The Rock at the video store.
70 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Finally an action film about its characters
Tin Man-52 May 1999
"The Rock" is an action movie, alright, but it's an action move about its characters, and that's what saves it. It has a strong cast and strong characters and therefore the plot, about a militia group taking Alcatraz hostage and threatening to fire bombs into San Francisco if they don't get 100 million dollars, isn't what comes off the best.

There are four central characters in this film. Hummel is the man in charge of this hostage takeover. He is a highly-ranked general who is doing this to teach the government a lesson: they've been neglecting forgotten soldiers who died in the Gulf and Nam, and instead of their families being told the truth, they've simply been marked as "Missing in Action." He is played by Ed Harris, who does such a good man torn between duty, conscience, and vengeance, he is the best film villain since Jack Nicholson in "The Shining."

Goodspeed is a computer nerd working for the C.I.A. He's never been in combat situations, but because of his advanced knowledge of chemical bombs, they've sent him into Alcatraz with a group of Navy SEALS, and he has no idea how to react in war-like situations. Played by Nicolas Cage, his performance is believable and powerful.

Anderson is the man in control of the Navy SEALS on the mission to Alcatraz. Tough as nails, bound by duty, he freely admits he agrees with Hummel's reasoning, but he says those are risks that are part of the job, and Hummel is wrong in his action because he took an oath to serve his country no matter what. He is played by Michael Biehn, who delivers a top-notch performance, and one similar to his role in "Terminator."

But the most powerful character in the film is Mason, the only man who has ever escaped from Alcatraz. Tough, cunning, and full of one-liners, he has been caged up in a maximum security prison for years. It's hard to say whether the viewer can trust him or not, and he has many secrets and much knowledge of the facility...which is why he was chosen to go with the SEALS. He is played by Sean Connery, who's performance is perfectly Sean Connery-ish. But who would want it any other way?

This film is great, and it is a great character study for anyone who might be majoring in it or just likes to watch films with good casts. Recommended. ****1/2 out of *****.
90 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Brainless but solid action movie
bennyhagen6 July 2011
Without a constant CGI explosion overload overshadowing his sense for classic action Bay actually manages to do something solid.

Though the thin plot is full of improbabilities and morally more then questionable, the dialog corny at best, with the Bay'esqe lines of humor merely randomly distributed throughout the movie disregarding script and situation and though the fact that Bay doesn't manage to make you shed a single tear for any of these people one is still constantly on the edge of his seat while the kind of entertaining Connery-Cage duo might get you trough the rest.

Enjoy with popcorn.

6/10
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Pretty good action movie
rnpauls25 January 2020
I like the performances from Connery and Cage. The humorous parts are well done, if you like Cage. The bad guys have understandable motives, and the action scene in the hotel was very good
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A compelling villain raises this above other Michael Bay fare; it's his best work, for sure.
Pjtaylor-96-13804414 May 2018
Its greatest strength is a compelling, well-developed and sympathetic villain whose motivations are consistently clear and understandable while he himself never strays from being anything other than a conscientious human with complex emotions. It is unfortunate, then, that the protagonists and ensuing action sequences are goofy as can be. 'The Rock (1996)' separates its bursts of militaristic patriotism, underlined by 'cool' slow motion, with quirky Cage quips and over-the-top explosions. These aspects all fall a little flat in the end, but they're fun enough while they last. 6/10
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow!
privateye26 October 2001
I just don't believe it. Ever first time I have been in London, England (of course I had to go to the cinema), and the movie I saw was one of the best... Just to make it simple, my Mom didn't understand one word of The Rock, but she enjoyed it as much as I did... Really likeable characters, stunning, intense action, a story I could believe. Needed an action movie like this, for a long time.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Wham bam, thank you Connery
Quinoa198415 January 2001
The Rock has what people go to the movies for (well, the majority anyway), big action, good characters and reused plot stuffers, not to mention Sean Connery. While I can't say I thought everything in the Rock was great, I must say it did give a good show. Ed Harris plays a disgruntled Marine who holds Alcatraz hostage and only Biochemist Cage and Connery (the only man to escape it) can save it's hostages. Big, loud and often Hokey, however it is gripping overall. A-
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Actioner a league ahead of the others!
valkilmersbrain21 July 2001
Wow! The Rock is one of the most rewatchable films I own. I've watched it countlessly, and it seems to have the quick, energizing effect of a good song that we love to play again and again. The dialogue is at times funny, always fresh, and sometimes intelligent. This film shines as an actioner that actually has a great, plausible plot, with some characters we wouldn't mind following on a journey. (I really liked Sean Connery's character; maybe a sequel with "Mr.John Mason"?)

And then there are the heavyweights in acting, a rarity in action films. Ed Harris, Sean Connery, Nic Cage, and a few others are so talented in reading their lines in a unique way, one can see that these are truly great actors. I loved Ed Harris' character, since it was not the standard black & white type, but a complex person. Who would've thought I'd be saying "complex" in an actioner? Well, that's how The Rock surprises you, like a vicious left hook to the face. Oh yeah, the Hans Zimmer score is a knockout, as always.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best action movie ever
Emh-428 May 2002
This movie is the best action movie I have ever seen, or probably will see.

It's got great music, made by Hans Zimmer, Harry-Gregson Williams and Nick Glennie-Smith. This is THE action-score in my book! Great performances, good writing, character development, humor, and one of the best car chases ever. Great cinematography, great editing, great sound, the list goes on!

Buy the Criterion Edition-DVD of this movie NOW!

10/10
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best performance from Nicolas Cage and Sean Connery ever of their best action film of 1996 hit!
ivo-cobra817 September 2016
The Rock (1996) is a classic action film from Michael Bay and one of the best Nicholas Cage films ever! Con Air is his first favorite film of mine The Rock is his second favorite film of mine. I love this film to death and I can watch it over and over again! This is Nicholas Cage's best performance ever, I love his character FBI Special Agent Dr. Stanley Goodspeed who did saved over 1000 human lives in San Francisco while he raced against time to disarm the bombs! Seriously it is one of my favorite action films and Nicolas Cage's favorite film. This film has everything, it has solid cast, entertaining thrill, Die Hard in a prison a lot of action and it is not boring. The practical effects of the film are well done and are realistic, it has a lot of explosions, car chases and so on. There are no CGI in this film, mostly Nicholas Cage is more interesting in here than Sean Connery is.

"Welcome to the Rock."

Plot: Nicolas Cage is Stanley Goodspeed, an FBI chemical weapons specialist who is brought into a hostage situation involving a crew of former US Marines, led by a rogue US Marine general (Ed Harris), who have taken over the former prison on Alcatraz Island and are threatening the city of San Francisco with a launch of missiles filled with deadly VX poison gas. Goodspeed finds himself going along on the mission to retake the prison with a squad of US Navy SEALS and John Mason (Sean Connery), a former SAS operative who has been imprisoned illegally for the past two decades, and the only man to have escaped the prison and can use his knowledge infiltrate "The Rock".

So that is basically the plot of the film. Stanley Goodspeed, an FBI chemical weapons specialist has to take on a group of Former US Marines who took over the prison Alcatraz with 80 tourists who took them as hostages and they are extortion their government for $100 million or they will launch the rockets on San Francisco. Everyone in this film does a great job. Sean Connery former James Bond, Indy's father from Indiana Jones and the last Crusade (1989) is brilliant in his performance as Captain John Patrick Mason, Special Air Service and Ed Harris as Brigadier General Francis X. "Frank" Hummel, USMC Force Recon is brilliant and great villain.

The script was great and the screen writers did a solid job and Michael Bay beside Bad Boys I and II did a really good solid job ever directing it! Con Air was the action film that really introduced me in to Nicolas Cage films so my beautiful mom bought me on my request Con Air, Face/Off and The Rock (1996) on VHS, which I still have all those films on tapes and I own them on Blu-ray and I still keep the old VHS tapes of those films. I love Con Air and The Rock but I hate Face/off which I think it is one of the worst boring lame action films from John Woo and Nicolas Cage ever! But Con Air and The Rock kicks ass I love these two films I love watching them. It is been 20 years anniversary since The Rock 1996 come out, it is my childhood film and I always cherish my childhood movies to death!

Things: I love about this film: Nicolas Cage's character was so caring and awesome, when on the island in prison General Francis X. Hummel's men kill all NAVY Seals team except John Patrick Mason and Stanley Goodspeed, Cage want's to disarme the bombs while Connery want's to get off the island, Cage want's to convince Connery to helps him, which he does on the end. The two fight each other against a team rogue former US Marines to stop them, by killing innocent people. General Francis X. Hummel is not a monster like he was showing in the beginning of the film, he only wanted that government pays the money to the family's for loosing their sons and fathers. I also love the scene in which Sean Connery throws a knife in to one of the marines guarding the rocket, and killing the other marine while firing a machine gun on him awesome!

Overall: I love this flick to death I am giving 10 out of 10 for one of my favorite Nicolas Cage action films.

The Rock is a 1996 American action thriller film directed by Michael Bay, produced by Don Simpson and Jerry Bruckheimer, written by David Weisberg and Douglas S. Cook. It stars Sean Connery, Nicolas Cage and Ed Harris in the lead roles, with William Forsythe and Michael Biehn co-starring.

10/10 Grade: Bad Ass Seal Of Approval Studio: Buena Vista Pictures Starring: Sean Connery, Nicolas Cage, Ed Harris, Michael Biehn, William Forsythe, Vanessa Marcil, John Spencer, John C. McGinley, Bokeem Woodbine, Brendan Kelly, Claire Forlani, Danny Nucci, Xander Berkeley, Raymond Cruz Director: Michael Bay Producers: Don Simpson, Jerry Bruckheimer, Sean Connery Screenplay: David Weisberg, Douglas S. Cook, Mark Rosner Rated: R Running Time: 2 Hr. 16 Mins. Budget: $75,000,000 Box Office: $335,062,621
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
'Patriotism is the virtue of the vicious'...
Xstal16 September 2020
... and what a vicious and vulgar piece of cinema this is as Sean Connery does what Sean Connery has always excelled at i.e. playing Sean Connery. If two hours of mind numbing nonsense is what you need, and we all need to find our escapes somehow, then this will fill that void perfectly (along with several hundred other examples in the genre, most recently with Gerard Butler playing Sean Connery) - just make those leaps of faith, accept what you're told, and take comfort that 007 had the virtue to save the true patriots after they'd viciously denied him his virility.
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Possibly Bay's only good movie
suplexx6 June 2005
I found this movie amazingly good for a Micheal Bay project, however outside of that it's not "amazing". The cast was very nice, even though I'm not a big fan of Cage, I don't dislike him. In short it's worth a rental, a very good movie all in all, and if you hate Micheal Bay, watch this. You may find a bit of respect for the man.

Sean Connery did well, as usual. It's been a good bit since I've seen the movie, and I don't want to ruin it for you, so go out and rent it, it's not a bad film by any means.

Much better than Pearl Harbor.

8/10
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Define combat, sir."
ryan_kuhn29 April 2005
Rarely do I find a movie where logic takes a back seat that I actually enjoy. The Rock is one of those dumb action movies that I did find enjoyable. Nicholas Cage has turned out to be quite the action actor, able to sustain a borderline-nerd character into a kick ass James Bond-esquire action star (Stanley Goodspeed is his name in the movie). Not bad, especially since he's staring in the same movie as James Bond himself, Sean Connery. The Connery character is actually intriguing. He plays John Mason, an ex-British spy who's been locked up by the FBI for years, holding him without ever charging him on anything. We find out later that he found out buried secrets about America's past, so the FBI had to silence him before he spoke. The only problem with that plan is they put Mason in Alcatraz, and Mason became, at least according to the movie's plot, the only resident of the prison to escape. Fast forward to the movie's present day, and a team of Marines, lead by Ed Harris, have stolen VX gas (real stuff, highly poisonous stuff too) and are threatening to launch missiles filled with the gas from Alcatraz over San Francisco. The plan is to have navy seals enter Alcatraz, with help from Mason, and disable the missiles, with help from Goodspeed. The movie plays like a cat and mouse game between the good guys and the bad guys through the bowels of the prison, ultimately ending in grand fashion. The movie is well paced, director Michael Bay knows just when to slow down the pace and when to speed it back up. The special effects and the acting are solid, especially by Harris who plays a tough guy Marine until the moment of truth approaches. The Rock is solid entertainment, even if you have to shut your brain off at times.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not so much a film, more a way of live...
Skywarp_8626 November 2002
This has to be one of the best Action Films ever made!!! Nicholas Cage's performance as Stanley Goodspeed, is one of his best, far better than that of Memphis in Gone in 60 Seconds...And Sean Connery? a true movie legend, when these two get on screen together the two have a perfect chemistry. Ed Harris also shines as the Good/Bad General who just wants a Burial for his Ex-Comrades, and he especially shines when he and Commander Anderson (Brilitantly played by Michel Biehn) have an argument in the now famous Shower Room Massacre scene, one of the best bits of the film...

All in all, a very good Action film, with a truly wonderful cast!, A classic!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
general review
realdevilman30 May 2002
Maybe the best movie ever made about Alcatraz, again Sean Connery shows his talent at his best, unfortunately not being the main actor ( NC can only reach his toes, maybe ). Very good production, the movie is super realistic, you don't get those weird technology devices shown in other pictures just to blow you away, the equipment is what the marines and seals actually use on their daily job. The suspense is backed up by the music the kind that was also used in movies like Under Siege and Gladiator. A must see and a must have, is the only one I actually have on DVD.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WOW! Fantastic Suspense Action/Adventure
medrjel30 March 2002
For a 2 hour+ movie, this movie has very few, if any dull moments. It takes almost 40 minutes for the main story to get going, but even in the setup you are entranced. Nicholas Cage puts in a solid performace, and Sean Connery is as excellent as ever. The story weaves itself with some interesting twists and turns, and even in a few moments of predicatbility, you can forgive them.

I had put off watching it thinking it would be typical, but this is anything but.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed