The Cable Guy (1996) Poster

(1996)

User Reviews

Review this title
359 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Sorely underrated, and a personal favourite.
The-Gent6 July 2003
This review is not coming from someone whose top ten films consist primarily of Farrelly Bros. films, nor do I have a particular liking for anyone involved in the film.

First of all, hats off to Jim Carrey. I read under the trivia section that his role wasn't originally intended for him, but be honest; can you see anyone else playing the cable guy? He was brilliant. He takes the film from what would have been a run-of-the-mill comedy, to levels of greatness, and anyone that thinks I'm being too kind either doesn't like Carrey (it was the film that made me do a complete turn around), or needs to see the film again.

The overall tone of the film is a bit of a mix, it gets darker as the story goes along, but the jokes never mollify. I mean, it's a stalker story with clever film and television references... It's really hard to pin down the identity of this film.

This ranks as Stiller's best directorial performance to date. Reality Bites and Zoolander are good, but not great. This film expresses a lot more of his prowess. I see him as a very capable film maker, he is just yet to make his mark with something more widely appreciated.

The Cable Guy is by no means a classic film, and admittedly, you wont see it on any AFI lists anytime soon, but there is no denying the quality effort that was put into this film by all of it's contributors. And there are many of them -- check out all of those cameos! Chip Douglas' (Carrey) contrived relationship with his customer Steven (Broderick) ranks as one of the most memorable in recent history. It has set a precedent in black comedies that has scarcely been touched since.

I would have seen this film at least 30 times by now and it still seems fresh, and this has lead me to believe that the film probably needs to be viewed more than once for it to completely appreciated. I only wish that there were more people out there that 'get' this gem.

This concludes our broadcast day. Click.
200 out of 223 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hidden Comedy
baehr7619 November 2004
Regardless of what people say, this movie has some very funny moments scattered throughout. When I first saw this movie, I will admit I didn't find it that funny. But it's one of those movies that grows on you with time. Even if you don't like it at first, give it some time. You have to accept this movie for what it is. A dark comedy aimed at poking fun of the lighter things in life. Jim Carrey obviously carries the movie with his infamous quirkiness, but Matthew Broderick holds his own as the anal retentive guy which he is great at playing. Whether you are talking about the Midevil Times restaurant scene or the karaoke scene, this movie is a gem. Highly recommended.
79 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
watch it again. highly underrated
mr_maximus-12 October 2004
the most astonishing thing about the cable guy is that it simply wasn't liked by critics! however, this was to be expected given the way it was promoted. Not just another Jim Carrey "stupid humour" movie as it was unfortuanately promoted as, the cable guy was an entirely different genre; a comedy so dark it bordered on horror/thriller. and it is utterly brilliant.

to watch this movie a second time is highly recommended, as is an open mind to the dark web that Ben Stiller weaves masterfully. The actors fill their roles extremely well; Broderick perhaps a little underwhelming, but Carrey's astonishingly dark and eerie portrayal of his character carries the film. the cameos are brilliant, and show the respect the movie received by those who read the script, with many top actors willing to appear for only short roles. in the vein of other Stiller comedies that must not be taken at face value, such as the classic Zoolander, this film genuinely needs a repeat viewing. and try to forget Carrey was ever Ace Ventura before you watch the movie. naysayers will be converted!

full marks!
186 out of 213 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of Carrey's Best Performances
darkjosh29 August 2000
When first released, Cable Guy was such an unusual departure for Jim Carrey and his usual slapstick, manic, goofy comedies that people just didn't understand it or like it. When word of Carrey's enormous $20 million paycheck for this film spread, hopes were high that Cable Guy would be smothered in Carrey's slice of hilarious dementia to the extreme.

Carrey certainly brought an air of craziness to Chip Douglas, a lonely, TV-addicted, and creepy cable installer who befriends the unwilling Matthew Broderick (here, looking just nervous and bewildered for the entire film). But something was missing from this Carrey vehicle from the others: he was not all fun and games. In fact, he was downright funny weird, not funny haha.

So here lies one of the major problems people have with this film: it veers from dark comedy into darkness, period. Carrey isn't making an ass of himself in every scene. No. Instead, Carrey's Chip Douglas is an obsessive, extreme, two-faced sociopath. The result? What would be Jim Carrey's best performance to date, surpassed only by his Truman Burbank in The Truman Show.

Sure, it's got a story that's been done to death: normal guy meets psycho and is stalked. But oh, what fun it is to see Jim drag Matthew Broderick into such uncomfortable situations as playing Porno Password with his parents (Carrey whispering "Nipple" into Broderick's ear is absolute brilliance).

Cable Guy is definitely not for fans who want to see Jim Carrey do what created his career; that is, silly, goofy, and flailing comedy. However, avid fans of black comedies will love seeing Carrey's first step in his evolution as a gifted, serious, and undeniably interesting actor.

8 out of 10.
107 out of 124 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Different Slant...
Stevieheuge25 July 2004
The Cable Guy has now all but been forgotten by the movie world. It was released when Jim Carrey was on his way to being the new A list comedian, and thus, was considered only a slightly funny version of 'Ace Venture'. or The Mask' Or whatever. Personally, I don't consider The Cable Guy a comedy at all. Sure, there are some side splitting moments - Carrey is hilarious alongside Matthew Broderick's by the numbers 'average Joe', but id suggest that anyone who was not taken in by this film to look at it a little differently...

This is a horror film. I swear!

For me, Chip Douglas does not come across to me as a harmless lisping clingy chump - HELL NO! The guy is a maniac. An obsessive, intelligent, controlling, stalking "Fatal Attraction" styled nutter!

Watch it again!

For me, this is Jim Carrey's career launching performance. He has a lisp right? after a while, you don't really notice it do you? Right. This is an incredibly difficult task for an actor - maintaining a speech impediment for an entire film, keeping it level, and not exaggerating it, its really something to take a look at. Carrey's character is sick, and very very creepy. With Broderick et al giving relatively standard performances, Carrey's performance is a stand out, and Ben Stiller should be proud of this film and what it lead to in terms of Jim Carrey's career.

Trust me, if you didn't like this, take another look, and prepare to be freaked out by a very not funny, very creepy Carrey performance...

8/10
68 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Maybe you have to be a movie buff to "get it"?
MovieAddict201628 April 2004
To some people, movies are more than a passion. They are a way of life. For me, movies are not only one of my favorite hobbies, but I feel that all films express a certain reflection of the individual watching them. They say that you can tell a lot from a person by the way they act, talk, walk. I believe you can also tell a lot about a person from the sort of movies they like.

And I think that for Chip Douglas (Jim Carrey), movies and television are more than disposable entertainment. They are his entire life. He is consumed by film to such an extent that he creates multiple personas based on TV personalities. Many critics bashed Carrey's performance for being too sadistic. I think it's perfect because it's daring and hugely different than his other movies, and accurately reflects the mindset of a troubled individual who has grown up on his TV, rather than actually experiencing true life. Not many movies are like "The Cable Guy," and most of them don't have the guts to make a statement so bold and striking.

In "The Cable Guy" Carrey is the title character, his real name supposedly Chip Douglas, but towards the end we're not really sure what's true and false anymore. Chip works for a cable company and offers to hook up new apartment tenant Steven (Matthew Broderick) up with illegal cable. All Douglas asks for in return is a friendship, which Steven reluctantly agrees to. But what he doesn't realize is that Chip is an obsessive monster -- bred on films as a child and unable to separate celluloid from reality, he pursues a "Fatal Attraction" route and begins to stalk Steven. This is one of those movies, like "What About Bob?", where the hero is apparently the only one who realizes how crazy the "bad guy" is. Richard Dreyfuss went nuts trying to convince his family of Bill Murray's insanity in "Bob." In "The Cable Guy," Matthew Broderick has a tough time trying to expose Chip's sadistic side.

I am not Carrey's biggest fan. But I have to admit that over time the comedian has grown on me. And when I see him in "Dumb and Dumber" I can't picture anyone else taking on the role. Here he is in another role where I can see no one else portraying his character, and yet he still hasn't convinced me that he's a great talent. Strange.

I think Carrey's comedy is distinct and the reason his films have become more well-received over the years is because he has invented a certain area of modern-day comedy and thrived in that cubby hole for quite some time. I believe that humor is not existent; it is invented. Different forms of humor come and go. Right now, Adam Sandler and Jim Carrey are two of the highest-paid comedians the world, and yet in fifty years, where will they be?

Comedy is constantly changing. Humor is invented and re-invented to the point that what was once funny no longer is. That is why so many comedies from various eras of American history seem so outdated by today's standards. We are living in a world of Jim Carreys, Adam Sandlers, and Mike Myers. Although they still receive jobs, Steve Martin, Eddie Murphy, Bill Murray, and especially Dan Aykroyd -- some of the most popular comedians of the '80s -- have found themselves all stuck in ruts, filming kiddie movies for Disney and -- some of them (especially Murray and Aykroyd) -- departing comedy to pursue more serious careers in an area of film that will never become outdated: drama (for Murray, it is "Lost in Translation"; Aykroyd is less lucky with projects such as "Pearl Harbor," which might as well be classified as comedy).

The movie was directed by Ben Stiller, who carefully balances the neurotic against the sweet. The movie has its fair share of cameos, and in a great sequence Owen Wilson stars as a confident jerk who takes out Steven's girlfriend on a date. The Cable Guy finds out and, thinking he's doing Steven a favor, assaults Wilson in the bathroom of a fancy restaurant.

Perhaps the reason so many critics disliked "The Cable Guy" when it was released in 1996 was because they found themselves relating to Carrey's character. Maybe not. All I know is that it is one of the most daring and surprising comedies of the '90s -- not especially great but very unique and entertaining. I relate to its main character because we both love movies. My obsession is much calmer than Chip's. But the film does have a good eye for spotting good areas of satire. Yes, it's often rather dark and absurd. But isn't that the point?

4/5.
111 out of 147 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Carrey's greatest!
Infofreak30 June 2001
I divide movie fans into two types - those that love The Cable Guy, and those that don't. The latter I try and avoid.

Welcome to the most misunderstood, unjustly dissed movie of the 90s! Even Homer Simpson hates it! I'm not going waste time trying to change anybody's mind on this gem. If you don't see the sheer brilliance of this you're beyond hope. All I can say is that it ROCKS in every way. Jim Carrey has never been better as the creepy, psycho stalker "Chip Douglas", and Matthew Broderick is wonderfully likeable as Chip's unsuspecting customer. Add to that a tremendously cool supporting cast of cult legends including Charles Napier, Janeane Garofolo, Eric Roberts, Mr. Show's Bob and David, Sean Whalen,Owen Wilson, Andy Dick and BOTH members of Tenacious D, among others.

Full of memorable sequences - the Karaoke jam, the Medieval theme restaurant, director Ben Stiller's recurring duel role - The Cable Guy is smart-as-a-whip, black, surreal, FUNNY, FUNNY stuff!
88 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I liked it
georgejo10 October 2004
Some people really hated the movie. I saw it, I'll note I saw it on video and frankly I loved it. I think this was the start of Carrey really coming out although it has a couple of crude jokes I could have done without. You really feel for Broderick who starts out having a slightly annoying friend and ends up dealing with a stalker! Somehow the stalker goes from being exceedingly annoying to outsiders gaining acceptance from everybody around his victim. He casts a spell having his victim believe that he is in danger of losing everything if he does not co-operate with his tomentor. Anyway, if you like a bit of light dark comedy and order a pizza, I think the movie is worth a watch.
44 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Daring tragi-comedy which satirises the effect of TV on the modern world. Carrey's song in the famous karaoke scene is NOT TO BE MISSED!
Ben_Cheshire14 October 2004
Matthew Broderick asked his girl to marry him and she asked him to move out. The eccentric guy who shows up to install cable in his new pad arrives just at the right time to become his friend. Only The Cable Guy (Jim Carrey) wants to be a little closer than Broderick is comfortable with...

The Cable Guy is a brave and daring tragi-comedy, a rare sort of movie where you're laughing one minute and scared the next.

I'm not sure if we'll ever get another chance to see Jim Carrey go this far out on a limb: director Ben Stiller has seemingly given him total carte blanche, resulting in a seemingly completely over-the-top characterisation, yet not so over the top that we can't get involved in the plot and take what his character does as really happening.

Notice the way that the cable guy often mimics moments from his favourite movies and works them into his controlling of the plot of this movie - or how he starts humming movie-music along to certain scenes, while the actual music of the movie mirrors the music the cable guy is creating. This will clue you into the other subtle elements which add towards this movie's satire of the effect TV has had on the modern psyche.

Its worth the price of rental alone to see Carrey's rendition of "Don't You Want Somebody to Love" in the famous karaoke scene.

After repeated viewings since its initial release, its one of the most memorable Carrey comedies, and one of the most memorable flicks of the 90's. 4/5.
48 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Future is Now...
Guardia15 December 2004
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is one of Jim Carrey most perfectly crafted. His subtle style slipped through the cracks after his horribly obnoxious endeavours in both Ace Ventura and The Mask (but they were funny too). He actually addressed this phenomena in a SNL sketch, where in his opening monologue a fat guy in the front row refuses to laugh at any of the jokes except his trade-mark lines i.e. "Sssssssmokin'!", or "Alllllllrighty-then!", or "Le-hooo... -zeherr", and so on. This sort of attitude continued onto the Truman Show set, where none of the crew were allowed to comment on any other of his "meatball" sort of films. Ahhh boy.

Anyway, this film is unsettling and funny. Chip Douglas is an interesting guy because he is both desperate and confident. On one hand, he can't believe someone wants to know his name, on the other, he is adept at sabotaging Stevens life, even putting him behind bars. Clever huh? It is underrated and Carrey's manner is really very good. It is jam-packed full of subtle connotations and interesting undercurrents as Chip crosses the line again and again...
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Misunderstood!
SSCMSMIT27 September 2004
Warning: Spoilers
I think the problem for a viewer of this film is they have a clear preconception of what to expect and think they are getting less than what they paid for. This was undoubtedly what hindered my appreciation of the film the first time i watched it a few years ago and i think why some critics and the IMDb mark it poorly. The only mistake of the film is it tries to please Carey fans with classic Carey comedy (which he does so well in 'Ace Ventura' and 'The Mask')and challenge the viewers intellectually as well. As a viewer this is a difficult duality to comprehend and enjoy, however on 2nd and 3rd viewings the inherent quality's present themselves. Careys character (i say character because he has a multitude of names in the film) although surreal is the product of a technology that effects us all: the television.

---------SPOILER---------------------

In a sense he is the darkest product of that technology a man without a singular identity but that engendered by years raised by the television. Careys character has no understanding of social interaction in the real world and so fails to connect with reality. Instead he acts inappropriately within every context and is subsequently rejected by Steven (Played by Matthew Brodrick who brilliantly captures the normality of the average joe, in a sense he is the pure opposite of Carey, almost grounded in reality superfluously): "i just don't have enough room in my life for a new friend". The film ends poetically with Carey's epiphany that he must destroy his creator. Symbolically Careys conflict with television represents every child's relationship with its parent culminating in the child's rebellion. Great film 8/10
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A very underrated comedic masterpiece
joh080222 December 2008
First and foremost, I would like to thank the TBS TV station. If not for them I wouldn't have even heard of this classic comedy.I was up at like 2 in the morning and this was on. It was freaking fantastic! I went and bought it the next day. This movie was way ahead of its time, with great direction by Ben stiller and a Judd Apatow production. Also was the brilliant and yet creepy performances by Jim Carrey and Matthew Broderick. they played a very good comedic team, and Jim Carrey really shined as the film's antagonistic cable guy who just needs a friend. this is one of those hidden masterpieces that people don't know about. Go buy the movie folks. It's $6.99 at best buy and worth every penny. Although it has very dark undertones, it never ceases to put me in a good mood for like the rest of the day. I love it. 10 out of 10 for sure.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Shows a Darker Side To Jim Carrey's Manic Ways
eric2620038 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Even at the most absurd movies to come out, Jim Carrey still can find ways to make them all the more plausible. Before landing a role in "The Cable Guy", Carrey's movies were surrealistically cartoon-like nonsense like "The Mask", "Dumb and Dumber" and the "Ace Ventura" films. But now with age and experience, it is great that Carrey was trying out new films and new angles so he wouldn't be regarded as a one-trick pony. "The Cable Guy" still has Carrey playing out his usual over-the-top elastic man persona, but here he's now taking his act in more serious and at time darker territories. It's also very well balanced that the straight-guy character was played to effectiveness from Matthew Broderick as his foil.

In "The Cable Guy", Carrey plays the role of Chip Douglas, an aggressive but lonely cable installer who will hook you up with cable while at the same time sabotage your private life just to make friends with you. He does that with all his customers only this time now, the unfortunate victim is a recently divorced architect named Steve Kovacs (Broderick) who takes advantage to this cable guy by him offering you free movie channels. That may sound tempting, but even like all good things, there is a catch to it.

The sacrifices Kovacs makes comes at the cost of nearly ending his relationship with his girlfriend (Leslie Mann), spending time in jail and getting fired from his job. This whole debacle could get very monotonous overtime. However, Lou Holtz's script has a clever and somewhat philosophical point of view about the dangers of television that could be taken with deep consideration. In many ways in spite of his manic demeanour, you could feel sorry for Chip. As a young boy, he was badly neglected by his mother who traded her love and affection to Chip by replacing television as his nanny. This kind of upbringing led Chip to being psychologically scarred to the point that television is all he knows. Even as a way of saying goodbye, he ends all conversations with, "this concludes our broadcast day."

Under the direction of Ben Stiller who also has a small part as diabolical twin who's placed on trial for the murder of his twin brother in a similar satirical approach to the likes of OJ Simpson and the Menendez brothers shoots his film with captivating wickedness. Even the opening credits like the pre-cable television reception, this film gives the moral lessons of this film right away by telling it symbolically rather than being preachy about it. Stiller has complete control here which is complex knowing very well who's starring in his movie.

The stern ways about Stiller's direction is why Carrey's performance is quite perfect for this movie. Carrey can be quite a scary guy at times and that's because the man knows his surroundings but manipulates people into thinking he exhibits erratic behaviour because that's all he knows (we see that in later films where he can be subtle when he wants to be). Carrey has had a history of fooling his audience into thinking his behaviour methods are incoherent, but just like other manic performers before him like Robin Williams and Andy Kaufman, he knows what he's doing and making a profit just by fooling us.

Carrey still showcases his cartoon-like edginess here like his other previous movies and still has plenty of memorable scenes where his outrageous antics are fun and will make you laugh. His dastardly approach to get people to befriend him is the focal point to the movie and if he would not have starred in this film, another actor not of his comedic charm would've changed this genre into a psychological thriller instead of a comedy.

The funny scenes that I aforementioned included the scenes where Chip takes Steve to Medieval Times theme restaurant where they're being served by wenches and starts jousting at the floor show. Although reluctant, Steve does give in and goes on to sport chain mail and gets perched on a horse. Broderick who has played many off-the-wall characters before is happily comfortable playing the straight character that counterbalances nicely to Carrey's manic ways. Especially when he does a Hannibal Lector impersonation using chicken skin.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Joker Noir on TeeVee
tedg24 July 2008
Humor is a matter of taste, but when it is as dependent on timing and tone as this is, one at least has to admire it.

You might consider this as rooted in a comic story of obsession.

Or you could easily ignore that and get into the posturing of Carey.

But what I see is an attempt at twisting noir: the idea that the viewer perturbs life, usually the life of a random innocent. Its a profound notion this noir idea that the watcher delivers the movie. Here the watcher is in the movie, delivering it via cable. He has the identity of past "movies."

Its amazingly clever.

I watched this because I recently saw Heath Ledger in Dark Night. As widely publicized, Ledger and Nolan drew heavily from "Clockwork Oragne." But Heath had a very hard time finding the voice. I believe this helped him. The similarities are striking.

Next up in this study; "Equus."

Ted's Evaluation -- 2 of 3: Has some interesting elements.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Carrey's best comedic performance, and a terrific dark comedy
ametaphysicalshark24 March 2007
Jim Carrey has only been better than this in two movies, "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind", and "Man on the Moon", but both were more or less dramatic roles. Aside from the classic "Dumb and Dumber", none of his comedy roles can even begin to compare to his superb, electric performance here. Most people I know don't really enjoy this, but that's because they can't really relate, or they don't want to. Carrey plays 'Chip Douglas' (which might be his real name, or it might not), a Cable Guy brought up on TV and movies. His performance works so well because he normally goes too far with his antics, making himself seem annoying on occasion, rather than funny. Here, he plays a lunatic, so there are no limits for him to adhere to, and where he would normally seem over the top (the Medieval Times sequence), he is genuinely hilarious.

Now, I might not be a cable guy, but I'd be lying if I said that I don't spew lines from random movies out of nowhere, and I'd be lying if I said I didn't have an obsession. Maybe it makes fellow fanatics a bit unsettled to see themselves compared to maniacs like Chip (which is probably why the critics assaulted this as well). Although this is by and large Carrey's movie, there is no doubt that Matthew Broderick, Jack Black, and Leslie Mann help elevate this film further with excellent performances. Ben Stiller has directed a few other films, but none of them even come close to matching this. He keeps a perfect balance between the dark and the funny, so "The Cable Guy" doesn't come across as too mean or sadistic. He also shows up in a running gag as a former child star from a cheesy old sitcom who shoots his own brother and goes to court, a trial whose verdict is highly anticipated by pretty much everyone. Owen Wilson has another great cameo as a cocky ass who takes Steven's (Broderick) girlfriend (Mann) on a date and gets assaulted by Chip when he goes to the washroom.

I have never seen a movie like "The Cable Guy", and chances are you haven't either. This is a great movie and one of my personal favorites. It's important you don't watch this expecting a cheery slapstick comedy. If you know what to expect, this will be a fun time.

8/10
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Jim Carrey delivers an outstanding performance
ineffectualpoet13 March 2006
i am a huge jim carrey fan, so any movie he is in I'm guaranteed to watch. this movie is by far one of my favourites. jim carrey passes of as a cable guy desperate for a friend who stalks a customer steve covacks (matthew broderick), who also plays a fine performance. this film uses dark comedy well, and as a fan of comedy film's this is one of my favourite dark films. jim carrey's neurotic character, with his lisp and need to hide his true identity under the false names of television characters is great. i love how he plays chip douglas, or whatever his real name is. if you love jim carrey, you will be surprised with the performance. it is unlike his others, he plays a dark stalker unlike the jolly crazy characters you usually see him play. if you love jim carrey, watch this film :).
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Laugh-out-loud, on-the-floor hilarious film!
Catherine_Grace_Zeh17 November 2005
In my opinion, THE CABLE GUY is a laugh-out-loud, on-the-floor hilarious film! When the cable guy (Jim Carrey) sang "Somebody To Love," I laughed really hard. One thing I couldn't stand about him was his lisp. Also, he just couldn't seem to leave Steven (Matthew Broderick) alone. If my cable guy was like that, I'd get a restraining order. When the cable guy whispered a part of a woman's body when he and Steven's family played "Password," I was really grossed out! In addition, Robin (Leslie Mann) was a very beautiful woman... especially in the clothing she wore when she went out on dates. Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say, "Be careful who you trust. Also, find out if your cable guy is really a cable guy." Now, in conclusion, I highly recommend this laugh-out-loud, on-the-floor hilarious film to all you Jim Carrey fans who have not seen it.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
the cable guy, he only wants to embrace your life and to be your friend forever
dbdumonteil15 April 2005
20 000 000 millions of dollars. Jim Carrey asked this substantial amount to hold this miscast role for him. This Pharaonic amount of money is just as equal as his overwhelming presence in "the Cable Guy" (1996). If he tries to renew his image by acting another type of character who is a disturbing psychopath (a will already contemplated with the rather poor "Batman Forever" 1995), on the other hand, his acting hasn't changed: still bombastic with grimaces and frenzied gestures by the bucketful. Beside him, it's hard for Matthew Broderick to play opposite him. As for the rest of the cast, its members are relegated to the roles of walk-on parts. It's a shame because if the basic idea isn't new (we have seen the topic of the disturbing character invades a peaceful universe many times before in the cinema and in a better treatment), Stiller's making is more careful and vigilant than in his "Zoolander" (2001) flick. Sometimes, he succeeds in exuding a grain of madness which gives the whole, for a while a mad tone (the scene of the restaurant). Moreover, the satire is well present even if it is excessive due to the numerous targets: consumer society, television and computing overequipment.

To sum up, "the Cable Guy" in spite of a decent making is mainly a flop because spoiled by Carrey's omnipresence who leaves bits to his partner. To crown it all, the latter asked a comfortable fee, the movie didn't prove very profitable. Carrey's fans must have said to themselves: "please Jim, don't change"!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This movie really does it for me.
Alan-Arrrr2 December 2018
I remember this movie being polarizing when it came out but I've always loved it, the basketball scene is one of my favorite scenes and the movie still holds up. This is one of those movies where instead of the characters making jokes, the characters are the jokes. Jim Carrey really pulls the weight in this movie and Matthew Broderick could have honestly being played by anyone. Check this movie out if you are getting into early Jim Carrey.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent...but must remember time period
clacura28 May 2016
The reason this movie did not do as well or Carrey was slammed was because he came off the very kiddie friendly Ace Ventura, Dumb and Dumber, Batman and The Mask. Now that will start anyone's career off to a blazing start! What was Jim's audience expecting? More silly comedy. Parents take their kids to The Cable Guy (title fits a dumb silly JC comedy) and wonder what is going on here! This is a movie for today's kids, not back in 96. That is why this movie holds up so well. It is an adult dark comedy.

Matthew Broderick was as usual boring, but that complimented Carrey. The supporting cast was great. A lot of up and coming stars. Comedies are really a string of scenes like a SNL episode that at the end hope to make any sense. There are few really good comedy movies. The Cable Guy has all the good scenes and ties it together pretty well.

Beneath the surface is a lot of depth about a very lonely guy trying to connect because he was abandoned as a kid and TV was the world he knew. This rings true for many. He felt empowered with his "special customers" and overcompensated, but deep down just wanted a buddy. I think this movie is much more honest than many would admit!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Necessary protest vote
Jerominator18 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I wouldn't normally have left a review for this but stumbled on the shockingly low mark and was compelled to write something! What a sick joke this movie has such a low rating on IMDb. I have a sneaking suspicion it's down to the pathological Jim Carrey haters rather than based on the movie's merits. I'm giving it a star more than I would have otherwise as a protest vote.

I guess if a particular person in a movie annoys you that much then it's going to preclude it from being a good movie for you, *but surely* you can take a step back, and say something like "ah now wait a minute, that's just my personal dislike for an individual and it wouldn't really be fair to transfer that dislike onto any collective effort they happened to be a part of". What about the poor writer, director, other actors and the crew? I know I've made a big assumption there and it's possible people just didn't find it funny. I find that so hard to believe though - I've seen *a hell of a lot* of comedies over the last 40 years, and find the vast majority made from 1990 onwards to be safe, lazy and badly-written, or more recently trying to be zany or alternative and failing miserably. However I found this surprisingly well-written, well-made and brilliantly-acted(comedy acting, not Oliver/Gielgud!) and all-round compelling and bloody hilarious.

I think it's a great idea - the central character's minor misdemeanour at the start results in immediate payback in the form of a demented psychopath taking over his life. It gets pretty dark in a couple of places which somehow makes the humour work better.

Whatever you think of Jim Carrey, the range of stuff he pulls off on screen is incredible. Like a reanimated old Vaudevillian on PCP. I found him totally convincing as the lonely Walter Mitty/psycho who really just needs a friend and uses what he knows best to make it happen. Broderick is a born fall guy and effortlessly provides the anything-for-a-quiet-life victim, ill-equipped to halt the psycho's hostile takeover of his life.

There's also a micro-element of social comment on using people, friendship, the abuse of power, and the influence TV can have on a person's life. Tutt and scoff all you want at that, but can you honestly say there's even that much depth in any other comedies made now? So for anybody who doesn't hate Jim Carrey, please don't listen to all the negative reviews and give this one a chance.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jim Carrey is top of his class.
guitarmasta-242-11072018 November 2012
I've always been a Carrey fan, so when I stumbled upon this while DVD hunting at a local video store, naturally I bought it. I was not disappointed.

Jim Carrey was made for the role of Chip Douglas. His acting in this movie is all but un-paralleled. He really shows us what he is capable of in the acting department.

If Jim Carrey can be said to be one of those actors where you either love him or hate him, then the same can be said for this movie. It has a very particular type of often quite dark humor in it, which doesn't appeal to a lot of people, but in which Carrey thrives.

If you didn't like this movie, give it another watch. You might change your mind.

This movie is a must for any Carrey fan, or any fan of good 90's comedy. Ben Stiller does a fantastic job directing, and the rest of the cast supports Carrey's role brilliantly.

10/10

(Also, I heard that the Chip Douglas role wasn't originally intended for Carrey, but after watching it, can you honestly picture anyone else executing it so damn well??)
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Underrated Black Comedy
Desertman8426 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The Cable Guy is a dark comedy film that was directed by Ben Stiller.It features Jim Carrey, Matthew Broderick and Leslie Mann. It is a story about a needy, psychologically unbalanced cable-television installer that forces his friendship upon an unsuspecting bachelor, who has just broken up with his fiancée.

Steven is forlorn over his recent breakup with girlfriend Robin. When he moves into a new apartment, Steven comes in contact with Chip, who shows up to hook up the cable. Before he knows it, and whether he likes it or not, Steven has a new best-friend in the obnoxious and clingy Chip. However, Steven soon learns that obnoxious is a walk in the park compared to Chip's behavior when Steven tells him he doesn't want to be his pal anymore. What's worse, no one believes Steven when he accuses the seemingly harmless Chip of being a malevolent menace.

This is one of the most underrated comedies of all time.It brilliantly constructs awkward situations that neither character can find ways to get out of and deftly plays with the bizarre nature of human relationships.Also,it is a hilarious black comedy that proved too dark and too smart even for Jim Carrey fans.Definitely,a must-see.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A poor unfunny movie ...
coldwave17123 June 2003
I couldn't believe I sat and watched this movie. Okay, I like Jim Carrey but in almost every movie he does he seems to portray that character from "The Mask". I loved that film, but in "The Cable Guy" it seems he's trying to see how many different ways he can do that character again. Perhaps it's just me.

Anyway, I found this movie to be totally unfunny, except perhaps the fight scene in the restaurant toilets - well it raised a smile at least. As for the rest, it looked as if Matthew Broderick couldn't wait to finish the film just to get away from Carrey's ever expanding ego, never mind getting rid of Chip.

One thing that bugged me in this movie was that if Chip was sacked from the cable company ages before, how did he know when to come and conduct the installation? Okay, so he might have tapped in to the telephones. Hmmm a dodgy plot?

I can't say much more about this film, well nothing nice anyway.

Sorry Jim.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A good try but deeply flawed
bob the moo10 August 2002
Steven Kovacs is getting cable installed when the cable guy offers to add some channels for free. Steven pays him some extra and feigns interest in the cable guy to get the job done. However the cable guy believes that Steven is his new friend but when he is rejected he sets around stalking Steven.

The Cable Guy came as Carrey's career was really taking off based on the back of his silly faces etc. So it was a brave move to basically adapt Play Misty for Me and make this dark film. The film starts well enough with the cable guy being a nuisance, however this quickly is the film's down fall. While it was brave to try and have a dark edge to the film Stiller needed to commit to it, the result of his uncertainty is an uneven tone. At times wildly funny immediately followed by creepy unease – this makes it hard to get into and feel patchy. The plot's attack on television is lost in the background too easily, despite the subplot and this affects how we enjoy the main thread.

Carrey is good because he bravely tries to do more than Ace Ventura-esque mugging and do something much darker than his usual comic book style. Broderick is, as he showed in Godzilla, not a leading man. He doesn't have the presence, here he is playing second fiddle to Carrey, but it's a long way second. The relationship between the two is well handled but Broderick doesn't convince as well as Carrey. The rest of the cast are good with names like Wilson, Garofalo, Segal and Stiller making up support but really this is rested on Carrey.

Overall this was a brave try at something that Carrey fans weren't ready for and hence it became a flawed mix of Carrey mugging and darker stuff. Neither worked perfectly and both elements detracted from the other.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed