Vampire in Brooklyn (1995) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
85 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Blacula redux
bkoganbing10 August 2019
I'm not sure exactly what Eddie Murphy was trying to accomplish with Vampire In Brooklyn. It has some humorous moments, but it seems mostly a drama. It satirizes those old Blacula movies from the 70s, but not so good.

Eddie is the sole survivor of an African race of vampires who made it to the Carribbean courtesy of slavers. There's a reputed daughter of a vampire in a place up north called Brooklyn. And it's a woman so Murphy is on a mission.

Vampire In Brooklyn sure opened up funny with that freighter crashing into the docks in Red Hook with nothing alive on board. But after a few gruesome type murders happen, wouldn't you know it. The lead detective on the case, Angela Bassett is our quarry and Murphy pulls out all the stops to bring her into the vampire fold.

I think Kadeem Hardison fares best in the cast playing a street numbers runner who Murphy turns into a Renfield like slave. In the end he makes out just fine.

Far from top drawer EddieMurphy.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Bottom of the Pit for Both the Star and Director
Michael_Elliott18 October 2012
Vampire in Brooklyn (1995)

* (out of 4)

They say sometimes great artists must hit an ultimate low before they can fully bounce back and that has never been more true for both director Wes Craven and star Eddie Murphy. In the film Murphy plays Maximillian, a Caribbean vampire who comes to Brooklyn in search of a woman to carry on his race. He finds the beautiful Rita (Angela Bassett) but his plan isn't going to be as simple as he thought. It's worth noting that Craven's next film was SCREAM and Murphy followed this up with THE NUTTY PROFESSOR so it's easy to see that both of them were just at the bottom of their careers here. The shocking thing revisiting this film for the first time since it was released is that it's actually gotten much, much worse. For the life of me I can't understand what the two were trying to do here but I'm guessing they wanted to take both of what they were great at and put it together but the end result is just a complete disaster. The comedy is so forced and uneven that it's never once funny. The horror elements are just so silly that they're never scary and when the gore does happen it just seems out of place. The entire film has a very ugly pacing and a lot of the blame has to go to Craven for not pulling the picture together but I'd still place more blame on Murphy, the producers, for hiring him. I'm not sure if Murphy and John Landis had a falling out on BEVERLY HILLS COP III but it's clear that he would have been much better with the (bad) material. The performances are all pretty weak with Murphy leading the way in an embarrassing piece of work. Allen Payne is wasted in his supporting role and Kadeem Hardison is just so in-your-face that the entire act just falls apart. VAMPIRE IN BROOKLYN is a perfect example of something that has talent but it just never came together for anything.
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Dated comedy has potential but generally wastes it
Leofwine_draca26 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Wes Craven was something of a genius. I mean, for one director to make a landmark horror film is a miracle. For one director to make three landmark horror films (LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT, A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET, and SCREAM) is pure brilliance. Unfortunately, Craven's genius only shows itself occasionally, and in the '90s he has somewhat haphazardly decided to lend his name to trash like this and MIND RIPPER. VAMPIRE IN BROOKLYN is slightly better than MIND RIPPER, but only slightly; it suffers from being clichéd (typical for this decade) and overlong, even though it only clocks in at an hour and thirty five minutes. It'll seem a lot longer, you mark my words.

Much of this film is pure nonsense, almost like it is set in a fantasy world. The central character falls in love with Murphy yet doesn't realise he's a vampire until it's too late? Don't make me laugh. Typical of today's movies, the film is full of shine and gloss to hide the many plot holes. The actors and actresses are partly to blame, as they all act like they're just grown up kids from the slasher films of the '80s - obsessed by sex, as usual, and totally stupid. There are some special effects and gore to enjoy, but these are few and far between. In one scene a dog is violently electrocuted and catapulted into the sky, and that's about as inventive as it gets.

An odd mixture of CGI and the traditional prosthetics are used for Murphy's character. There are some good morphing scenes showing him becoming various characters, but at the end his face is covered in tons of latex which merely looks uncomfortable and, of course, unrealistic. Very unrealistic. This makeup is straight from films like FRIGHT NIGHT and other '80s horror flicks, and I'm surprised that they couldn't come up with anything more original.

The acting in this film is all of mediocre standard, as I said above, although Eddie Murphy tries his best as the vampire; he manages to be suave but not in the least bit frightening. I guess people just aren't scared of comedians, no matter how hard they try, you'll always think of the actor making another wisecrack and the effect will be ruined. I have to say though that Murphy's appearance is good and much like a modern day Blacula (as one character remarks in film, in fact). A shame this tepid entry isn't half as much fun as that cult '70s favourite. Angela Bassett, as the heroine, overacts shamelessly and you just can't help feeling embarrassed. Zakes Mokae is quite good as a Van Helsing-type character but he doesn't get nearly enough screen time he deserves.

The one genuinely funny character in the film is Murphy's sidekick, who constantly rots and decays as the film progresses (taken from AN American WEREWOLF IN London, but not nearly as horrific), and there is lots of humour at his expense as his ear, hand, eyeball, and then arm come off. It's not often that I laugh out loud at films but I just couldn't help myself at the arm-pulling jokes. Mitch Pileggi also turns up in a minor role as a mobster who has his heart torn out.

Unfortunately, the last thirty minutes turn into ludicrous melodrama, with loud, extravagant music playing (totally unsuited to the film) and I found myself embarrassed that I was actually sitting there watching it. If you want to see yet another vampire film which fails to be in the least bit original or exciting, then see this, but in my opinion it's just another hammer blow on the vampire genre, which is going to come to an end if no new, entertaining slants are thought up and quickly.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not terrible but not very good either
bob the moo27 July 2002
The last surviving vampire, Maximillian, sails into New York to find a half breed female to breed with. The woman in question, Rita, doesn't know that she's a vampire. With help from his unwilling ghoul Julius, Maximillian tires to woo Rita to join him, but it is Rita's choice as to where she will spend her eternity.

This ranks as one of a series of lows in Eddie Murphy's career, although it isn't terrible – just pretty poor and muddled. The plot is OK on paper but in reality it lacks focus and isn't very involving. The comedy doesn't really work and most of it isn't funny, even the characters written to be funny can barely manage to get a laugh. Also it fails to be scary. With Wes Craven and a big budget, you'd expect some scares – even if they were average ones, but no, not a thing – the `scary' scenes are just silly action scenes and there is no real horror (or tension) in this film.

I like Eddie Murphy and I like his trend of playing multiple characters. The problem is that this only works where the material is good or the film is funny (ie his `family' was the best thing about the Nutty Professor), however here his characters are not good – and his main role is ineffective and silly. I always have time for Angela Bassett as she is not only beautiful but plays good characters (anyone who saw her carry Strange Days will know what I mean), but here she has little material – but still manages to grab the attention. She acts Murphy off the screen. Hardison is not a good actor and his comedy role is not good at all, even reliable like Witherspoon and a few other familiar faces are wasted.

Overall this just about passes the time – but it manages to fail in almost every area it tries to work in. Not funny and not scary and not dramatic and not romantic – watchable but really has very little going for it.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not The Travesty Some Claim
gavin694224 July 2014
Maximillian (Eddie Murphy) is the only survivor from a race of vampires on a Caribbean Island, and as a vampire, he must find a mate to keep the line from ending.

Some have said this film is the worst for Murphy and for Wes Craven, with Murphy saying the wig he had to wear was a big part of the problem. Now, looking back almost twenty years later, the wig does not look bad, and this was far from rock bottom for Murphy. For Craven, it may not be his strongest film, but it may also not be his worst ("Cursed" is pretty bad).

Seriously, this is not that bad of a film, even if the humor never hits exactly right.
31 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Vampire in Brooklyn
jboothmillard19 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I remember seeing images of this film, specifically the leading actor, a few times in the past, in books and things, then I found out is was directed by the late great Wes Craven (The Hills Have Eyes, A Nightmare on Elm Street, Scream), I always wanted to see it. Basically an abandoned ship crashes into a dockyard in Brooklyn, New York, ship inspector Silas Green (John Witherspoon) finds it full of corpses, there is also an intricately carved coffin, which contained suave, mysterious vampire Maximillian (Eddie Murphy). Elsewhere Julius Jones (Kadeem Hardison), Silas's nephew, is saved from being killed by two goons by Maximillian, who intervenes and kills them, Maximillian infects Julius with his vampiric blood, turning Julius into a decaying ghoul. Maximillian explains he is in Brooklyn in search of the Dhampir daughter of a vampire from his native Caribbean island in order to live beyond the night of the next full moon, this turns out to be NYPD Detective Rita Veder (Boyz n the Hood's Angela Bassett). Rita and her partner Detective Justice (Allen Payne) are in the middle of investigating the murders on the ship, Rita starts having strange visions of a woman that looks like her, and questions the past of her mentally ill mother, a paranormal researcher, who died some months ago, Rita has a "strange feeling", and is completely unaware of her heritage, she believes, similar to her mother before, she is losing her mind. To find out more about her and further pull her into his thrall, Maximillian uses sinister methods, including seducing and murdering her roommate Nikki (Simbi Khali), and disguising himself as respected Preacher Pauly and lowlife crook Guido, in these disguises Max also misleads Rita into thinking Justice slept with Nikki, making her jealous and angry with him. After saving her from being hit by a taxicab, Maximillian takes Rita to dinner, she is taken by his suave charm, and begins to fall in love with him, while dancing with her, he bites her. Later the next day Justice finds Rita in her darkened apartment asleep, he informs her that Nikki has been found dead, and wants to help her understand her strange visions, one of them was about Nikki's murder, Rita tearfully forgives Justice and is happy he is starting to understand her. Rita and Justice embrace and passionately kiss, these long-repressed emotions begin Rita's transformation into a vampire, but she stops herself biting Justice when she is horrified to see her reflection fading from a mirror, a sign of becoming one of the "undead". Max explains himself, but she already blames him for her "turning", and deduces he is responsible for the murders, Rita also finds out that Max was sent to her by her father, a vampire, Rita's mother was driven insane due to his death at the hands of vampire hunters. Rita is hysterical, Maximillian tries to convince her life as a vampire is better than that of the human world, and that she will be out of place and misunderstood by society. Justice plans to rescue Rita, he seeks help and advice from vampire expert Dr. Zeko (Zakes Mokae), who they visited earlier, he explains that he knew Rita's mother when she was researching vampires of the Caribbean islands, and that she surrendered to evil by falling in love with Rita's vampire father. Rita must avoid becoming a vampire by refraining from drinking innocent human blood, and Maximillian must die before the next full moon, Zeko gives Justice an ancient dagger to kill Maximillian, or risk Rita killing him. By the time Justice reaches Rita, she is almost completely changed into a vampire, and threatens to bite him, Justice and Max engage in a battle, Justice loses the dagger and Max encourages Rita to finish him and complete the transformation, she rejects life as a vampire, and drives the dagger through Maximillian's heart, causing him to disintegrate. Rita as her heartbroken self is heartbroken, but with Maximillian dead she changes back into a normal human, Rita and Justice then embrace in a passionate kiss, meanwhile Julius has completely decayed, enter his master's limousine and happens upon Maximillian's ring, which he puts on, this instantly transforms him into a fully intact member of the undead, overjoyed he tells his uncle Silas he is the new vampire in Brooklyn. Also starring Joanna Cassidy as Captain Dewey, Scream's W. Earl Brown as Thrasher and Jerry Hall as Woman in Park. Murphy is both suave and sinister as the Caribbean vampire, also a master of disguise, he gets his laughs from being the alcoholic preacher and the Italian gangster, Bassett and the other co-stars do their parts fine as well, the intended jokes are lost in the scary element of the film, because of the amount of gore and grizzly makeup and special effects you are frightened more often than laughing, but overall it is an interesting, funny enough and dark comedy horror. Good!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Real Low In Murphy's Career
ccthemovieman-115 June 2007
This is reverse racism of the worst kind, a film where all the white people are the bad guys and the black people are the good guys. How come racially-biased films like this are "politically correct" even though they reek of prejudice? All the white people are killed, too. Does make things better? Does that help race relations?

Add to that bigotry and very boring love story between Murphy and Angela Bassett and you have a film that was very disappointing. Murphy is a funny guy and someone whose films I usually enjoy....but this was ridiculous. This was a movie that didn't really know what it wanted to be: comedy, romance or horror. A good mixture would have acceptable but none of the categories were represented well here.

As other people point out, this started off strong but quickly lost itself and was a mess from that point. Where was the direction of this film? This was a real low in Murphy's career, which did plummet until recently. The once-box office star seems to have made a comeback, almost like rising from the dead. In that case, maybe NOW he should have played the vampire!
18 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A comedy/horror that fails to deliver much of either.
BA_Harrison4 March 2010
Wes Craven is one of the most inconsistent directors in horror cinema: when on top form, he is a genius, taking risks with unpredictable projects and as a result, often giving the genre a much needed shot in the arm, as proved by groundbreaking movies like Last House On The Left, A Nightmare on Elm Street and Scream; at his least inspired, he is a hack, delivering predictably dumb (but still surprisingly enjoyable) trash like Shocker, Deadly Friend and Cursed.

Vampire in Brooklyn is something of an oddity in Craven's erratic career: it's definitely not a predictable project for the director—a comedy/horror featuring a predominantly black cast—but it certainly is dumb. Written by Eddie Murphy (obviously having a bit of an off day), the script fails to deliver consistent laughs, and even some inspired imagery from Craven cannot prevent this one from being a somewhat disappointing title in the canon of both star and director.

It's a shame, because Murphy can be hilarious and makes for a cool vampire, whilst we all know that Craven is capable of creating iconic scary moments; on this particular occasion, however, the magic just isn't there, and although the film cannot ever be accused of being dull, it is ultimately a forgettable flick that rabid Murphy fans might find enjoyable (the star hams it up to the max), but will probably only be of passing interest to horror fans.

5.5 out of 10, rounded up to 6 for IMDb.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Glorious entrance, embarrassing retreat
Coventry9 October 2008
I always deliberately avoided watching "Vampire in Brooklyn" because, quite frankly, the idea of a collaboration between horror-director Wes Craven and comedy-actor Eddie Murphy sounds about as appealing as going on a picnic trip with a tribe of cannibals… You just don't do that! But hey, every horror movie eventually deserves a fair chance – especially when it airs on TV for free – and, who knows, maybe all your prejudices might be proved wrong. Of course your instincts and premonitions are rarely ever wrong, and "Vampire in Brooklyn" definitely isn't what one would call a good film, but at least the opening sequences mislead me into believing it actually could have become one! The opening is simply terrific and honestly deserves to be part of a different and much better horror movie. Eddie Murphy literally makes a great entrance in the horror genre, but then inevitably ruins it himself by exaggeratedly trying to showcase his "talents" as a comedian and a master of disguise. After a brief voice-over intro, explaining Maximillian is the last survivor of a breed of vampires that emigrated to the Bermuda triangle who now needs to go to Brooklyn in search for a half-vampire woman, we witness an immense and rudderless ghost-vessel entering the harbor and wildly crushing several yachts like they're ordinary paper boats. Marvellous intro, but unfortunately the film immediately goes downhill after that. The plot still shows a lot of potential, since the half-blood Maximillian finds is an emotionally troubled cop, but lame and totally unnecessary comical "sketches" continuously interrupt the tension and substantial coherence. The absolute low-points are two overlong and dull scenes with Eddie Murphy transforming into a whiny preacher and an Italian gangster in order to get closer to his muse. Also, and as expected, Murphy isn't the least bit impressive as the supposedly fierce and charismatic vampire. Maybe it's because you automatically associate his face with a series of comedy movies, but as a horror character he's just lousy. Kadeem Hardison provides a couple of noteworthy moments as the ghoul assistant in a constant state of decomposition, but also his rattling and swearing quickly becomes irritating. Wes Craven's style and usual trademarks are hardly ever noticeable and I suspect Eddie Murphy pretty much behaved like he pleased on the shooting. I'm generously rating "Vampire in Brooklyn" four out of ten, and most of these points go to the great opening and the indescribably beautiful Angela Bassett.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Swearing Does Not Equal Funny
Theo Robertson4 June 2003
This film starts with a ship sailing into harbour then before you can say " Motherf***er " VAMPIRE IN BROOKLYN quickly sinks . Did you say " Motherf***er " ? Good because that seems to be about the only word the characters in this film can say especially the black characters who are forever speaking sentences like " What the f*** is that motherf***ing sh*t motherf***er ? " Is this funky dialogue supposed to be funny or something ? I thought I`d never start laughing and I didn`t

I`m not politically correct or someone who agrees with the inverse fascism that is political correctness but I was greatly offended by the racial stereotypes portrayed in this film , blacks are jive talking dudes , Italians are gangsters and if there were any Arabs in it they`d no doubt be terrorists . Oh and everyone else has noticed VAMPIRE IN BROOKLYN doesn`t work as a horror film , a comedy , or a romance . If you`ve got nothing better to do than watch this then maybe you should consider a whole new different lifestyle altogether
4 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A horror comedy that's neither scary nor funny, a none starter really.
poolandrews20 August 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Vampire in Brooklyn starts as a large boat crashes into a Brooklyn dock, on-board the whole crew are discovered murdered. They were murdered by Maximillian (Eddie Murphy) a Vampire from the Caribbean who happens to be the last of his kind & needs to mate with another Vampire & the closet thing left is half Vampire half human NYPD cop Detective Rita Veder (Angela Bassett) who doesn't yet know she's half Vampire, Maximillian has to convince her she is a Vampire & then to mate with her otherwise the Vampire race will die out...

Directed by Wes Craven this is a romantic comedy horror with an almost entirely black cast that doesn't really work in any respect. The script by Charles Murphy (Eddie's brother), Michael Lucker & Chris Parker quite simply is a laugh free zone, hell I didn't even crack a smile during this. The film starts off very horror orientated then it becomes very comedic before romance takes over, none of these genres particularly go well together & the film feels very uneven, I suppose it moves along at a fair pace & the basic story is alright but it's a bit of a chore to sit through as nothing on screen works that well & a constant stream of profanity is not funny on it's own, is a very lazy way to write & starts to become annoying. The scene when Murphy impersonates the preacher is just plain embarrassing & I hated the ending as well.

Director Craven had never made a comedy before & it show's as the comedy scenes just don't work, the horror & gore scenes are far more effective & it's a shame there's not more of them. By the time Craven teamed up with Murphy to make this both needed a hit after their careers both hit slumps, Vampire in Brooklyn was a poor choice of film although the story does have a happy ending as Craven went on to make the mega hit teen horror slasher Scream (1996) & Murphy made the successful children's comedy The Nutty Professor (1996) as their next films respectively. Angela Bassett's stunt double Sonya Davis died went a stunt went wrong where she was supposed to fall from a building onto an airbag but she actually hit her head on the solid ground. There's some gore here, there's a ripped out heart, various dead bodies with slit throats, some blood drinking & a stake through the heart although the special make-up effects on Murphy at the end look terrible.

With a supposed budget of about $14,000,000 this had a decent amount of cash thrown at it, I don't think it flopped at the box-office but it didn't do that well either. It's well made with decent production values. The acting isn't that great & surprisingly Murphy is the only one who plays it straight which is very odd, Bassett is forgettable & Kadeem Hardison as the comedy relief ghoul is terrible.

Vampire in Brooklyn is a horror film that isn't scary, a comedy that isn't funny & it's got a black cast directed by a white man brought in for his name & as a whole it just doesn't work on any level. One to avoid.
15 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Be Nice, I Liked It
view_and_review4 September 2020
Say I have poor taste, call me an idiot, call me dumb, call me whatever, but I didn't find this movie that bad. If it were a pure horror, then it would've been atrocious, but because they inserted the humor in there I found it entertaining. I could watch Kadeem Hardison and the late John Witherspoon in almost anything. They were a riot. And Eddie Murphy was best as characters other than the vampire.

Eddie Murphy played three different characters with Maximillian the vampire being the main one. His goal: find the only other vampire in existence so that he could live on himself. The indication was that without a life partner he would cease to exist.

His mark: Rita (Angela Bassett). His tool to get his mark: (besides charm) Julius Jones (Kadeem Hardison), who he turned into a ghoul. His opposition: Det. Justice (Allen Payne), who had feelings for Rita.

For the most part, when it was funny it was good, and when it wasn't funny... well... good thing there were funny parts.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good choice for Halloween
HotToastyRag30 September 2021
"I'd love to have you for dinner."

Such a cheesy, but such an essential, line for any comedic Dracula movie. This one is a modern take on the story, but it still starts out the same way as all the period pieces do: with a shipwreck full of dead bodies with mysterious bites but no blood. Eddie Murphy plays the titular vampire, and when he docks in the Brooklyn harbor, he's searching for his one true love. She's a vampire descendent but she doesn't know of her true destiny, so how does he find her?

Well, in a borough as unpopulated as Brooklyn, it's a cinch that he bumps into a beautiful policewoman, Angela Basset, who just so happens to be having disturbing, and revealing, dreams. With a mixture of humor, action, mystery, and some pretty scary vampire scenes, the story makes its way through all the classic elements of the original story. I'm glad this wasn't the first Eddie Murphy movie I saw, otherwise I'd be scared of him! I am definitely a lightweight when it comes to Halloween movies, so if you want something that'll scare you but not give you nightmares, rent Vampire in Brooklyn this October. At least it'll give you a few laughs in between the frights.

Kiddy Warning: Obviously, you have control over your own children. However, due to scary scenes, I wouldn't let my kids watch it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Put a little heart into it......
FlashCallahan5 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Maximillian is the only survivor from a race of vampires on a Caribbean Island, and as a vampire, he must find a mate to keep the line from ending.

He knows that a child had been born to a woman who had a vampire father, and he searches for her in Brooklyn.

Rita's mother, who has died in an asylum, was that woman, and Rita has nightmares that she does not understand.

Not knowing that she is part vampire, Max woos her and attempts to bring her to her blood sucking destiny....

The ironic thing about his dirge is that in the same year Craven and Murphy had the career resurgences that they both desperately needed.

The big problem with this movie is that it cannot decide to be a horror,comedy or dark romance. And it fails on all three accounts. Murphy looks bored in his role, a cross between Blacula, Prince Akeem of Zamunda and a cachexic Barry White.

The rest of the cast look wholly confused and put in risible performances. Hardison s the worse culprit, putting in a performance so hammy, you want to switch off wherever he appears (think Chris Tucker n anything, and your there).

The first tn minutes, especially the boat heading toward the dock, is pure Craven and quite tense, but when Maximillian starts biting people, the whole movie fails on every account.

It's a pity, because this movie had potential and it's aching to get out, but it's a dog of a movie, with only the beginning worth anything.

Avoid.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Eddie Murphy as – you guessed it – a vampire in Brooklyn
Wuchakk2 November 2016
Released in 1995 and directed by Wes Craven, "Vampire in Brooklyn" stars Eddie Murphy as a Caribbean vampire who travels to Brooklyn seeking the daughter (Angela Bassett) of a vampire he once knew in order to keep his vampire line continuing. Allen Payne plays her detective partner and wannabe beau while Kadeem Hardison plays a streetwise dude whom the vampire enlists in his services. John Witherspoon and Zakes Mokae are also on hand.

I can understand why this movie bombed at the box office seeing as how the main cast is all black and this would limit its appeal, but I can't figure out why it has such a low rating since Murphy is commanding in the titular role and the movie hits all the marks of an entertaining blockbuster horror flick. Furthermore, the two main protagonists (Bassett and Payne) are great and their characters have a compelling romantic thread, not to mention Hardison is amusingly effective as the vampire's ghoul; Witherspoon is also notable.

Some people complain about the mixed tone, but the mixture of serious horror with comedy was done in 1990's "Arachnophobia" and it was a minor hit. It's a difficult thing to pull off but "Vampire in Brooklyn" does so absolutely convincingly. Yet the producers of "Vampire in Brooklyn" – e.g. Eddie Murphy – decided to go the extreme R-rated route with an overabundance of foul language. That, plus the primarily black cast, seriously limited the film's appeal. If you can handle the foul language, however, there's a lot to appreciate here, as noted above. Murphy is excellent in three different roles, as usual; and Payne is outstanding as the male protagonist, successfully engaging the viewer.

The film runs 100 minutes and was shot in Brooklyn.

GRADE: B
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
"I would love to have you for dinner"
Smells_Like_Cheese3 December 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Ever since I was a kid, I've loved vampires. My mom had introduced me to that part of horror movies when I was very young and I always found the vampire to be the most interesting of all monsters. They are the only one's that could appear human, they lure you in making it seem normal, but then before you know it, they turn on you. They're the most terrifying monsters if you really think about it. So Wes Craven, one of the masters of horror, who brought us amazing scary movies like A Nightmare on Elm Street, The Last House on the Left, The Hills have Eyes and Scream tried to take on the vampire genre. Interestingly enough as a mixture of horror and comedy. Not something that is brand new as we see with Love at first Bite, Fearless Vampire Killers and Dracula: Dead and Loving it, but he seems to do an unbalanced job with Vampire in Brooklyn.

An abandoned ship crashes into a dockyard in Brooklyn, New York, and the ship inspector, Silas, inspects it, finding it full of corpses. Elsewhere, Julius Jones, has a run-in with some Italian mobsters. Just as the two goons are about to kill Julius, Maximillian, a suave, mysterious vampire, intervenes and kills them. Soon after, Maximillian infects Julius with his vampiric blood, turning Julius into a decaying ghoul; he then explains that he has come to Brooklyn in search of the Dhampir daughter of a vampire from his native island in order to live beyond the night of the next full moon. Now he's in search of Rita, the woman he was meant to be with in Brooklyn, New York.

The thing is, I still like this film despite it's flaws. I remember being obsessed with this movie when I was a kid. Growing up, I got the DVD, does it have it's problems? Yeah. Angela Bassett who is normally a great actress really overacts in this film to the point where her character becomes obnoxious. Eddie Murphy does a pretty decent job, he plays a number of characters as usual. Playing not only Maximillian, but the preacher and the crook. He seemed to have fun with the role and had a lot of charisma. I also thought the relationship and chemistry between Kadeem Hardison and John Witherspoon as Julius and Silas was not only great but absolutely hilarious. I couldn't catch my breath from laughing so much when Silas accidentally pulls Julius' arm off and Silas says "Look at this! Now you the fugitive!" and Julius keeps telling him to put it back on and how he needs his arm back. There are some genuine funny moments mainly between Julius and Silas. As for the scary, not so much; there are some good one's here and there, between Nikki's murder and Eddie Murphy's make up was pretty frightening. While it's a flawed film, I think it's still worth checking out over all, it's a good story that just needed a better cast and a little more thought. But I think you'll get a few good chuckles out of this film.

6/10
27 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Horror fans won't like this movie because it's not funny, comedy fans won't like this movie because it isn't funny, and Eddie Murphy fans (all twenty of them!) won't like this movie because Eddie Murphy has
MovieAddict20165 August 2003
"Vampire in Brooklyn" is about a Romanian-talking Vampire, who travels to Brooklyn, New York, in search of a half-vampire to be his bride and to continue the species of vampire with.

Eddie Murphy is that vampire, fit with sharp teeth, glowing eyes and a Little Richard haircut. Murphy parades around with a forced and awful Romanian accent, trying to be funny and at the same time scary, but quite frankly it doesn't work. It's not funny, and it isn't scary, making it more of a stupid movie than anything else.

The first ten minutes are clever. Watch as the film presents us with a solid opening that is both humorous and mysterious. Then watch as it soon dissipates, leaving some stupid plot about vampires hindering the film. I can only imagine how much better the film would have been if Murphy had put some more thought into the script when he co-wrote it with his real-life brother. If the entire movie was like the first five, ten minutes or so, I would recommend this film. But given that it instantly loses all originality, humor and interest, and suddenly resorts to stupid gags and darkness, I give this film a low rating.

Horror fans won't like this movie because it's not funny, comedy fans won't like this movie because it isn't funny, and Eddie Murphy fans (all twenty of them!) won't like this movie because Eddie Murphy has better chances at winning the Mr. Olympia rather than convince us he is a Romanian vampire.

I suspect that vampires must contain a kind of animal instinct. Murphy's vampire travels to Brooklyn in search of the last vampire to mate with, but the thought that this vampire might not be attracted to him never crosses his mind. What about courting? I guess vampires don't do that. They sleep, they drink blood, they mate, multiply, and die. This is what Murphy would like us to believe. But if this is true, then why does Murphy act like a human, walk, talk and sing like a human? Okay, he doesn't sing, it just rhymed. But this film's plot is as weak as a trampoline would be with a five-hundred-pound man bouncing on it.

Okay, forgive and forget, I'll buy the idea of a vampire coming to Brookyn in search of a mate, okay, that's fine. But I won't buy the idea that Eddie Murphy is that vampire, that the vampire has a wicked streak of humor (after all, his instincts make him an animal, not one that takes himself and his surroundings lightly), and I definitely won't buy the movie.

After the hour-point, the film starts getting really weird, really dark, and turns from an attempt at comedy to a serious film. Not even a horror film, but more of a religious film. Someone dies in the form of crucifixion. It is as if Murphy, realizing his script was not funny nor scary, started trying to go for symbolic religion in his film. He buried the end of his script in the ancient curses of vampires, and so on and so forth. Murphy contradicts himself so many times, and the script contradicts Murphy so many times, that the film just loses all credibility and, in the end, turns out neither funny, scary, nor entertaining.

2/5 stars -

John Ulmer
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A really good Eddie Murphy film!
Irishchatter13 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I swear, he really took a big challenge in playing a Romanian vampire and you know what he killed it! His name 'Maxmillion' isn't really a good name to have it as a fake name. It just sounds too modern but it didn't bother me much!

Man, I honestly loved how this movie was really well done in regarding the stunts, the funny scene's and everything involved with it! I was laughing my head off when Maxmillion lift the dog into the air and threw it into the river. I am an animal lover but that scene cracked me up like! With the cat, I was surprised he got shot, at least there wasn't any blood or guts around. At least the fur was better but still, it really did make me cringe when the cat died!

I'm glad this is a different film that you could watch on a Halloween night! Seriously it's funny to look at but it can be gruesome at the same time!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
come on stop winning this is a good movie.
jacobjohntaylor117 March 2020
This is one of the scariest movie I have seen. It has great acting. It a great story line. It is better then A Nightmare on elm street I can not believe people are winning about this I guess they just do not like good horror movies
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Third Murphy Movie In A Row To Lose Money At The Box Office
slightlymad2225 January 2018
Continuing my plan to watch every Eddie Murphy movie in order, I come to Vampire In Brooklyn (1995)

Plot In A Paragraph: Maximillian (Murphy) is the only surviving vampire, he must find a mate to keep the line from ending. He knows that a child had been born to a woman who had a vampire father, and he searches for her in Brooklyn.

Playing a vampire worked for Cruise in 1994, why not Eddie Murphy a year later. This was Eddie Murphy's last movie for Paramount, and he is on record as saying he only made it, to get out of his contract with them. He also said the reason this movie failed, was because of the wig he wore.

I had never seen this movie before, my local video store never even had a copy of it, and he got almost everything ("no demand for it son") in his store. Yet I know a few people who call this under rated. With comments ranging from "It's not bad" and "I liked it" to "It's actually a really good horror"

It didn't really work for me on any level. The comedy is slapstick and out of place with the rest of the movie. Played 100% straight or as an outright comedy, I may have enjoyed it more. As it is, it's neither really scary or very funny. It had potential on both fronts, as it is, it settles in the middle and fails on all grounds!! I'm not even sure if I was meant to root for Murphy or not. We do get a first for a Murphy character here.

30 mins in, I could have turned it off, but it did get more interesting as it went on. With the exception of the "Bad is Good" Preacher scene, I didn't really enjoy any of it though. Angela Basset was pretty solid and John Witherspoon (so great in Boomerang) brings a smile too. But they seem to be acting in different movies, and that's the problem.

In an interview, Wes Craven stated that the movie was difficult to make because Murphy did not want to be funny, instead aiming to play his character straight. He also said in a different interview "Eddie didn't want to be really evil, which i think hampered it massively, because it really needed somebody who could be evil but he kind of wanted to do a horror film but he didn't want to be a bad guy and he wanted to look kind of buff all the time".

If Murphy wanted to be taken seriously, playing multiple characters including his Guido character from RAW was the wrong way to go about it.

Vampire In Brooklyn was the third Murphy movie in a row to lose money, as it only grossed $19 million (a few thousand more than Best Defence) to end the year the 82nd highest grossing movie of the year.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The First Comeback For Eddie
damianphelps21 February 2021
After a couple of dodgy movies in the early 90's Boomerang, Distinguished Gentleman and an iffy BH Cop 3, Eddie makes a solid return to the big screen.

Its a great blend of horror/action and comedy that entertains from start to finish.

The late 90's saw another decline in his films only to be booted up again with Nutty Prof 2.

Vampire in Brooklyn is something different and should be enjoyed as such :)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Totally get anyone falling for Bassett...but how can she overlook that Jheri curl???
matthewssilverhammer7 January 2020
Craven's comedy films are only ever as strong as the script he's given, and this one is a mild disaster. His direction not only fails to elevate the material, it confuses it, never allowing the film to work as scary or funny; Hardison and Witherspoon are the only points of fun, and even that's a bit of a stretch. A tepid and lazy excuse for Murphy to play dress-up.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
At least this one's got a hot Dhampir.
Fella_shibby30 September 2020
I first saw this in the mid 90s on a vhs. Revisited it recently. A vampire from Caribbean island arrives in New York in search of the dhampir (an offspring of a vampire and a human). The vampire initiates a series of sinister methods to pull the dhampir into his thrall. The film lacks genuine scares n there is no suspense or tension. Murphy is effective and menacing as the vampire and Bassett is stunningly attractive.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
"Do I Look Like I Would Bite You?"
gwnightscream19 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Eddie Murphy, Angela Bassett, Allen Payne, Zakes Mokae, Kadeem Hardison, John Witherspoon and Joanna Cassidy star in Wes Craven's 1995 horror comedy. Murphy (Beverly Hills Cop) plays Caribbean vampire, Maximillian who arrives in Brooklyn searching for a woman who is half vampire. Bassett (Waiting to Exhale) plays his interest, Rita who is a cop and he tries to seduce her, Payne (House of Payne) plays her partner, Justice who she finds romance with, the late, Mokae (The Serpent and the Rainbow) plays Zeko, an expert on vampires, Hardison (A Different World) plays Julius, a loser who becomes Max's ghoul, Witherspoon (Friday) plays boat watchman/landlord, Silas and Cassidy (Blade Runner) plays police captain, Dewey. This basically pays tribute and pokes fun at vampire flicks like "Blacula." It's not bad, Murphy is great in it, he and Bassett have good chemistry, Rick Baker's make-up effects are terrific as usual and J. Peter Robinson's score is also great. I recommend this.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie bites!
GOWBTW14 February 2008
This is one Eddie Murphy movie that didn't get my goat. I've heard of "Blackula", this movie doesn't amuse me that well. You got some multiple characters there: There's this vampire from the Caribbean who was in a boat, that wiped out all the crew, and crashed somewhere in New York. This vampire goes to find a bride, who happens to be a cop(Angela Bassett). She's half-vampire. Kadeem Hardison from "A Different World" fame plays a servant, just like Dracula have only a little sillier. Some scenes in the movie were out of line, especially when the vampire came in form of a preacher. Just like all vampire lords, they go down the usual way, stake, sunlight, holy cross, or head cut off. Wes Craven gives this movie a try, since he's the horror master. However, this horror movie just didn't go for the jugular, it went for the funny bone. It didn't tickle mine though. Sorry! 1 out of 5 stars!
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed