The Doom Generation (1995) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
198 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Never Seen Anything Like It
cocaine_rodeo16 August 2001
This was one of the strangest movie I've ever seen, but at the same time, one of the most meaningful. This was a good movie. There was a sadistic violence, a bunch of sex scenes, vulgarity, more graphic violence, more sex, a three way, and an incredibly sad, tragic ending.

If you are able to look past all this (many people cannot, mind you), than you will see a good movie about three teenage tortured souls cruising along the urban pits of Los Angeles, who run into a crazy clerk with a shotgun, a crazy drive thru attendant with a shotgun, a nasty blonde with a sword, and some really scary Neo Nazis, who all think Amy Blue is someone else.

Rose McGowen is Amy Blue, the sexy, angry, speed taking, tough as nails lead character, James Duval is Amy's naive, stoner boyfriend Jordan White, and Johnathon Schaech was Xavier Red, the crazy, dangerous, kinky, and violent source of trouble. If you have a strong stomach, and don't mind harshly sad endings, check it out, but be aware, because you might get grossed out and leave (I almost did). 9/10
71 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Select audiences will love this amphetamine-fueled trip through the badlands of mid-90's teen (angst) culture
burntime-114 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Asian-American director Gregg Araki's first "heterosexual movie" (as the opening credits declare) is a lurid, drug-fueled romp about teen angst, sex, voyeurism, murder, consumerism and homophobia. It's also a lot of fun, in an ironically kitsch, acquired-taste sort of way.

At the time of its 1995 release The Doom Generation was firmly entrenched as part of the 'new queer cinema' (a movement which sought to break down notions of 'normal' heterosexuality through transgression and subversion rather than through polemic statements). The film sets out to explore a sexual dynamic that lies well outside the traditional boy-meets-girl (or even boy-meets-boy) structure of 99% of American movies, but it does do with its tongue firmly planted in (between) cheek(s).

The plot is extraordinarily simple. Teen couple Amy White (Rose McGowan, best known as small screen witch Paige Matthews from Charmed) and Jordan White (James Duval, more recently seen as Frank in cult film Donnie Darko) accidentally save the seductive, psychotic bisexual Xavier Red (Jonathon Schaech) from a violent gang of homophobes (played by members of industrial band Skinny Puppy) before throwing him out of their car a short time later. The trio meets again later that night at the scene of an accidental convenience store murder, forcing them into an uncomfortable intimacy as they flee the scene of the crime. Before long this intimacy develops significantly, in scenes which display a truly erotic frisson.

The film is deliberately trashy, satirizing western culture's love of consumption and surface beauty while simultaneously commenting on the homophobia underlying traditional macho braggadocio. It's also influenced by such classic genres as the road movie and the horror film, in particular taking the horror movie's obsession with bodily penetration and perverse sexuality (as typified by the likes of Alien and The Fly) to occasionally shocking extremes.

With its garish, adolescent energy and deft ear for teen culture's dialog and self-obsessed behavior, not to mention a too-cool-for-school soundtrack of mid-90's alternative bands (as well as a cameo by Janes's Addiction's Perry Farrell among others), Gregg Araki's The Doom Generation is an occasionally infuriating but wildly entertaining sex-murder romp whose ending is all the more powerful for the light tone the film has previously employed.

RICHARD WATTS
29 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
a cool, detached, nihilistic and artful take on human existence
TomC-59 May 2000
Gregg Araki's THE DOOM GENERATION is reminiscent of everything from MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHO to THE RIVER'S EDGE to TRUE ROMANCE to the experimental films of Pasolini, of Warhol (Morrisey), as well as of Richard Kern. The film reveals its thematic message when the most innocent and selfless of its three main characters asks the other, more self-centered, two if they ever think about the meaning of existence. Dismissing the very question, they reveal to the questioner an answer of sorts, one which suggests that we each create a meaning for ourselves, and are all existentially alone as we do so.

While offering us a rather slight story of a pair of teen lovers on the road who encounter a slightly older bisexual who becomes their nemesis, companion, lover and protector, THE DOOM GENERATION offers a great deal of visual style and wit, and some genuine moments of suspense. In fact, the film's gory and discomforting climactic scene is perhaps the artistic highlight and suggests some real filmaking talent by writer/director Gregg Araki. This is probably not everyone's cup of tea, but is worth a look for those who like a film which challenges them to react to strong imagery and who don't mind transgressive depictions.
30 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Welcome on the road to Hell!! This is Araki's world
Coventry13 May 2004
The opening credits claim this is a `heterosexual' movie by Gregg Araki… Now that statement is still open for discussion. Something that isn't open of discussion is the fact Araki created one of the meanest, most good-looking pieces of trash of the 90's! Imagine yourself a lesser-hyped version of `Natural Born Killers' and exclude that last bit of political correctness. It seems like Araki was testing how far he could go…and then cheerfully exaggerated some more. The Doom Generation is a speed-driven and absurd road movie against all forms of good taste. A young couple, accompanied by a trigger-happy madman, faces the most eccentric situations and deal with the most extravagant characters. The film contains a lot of violence but even more absurd and demoralizing humor, so the whole thing never really becomes disturbing or provocative. Lots of naughty language and nudity, though! Rose McGowan's character Amy is the closest thing to a cult/trash queen we saw in the 90's and her naked body is always a joy to behold. James Duvall (sort of like Araki's lead in his entire teenage-alienation trilogy) is terrific as the confused teenager with the `whatever' attitude! Gregg Araki's visions are downright brilliant from time to time. Many people don't seem to think so (just check the other comments around here) but his film is extremely stylish and a perfect portrayal of a pop culture generation. Heck, even his colorful slang – which includes a whole dictionary of genitalia synonyms – alone is worth the effort. The Doom Generation is one the most special films of the past decade and it really deserves the cult-followings it developed over the years. Check it out if you're open-minded, not quickly offended and not faint of heart!
41 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
What is this about?
J DRECK4 February 1999
First of all, this movie was not funny, as I expected. The box was very very very misleading. Plus, I could not really decipher a plot. This movie had no beginning or end. I can't understand why this movie was put on film in the first place. It's definitely not worth watching.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
brilliant and entertaining
FeriZsolnai21 September 2004
I write this because I read a harsh critic from a fellow watcher here and I don't really understand his opinion.

this movie is highly surrealistic, and in its on way very truthful - regarding the fact that it shows the story through the eyes of these overcharacterized stereotypical teens. being an eastern European guy, I think I can say that this movie requires the watcher to step out of his usual westernized filters he's watching films through, and try to be as objective a listener as possible. I must disagree with the opinion that this movie has to be taken seriously - this is a weird kind of entertainment, weird in a positive way like those C-trash horrors that are so bad you start to collect them on your shelf. araki may not be the brightest star in independent film-making, but he's reasonably strong and original.

I recommend this to mature people who don't think that knowing high arts requires them to deny their childhood classics or spider-man. watch it with much self-irony and have a good time. :)
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A rush.
scarylion26 February 2002
Wow. What a film. This highly enterntaining, slick, fast movie, requires multiple viewings. The more you put in the more you get out. The story is a simple one. A teenage couple, sick of the world, pick up a drifter after a concert at quite a metaphorical venue. They then get dragged through murder, drugs, sex (Highly un-erotic), ya know, the usual. The dreamy, surreal visuals are a delight, and the symbollic use of colours and light are mind-blowing if not hypnotic. Please dont be disgusted, during the first viewing, instead look between the lines, where you will find the truth. I highly recommend this film to anyone who like to ask 'why?'.
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Rose McGowan is lost, adrift, doomed
Dr. Gore20 March 2005
Warning: Spoilers
*SPOILER ALERT* *SPOILER ALERT*

I bought this video. They weren't looking for trouble, but trouble found them. They are the Doom Generation. Is it an exploitative movie about bored youths killing and sleeping their way across the land of convenience stores and cheap motels or is it a cry for help for the disaffected, nihilistic American youth of today? Why, it's a little of both!

Rose McGowan and two guys hit the road. Some people would call it America. The Doom Generation calls it Hell. The number 666 saturates the landscape. Their motel room number, the price of their chili dogs, in fact, every number is 666. It all makes sense since they are in Hell. A Hell they may have created with their nonstop violence and meaningless sex? Hey man, whatever. They're the Doom Generation. Don't bum them out.

Rose McGowan has a "Pulp Fiction" Uma Thurman-type haircut which looks great on her bored head. She is topless through a lot of this movie as her favorite pastime is getting to know her two guys intimately. There's also plenty of blood and guts as the killer trio seems to find a reason to kill some loser at every stop.

Needless to say, I enjoyed this fine film. "The Doom Generation" is worth a look.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you like crap, you'll love this movie.
Dr.Zaius24 June 1999
Where to begin... This movie tries so hard to be dark and say something sarcastic about GenX kids that it abandons all attempts to explain itself. Note to filmmaker: Just because your movie is inexplicable doesn't mean it's profound.

Some movies disturb you to catch your attention... not this one. Not that it's not disturbing--it is--but it just never holds your attention with any of this. Chances are you'll be bored watching this movie, even with a slew of sex scenes and a decapitation.

James Duval's confused looks and line delivery invite comparison to Keanu Reeves. Rose McGowan's lines are not only unfunny but increasingly irritating as the movie goes on. The best parts of the movie are the cameos by Skinny Puppy and Perry Farrell...

The best way to watch this movie would be with a bunch of sarcastic friends. The more you rip it apart and laugh at its attempts at drama, the more you'll enjoy it.
24 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
satirical look at a generation
tobias_lane23 April 2004
Gregg Araki's Doom Generation is a satirical look at a generation that has been played out in cookie cutter versions of Gen X films. Don't get me wrong, Doom Generation is a little more "visual" than let's say, "Reality Bites," but then so is "Nowhere." The graphic nature of the violence and language play into Araki's satire and even the subliminal messages throughout the film play into the hands of those who look upon the "Gen-X" films as hip because we all go to a coffee house. Capitalism is evident in these films because of all the product placement, but we are not supposed to give in to this commercialism. Giving into this wasteland of over-marketed products is what Gen-X'ers say that they will not do while wearing their $60 Tommy pants and sipping on a $6.00 latte. Araki does what any brilliant director would do in this situation: make THE DOOM GENERATION.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A bleak, surreal adventure.
great_sphinx_427 July 2001
Scaldingly angry and hateful, this is the tale of a trio of young people on a roadtrip to hell. Amy Blue and Jordan White are a teenage couple who have been dating "a really long time"- 3 months. One night Xavier Red jumps in the backseat of Amy's car and leads them on a mad, illicit journey through Greg Arraki's twisted vision of young America. Much has been made of the 'excessive' violence and sex this movie has, but that very excess is part of the point- that pointless excess has led the youth of America down a path where death barely registers, and intimacy doesn't at all. Greg Arraki *likes* these 3 characters. He grieves for the innocence they never even had and the love they try to fashion from the bloody shards of their hearts. And he rages at the widely held and ever-so-patriotic belief that regressing back into intolerance is the answer to America's problems, especially in regards to the young. Maybe he's looking for a third option, one that actually does children good, rather than oppressing them or leaving them to run wild in an irresponsible world. Rose McGowan once stated that Amy, with her sharp tongue and wounded eyes, is Rose herself at 15. Like Amy, Rose suffered a horrible childhood and because she put her fury and pain into her character, any 15-year-old girl who has suffered at the hands of those who are supposed to protect her can relate. Jordan is just adrift. He finds that Amy is having sex with Xavier, and he dismisses it- a soft, honest "whatever, Amy." Xavier plays demon-imp, tormenting and tempting Amy and Jordan headlong into their bleak, surreal adventure. Ultimately this story is Amy's, and the story is about isolation- hence Amy's whispered, matter-of-fact assertion at the beginning that "there's just no place for us in this world", her attempts to connect with both boys in the only way she knows how, and then her unseeing stare at the end.
24 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Peerlessly Awful
TrishaYuki21 March 2002
Three pinheads ride around in a car, stop, kill some people, get back in the car and drive some more, stop, kill more people, get back in the car, repeat ad infinitum. With so much sex and violence, you would expect to find something enjoyable in this piece of cinematic flotsam. But the egregious Gregg Araki has succeeded in making a film about sex and death that is excruciatingly boring.

Two of the aforementioned pinheads, played by James Duval and Rose McGowan, pick up a third pinhead on the side of the road. He is a hitchhiker named Xavier and the film makes it very clear that he is supposed to be cool and sexy. However, he is really just the same brand-name subculture bad-boy that you can purchase at any Stock-Characters-R-Us Superstore.

Anyway, with their trio of stooges complete, our heroes go on a killing spree. They also stop at a hotel between murders to have sex, breaking up the monotony of the monumentally monotonous story. They are entangled in a bisexual love triangle, and the film makes it very clear to us that it is all supposed to be very risque and exciting. Er, yeah...

I will admit that I didn't finish watching this film. After the third killing, I realized I had seen all there was to see. The plot plays very much like a broken record. First, they stop in a convenience store. They kill the Asian man that works there. His severed head lands in the fresh produce, but continues to talk. How droll. This scene is supposed to be funny, or shocking, or campy, or something like that. Actually, it is silly and amateurish, and the talking head is laughable. They then move on to a variety of other locales to kill a variety of other people. There is no plot, simply the same scenario repeated. The violence fails to every really shock the audience, which is a shame, since they could probably use a good jolt to keep them from nodding off.

I can forgive a film for having no plot. The problem is that The Doom Generation fails in all other aspects, as well. The characters are unbelievable and poorly conceived. The acting is overwrought. The cinematography and special effects are of the cable access variety. The dialogue is positively atrocious. The script tries to be funny and shocking, but it will induce more groans than chuckles or gasps.

It is difficult for me to fully capture in words my contempt for this excremental train-wreck of a film. It is so transparent about what it wants to be: shocking, sexy, and funny, yet witty and satirical at the same time. How far The Doom Generation fell from its lofty goals.

Is it sharp social satire? No. Is it acerbic dark comedy? It's not funny. Is it avant garde pulp drama? I don't think so. Is it crap? Bang on!

It is very rarely that I fail to finish watching a film. But watching The Doom Generation is actually painful. It is my pick for the worst film of the 90's, and a strong contender for worst film of all time. If you last long enough to see the end credits, I commend you on your iron resolve. Either that, or you cheated and used the fast forward button.
18 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Its a bad movie in a really good way
marygoround223 December 2004
The Doom Generation is an art film trying to please the audience that its making fun of. It has gratuitous violence and is pretty much a soft core porn. The dialog is poor at best. But these are the things that make it a "good" film. The movie is basically taking to task generation X, I mean there is after all a character named "X" who leads the two other "innocent" characters down the road to hell. The gratuitous violence is suppose to highlight the characters apathy toward fellow human beings. In the string of murders and violence that ensues the only time the 3 of them show remorse or concern is when they hit a dog on the road. They end the dogs suffering and bury it! And Amy says something to the effect of "Life Sucks".Out of all the human death they only show concern for themselves and the effect it will have on them, i.e. getting caught, but they all suffer for the poor dogs death. The sex, voyeurism, partner swapping etc. are just examples of more apathy and general selfishness-if it feels good do it. But your not even sure if it feels good because towards the end when the climax of violence is happening nobody seems overly upset that the sex has taken such a bad turn. Maybe Perry Farrel's earlier cameo is to get you to keep in mind the Jane's addiction lyric "... sex is violence"? Any way I could ramble on maybe I'm so brimming with insight because the first time I saw it I was high and then on finally re-watching it I was truly frightened by how many friends I have fit the film's stereotypes
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Heh
cofemug21 April 2001
Warning: Spoilers
This movie rocks. I had been wanting to see it because I had heard it was good. I couldn't find the unedited version to rent, so I hadn't seen it until this year. We watched it in my Film and Video class here, and I loved it. I seemed to be the exception to the rule, however. I'd say about 97% of the class disliked to downright hated this movie. Why did I love it, and everybody else hate it?

I loved it because I could see it for what it is. It was a movie made for high school kids, and it looked and felt like something a high school kid would make. It was chock full of swearing, sex, violence, and crude humor. There was no plot. But, it obviously had a budget, and became a satire of itself. In fact, it could be seen as being a movie that force feeds sex, language, and violence (all the things that high schoolers may think as cool) to kids and shows them that it is not cool.

The movie was downright hilarious, and the repetitiveness got hilarious. Everything was run straight to the ground. And it was all so over the top that you couldn't believe that they actually went as far as they did.

The movie, in my opinion, truly grasps the Goth mentality in all of its glory. Disaffected, removed, and yet sweet in a way, with extremes running through it all. The one thing that this movie is not is nihilistic though. Somebody referred to it as "nihilism for nihilism's sake." How is this different from the stylistic nihilism of Pulp Fiction? Not to mention, they did not fully grasp the movie.

*SPOILERS SPOILERS* In this movie, they are at first shocked by the death, and show more emotion for the dead characters. "Why do you have to kill someone everytime we stop somewhere?" They feel sad about killing the dog, and give it a burial as well. The ending is also shock in that, if you even semi-cared for the characters (which should be the nature of film), you felt sad for them, and was shocked by the scariness of the violence and oppression of them. It had emotions through it about violence, making it not nihilistic. The ending could also be seen as mourning and dealing, as Amy doesn't reply to the final question.

The sex issue was treated with unemotion because sex is seen as detached from love. Sex is sex. It is a pleasure. That's what its seen as in this movie. It could be heterosexual or homosexual, but it is just sex. The ending could be seen as the repression of homosexuality by the all-american norm. *END SPOILERS END SPOILERS*

So, I say if you can handle ultra violence, and rampant language, and disturbingly close sex, run to the store to see this movie (if they have the unrated version). Otherwise buy the unrated version. I did. This is a great movie. Hilarious and entertaining with a message, unlike some other modern movies.

10/10
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Mad, bad and beautiful to watch!
Infofreak14 July 2001
Some films divide audiences immediately. 'Eraserhead', 'Beyond The Valley Of The Dolls', 'Night Of The Living Dead'. 'The Doom Generation' is one of those movies! I don't know of anyone who has seen it that has a luke warm response. You either love it or hate it, and I love it!

Gregg Araki makes unique movies. Self conscious, self parodying, INTELLIGENT trash. His world is not really our world. It's an exaggerated, surreal version of "reality". Sexy, violent, pop culture bombarded, dream-like, impossible to forget or ignore. 'The Doom Generation' is clever, ironic, disturbing fun.

Personally, I think his next movie 'Nowhere' is his masterpiece, but this is almost as good. Plus we get lots of Rose McGowan flesh on display - not a bad thing! Her performance as Amy Blue ALMOST makes her the 1990s version of Tura Satana! She will never knock off Tura's crown as Queen of Sleaze, but she seems to be having a hell of a lot of fun trying, and I have a hell of a lot of fun watching her!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome movie..... if you are slightly askew
sugarbee36023 February 2005
I am a big fan of Gregg Araki's movies especially the trilogy this movie is a part of. My friends and I have even assembled our own little cult following for it. It is for sure a twisted and perverse movie but at the same time it has a message and funny all at the same time. I would only recommend this if you are into shocking, graphic commentary on our society and can stomach violence and sexual deviance. Now since the waring is out of the way I want to say i think this movie is genius and i love the WTF? feeling you get after watching this and the other two movie in this series (Nowhere and Totally F***ed Up). If you do watch this movie and don't like it the first time I suggest you watch it again, i promise after the initial shock you will see the art behind it all.
22 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Dark and disturbing, but riveting
sick_boy420xxx20 June 2001
One of my personal favorite films is this tale of a road adventure between a teenage couple and a guy they pick up, leading to lots of sex, gory violence and bizarre events. This one is quite a dark movie, with lots of death and tragedy, but at the same time a brilliant look at the whacked-out characters involved in these harrowing situations. Director Gregg Araki seems to have a knack for these types of movies. His next film was the even better NOWHERE. Definitely Recommended.
14 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The worst film I've personally seen
porterismmovement5 August 2007
I don't object to the sex or violence, or even the characters' reactions to the situations they find themselves in. What bothers me is I get the sense that the story(?) is secondary to Araki's attempt to have The Doom Generation create the same iconic cultural buzz that Pulp Fiction did the year previous. It's obvious so much time and energy was spent perfecting the crazy/sexy/cool look and feel of the movie, that the story, acting and the (cringe-inducing)dialog were duly sacrificed to achieve some kind of pop culture statement. The problem is that Araki's commentary on the younger generation was so exaggerated and trite it turned me right off and muted any semblance of plot or characterization that remained. Araki comes off like someone who has very little inherit understanding of the generation he's trying to be the mouthpiece for. Xavier licks ejaculate off of his hand, but the only reason why it exists is to 'freak out the hetero squares'. The film bursts at the seams with content that exists only to shock. The trouble is, it has a hard time even doing that.

The truly sad thing is, this movie was not without potential. The premise was interesting, the look was good, but if we were given just one more good element, it might have been a watchable film. As it stands, the movie spins its wheels in the mud -- making a lot of commotion, but ultimately never going anywhere. The dialog, I'm convinced, was written solely with the purpose that at least one of the put-downs or sarcastic comebacks would somehow become a popular catchphrase amongst the hip gen-x crowd. Same with the 666 thing. That kind of gimmickry might accentuate a good film, but it also makes a bad film worse, because it comes across as pretentious and self-serving.

As a film about the generation of which I'm a member (I was nineteen when this came out), I don't know if I should feel insulted or embarrassed for Araki. One thing's for sure, he should be embarrassed about making this sleazy schlock.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
if you liked this movie, something is wrong with you
draftyrafters15 February 2000
Do you know anyone who actually enjoys watching Faces of Death?

Do you know anyone who thinks Christina Ricci or Angelina Jolie or Rose McGowen really have their fingers on the pulse of the modern female sensibility and truly speak to their generation with the dark and musky words of wisdom that only self-important and gothic young women can impart?

Do you know anyone who enjoys swallowing rusty bits of metal?

Show him/her The Doom Generation. I'm sure they'll get a kick out of it.

I do not know what inspired the producers of this film to make it, but they have committed a grievous crime against humanity. Playing out like the fever dream of a psychotic inmate on death row, this movie attempts to cleverly and darkly walk the edge of the modern teenager's condition, speaking to the heart of the confused and pimply masses across the nation with it's total lack of coherent sense and its indulgence on pointless sex and excessive violence. Toss in a few "dude"s and "far out"s and you have yourself a sort of Gen-Xer's version of Dazed and Confused.

The problem is, and I'm sorry to be the one to say this, that no matter what generation you are, if you're a teenager, you're really not all that different from most other teenagers. Most pubescent citizens are very predictable: hate authority, rebel at all costs, no one really knows me, life is falling down all around me, I'm all alone, etc. ad nauseum. Like the Simpsons say, "Making teenager's depressed is like shooting fish in a barrel."

And this movie has the audacity to think that impressing teenagers is just as easy.

With the reckless abandon of a Manson murder spree, this flick goes from scene to scene as if it were being made up on the spot and improvised without halting. I have been to third grade Christmas pageants with better acting. I have witnessed better dialogue at the monkey cage in the zoo. I have heard a more meaningful and well-thought out story from the lips of drunken football player. Someone wasn't playing their cards right, because if they were, this script would have been buried alongside the dangerous man who wrote it.

Many people might like this movie for its reckless attitude towards such things as "decency" and "common sense" and "a plot." Such people might find the violence humourous in its cartoonish excessiveness, or might see the inane dialogue as funny on the basis of its stupidity. I myself know the joys that watching a bad B-movie can bring (see such gems as the Reanimator or Buckaroo Banzai); but this movie will never bring me joy. Watching this film is like locking tongues with Loci, evil god of strife and discord on the seventh platform of hell.

My only concern is that some of you might want to rent this movie just so you can see how horrible it is. Normally that would be my reaction, too. But NO! RUN! FAR FAR AWAY! Picket your local distributor if this movie graces its shelves.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
really, really bad
vlad191716 August 1999
this is one of those movies targeted towards pseudo-goth teenieboppers who think they know about film...and it gives them their own little cult flick so they can say anyone who doesn't like this movie "doesn't get it." i got it, and it sucked. the most pretentious movie ever made.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yawn
Siko19 March 2002
Utterly boring and pointless. Someone left a copy of this at my house, and it sounded vaguely interesting so I checked it out.

Blah. It's not even worth a rental, if you ask me.

It starts, it goes for a while, and it ends. There's no real story to it. It's full of clichés. The characters are about as interesting, original, and appealing as styrofoam. The ending? Well, all I could say was "Huh?"

I don't know quite what they were trying to do here, but whatever it was, it didn't work. It seems like they were trying really hard to be shocking, but instead it just came off as gory and gross.

Check this film out if you wanna see some cheap special effects and homoerotic sex scenes.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I Don't Really Know What the Hell to Tell you if You Are Thinking of Renting This.
tonymurphylee4 March 2007
** out of ****

I watched this knowing what it was going to be like. I knew it would be trashy, cheap, unassuming, and interesting. But unfortunately, this film is none of these things. I went in expecting these things and i had them all shoved back into my face. I wasn't expecting this film to be as good as KALIFORNIA, but i was taken agog when i discovered what it really was.

The film is basically just about a couple who hook u with a young outlaw and basically go on a trip to nowhere. While on this trip, they have some encounters with several people who they end up murdering. They don't show any kind of guilt by doing this. Just regret.

This film was too easy. It's concluding statement is that the youth of today have made their world there own personal hell. This is established from the beginning and then the film decides to show as many different ways of showing this as it can. For me it didn't work, but in a strange way, it did. I liked the way the film doesn't take or give any sort of apologies for the weird images it shows. I liked the way the film showed us a continuing spiral around repetition. I usually hate it when a film does these sorts of things, but here it fit perfect. Rose Mcgowen does a fine job in her role of what appears to be a girl with terrets syndrome.

The major problem is that the film just doesn't show enough of... well... everything. The scenes are half heartedly done, the characters are half heartedly developed, and the set design just seems to keep repeating more and more strange set tone and color, but not enough variety. Take, for instance, a surreal scene in which the teenagers accidentally hit a dog on the road and put it out of its misery. What makes this scene funny is the fact that they have already murdered several people throughout the course of the film, and yet when they hit the dog, they show more genuine emotion for hitting this animal than for murdering another human being. And yet the viewer will still get the feeling that they didn't show enough emotion for the dog either. There must be something wrong with a film when the only scene in the film where the viewer can feel anything relative to the characters in a regular human being is in a particular scene right at the very end which involves hedge trimmers and Nazis. Obviously, it is scenes like the one with the dog that drive the message of the film home.

Now, the main problem with the film is how director Greg Araki(Mysterious Skin, Totally F*ckd Up) has to add a little zing to the carnage scenes. He adds style, which should definitely not be used in a film like this. There is a scene where a store owner's head is blown off with a shotgun, right off the stump. Now this scene is pretty straight forwardly done. Two people struggle with the gun, it goes off, someone is killed in the process. The thing is, once the the head lands in the guacamole, it screams and lurches, as if still alive. Now there's nothing wrong with having something like this in a film of this texture. The problem arises when it is talked about on local news programs that begin the discussion of how the head was sworn to be talking at the scene of the crime, and how a necklace was found at the scene of the crime along wit several other dead bodies. This is the kind of stuff that isn't necessary and certainly doesn't make the film any more interesting. It makes the film slow paced. And for a film that is less than 90 minutes, that is something that a director, especially one like Greg Araki, who has made some amazing films, should definitely avoid doing. Just look at films like KIDS or BULLY. They don't fall into the trap of being stylized for the sake of being stylized.

Homosexuality also is a frequent concept that is brought up several times in the film. Now i have absolutely nothing against homosexuality in films. I don't even care if it's just a casual occurrence in a film.But in this film, the concept of the boyfriend being gay, or the drifter being gay is simply something that isn't explored to any real extent. In fact, the aspect of Rose Mcgowen or her boyfriend being a straight couple is barely explored either. For a film that has so much gay sex, straight sex, and three ways, there really should be more of an attempt for sexual exploration of the characters and less of a chore. I know that it is just a thing that these characters do, and i know that they don't care who loves who or what they want to do with each other, but they could have at least had an orgy and not just a series of weird encounters.

Having said that, i do find the film interesting in its own trashy way. And i do kind of think the film is worth seeing, but the whole awkwardness of what the film attempts and repeatedly succeeds to prove is dumbed down by its finishing touches.

(the film is not rated but is intended to be viewed by adults only. it contains overdone violence and gory images, a substantial use of strong language, lots of graphic sex and nudity, and a fair share of drug use.)
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Quite possibly the worst film ever made.
dirk-362 May 1999
"The Doom Generation" is quite possibly the worst film ever made. I stand by this statement very strongly, for this is the third film I have watched by "director" Greg Araki - "The Living End" and "Nowhere" being the others. Araki has made an offensive, horrendously written (dialogue example: "Shut up hamburger face!"), poorly directed film in "The Doom Generation." It's one of those pictures that knows it's trying to be cool and wants the younger, angst-ridden generation it attempts to portray to buy into such low-rate shock value(Example: Each time the characters enter a convenience store, someone is killed.). Each of the three leads in the film are completely unlikable and poorly acted and they know it - note the terrible over-acting by James Duval. The word "subliminal" is something Araki needs to look up as he douses his composition with such over-the-top "symbolism" - Every time they order something at the convenience store the price comes to $6.66. Get it? Ho-hum. It's enough to make one puke. Araki has absolutely no respect or passion for his craft and even less for his audience. In a Premiere magazine interview, when asked what advice he would give to young, aspiring filmmakers he responded, "Don't do it." He acts as if to offend his audience is a chore when it is obvious that he wants so desperately to get a rise out of us with such cheap shock-value. All of this is offensive, low-rate drivel. It wants the teen generation to think that they are doomed and to immerse themselves in such fake, melo-dramatic angst. This is a film that wants to give kids an excuse to shoot their classmates. It creates problems that never existed in the first place by romanticizing the alienated attitudes of many teens. This is Araki's only mission in "The Doom Generation." It can be seen just as clear in the aforementioned "The Living End" and "Nowhere." The film is a mess from start to finish, a total hack job. Greg Araki is the an entire level below fimmakers like Ed Wood, who at least had passion for the crap he produced. Hope Araki sleeps well at night. Or let's hope he stops making films... forever.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Psychopathic Snobs
robertmfreeman9 November 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is mostly garbage. Granted, it's not completely garbage, but it's at least...90% garbage. I have several issues with this movie.

First of all, nothing in this movie is original. Everything you see in the film was already done in 'Clockwork Orange', reused in 'Natural Born Killers', and now presented in 'Doom Generation', only to be used again in 'The Devil's Rejects' later.

Second, while Clockwork Orange was a brilliant movie, and Natural Born Killers was at least very well made, Doom Generation is mindless dribble. If Dazed and Confused was written and directed by a 16 year old idiot, it would be this movie. Let's admit it, even those of you who like the movie only reference the ending, which was the movie's strongest point.

Third, the symbolism and metaphors were so obvious, it was retarded. Your average dog could have spotted them.

Fourth, just like Natural Born Killers, this movie misses the point. People desensitized to unrealistic violence, either through movies or video games, don't become desensitized to real violence. Although media and parent groups scream otherwise, people who watch violent movies and play violent video games are some of the least violent people in the world. The only people desensitized to real violence are people who are constantly subjected to real violence. Go to the middle east, and you'll see teenagers who are desensitized to violence. For a good movie about desensitization to violence, watch Taxi Driver, or Full Metal Jacket.

The true consequence of being desensitized to violence through movies or games, is that we forget what death really is. This doesn't translate into actual violence, just a lack of empathy for real victims, and a general detachment from reality.

Fifth, the movie tips its hand with the random, over the top sexuality and ridiculously immature gore. It claims to be a critique of bad exploitation movies, but in reality, it's just another exploitation movie, and not a very good one at that. Take the Asian convenience store scene. No slasher movie would ever put something that stupid in it. By sinking lower than their supposed target, they lost any chance at being considered credible.

Sixth, and most importantly, they're psychopathic snobs. The worst case of this is still The Devil's Rejects, but this movie takes a close second. Psychopathic snobbery follows this line of thinking: "I kill people on a whim, but it's okay because 'fill in the blank'." In Devil's Rejects, it's supposedly okay because they aren't hypocritical, or completely sexually depraved. In Natural Born Killers, it's okay because they were molested as children. Even in the Matrix series, they constantly cause the deaths of innocent people (especially during Neo's flight to save Trinity in the second movie, which had to have killed about a thousand people), but it's okay because they're rebels, and everyone else's life means nothing. In The Doom Generation, they're supposedly desensitized, and they cared about that dog, so it's okay for them to kill on a whim, or so the movie wants us to believe.

Psychopathic snobs live by the credo: 'It's okay to commit murder, rape and torture, because the victims don't count as real people.' This is actually what gives the ending its power. For in the ending, the tables are turned. Suddenly, they're attacked by other, stronger psychopathic snobs, you believe that the lives of the main characters mean nothing. For the first time, they get to experience what it means to be a victim, and be at the mercy of maniacs who consider them to be less than human. The main characters aren't any better or worse than the Neo Nazis of the ending. They just have different targets for their homicidal whims.

Good ending, but not enough to make up for the rest of the movie.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed