Shopping (1994) Poster

(1994)

User Reviews

Review this title
40 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Soundtrack, visuals redeeming features
donkeyfur22 September 2004
Having read all the other reviews on this site, I notice that most people either completely hate the film or completely love it. I take the middle ground. I greatly enjoyed the visual elements, both with regard to the good-looking leads and the stylish camera work. I enjoy a film where I can pick out performers from other films and this one offered a few. I recognized Jason Isaacs (Captain Hook in the recent "Peter Pan" film), for one. That being said I was disappointed that Sean Bean's part was so small. However, I was glad Marianne Faithful's role was only a small cameo. It is painful to me to see her looking so haggard.

I also enjoyed the pulsating soundtrack and believe that, with an inferior effort, the film would be even less appealing.

As others have pointed out, there's not much of a plot, but, beyond that, it was difficult to sympathize with the characters -- other than the police! The law officers in this film were not portrayed as sadistic or even unlikable. Frustrated, yes. The "protagonists" had no redeeming characteristics other than youth, good looks and energy. The film seems to present the viewpoint that the police deserved the treatment they received from the thugs. To me, the film produces a nihilistic, 'who gives a damn' about anything attitude. It made me think about anarchy: after "the system" is demolished, with what will it be replaced?

I'm probably waxing too philosophical about a movie that never even aspired to such musings. The producers probably just wanted to give a youthful audience the smash 'em up, 'wham bam thank you ma'am' form of entertainment many seem to want. (Witness "The Fast and the Furious" and Vin Diesel's "XXX" among others.) I like a bit of action, too, but I prefer to care about someone or something along the line.

Nevertheless, I maintain that I have seen worse films. I confess to an admiration of British films and actors that causes me to overlook aspects of a movie that I don't like in order to focus on what I consider to be redeeming features. For example, I found Sean Pertwee's character in this film interesting, even if the character is what we Americans like to call a "scumbag". The bottom line, to me, is that the positives -- including the soundtrack, visual elements, and interesting cast -- outweigh the negatives. I bought the film at what you British call a jumble sale for $2.00 (American money), so I'm not out a lot of loot in any case. I will keep the film alongside "Love, Honour and Obey", another second-hand bargain I found along the way. It too, has redeeming features.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Great movie, bad script
Major Tom21 January 2010
Shopping is set in a shabby, dark, crumbling post-industrial UK city in the early 90s. Blast furnaces and abandoned factories line the roads, battered old Ford Escorts, Sierras, Capris and early 90s BMWs are everywhere. The plot centres around a grim inner city estate of dilapidated tower blocks and deals with the aspirations of some of its residents.

Jude Law plays self-destructive Billy McKenzie, a 19 year old nihilistic man who despises his society and hates his life. His older girlfriend Jo (played by Sadie Frost) is tired of the scene Billy is involved with, car theft, joy riding and ram raiding, but cannot drag him out of it. Sean Pertwee gives a good performance as another petty criminal Tommy, whose interests have grown to include shifting stolen goods, drugs, organised crime and generally more aspirational ideals.

After being released from his first three-month tenure in prison, Billy immediately seeks out his old mates and gets back into his old ways. Tommy initially tries to make an ally of him with stories of organisation and easy money, but Billy is only interested in getting respect from the estate and destruction and adrenaline and soon makes himself an enemy of Tommy and his crew, with ultimately tragic consequences.

Whilst the screenplay and direction are excellent, the film is totally let down by its script. Many of the character's exclamations and reposes are less than natural, some are downright baffling and some leave you cringing in your seat. It's not consistently bad, there are also genuinely heart wrenching moments and some excellent quotes, but you will also find yourself burying your head in your hands at other points and thinking "nobody says that!". Billy's two mostly annoying mates are stereotypes of stereotypes and there's also some representations of dark and dingy illegal "raves" that are... well, preposterous.

But when all's said and done, despite the cheesy moments in the script, it's a good movie. The story, all the action aside, is really about Billy's seething self-hate and unwillingness to love and be loved. The cars, the ram-raiding, the police, Tommy, the estate... it's all just a backdrop to the story of the slow and tragic destruction of an depressed young man caught in a world he has learned only to hate.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Posh kids trying to be hard
anthonyccarr2 March 2005
The plot: Jude and Sadie form half of an underworld gang who get their kicks, and their living, from the adrenalin fuelled lifestyle choice that once was ram-raiding. Facing the dual enemies of what seems to be the entire London police force, and a rival gang (cue a cockney Sean Bean) led by Sean Pertwee (with an admirable attempt to rescue the film with a Johnny Depp in Pirates of the Carribbean performance) – Jude and Sadie go from ram raid to ram raid with an incredible inability to appeal to the viewer. The film is littered with wannabe-weighty one liners which fail to rouse anything other than a sigh.

Post Mortem: An awful attempt to make an edge-of-society, dark moody film. The casting is shocking – both Jude and Sadie are far too posh for the criminal underworld characters. Sadie's accent is eventually recognisable as a strain of Irish, sounding slightly like Jerry Adams on helium. This film wants to be an urban Mad Max and ends up looking like what it is – a posh cast trying to play scum and looking embarrassingly out of their depth.
18 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
You Don't Turn Down The Chance to S**g Sadie Frost!
Leeandkate22 February 2000
This film just plain doesn't work. The protagonists are a bunch of losers - just out for thrills, like joyriders are meant to be, yes - but it attempts to glamourise and politicise them - to give them deeper motives - in a way that completely fails to come across.

Meanwhile, you have the Sean Pertwee character, who's meant to be a sell-out, who is violating the spirit of the life they lead by going 'legit' and forming associations with true organised crime. But instead, next to this bunch of anarchistic, narcissistic overgrown children, he appears to be the only responsible, sympathetic, adult character. Meanwhile, Jonathan Pryce's paternal policeman is completely ineffective in what is meant to be the true adult presence of the film.

There's one scene which epitomises the failings of the film - Billy's rebuff of Jo's attempted seduction by saying sex is too dangerous in the 90's. Never mind that he'd already attempted to chat up a stranger in a club! It reinforces one's perception of him as a big kid unwilling to grow up. . . Characters' actions have to be believable, and his aren't. No wonder one TV version I saw cut the scene short, it's almost embarrassing to watch. Hence the title I've chosen for this review!
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Hey Jude, Drive My Car
wes-connors7 June 2009
For kicks, young and beautiful Jude Law (as Billy) and disaffected tough Sadie Frost (as Jo) steal cars, drive them into stores, and trash the places. They call it "Shopping". A rivalry develops between the two joy-riders and smarmy Sean Pertwee (as Tommy), who is the best store thrasher in the English neighborhood. Director Paul Anderson's star displays only a fraction of his later acting success; surprisingly, most of the spark occurs between Ms. Frost and Mr. Pertwee. "Shopping" seems meant to be compared with "A Clockwork Orange" - a certain musical interlude drives that point home - but, neither Mr. Law nor the film approach Malcolm McDowell or Stanley Kubrick. Not that it doesn't have style, mind you. And, Jonathan Pryce, Sean Bean, and Marianne Faithful help make the trip. Anderson should have ended with Law being thrown from the car into a bloody display with the store mannequin; instead, he blinked...

***** Shopping (6/24/94) Paul W.S. Anderson ~ Jude Law, Sadie Frost, Sean Pertwee
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Dated and basic, not really interesting or engaging enough to be worth a look
bob the moo2 April 2006
Released from prison after three months, Billy wastes no time in getting back into his previous life of stealing and joy riding. Night one back on the streets sees him and girlfriend Jo racing through the streets in a stolen BMW pursued by the police. Not long after he is right back into the "crash and carry" habit, essentially ram-raiding a shop and getting away with as much stuff as possible before the police can respond. However a raid on one shop brings him into direction conflict with gang leader Tommy – who had already arranged a big money deal with Venning to hit the same shop.

At the time of release this film benefited from the Daily Mail and other Middle-England tabloids ringing their hands with worry and condemning the film for encouraging youths to replicate the crimes in the film. Over a decade later, stripped of the hype and "controversy", Shopping looks quaintly dated and the portrayal of disaffected youth in a neo-light strobing world of crime and attitude seems old fashioned and a bit silly. This isn't helped by the fact that the script never aspires beyond this basic aim and characters that are never developed beyond the most basic of motivations. The idea that some foreign viewers would watch this and take it to be a realistic portrayal of modern Britain in rather hilarious to me but in fairness, films are under no pressure to be real. This still leaves a fairly simply story with some very poor dialogue and not much material to work with.

Anderson's direction is solid enough in terms of style though – which is really where his strengths continue to lie; but as a result he seems to have a limited interest in depth and his input as writer is to blame for the problems with the material. The cast match this by being pretty and famous but not doing much else. Law is skinny and bland and doesn't do anything other than looking like he is having a teenage strop for the majority of the film. Frost isn't much better and it is left to Pertwee to easily steal the film as a memorable if simple tough guy. James is OK while small roles from Bean, Faithful, Pryce and Walker make the film feel crowded with famous faces – not that any of them add much value outside of this.

Overall this is a stylish film but one that now looks dated and rather empty. Without the controversy not much is left and the story and characters are too simple to engage most viewers I would suggest. Interesting to see as part of looking at early work for several British actors but probably not interesting or engaging enough to be worth a look on its own merits as a film.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
I Say Old Boy It's The Brit Pack Innit Bruv For Real Tally Ho
Theo Robertson4 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This movie by Paul W Anderson hit a lot of controversy when it was released in 1994 with the usual right wing tabloids screaming that this film should be banned since it was encouraging a spate of ram raiding and joyriding . Certainly if you want to ban it on the grounds of quality control no one would miss it much , but as for encouraging anything it'd only encourage people not to go to the cinema to watch anymore films by Channel 4

The film starts with tough tearaway joyrider Billy played by Jude Law in his first starring role being released from his prison cell . Cut to Billy being led down a prison corridor by a couple of screws who put him in an interview room with veteran detective Conway played by Johnathan Pryce

" So Billy what has prison taught you ? "

A short pause and get that Oscar speech ready Mr Anderson

" Don't get caught " Anyone not expecting that far too obvious line ? I had hoped for a second Billy would have said something along the lines of " Since I look like Jude Law and I've been in a prison surrounded by tough lags I've learned my lesson Mr Conway . I now have a rectum like a windsock and can assure you I will cause no more trouble "

And that's the problem . The film is trying to sell a good looking , young British cast , the much hyped and quickly forgotten " Brit Pack " but seem absolutely unsuited to their characters as working class anti-heroes from the inner city . After being released from the big house Billy meets his Irish girlfriend Jo played by Sadie Frost . The strange thing is Ms Frost actually looks older here than she does in 2013 which gives the impression Billy has hooked up with some MILF

Anyway they decide to carjack a BMW car with a cunning plan of ramming it from behind then when the driver runs up to remonstrate with them they sneak in to the BMW and drive off in it . The problem is this is done on a urban stretch of road and there's no possible way they could have hid anywhere and the two cars are only a couple of yards apart . It's almost as if they can teleport . This sets up a car chase with the police as Billy and Jo taunt the police with " Oh gosh aren't we a couple of posh actors having a bit of a laugh playing a couple of naughty chavs what ? " That's a major failing of the film with only JonathanPryce's human portrayal of Conway and Sean Pertwee's stock villain Tommy being in any way convincing

That said seeing a bunch of young toffee nosed thespians straight out of stage school who'd totally brick it on a tough estate playing characters from da ghetto is genuinely amusing . Not so the rest of the film which has a bizarre structure in that if randomly chopped up the film and inserted the scenes in any haphazard manner you'd not notice any difference
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
The chavs of today could learn from Billy's style.
sub_mish23 January 2010
Brilliant if slightly flawed - one for the gutter kids of the 90s.

I didn't think I'd like this film after all these years. Boy was I wrong! Billy is actually much more sympathetic than his role suggests, compared to the criminals of today anyway. He's a loser adrenalin junkie, true, but there's something pure, almost artistic about his love of the chase and addiction to capturing and destroying high powered automobiles.

He doesn't attack people and he isn't in it to make money - he just loves shopping! By which I mean ram-raiding high class shopping malls and stealing odd bits of crap. Billy isn't antisocial, he loves his father (who has given up on him) and has a great platonic love for his girl, whom he doesn't shag but prefers to stay best friends with. All in all, a very sympathetic character that just couldn't exist today. Bit silly, but then I think you had to be around in the 90s to really appreciate what this film's about - there was that time when nobody had any money and car thieves had the edge on the cops, and all their crimes only involved cars and shops anyway, and who cares about some stupid machine? It reminds me a lot of "Crash" - the JG Ballard novel and the late-nineties film - in that it has that Ballardian acknowlegement that we all secretly want the bomb to drop, we want the bad guy to win, and that's what's so great about Shopping. Considering that he's a posh kid Jude Law's performance is stellar.

So if you like the 80s and 90s, like the "industrial" asthetic, love to see cars destroyed, hate (or have hated) authority, watch this film. It's the cools.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
this is a very stylish picture
deadbeat30 September 1999
Warning: Spoilers
I've heard a criticism levelled at this film that it is all style and no content. However, those who make that criticism are missing it completely. that is the whole point of the movie. I can't go into too much detail without putting in spoilers, but trust me: in this movie, style is everything.

And *what* a style: Paul Anderson directs with flair and panache that is in turns both breathtaking in its inventiveness and audacity and sublime in its simplicity and poignancy. He really has a feel for his characters and the high-speed, adrenalin-fuelled world in which they live. The cinematography is also outstanding, and script and soundtrack complement the visuals perfectly.

One word, though: if you can, watch this film in a cinema - the editing and cinematography lose something in the small screen. I know that this is a tall order, but it's worth the effort.

Watch $hopping and see an example of audacious, passionate filmmaking, that should be used as a template for all Hollywood actioners.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the best movies I've seen.
aj-6225 July 2001
Shopping takes a look at a subculture unknown outside of the UK. It was banned in the UK, presumably because it might encourage the practice of ram-raiding. It is a very insightful film about a young man's search for his identity; whether he will continue on a potentially self destructive path and prove himself by ram-raiding, or whether he will brave a different life in a different city with his girlfriend.

The acting and cast are first-rate, and if you enjoy movies with depth and real character development, make sure you check it out.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
there's basically a civil war going on in England
Lee Eisenberg9 September 2006
We didn't really know what "Shopping" was about when we rented it, but we were shocked, seeing how there's no respect for property. But given the status quo in the UK (or in this country), what can you expect? I do wish to assert that Jude Law is slightly more interesting in a role like this, than just trying to be a handsome young man. But this movie is not about star power; it's about showing the grim state of affairs in working-class England. If the movie has any problem, it's that sometimes, it seems to be trying too hard to evoke a feeling of young rebellion. Mostly I liked it. Also starring Sadie Frost and Jonathan Pryce.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Good Crime Film
Rainey Dawn18 March 2018
Really good movie on crime about the British Underground crime ring - surprisingly good.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Somewhat underrated
Excalibre19 January 2002
I think this movie has been underrated. Certainly it is not a movie for the ages, but I was surprised how much ambiguity and pathos the (very young and immature) lead actors managed. It certainly is not a showcase of the very best of Jude Law, but I think one can definitely see his potential in the movie.

Certainly, the movie had its weak points, but overall, the acting was at minimum decent, the plot, well, the plot was almost non-existent, but movies centered around plot are the lowest form of film-making. The soundtrack was very good, and the sight of Jude Law in the tight shirt at the club was superlative.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Excellent movie!
Sky Smith9 April 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I simply love this movie. I read every single review here and I feel there's a fundamental problem with the critiques here. Not to be mean or disagree I think every positive and negative point here was legitimate. That is one reason why this movie is so good, its misunderstood, on a scale from one to ten stars that buys 5 for me. The other 5 stars that makes it a ten in my book? I actually LIVED like this for about 5 years when i was a teenager.

It's my guess that none of the reviewers here? Ever have lived the extreme adrenaline junkie, sometimes criminal life of wanton chaos and destruction. A teen aged life of insanity; of skateboards, music, destroying things just to destroy them, carjacking, showing up a rival gang, drugs, jail, graffiti, ram raiding, running with a gang, the attitude. So therefore they cannot truly relate, and pan the movie, which is unfair. I mean, perhaps some of them have, who knows? But I noticed an underlying lack of actual identification with Billy from the people here speaking and that, I feel, is a discredit to the director. To speak ill of something when you cannot identify and relate to the protagonist is a bit underhanded. But its okay.

The movie is obviously supposed to evoke an either positive fascination or a negative judgment from the viewer; I would posit that makes it a classic.

I lived in the Midwest and when I was a teenager I did EVERYTHING Billy does in this movie. Got away with almost all of it like Billy but caught finally one day running from the cops super high at 4 am, they out ran me... Billy would be one of my best friends if he was real, and so would Jo. I NEVER see people in movies I identify with! It's usually the films about renegades that I identify with the characters and those tend to be very rare? So brownie points to Andersen for hitting the niche so well.

Whoever picked the soundtrack actually knows what they're doing and that is very, very, very, rare. Most cheesy action movies just play what everyone wants to hear, this movie actually had identity when it came to the music, akin to Clockwork Orange. This would be one of the 5 soundtracks from the 90's id actually buy. Not a single song in this movie would've been on the radio, and i LOVED that. It wasn't fake poppy alternative and metal like most action movies, there was actual electronic music which is so rare. There's a scene towards the end when Billy and Jo jack a red BMW and the song could've been straight off a progressive trance internet station. Kudos for that.

Speaking of Jo i saw someone ragging on this movie because Billy turns Jo down? Yes, it's a loser thing to do, but I was in love with my best friend for 10 years and we never did sleep with each other. Ever slept with your best friend? I have. It's a terrible idea unless you want to make her your wife. Billy had too much work to do to alienate her, which is generally what happens when you sleep with your best friend. I found the single kiss adorable and very reserved which is actually subtly dry and awesome, they always just kiss kiss bang bang in movies its refreshing to see some actual focus. Jude Law pulls it off, you can tell Billy is written to be way more into living his life than worrying about romance and some young men actually do live that way. (I don't , but some do :) The punk scene growing up around here was a lot like that.

This was simply not a love story guys its way more akin to something like Akira. Jo's female presence is DIRELY needed; in the respect that their are some kick tail WOMEN out there as well. And not all of those renegade women are just the protagonist's lover. Brownie points as well for making an action movie female in a strong role. I respected her a lot more for accepting his brushoff, getting angry and leaving. Most women would pursue it and make a mess of things, romance can really screw up the dynamic, I used to run with some of the most crazy women in my city and I can speak firsthand. Men and women CAN just be best friends and partners, without the romance, it's a common misconception. This movie illustrates it beautifully.

In closing, I'd like to list the 4 movies i watched today to give you an idea of how this movie fits with it's genre of action, I haven't watched any movies in a couple of weeks and got in a specific mood.... First was SFW, second was Over the Edge, third was Shopping, fourth was A Clockwork Orange. I like them all equally and give them all ten stars for fitting a very very tight niche of underground appreciators. Teenage rebellion movies for the win!!!!!!! Shopping fits in JUST FINE. I obviously can't live a life of chaos like this anymore? The costs were too high, so it's great to watch a sentimental movie every once in awhile, and be like, those were the days, be like, YUP i did that, AHAHAHAHA! Instead of going and actually doing it. :) A trip down memory lane, as it were.

PS The anti conformity, anti authority, anarchistic nature of this movie is to be commended, you just don't see open rebellion movies anymore. The sad ending fits in right with the pathos and the message, crime doesn't pay. Death happens, and so does karma.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Let's go $hopping!
dee.reid21 September 2017
1994's "Shopping" (stylized as "$hopping") is a movie that I first came across during the late-night cable hours as an impressionable 10- or 11-year-old growing up in the mid-1990s. Of course, due to the fact that I was such an impressionable young child growing up at that time, my parents were keen to keep me away from "Shopping," a film with a futuristic, industrial-heavy aesthetic that appeared to glamorized auto theft, ram-raiding and unsavory, Adrenalin-addicted thrill-seeking young car thieves. (And not so surprisingly, this helped the film to generate a controversy in the United Kingdom for supposedly glamorizing criminal, anti-social behavior.)

"Shopping" is mostly remembered for being a noteworthy early film credit for its two leads, as well as being the directorial debut of a then-29-year Brit named Paul Anderson (who now goes by "Paul W.S. Anderson" to avoid confusion with American filmmaker Paul Thomas Anderson). Paul Anderson would later gain worldwide recognition just one year later for his American film debut, "Mortal Kombat" (1995), which is a film I love to death and to this day I still consider it to be the greatest film adaptation of a video game.

"Shopping" is a stylish, yet promising debut for Anderson, whose career has since been a wildly mixed bag of occasional high points ("Mortal Kombat," "Event Horizon," "Resident Evil") and several missteps ("Soldier," "AVP: Alien vs. Predator," and every "Resident Evil" sequel he's directed, pretty much).

"Shopping" nonetheless showcases what would later become Anderson trademarks: excellent set design and cinematography, fast-paced direction, and a wall-to-wall soundtrack with an industrial/techno vibe to it (Orbital's "Halycon + On + On," which is featured in the film several times, appears to be a personal favorite of Anderson's, since the song was also played near the end of his later "Mortal Kombat"). "Shopping" is set sometime in the not-too-distant future in London, and centers around the so-called "sport" of "shopping" - stealing high-priced cars and then ramming them through department store windows, looting them, and then evading the police.

Billy (Jude Law) is probably the most notorious of these young, early 20-something ram-raiding punks. He, along with his casual love interest, the video game-loving Jo (Sadie Frost, Law's future real-life wife), hit the streets (and stores) after he gets released from prison at the beginning of the film after doing three months for auto theft. Although it doesn't take long for Billy to fall back into old habits once released, his "shopping sprees" are becoming more and more ambitious, and reckless, as his targets become bigger and bigger. As the stakes rise and his notoriety grows, it catches the attention of his old rival Tommy (Sean Pertwee, an Anderson regular), for whom the sport of "shopping" is a business, since Tommy makes money selling off the goods he steals. For Billy, it's nothing more than an Adrenalin rush that he claims is better than any drug and is to a degree (for him, at least), an art-form. So it inevitably sets the two of them down a path toward a head-on collision.

"Shopping" is a stylish and ambitious debut feature from Paul Anderson that established many of his trademarks - most notably his love for industrial music, and this film revels in its striking industrial ambiance - but also shows his weaknesses, namely weak characterization, spotty writing and story. His non-written directorial works ("Mortal Kombat," "Event Horizon," and even the hokey "Soldier") were better showcases for Anderon's strengths as a director because he didn't have screen-writing credits attached to these pictures, but instead worked because of his stylish, fast-paced direction. Here, Jude Law and Sadie Frost give stellar and enthusiastic performances in roles for which they were young and relatively unknown to American audiences (at the time), and have since become more widely known.

Watching "Shopping" for the first time since I was a child, it's an impressive debut from Paul W.S. Anderson, in spite of his flaws (which are many), and is something that can happen with any early effort from any director.

6/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
what the hell !!!!!!!!!
Jamie_Seaton29 October 2009
Warning: Spoilers
what a terrible piece of film this is. the look, the acting, the pace and the action is appalling. a 5.3 rating on IMDb is way to high for this. i've never liked Sadie Frost so no change there but what the hell is going on with Jude Law !!! he's usually very good but he seems like a spoilt little rich boy trying to be a bad man ha ha ha how terrible.

Paul W.S Anderson has made some really sh*t films and i actually think this has to be his worst. what must he be thinking in Pre-production. i'd love to know. i have no sympathy for you.

the film is basically sort of set in a future where every teen near enough are out stealing and joy riding cars, thats it really. plus a rivalry against Jude Law's character and Sean Pertwee's character. please believe me that this film isn't worth the purchase at all.......... 1/10..........j.d Seaton
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Very bad movie
The problem of making movies directly from recent news it that these movies become dated very soon. Shopping is one of this movies, and trying to be "actual" to the nineties makes that the characters now are seen as a caricatures. They look like a bunch of whiny kids trying to be bad. Anyway, It was a good try. Not as bad as Trainspotting but in the same line. When some directors try to make "social" cinema the results can be annoying or amusing, and in this case is more amusing than annoying.

Watch the movie, but don't take it seriously. I give it an one, just for comedy purposes.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Its a movie, fiction, and not a bad one
epicmindz1 March 2006
hmm, 'Proof that British Cinema needs to grow up'.

i don't think so. Maybe as someone from Britain, you find it a dis-honest depiction for Britain.But, The fact is that its just a movies, fiction, like most movies, and thats all it is.

With that said, it's very far from the worst movie i have ever seen.

Shopping may be a little slow in some parts, but over-all, it's not a bad movie. I did enjoy it, as did all my house mates, and 99 percent of my friends.

Whether the British underground exists or not, does not effect me, nor does it effect most movies viewers around the world. There for thats irrelevant.

It's annoying when checking IMDb for info on a movie, and finding the main user comment to be only 10 percent description about the movie, and 90 percent complaining about irrelevant things, or talking about the actor's other movies rather than the one at hand.

If your comment is more of a gripe/complaint. then please don't review the movie. Leave the review for someone who will remain focused on what they should be doing.

Anyways, I have never been interested in watching most British movies, as i don't find them to have the same flair/feeling as U.S movies. BUT, shopping was one that did keep me watching, and fascinated at times, i enjoyed the sound track, and loved the ending.

So people, please remember, peoples opinions are just that. Please do not use 1 or 2 peoples comments to judge if a movie is worth watching.

l8r epic.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Such a pointless movie to watch.
Boba_Fett113817 June 2011
This movie is really lacking a point. What kind of story were they trying to tell? Was there even a purpose or message to this all?

Paul W.S. Anderson always has sort of been the king of mediocre movies. I have yet to see a Paul W.S. Anderson movie that is above the level of average. Not that his movies are horrible either, some of them are quite enjoyable but they just fail to make an impact in any way.

All that this story is about are a bunch of rebellious teens being lazy and act as if the police are the biggest scum and villains on the Earth, while they are the ones breaking about ever law and causing mayhem, by stealing and wrecking stuff. It could had been a good or at least interesting story if it tried to make a statement about anything but the movie never does. At least I didn't get anything out of the story at all.

It also doesn't exactly make any of the characters likable or compelling ones to watch and follow throughout this movie, despite that they are being played by some big name actors. Not that they were being big at the time yet. The movie features a still very young Jude Law and Sadie Frost and a supporting cast that among other consist out of Sean Bean, Jonathan Pryce and Jason Isaacs. Most of the characters however also make a pretty redundant impression. It tries to be a simple movie with a simple story but yet in throws in all these many pointless characters.

It's not the worst movie you'll ever see but it's such a pointless and redundant movie to watch that there is no reason why you really should ever watch it in the first place.

5/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Transit van to a car chase.....
FlashCallahan28 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Billy and Jo get their kicks from their special type of window shopping.

These professional criminals are not in it for the money, but for the fun of it. When Billy gets released from prison, his rival Tommy has taken over the street.

A fight for power commences as Billy starts his own gang and hits a shop the day before Tommy had planned to. Tommy makes a move on Billy's girlfriend Jo, who wants Billy to change his lifestyle and move away, instead of fighting Tommy, a fight which will hurt them both.

He agrees, but he wants to hit the shopping mall on a final hit. That has never been done before, so it will make him a hero among the others.....

It's Andersons first movie, Laws first big screen lead, and to be fair it's really good, even though it's full of flaws and awful dialogue.

It can be viewed in two,different ways. On one hand its a very dated 90s urban drama. On the other hand, you can see it as a futuristic urban punk style movie, thanks to the soundtrack and the opening.

Pryce gives the film a little gravitas, but he looks mightily bored, and Pertwee hams it up as the main villain. Law is good, as is Frost, but it's clear she wasn't employed for her acting skills.

Round the film off with cameos from Bean and Jason Issacs (hello), shopping is one of those rare hard to find Movies that has garnered a cult following.

Which means that most hate the film, but the view whole me it, can't explain why.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
One redeeming quality - the soundtrack.
mowhay15 April 2001
I don't often find a moment to pass comment on films, but in the case of Shopping, I have to make an exception. This sort of film making is doing its best to keep Britain well and truly in the minor league of cinema. Shopping is so far wide of the mark in terms of any youth culture ever to have existed, the acting is average and the plot dull. Having first seen and hated the film during its original cinema release, I recently watched it again on a UK digital film channel to see if my opinion was still the same. It hasn't changed. Jude Law is a fine actor but seems to enjoy picking a few bad films from time to time. Sean Pertwee's choice of role is consistently poor - he and Shopping go hand in hand. That's not to say I think Mr.Pertwee is a poor actor, but I cannot think of many films I've seen him in that has been worth watching: I.D., Event Horizon, Blue Juice - I rest my case. The film does have one singular redeeming quality, the title track by Sabres of Paradise is superb. I suggest you buy the soundtrack and skip the film.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
A naughty boy and girl cause some bother
Mark4 January 2013
Jude Law and Sadie Frost pretend (I don't like to use the word act for such dreadful performances) to be a naughty boy and girl. Frost throws in a faux Irish accent, because being Irish surely makes you sound harder. However, the accent is bad throughout: she ranges from Belfast to Limerick to Essex. By stealing cars and using lots of bad language, the pair go on an adventure to tease the police and raid some shops. At one point Sadie licks the face of a mannequin and hints at something more genuine; however the next police pursuing a car scene leading the police into an urban ambush is back to unintended satire. It is almost a mockumentary on the famous four comic strip style by trying to look so over the top to go beyond the ridiculous. Sean Pertwee is a laughable oik from his first presence, sat on the banisters watching the low lifes play in his criminal arcade emporium (seriously, he was playing a rogue who ran a games shop for teenagers – but being in a disused run down place was supposed to make it a bit gritty). Slapping a car roof to show his annoyance at the naughty children (Frost and Law) getting into bother with the busies is about the level of such a misguided film; although he gets into even more of a bad temper when he hits a pipe against other pipes half way through the 'movie'. Some reviewers says this has dated too early. I would suggest it hasn't dated at all; awful on release, awful almost 20 years later.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
I know my rights. I watch L.A.Law.
lastliberal3 July 2007
Paul W. S. Anderson (Resident Evil, Resident Evil: Apocalypse) has written and directed a film about ram-raiding. What's ram-raiding, you say? Well, I said the same thing. I always thought it was old folks just not knowing the diff between the gas and the brakes and running into shop windows. Apparently, there is a subculture that uses cars to break into stores ans steal.

That's what the film is about. Doesn't that interest you? Jude Law (Cold Mountain, The Talented Mr. Ripley) and Sadie Frost (nothing I've seen) are lovers that are competing with a rival - Sean Pertwee (nothing here either) for dominance of the yahoos that steal for a living. Ho hum.

Jonathan Pryce (Governor Weatherby) has a minor role, but certainly the best one.

Skip it.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Cool visuals, Techno music, and Jude Law and Paul Anderson
crazyhellboy11 April 2003
This movie is an interesting debut from Paul (WS) Anderson. Dark sets and cool visuals teamed with techno music really get you going. You can see the visual style from the director Mortal Kombat and Resident Evil.

Speaking of MK, that Orbital song is used in this movie too.

I think this is the first film were Jude Law actually looks prettier than his female co-star.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
You'll enjoy everything about this film!
mbambridge30 December 1999
When i first saw shopping a few years back on rental from my local video store i prepared myself for another average action film that would kill a few hours - how wrong could i have been, this film rules and must be seen at least twice. The music is fantastic hardcore techno and dance tracks accompany the high speed chase scenes and puts foward a super stylish, super cool atmosphere. This film is also very violent - one scene involves a cop being stoned from above by angry teenagers. This film focuses on teen violence and rebelious attitudes in a sleazy part of a already messed up city. This film is directed by Paul Anderson but don't let that put you off, this film is violent, stylish and super fast - see it right........now!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews