Getting Even with Dad (1994) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
good comedy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
matthew8713 March 2003
I loved this movie,I thought ted danson was excellent playing that self centered father,and culkin once again does a great job with playing a smarty.I also loved the fact that it was filmed on location in san francisco at places such as embarcadero bart station,chinatown,the aquarium,and golden gate park.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Lame
blitzingau10 December 2001
The movie starts in pretty interesting fashion when Macauley Culkin is deposited on the doorstep of his father, Ted Danson, just as he and his mates are preparing for a heist. However, the movie soon degenerates into "Home Alone" style antics as the young son brilliantly outsmarts his father time and time again. This all seems very familiar. Eventually the movie ends after nearly 2 1/2 hours of capers and disbelief. I wish they had of keeped the son out of it- police trying to 'get even' with the crooks sounds like a much better movie.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Macaulay Culkin in his best
Emerenciano25 November 2002
I've always thought Macaulay Culkin's performance in `Getting Even With Dad' is his best one together with `Home Alone'. It's a shame he's been out of scene in the last years, what forces us to go for his old films.

Culkin's partner in the movie is Ted Danson, who again shows he can do his part in comedies, like he did in `Three Men and a Baby'. Danson's a thief who now has to deal with an unexpected problem: his ex-wife leaves their son (Culkin) with him once he hasn't looked after him for years. The boy wants some attention from his dad, so he hides the coins his father has stolen before he could use it. If the thief wants his coins back, he must give the boy some good time.

My Rate 7/10
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Blackmail can be fun.
Michael O'Keefe7 June 2003
An estranged son(Macaulay Culkin) tries to blackmail his ex-con father(Ted Danson) into spending time with him. Danson and two cronies pull of a rare coin heist and then Culkin arrives wanting to share father and son time. The coins are used to blackmail the ponytailed Danson into pleasing the obnoxious Culkin. HOME ALONE(1990) and MY GIRL(1991)were at least worth watching. This is neither funny or interesting. Danson fares well in his arrogant way. Gleene Headly is not believable as a detective. Also in the cast are:Gailard Sartain, Saul Rubinek and Hector Elizondo. Geared for the grammar school set.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
What a Disaster!
MovieAddict201612 February 2004
Getting Even with Dad

Awful story about a smart-a$$ed kid (Macaulay Culkin) who goes to live with his crook of a father (Ted Danson) and ends up stealing his father's (and accomplices') stash of money they've stolen from a bank. He promises to give it back if his dad hangs out with him and treats him like most sons.

There's a lot of feuding between father and son in this dismal and unfortunate tale that tries to prove kids are smarter than their parents and can control them with a bit of blackmail. If this movie had been released thirty years ago...I can only imagine what parents would have done to the copies.

Besides, apart from the stupid message of the film, it's just a bad movie. Macaulay Culkin has finally outgrown his childhood and for once the critics started to notice he couldn't act (like he ever could! He got lucky with "Home Alone"--it was good because of Pesci and the rest of the cast, not him). Danson is equally annoying in the role of his father, who seems to have been born without a personality. Yes, Danson is very watered down in this movie. To be honest, I don't blame him--this is the type of stuff that belongs on made-for-TV movies. You know your career has hit rock-bottom when you're in something like this.

And just think, this was made somewhere around ten years ago.

What a disaster.

* / *****
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Brilliant Comedy!
Chloe Ibbetson31 August 2014
This film was brilliant it had me laughing the whole way through from beginning to end it was hilarious! Macaulay Culkin was fantastic as Timmy I really liked his character! Ted Danson played a great character too there both really brilliant actors!

I gave this film a 10/10 because of how funny and entertaining it was it had me laughing for aged even after the film had ended I was still laughing at certain bits. This film is a great family comedy I totally recommend it to anyone who loves comedy films.

I'm not sure what else to say so if you have not seen this film yet it's definitely a film you have to see it will have you in stitches.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Much better than I was led to believe
TheLittleSongbird4 March 2011
I like Macaulay Culkin and his films like the first two Home Alones, Uncle Buck, My Girl and The Pagemaster, and after seeing some tepid reviews and a very low IMDb rating I was expecting not to like Getting Even with Dad. But I actually did. It isn't perfect, it is overlong with an obvious and predictable story and the pace slackens at times, but this is a much better film than I was led to believe.

It does look very nice, with good photography and scenery, and the soundtrack was mellow and engaging enough too. Getting Even with Dad does have some funny parts at the expense of Danson's inept sidekicks, and some poignant moments without being too mawkish. Howard Deutch is a talented director, and he proves it I think here, and I really enjoyed the performances of Macaulay Culkin and Ted Danson both of whom carry the movie with ease.

All in all, far from perfect but there are much worse out there. 7/10 Bethany Cox
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Douse it.....
FlashCallahan8 January 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Ray, an ex-con and widower, is planning a coin heist with two accomplices to help him to buy his own bakery.

However, he doesn't expect his son Timmy, who was living with Ray's sister, to show up at the house right in the middle of planning.

Timmy is ignored and Ray and his buddies pull off the heist. Timmy gets his father's attention by stealing the coins and hiding them.

To get them back, his father must take him to a number of different places and treat him like he enjoys his presence.

They grow fond of each other but Timmy won't stay with his dad unless he gives up the coins....

Culkin was getting older, so the cute thing he did in his earlier stuff was now becoming annoying, hence the reason why this bombed big time.

And the fact that the film was overlong and just not very funny..

But thats not to say that it isn't watchable. Danson is great as Ray, even though you'd expect him to be in a Stallone comedy with that accent. And he does have great chemistry with the cast and especially Culkin toward the end.

But it's all predictable stuff, as there are hi-jinks and pratfalls from the two bumbling sidekicks who are just interested in the coins, and these become tiresome straight away.

It's one of those movies you can have on in the background and not really watch, but you can still follow the story pretty easy.

Too long for kids, way too long for adults.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Lame and Worthless
Pat-8830 July 1999
This movie was so boring. This movie is meant for people who probably have a IQ below zero. This movie is garbage. Little kids might liked this movie, if they're fans of the Home Alone movies. But Adults BEWARE!!!

*1/2
6 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Another great Mac Culkin film
jamiem-2012 May 2007
A great family film. I loved Mac's hair, I want it so much. It's about this 11-year old boy, Timmy Gleason (Mac Culkin) who sees his dad, Ray (Ted Danson) after years and years. All his dad cares about is getting some coins with his gawky friends Bobby (Saul Rubinek) and Carl (Gailard Sartain). Then after getting ignored, Timmy hides the coins somewhere and the only way they can get them back is if they do whatever he wants them to do with him. Then his dad meets a detective named Theresa Walsh (Glenne Headly) after Timmy comments on her scarf and then Ray falls in love with her. I loved the part when Timmy held up a bra and said 'Is this one of yours? Ooooooohhhh-la-la'. So rent it, watch it, laugh, and if you love it, own it. XD
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Bleagh!
kevdoggy4 August 2001
I saw this movie on an Amtrak train, and I almost jumped off! I had a 48 hour trip, and I was sick of reading, so I went to see the nightly entertainment, which was this steaming lump of doggie poop. Oh man, was this movie bad.

I like Ted Danson, and MacCauley Culkin is O.K. and all, but there's absolutely nothing remotely interesting going on in this movie. Rent this for the 10 and under set, or better yet, hand them a book.

This is one dumb movie.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Comedy Without Any Laughs
Michael_Elliott29 January 2018
Getting Even with Dad (1994)

** (out of 4)

Ray (Ted Danson) is a life long criminal who has never had too much time for his son Timmy (Macaulay Culkin). After Ray gets a major score his son decides to hide it and says he will only tell where it's at if daddy will spend more time with him.

GETTING EVEN WITH DAD is a comedy where the screenwriter forgot to add any laughs. This is a pretty disappointing film and it's easy to see why Culkins' star was beginning to fall thanks to films like this one. It's really too bad that the film forgot the laughs because Danson and Culkin could have made for a much better comedy.

What you've basically got here is a rather mean-spirited film that deals with a rather ugly subject but does it in such a way that you can't help but roll your eyes more than laugh. The deadbeat father is going to be taught a lesson and of course we know how it's going to end. Throughout the running time the kid gets to have fun doing the things he always wanted to do and of course daddy begins to realize that being a dad can be fun.

Then, of course, you have the drama that enters when someone isn't happy about daddy going straight. Again, both Danson and Culkin are fine comic actors but they're pretty much given nothing to do here. Both Saul Rubinek and Hector Elizondo are wasted in their roles and the lack of laughs means GETTING EVEN WITH DAD isn't worth watching.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
A terrible, awful, hideous film
jackcwelch2313 October 2017
I don't know why Macaulay Culkin made this movie. I mean, I do know his dad forced him to, but I don't know why he didn't run away from home in protest. Even he must have been dismayed making something that was just a cheap rip off of his most famous movie role. Ted Danson is an unlikable jerk, his two moron loser friends make Marv and Harry look like road scholars and the music is fingernails on a chalkboard obnoxious. It also contains maybe the most unromantic romance in movie history with him and Mrs. Rent a cop. Vomit. Not a single moment of genuine heart is here. It is by the numbers in every respect. If you took out the dumb slapstick all this would be is a cringe worthy father son after school special. After a lot of stinkers, this was obviously the straw that broke Macaulay's back. I can imagine him jumping up in happiness when that's a wrap was finally uttered. I can also imagine Ted Danson wandering back to TV grateful to still be alive.

Maybe the reason this movie annoys the hell out of me was it was that we watched the VHS copy of it about 200 times at our holiday house as it was one of the few kids movies on the shelf. For some reason, Home alone 1 and 2 were nowhere to be seen. Man I would have even taken Richie Rich over this pile of garbage.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
It's actually not bad
EDP200022 January 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The movie is about an ex-con named Ray Gleason (played by Ted Danson), who plans to steal millions of dollars in rare coins, along with his two cronies Carl and Bob (played by Saul Rubinek and Gailard Sartain. Their plan is thwarted when his sister drops off his son named Timmy (played by Macaulay Culkin). He hides the coins somewhere his father won't find them. He agrees to tell them where the coins are on one condition: if they take him places for a week. But a female cop named Teresa (played by Glenne Headly) goes undercover to find out what Gleason is doing. And she falls for him. On the other hand, the cronies decide to find the rare coins themselves. And of course, they fail. Near the end, Gleason finds the bag in a bus locker, which turned out to have pennies in it, but still gets arrested, along with Carl, and Bob got off scot-free. And the bag with the real coins got retrieved by Teresa in a mall. To be honest, it's not so bad. It's not a perfect movie, but it's great entertainment.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Getting Even with Dad
Jackson Booth-Millard20 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The title was very familiar to me, and it sounded like the kind of film that the young star of Macaulay Culkin would be in, so I was interested to see whether the concept would be, from director Howard Deutch (The Whole Ten Years). Basically Raymond 'Ray' Gleason (Three Men and a Baby's Ted Danson) is planning a coin heist with his two accomplices Robert 'Bobby' Drace (Saul Rubinek) and Carl (Gailard Sartain) so he can buy a bakery, but he has a surprise visitor. His son Timmy (Razzie nominated Macaulay Culkin) has been living with Ray's sister, including while he was in prison, and he wants to a get to know his father better, but obviously this is inconvenient. The thieves manage to pull off the heist and get the valuable coins, and Timmy finds out about it, and he uses it to his advantage by taking and hiding the coins in order to con his father. Ray has to spend time with his son in order to get the coins back, this includes trips to a swimming park, a mini golf course and meals out, and for a while this is getting on his nerves, but actually over time the father is getting closer to and finding admiration for his son. Meanwhile the police are also trying to find the coins and catch the gang out, with Detective Theresa Walsh (Glenne Headly) going undercover to get close to the main man, and unintentionally falling for him. Eventually Timmy finds that he cannot change his father's ways, and he offers him the choice of the coins back, or staying with his son, and thankfully he chooses his son, but the locker the coins are in are opened and he ends up arrested. In the end though the bag is full of loose change, the real coins are returned to the authorities, and Timmy and Ray go on to have a close father-son relationship. Also starring Hector Elizondo as Lt. Romayko, Sam McMurray as Alex, Sydney Walker as Mr. Wankmueller and Kathleen Wilhoite as Kitty. Culkin does his usual mischievous and more clever than the adults character, as well as being a little spoilt, and he has a silly hairdo, Danson also has a slightly daft pony tail, he gives a good annoyed performance, I will agree that the father's thieving partners are the ones that get a little more punishment, I hoped for more slapstick stuff, it was an easy to swallow but hardly worth the effort family comedy. Okay!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
When a film succumbs to a lofty agenda
Steve Pulaski1 April 2014
When he was young, Macaulay Culkin consistently played incredibly street-smart kids with a knack for setting traps, catching bad guys, and outsmarting adults in a cute and memorable way. One wonders how his characters like Kevin McAlister or, in this case, Timmy Gleason fared in school, with classes like calculus, physics, and trigonometry requiring more book-smart level thinking. It's one thing to build an amateur trap; it's another being able to explain why the trap works and how it is triggered.

Getting Even With Dad marked Macaulay Culkin's last project for six years before appearing in a film adaptation of the stage play Madame Melville. His downfall could be attributed to many things, but Culkin was fourteen during the time of this film, already growing out of his cute-kid appearance and becoming more of an adult, as well as Getting Even With Dad's extremely poor box office performance after the kid was proved to be a solid cash-grab with two Home Alone projects. Even with this film, Culkin shows a certain tiredness to doing the same old schtick with little reward.

The film revolves around his character Timmy, whose mother died some years ago and who has been living with his aunt and her fiancée since the event. Planning to marry and get Timmy out of her hair, the aunt decides to drop Timmy off at his biological father's house, where both can meet each other and Timmy can have a place to stay. Timmy's dad turns out to be a petty-con by the name of Ray Gleason (Ted Danson), who is plotting with two amateur cronies Bobby and Carl (Saul Rubinek and Gailard Sartain) to steal a collection of rare coins. It is only obligatory that Timmy is smarter than all three of these cons put together, so when the gang actually do find the coins, he'll hide them in order to squeeze more quality time out of his father than he's willing to give (and also maybe have his hand at nudging a little romance in his direction on the side).

Getting Even With Dad is the classic case of a film biting off more than it can chew. The film tries to mesh themes of crime, romance, father-and-son bonding, slapstick comedy, and sentimentalist drama all into and it barely succeeds as a film detailing father-and-son bonding. It makes not knowing your father and then coming across him when you discover he's a petty crime out to be another instance to practically laugh off rather than one to be deeply upset about. Writers Tom S. Parker and Jim Jennewein (who also wrote the other Macaulay Culkin showcase of the same year Ri¢hie Ri¢h as well Major League II) had a golden opportunity to explore the sadness and the neglect of a father not being there for his son during crucial developmental years and then not even making a good too-little-too-late effort that, I believe, kids would've responded to much more than the mashup of cheesy themes we got with the end product of Getting Even With Dad.

The film was directed by Howard Deutch, who was responsible for directing both of John Hughes' screenplays Pretty in Pink and Some Kind of Wonderful as well as other products such as the charming Great Outdoors and The Odd Couple II. Deutch's directing style has never been one to praise for its uniqueness, but even in projects such as The Odd Couple II, he always seemed to manage to squeeze something out of his performers and his crew. Here, however, there's little he can do to liven a slumping screenplay with too many different themes to tackle adequately.

Starring: Macaulay Culkin, Ted Danson, and Glenne Headly. Directed by: Howard Deutch.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Summary
effgeevee16 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I've enjoyed this movie as easy watching for years since I accidentally recorded it off the TV. My sister and I've always assumed it was called "Paying Back Dad", because.. that's clearly a better title. :]

And that's my only complaint, beyond the occasional overly stupid pratfall.

Ted Danson plays a macho ex-con cake decorator who throws a plant out a window and falls over while ice-skating and still gets the lady, and Macaulay Culkin gets a musical segment. Also it opens with a heist, and the heart-warming climax happens on a bus. If you do not like these things, you are wrong!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A true American classic comedy!
RaveCulk12 September 2000
Getting Even With Dad takes Macaulay Culkin's "Home Alone" magic and applies it to another hilarious plot! Mac shines in this 1994 romp that takes him on a hilarious journey through San Francisco along with Ted Danson of "Cheers" fame. Mac is glowing with charm and probably his best hairstyle to date. It is a "must-see" in my book. 10 out of 10.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Mediocre movie
Atreyu_II27 December 2009
'Getting even with dad' is one of the last films staring Macaulay Culkin before he disappeared from the world of cinema for many years.

Here, Macaulay Culkin was in his early adolescence but didn't look much different than in previous films, except for the long hair. He actually looked great with that long hair.

Despite having, in my opinion, the most famous scream in film history, here Mac never screams. But he shows his beautiful smile as in other films. He could have had future as an actor, if his personal life hadn't become the mess it was.

The movie is by no means a copy of 'Home Alone' but some of its ideas have a certain similarity to those films - mostly the fact that Macaulay Culkin plays a character who outsmarts the crooks (in this case 3 instead of 2).

This is not a bad film but it's nothing great either. It's mediocre. It's only *really* worth for Macaulay Culkin. In fact, I only recommend it to fans of Macaulay Culkin. Mac, as usual, is great, but aside him no one else has particularly good actings in this film.

As for the crooks, Bobby is the worst of the three. He is way more aggressive than the others - and he has a sick sense of humor, such as when he grabs a rat. Carl is harmless comparing to the others - he's more of a poor devil than anything else and, unlike Bobby, he hesitates before doing anything and seems to redeem himself at the end.

Despite being a relatively poor film, it has its good moments, such as Mac dancing at the sound of the great song 'Do you love me?' (from the movie 'Dirty Dancing'). Also, being a car lover, I've gotta say this: I love that car which Mac has a ride in the beginning - a 1959 Cadillac Eldorado. That is one heck of a car!
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews