The Crow (1994) Poster

(1994)

User Reviews

Review this title
565 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
the best Gothic comic book movie ever made
Sean684 February 2005
This movie is fantastic. plain and simple. Brandon Lee delivers his lines to the point they were instantly memorable after seeing the film only once. The casting of both Michael Wincott and Tony Todd was inspired as these two guys have two of the most instantly recognisable voices in the movie industry. If i could ever be a movie or a lead in a film this would be it. I was initially put off the idea of the movie as i am a big fan of the graphic novel and there was an awful lot of hype around this film on its release. this proved to be my loss as i have only seen the film on the small screen. however i now have the 2 disc special edition DVD and watched it 3 times in succession the day i bought it and must have watched it at least 100 times since. my own personal opinion is that a movie should suspend disbelief, capture the imagination which this does in spades. it is truly a film that you can lose a couple of hours watching and at the end feel like you have spent a worthwhile couple of hours. would recommend this to anybody.
96 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
There must be an angel ...
didi-523 August 1999
I approached this film after reading the hype and controversy surrounding its making and release, not really expecting very much. Surprised to find it an intelligent, beautifully-filmed, engrossing and touching thriller. I'd recommend it to anyone who has a fondness for weird gothic mythological stories. I didn't find the horror aspect overdone - in fact it was believable, and the script was superior to other films of this genre I've seen. As for Brandon Lee, this really was a superb performance and it is a terrible tragedy that his life ended so abruptly. This film is a fitting memorial to what could have become a major star.
81 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
The only thing...
yusandra7921 June 2005
The only thing i can say is that when i left the movie theater then i had no comment to give... This movie got to me deep! I was 14 and now i am 25,and still i remember it so well and i still watch it sometimes.. Brandon Lee did a great job as an actor like everyone else, but the story about his death is totally insane, which made me worship the movie even more. What an irony. I like the movie cause it's dark, but also lighted up with true emotions..there is action, horror, love, even poetry for god sake! I have never seen so many genre's in one movie. Anyway for me it has been one of the best movies i have ever watched. And one more comment, lots of of other movies got ideas from The Crow, meaning the setting, the action, music, whatever it is the crow was their start up. I am not going to name them, Crow fans probably know what i am talking about.. My favorite quote: "Can't rain all the time" By the way the soundtrack's are awesome, The Cure's best song ever made is in it! P.S. The Crow II and III sucked, i hated it. They just ruined the conception of the first one.. totally..
192 out of 239 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The best comic book to film translation.
the_gray_reviewer27 June 2001
The Crow is an excellent tragic film made even more tragic by the real life tragedies surrounding the film (Brandon Lee's death during filming, and the fact that the story is a result of James O'Barr's personal loss of his fiancée). Based on a very dark comic book, the film has the same dark feel. The movie does deviate from the comic book in some points, but in general is fairly faithful. If you can get it, I would recommend the DVD Collector's set with the 2 DVD version of The Crow (just to see the interview with James O'Barr is worth the price).

The story is a basically about revenge from beyond the grave, and how true love is forever. The movie has a good (but fairly basic) plot, excellent action sequences, and very good casting. Brandon Lee gives a good performance (not excellent, but good), as does Ernie Hudson. The supporting villains are excellent in their villainy, and you do feel better when they get it in the end. But the real star of this film is the mood and the feel. It feels gritty, bleak, and depressing, but surprisingly uplifting at the end. Alex Proyas did an excellent job of transferring this feeling from the book onto celluloid. All in all, one of the best comic book to film translations I have ever seen.

You do not have to be familiar with the comic book to thoroughly enjoy this film (like you do with some other comic book adaptations).

Rating : 4.5 out of 5
119 out of 147 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One Amazing Film, With A Mezmerizing Performance From Brandon Lee!
callanvass11 February 2005
This is one amazing film, with a mesmerizing performance from Brandon Lee!. It's visually appealing, extremely well made, with amazing performances all around!. Loved the score, too, it fit with the film well, and there's plenty of action to go around as well. Michael Wincott is, very menacing as the main villain, and was perfect for the part. The flashbacks were very cool, however i wished, i could see more of Shelley's character. The Directiing is outstanding!. Alex Proyas does an outstanding job here, creating lots of, dark atmosphere, great use of the rain machine,cool visuals, and keeping the pace,action packed, and engrossing all the way!. The film is very violent, but not all of it is bloody. We get several knives in the chest, knife in the hand, lots of gunshot wounds, some bloody, some not, hole through hand, 2 slashings, slit throat,2 bloody impallings, sword in the neck and a crow pecks a girls eyes out. The Acting is WONDERFUL!. Brandon Lee, gives an Oscar worthy performance here, he is completely mesmerizing, creepy,kicks that ass and, just thought he was too cool, his AMAZING AMAZING performance here, will always be remembered, what happened too him was a tragedy, and i for one will never forget him!. Rochelle Davis is awesome here, and is very likable,her and Brandon, had very good chemistry and is one of the best kid actors out there!, especially since she hasn't acted since then!. Ernie Hudson, is terrific as the Sgt., very likable, and very convincing. Michael Wincott, is great as the main villain, i loved his voice, and he was very menacing!. Sofia Shinas, is very good as Shelley, however, she didn't have much screen time, but was great when on screen. Overall a MUST SEE at all costs!. ***** out of 5
130 out of 162 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An absolutely beautiful film that everyone should see at least once.
This film is so amazing, I can't remember how many times I've seen it. You don't have to be interested in a particular genre of film to watch it, because there is something for everyone in this film. Romance, action, gory bits, humour, drama- you name it, The Crow has it. The tragic circumstances surrounding this film and Brandon Lee also add to it's allure.

Basically, it's about a rock star named Eric Draven, his fiancée Shelley Webster and the little girl they take care of, Sarah. When a ruthless gang of thugs viciously murder both Eric and Shelley on the night before their wedding, Eric comes back from the grave to avenge his fiancée's death by going after each member of the gang that killed her, and to say a final goodbye to Sarah.

An extremely moving film that I would recommend to anyone who has a heart.
79 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Brandon Lee at his best!
daddyia2 May 2005
Although Brandon Lee did not have many films to his credit, this one turned him into a legend. With witty one-liners, and eye-popping action, The Crow was his best work ever. Whether its the scene where he embeds a crow-like design in Tin-Tin's chest, or leaves behind a fiery calling card after sending T-bird to his death, Brandon Lee left his mark. I was also impressed with the film's cinematography. With black being the picture's dominant color, I felt it was a perfect fit with it's storyline. Michael Wincott delivered an equally impressive performance as Top Dollar, the evil mastermind behind the two grizzly murders. Brandon Lee truly saved his best for last. Rest In Peace Brandon.
30 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Melancholically beautiful comic book fantasy
Neoromeo16 June 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Comic book movies have always fascinated me. I don't whether it's their visual style, the special effects, the performances of the actors as compared to the comic itself or the interpretation of the graphic novel's storyline by the filmmakers that interests me the most, but I've always been enthralled by a bleak story that places a tragic hero in the midst of a towering city, whose choices and actions determine the fate of himself and those around him. Often a comic book can provide the bare essentials for an excellent story, but more often, the filmmakers or producers scrap the idea of a storyline and aim primarily for the explotation of special effects. In the case of "The Crow," this is not true: this is the only film that has ever captured the true essence of the comic book it's based on, expanded upon its virtues and added its own style to complement the base storyline of the film.

On October 30th, a night that has come to be known as "Devil's Night," in reference to the hundreds of fires set by dangerous gangs, Eric Draven (Brandon Lee) and Shelly Webster (Sofia Shinas) are brutally attacked in their downtown apartment. Shelly is raped by the gang and Eric is thrown out of a five-story window, dying almost instantly. They leave behind a close friend and younger-sister figure, Sarah (Rochelle Davis), endless rainy nights in the city, and infinite sorrow on those who knew them.

Their deaths left a score unsettled, and as a result, an ancient legend becomes reality, as a mystical crow descends from the Heavens who normally carries souls to the land of the dead, brings Eric Draven's soul back to life so he can exact revenge on the men who killed him and his fiance. He dresses himself in torn black clothing, boots, and paints his face like a sad clown. He is invincible, for he is already dead, and sets out on a quest for retribution, seeking out each one of his murderers one by one. He is helped along the way by two people, Sarah and Officer Albrecht (Ernie Hudson), who stayed with Shelly until she died, against an army of arsonist gangsters led by the mysteriously incestuous Top Dollar (Michael Wincott), who is the orchestrator of Devil's Night, and inspires his troops with quotes and dialogue from Dante's "Inferno" and "Paradise Lost." With the crow leading the way, Eric Draven sets out to redeem his soul and regain his justice in a city that has never stopped raining since his death.

From its opening shot right to its final seconds, "The Crow" is a depressingly gripping film. A truly fantastic and faithful adaptation of James O'Barr's comic book series, this film draws its inspiration from both the comic book and earlier films such as Fritz Lang's "Metropolis." The story is set against the backdrop of a broken city ruled by an underground society of arsonists, where the police can do nothing to stop them and the children run wild in the streets. The buildings tower high over the urban streets, overlooking a sad foundation without law, justice or order - you know everything about this world with one shot. The production design and cinematography combines to create an atmosphere in a society without hope, accentuated only further by a Middle-East inspired score by Graeme Revell, and choicy tunes by Nine Inch Nails, The Cure, Stone Temple Pilots and My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult.

Director Alex Proyas claims he has never seen a sequel to his film on the basis that no one could do justice to the main character like Brandon Lee... I agree with him. Lee's performance as the vengeful soul is one of the greatest I have ever seen on film. He exhibits confidence, cunning and menace, while at the same time communicating just enough pain and depression to stay true to his character. You know what he's capable of, and at the same time his emotional weaknesses. If I can think of any flaw to this film I would mention the incestuous relationship between Funboy and his sister. It was not a subplot, thankfully, but it didn't seem necessary in a film that was already disturbing enough.

Made with passion, performed with intensity, designed with precision and influence, "The Crow" is an unheralded masterpiece of the 20th Century. It is heartbreaking to think that this film almost dodged release - if that had happened, no one would ever have known the degree of Brandon Lee's acting capabilities. The man had a fiery presence and was articulate and powerful with his delivery - indeed, with one great film, he has become a martyr for the exposition of this character. 4 1/2 stars on a five star scale.
31 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A masterpiece of cinematic wizardry
nathangore3 May 2000
Alex Proyas milks the plot for all its worth and places The Crow beyond an average thriller and into the realm of motion picture brilliance. A heart warming tale backed up with enough gore and action to keep hard core violence fanatics interested. This stands The Crow as a masterpiece of cinematic wizardry, that is sure to impress even the most critical of viewers.
82 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
"Suddenly I heard a tapping, as of someone gently rapping...at my chamber door"
uds35 November 2001
THE CROW, like 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY separates those who see from those who do not! (who CANNOT). Alex Proyas will never achieve anything close to this masterpiece again and if Brandon Lee HAD to die, then there could never have been a better time and place (do not misinterpret my words or meaning here). Personally, I shall for ever be indebted to him for what he has left...a performance in a film that challenges, implores, conjures, paints. A surreal landscape of good and evil in almost equal proportions.

I am no Goth, have never read the original comic strip, nor do I wish to. I simply regret watching the unspeakably pathetic and inappropriate sequels...do not make the same mistake!

For all its grotesque violence, seediness and Gothic degeneracy, THE CROW is a pure love story, so pure, that even immersed within the blackest of adult fairy-tales its power cannot be dampened or lessened. Eric Draven's spiritual pursuit of those who murdered his beautiful girlfriend is less of a revenge story and more a reminder that karma balances out in the end.

Perhaps the best performance, other than that of the crow itself, is from Michael Wincott, a very underrated actor, as the incarnately evil gang leader. It is the role of a lifetime for him.

If I were in a position that I could see only two films again for the rest of my life, they would be 2001 and THE CROW. At no stage would I ever subsequently be able to say that I had seen EVERYTHING that either had to offer.
78 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great movie
KarateBoyBiff26 January 2005
In my opinion, The Crow is the greatest movie of all time. Brandon Lee's death had absolutely nothing to do with it, although it was a tragedy. That movie contained everything. Action, suspense, romance, horror, sci fi. It could literally fit into any category (accept for maybe porno). The diverse cast helped a lot showing that any one can be a bad guy. If you look at it, the character of Eric Draven is everybody. He's just your average Joe Shmoe who was scraping to make a living. There wasn't anything special about him until after he died. While Crow movies after this one may have had better special affects, or been less family friendly, there was a magic that these people brought to this movie that will never be recreated. Brandon Lee's death did not sell this movie, a story that everyone could relate to did.
84 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Can't rain all the time...
Spikeopath19 February 2015
I hadn't seen it for about ten years and as the full moon came beaming through my apartment window late last night, it just felt right to indulge in some Proyas Gothic excellence.

The question still taps away at all our doors, namely would the film be the cult classic it became without the Brandon Lee tragedy? That's a tricky one to answer because we all deep down have a morbid curiosity about us, especially with films and their stars. This is why I got a lot more from re-watching the movie after a very long period of time, namely that it may have drew many of us in years ago because of the tragedy and heart aching back story to writer James O'Barr's birthing of Eric Draven the character, but it can now enthral, thrill and shatter emotions of its own accord.

The Gothic art design and the soundtrack are emo personified before such a label was invented, Lee is lithe and skillful and serving notice to what a talent we were robbed of that fateful day in March 1993. The villains are a roll call of go to guys for such roles, Kelly, Wincott, Todd, while Ernie Hudson fronts up as good cop personified. And finally Proyas, struggling with the budget even before Brandon's death, that he manages to create this world of perpetual bleakness, but still offer hope and beauty - the latter via tracking shots, pull aways and intricate frame shots of a tormented Draven, shows him to be a purveyor of considerable skills.

All told, The Crow (1994) deserves to not be thought of as a cult classic, but just as a classic, period. 9.5/10
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the deepest movies of all time.
muchneededescape14 August 2004
This movie is my favorite film of all time. One factor of this film that made it so awesome had to be the casting. The acting is just superb. Brandon Lee did an excellent job of playing Eric Draven, one of the most complicated comic book characters ever. I don't think there's any actor out there that could've mastered this role like Brandon Lee did. Michael Wincott fit Top Dollar's personality so well. He can be so evil at times. The soundtrack and the score were masterpieces in themselves. All the bands chosen to appear ( ex. Stone Temple Pilots, Nine Inch Nails)on the soundtrack had a certain mood to their music that fit the movie's aura. As for the score, Graeme Revell put together perhaps one of the best scores of the 1990's. With his combination of modern musical instruments and foreign instruments and his tasteful and original use of synthesizers, he will always be one of the most talented composers. The plot of this film is so universal. it can be used on so many other levels or in so many other stories. Being brought back from the dead not to avenge yourself, but to avenge the death of your loved one. Some may think that it's cliche but this coming from the same people who watch movie like Robo Cop and think that that is good movie-making. ::shudder:: Others believe that the movie became popular for the fact that Brandon Lee passed away during the making of it. I don't think this could be farther from the truth. The movie would be just as popular as it is today even if Brandon Lee had not died during the fabrication of the film. Though the sequels that followed the film fell short of it's greatness, they will never tarnish the importance of The Crow. James O' Barr put together a story of anger, pain, and love and Alex Proyas turned his vision into a masterpiece. This movie changed my life...
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A Possibly Great Movie In It's Time That Did Not Age Well
poeticfist28 August 2004
I really feel terrible writing this review, especially seeing everyone else raving about how great this movie is, and also, knowing about Brandon Lee's infamously tragic death on the set, but I must write on. Unfortunately, I watched this movie for the first time 10 years after it was released, I can only assume this was a costly mistake, the ruining of a legend for me. By the time it started, I knew I would be disappointed, and I was. To me, this movie was a tragic, god awful mess. Simply too melodramatic, too pseudo-poetic (psuedo as in what they tried to do did not work at all), and much too talky. Too many people explained way too many things that should have been inferred. Too many characters were stereotypes, mainly concepts represented by human bodies, and actors not doing a good job at portraying them. I know this may sound like blasphemy, but Brandon Lee, rest his soul, was not a good actor, at all. Actually quite the opposite. It looked like a terribly written movie with terrible actors, yet a big heart, that's the only good thing I could say about this movie.
33 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Flat, dull, stupid
derising1 October 2007
I can only guess at the age and experience of those who, in other reviews of this movie, have dubbed it "the best movie ever". Viewers be forewarned: it isn't, not by a long-shot.

What it is: a comic-genre film - and like most film versions of dark comics, it is enslaved to rain and shadows, candlelight and eyeliner aesthetics, pseudo-intellectualism and faux-poetic moments. It suffers greatly from an unbelievable premise (murderous super bad guys run wild in the streets, doing their will) and mind-numbingly dense dialog.

I watched this movie just recently for the first time - and had to check all the background material on it because I just couldn't believe it was actually shot in the nineties - it is an eighties movie in every way shape and form, hearkening back to the days of the early Cure, Bauhaus, Souxsie and the Banshees, etc.

The acting is flat all around (Brandon Lee spends the entire movie with his chin on his chest, glaring menacingly from underneath his furrowed brow) and what little there is of character is two-dimensional - a comic book view of the world, juvenile and meaningless, trying desperately to be "deep".

If Brandon Lee hadn't died during production, this film would be regarded as nothing more than an amusing goth fantasy - and not the goth cult classic it seems to have become. I guess I understand some people's emotional attachment to it, but back when I was being goth and under the influence of nihilist aesthetics, my friends and I read Baudelaire, Sartre and Dostoevsky. To us, a film like this would be as intellectually an emotionally fulfilling as the popcorn you might eat while watching it.

The "best movie ever"? Sorry. No.
18 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Greatest movie of all time ?!
Tanel Tänna16 December 2008
After scrolling through about 6 pages of comments, I was shocked to find no negative ones at all. So I will fix that mistake right now. I gave The Crow 2/10 - 1 point is there because you can't rate a movie 0 points, and 1 point because it was dark and had a dark rock soundtrack, dark is cool. Other then that it just looked like any other B-movie shown on TV on a Tuesday night, some hero killing typical 100% evil bad guys, random cop with a moustache, random kid, all played by actors you normally see in different TV series. So its probably the tragic death of Brandon Lee that makes people rate this one highly, but to be honest - this movie is a complete failure.
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
you have to be objective, this is a bad movie
Negative Reviews1 August 2005
Stop giving this movie a high score just because of the circumstances, does it all of sudden make this movie great? You know it doesn't deserve a 7.x on IMDb. It's a stupid, worthless movie. This fails on several, if not all levels. I couldn't even finish watching this cheesy movie, half of this juvenile trash was enough for me before I finally gave up being sadistic enough to torture myself with this.

This has such bad and unconvincing acting, especially by the star of the film, Brandon Lee. A movie with a poorly executed story is made even harder to watch when the star of the movie couldn't act his way out of a house with no walls (therefore no roof, think about it). His wife got raped and killed, what is he supposed to be, angry or campy? Why is he making jokes as he toys with his victims? This is like a damn cartoon for 10 year olds. If the movie didn't take itself so seriously, then I wouldn't mind that performance choice so much. Everything from the script and the dialog was formulaic. How can anyone think this is a great movie? It's not 100% horrible, but it ain't Spider-Man, it's Elektra, enough said.
27 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Not worth any of the praise it receives
Dave Jackson22 November 2005
Terrible. Just terrible. There is so little, if anything good to say about this film. Poor acting, terrible script with childish attempts at wit, inconsistencies, complete lack of shock or confusion from any of the characters at seeing a man coming back from the dead. There's a reason Brandon Lee only did Martial Arts flicks before this, it's clearly all he was good at. Stephen Hawking could convey emotion and act more convincingly than this ham. Without a doubt one of the worst films I have ever seen. Don't get drawn into liking it just because it's a cult film and you think you'll seem cool if you do - watch it and judge it by its qualities rather than its style, and you'll see this film for the stinker it is.
24 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A bargain bin popcorn film that your troubled teenage son/daughter will love
suburbanpineapple26 March 2006
Like Donnie Darko, Johnny Depp and The Nightmare Before Christmas, The Crow has now achieved cult status through its legions of depressed teenager fans. Despite the film's iconic lead Eric Draven now being the patron saint of Goths everywhere, The Crow delivers an adequate slice of revenge action that is brought down just below the bar because of its hideously clichéd principal character.

Sporting a skin type black ninja outfit, make up only Kiss would be proud of and Edgar Allen Poe's Raven's wimpier cousin 'The Crow', Draven (Brandon Lee's final performance) deals out painful revenge upon those that murdered him and his girlfriend one year ago. The plot plays out exactly as you would expect for a nineties revenge flik except rather than Harry Tasker kicking ass and taking names we observe Edward Scissorhands on drugs slaughtering all opposition.

Its a good laugh if you want a harmless revenge film with little more than the necessary amount of substance than the dry script requires, or you may enjoy it if you are aged between 12-17 and haven't found your niche in life yet. Rest assured teens, The Crow will answer none of your questions but will only fill you with new ones such as:

Wouldn't it have been nice if poor Eric Draven had only stayed dead?
24 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Not the absolute worst film ever made...
Max_30 October 2001
...but hardly worth the two dollars to rent it. The attempt to set the mode was heavy handed, the plot was a thinly constructed frame for improbable stunts and I wouldn't really accuse any of the characters of having any depth. Possibly what I'm missing is, never having read the comic book, I don't realize that its supposed to have an overdone but two dimensional feel. I'm willing to concede that to fans of the comic book it might be something special. But unless you're a hardcore goth, loved the comic book, or don't really want to use your brain for a hundred minutes, don't bother.
15 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Not living up to its hype
Enchorde11 March 2012
Warning: Spoilers
The Crow is an action and revenge movie. Eric Draven, with his girlfriend was murdered by four criminals. But their deaths was unjust and Draven, with the help of a raven, one who connects the living with the afterlife, Draven returns to claim revenge. And the punishment can only be death.

Alone, Draven takes on the entire criminal organization of crime lord Top Dollar, whose gang killed him once. And it is easy, since Draven is already dead and can't be hurt. He is indestructible and invincible. Until Top Dollar figures out that it is the raven that gives Draven his superhuman powers.

Not a very entertaining story, since it doesn't get any suspense until the final ten minutes, and barely then either. Draven, with his powers, is simply to powerful. There is no threat to him. What it is is an action packed dark story. The scenery is very dark, it is always raining and the Gothic influence is heavy. Visually it is interesting, but not very good either.

Had Draven been vulnerable somehow, this could have been really good. Now, ironically, it is mostly known and interesting since lead actor Brandon Lee died in an accident while filming it. Had the accident never occurred, I believe this movie would have been forgotten long ago.

I feel that it is a movie one should have seen. But it wasn't very memorable, unfortunately.

4/10
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Hype
Phil Wheeler4 October 2016
This film has always been in the back of my mind as one of the greats. One of those must see films that I just hadn't got around to watching yet. So I made a point of watching it.

Oh dear.

Don't get me wrong, I wanted to like this film, I gave it the benefit of the doubt considering it's age and the hype surrounding it but it was dreadful.

In my opinion, if Lee hadn't died tragically during the making if this film then it would probably have gone straight to DVD and I wouldn't have just sat through an hour and half of dross.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
What a load of melodramatic crap
Pigbelly15 January 2005
This is a poorly constructed film and its premise is juvenile, inane and asinine. What a load of melodramatic crap. If I was eating Burger King for a week and watching nothing but Fassbinder every day, my crap would be more interesting to watch than The Crow. Christ, a guy died to make this load of diaper filling? On a scale of 1 to 10 this movie is a 1. If this movie were a dish at a Mexican restaurant it would be an ASS-TACO. Goth movies are always bad because the material is very childish and silly. The acting is like an after school special and the writing... well it looks like it was written by Goths. If you think this is a good piece of cinema please stop reading comic books... pick up some Paul Bowles, James Joyce or Mikail Bulgakov and open your mind. Just like these real writers, real filmmakers have names like Godard, Bunuel, Von Trier and Lynch.
23 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
My thoughts
dravencage10 June 2005
I have watched this film many, many times and it always captivates me....with it's story of love and loss, revenge and betrayal......the idea that love can conquer all, even death is a strong one, and in this movie it is handled with great gravitas.

Alex Proyas (as he also showed with Dark City) has a visual knack for creating a dark world, and the world of the Crow is Detroit, but it could be anywhere.......The villains are never too OTT and the poignant moments between Sarah and Eric are handled well.

The real stand out for me though, is Brandon Lee's performance, and it still fills me with sadness to know, that his breakout role, was his last.

RIP Brandon...The Crow is a fitting epitaph for you.

DC
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Among the Worst That Hollywood Has to Offer!
im_veritas_photo3 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I wish there were a zero rating on IMDb. The movie industry ought to have a "Toxic Waste" rating, the kind that damages our society with absolutely no chance of cleanup. Yes, I believe that The Crow is the Love Canal of movies...

I can't believe this motion picture was directed by the same person who directed "Dark City." If I had seen The Crow (an earlier film) first, I would never have viewed Dark City, and that would have been a shame. The two don't belong on the same planet... They truly don't reside in the same universe. The only thing I can figure: The Crow came out of Hollywood, while Dark City came out of Australia.

Regardless of what Roger Ebert says about The Crow (he called it "good" ?), to me it is the worst piece of ultra-violent dreck I have ever seen, even including "Narc," the only other film I've rated a "1" here. Both richly deserve a complete zero. I detect a pattern here: Both films' stories take place in Detroit. Moral: Never watch any film whose setting is Detroit! The Crow is genuinely scary to me, but not in the way you might imagine. I think the horribly ultra-violent spirit of the film, completely unrelieved throughout (no matter the insipid, unbelievably saccharine "good guys win" ? ending) contributed directly to Brandon Lee's death. How else can you explain something as bizarre as a "blank" movie-prop round killing someone during the filming of a motion picture? It is obvious to me that so many (way-over-the-top many) "blank" shots had to be fired at the (so-called) "hero" that this must have contributed to Lee's death. Someone said this film is a fitting memorial to Lee. Indeed. No further comment required.

Even the music during the ending credits: "It Can't Rain All the Time," or whatever it's called, is nausea-producing garbage. The singer is horribly flat (pitch, that is). Just listen to it, if you dare; it is totally forgettable trash. Thank heavens it has been forgotten! I made the mistake of starting to play the comment track by the Producer and Screenwriter. I do wish English grammar allowed me to de-capitalize their titles. I think they are quite demented, totally out of touch with reality... I believe their warped view of the world has caused them to descend into the depths of self-aggrandizing insanity.

People: Do not view The Crow, ever. Unless you like flirting with brain-damaging toxic waste. If you let any teenager view this film, it should be considered that you should be jailed for launching sociopathic violence on the rest of us.

Thank Goodness I watched The Crow only once. I am hoping that Time Will Heal All Wounds.
16 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews