Demolition Man (1993) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
290 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A Cult classic, one of the best Sci-Fi action flicks of Stallone!
ivo-cobra84 November 2015
Demolition Man (1993) is one of the best epic classic science fiction/action film of all time! AN ALL TIME CLASSIC, has it all, explosions, practical effects, one liners, 80s songfests, soundtracks. It is one of my personal favorite movies. I love this film to death it is Stallone-Snipes futuristic science fiction action flick of the 90's. They don't make like this anymore.

Demolition Man is my favorite best Stallone Sci-fi, action movie, very awesome alongside with Rambo films. Demolition Man is one of the funniest, most action-packed and most poignant social satires of at least the last 22 years. It's not necessarily the easiest film to appreciate, as it makes its points through extremely over-the-top "mindless" action and tongue-in-cheek, purposefully cheesy plot and dialogue, but it's well worth trying to acclimate oneself to the style if you're not an action or sci-fi fan, as the satire cuts deep. There are other films with somewhat similar aims, such as Total Recall (1990) and Starship Troopers (1997), which are perhaps just as good as Demolition Man, but they certainly can't top it, and they have aims other than the purely satirical. As a social commentary, it's extraordinarily on-target. I mean, come on, this is the movie where the joke was made that Schwarzenegger would be president and Taco Bell would win the franchise wars, and what do you know? Now people want the constitution amended so Arnold can run for president and Taco Bell is winning the franchise wars (they merged with Pizza Hut and KFC). One of Stallone's best Sci-fi action packed films. This film is phenomenal!

Send a maniac to catch a maniac!!!!!!!!

Sylvester Stallone is a legendary bad-ass cop John Spartan Demolition Man he plays by his own rules and he does what he does best to catch the bad guys. He will blow things up to get the job done and he does in this movie. Demolition Man defies my childhood and I love this movie to death!

The cast, the script, the story itself all of these elements come together to make this one of the best action movies of the 90s. This movie does have a few surprises and it is not above making fun of itself or the action movie genre (Denis Leary is a wonderful touch!). It is a perfect addition to an action movie night or collection. The movie has humor, a little comedy and pure action that the gunplay is delivered in perfect Stallone-Snipes style - you'll see lots of heavy automatic and explosive weapons, and you'll see them used well. Stallone uses hand guns including a Remington shotgun. The film is absolutely filled with great, classic moments (I counted TEN all-star ones during my last viewing), and they're evenly spaced through the movie. The martial arts are excellent, so are the cryoprision scenes. Terrific special effects and art direction. Marco Brambilla did a great direction debut of directing of one of my all time classic sci-fi action movies!

This is an action film that actually has a brain in its head and has something to say. The vision of future world here is undeniably original and memorable. What is more admirable is that many of things seen here are happening in REAL world. Demolition Man shows what would happen if the politics will went to far with it.

Anyway I love this film, I grew up with Demolition Man, beside Cliffhanger is my second best favorite action Stallone movie!!! The rating I am giving is a 10, because the film isn't a 6, but it is a perfect 10. It is a film that is an underrated cult classic movie that I will always enjoy and cherish it to death!!!

Demolition Man is a 1993 American science fiction action film directed by Marco Brambilla in his directorial debut. The film stars Sylvester Stallone and Wesley Snipes. The film was released in the United States on October 8, 1993.

Demolition Man is a 1993 science-fiction action film starring Sylvester Stallone as John Spartan, a Los Angeles cop with a reputation for destruction who in the then future year of 1996 is found guilty of a crime he didn't commit and is subsequently sentenced to be frozen in a cryogenic prison along with his nemesis Simon Phoenix (Wesley Snipes). Spartan is then revived in the year 2032 and finds himself in the city of San Angeles when Phoenix escapes. Spartan is then asked by the San Angeles police force to use his old school tactics to take down his archenemy.

The film's cast also includes Sandra Bullock, Benjamin Bratt, and Denis Leary. The film is notable for featuring one of the first and only appearances of the Heckler & Koch G11, an experimental rifle at the time that was portrayed as futuristic magnetic pulse rifle. 10/10 Grade: Bad Ass Seal Of Approval
155 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent cultural satire
BrandtSponseller3 May 2005
John Spartan (Sylvester Stallone) is a reckless Los Angeles policeman, known as the "demolition man" for the destruction he routinely engenders while apprehending big baddies. After a particularly ruthless criminal, Simon Phoenix (Wesley Snipes), sets him up by making it appear that Spartan wantonly caused the deaths of a bus load of hostages, Spartan is sentenced to 60 years or so in prison. The film begins in a not-too-distant future (relative to its 1992/1993 production date) of 1996. Prisons are quite a bit different, and there's a new policy of cryogenically freezing inmates. We cut forward to 2032. Phoenix is up for an obligatory parole hearing when he escapes. The film's 21st Century society is extremely different (worsening cultural chaos, exacerbated by a huge earthquake, precipitated the change), and the "San Angeles" police cannot capture Phoenix or keep him in check. Chief Earle makes a decision to revive Spartan, reasoning that an out of control but effective cop mired in the ways of the late 20th Century may be the only one who can capture the out of control criminal, but he, and the future society, may be in for a lot more than they bargained for by reawakening the Demolition Man.

Demolition Man is one of the funniest, most action-packed and most poignant social satires of at least the last 30 years. It's not necessarily the easiest film to appreciate, as it makes its points through extremely over-the-top "mindless" action and tongue-in-cheek, purposefully cheesy plot and dialogue, but it's well worth trying to acclimate oneself to the style if you're not an action or sci-fi fan, as the satire cuts deep. There are other films with somewhat similar aims, such as Total Recall (1990) and Starship Troopers (1997), which are perhaps just as good as Demolition Man, but they certainly can't top it, and they have aims other than the purely satirical.

The opening scene feels like a typical late 1980s/early 1990s action sequence. At least until we realize that there's not going to be a happy ending for the hostages that Spartan is trying to save. Once we arrive at the future, a lot of viewers might misjudge the performances of the principal cast besides Stallone and Snipes. Sandra Bullock, as Lieutenant Lenina Huxley (a reference to Aldous Huxley's book Brave New World), and Benjamin Bratt, as Alfredo Garcia (a reference to Sam Peckinpah's 1974 film, Bring Me the Head of Alfredo Garcia), at first seem to be turning in bizarrely incompetent performances. It's only later that we realize they are spot on for the film's "brave new world", which is basically an instantiation of a staunchly moralist cult run by Dr. Raymond Cocteau (a reference to famed director Jean Cocteau combined with Cocteau's friend, novelist Raymond Radiguet).

Technically, the film is quite impressive. The production design, cinematography, effects, staging of the action sequences, score and soundtrack are excellent. But what sets Demolition Man a cut above the rest are the script and the performances--yes, even from Stallone and Snipes, although Bullock, and especially Denis Leary, in a relatively minor part where he gets to do his motor-mouthed, ranting comedy schtick that made him famous, both threaten to steal the show.

Director Marco Brambilla (who has remained oddly inactive since Demolition Man, which was his first film) and his writing "team" skewer a lot of cultural norms as relatively arbitrary conventions. Radio and television commercial jingles are considered the pinnacle of musical art in the film's world. Strict morality is enforced through constant computer monitoring of behavior combined with fines--a running joke throughout the film is that profanity results in fines. Meat and alcohol have been outlawed. So has physical contact, including sex. All restaurants are now Taco Bells (in some cuts of the film intended for foreign markets, this was changed to Pizza Hut instead). There is an underground, outside of the cultic mainstream society, but they're literally underground, living relatively lawless (well, at least they eat meat and drink beers) in tunnels strewn with utility pipes.

As a result, serious crime is a thing of the past, swept under the rug (or into the sewers) and labeled with Orwellian newspeak. Phoenix and Spartan's reintroduction of violence and mayhem, including "murder/death/kill", results in a reawakening of cultural freedom, analogous to their own thawing out. The anti-utopian, anti-utilitarian political message, like that of Orwell's 1984 and later films influenced by the same, such as Equilibrium (2002), couldn't be clearer. And the message can be extended to situations that are not political. I didn't use "cult" above carelessly. The idea is that the society's warts are necessary for individual authenticity. Yes, things can run smoother under a dictatorship, but who wants to live under a dictatorship, even a supposedly "benevolent" one?
221 out of 256 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It has never been so current
skidwasted-145-49099814 March 2020
UK's Home Office declares that calling someone ugly is a hate crime. Now we're just awaiting the fine machines.
34 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not as bad as people say!
redkiwi9 February 2002
This is one of those films that it is popular to think is rubbish. I'm not quite sure why. Don't take it seriously and it's a fun ride.

Wesley Snipes and Sly Stallone play off each other well as the forces of bad and good -- old foes that have come out of chryo-generic storage hundreds of years into the future.

Sandra Bullock as the nostalgia [for Stallone's time, naturally] struck cop isn't even rubbish and annoying -- a first time for everything!

Watch out for a fun performance by Nigel Hawthorne also.
126 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
an action classic!!
supertom-325 March 2002
This movie features Sly Stallone at his muscle bound, destructive best. Around the same time he did the excellent Cliffhanger he also did this nifty action flick. What you get with Demolition man is an entertaining and satirical look at the future of Los Angeles where people walk about in robes and are a peace loving society. Anything remotely bad for you, including spicy foods, is illegal and the whole new system is run by Raymond Cochtoe played by the late Nigal Hawthorne. The opening action scene is set in the present day and is a rip roaring sequence with Stallone polishing off bad guys with stylish flair, before he has a face off with the show stealer Wesley Snipes. Snipes plays the baddest of bad guys Simon Phoenix and does so excellently. The films pacing is good and in particular there are three big action sequences that shine, these are the opening and the end as well as a very good action scene set in a museum. The comedy factor is high in this film and the film certainly has tongue fastened firmly in cheek. The two leads are very good and in particular Snipes revels in his nasty role. Sandra Bullock is good as the gratuitous attractive lady you get in practically all action films. All in all this is a great way to spend 90 or so minutes and is certainly how I would like to remember Sly Stallone, in his action prime. 9/10
113 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Predictions becoming reality in 2020
rebecca_campbell_davila18 January 2020
A vision of the future, almost as if Orwell wrote 2020 instead of 1984. And indeed "the action scenes are not as exciting", like a bad critic said in 1993... however they were that way for a reason. Great performances, the most difficult to appreciate is Snipes' as he understand who the real villain is
31 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A glimpse into the Future
ss_rockman22 December 2019
The people who made this movie must have had a crystal ball, but it is depressingly accurate as to the direction we are headed in. The cast is very good, the story manages to convey a highly important message without being too preachy about it, and the fact that this movie is now 26 years old and it still holds up speaks volumes. If you have not seen this, you should fix that.
25 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the most under-rated films ever!!
donnahanlon31 October 2005
This film is phenomenal! Funny, action packed and in some ways has almost proved prophetic (check reference to Arnie Presidential library, a terrifying possibility which is looking almost possible!! Bear in mind that this movie was made well before Arnie was heavily involved in politics)! Wesley Snipes is at his hottest in this movie as the evil Simon Phoenix and Stallone is amazing as the "troubled past gunslinger" Spartan. When you factor in a cute and funny Sandra Bullock and Nigel Hawthorne as a fascist dictator, it is hard to see how this movie could have been any better. Also the vision of the future provided is both insightful and believable. Ending is a bit corny and "hollywood" but really I think that such a minor flaw is balanced out by the sheer entertainment value of the rest of the film. A brilliant Sci-Fi, much overlooked.
40 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Weird, It's A Satirical Action Movie
mjw230530 December 2006
Sgt. John Spartan (Stallone) is a tough cop for a tough age and Simon Pheonix (Snipes) is a nasty and violent criminal. When Stallone finally catches his man, he is found guilty of killing a group of innocent civilians at the same time; and they are both given sentences in the new cryo-prison. When Simon Pheonix escapes into a new world in the year 2032, the police have no way of dealing with such a vicious arch-criminal so they re-animate John Sparton, and so it begins.

I simply love the way the future is portrayed in this film, it is a wonderfully satirical crime free environment where the humans have become ultra-placid geeks under the new regime. Sandra Bullock and Nigel Hawthorne are the two main police-persons that we see and they are brilliantly funny in their performances.

Demolition man is as funny as it is action packed and although it's pretty shallow, it is still great fun to watch.

7/10
61 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Stallone movie ever
davidfancella27 June 2005
I thought it was one of the greatest movies of all time. As a social commentary, it's extraordinarily on-target. I mean, come on, this is the movie where the joke was made that Schwarzenegger would be president and Taco Bell would win the franchise wars, and what do you know? Now people want the constitution amended so Arnold can run for president and Taco Bell is winning the franchise wars (they merged with Pizza Hut and KFC).

The story parallels Brave New World and there are numerous references to it. It's the best "Big Brother" film to ever be made. It's got great laughs, great action, and just great stuff. The basic plot is pretty mediocre when you get right down to it, but when you factor in all the detail and the very well-thought script, it's a must-see movie. It's like the anti-movie, it's great, but nobody likes it, apparently.
162 out of 208 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
FUTURISTIC HIGH COMEDY!
Agent1020 May 2002
Sylvester Stallone was really beside himself when he took this film. Instead of trying to be the tough guy, he sort of made fun of his pre-existing persona in his role as John Spartan. Funny, and satirical of a gun-free society, it just proves that peace doesn't necessarily result in the most diverse range of self expression. The humor in the film was exceptional, and Wesley Snipes was great as Simon Phoenix. This also proved to be my favorite film with Sandra Bullock, who subsequently destroyed her career thereafter. This movie will always be good for a laugh, especially for the characters singing all of the commercial jingles.
81 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Now A Classic
raympretorius15 March 2020
To my way of thinking, a good movie with solid performances by the principle characters. Some very humorous dialogue and / or situations even though the main story line is quite serious and thought provoking.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
In 2019 it's now relevant
melcraig20428 September 2019
With China rolling out a social credit system and western countries addicted to social media and generally unaware of the unbending corporate "big brother" over reach into peoples lives the movie is very timely for the "current year". With the rise of fascistic progressives in politics and an engineered outrage culture and political correctness followed by groups like Antifa the film is scary in its predictions and is elevated to a real classic. In short the communists are back and this film is a much more light hearted and fun take. Not to mention campy and fun performances.
26 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Awesome movie
Adriane15 May 2000
I first saw this movie in the theater when it came out in 93 and loved it. The cool futuristic toys and Stallone and Sandra Bullock make a great on-screen couple. Snipes delivers as the bad guy, and Stallone is the cop who is frozen but thawed out 36 years later to stop him once again. Plenty of one-liners and action.
62 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's 2020 and this movie still gives me those joy joy feelings
KOOLAIDBRO22 May 2020
I saw this movie when I was a wee lad and me and my friends still quote it and make references to it. Like the 3 sea shells, 187 murder death kill, Simon says bleed! We're police officers. Were not trained to handle this kind of violence. There's so many greats that I could go all day. Stallone is good in this, but Wesley Snipes is unforgettable. One of the best villains ever. Let's not forget a young Sandra Bullock. This movie was awesome back in the day. Guess what? It's still awesome in this day.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A sci-fi comedy
PWNYCNY24 September 2007
Comment #1

Is this movie classified as a comedy? Because if it's not, it should be. Not only is this movie a sci-fi thriller, this movie contains some great lines, most of which are said by Sandra Bullock and Wesley Snipes, who gives one of the great performances in the sci-fi genre. Simon Phoenix is an incredible character and Mr. Snipes performs the role to near perfection. This movie is not merely another sci-fi special effects potboiler, rather it actually contains an interesting and engaging story with lots of action and humor which makes for an entertaining movie. And don't forget to be on the lookout for Associate Bob who is the ultimate brown-nosing, a--kissing flunky. Although AB is a fictional character, once you see him in the movie you will immediately recognize him because in life who hasn't ever come across an Associate Bob?

Comment #2

It's not about John Spartan. It's not about Simon Phoenix. It's not about Lenina Huxley. It's about the character Associate Bob. Yes, this movie is about how a man is able to survive during times of change by bending in whatever direction the wind is blowing. Spartan and Phoenix are literally demolishing a city as they renew their struggle after thirty years of being frozen in a huge refrigerator-like machine and then being defrosted to fight each other another day, Spartan on the side of the "good guys" and Phoenix as the tool of a megalomaniac who wants to create a new society. And while all this is happening, Associate Bob - fat, greasy, effete, with a pompadour that never gets ruffled - offers his services to whom ever may be winning - and never gets rejected. Is there some kind of message here? Maybe. Is this the movie's way of telling us how to survive in an ever changing society?
22 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It doesn't get any more 90s than this
foxtografo1 July 2019
And that's not a bad thing for me, I have to say, besides the nostalgia (I'm on my late thirties) it's a great, fun action movie. It has all the cliches you can expect from 90s action movies, but the movie doesn't try to be serious, there are a lot of silly jokes, cheesy hero phrases and ridiculous shootings and explosion scenes, but they all add up to a lot of fun. The cinematography is quite good, designs and setting are decent and acting... well, it's a Stallone movie!! Bullock does her job as the cute sidekick and Snipes (best of the movie) is what the Joker should have been in all the Batman movies. Having in mind that it is what it is, it's one of the best from when they all came up. Seems a bit like too much even for me the rating I'm giving, but I need to state that it's really good within it's genre.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
No contact lol
bigmike332315 May 2020
The no contact how did they know! I love this movie.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This has got to be one of the funniest action adventure films ever released.
fredericksmith19528 February 2012
This has got to be one of the funniest action adventure films ever released. And the beauty of it all is the seriousness with which the actors play their roles. Stallone and Snipes are two 20th century macho types in an Orwellian society where everything is monitored and the police are almost superfluous. Bullock is a radical thinker bored with her perfect society, and Leary is just trying to keep people alive...the people who decided they didn't want to be part of the Perfect society. Now it is worth remembering this film was one of the first shameless product promotion films, with Taco Bell being featured in the film as the only restaurant to survive the Franchise wars, whatever those were. I would classify it as a "pre-comic" movie, with all the trimmings...bad guys and good guys, technological oddities, and a lot of great lines. Worth seeing, PG-13 because of a few lines here and there and a couple of brief shots of nudity. Collectible if you like Stallone, otherwise rent it and return it.
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Why the hate?
enosshenk6 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Im not sure at all why people hate on this movie. In my opinion, it bridges a gap between mindless action movie and satire, and the result is pure gold.

Im not going to write this like a review "Stallone plays John Spartan etc" because you KNOW that. Id rather comment on the movie as it was made.

This movie halfway pokes fun at a 1984 style future, and halfway takes it seriously. And most movies that try to split things down the middle fail on both fronts, well as I see it this one pulls it right off and makes it great. The laughs in the movie don't come from "ha-ha" gags, but rather from biting satire and eerily prescient predictions. Tracking chips, omniprescent surveillance, making cigarettes illegal? Maybe we aren't there yet, but its been heading that way for a long time. It takes a lot to make an audience laugh at a ridiculous setup, then right after the laugh make them think "Wait...That could easily happen!"

The thing that I appreciate most about this movie is the fact that it doesn't forget its own gags. Most other movies, the first time a character was fined for the "Verbal morality statute", the movie would drop the gag, skipping the alarm tone and accusing voice. In this movie, every time someone swears in public within voice distance of whatever it is that "hears" them swear, in the background you hear the gag played out. This transforms it from a joke to a "Holy crap, that would suck" type of mindset, and it works!

And thats what I mean. This movie more than most others that I could name merges satire and a dystopian look with lighthearted gags and "mindless" action scenes. Thats hard to do, and more people should give the writers and director and crew credit for sewing it together and making it play.

One of the few action movies that I watch every time I catch it playing on my TV box, it works that well, and the gags still make you laugh. After all, absurdity is a very real way to highlight and satirize elements of society. It sticks with you longer that way.
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Goofy fun
bat-527 November 1999
Demolition Man is just good, goofy fun. You plop yourself down when nothing else is on and watch Sylvester Stallone and Wesley Snipes blow up everything around them. Snipes plays Simon Phoenix over the top and that's exactly where he's supposed to be. Stallone has some good lines in this film, and he's actually a funny guy when he plays things straight. Of course, no action film would be complete without the prerequisite snappy one liners, outlandish action and bullets flying everywhere. A silly, but fun film to watch.
58 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The BEST Wesley Snipes movie!
jenorlick24 March 2020
This is one of my all time favorite movies. I Mean, it is like #2 maybe #3. Has a great cast of actors and together they al did great. Him being the bad guy was different, but he did so well. I highly recommend this movie!!!
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best sci-fi futuristic 90's action movie from Stallone to grace on a movie screen ever
NightmareOnElmStreetFan26 October 2019
Demolition Man is one of the best sci-fi futuristic action 90's movies from Sylvester Stallone to grace on a movie screen ever. It is Rated R for non-stop action violence, and for strong language It is my personal favorite action movie of the 90's. Belongs right there with Terminator 2: Judgment Day. Sylvester Stallone is LAPD officer John Spartan the 21st century's most dangerous cop and Wesley Snipes is Simon Phoenix the 21st century's most ruthles criminal. This is a bad-ass futuristic action film it is in my top 15 favorite action films of all time. It is my personal favorite action film that is dear to my heart. I love, love, love this movie to death, it is right there with Rambo, Cobra, Hard Target, Terminator 2: Judgment Day, Hard Boiled, Predator 1 and 2 and more this is a bad-ass, kick-ass action movie of all time. They don't make em like this anymore.

"Send a maniac to catch a maniac"

It is beautiful directed by Marco Brambilla he directed excellent this perfect action movie. I don't know what happened with the director after this movie he directed Excess Baggage (1997) than a few episodes of TV series and than he dissapeard it is really a shame a lot of good directors leave like that. It has great dilogue. Sylvester Stallone as John Spartan reminds me on John Wick played by Keanu Reeves that is why Stallone and Keanu Reeves are my top two favorite action actors that I love to death. I love the lines Spartan says: "Somebody put me back in the fridge." , "You should've stayed there.", "Do you have something to say, scum bag?", "You're under arrest, Phoenix.", Most of these guys don't like their own mothers. They're bad boys." Sylvester Stallone's best performance as a renegade cop that get's framed and he must now in the future stop his old enemy Simon Phoenix who is on the loose again and is killing people. Wesley Snipes playes Simon Phoenix bad guy and barbaric ruthles killer. In my opinion Simon Phoneix is Wesley Snipes best role it is my favorite role he has done. Sylvester Stallone and Wesley Snipes were decent actors. Sandra Bullock is so sexy gorgeous hot babe as Lenina Huxley even now day Sandra is still my favorite actress and I still love her. For the rest of the cast I don't care.

With innocent victims caught in the crossfire in Los Angeles' intensifying war on crime, both cop John Spartan (Sylvester Stallone) and violent thug Simon Phoenix (Wesley Snipes) are sentenced to a state of frozen incarceration known as "CryoPrison." When Spartan is finally thawed 36 years later, it's 2032, and Los Angeles is now a pacifist utopia called San Angeles. But with Phoenix again on the loose, Spartan must team up with future cop Lenina Huxley (Sandra Bullock) to apprehend the killer.

The action scenes are great, they are well done even for CGI effects they are practical and they are real stunts. Here you have Stallone with two Beretta 92F handguns jumping in his two arms shooting at Simon Phoenix. That is bad-ass action well done scene. The CryoPrison scenes are well done, the future is a bad-ass. I did hear hear that people are complaining that it has humor and song fests in it that it is an awful movie. I disagree, it is a satire, so what. RoboCop, Total Recall and Starship Troopers have satires in it, but they are good movies and get's better credits but Demolition Man dosen't get better reputation I disagree.

I love the opening sequence in which Spartan (Stallone) bungee jumps onto the roof of Phoenix' headquarters and fights his way through the structure, defeating several of Phoenix' guards. When Phoenix (Snipes) sees Spartan's approach on his security cameras, he grabs a dagger and punctures several barrels of gasoline, spilling it onto the floor. Spartan arrives and orders Phoenix to reveal the location of the hostages. Phoenix catches Spartan off guard, showing him the pool of gas and brandishing a lit torch. He defiantly refuses to give up the hostages and flicks a lit cigarette toward Spartan, igniting the gas. Spartan grabs Phoenix and runs out of the building while the flames ignite several barrels of C4 explosive. The building collapses just after Spartan makes it to safety. The building explodes that's was practical done, practical effect real explosion. Why can't they demolish a buliding like that today? The opening action scene is a bad-ass Spartan fights Phoenix gangs and fights off with Phoenix the only one who catches the most dangerous killer.

The car chases are excellent dangerous well done: Phoenix steals a SAPD squad car and flees, Spartan and Huxley with an antique 1970 Oldsmobile 442 goes after Phoenix. During the chase, Phoenix tells Spartan that he'd already killed all the bus passengers in 1996. That is a real practical action stunt done. I love the night scenes more in here, this is really my favorite scene in the film. Spartan grabs Phoenix and throws him out of the car like he used judo grab to kick Phoenix out of the car. Spartan try's to stop the car but he flys in SLPD structure.

I love how the future is done in this movie, how they build the town the Taco Bell and so on. I love that Spartan goes alone after Phoenix because Spartan knows he has to stop Phoenix from releasing cryo prisoners 80 killers. This is my movie, my action movie I don't care about the satire, or funny lines. Not every action movie has to be brutal.

I am sorry I review this movie twice I hope I want get band again I love this movie to death. It come out in year 1993 Stallone was still in his best shape, he was strong and muscular. Cliffhanger was the first movie that come out before this movie. Jurassic Park and Hard Target come out the same and yes they are my favorite movies. I watch them all time, no not all the time but every year I visit them. Jean-Claude Van Damme and Steven Seagal were offered lead roles in the film for John Spartan , but both turned it down I am glad they did. Jean-Claude Van Damme is Hard Target - Chance Boudreaux for me not John Spartan that is Sylvester Stallone. The role of Phoenix was also offered to Jackie Chan, but he turned it down, not wanting to play a villainous character. I am glad he did Jackie Chan would be terrible and not believable in the lead role. Lori Petty was originally cast as Huxley, but was replaced by a then relatively unknown Sandra Bullock after two days of filming due to what producer Joel Silver described as "creative differences". I am glad Sandra Bullock was in here Lory Petty would be terrible.

I love the music score from Elliot Goldenthal the same score was later used in Batman Forever (1995), the same theme. I love Demolition Man soundtrack by Sting the music played on the end of the credits.

Demolition Man is the best sci-fi futuristic 90's action movie from Sylvester Stallone to grace on a movie screen ever! I love this movie to deathI love it so much it is dear to my heart. John Spartan is my favorite charather ever played by Sly. This is my movie my action movie it means everything to me. Stallone fan for life.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"I'm good at subtle."
canadian5814 April 2017
Demolition Man is an action classic. Great characters, and actors that fit them perfectly, good sets and futuristic scenery, hilarious dialogue all throughout (as per my title), great interesting plot with very few holes, and never a boring moment. Plenty of action, violence, laughs, and even romance. Stallone and Snipes are great as cop-villain enemies. Haven't watched this in many years but gave it a view tonight and thought it was well worth a review. Few movies do I have no complaints about, and this is one of them. Excellent film.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed