2 Stupid Dogs (TV Series 1993–1995) Poster

(1993–1995)

User Reviews

Review this title
21 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Minimal, extreme, stylish.
Marcello (MarcelloDL)16 January 2004
What? a Ren and Stimpy rip-off? isn't that cute... BUT IT'S WRONG!

If at all, this is a *parody* of that kind of cartoons and it appeals to a different (and probably smaller) audience. This is obvious in "Cartoon canines" episode: the two dogs learn how to be "funny", Ren and Stimpy way, in an army camp (Drill Sergeant: "No cutesy in my corp, only funny cartoons! You know, lots of butt jokes!").

If i recall correctly, at one time the dogs even morph into something very close to Ren and Stimpy! From the drawing style i suspect this is one of the first episodes to be conceived, even if it was aired later.

2 stupid dogs was made with a deceptively innocent animation style: smooth shapes, reassuring colors, attention to detail. The jazzy soundtrack is perfect, and the sound effects are purposefully unrelated to the action they try to describe.

The stories are not silly, but minimal (some episodes can be narrated in one sentence) with exaggerated particulars. They can be poetic, satyric, just plain silly and, parents beware, with some extremely sick or revolting details. Usually i can't stand revolting stuff that I usually perceive as a cheap way to make things interesting by tickling istinct, but here it's just the authors' fantasy running amok. I enjoy every single episode. Nobody dare to miss the one in black and white!

Little Dog is the best characterization of a little dog i have ever seen. Big Dog, my personal fave, seems just a lazy glutton, but when he decides to talk... listen to him as a foreign ambassador ("Drop all cares about politics, business, and the foreign situation. You will be astonished to find the world will manage to struggle on, somehow.") The big man and Red are awesome too! gee... better i stop writing this and watch a Two stupid dogs videotape for the hundredth time.

Vote: 10/10
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Excellent cartoon!
Francisco Huerta4 July 2000
I discovered today a hidden gem in my collection, which reminded me of one of my favorite Cartoon Network shows: it was the "Stupid Bowl", a 2-hour marathon of 2 Stupid Dogs.

This cartoon is still amazingly fresh to my eyes, and the humour is fast and furious. This one was the father of the World Premiere Toons, and thus, the What a Cartoon! series. It sets the example that Dexter´s Lab, PowerPuff Girls, Johnny Bravo, Dumb and Dumber and other cartoons would soon follow.

The only bad thing this series had was its length; I think that 2 hours of them is all that was made, judging from the re-runs on Cartoon Network. Still, those two hours are classic. There are some episodes which stand out, such as the "Red" trilogy and the Brady Bunch rip-off (which have been mentioned before), but worthy of mention are "Hollywood's Ark" (a take-off on Noah's Ark, which explains why unicorns are extinct), "Love" (starring Kenny Fowler, a kid that would appear in a couple more cartoons), and "Bone" which might just be the most surreal cartoon I've ever seen.

Actually, this cartoon has philosophical high points too. Listening to the Big Dog telling Kenny that "Love is the only chance you will ever have for happiness in this life, and if you are going to let a little thing like rejection stand in your way, you just might as well stay on the ground, because people will walk all over you for the rest of your life" is uplifting, to say the least.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
absurdly addictive
kynoceph29 May 2005
One of the earliest productions that Cartoon Network ever made for themselves and in my view one of the most successful. Genndy Tartakovsky worked on this before coming up with "Dexter's Laboratory," and his offbeat art style and sense of humor are evident here. The show is also notable for the fact that Big Dog was voiced by Brad Garrett (later to become Robert Barrone on "Everybody Loves Raymond"). John Kricfalusi, creator of Ren and Stimpy, guested on several episodes and is credited with "tidbits of poor taste."

The characters basically consist of Big Dog and Little Dog, with a few recurring characters like Red (Little Red Riding Hood), the nerdish Kenny, and Hollywood (whose trademark line is, "Isn't that cute...BUT IT'S WRONG!!!"). The art style is deceptively simple and the plot lines are as well. However, little hidden surprises come when you least expect it, particularly in the form of Big Dog's utterly unexpected words of wisdom in various episodes, particularly in "The Rise & Fall of Big Dog," where Big Dog is somehow mistaken for an ambassador, and "Love Doctors," where Big Dog dispenses advice to the lovelorn Kenny.

Several of the episodes are classic in my opinion. My favorite has to be Vegas Buffet, in which Big Dog and Little Dog venture forth looking for the "Super Cheap Economy Style One Pound Hot Dog Buffet" and get caught up in gambling craziness, but almost all the episodes have something going for them. Some of the best satire and parody that CN cartoons has ever done is found here, especially in "Cartoon Canines," "Hobo Hounds," and "Let's Make a Right Price," as well as "Family Values." The comparisons to Ren and Stimpy are not quite justified, I think, simply because 2 Stupid Dogs is more low-key. The dementia of Ren & Stimpy is in your face, whereas 2 Stupid Dogs is, overall, gentler and more surrealistic.

Personally I think that this is one of the "lost classics" of 90's children's TV, right up there with Nick's "The Adventures of Pete and Pete" and "Rocko's Modern Life." A DVD of the collected "2 Stupid Dogs" is long overdue.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Awesome show!
m0rpher20 July 2003
I could never get enough of watching 2 stupid dogs. One of my favourite eps was the one about the boots (which was mentioned earlier). The small one finds this can, and he loses it. The can rolls down some road, towards a supermarket, and ends up, inside the supermarket, right in front of the entrance, which was one of those automatic doors. (See that other post someone made about the boots episode to read what happened after what I just said.)

I love this show. I give it 5 stars!!
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Cartoon Network 1990's Classic!
SonicStuart13 June 2004
2 Stupid Dogs is another one of the best cartoons on Cartoon Network. I thought it was funny that the Little Dog is scared of the cat and every time when the Little Dog backs off, the Big Dog comes in and just barks once and then the cat drops to the ground with fear! Plus also on this show we also got to have some new episodes of Super Secret Squirrel and like wise his sidekick, Morocco Mole. Plus I thought all the episodes were funny and all of 2 Stupid Dogs and some of the new episodes Hanna-Barbera made of Secret Squirrel. Hanna-Barbera still knows how to make good cartoons and never fails to entertain me. This was also one of my favorite cartoons from the 1990's.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Completely different than Ren and Stimpy, and better
Aizyk21 June 2000
First of all, I find 2 Stupid Dogs to be much more visually enjoyable than Ren and Stimpy, funnier, and definitely cuter, but likeably, not annoyingly so. If one wants to succumb to making Ren and Stimpy comparisons, Cow and Chicken is a lot more similar (and is also better than Ren and Stimpy as well). The lunacy-prone personalities on that show have more in common with R&S than the 2 Stupid Dogs, who are much more easygoing, ordinary, and laid-back (except when they freak out). The scenarios are usually more innocent on 2 Stupid Dogs as well, and the humor isn't as crude. The visual style is also totally different from R&S, and looks very clean, simple, and stylish. The situations and adventures they get into are entertaining, but I'm not sure if many young children will understand some of the ironic references, like the darkly humorous name of a hair salon they visit printed on a wall sign in the background ("Curl Up and Dye").

Another thing about this show which I happen to love is the episodes featuring the updated Secret Squirrel, who used to have his own cartoons back in the 60's--you can look it up here on imdb.com. (As far as I know, reruns of those shows are also played on the Cartoon Network, but the new Secret Squirrel is a major improvement over the old one, in my opinion, and after watching a few episodes of the old one, I had no interest in watching any others.) Although I like the 2 Stupid Dogs a lot, Secret Squirrel is my favorite part. I think Morocco Mole is my favorite character--he wears a little fez and black round glasses, and he's adorably and hilariously slow-witted ("Do you remember where we first met, Morocco?" "Ummm... the gelatin store?"). The characters on the Secret Squirrel episodes are rich, numerous, and diverse, (characters they don't list in the credits for the show here are SS's female crimefighting friend whose name I don't remember, the assorted villians, and the chief may have a beautiful secretary as well, I'm not positive... but don't they usually?) and there seems to be more action and drama going on in them than on the regular 2 Stupid Dogs episodes. It's disappointing that they didn't develop it into its own series, because it would have been great.

I highly recommend this show. It's one of my favorites on the Cartoon Network, along with Cow and Chicken, and Dexter's Laboratory, the latter of which is in the same type of visual style as 2 Stupid Dogs. (Johnny Bravo and The Powerpuff Girls also share this style.)
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Isn't that Cute....BUT IT'S WRONG!
iamweasel_19999 March 2000
2 Stupid Dogs is a great cartoon. It is one of the first cartoons to be made that was directly influenced by the style of Ren and Stimpy without being a clone of it like so many that came out in this era. It was Hanna Barberra's first cartoon that was creator driven in 30 years and it was the show that began HB's current animation craze with Dexter's Lab, Cow and Chicken, Johnny Bravo, Powerpuff Girls, and others. Created by Donavan Cook, this is a very funny and at times rude show. The best episodes are the 3 involving "Red", 3 episodes mocking and mixing up old the old fairy tales the 3 Bears, Little Red Riding Hood, and Hansel and Gretle. These episodes were written by a former writer for Ren and Stimpy, Richard Pursel, and R&S creator John Kricfalusi is credited with "tidbits of bad taste". I would recommend this show to anyone who likes funny cartoons. It is a very influential show because as I stated earlier, it began Hanna Barberra's drive back to creator driven shows. And of course it's worth watching for the show's famous tag line....Isn't that cute....BUT IT'S WRONG!!!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Very funny cartoon....
chester-gray1 April 2003
I never could decide which of the charcters I liked better, I would have to say the dacshund, or what ever breed the small dog is. These two airheads argue over and ponder the dumbest things, like who will get possession of a broken toilet seat, and how to open an automatic door. They figure out that perhaps the boots on people's feet are what opens the door, so they run around stealing shoes and boots from people. I really cannot believe that Teletoon has stopped running this show for the sake of stupid programs like "Billy the Cat".
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Who's A Good Boy??
smetin4 May 2017
As part of my entry into my late 20's I got scared. I'm getting older. Part of my pre- mid-life crisis has meant that I have gone back and started watching numerous cartoons from my childhood. Many of these are Hanna-Barbera classics and they have not disappointed thus far. I decided to take on the DVD boxset for 2 Stupid Dogs and watch the odd episode after a hard days work.

Before I started this crusade to watch all the Hanna-Barbera shows of my youth I was concerned that the shows would be a letdown compared to my memories of them. However, as with the other series, 2 Stupid Dogs did not disappoint. Sure, the animation was rudimentary, the jokes were silly and the overriding themes of some episodes were questionable, but 2 Stupid Dogs represents a time when producers had more freedom to produce cartoons.

The two dogs themselves had very contrasting personalities. Whilst the small dog was excitable, jumpy and slightly more stupid, the larger dog was pretty chilled out and mellow. Every episode centred around the dogs being in unlikely situations, which could only be imagined by one's inner child. I guess this is why I found these episodes so entertaining. They tickled the inner child in me that had been repressed by many years of working hard in university and having to overcome many hardships that come with adulthood.

One thing that I now notice is that many of the episodes had adult humour that would be invisible to any child watching it. A classic example is the episode "At the Drive-In" where you can see the cars going up and down in the drive-in theatre. I wonder what they were doing?? These little nods made me appreciate these episodes more. The only reason why I had to knock off one point out of the ten is that some of the episodes did send out a bad message, whether it be gambling or lying. I just did not see it as being suitable for children to watch.

However, when taken together I have to say that I loved going back and watching these episodes. The adult humour made it all the more worth watching! If you are like me and getting worried about ageing, 2 Stupid Dogs could lighten the mood.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
"2 Stupid Dogs" was a very funny show i watch as a kid on Cartoon Network.
GravityLoudHouseLover113 September 2015
Hey Guys I'm RegularShow1 here again and today I'm going to talk about a cartoon I use to watch on Cartoon Network as a Kid called "2 Stupid Dogs". This show is about "2 Stupid Dogs" named "Big Dog" and "Little Dog" who are not very intelligent and their everyday Mis-adventures. The other characters include Mr.Hollywood who always says "Aww, isn't that cute? BUT IT'S WORNG. Then there "Little Red Ridding Hood" who often runs into the dogs. Anyway I remember watch as a kid on Cartoon Network and I Loved it. The show was originally aired on TBS from September 5,1993-May 15,1995 but it become popular when Cartoon Network aired reruns from 1995 to 2003 and again in 2011. Anyway I really Liked "2 Stupid Dogs" and giving it 10 out 10 stars. Anyway I'm RegualrShow1 and have nice day. BYE.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Very under-rated, influencial cartoon
dancing-bug1 July 2000
2 Stupid Dogs was (and is) considered a Ren & Stimpy rip-off, but if you watch Cartoon Network now you would see that the flat style of this show is being showed on two of Cartoon Network's most popular shows, Dexter's Lab and The Powerpuff Girls (Craig McCracken is art director for all 3 shows). In addition to what an earlier review said about Richard Pursel and John K. writing some episodes, Spumco cartoonist, Vince Waller also worked on some episodes. 2SD lasted until 1994 mainly because most homes didn't carry Cartoon Network and CN wasn't as popular in '93 and '94 as it is today.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
It's not like Ren & Stimpy.
chthon21 July 2003
First of all, Ren & Stimpy was about a dog and a cat, not two dogs. Second, both animals in this show were stupid, while Ren was not stupid (not smart either) and also very malicious. Second of all, this show was also much cleaner and child-oriented, while Ren & Stimpy was more appropriate for older audiences. Third of all, i'm tired of typing this review.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Secret Squirrel
timmysmith10017 December 2001
Before you go waxing about how Secret Squirrel is an hommage to Man from U.N.C.L.E, Get Smart etc., just know that it's a remake of a '60s cartoon called (oddly enough) Secret Squirrel. Hey, his original sidekick was even Morocco Mole. That's the problem with you kids today, you think everything is new.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Additionally
Spengo-215 June 1999
In addition to what Chris wrote, I must mention this cartoons' music. It takes a truly original angle for a cartoon- jazz. All of its background music is simple, spirited jazz. It adds an element of interest and lucidity that's particular to this show.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Deserves better than "Ren and Stimpy Copy!"
king jay22 November 1998
2 Stupid Dogs deserves better than simply being called a Ren and Simpy copy. It is in actuality one of the more original cartoon series of the past twenty years. Visually, as designed by Craig McCracken (of Powerpuff Girls fame), this show introduced a new style which has since been seen on almost every other show produced by Hannah-Barbera and Cartoon Network, such as Dexter's Laboratory and Johnny Bravo. The style harkens back to the simplified sixties, with its modernist architecture and industrial design, its costumes and its UPA inspired characters which contain as few lines as possible and are undoubtedly 2-d. Many of the stories also are throwbacks to the sixties mentality, especially the episode with a suspiciously Brady Bunch looking family (complete with a musical number), and the middle cartoon Super Secret Secret Squirrel, which is a wonderful parody of all those sixties secret agent movies and tv shows (Man from UNCLE, the Prisoner, James Bond, Our Man Flint, The Avengers, etc). This show deserves to be mentioned as being as important and influential a cartoon as DuckTales, Tiny Toon Adventures, Batman:The Animated Series, and, yes, Ren and Stimpy. It deserves a closer look!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
I loved this cartoon when I was a kid,it's a shame they don't make cartoons like this anymore.
Marcus Geebs31 March 2012
this show is a classic, and gives animation fans insight into the development of the cartoon network signature style of animations. This show doesn't really have much of a plot it's about these two idiot dogs named little dog and big dog,the little dog afraid of cats. they go on a lot of crazy adventures and get into a lot of terrible but funny situations that will have you laughing. Not only that, this show also features back up segments of super secret squirrel and his slightly dumb partner Morocco mole as they stop criminals.Kids today might not find this cartoon watchable but if you were a kid in the 90's you would find it watchable. This cartoon is for kids of any age, I miss this show dearly.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Too Stupid!
wishkah722 January 2000
The Simpsons, Ren and Stimpy, and Beavis and Butthead started a lot of "gross-you-out" cartoon ingenuity. Like those cartoons, this one was just as lame! We have two moronic dogs, one's big and one's little (kinda obvious and totally overused) and they get into the most far-out and ribald situations!

A friend of mine who was into vulgar cartoons suggested this one to me. And I must say it's just as stupid and ridiculous as The Simpsons and all that other low-brow ribald humor that's been so popular movies, sit-coms, and cartoons in the nineties! And that's why we have shows like South Park and the whatnot!

2 Stupid Dogs and all the other cartoons just like it aren't even for kids to watch! This is only good for those who are into cartoons that are vulgar.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Title For This Cartoon Couldn't Be Anymore Fitting
dee.reid28 October 2001
Yep. The title sums up everything about this cartoon in three words.

The story for this cartoon is basically about two lame-brained canines who get into all kinds of stupid sh**. This includes literally scaring a cat stiff, trying to figure out how to open an automatic door, and finding the "perfect owners" which I mean a Brady Bunch-like family of morons with the most bizarre set of morals I've ever seen for a cartoon family.

This show really is stupid but not in a good way. The plot lines for each cartoon, if you can even call them plot lines, are really dumb and obviously not much thought had gone into them. The jokes are incredibly stupid, even for a cartoon of this nature. If the stupidity of the dogs isn't enough, we get to see a modernized version of Secret Squirrel about half-way through the show which is equally annoying.

You definitely do not want to watch this show while you're eating either. I mean in the Brady Bunch family episode, the father's finger catches on fire and he calls on the butler to hawk a loogy onto his finger to put it out. That's just disgusting.

This cartoon gets zero stars.
1 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Adictive short ran cartoon for all ages.
emasterslake23 January 2007
I remember this cartoon as far back as I could remember.

It's about 2 homeless dogs who don't have their own given names. So throughout the series they're known as the "Big & Little Dog". Their both Stupid in any level of achievements. Every episode would have them travel a lot, discover something new, experiment something they don't know, or they'd just do something that's so stupid, no one would be stupid enough to attempt in real life.

The Big Dog is a slow talker, heavy sleeper, mailman admirer, cat scarer, and has more IQ than his friend.

The Little Dog is a ball lover, afraid of cats, fast talker, and the leading dog of the duo.

They may not be great thinkers, but they do know who to entertain or have fun with one another.

Also there's the partnered "Secret Squirrel" shorts that are shown in the middle of the line of the 2 episodes of the show. Based off of an older Hanna-Barbara cartoon, only with more animals in it(I didn't know it was till years later). Which revolves over a secret agent squirrel and his Moroccan mole who battle crime together.

Despite it sometimes having weird plots and some rather interesting characters, "2 Stupid Dogs" is a perfect and humorous example of the Hanna-Barbara cartoons of the 90s before it went to an official end in the early 2000's. This is one of the few cartoons, which I think deserves a remake/come back. That'll probably never happen but I can imagine it, can't I? There's nothing too offending about the cartoon, it just has cruel humor in it is all.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I want the toilet seat!!
operaghost18812 June 2005
2 stupid dogs is one of the funniest cartoons on earth!! My favorite one is the battle over the toilet seat that the little dog finds. If you get the BOomerang Channel it's on at 7am 5:30pm and I believe again at 12:30am . Best of all no commercials!! I have been hoping and praying this comes on DVD at some point so I can get them and warp my nephew with them. When it first came out in my senior year of college, my friend and I did a website called "2 stupid Goths." He was small skinny and Hyper I'm six foot six 245lbs and rather quiet. The site is long since gone but I remember how much energy we put into it to keep the spirit of the show. We had a coffin logo instead of the hydrant one and we had a friend break out his synthesizer and do the theme music on a pipe organ. i was elated when I turned on Boomerang one morning, and there they were in all of the idiocy.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Title Couldn't Be Anymore Fitting
dee.reid26 October 2001
Yes. The shows title says it all about this stupid excuse for a cartoon. All I can really say about it is that it's about two lame-brained dogs who get into all kinds of stupid sh*t including literally scaring a cat stiff, trying to figure out how to open an automatic door and finding the "perfect owners" by which I mean a family of morons with strangest set of morals I've ever seen. If watching these two dogs wasn't enough, we get to see a 10-minute modernized version of "Secret Squirrel" at about half-way through the show which is just as stupid as "2 Stupid Dogs" but is consequently (oh, God) less annoying. I'm sorry, but just watching this show is a total insult to the intelligence.

Much more adult-oriented cartoons like "Ren & Stimpy" and "Rocko's Modern Life" ARE TEN times better than this crap. Cartoon Network along with Nickelodeon, are going down the same spiraling decent into idiocy with cartoons that I'm surprised are even making it off of the drawing board. I used to love these two television networks, but since 1996 they have just gotten so stupid. The so called "geniuses" behind these cartoons should just stop while they can while everyone in this country still has a brain.
0 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews