Guncrazy (1992) Poster

(1992)

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Pen pal from Chino
jotix10016 May 2005
We thought this film was a remake of the much better film noir of the same title, or as it's known in this forum, "Deadly is the Female", a 1949 Joseph Lewis' film with a screen play by MacKinlay Kantor. But no, this is another film altogether using the same title as the other one. As directed by Tamra Davis, with the screen treatment by Matthew Bright, this is a film that tries to deliver, but in the end, it's predictable, as we know the mistakes of the couple at the center of the story would work against them.

Anita Minteer seems to be a loner. We watch her in school, where she is not a popular girl in any shape, or form. Some of the pot heads from her school take her for a ride in which two end up having sex with her. Anita has been left to fend for herself by her absent mother, who has gone to Fresno to make some money and ultimately have Anita come live with her. Anita is being sexually abused by her mother's good for nothing boyfriend. The girl loves to learn how to use guns, and Rooney, who wants to keeps her, complies. A sad mistake! Her love for guns will ultimately be her downfall and that of the only person that really loved her.

At school, Anita, and her class, have been asked to find a pen pal, as part of a project. She finds one, but unfortunately, Howard, who writes to her, is in jail. Anita finds a kind garage owner, who is also the head of a weird congregation, to vouch for Howard, who is paroled and comes to work in the town. Howard, is a man who has had no luck, either with women, or in anything else. It's sort of inevitable Anita and Howard fall in love and are married by the minister. Fate is against this duo; in a series of events, Howard will go back to his old ways when forced to do so. We realize there's no way out for this doomed man, or for Anita.

The film doesn't disappoint thanks to the charismatic Drew Barrymore playing Anita. This is a girl too wise for her own good. James Legros, is as always, an interesting actor to watch. His take on Howard, is right. In supporting roles, Joe Dallesandro plays Anita mother's boyfriend, a creep that takes advantage of the situation. Michael Ironside is also seen as Howard's parole officer and Ione Skye plays his daughter, Anita's rebellious friend.

Tamra Davis directs with an eye for detail. This film will not disappoint to crime film fans.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
talking trash
t-mieczkowski30 October 2005
Drew is the focus of this feature; for how old she was during the making of this film [15? 16?] she doesn't really disappoint. Her pouty beauty is on ample display in this film. That said, in a couple more years, I think she would have fit more into this role. I wasn't surprised that it was a Matthew Bright script; this has much in common with his later directorial/scripted work "Freeway" in terms of character development. (I feel Bright is an outstanding B-film auteur). Tamra Davis blew some important scenes that could have went another way, but she made up with this with some pretty inspired casting for some of the supporting roles. Ironside, Drago... and I don't remember the sleazy guy who played Drew's mother's boyfriend... but they were all in high style and rare form. You can't beat these guys when they're hitting their cues. LeGros certainly didn't embarrass himself and carved another good portrayal (this guy is a great actor!). For a film that seems to be now so cheap that it's practically in the public domain ($1 DVDs at WalMart and such...) .. I'm surprised this hasn't gotten more recognition, and I'd be sad if it was written off as badly by the producers as I assume it has been to be in such disarray marketing-wise.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Guncrazy
Scarecrow-8819 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I guess one could look at the Matthew Bright scripted, Tamra Davis directed Guncrazy as an updated-to-the-90's modern day Bonnie and Clyde where two down-on-their-luck youths(twenty-something LeGros, minor Barrymore), whose lives were disheveled by broken homes or troubled upbringing, form a fateful union where guns fall into their hands with crime certain to follow. LeGros, recently converted to Christianity while in prison on a murder charge, becomes pen pals to teenage Drew Barrymore(..it was a high school assignment to find a pen pal) whose mom ran out on her, and who is currently living with a loathsome lout once linked to mama.

I think the brilliance of Bright's script is how he builds to the ultimate crescendo of violence which erupts at the end, showing through a series of circumstances which tragically befall them(..two high school cretins who will not listen to LeGros who demands for them to leave the premises, and how they're unwilling to listen due to their desire to proposition Barrymore, Barrymore's murder of her mother's lover after he rapes her, the resistance against parole officer Michael Ironside's demand for LeGros to return to jail until he can be moved elsewhere resulting in the murder of a cop, failed burglary at a bar, the inability to find Barrymore's mother in Fresno), that they were doomed to suffer an inevitable fate.

They're very much victims of circumstance, a domino-effect-spiral culminating, bit by bit, until faced with a laundry list of criminal activities which follow one mistake upon another. What I admired about this particular film was the casting for the couple on the lam. Barrymore is adorable as a conflicted teenager, with a reputation for spreading her legs for many of the local boys, considered little more than trailer trash. She's without parental guidance or love, and LeGros fulfills these longings she has never known, he himself on the mend and hoping to find his place. Unlike the usual role of a recently released ex-con attempting to go straight, LeGros is handsome, modest, relatively pleasant and easy-going, not demanding anything of Barrymore but her love. He's not a monster, really, and quite vulnerable. He's also a virgin and impotent..which kind of adds a dynamic to his relationship to Barrymore for she's always been used for little more than sexual purposes. Joe Dallesandro has a very unflattering role as Barrymore's scum-bucket "father figure", a drunk pedophile who takes advantage of her(..and probably has perhaps contributed to why Barrymore is rather skewed in regards to her overview of men / boys;this has probably been occurring since Barrymore was a child), providing her with guidance in how to fire a gun properly.

Guncrazy can probably be viewed as a precursor to Bright's wicked, acid-tongued Freeway, known as his masterpiece. As is evident in this film, Bright seems drawn to "derelicts to society", the undesirables who seem to eventually fall through the cracks and into a life of crime. The amusing aspect to me in this film is just how poor LeGros and Barrymore are as criminals..the bar scene a particular highlight in how the victims are able to guilt the duo into returning their cash! Good use of California locations and the cinematography is at times inventive while also capturing / casting certain areas in a rather unsavory light due to the characters focused on(..impoverished rural places outside cities and certain areas of urban squalor)such as Billy Drago(..another in his many customary weirdo roles)as a mechanic / preacher who gives LeGros a job, room, and board. Ironside has the role of a slightly contemptible parole officer, a bigot(..towards "white trash", characters Bright seems to embrace)who doesn't like the idea of his daughter(Ione Skye)hanging around with Barrymore, and doesn't trust LeGros. I really was drawn to the off-beat nature of the film and how it cares for it's leads..I mean, despite their faults, they tried to carve out a decent life for themselves, allowing their impulses to ruin any chance of co-existing in a harsh world.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sex Pistols Part II
hitchcockthelegend22 May 2016
Guncrazy is directed by Tamra Davis and written by Matthew Bright. It stars Drew Barrymore, James Legros, Ione Skye, Michael Ironside, Joe Dallesandro and Billy Drago. Music is by Ed Tomney and cinematography by Lisa Rinzer.

"Love made them crazy. Guns made them outlaws!"

High schooler Anita Minteer (Barrymore) is abused at home and at school and by so called friends. Seeking some sort of solace, she befriends - via letters - a convict named Howard (Legros). When Howard is paroled, the pair hook up and quickly find a loving bond. A bond that also involves a passion for guns...

In spite of reports in some quarters, this is not a remake of Joseph H. Lewis' superb film noir of the same name (though the words gun and crazy are separated there) from 1950. Whilst it's also worth mentioning that it's not a knock-off of Bonnie and Clyde (outstanding and trailblazing pic for sure), because for that to be the case we would have to ignore the fact that Lewis' film, and the likes of They Live by Night (Nicolas Ray - 1948) , were not key influences and big movers in the lovers on the lam splinter of noir. It is of course, an amalgamation of said influences, and despite a relatively average rating on the big internet movie sites, this is a neo-noir well worth seeking out for those so inclined.

Students of classic era film noir can't but help to be pulled in by the many deviance's at work, themes involving sexual abuse, promiscuity, impotence, alienation, prostitution and foolish love, the latter pitching a classic noir character into a vortex from which they in all probability know they can't return from. It's not that Anita is a femme fatale, because she's so young and isn't written as a viper type, it's that her youthful ignorance, her teenage hormones tortured by a torrid upbringing, is enough for Howard to grasp onto as a semblance of normality. They are both fools, but honest with it, it's the classic romanticised dream going sour. Again, a classic film noir trait.

Visually there is much to recommend here. The use of slatted shadows and balustrade is cunning and nods appreciatively to influences past, the inference obviously that Howard may be out of prison, but he's still behind bars. Davis throws in a number of striking scenes, a camera shot looking out as a grave is dug, our lovers close and personal (sexy) as they shoot guns, and the finale has a sad grace that, "again," noir lovers can appreciate. Matthew Bright's screenplay also has black comedy elements, the script devious with Freudian smarts, while the cast turn in performances worthy of the form.

OK! So this formula has been done better before, and yes we want more of Ironside and Drago (wonderful characters), and this may have underwhelmed those after a gun crazy action thriller - while Barrymore fans back in the day may have been bemused - but it's a very smart and neatly constructed neo-noir. 7.5/10
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Drew Barrymore Draws and Showers
wes-connors3 January 2010
For a school project, promiscuous 15-year-old Drew Barrymore (as Anita Minteer) is instructed to find herself a pen pal. So, she begins writing to 24-year-old prison inmate James LeGros (as Howard Hickok), who is serving time for manslaughter. Through their correspondence, Ms. Barrymore falls in love with Mr. LeGros, and decides to stop having sex with the guys at school, like Rodney Harvey (as Tom) and Jeremy Davies (as Bill). Barrymore also becomes enamored with guns, and learns how to shoot, from absent mother's sexy boyfriend Joe Dallesandro (as Rooney). When Barrymore cuts him off, Mr. Dallesandro turns to rape.

Meanwhile, Barrymore is attempting to get LeGros out of jail, on parole, by convincing snake-charming preacher Billy Drago (as Hank Fulton) that the pistol-whipping prisoner has accepted Jesus Christ as his Lord and Savior. The parole board buys the ruse, and LeGros is good to go. Ironically, he is unable to satisfy Barrymore's sexual appetite. Still, the pair become close companions. Problems arise when Barrymore reveals a deadly secret to LeGros, and the young couple's "Guncrazy" tendencies boil over. Writer Matthew Bright's doomed characters simmer alongside director Tamra Davis' banister end. The cast is a future cult dream.

****** Guncrazy (5/92) Tamra Davis ~ Drew Barrymore, James LeGros, Billy Drago, Rodney Harvey
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Love Story of an Outcast Couple
claudio_carvalho31 May 2017
The sixteen year-old Anita Minteer (Drew Barrymore) lives in a trailer and is an easy high-school student abused since she was nine that has sex with different teenagers and men including her stepfather. When her school teacher assigns each student to find a pen pal to write, Anita contacts the prison inmate Howard (James LeGros), who is trying to regenerate. Anita is encouraged to learn how to use a revolver and when Howard is released on probation, she convinces her friend pastor Hank Fulton (Billy Drago) to give a chance to Howard in his repair shop. Meanwhile her stepfather rapes her and she uses her gun to kill him and hides his body. Howard is released and meets Anita and they immediately fall in love with each other. He also becomes friend of Anita's girlfriend Joy (Ione Skye), whose father Mr. Kincaid (Michael Ironside) is coincidently his parole officer. Mr. Kincaid is a cruel man that wants Joy to stay away from Anita and Howard. When he finds Joy in Anita's trailer with the couple, he frames Howard to put him back in jail, unleashing a wave of violence of Anita and Howard.

"Guncrazy" is the love story of the outcast Anita and Howard that have serious problems. Anita is an abused young woman and Howard is a criminal on probation with erection problem and together they try to build a new (dysfunctional) life. However their environment of violence does not give a chance to the couple that become a sort of young "Bonnie and Clyde". The flawed conclusion is predictable and poorly resolved. My vote is six.

Title (Brazil): "Guncrazy - Howard & Anita, Jovens Amantes" ("Guncrazy - Howard & Anita, Young Lovers")
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Decent juvenile delinquent pic
JohnSeal13 November 1999
A sterling cast and a reasonably well written script lift this tale of teenagers on the run from the law into 'above average' territory. James LeGros (also memorable in Drugstore Cowboy) plays a paroled convict trying to get his life in order. Drew Barrymore is a confused teen who loves guns, and Warhol alum Joe Dalessandro is the scumbag who abuses her. When Drew and James hookup (shortly after she's offed Joe!) complications ensue. Guncrazy is predictable but entertaining and doesn't pander to it's audience, and it's a damn sight better than Natural Born Killers.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Cable movie later released to theaters
moonspinner552 January 2005
Drew Barrymore plays a hick-town lass in denim who meets a struggling young ex-con determined to go legit (you know he's not going to last long--the close-ups of Barrymore's pretty, dangerous smile and gleaming eyes tell you that!). Director Tamra Davis isn't interested in copying old film-noirs (such as "Deadly is the Female"), yet her original set-up isn't very intriguing either. The drowsy material at the beginning with an over-aged Ione Skye doesn't work, and Davis takes a good hour to get the energy pumping. Finally, in its last third, "Guncrazy" starts feeling a little feverish and exciting, the action sequences far out-weighing the canned dramatics. Barrymore has a lovely presence on-screen, but she needs a much tougher director to guide her through the complexities of character, not someone like Davis whose grip on this material just isn't firm enough. ** from ****
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent early film!
crystalart29 June 2010
Long before Oliver Stone's 'Natural Born Killers', 'Guncrazy" explored the emotions of two young people caught up in a whirlpool of sex and violence they were hard-pressed to control.

Joe Dellasandro was in Andy Warhol's 'Dracula' and was physically attractive at that time. "Time wounds all heels!". Two bullets take care of him.

It's one of the few films that features Billy Drago where he's depicted as a "nice person". He's one of my favorite villains! Check out his filmography.

If you like 'Guncrazy', you will probably also like 'Badlands', an early Martin Sheen, Sissy Spacek, Warren Oates crime drama.

Enjoy!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Gotta love Drew
ferdmalenfant18 August 2020
This is a nice movie reminiscent of Bonnie and Clyde love. Lots of action, good script and great acting. Very much worth watching.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Love made them a little crazy
ThisIsNotHappening25 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I first saw Guncrazy a mere few days ago, not when it was originally aired on television. My first impression, just by looking at the cover of the DVD, was of your basic coming-of-age-movie, with the nice romantic story and twist of the lovers being gun-obsessed. I actually got more than I expected. Drew Barrymore breathed incredible life into the character of a teenager sexually abused by her guardian, and hated and bullied by her classmates. The disillusioned teen is under the impression that men are after one thing and one thing only, and couldn't possibly want her for anything else, aptly shown by a sequence of her handing herself over on a plate to two guys. For a project in her geography class, Barrymore's character Anita comes into contact with a convict by the name of Howard Hickock, and the two of them become intimate pen pals. On Howard being released from prison on parole, Anita gets him a job working with a local (slightly crazy) preacher, and he seems to be getting his life back on track. Anita and Howard fall more and more in love, and decide to marry. Obviously, this all goes horribly wrong the moment Anita confesses her big secret to Howard - she has killed her abusive guardian, and is hiding the body behind her trailer. This starts off a chain reaction of murders by Howard and Anita, leading them on the run across the country, in search of Anita's ever-absent mother. The final sequence was the most heartbreaking and beautiful in the whole movie. Anita and Howard break into the home of a woman they came across on their travels, who they know will be away, for safe shelter during the night. Inside, they watch family slide shows, wear expensive jewellery and clothes, and live like royalty - or, as Howard said, like "Nice people". The night seems perfect, and the couple seem at their happiest. It all turns horrible, with police catching up with the outlaws at the last minute. A slow-motion shoot-out between the cops and the lovers ends in tragedy, and will have tears welling up in your eyes. What made this movie great? The director doesn't start much action until about halfway into the movie, but the first half is just as enjoyable, as you watch the lover's relationship unfold and blossom. The second half sees their relationship mature, and it also sees Anita grow from naive teenager to young woman, and Howard grow more comfortable in their relationship. A coming-of-age movie indeed, and yet very, very different from what you will expect. An emotional journey, that spans lives and loves, and will stay with you long after the credits have rolled.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Worst Bonnie & Clyde ripoff ever
lastliberal26 July 2007
Drew Barrymore stars as a teenager who is left with mom's boyfriend (Joe Dalessandro) as she goes off to Fresno. He, and everybody else in town, is sexually abusing her. She hooks up with a pen pal from Chino (James LeGros), who like Clyde barrow just can't get it up. He can't do much else either as he is the worst thief I have ever seen.

She loves shooting guns, but isn't much of a thief either, giving a guys money back after he gives her a sob story about paying the rent.

Ione Sky plays her best friend, Joy, and does a good job. I always enjoy her and like to see more.

Too bad there was little action, and lousy dialog.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good Enough
Jewel-1619 June 1999
I just saw this movie the other night here in Sweden, and since i am a Drew Barrymore Fan, i thought this movie was good. Drew acted good and the storyline was interesting and kinda weird.It's worth seeing if you have nothing else to do or just want to see how Drew Barrymore looked when she was 17 (She's Pretty!!).
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
She can't help it that she is trashy.
michaelRokeefe12 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Anita Minteer(Drew Barrymore)is a teen that is frequently raped by her absentee mother's boyfriend Rooney(Joe Dallesandro). With a self-worth lacking, Anita is an easy target for the boys at school. Her trashy reputation is local common knowledge. A school assignment forces her to get a pen pal. That she does; forming an unhealthy relationship with a prisoner named Howard(James LeGos). She manages to get him an early parole with the aid of a snake worshiping preacher(Billy Drago). Anita has a penchant for guns; which is also Howard's weapon of choice. Criminal ways are hard to shake; but Anita is impressed that someone really loves her. Also in the cast: Michael Ironside, Ione Skye, Rodney Harvey and Dan Eisenstein. Ms. Barrymore is totally charming...even as white trash.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Drew movies—(1):Guncrazy (1992)
Cristi_Ciopron12 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
For me,'92-'93 were the best years of Drew's career.

In her tumultuous and infamously scandalous adolescence, Mrs. Barrymore was already a very funny and nice actress, and impressively attractive. So,she had several leading roles—and sometimes only supporting parts—in a series of very humble movies from the beginnings of the '90s. Some of these movies I enjoyed very much. They were made in a period that coincided with the rather brief revival of the American B movies in the early '90s—revival and flourishing that benefited from the screen abilities of persons like Drew, Tweed, E. Roberts, etc.. For a brief period, the B cinema in America seemed to set itself up for something. Needless to say that Drew looked very well—a fleshy girl with big jugs and more to show. Extremely sexy and arousing in a unpretentious way. On the other hand, it was easily, immediately noticeable that Drew was, as a young actress, very competent. She was always more than a body on display. The films she made offered her charms fully, used her judiciously, and this was a fine thing.

Some of her early films (well, early is relative if we speak about Drew, being given her extremely precocious screen debut) established her as a sex starlet. Those are, in fact, the Drew movies I have liked the most. On the other hand, these were roles of bad girls. But in other movies she was required to make nicer roles, more good—natured, if one can use such a term.

Drew brought a note of simplicity, charm, sincerity and naturalness that is delightful. I mean, of course, that roles that needed such a thing. Her part in Guncrazy (1992) needed these nice qualities.

I guess it was not a single trace of style or of art in those early Drew films from the '90s—but this is not the point. They were but patchwork, yet …. It was plenty of Drew—and this is something I could fully appreciate. Her screen presence was one of the most enjoyable. She also had some kind of natural ability to display in those roles of nippy, nimble bad girls and nymphs.

In Guncrazy (1992) we find some nodding acquaintances from the early '90s B cinema: people like Ironside, here as a noisome cop.

Guncrazy (1992) is interesting because it seems made by its very protagonists.

Drew's adolescent body and physical allure offered a spicy contrast between her homely plenteous shapes and some kind of paprika eroticism she was so good at displaying. This gave the piddling movies a certain pleasant picturesqueness.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Crazy is the Female
film-critic5 August 2005
I am always excited to see the darkness of cinema's past, but continually happy with its progress and evolution over the years. If the genre displayed in Guncrazy would have remained throughout the cinematic years, I think I would have had to choose a different hobby other than film. Here we have a very gritty, very disturbing film, which just never seems to leave the hangar. I continually felt that Guncrazy was this grounded plane never geared for takeoff, which was disappointing because several times it seemed as if it was ready for lift-off. Director Tamra Davis has her work cut out for her on this picture. It surprised me that the woman who brought us Billy Madison, Half-Baked, and Crossroads would dare dabble in a project like this … yet she did, and I don't think that she succeeded. Matthew Bright, the guy who brought us Freeway, has a very crafted story, but I believe that it is Davis' direction, coupled with disappointing acting that ultimately destroys this film.

Think about this for a minute. When you are directing a film of this caliber, you as a director need to realize that it is more than just a story about sexual teens and violence, but instead a haunting image of our world, culture, and society. As I watched this film, I couldn't help but see (and sometimes hear) Bright's angst-ridden voice about our society trying to come through, but it felt that Davis was pushing that aside in hopes to give Drew more screen time. We kept scratching on the surface of guns and violence, but never quite dug deep enough. There was so much that should have happened with this story, that Bright's words were completely ignored and left for Davis to butcher. I believe that if Bright would have manned this project, we may have seen stronger characters, deeper emotions and themes, all the while exposing truths about our society. These were elements that were lacking considerably in this film. While it is said that Davis tried to avoid making a remake of Crazy is the Female, I believe that the older film spoke more about society than this film did. Davis covered up truths and intelligence with overly clichéd shock moments coupled with silly, incoherent violence.

With Davis practically missing the mark behind the camera, this left nothing for the actors. Barrymore decently tries to fill the shoes of this innocent 17-year old that only wanted love and would do anything for it, but the lacking chemistry between her and LeGros overshadows her performance. I felt as if Davis could only afford a portion of LeGros for this film and most of the time he was replaced with a cardboard cut-out of himself. He gave no emotion to his character. I realize that he was to show how corrupt the world had been to him, but does that mean he cannot smile, frown, show fear, excitement, hatred, distrust, love, or any range of emotions that come with being an actor. LeGros hurt this film. Typically, I like his performances, but I don't think he was ready, nor did it seem that he really wanted this role. This hurt the foundation of the film. Here we have Barrymore giving a decent performance, but LeGros doesn't hold up his end of the bargain, which ultimately hurts any support that we have for our heroines.

While I sternly believe that Davis destroyed the overall tone of the film and LeGros' cardboard image impeded any connection with Barrymore, there were some scenes that I thought Bright exceptionally wrote into this film. My favorite scene in the entire film was when Anita and Howard were together at the house living a life that could never be theirs. It was so interesting to see these two victims of poverty living, breathing, and experiencing a physically imaginative world. Then, a pivotal changing moment in the film occurs and it really places this film into a different perspective. I wasn't expecting this type of change in the film, and it really showcased what Bright was trying to accomplish. Another scene that I enjoyed occurred right before this monumental scene, when Hank is just about to be arrested by his parole officer. He screams down the hall of the hospital, and all Anita responds with is, "What's he yellin' about now?" This shocked me because it completely tore down any barriers that I thought I already knew about Anita and Hank's relationship. Was there a level of comfortability settling in with the relationship? Interesting turn, which captured my attention. Sadly, the remaining scenes were just a flagrant disrespect to Bright's darkening talent.

Overall, I wasn't impressed with this film. I strongly suggest it to those who are big Matthew Bright fans, but we forewarned this is not as exceptional or as shocking as Freeway was. This was a film completely chastised by Tamra Davis and James LeGros. Barrymore decently carries herself, a la Reese Witherspoon in Freeway, but it just doesn't come together smoothly. The overall tone and elements are completely missing as Davis implements increasing scenes of shock value instead of stronger elements of society. It is difficult to watch, not because of what occurs in the film, but because of the lack of direction, acting, and overall momentum. The final result seems more like a cheaply tailored small tuxedo on a very large man. It covers the wrong spots. Skip it. You will live life happier.

Grade: ** out of *****
4 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An explosive B-movie rush of volatile teenage angst and escalating teen tantrums!
Weirdling_Wolf30 August 2020
I was, and ardently remain, nuclear-nutso for delicious dream girl, the diabolically hot desperado, Drew Barrymore in baby Badlands, bad-ass pot-boiler, 'Gun Crazy '(1992). An explosive B-movie rush of volatile teenage angst and escalating teen tantrums on a road-burning, rock n' roll rampage of sordid sex n' voluptuously venomous ultra-violence! Cult movie icon, Joe Dallesandro is on ferociously feral form as the wickedly sleazoid, down n' out, ethanol-soaked, filthy macaroni, sex-pest, Rooney! And the super sleek and sexy script by Mathew Bright is a stone groove, dude!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Proof is in the pudding pie
Mr Parker28 August 2002
Occasionally, I like stupid movies for stupid reasons. This happens to be one of them. Any movie that has someone eating a Hostess pudding pie (remember those?) in under two seconds gets at least two stars from me. The most memorable scene of the movie. Rating: ** out of *****.
3 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Just average - barely
KGitt4449820 July 2003
"Guncrazy" is a mediocre movie at best, unfortunately. However, if you want to see a 17-year old Drew in (yet again) sexual situations (none of which are good), then this is the movie for you.

It combines the "I married an ex-con", "I like guns", and "I'm a sexually troubled girl" plots into yet another movie.

Directed by Tamra Davis, who made at least one pretty good movie ("Skipped Parts"), so she is not totally without talent. The movie was written by Matthew Bright, who wrote "Freeway" a few years earlier, so he has talent as well. Included are Drew Barrymore, Ione Skye and a couple other notable names, however, they display no real talents here.

I guess the dialog is the weakest link, here. Some of it just sounds bad or out of place.

There are no extra features, but the DVD is available for about $7.99. You could do worse, but not by much.
3 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
When it come to Bonnie and Clyde, these two are wannabes!
GOWBTW25 October 2008
We all heard about the infamous duo of Bonnie and Clyde, in this movie Gun Crazy, the couple are a bunch of wannabes. Anita(Drew Barrymore) is a high school student who likes sex and guns. During a school assignment, she looks up in the paper ads, she contacts a a young man in prison. He is getting paroled, and he likes art. Anita lives in a trailer out in nowhere, where she does shooting practice with her steep-father who would rape her. So one day, she gets herself a gun and kills him while he's watching TV. The boyfriend, Howard(James Le Gros) and her get together, and the downward spiral begins. He kills the two young men who had sex with Anita, they robbed, tried to find the mother, and no luck. The duo tried their best to survive. Unlike Bonnie and Clyde, there was only one survivor, Anita. How's that? Unbelievable! This movie was rather cheap, tawdry, and nearly unpredictable. It needed a lot of improving, and more character to the story. I wanted more. 1.5 out of 5 stars!
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Simple
view_and_review6 July 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This was a bland, passionless, simple movie with simple people, a simple script and a simple ending. Even the title was simple: "Guncrazy." That's a title you come up with when you're fresh out of ideas because there was no more gun usage or gun violence in this movie than any other violent movie. In fact, by some standards, this would've been considered mild.

The way it started, with Anita (Drew Barrymore) easily and matter-of-factly having sex with the group of boys, I thought the movie was strange. Then, as I saw more of Anita's life and behavior, it seemed that the initial behavior fit. She's damaged, if not dumb, to the point where she believes sex is just something you give to guys who ask if you want them to like you or leave you alone. With that as a basis it looked like the movie could go somewhere.

It further trended in the right direction when she hooked up with the ex-con, Howard Hickock (Jame LeGros). He was the only decent man she'd come across and they hit it off immediately. Now, of course it's hard to know what their relationship truly was being that Anita was so emotionally immature.

Everything began going downhill once Anita's old tormentors came back into the picture. As the two newlyweds were disposing of a body, they were approached by Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum, two stupid high school boys who had badgered Anita into sex. Even though she was now with her new man they had no reservations about harassing her.

Howard, doing what almost any self-respecting husband would do, pulled a gun on them and told them to back off. Anita, not recognizing a simple threat when she sees one, jumped at Howard, bumping his arm thereby causing him to pull the trigger and killing one of the boys. Well, of course he has to kill the other boy.

The movie continued to devolve from there, finally ending in some asinine quasi-romantic shootout in which cops don't wear bulletproof vests when laying siege to a known killer. Howard was inevitably killed as a chivalrous act of martyrdom that was so empty and hollow--while Anita lived and was gently escorted out of their hole-up spot by Howard's parole officer, perennial bad guy, Michael Ironside.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
chemistry problem
SnoopyStyle13 May 2015
Anita Minteer (Drew Barrymore) is bored with high school. She lives in a trailer with her absentee mother's drunken boyfriend Rooney. She has sex with him as well as many of the boys at school. The teacher assigns the kids to be pen pals and she finds prisoner Howard (James Le Gros). After getting raped by Rooney, she kills him. Howard gets released from Chino. Anita convinces snake preacher and mechanic Hank Fulton (Billy Drago) to give him a job. Mr. Kincaid (Michael Ironside) is his parole officer. Kincaid's daughter Joy (Ione Skye) is Anita's best friend. Anita marries Howard and together fall into violence and mayhem.

This is an exploitation movie with gun, sex and violence. I have trouble with the star-crossed lovers. Their chemistry doesn't quite work. Their age difference is a big part of it. I think Howard should be more of a juvenile criminal. Howard is around the same age as Rooney and that annoyed me. I like Anita's explanation that Howard's letters gave her the confidence to stand up for herself. That is a great basis for their relationship. His age and James Le Gros' looks make them a problematic couple.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
girl needs love..gets sex.. gets love.gets him dead
lrc-1127 December 2007
amateurish dribble from beginning to end. drewsky pouts her way through a shameless parody of cissy spacek. calling martin sheen. the duologue could have been written by a high school wannabe and the story line is nothing short of embarrassing. snakes in the church.. you can only hope it was done for laughs though i doubt it. the most gratifying moment in the film was watching those two teenage excuses for actors getting blown away. a little more cringing might have helped. probably the most ridiculous scenes of the tortuous ninety three minutes. i'm embarrassed for the serious reviewers who have actually praised this mess. the only correct decision concerning this so-called film was burying it on Showtime.
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Confused
luvmenot200320045 July 2004
Warning: Spoilers
OK anyway Drew and James are two people in love right? So what really confuses me is at the end of the movie when they are in their hideout and the cops arrive James (Howard) is shot in the face then gets shot in the chest plenty of times then he falls down the steps and dies Drew (Anita) just runs down the steps and crys a cop helps her up (her friends dad) and walks her outside then I hear her say "He made me do it" I was like "What?" I know she made a promise she would say that but if that was me and I was in love with someone that cute I would have shot myself on the spot I wouldn't have sat there and wasted time crying I wouldve shot myself knowing I could never live without him and thats what love is right? So this point in the movie really made me cry my eyes out seeing a really hot guy die and his lover says "He made me do it". This movie is a tear jerker. I would rate it *** out of *****.
0 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed