Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (1991) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
342 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
"Because it's dull, you twit, it'll hurt more!"
Imprimis1 May 2003
Two reasons to watch this film:

1) Alan Rickman

2) Robin and Marian falling into each other's arms, oh so dramatic, and he says in a very guttural/passionate Kevin Costner way, "I would die for you." Almost as good as Kevin Kline in "French Kiss," when he runs up to Meg Ryan in the hotel and says "I want you..." giving this little hand gesture which makes it obvious to everyone except Kate that Luc has surrendered to her charms.

In conclusion: a terrifically unerring cheesy romantic drama/comedy, with a hint of Christian Slater bad boy and a dash of Morgan Freeman cool. If you've still got the thirteen year old girl within, give it a shot. If not, Alan Rickman's still awesome.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Possibly the best Robin Hood movie ever made
Smells_Like_Cheese18 November 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves is a movie that I've watched since I was a little girl and I still to this day absolutely adore it. Now granted I know that there was a few flaws with this film as I grew up and noticed that maybe Kevin Costner's accent wasn't so British or Christian Slater's. But if we all always complained about accents, I think we wouldn't enjoy movies as much. I love Robin Hood because it has action, adventure, romance, horror, magic, everything you can imagine is in this film. Not to mention that I think we got pretty darn good performances. My personal favorite is out of Alan Rickman as the Sheriff of Nottingham, he is absolutely hilarious and a terrific villain. This is my favorite Robin Hood story of all time.

Robin of Locksley, an English nobleman, is captured and jailed in a dungeon in Jerusalem along with his comrade, Peter. With their execution inevitable, Robin engineers an escape, saving the life of a Moor, Azeem in the process; Peter dies in the attempt and has Robin swear to protect his sister Marian. Robin makes the long journey back to England with Azeem, who claims he must accompany Robin until the debt of saving his life is repaid. In England, with King Richard I gone, the cruel Sheriff of Nottingham rules over the land with fear, aided by his brute cousin, Guy of Gisbourne along with the precognitive evil witch, Mortianna , and the corrupt Bishop of Hereford. At Locksley castle, Robin's kind father Lord Locksley has been killed by the Sheriff's men, after refusing to join them for the Sheriff's unknown but treacherous scheme. Robin and Azeem arrive to find Robin's formerly luxurious abode of Locksley Castle destroyed and his father, murdered. Lord Locksley's loyal servant, Duncan, has survived, though his eyes were removed. With his lands and reputation gone Robin swears to avenge his father's murder. Robin then begins by seeking out, Maid Marian, the cousin of the king and his childhood friend. He is immediately attracted to Marian, although she does not return the feelings, which poses a problem because Nottingham also has his sights set on her. While Robin, Azeem and Duncan escape the revenge seeking Gisboune and his soldiers, they seek shelter in the Forest of Sherwood, where they come across Little John, and a large group of woodsmen, all of whom were outlawed through the tyranny of the Sheriff. After proving his skill in single combat, Robin is accepted into their group and eventually becomes their leader, though Will Scarlet, one of Robin's men, is constantly undermining his leadership. Robin encourages his men to fight back against Nottingham and begins to train them to defend themselves while they build weapons and homes in the forest, it's their time "to take it back".

If you haven't seen Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves I highly recommend that you do, honestly I don't know why anyone would not enjoy this film just a little bit. Like I said, it has everything to make a film great. My favorite scene, hard to choose from so many, is the ending battle scene where they discover that Robin Hood is alive and he is there at the castle to save his beloved Marian, it's a great scene that keeps you on the edge of your seat. So please just get past the accents, give this movie a chance, it's a terrific story and a wonderful movie that I will still watch and probably will even more so as I grow older. Besides I have to just to see Alan Rickman threaten Robin Hood with a spoon, lol, greatest threat ever.

10/10
122 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Entertaining, despite it all
reporterman200019 August 2003
The summer of 1991 was a lousy one for movies; there were only a few that stood out amid dozens of crummy releases. The only movies that summer that I admired were 'Terminator 2,' 'Thelma & Louise,' and this one, which still stands as one of the most entertaining action-adventure movies I've seen.

No, it isn't a masterpiece, on any level. Yes, I realize that Kevin Costner lacks a satisfactory British accent (he doesn't even attempt one). But the movie is still a fun, rip-roaring piece of escapism, sort of like 'Raiders of the Lost Ark,' only without the special effects.

Costner may seem miscast as Robin of Locksley, but there's no doubt that he had the physicality and screen presence to convincingly hold our attention as a larger-than-life hero. He'd just come off 'Dances With Wolves,' and so it was a thrill to see him on horseback again (it still is, in 'Open Range'). I'm willing to concede that he's no Olivier, but in the action hero mold, he still cut an exciting figure.

I also enjoyed Alan Rickman's great, over-the-top portrayal of the Sheriff of Nottingham. Out of place? You betcha. Fun? Funny? Wicked? Hey, that's why we pay admission.

The sets are all dank and gloomy and wonderful. The action is well-staged and had audiences on their feet all those years ago. Sherwood Forest is appropriately dense and spooky-looking. OK, so the movie has Christian Slater in it. I didn't say it was perfect.

'Robin Hood' marked the beginning of the end of Kevin Costner's unanimous popularity with audiences. Everyone started playing the part of Hollywood bean-counter and worrying about 'Waterworld's' budget. But you know what I like about both these movies? No CGI. I am sick and tired of CGI movies. Popping the deluxe 'Robin Hood' DVD into the old player is a refreshing treat and a thumb in the eye of digital junk like 'Pirates of the Caribbean.'
117 out of 152 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Exhilarating Adventure
scarlet caulfield26 February 2002
I have seen Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves so many times and yet it still thrills me the 100th time as much as it did the first. I just can't ever get enough of this near perfect adventure film.

I've always cherished films set in medieval times. There's just something about the plights of the oppressed class and the simple heroics of the man who steps forward to fight for honor and better lives for the dismal. Then there are the luxuriant castles, the dashing sword fights, the extravagant costumes, the tragically beautiful princess he's destined to fall in love with, and the evil power-hungry villain who will stop at nothing to be King.

OK, it's a bit of a cliché, but this formula makes for the perfect escapist film and one thrilling and emotional ride. No, it isn't original, but it's just got everything you'd ever want from a film.

The story of Robin Hood has been done so many times, and (unlike most of his other roles) Kevin Costner is not only believable, but actually quite good this time (well, except for the accent, but nobody's perfect).

Alan Rickman is just flawlessly devious as the Sheriff of Nottingham. Nobody could have done it better, and he also had the best lines ("Because it's dull, it'll hurt more!")

This was sadly Kevin Costner's last great film, as he went on to star in such duds as Waterworld and the dismal The Postman. Christian Slater, Morgan Freeman, Sean Connery, and especially Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio give their all, creating a truly emotional and powerful film. I don't understand why the ratings are so low.

The ending is just beautiful. I boo at the sheriff, cheer for Robin, and cry during Robin and Marian's post-sword fight embrace every time, and you will too if you ignore the cynics and give this adventure a chance.

9/10
94 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great entertainment.....
Estella27 February 2000
Wow, this film seems to have annoyed some people. What a fuss about it being historically inaccurate, or that Azeem found the Chinease invention of gunpowder etc etc. WHO CARES! Don't nit pick at a film like this and you'll enjoy it. As for Kevin Costner not having an English accent, I don't really care, since it's a lot better then the other Robin Hood movie that was made in England, and was unlucky enough to be released at the same time. (I think it was simply called 'Robin Hood') OK,so Robin Hood IS supposed to be English, and yeah, Kev Costner could at least have tried an English accent, but if we're going to go that far, then they may as well have got an English actor instead of an American one, but somehow, I don't think Costner could have been bettered. He makes an excellent Robin Hood. Alan Rickman is brilliant as the hilarious Sherrif of Nottingham ('Shut up you TWIT!')It's great fun, and one of those film to watch with your feet up and a big bar of chocolate.....
67 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Swashbuckling Medieval Adventure at its Finest...
Chiron19877 July 1999
Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves was one of the best films of 1991, a triumph even over the special effects hype of Terminator 2: Judgement Day.

Despite the critics' complete and utter distaste for the film, I found it fun, well-acted, and fast-paced. Great performances abound including Morgan Freeman as the Moorish warrior Azeem, Alan Rickman as the hysterical Sheriff of Nottingham, and Kevin Costner as our stalwart Robin of Locksley.

There are great action sequences including the battle against the hired Celts and Nottingham's soldiers and the final confrontation at the climax of the film.

Finally, don't be put off by Costner's lack of an English dialect. It doesn't hurt the film at all, and is just something critics were instantly attracted to, as it is their job to find faults.

Highly recommended.
88 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Modern version with certain revisionism but with load of action and romance
ma-cortes1 November 2005
The legendary Sherwood forest's hero Robin Locksly (Kevin Kostner) again and Lady Mariam (Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio) along with a Moor (Morgan Freeman) and his Merrie men : Will Scarlett (Christian Slater), Friar Tuck and Little John facing off a wicked Sheriff of Nottingham (Alan Rickman) and Guy Gisbourne (Michael Wincott). The story is indirectly based on historic events and developed during third Crusade , Robin is imprisoned and is serving under orders of Richard Lion Heart (Sean Connery) who fights against Saladin and conquers Acre . In route England Richard was captured by Leopold II of Austria and ransomed by his own subjects . He briefly returned England to put down a revolt against him , his brother John without Land takes over the kingdom with his underlings Sheriff of Nottingham (Alan Rickman) and Guy Gisbourne (Michael Wincott). One time evaded Robin and returned to England he'll confront against the former .

The movie has great action sequences well staged with stylish and vitality , tongue-in-cheek , adventures , romance and is pretty amusing . Although is a little revisionist about characters , personages and time where is developed the action in a dirty , gritty Middle Age, spectators partially disapproved the changes of classic canon . Seven years later to ¨Fandango¨ film , director Kevin Reynolds and Kevin Costner re-teamed but with much bigger budget . The final product looked as although the actors learn the screenplay and decided the best issue was to take a good time and amuse themselves and both managed to stage some excellent action scenes , hopefully without coming to blows themselves . Kevin Costner is fine but Morgan Freeman comes up the film as the civilized and naive Moor brought by Robin from Crusades . Special mention to Alan Rickman as an evil and crazed sheriff in a comic and sensationalistic interpretation . Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio is memorable and attractive . Impeccable cinematography by Douglas Milsone . Movie is shot on natural sets and English woods and cathedral and interior scenarios with impressive production design . Magnificent and spectacular musical score by Michael Kamen . The song ¨every thing I do it for you ¨ was nominated for Academy Award . The same year was exhibited ¨Robin Hood¨ by John Irvin with Patrick Bergin and Uma Thurman but was a flop though the critics considered a best adaptation . The classic rendition is ¨The adventures of Robin Hood¨ by Michael Curtiz with Errol Flynn and Olivia de Havilland.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love it
katesibly12 August 2018
Absolutely love it!!! Could watch it again and again
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
High camp deep in the forest.
leotard2217 April 2006
Although i turned my nose up at this film when first watched fifteen years ago, a second appraisal and a few grey hairs later forces me to see it for what it truly is; a great swashbuckling comedy romp.

As the pace built, my unease at the somewhat incongruous accents dissipated and i was left to enjoy a great film with some fine performances. Notably from Michael McShane as Friar Tuck and Alan Rickman as the evilly comic Sheriff of Nottingham.

The pace of the film rarely slackens, building up to a rip roaring finish.

Enjoy.
51 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Enjoyable, old-fashioned swashbuckler with occasional misjudgements.
barnabyrudge10 December 2003
Robin Hood:Prince Of Thieves is an all-star rehash of one of cinema's oldest and most popular stories. Kevin Costner takes the title role and proves to be handsome enough and swashbuckling enough to do justice to the role during the action scenes. However, during the film's quieter moments, Costner's American accent grates a little amid the Sherwood Forest surroundings.

The story doesn't particularly need explaining, but for people who have lived on Mars for their whole lives here it is. Robin of Locksley, a young soldier, returns from the Crusades to find the city of Nottingham and its surrounding area terrorised by the evil Sherrif of Nottingham (Alan Rickman). Robin takes refuge in the nearby Sherwood Forest, where he gathers a band of woodland outlaws who are always stealing money and treasure taken by the Sherrif and giving it back to the poor. His dashing antics impress Maid Marian (Mary Elisabeth Mastrantonio), a childhood friend, and he quickly becomes popular with the poor and honest folk who nickname him Robin Hood - Prince of Thieves.

The film is very old-fashioned, but it occasionally gives away its 1991 release status with modern touches (the fancy camera-work in which the camera is seemingly fixed upon an arrow as it is fired at a target; the introduction of a Moorish warrior character [Morgan Freeman] to broaden the film's cultural reference; Rickman's self-deprecating pantomimic turn as the wicked Sherrif). On the whole, it is an entertaining film with a good balance between the action and the romance. The best performance - surprisingly - comes from Michael Wincott who oozes menace as the Sherrif's despicable cousin Guy of Gisbourne. There are some quite significant factual errors, the best (by "best" I mean "funniest") of which is when Robin and his Moorish companion stand at the foot of the white cliffs of Dover and Robin tells him: "by nightfall we will dine with my father!" Quite a feat, since Nottinghamshire is about 200 miles away and this pair are travelling on foot!
49 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The right mix of adventure, humor, and romance...
Nazi_Fighter_David7 December 2003
Warning: Spoilers
Eight hundred years ago, Richard the Lionheart led the third Great Crusade to reclaim the Holy Land from the Turks... Most of the young English noblemen who flocked to his banner never returned home... The film opens near Jerusalem in a terrible dungeon where Robin of Locksley is about to show the 'English' courage...

Locksley manages to escape with a fellow prisoner, a Moor called Azeem, and flees home to England...

On his arrival to Britain, the prodigal son finds dark forces plotting against his absent king... His father has been slain and his lands confiscated by the evil Sheriff of Nottingham...

To evade Gisborn's soldiers, Locksley heads off to the supposedly haunted Sherwood Forest, where he takes his chance with ghosts, and where he is accosted by a band of outlaws...

Like Burt Lancaster in 'The Flame and the Arrow,' Costner tries to lead the woodsmen in a revolt against injustice and tyranny, but misses the youthful exuberance and passion of Dardo...

Costner looks handsome as the legendary Prince of Thieves who must use his mastery of archery, siege warfare, and combat strategy to rescue his beloved damsel...

Morgan Freeman looks great as Azeem, the wizard with uncommon clarity of mind, who vows to repay Robin for saving his life... His knowledge of science is a surprising blow...

Mary Elizabeth Manstrantonio is Robin's beautiful and clever companion whose love for the arrogant young nobleman led her to see him taking her advice in Sherwood Forest...

Alan Rickman fluctuates between being a comic buffoon and a dangerous madman... He plays the Sheriff of Nottingham who has no limit to his ambitions...

Christian Slater is the hot tempered 'turncoat' with enough reason to hate Robin than any one else...

Geraldine McEwan is the ugly witch who saw the 'painted man' haunting her dreams...

Michael McShane is the natural charisma who would not strike a fellowman of the cloth... In fact he will help him pack for his journey with lots of gold...

Michael Wincott is the Sheriff's nefarious cousin who justifies his intrusion with news of profound value: 'I met a hooded man today who made me warn you not to harm his people.'

Nick Brimble is the best man of the woods who challenges Robin for his sacred gold medallion...

Walter Sparrow is the loyal servant to the Locksleys who has lost his vision by the Sheriff's own cruelty...

Harold Innocent is the corrupt churchman who accuses innocent men of witchcraft and let them die...

There are beautiful, breathtaking, and amusing scenes: Robin's father, dressed in his black battle armor on top his black stallion, preparing to battle the 'men in masks'; sweeping shots of the English countryside as Robin and Azeem escape Sir Guy of Gisborn and his soldiers; the bout with quarterstaves across a stream; plenty of flaming arrows flowing through the greenwood along with some exciting fighting; and like Burt Lancaster in "The Flame and the Arrow," who pauses in the middle of a frantic battle to plant a kiss on a kitchen maid, Alan Rickman plants his kiss on Maid Marian in the middle of his frantic duel with Costner...

The majestic cameo (one of the best in epic movies) at the end of the film by a great, iconic figure, makes the movie just the right mix of adventure, humor, and romance...
32 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A silly but nevertheless prominent product of its era
Semisonic25 April 2015
The first time i saw this movie was in early 90's, not so long after the release. It was a time of video salons, so my parents rented a crappy pirated VHS copy of this film with a single-voice semi-amateur dubbing. As far as i can remember, the quality of the video and sound was all but horrible.

But i was around 10, and it meant absolutely nothing to me. After all, at that moment it seemed that i was watching the greatest movie of all time. Because it's an adventure, and not some random one but about Robin Hood! And it has magic, people in cool costumes, sword fighting, bow shooting and, the best of all, the tree houses. And not just a few of them, but a whole village on trees. Accompanied by a happy ending and a song they made so much fuss about on TV, this movie had everything that a pre-adolescent boy could've wished for.

Now, two decades later, i got a chance to re-watch Robin Hood. Except for the technical quality of the media - now the video and sound were their best - and the English language track this time, the movie had no changes. One thing that really changed was me. I'm no longer a 10-year old boy, and it implies a completely different viewing angle and perception.

The first thing i must say is that, being a boy, i hardly realized how silly this movie is. From the scene with people getting out of a manhole in the sandy street of medieval Jerusalem - yeah, a manhole in the sand, i kid you not! - it was clear that no historical accuracy or at least logical consistency is to be expected from this film. But there was still hope for it, since one doesn't need to be historically accurate or logical to be a great adventure, and the best proof is the Indiana Jones films.

Unfortunately, Robin Hood is no Indiana Jones. And definitely not because the topic it's based on is inferior, for it's not. This film had all the potential to be the landmark of its time and one of the best adventure movies of, if not all time then, at least, the 90's. But a few director's choices wasted this opportunity.

First of all, the film is too thin for its length. For your information, Robin Hood goes for more than two and a half hours. Yet for this huge screen time, we get to see not nearly enough of "robinhooding" itself. With lots of not so necessary and slow paced scenes like sheriff's hoodlums burning peasant villages or the sheriff himself running around his castle and throwing hissy fits, you might wish for a bigger lot of cool action moments. Yet there are only a handful of those throughout the whole movie.

Another thing that kinda spoils the enjoyment is the overused comedic angle. Indeed, there must be some comedy in adventure, otherwise it would turn itself into drama. But in Robin Hood there clearly was too much of it. Mostly due to the Alan Rickman's character of the sheriff. I mean, we all know that he's a great actor and can play super vicious villains like Hans Gruber. Yet in this film all he could do is buffoon around, scream nonsense and make preposterous faces. Even out of his own death he made a clown's performance. And since he's the main opposing force in the movie, it kinda undermines the value of the confrontation and transforms adventure into visiting a spooky room attraction in an amusement park: it may look scary sometimes, but you are simply 100% sure that all is gonna be okay.

Yet, with all these flaws, Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves still leaves a pleasant aftertaste. Maybe because it's a movie of my childhood, and although it doesn't live up to the impression it made back then, it's still nice to see something that you loved when you were a kid. Maybe because of the whole nostalgia about 90's that it brings, seeing all these actors so young again. After all, it's not everyday that you get to see a movie with Morgan Freeman playing an action role and swinging a giant crooked sword.

All in all, Robin Hood may be not the best adventure film of all time. But its flaws are not unique to it, they are pertinent to the way filmmaking was back then. So while the current generation will hardly rave about it, it'll never lose its appeal and historical value as one of the most notable adventure movies of the late 80's and early 90's. So, if you haven't watched it yet - give this film a try. Maybe you won't fall in love with it, but a certain degree of enjoyment is guaranteed.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Most Fun Medeval film ever done
TexasRedge17 April 2002
I've seen several Medeval era films, but none of them are as fun to watch as Robin Hood-Prince of Thieves. This is one of thoser enjoyable movies that you are going to watch over and over. Okay, I'll admit that this movie is predictable. However its fun to watch even though you can figure out what is going to happen with the plot,after all who doesn't know the legend of Robin Hood anyway-Right! Lets face it- and Be honest, there are no surprises in the plot-you knew before you seen this film that he was going to steal from the rich and give to the poor, and he was going to be at war with the sherrif of Notingham. bit this film is just a fun joy-ride. the acting is just okay, and the costumes are over exageratted.- however this films gives you a good classic story, great stunts,very good action sequences, good specail effects,an excellent music score, and several scenes of comic relief. and its all packaged up as an action adventure that is Great Fun to watch. I own a copy of this film and I will watch it on average 2 or 3 times a year- this film never gets old to me. I recommend this film to any one between the ages of 8 years old to 80 years old - you're gonna love it.(If you liked this film also see a movie called "First Knight"-1995 an action adventure/love story about Sir. Lancelot of Camalot)I give Robin Hood-Prince of Thieves 5 out of 5 stars- A perfect film for your family, everyone in your household will love it-and so will you.
43 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Does the basics but nothing more and is dominated by Rickman as a result
bob the moo1 May 2006
Escaping death in Jerusalem, Robin of Locksley returns to his England home with Moor companion Azeem in tow. However he finds his home burnt to the ground, his father slandered and murdered and the poor marginalised to within an inch of their lives. Branded an outlaw by the evil Sheriff of Nottingham, Robin flees into Sherwood Forrest where he brings together a group of ragtag rebels "led" by a man called John Little. As his popularity grows, Robin becomes a massive thorn in the side of the Sheriff, forcing him to take harsher action.

Younger viewers coming to this film on television may not appreciate that this film was made at a time when the presence of Kevin Costner was a bonus and indeed almost a selling point. Yes, I know this sounds like crazy talk from an older man who has seen too many movies to be good for him but it is true and Robin Hood is a fine example of a so-so film that was built partly on his star power. Of course the downside of this is that the film itself is not that good because it has his and others' names to let it carry it. The plot is well known but rather annoyingly touched with modernisms and Americanisms to the detriment of the telling (whether this be the accents, the errors or just the attitude). This also contributes to the lack of depth in the film and generally, although it looks slick, it doesn't provide anything in the way of emotional engagement – despite the fact that it spawned the manipulative and saccharine Bryan Adams hit that seemed to taint everyone's wedding back in 1992.

The direction is glossy but it cannot get to the heart of anything and Reynolds also fails to get that much out of his cast. As a result Costner simply trades on his rather stiff charm, occasionally enjoying himself but generally taking the whole thing too seriously. Rickman effortlessly dominates the film by chewing the scenery in each and every scene – his colourful performance makes Costner (who can be good) look as stiff as a board. I've never seen the appeal of Mastrantonio at the best of times and this is not the best of times. She is dull and pretty poor all round. Freeman is a good face but is a modernisation too far. Slater is pointless although support from Wincott, Blessed, Brimble and a few others is good if not that great.

Overall then this is a rather joyless spectacle but one that is glossy enough to perhaps do the job for undemanding viewers. It isn't that much fun and the attempts at emotional engagement are mostly cloying and sentimental. The cast are mixed but the only one able to inject life into the rather stiff material is Rickman, who easily livens his scenes but cannot carry the film. Worth a look if you are in a undemanding mood but just don't expect anything more than the blockbuster basics.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Awesome
djfrost-467868 May 2018
I have seen this movie over 10 times. Years later it's still stands strong. It's an awesome movie that I WILL watch again.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Robin Hood Prince of Thieves
foxfiretlc2 March 2006
I loved this movie. It had drama and kept me in my seat when I saw it. Kevin Costner was wonderful in the role of Robin Hood. He has a way of keeping you interested in any movie he is in. The way this movie was shot showed a diversity of feeling and really made you think that they wanted to do the best job ever on showing everything from laughter to heartfelt sadness.

I hope that people who haven't seen this movie will really consider seeing it sometime. whether by buying the DVD or by renting the movie. It will be well worth it. I would rate this movie as one of the top ten movies that i have seen. You can't get much better that a good Kevin Costner movie and you can't get much better than a good drama.

I know that some people would not agree with this opinion but I'm pleased with what I saw in this movie.
24 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Alan Rickman shines. Shame about the rest of the film...
curtains27 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
(Contains one very mild spoiler.) This is a very difficult film to rate. Essentialy because it feels as if you are watching two different films.

The first stars Alan Rickman. It is brilliant, its funny, entertaining and captivating, mainly due to Alan Rickman himself.

The second is terrible. It involves Kevin Costner trampling all over one of the best loved characters of British folk lore. He comes across as rather lame overall, lacking the strength and emotional resonance that Robin Hood should have.

As much as I love siding with the antagonist as Alan Rickman often entices us to do, it simply shouldn't be that way in a Robin Hood film. Kevin Costner as Robin Hood comes across poorly on his own let alone juxtaposed with such a strong performance from Alan Rickman.

No Robin Hood film should ever be a film where you want the Sheriff of Nottingham to stab Robin Hood to death, preferably as Alan Rickman suggests with a spoon. Yet it is.

So yes, if you want to watch Alan Rickman in a great performance do watch this film. It is worth it in that respect. Just be prepared to put up with a poor performance from Kevin Costner.

This is not a good Robin Hood film, but it is a good Alan Rickman film.
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Bows in the Hood
cwbellor27 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Thieves starts out with some good old-fashioned Arab bashing as middle eastern dungeon masters compete to see who can collect the most hands in Crusades era Jerusalem. Shagamuffin Robin looks on with sadness as his prison pals get handicapped. But the Hoodrat manages to escape and in a twist of fate, we get the 48 Hours/Lethal Weapon factor as white teams up with black when Robin frees Morgan Freeman's Azeem. When Robin escapes and returns home with Azeem, he discovers that all is not well in the hood. Taxes are out of control, the economy has gone bottoms up, and crime is on the rise. Rob sees that the natural solution to all this is for the crime rate to go up even more and starts to raise some merry mayhem in Naughtyham.

But Hood's antics don't sit well with Alan Rickman's Sheriff. Turns out the Sheriff is a cannibal and he exclaims that he'd love nothing more than a spoonful of Robin's heart. Not only does the Sheriff wanna get all Temple o' Doom on Robin's ass, he also has a sherwoody for Robin's main squeeze, Maid Marion. And when he's not lusting after princesses, he's doing what any good politician does to gain influence. He's got his hands working the church. And like any good Christian, he starts to seek the allegiance of the rich. But Robin throws a wrench in his plans when he steals the money the Sheriff was going to use to bankroll the wealthy Barons on their visit to Nuttyham. That's when it's time for drastic measures and Rickman hatches the Sheriffic plan to recruit highlander hillbillies and start a good old-fashioned forest fire. The adventure and thievery never stops in this movie. Robin Hood is a thief who will steal your heart ...likely by shooting an arrow at it with a string attached.

You know it's true Everything I chew It turns into poo
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
so brilliant its Brazilian
ex16saint16 July 2000
I don't like action films, i don't like hack and slash but i love this.

For me every actor does a reasonable job and Alan Rickman is outstanding as the sheriff of Nottingham, the lack of a credible English accent is not a worry to me and the flexible use of locations is also not a problem. The story is great, the screenplay is wonderful with its lack of self-conciousness. All the elements of a great epic are there, love, hate, greed, honesty.

The anachronisms really add to the film, the action scenes are tremendous. And yes i like the arrow-cam.

Don't be cynical be nice, enjoy the ride.
52 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Made off with 155 minutes like it was nuthin'.
Mr-Fusion14 January 2015
For a movie about Robin Hood, PRINCE OF THIEVES is surprisingly without any fun. Most of the time, it's kind of a drag. A really long one. I realize it's unfair to compare this to THE ADVENTURES OF ROBIN HOOD, although it speaks to Errol Flynn's impact. Costner's all staid nobility, at home when he's vowing revenge. All of the flair belongs to Rickman as he gobbles up the scenery. There's some fun to be had when the hero's slinging arrows, but those jolts are few and far between.

What's really disappointing is that this movie had a hand in THE ROCKETEER's bombing. What was it, the awful Bryan Adams song? I used to watch this as a kid, but I didn't expect a rewatch to be so flavorless. At its worst, it's hammy, blah at best.

5/10
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Entertainment For All The Right Reasons
mymamasafox10 January 2007
I cannot understand all the nit picking where this great and entertaining film is concerned. I have read through all the posts and the main concern is about accents. Why? The film was exciting, well plotted, great scenery, fun and campy. My favorite reasons for loving this adventure is because of the star---Kevin Costner. I didn't even know who he was at the time, even though he had just won two Oscars for Dances With Wolves. I loved the Robin Hood tales and knew this was the one summer movie of 1991 that I had to see. And see it I did. I went back four times. So many people cheer on Alan Rickman and skewer Kevin Costner. That is not fair. So many believe they were just as much enemies off screen as on screen. I don't believe that to be true, either. Why can't people just leave this delicious and fun movie alone once and for all? Leave those of us who enjoy seeing it time and time again alone, because we don't care about the little goofs, the lack of accents,or any other silly bit of trivia. Robin Hood: Prince Of Thieves gets a ten plus from this fan. It will always be my sentimental favorite of the great actor Kevin Costner.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just one word: Brilliant!!
native_girl33327 June 2006
***MAY CONTAIN LITTLE SPOILERS***

I watched "The Prince of Thieves" once again two days ago and it is still one of the most brilliant movies ever made. Despite the fact the crew had so many obstacles while making the film.

Robin of Locksley (Kevin Costner) returns to England from his crusades with a Maori warrior Azeem (outstanding Morgan Freeman) and finds out that the evil sheriff of Nottingham (superb Alan Rickman) has taken over his fathers lands. From that one there begins a war to make a difference in sheriff's terrorizing Nottingham. Robin becomes Hood and he is fighting to give the good days back to the people as they deserve it.

There is a little bit of everything in the film. There is adventures, excitement, romance, humor, action. Everything you could ever wish from the great, enjoyable film! If you liked "The Adventures of Robin Hood" starring by Errol Flynn you will also enjoy this timeless story about the man who stole from the rich and gave it to the poor!

The film making was a struggle right from the start. The producers had some difficulties to hire a competent director to the job. Even the production manager and the other heads of department were hired before the director. There was a bit hurry to make "Prince of Thieves" because there was two other Robin Hood pictures coming. They were just like in a race. Then a man called Kevin Reynolds was hired to the job of directing. Then the production team was short of lead actor to play Robin. Other major parts Morgan Freeman, Alan Rickman and Christian Slater were already in place. Robin Wright was replaced with Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio to play Maid Marian because of Wright's pregnancy. Then there came Kevin Costner. He only signed up for the job because of Kevin Reynolds. After casting everybody the working team came across the difficulty of the lack of enough time. There was also some rough times between Costner and Reynolds. Even the guys had some disagreement the film opened in the year 1991 and managed to snatch a 25 million dollars at the opening weekend and was later going to bag 390 million dollars worldwide. Not bad if the production had some of bad critic and problems behind them.

Obviously even Costner and Reynolds managed to put their hatred aside because later they teamed up in the flop "Waterworld" which was by the way then (1995) the most expensive movie in the world! (Whopping 175 million dollars spent)

Even if the film contains some of the most disturbing mistakes in film making it does not effect on the result. So what if Robin's hair is suddenly turn from wet to dry and again back to wet it does not reflect to the essence of this marvelous piece of history. It is worth waiting the last scene where legendary Sean Connery makes an appearance as King Richard the Lionheart! (Connery donated his 400,000 dollar fee to charity)

The legendary and undying ballad "Everything I Do (I Do It For You) by Bryan Adams is the best movie theme song in the history of film making!

Worth to watch with it's faults and all!
29 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
1 bonus star for Alan Rickman
jpaulgagen24 November 2005
Avoid this and go straight to the 1938 Adventures of Robin Hood. If you can't find that go to the 1922 Robin Hood starring Douglas Fairbanks.

There is only one reason to watch this film and that is Alan Rickman as the scenery chewing Sheriff "I'll upstage everyone" of Nottingham. He is also the only reason I am not giving this film one star.

I've seen wooden dolls with a wider range of expression and more charisma than what Kevin Costner puts on display here. Adding a crusader element to Robin's story does nothing to advance the story. Morgan Freeman does a good job as the completely apocryphal Moor in England, but is only really asked to dispense sage advice and look noble. Hint to the screenwriters - Robin Hood is a classic legend, you should be picking which bits to leave out, not stuffing new things into it.

All the other actors in the film had about as much impact as blancmange.
35 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So bad it's laughable
mp3dude429 November 2003
The worst Robin Hood movie ever made. Bad acting, horrible direction and an overblown script are the film's only good features. Kevin Costner plays the same part he always (Waterworld set in old England) does at the same level of talent (none).

This film provided a lot of material for "Robin Hood, Men In Tights" to skewer a couple years later. In fact, don't watch Men In Tights without seeing Prince of Thieves first.
22 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Very hard to take
Spleen17 December 1999
It's not so much that Kevin Costner lacks an English accent: it's that he HAS an American accent. A PARTICULAR American accent. I don't care if that's the way everyone spoke back in the twelfth century; in the context of this film, it sounds as if someone has wandered off the west coast of the United States wearing sunglasses. I admit there COULD have been artistic justification, but there isn't.

Shall we play spot-the-anachronism? It's all too easy, but I'll start with a less obvious one: the longbow. The longbow was a powerful, advanced weapon that everyone has associated with Robin Hood since the legend became a legend, but it hadn't been invented that century. That's okay. If it's part of the legend, it's part of the legend; but I resent inflation taking hold. Azeem (a Moor, who has no business here) has somehow got hold of the secret of gunpowder off the Chinese. He even knows how to synthesise the stuff from materials lying around in England. He carries a telescope as good as anything Galileo would come up with in the SIXTEENTH century. What next? An Aztec who can make methane-powered generators out of old drainpipes? The twelfth-century Indian inventor of silver nitrate photography? Besides, Azeem's inventions come across as clumsy plot devices. How will we get the heroes out of THIS pickle? I know! New technology!

The `arrow-cam' shot is ludicrous, Azeem's `you saved my life, now I am your servant' schtick belongs in a sitcom, Alan Rickman's sheriff is possibly the hammiest villain I've seen in my life, the geography of Nottingham Forest is anyone's guess (it becomes Nottingham Field when the plot requires) - and, as a general verdict, most items of Robin Hood mythology are still there, but twisted ALMOST beyond recognition, into something hideous. Really, there's no one, overall fault; but I deeply loathe the whole. And I'm no purist. The OTHER `Robin Hood' released that year (outside America at, any rate), with Patrick Bergin in the title role, was even further removed from the world of Merrie Olde England, but I liked its honesty and consistency. There's no doubt that it was the better film.

P.S.: This film started the trend of playing a modern pop song over the end credits of any film at all, regardless of its mood or musical score. It's a trend to be deplored.
19 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed