He Said, She Said (1991) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
People will always criticize: this film is brilliant
suhaasa2 January 2003
I just saw this movie last night & was looking it up, when I found so many negative comments on the film at this website. One user says that he agrees with Maltin that this film is 'piffle': which makes me question Leonard Maltin himself. This movie is far from deserving to be termed 'piffle'. It is a clean, honest movie about typical men & women & the film itself goes into all sorts of very interesting (& light-hearted, thank God) psychological aspects of the two main characters. Another user says it's bad enough to see the story once, but then the torture is doubled when the story starts over from the woman's point of view! I am quite disappointed with this because the obvious point of repeating the whole story from a different point of view are the differences between the two. And these differences are subtle & very significant to the matter of the film. I suspect people do not want to admit that this film touched them -- well, actually, I think people are so conditioned so as to dismiss such a film as 'cheesy' or 'piffle' because of acquired motions of being & seeming brave. In fact, the people who do not respond positively to this film are very much like the male character in this film, who is incapable of allowing himself true feelings, for if he does, he loses his bravery construct. This film is a very compelling, very sweetly made film that will really change you if you allow it to. And that's the point really, we have to ask ourselves how much we do or don't allow ourselves to be changed by the things around us. In my opinion, everyone should watch this film and judge for themselves. Forget Maltin & the other cynics, we're just ordinary people trying to lead better lives, you know. And this film is very much about that, and in my opinion is something like a minor classic, the 'Casablanca' if you may, of modern-day cubicle romance.
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
He Said, She Said, I Said...
Mr_Sensitive21 February 2005
It is weird to see Kevin as the romantic guys, but in this movie he is great, ditto with Elizabeth.

A story of the two journalists opposing their opinion on different issue at their program called He Said, She Said. Before they start to learn about each other and fell in love.

The movie is divided into two prospects - what he said about her, and what she said about him (to their neighbors). Though it might be confusing at time, but overall it is very satisfying, and is truly a romantic comedy that is actually can make you laugh.

REASON TO WATCH: · Kevin and Elizabeth really great with each other, · Funny romantic/comedy, · Different point of views

Reason Not To: · Too easy ending,

Rating: 7/10 (Grad: B-)
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Delightful Battle of the Sexes
claudio_carvalho13 November 2014
The wolf journalist Dan Hanson (Kevin Bacon) is disputing a column in the newspaper Baltimore Sun with his colleague Lorie Bryer (Elizabeth Perkins). The editors decide to divide the column between them increasing their rivalry. They are invited by the television producer Wally Thurman (Nathan Lane) to have their own show called "He Said, She Said", where they present opposing opinions in different subjects. Meanwhile they fall in love for each other and decide to live together. Three years later, Lorie wishes to marry Dan that refuses and they have a discussion and Lorie throws her mug on his forehead. When they tell their story to their friends, each one tells it in a different perspective.

"He Said, She Said" is a wonderful romantic comedy underrated in IMDb with a delightful battle of the sexes. The same story is disclosed twice, the first time in accordance with Dan Hanson's perspective and directed by Ken Kwapis and the second time the view of Lorie Bryer directed by Marisa Silver. The funny thing is that Ken Kwapis and Marisa Silver were engaged and got married to each other after the film was released. In 1991 I loved this movie and presently it is lovely to see Elizabeth Perkins, Sharon Stone, Kevin Bacon, Anthony LaPaglia, Nathan Lane and others very young. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Ele Disse, Ela Disse" ("He Said, She Said")
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sweet and thought provoking
inkblot116 May 2005
Dan (Kevin Bacon) and Lorie (Elizabeth Perkins) work for the same newspaper publisher. When an editorial columnist retires, Lorie and Dan both apply for the position. The publisher likes both of their work so he decides to run a column of the "crossfire" nature, with both Dan and Lorie giving their opinions on diverse subjects. This is workable because, naturally, they stand directly opposed to one another on most matters. A television show gets hatched, also. However, they fall in love and move in together. How long will it be before bliss ends? This film, although made quite a few years ago, is still relevant today. The concept of couples who disagree on topics but, let love triumph, is neverending. Both Bacon and Perkins show off their comedic and dramatic abilities well and are very attractive people to watch. Nathan Lane and Sharon Stone lend their many talents to the movie as well. The settings and costumes are a hit while the couple's apartment is very beautiful. Last, but not least, the script is clever and fun. If you are searching for a "date movie" to show while you and your partner are snuggling on the couch in front of a fireplace, try and get a copy of this film. It's sweet and thought provoking nature makes it good choice.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hysterical!
gillies2 December 2000
This is the funniest love comedy of the 1990's. It lays out a love/hate love affair, and how men and women interpret their lives in such totally different ways. There were scenes in this movie that i cried over, and some that caused me to laugh so hard that i got cramps. Probably one of the top 5 love comedies of all time, better than "The American President", but it suffers from the pre-Internet effect (older movies get lower ratings), and also, it came out before love comedies came back into fashion.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
There's Something Wrong If You Didn't Like It!
bill_b42 January 2002
I don't know why this movie has ranked so low in the database! This is an intelligent, well-scripted, well-acted and entertaining love story. I know all you bubble-heads out there would much rather watch Meg Ryan-type pap like Sleepless In Seattle or You've Got Mail, but do us all a favor...grow some brain cells and check out this movie. There's something wrong with ya'll if ya don't enjoy it!
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of my top 10
mspmurder2 February 2001
This movie is one of my top ten favorites in romantic comedy. The chemistry between Elizabeth Perkins and Kevin Bacon is PERFECT. It's very cute, light, and will stay with you years after you've seen it. I definitely recommend it. I give it 9/10 stars. Superb!
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Lovely
scissorhands__emily1 September 2005
He Said, She Said is a great romantic comedy. I caught this on HBO and loved it. The chemistry between Dan(Bacon) and Lorie(Perkins) really jumps out at you. They are perfect for the part. I found the movie to also be quite funny. A lot of the humor was from Dan and Lorie's different point of views and how they saw everything the exact opposite from each other. There were also some hilarious parts involving one of Dan's old girlfriends Linda(Stone). I found this to be a very cute romantic comedy with plenty of laughs. I'd recommend you check this movie out if you like romantic stories.

8/10
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I rarely like movies, but this one's a good one...
johnryan_it22 March 2006
I should have seen this film long back! The general public must view it to have a new perspective of love. Love it!

Acting are very natural and believable. Dialogues are well written. I wonder how it went during its days. But I would definitely, recommend this movie.

I liked Elizabeth Perkin and Kevin Bacon's chemistry, they made the characters looked natural.

The last shot there the old couple was lightly arguing was also interesting with the last dialogs as "That makes you Mrs. --".

I would definitely watch it again if I could.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not quite When Harry met Sally
chrisfewtrell7 October 2005
I didn't realise this film could generate such diverse opinions - ironic, given the tag line. This was a sweet movie, nicely performed by the nearly always underrated, but never disappointing stars, both of whom have enjoyed unspectacular but satisfying (from my point of view) careers. The story was smart and lightly handled - okay, it wasn't quite When Harry met Sally, but neither, thank God, was it You've got mail. Strange that Brian Hohfeld doesn't seem to have many other major writing credits, considering the standard he achieved here, or are my sources out of date? Nice work all round, and Elizabeth Perkins can still effortlessly pluck my heartstrings, even after all these years!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good movie
danielbond_200013 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This movie makes a real effort to expose some core issues of love relationships. The dramatic format juxtaposes two points of view to the same events and draws out some fairly profound, though simple, truths as the characters struggle to make sense out of their experiences. It's as if they try to discover "what does it all mean?" while figuring out "what does he/she mean to me?" The movie lives in the small world of a specific relationship, not grand cosmic threads.

I don't want to make more out of the movie than is there, but I can't help thinking about the bigger things as these two people try to reconcile their personal versions of the relationship. This is the second time I've seen this movie over a decade. It still strikes me the same way.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
realistic
fahimsheikh17 January 2003
This is the most realistic romantic comedy, i have seen.The most likeable feature is how casualy the emotional scenes are portrayed. its truly amazing to feel the balance that have been maintained for both of the lead roles.The movie definitely deserves better ratings.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A classic romantic comedy --one to watch more than once.
berdang6 February 1999
This is a delightful romantic comedy. It offers a really rare glimpse of Sharon Stone being funny, and a nice match up with Bacon and Perkins. I've watched it several times, and it always makes me laugh.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Tracy & Hepburn in the 90s
cbpelto30 March 2006
Akin to the great battle of the sexes films of the 30s and 40s staring Spencer Tracy and Kathrine Hepburn but in the settings of the feminist 80s and 90s.

The premise is almost prescient of the James Carville and Mary Matalin lash-up, as this film was released in '91 before those two diametrically opposed political advisers/pundits of reality became widely known.

Like the Tracy & Hepburn films of old this one is into feminine activism. Elizabeth Perkins' character, Lorie Bryer, is successfully fighting her way to the top of her profession in a major city newspaper. There's strong competition from Kevin Bacon's character, Dan Hanson, for a much prized promotion.

Like Tracy & Hepburn, both are highly intelligent, albeit in their respective ways. She's a liberal. He's more 'conservative', think of Billy Joel's hit,"Modern Woman" for the two of them and you'll get the general idea.

Unlike the Tracy & Hepburn films, there's deeper observation into the human psyche. And VERY well done. Their widely disparate perceptions of mutual experiences are hilarious as well as insightful.

Also, unlike the Tracy & Hepburn films, the supporting cast here have more depth and better expression. But with people like Sharon Stone playing the sultry other love interest and Nathan 'Mousehunt' Lane as the antsy television station manager, this should be expected. And it adds depth to the overall cinematic experience.

All in all, it's a good movie. I'll probably watch it as often as I watch the classic Tracy & Hepburn films in my library.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Likable leads save this rom-com
SnoopyStyle12 October 2014
Dan Hanson (Kevin Bacon) and Lorie Bryer (Elizabeth Perkins) are TV commentators who do a local show called "He Said, She Said". Her frustration with him wells up and she hits him with her coffee cup. The movie flashes back to when it all started. Dan is a womanizing conservative and Lorie is a liberal. They both work for the Baltimore Sun and both end up writing for op-ed column after the old writer retired. Their often combative opposing views become very popular. They fall for each other and Dan dumps Linda (Sharon Stone) to go with Lorie. After doing a TV show together, station manager Wally Thurman (Nathan Lane) is so impressed that he produces their new TV show. The movie shows the events according to him and then it shows her side of the story.

The best part of this movie is the two endearing leads. They probably make a fine rom-com couple. There are some minor problematic things about the story. The biggest problem is that I don't think the concept of doing the same story twice works that well. Sometimes the duo storytelling is fun but the movie loses a bit of suspense the second time around. I wonder if they could get across the idea of two different viewpoints better without doing the story twice. They could possibly use two different narrations to work the same concept.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
He said, she didn't
rowmorg10 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Very nearly an eight, but sad to say it went on too long. It's tough on Elizabeth Perkins, who needed a break, that she performed very well in this little love story, and the idiot of a writer (and the directors) felt the need to make it 25 minutes too long which kind of wrecks it. Kevin Bacon, too, must have been furious when (if) he viewed the final cut and found that the movie went on for ever and Sharon Stone only appeared for maybe three minutes in total. The repeat from Elizabeth Perkins' character's point of view was totally unnecessary and actually contained straight repeats of scenes: hardly necessary. So, it's a shame that this pair took so incredibly long to decide to get married. If they'd done it in 85 minutes the picture might well have been a decent hit for both of them. Well, I guess that's showbiz for you. Of course, it's ironic that the reviewer quoted in her IMDb biography said Elizabeth Perkins was too old (in 2005) to see a change in her disappointing (until then) career, just before she appeared in the smash-hit series Weeds and made millions. So, you never know, do you, and that too is showbiz folks!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A watchable romantic comedy, nothing more, nothing less
Gideon244 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The surprisingly solid on screen chemistry between stars Kevin Bacon and Elizabeth Perkins and an intricate but humorous screenplay are the primary selling points of the 1991 comedy He Said She Said Bacon and Perkins play Dan and Lorie, journalists who first met while working for the same newspaper whose opposing views on just about every subject eventually leads them to getting their own television segment where they offer opposing comments on the issue of the day.

However, the story actually opens long after their relationship has become personal when, during a segment of the show, Lorie brains Dan in the head with a coffee mug. The story then flashes back to show the birth of their relationship and what led to the throwing of the mug and just like their professional relationship, we see the relationship from Dan's point of view and then see it from Lorie's and it is the differences in their versions of the personal relationship paralleled with their opposing professional views that make the movie so fun and a lot more entertaining than I expected.

Directors Ken Kwapis and Marisa Silver have mounted a solid romantic comedy (which, I suspected, is probably loosely based on their own real life relationship) with the help of Brian Hohlfeld's deft screenplay, that provides equal doses of laughter and warmth and, surprisingly, will not having you taking sides with either of the protagonists. The leads also receive strong support from Nathan Lane as their boss and Sharon Stone as an old girlfriend of Dan's who conveniently comes into his life when things get rough with Lorie. It's not up there with other great contemporary romantic comedies like Sleepless in Seattle or When harry met Sally, but it is entertaining and will have you rooting for these two people to stay together at the end.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A very big flashback film
Remembering what happened in a relationship is tough for some people. Majority of the time it comes down to only the guys because most of the time, women remember things better. But it has to be understood that the truth is frequently stretched in both directions to help prove the testifier is in the right. Men and women see things differently on a lot of topics and the most debated about subject are relationships. He said "this" and she said "that". Whose memory or interpretation is more accurate in telling the truth? That's the kind of story audiences' get here.

The plot revolves around a couple Dan Hansen (Kevin Bacon) and Lorie Bryer (Elizabeth Perkins) who see their way of living quite differently. Hansen feels that he wants to live his life as a lone wolf and doesn't want to settle down any time soon. Bryer on the other hand is looking for that guy in her life who is like a wolf but would like to settle down at some point. To think that their eventual meeting would happen so coincidentally was far from their thoughts. When in fact, that's what happened. Unfortunately, the ride is very bumpy and soon there's a point to where they need a break from each other. But to understand why they need this break is where things can get tiresome.

The explanation behind this break is displayed through flashback sequences. The flashbacks are done in two segments. The first segment is told through the eyes of Dan and the second segment is told through the eyes of Lorie. Flashbacks are an OK method of explanation, but the idea that this movie consistently relies on it can get tiresome and feel long, considering that the running time itself is close to two hours total. Plus, with these two segments the viewer will be watching what they saw from the first half of the film again. The feeling will get repetitive and too familiar for the audience to want to see more of almost the exact same scene. The exchanges are varied because of the point of view, but some it isn't as different as one might expect.

With this, leads to some comical exchanges but not anything that'll have people rolling on the floors. Kevin Bacon has a few good moments as well as Elizabeth Perkins, but the laughs are too few short. Perhaps the one actor who stole each scene he was in was Nathan Lane's. For most, it's because of his voice and how he reminds every viewer that he IS Timon from the Lion King (1994), even though at the time of 1991 no one saw it coming. Along with him, was upcoming star Sharon Stone (who plays Dan Hansen's ex-girlfriend), Stanley Anderson (who later plays in RoboCop 3 (1993)), and veteran actor Phil Leeds (who plays an old tenant where Dan Hansen lives).

As for anything else, props should still be given to the directors for at least carrying out the concept of this point of view movie. It at least gives insight to how the mechanisms of the male and female minds work. Thus maybe giving us (the viewers) a better idea of what the opposite sex expects from us in a relationship. Adding a little bit to the emotion is Miles Goodman's score to the film. This is also the composer to the popular film Little Shop of Horrors (1986) and a year later, the beloved Muppet Christmas Carol (1992). It is a slightly above average rom-com.

Its actors are well chosen and the concept is very intellectual but its direction can be long and monotonous, while the comedy is a hit or miss leaving the story itself carrying the emotion.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Love from both points of view..
goya-46 October 2000
a movie that deals with a relationship told from both perspectives of the man (Bacon) and the woman (Perkins) with the ex (Stone) thrown in

A good premise but it never quite takes off..some funny bits but not that many to recommend it on a scale of one to ten..5
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wonderful Balance of Story-Telling
Popeye-822 February 2002
A unusual take on modern romance, HE SAID SHE SAID looks at a relationship in trauma from both sides--first, we see Kevin Bacon's take (his insecurities, job woes, she's a competitor for a promotion, they swoop into romance...in other words the essentials of the plot without much dressing up), then we get Perkins' viewpoint (her breakup before Bacon, her belief that he's favored for the promotion, her plotting to get him to dance), which is much more emotional, and ultimately more entertaining.

A very pleasant and enjoyable tale, well worth the rental--especially to see Perkins' re-interpretation of Bacon and his 'past' with old flame Sharon Stone.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It's OK but not great.
triple828 August 2003
Warning: Spoilers
This is a Typical comedy, that bored me a bit,about love between 2 journalists. one part is told from her point of view and the other from his point of view. It should have been a lot better then it was, I found he said, she said to be OK but a very average comedy, and not all that funny. It isn't awful, there's nothing terrible about it, it's just not as good as one would think a movie such as this would be. The two leads Had very little chemistry together, which may have been part of the problem, they just didn't capture my interest enough to care a lot about what the ultimate outcome would be.

I think as a rental this is OK, particularly for couples who have been through some rough times but aside from being a decent date movie, there's not a lot that stood out to me. I'd give it as a whole, about a 5.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Agree to disagree. There is love to be lost.
michaelRokeefe6 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This snappy romantic comedy pits two Baltimore reporters, Dan Hanson(Kevin Bacon)and Lorie Bryer(Elizabeth Perkins),writing for an editorial page with opposing opinions...Dan the conservative and Lorie the liberal. Their popularity grows as a romance blossoms and soon they have a TV show 'He said, She said'. Frequent bickering may end the TV show as well as the romance. The leads are very likable and the supporting cast is solid, but the film at points just comes across too sappy and gimmicky. Charming is as charming goes. Bacon and Perkins work well together. Supporting cast features: Sharon Stone, Nathan Lane, Anthony LaPaglia and Stanley Anderson.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed