Cadillac Man (1990) Poster

(1990)

User Reviews

Review this title
40 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
everything wacky and everybody loud and trying to be Dog Day Afternoon
SnoopyStyle3 August 2015
Joey O'Brien (Robin Williams) is a relentless car salesman. The car lot is moving and there will fewer sales jobs. He has two days to sell 12 cars to make an impression. He spends all of his money on the women in his life; ex-wife Tina (Pamela Reed), married woman Joy Munchack (Fran Drescher) and party girl Lila (Lori Petty). Then Larry (Tim Robbins) breaks in with a gun suspecting his wife Donna (Annabella Sciorra) is cheating with somebody in the car lot. Donna is grazed by a bullet. Joey tries to take the blame for an affair despite not sleeping with Donna. He tries to talk Larry down as the police surrounds them.

Everything is wacky. Everybody is loud. They are all yelling. It is generally not funny except when Robin gets a few laughs with the help of Tim Robbins. I do not see Roger Donaldson as a funny director. It is trying to be Dog Day Afternoon but it does not have the gritty reality. Even the cops are deliberately loud. The police negotiator is one of the most antagonist negotiator in any movie. Everyone is deliberately set on edge and it does not make it funny.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great Energy Between Williams And Robbins
boblipton18 May 2020
Robin Williams sells Cadilacs at one of those lots that dot post-industrial North Queens. He loves selling cars, and he loves women. That's a lot of women, including his ex-wife and three girl friends, one of whom is married. So when Tim Robbins comes in with a plastique bomb because he thinks Williams is making love to his wife, Williams has to sell him on the fact that he shouldn't do that. And the thing in common with all good salesmen is they believe in what they're selling, whether it's true or not.

Most of the movie is Williams driving around from one neatly compartmentalized part of his life to the other, breaking the fourth wall to chat with the audience. The scene with Robbins, however, is some top notch acting, sounding wholly unrehearsed by both both men.... and quite mad. Those sequences make this a great movie.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
cute
lee_eisenberg29 April 2006
Not Robin Williams's greatest movie by any stretch, but still pretty funny, "Cadillac Man" casts him as car salesman Joey O'Brien, whose life is falling apart. His marriage is in the toilet and he has to sell 12 cars or he loses his job. Just when it seems that things couldn't get any worse, angry husband Larry (Tim Robbins) hijacks Joey's lot. From there, it's mostly a series of gags.

This seems like the sort of movie that they just made for fun. And it is pretty fun. Don't expect any life-changing experiences from watching it (e.g., Williams doesn't launch into any wacky monologues); just sit back and enjoy. I don't understand how a previous reviewer thought that this movie relates to quantum mechanics (but then again, I don't know anything about quantum mechanics). Also starring Fran Drescher and Annabella Sciorra.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Cadillac Man
jboothmillard22 June 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I knew the leading star of this film, and had a vague idea of the second name in the cast, so I was looking forward to trying it, from director Roger Donaldson (Dante's Peak, The World's Fastest Indian). Basically Joey 'Joe' O'Brien (Robin Williams) - who talks to the audience a little - is a sleazy car salesman trying to sell a car in almost any situation he can find, even something like a funeral will do. He is having troubles, his ex-wife Tina (Bean's Pamela Reed) is demanding cash for maintenance, his daughter is missing and he has married Joy Munchack (Fran Drescher) and single Lila (Lori Petty) as two mistresses wanting him. But he also has work problems, he has two days left to sell twelve cars, or lose his job, oh, and apparently there's a Mob boss he owes or he'll lose his life (but I didn't hear that mentioned much). On the day of Joe's deadline, a big dealership car sale, the dealership is crashed into and off the motorbike comes Larry (The Shawshank Redemption's Tim Robbins) with an AK-47 and some bad marital issues. Larry believes his wife Donna (Annabella Sciorra) is having an affair, and Joe manages to convince him that he is the one doing it, and not to harm any of the other hostages. Then the police show up outside, guns pointing, and Larry being a pretty petrified assailant has no idea of what to say or do to get out of this situation he has put himself in. Joe however is reluctant to help him get him out of it, possibly for his own sake as well, but never mind, he is managing to keep Captain Mason (Anthony Powers) and the cops calm. Joe is starting to bond with Larry knowing he was pressured himself by so many problems, and slowly his persuasion gets the other hostages let out. Eventually, all the hostages are out of the dealership until just Joe and Larry are left, but the police believe the gun Larry has is still loaded, and they mistakenly wound him. In the end, Larry is fine and on his way to hospital, and Joe reunites with his wife and daughter, and drives away as the hero of the day, job intact, and passing his business card to Captain Mason. Also starring Zack Norman as Harry Munchack, Paul Guilfoyle as Little Jack Turgeon, Bill Nelson as Big Jack Turgeon, Eddie Jones as Benny, Mimi Cecchini as Ma, Tristine Skyler as Lisa and Judith Hoag as Molly. Williams with his comedic and acting skills manages to make his somewhat sly character very appealing in the situation he is placed, Robbins is also very good at being the inexperienced gunman, while this isn't hilarious, it's certainly a film with some good giggles. Worth watching!
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
This Cadillac Turned Into An Edsel
ccthemovieman-113 August 2007
Here's yet another movie with dysfunctional lead characters who are totally amoral and, yet, we're supposed to root for them? Not me. No character in this film was worth a damn.

Robin Williams plays car salesman "Joey O'Brien." The man has no class, a loser in every moral sense and a guy who thinks he can talk his way out of anything. Knowing Williams' ability to talk, he was good for this role. The women in his life are driving him loony, too. Some of them aren't much better than him.

Tim Robbins plays a similar low-life who starts the take over the film when he, fully loaded with explosives, crashes into a car dealership showroom and holds people, including his wife, hostage. Robbins, as in normal for him, plays a disturbed and ridiculous character. I guess these nut-case roles come easily to these two actors. Gee, I wonder why.

There is so much yelling and screaming in this the movie that it will give you a headache. Combine those two screamers with the nasal voice of Fran Drescher and you really have an annoying over-the-top cast. This is like listening to chalk on a blackboard for an hour-and- a-half. This is comedy? No, this is lame.

In fact, for a Robin Williams film to only have a dozen reviews posted here tells you something. It's a far cry from his best movie.
12 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Uneven comedy that isn't that funny and ends a bit mushy.
TxMike8 February 2004
Warning: Spoilers
The comments contain SPOILERS, do not read if you haven't seen the movie.

Set in NYC, Joey (Robin Williams) is the 'Cadillac Man', he is a car salesman who drives a black Caddy convertible with the license plate 'CAD-MAN.' The first half of this 93-minute movie sets up the characters. Joey is a natural salesman, has the gift of gab, tries unsuccessfully to sell a new car to a widow at her husband's funeral, because he is broke and also in debt $20,000 to a mob boss and he has to close 12 deals in the next two days to keep his job. His ex-wife threw him out, his teen daughter is missing with her boyfriend, he has a girlfriend and a mistress, and is just in one big mess.

Larry (Tim Robbins) isn't very smart, rides a motorcycle, he lost his job as an airplane mechanic a year ago, his wife works at the car dealership, and he suspects she is fooling around with someone, turns out to be 'Little Jack' the arrogant son of the dealership owner.

The second half of the movie is pretty much a mess. In a very over-the-top performance, with lots of shooting and yelling, Larry crashes his motorcycle into the car showroom, with explosives strapped to the bike and with a machine gun. He starts shooting, wounds his wife, keeps staff and customers hostage. Joey decides to de-fuse the situation by claiming (falsely) that he and only he was the one banging Larry's wife. A swat team shows up, snipers, a negotiator, Joey gradually talks Larry into letting all the hostages go, and to give himself up, that he can claim he was 'crazy', and get a fancy lawyer to get him off, but the snipers shoot him and he is off to the hospital. The explosives on the bike were fake.

Impressed by Joey's performance, and saving his son, the big boss gave Joey a job for life. Also having saved the mob boss's son who worked as a window washer there, forgave Joey's $20,000 debt. And, ex-wife and daughter decided to give Joey another try, hoping he learned his lesson. The median IMDb ratings of about '5' or '6' are about right.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Chaotic entertainment...
paul_haakonsen22 December 2015
"Cadillac Man" is an in-your-face type of comedy, as it is a fast paced, relentless and very chaotic type of comedy. You might think that to be too much, but even though it never slows down or backs down, you are in for some good fun and good entertainment.

The story is about Joey (played by Robin Williams), a car salesman pressed hard on his luck. Things are stacked up above his head, and everything comes tumbling down when his coworker Donna's disgruntled boyfriend Larry (played by Tim Robbins) show up at the car lot with guns and explosives.

While this comedy is not one that will leave you in tears from laughing, the comedy used is straight to the point and it matches the outrageous feel there is to the entire movie.

Robin Williams and Tim Robbins are performing quite well in this movie, and they do compliment one another acting side by side. I had seen this movie before, but I didn't remember that Fran Drescher was in the movie too, and she did a good job with her role as well.

If you enjoy the Robin Williams movies and comedy then "Cadillac Man" should be watched. It is fast paced fun and is filled with great characters and good dialogue. Well-worth spending about an hour and a half on watching.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cars
bevo-1367812 June 2020
Great movie. I saw the last bit on the telly today and it looked pretty good
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Every Dog has its Day
view_and_review20 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Joey (Robin Williams) was a pure bred S.O.B. He was 100% canine. His first words had to have been "Woof woof!"

To start, he was a car salesman. Car salesmen are just above lawyers and politicians on the slimy profession scale. He was so unconscionable he tried to sell a car to a widow during a stalled funeral procession.

In addition to his profession, he was juggling two girlfriends (one of them was married) and he had an ex-wife. He lied to all of them. You knew he was lying because his lips were moving.

At least one thing in his life was going to change. He was bound to lose his job if he didn't sell twelve vehicles in a day. Even for fast-talking Joe that was going to be a tall task. He was in mid-pitch when his car hustling day was interrupted by a jealous husband coming to the dealership with an AK-47 holding everyone hostage.

This was probably the worst character I've seen Williams play on the ethical meter. He did an excellent job at it and he was funny, but that didn't mean you were going to like him. I still enjoyed the movie. Joey, in all his lying and philandering, still had some humanity. It turns out he wasn't all dog. He genuinely wanted everyone in that hostage situation to be safe, including the hostage-taker (played by Bill Paxton). There was no reason for Joey to stick his neck out for anyone in that dealership, yet he did. It doesn't rectify what he did to the women in his life, but it was a small bit of improvement and perhaps a small step on the road to redemption.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I love to sell......
FlashCallahan6 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Joe's a car salesman with a problem. He has two days to sell 12 cars or he loses his job.

This would be a difficult task at the best of times but Joe has to contend with his girlfriends (he's two timing), a missing teenage daughter and an ex-wife.

What more could go wrong ? Enter a crazy jealous husband with a machine gun..

You would expect a film with Williams as a car salesman to be a zip zip one liner-thon, and while some of the film is very funny, it can lose itself within the confined setting and silly sub-plots.

Williams is as watchable as ever, but this time, he is more of an anti-hero, as far away from Mork as you could imagine, but it makes the dark in this black comedy all the more delicious.

Robbins and Williams have great chemistry together, and whenever they are on screen together, its unmissable stuff.

Sadly, when the films narration turns to the girlfriends and the police, it becomes a chore, and the film has to rely on the comedy Chinese waitress for laughs.

It's good for what it is, yuppie satire, but too many sub-plots have slightly spoiled the comedic broth.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Just not funny...
MovieAddict20169 August 2003
So-so comedy starring Robin Williams as a Cadillac dealer, whose shop is held hostage by maniac Tim Robbins. The film has a good premise, but takes over an hour to get to the hostage part, leaving about thirty minutes to squeeze in the actual humor. The rest of the movie is all about Williams' private life. Just not very funny, some very missed potential.

2 of 5

  • John Ulmer
7 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great Concept, Could have been Executed Much Bettsr,
lesleyharris3011 September 2018
Cadillac Man is a decent movie with a reasonably well developed plot and a very talented cast. The saving grace of the film is certainly Robin Williams and Tim Robbins, who have a great back and forth with one another, as well as both playing consistently interesting characters that are very different to them.

My biggest issue with the film is that it has such a surefire concept that seems like it will have no chance of not being at least exciting, and it really is not, the film never seems to fully realise or embark on the potential of a man who "has two days to sell 12 cars or he loses his business, while also shielding his two girlfriends from each other, until a gunman enters his dealership", it could have been far more fun and bizarre than it ended up.

I felt the film should have focused far more on Williams' and Robbins' characters, instead of jumping back and fourth to a bunch of characters in the dealership who I cared far less about. I would have loved a far larger focus on their characters, it could have been a two hander, the other characters were unnecessary.

Great concept, poor delivery. Has it's moments, but Cadillac Man never truly shines, and for that reason I could not recommend it.

A car salesman is trying to balance many great stresses that all need to be put on hold when a gunman enters his dealership.

Best Performance: Robin Williams
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Too histrionic
filipemanuelneto8 July 2018
This comedy focuses on Joey O'Brien, a proud car salesman who, however, needs to sell twelve cars in twenty-four hours to keep his job. To make matters worse, her love life is in chaos, with several lovers and girlfriends, plus an ex-wife with a missing teenage daughter, probably running away with a boyfriend. Can things get worse? They can... on the day he had to sell like he never sold, the jealous and stupid husband of one of the store clerks decides to kidnap everyone until he discovers the identity of his wife's alleged lover.

This is the typical non-sense comedy, where everything is crazy and all the characters are histrionic and stereotyped. Everyone shouts, everyone behaves in a half-insane way and there's really no character in this movie that really pays off or befriends us. This includes the main character, who is the typical smart guy, a trickster who thinks he gets away easily from all the problems he gets into. This will cause serious problems to us to like this movie.

Another problem here is the lack of humor. With the exception of a few good jokes from Robin Williams and some situational humor, this is not the kind of movie that makes us cry with laughter. The remaining cast doesn't stand out nor deserve positive mention, with the exception of Tim Robbins, who seemed to do an interesting job in the role of the jealous idiot husband.

In short, this film is highly histrionic, absolutely insane, full of screaming people and a weak and misdirected cast. It's a long way from being a good movie.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sold
videorama-759-85939126 August 2014
Cadillac Man is a Robin Williams movie, I can still come back to watching, like See No Evil Hear No Evil. Though not always funny, with Williams carrying it, you're guaranteed a good time. In another splendid performance, Williams plays a womanizing car salesman, who at the start, tries to sell an old woman a car who's present one has broken down. Emphasis on broken down here, as she was on way with her padres to a funeral, so her mood, like the others, isn't one that brightens. Williams is sort of a sleazebag on the side, never missing an opportunity. I really found this movie hugely entertaining, where the second half, intensifies, as Robin's infidelity finally catches up with him, as Robbins in a great performance, as a nutso, comes crashing through his place of work on his motorcycle. Here we really lose the laughs as things quickly become dramatic. Williams has supposedly been doing Robbin's girlfriend (Sciorra) so a hostage situation develops. Williams has some great lines, and again we see a bit of his own dialogue input. I loved the woman at the Chinese restaurant, where Williams and his co workers frequent, and where the police negotiator and his men set up base, oh "On the condition they eat". Although people have found this disappointing, I really love this film, William's character too, Joey, having ties in with the mafia. The casting is great. Every actor delivers, but truthfully, Robbins is the acting force here, out performing Williams. Robbins is so riveting to watch, you don't know what he'll do next. Cadillac Man is definitely worth a view, even if it runs low in the laugh expectation ratio, but Robbins and Williams are great to watch.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Honest Review
generationofswine8 January 2020
I just got done showing it to my wife... and did the same thing that my dad did to me, where I told her that it was going to start off kind of slow and then really pick up out of the clear blue sky.

And of course she was born in 91, had never heard of this particular Williams gem, and was kind of shocked when it hit.

It had the same effect where she did what I did and questioned it's comedic credentials... and then started laughing out loud when it hit the high gear.

And that is the way I think everyone should watch it, come in completely fresh without knowing the plot and let it unfold, not because it has a Usual Suspects twist to it, but rather because it's so much better if you don't know what you are watching ahead of time.

But, if you are reading this, you already know it's a comedy and you already know what is coming, because you probably read the plot synopsis. If that's the case, sit down and watch it with a friend that has never heard of it and watch how they react to everything. It's almost as good.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Who needs Prozac, when you have films like this now?
natashabowiepinky5 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I was having a rubbish day... then I stuck this on, and come the ending I had perked up just a bit. For a Robin Williams film, I don't recall laughing a lot, and there were a few moments where I just wished people would stop talking and move on with the plot... But I loved the way the large cast interacted with each other the rest of the time, and while Mr Williams wasn't at his best, I certainly enjoyed his little asides and general performance.

Then the final scenes started, and as one by one the myriad of problems Williams's character faced at the beginning of the movie evaporated, and I embarrassed myself by grinning like a gonad. Who'd have thought that being involved in a hostage situation would be the best thing that ever happened to the guy? It allowed him to prove his worth to those he'd wronged in his life, as well as take stock of himself to be a better person. Aaarrr! Usually I would have rolled my eyes at such a notion, but I guess I needed SOME kind of reassurance right now that the world isn't a totally crappy place. Even if my catharsis did come from an entirely fictitious sequence of events, that could never happen in real life...

Whatever, that's all the opening up I'll be doing today. And don't think I'm going to start wearing garlands of flowers or playing the tambourine. But despite a few shortcomings, I did like Cadillac Man, and if I recommend accordingly. Damn my fluctuating moods... 6/10
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Roger Donaldson directed
sjanders-8643013 May 2021
Robin Williams stars at the top of his game. He is a car salesman in New York City, but his sales are down. He has two girlfriends and an ex wife. He is given an ultimatum: Sell 12 cars in two days or you are out. The office girl is having an affair with the boss. Her boyfriend crashes into the showroom and starts shooting. He wants to know who is having an affair with his wife. Robin Williams saves the day and befriends Tim Robbins, the shooter. Police surround the place. Williams pretends he is the one having the affair. Other cops arrive and call Williams and Robbins from the adjacent Chinese restaurant. Robbins is also tops playing the crazed out of work husband.

There is never a dull moment. Wonderful from start to finish.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good.
rdoubleoc3 May 2020
Sometimes you just need a good movie to watch, and while I don't particularly remember too much besides the basic plot, I remember it gave me something that wasn't totally boring and was actually entertaining.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Tin Men meets Dog Day Afternoon
glgioia6 August 2006
Jealous husband holds car dealership hostage while Williams burdens the viewer with his worn out Mork shtick at every turn. Yawn.

Pay channel grist. An uncommonly bad script coupled with a less than convincing Robin Williams as a slick talking, philandering Queens car salesman caught up in a hostage workplace crisis. The laughs aren't there, the message(s) or morals are just all wrong, and the film cant ever decide on whether its a comedy or drama. Pretty good cast all acting pretty badly. When a movie ages so badly so quickly, you got yourself a stinker. Not much else to be said other than maybe, avoid at all costs. Textbook mediocre movies like this are actually more tedious, and less enjoyable than the over the top bombs.
4 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Restrained Williams Dominates this Crime Dramedy
Donatien31 January 2020
In early 1990s, Robin Williams was known as a fast-talking, quick-witted, hilarious comedian.

Those expecting a typical 'Robin Williams' performance in "Cadillac Man" will be surprised by his more measure, toned-down performance. It's like the previous year's "Dead Poet's Society", but not as sentimental.

Williams plays car salesman Joey O'Brien. Joey is under pressure: he's got an ex-wife, multiple girlfriends, a missing daughter, gambling debts, and needs to sell twelve cars in one weekend to keep his job.

A stressful Sunday at work takes a dramatic turn when an armed robber (Tim Robbins) holds up the dealership, angry at his unfaithful girlfriend who works there. Joey uses his sales experience to bond with the robber.

Williams shines in a more restrained role, exercising the dramatic skills that would be rewarded in "Good Will Hunting", and that he'd continue to develop in his later years.

If you love Williams as an actor, you'll enjoy "Cadillac Man", just don't expect him in full comedic flight.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
There is not a single believable moment here
raisleygordon8 April 2016
I just didn't find Cadillac Man to be funny at all. Does Williams deliver as a car salesman? Not really, because basically the script just requires him to be goofy. And if this were actually intended as a plain comedy, then I might buy it. There's nobody really at stake, at least not in the first half of the movie. And the second half isn't much better. Unless you're curious to see Tim Robbins playing a killer or Robin Williams as a car salesman, then I suggest you look elsewhere. Remake Dog Day Afternoon if you will, but Cadillac Man never delivers on its promise.

** out of ****
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
***1/2 out of 5
casey_choas668 August 2002
Robbin Williams stars in this wickedly amusing and ocassionally hilarious film about a car salesman having the worst few days of his life. Williams plays Joey, a car salesman who is juggling 2 girlfriends, had to deal with his wife wanting more money, a ganster wanting payment on a gambling debt and a boss who wants him to seel 12 cars in two days or he will loose his job. On top of that We have Tom Robbins as the husband of an employee who breakes into the dealership with an automatic weapon demanding to know who has been sleeping with his wife. The film suffers from a boring first half that seems to be going nowhere fast and only has a few scattered laughs but then begins to succeed due to the great chemestry between Williams and Robbins. It may not be perfection but because of great performances from the two leads, many laughs and a heart felt ending this one is a winner in my books.
23 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Too subtle for many
vranger28 December 2006
This movie is worth a watch, but only if you are willing to pay attention to the myriad subtle jokes in it.

Those who think it only occasionally funny just weren't paying attention to EVERY scene with the hostage negotiation team in the restaurant, and lots of subtle jokes in the dialog between Williams and Robbins, and the phone calls out of the car dealership.

This movie took a chance with 'intelligent humor'. Not that the humor is that intelligent, it just doesn't hit you over the head with obvious jokes. It is a take off on the 'real' 'cookie cutter' hostage dramas, and the fun it makes of them is subtle. (For example, the cops' reaction, after disbelieving that Larry has brought explosives taped to his bike, when it is 'revealed' to them that he obtained them in Jersey. There is no over the top joke, but it is VERY funny if you are paying attention and have enough common knowledge to get it).

Unfortunately, there probably just aren't enough 'intelligent viewers' out there for this film to get its due. There certainly weren't among the others leaving comments about it! LOL
19 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
better than I anticipated.
grnhair200125 May 2012
It's 6.5 out of 10 stars for me for this dramedy that should have stayed nearer to drama toward the end.

What's great about it: Williams' performance. I don't think people were ready, at this time of his career, for a nuanced performance, but that's what this is. He breaks into being the crazed Williams of talk shows only twice, and briefly, during this film. Otherwise he is convincing as a middle-aged car salesman with complicated relationships and the absence of a long-term plan. His excellence at sales isn't limited to cars; he can talk many women into bed, and that's his downfall.

Robbins is also good as a stupid, jealous husband with a gun.

What's not as good: the supporting characters at the car dealership were under-written. The Chinese restaurant and police captain stuff was awful. I can't stand Fran Drescher, and I can't stand her here. (If you like her, you'll like her here.) The dog she's carrying was used too much, and I realize the yappiness was supposed to heighten the tension, but mostly it made me want to look for my own gun or consider shutting off the DVD. I never did see that his sacrifice during the hostage-taking was fully motivated. (Seems drastic to be willing to die just to avoid a stressful day.)

I did like the character of the ex-wife and that of the wannabe awful clothes designer girlfriend #2, played well by Lori Petty. Also, I liked the bizarre opening scene which is in the middle of a funeral procession. There's a how-to writing book I once read that said, bring all your characters on stage with their (attributes) flying. This opening scene did just that, so kudos to Ken Friedman.
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
If anyone in this film screams one more time.... A Scream Fest.
pinokiyo8 January 2012
This is playing on TV right now and it is so annoying.

It started out a bit interesting about a car salesman, but rest of the film seemed like it turned into a whole new genre; it's a mess -- all it ends up being is an annoying stress viewing experience about a hostage with everyone screaming CONSTANTLY that it will make your ears bleed.

It will make you want to tell all the cast to just shut up.

Thankfully, I did not have to pay for this.

The mute button on the remote was invented for films like this.

The film is a giant mess. If you want to stress yourself out on a film with everyone screaming and yelling, knock yourself out on this one.
1 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed