Almost an Angel (1990) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Enjoyable and warm
Lord Onim22 September 2003
Just like Crocodile Dundee this is a humor-packed film from beginning to end. Paul Hogan is as charming and charismatic as ever and the jokes are at five minute-intervals, enough to make it a somewhat serious (and sad) film.I am glad I stumbled across this film, as I think you will be.
27 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Angelic Humor
trgusa21 April 2006
Paul Hogan plays a criminal who steps out in front of traffic to save a child, and becomes an Angel... almost. He says he's on probation, sorta... but what are you to believe? Is he nuts? Hmmm. Maybe. The humor and light-sided religiousness makes this film a delight.

Don't worry about being converted or anything, this is an open-ended movie with morals, granted, but also with that special touch of human bonding, and what it means to love others.

Hogan's writing, directing, and acting career spans just 6 films that I know of, and this is a lesser known one... I had the feeling at the end that it was looking for a sequel, or a TV series. No such luck.

Magical, humorous, charming, disarming, alarming, and inspiring... see it at least once.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Some Surprisingly New Ideas with Some Old
Starrman-318 August 2002
A lot of people will watch this movie and shrug it off as a simple comedy or even say that it isn't that great, but the fact is this movie does have some new and unique parts to it. The numero uno of these is the way Hogan's character Terry interacts with the handicap Steve. The lines in the bar are excellent to explaining how one should treat someone with a handicap. But they just don't stop there, they continue to show this throughout the rest of the movie. The scenes with Terry & Steve are priceless at times. But this movie has a good deal of tongue in cheek humor as well. Taking a convict and making him an angel of mercy was quite hilarious, like when he robs the fast food restaraunt to feed the poor and especially the scene where he talks with Charlton Heston as God. And of course the very convincing impersonations of Willie Nelson and Rod Stewart are classic. I especially love the scene where the police are interviewing the bank tellers after the robbery. The movie cleverly uses plays on words like "born again Christian" and periodically makes fun of itself, all of which work. The ending was both surprising and touching, especially since the whole movie you aren't sure if Terry had a dream or whether he really was sent back. All in all I must say I was pleasantly surprised by this film. It's too bad the world didn't feel the same way about this movie.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Completely taken by surprise.
Ruc_A_Buc22 February 2004
I happened upon this movie just channel surfing and was just floored. Great movie from start to finish. Elias Koteas gives an awesome performance that just shows once again how he is one of the most overlooked actors in Hollywood. But what really caught me was the story and dialogue. This movie was wonderfully written. I would've never guessed Hogan had it in him. Enjoyable movie and I strongly recommend it. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!
26 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
You and me boss, we make a good team.
hitchcockthelegend7 September 2008
Terry Dean is an exceptional career criminal, after his release from prison he is hit by a car whilst saving a young boy. He awakes in what appears to be a heavenly place, and much to his surprise he is visited by a deity and told that he is on probation, he is in short...almost an angel.

Paul Hogan will forever be known as the bloke from Crocodile Dundee, a highly efficient fish out of water comedy that became a huge hit. However, the sequels and his other subsequent film's are either roundly ignored or highly frowned upon. That's a shame because Almost An Angel is a very engaging comedy, the sort of picture that stands up like a Capraesque piece for the 90s. It's the sort of fable that cheers one up when the blues draw in and then turn into a blackly dark cloud, yes it be true, old craggy faced Paul Hogan has the gift of comedy. True enough the doses of sentiment are at times like a treacle itch to be scratched, but is that a bad thing? Watching a street wise criminal turning his less than honourable skills into a thing of goodness?

The film has many visual gags to go with the ream of religious ones that flow within the piece, be it Hogan attempting to fly or a quiet word about Elvis, Almost An Angel delights if one accepts the nature of the beast. Linda Kozlowski again teams up with Hogan (after the earlier Crocodile Dundee pairing), here she has very little to do but she slots in very nicely, even if a pre-end credits sequence does her and everyone else no favours at all. The best actor on show is the criminally undervalued Elias Koteas, playing the wheelchair bound Steve Garner, he exudes a believability factor that many modern day actors can learn from, where, the ability to act with just your face is high art if it's done correctly. Check out both the first and last scenes that Koteas shares with Hogan, great stuff that seems to have been forgotten due to the disdain shown for this particular film.

I rate it 7/10 because it hits my spot when I need a pick me up, perhaps that is too high in this age where comedy is the hardest genre to succeed in? But don't believe the low rating here on this site, it's a delightful little comedy that is far from perfect, but hell! It's a heavenly piece knowingly incorporating the serious side of religious beliefs.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Hogan's hidden writing qualities.
Bing-1814 December 1999
One of the most overlooked performances in years goes to Elias Koteas as the paraplegic who introduces the 'born again' Hogan into the story of a care centre under threat of closure. It is sensitive and touching without being over sentimental or condescending.

This shows a hidden quality in Hogan's writing that Hollywood missed in his post-Crocodile Dundee movies, and is also in evidence in Lightning Jack and the part of Cuba Gooding Jnr. This movie may not have the charm of Dundee, but the comedy is there and it is certainly more thought provoking about our attitudes to the disabled.

A very good movie.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It had quite an impact
leftyguns212 October 2004
This is one of the best movies, I've seen it has all the essentials excellent moral plot, humor, great acting. I's like to see more films follow this fine example of what it take to make a film great. Now all this comes from someone who disliked the crocodile Dundee movies, so in order for me to go to these lengths to complement this film, and it's fine plot and acting attest to how strong and impact this film had on me. I found that the way humor was combined with strong moral content, and the way all the characters are portrayed, as being human with many character flaws, but doing the right thing when it came down to it. Among my most favorite scenes were the jail release when he terry Dean (Hogan) hits the switch and makes his parting, as well as the part where he has the cross lit for the benefit of a possible benefactor sure made for some entertaining viewing. A must see.
22 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Requires a sequel
daveb657529 June 2006
An entertaining story of a convict who goes straight, well almost. The opening scenes set the pace and style. And throughout the film it just gets better and better. Rated at PG this film gives me no doubts about my kids seeing it. They did, they laughed and they cried and then laughed some more. This has to one of the most under-rated films starring Paul Hogan. It is certainly one of the best he has written. The film is a good mixture of story and humour and any fan of Paul Hogan should enjoy this film. I had to get my copy from ebay because they have stopped producing it. As somebody else says 'come on do it on DVD'. And after you have seen it, I think you will agree it is worthy of a sequel.
19 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hogan, not your everyday or ordinary angel
videorama-759-85939129 January 2014
I remember this playing at the cinema, and thinking this would fall below my expectations, so I should steer clear of it. Although it's not as good as the original Crocodile Dundee, but remember that was Crocodile Dundee, out of curiosity, and an avid fascination, which sometimes can bring, what you pretty well imagined the quality of the movie to be like, I decided to see it, as my brother had it on a preview cassette, alongside King Ralph. I must say I was quite taken aback. Here's a feel good movie for the whole family, that has fun in it's story, it's premise which has been done in many other films, but not with such smart ideas. Even Charlton Heston gets in on the act in a dream sequence that finds Hoges in Heaven, after performing a brave act. Ex con, and master thief, Terry Dean, (Hogan) who has a near death experience, when thinking real bullets went through him and didn't kill him, making him change his ways and become devout, truly thinking he's an angel. They were blanks, fired from the gun of a thug, whose part of a group of robbers, who do over this bank, Hoges was gonna hold up, while dressed in Rod Stewart garb. It's not the first time Hoges has made fun of this music icon too, while he takes pokes at Willie Nelson, also. He crosses paths with an angry young cripple, a younger Elias Koteas, a wild actor whose become one of my favourite stars. His sister is played by Linda Kozlowski, these two latter stars, proving they're more the real actors of the show, while Hoges just lazes back, playing himself, not like Crocodile Dundee, which showed off his real acting. Actually Kozlowski's pretty good in this, I thought, one actress who should of done more movies. There's a lot of underlying messages, too in this movie "Like if you do good in this world, good is what you'll get back". Actor or not, Hoges is what makes the film funny, as if he's put in some of his own script input, which leads you to wonder, while John Cornell has again surprised us, and in another way, brought it to the table, but not as good enough match for the croc. For Hoges fans, that will bring a bit of scattered disappointment to some of that minority and a larger one for others, I imagine.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Paul Hogan
dtremaine24 March 2006
I have completely enjoyed every single movie that Paul Hogan was in. He is a comic genius. I find it unbelievable that this particular movie is not available on DVD. His movies are not slap stick or like anything else I've seen. The things his characters do is just incredibly funny. Even years later when I remember something he did I can't help but laugh. This particular movie was funny as well as heartwarming. When he picked the fight with the guy in the wheel chair I thought I would bust a gut. But, he was just trying to prove a point. When he was shot with the gun loaded with blanks you start to worry, will he do something stupid and end up dead, or is he really an angel. My all time Hogan favorite. It has everything, romance, comedy, and will bring tears to tour eyes. I can't wait to find this movie on DVD.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Hogan is a HERO! to folks with disabilities.
trekker418 March 1999
Paul Hogan (in ... Angel) has to rate just a tad higher than Jon Voight (in Coming Home) and that says a lot about a Stars ability to credibly emote and indulge in meaning-full social intercourse.

Folks with disabilities want to be treated just like ... folks. Period! And Hogan's scene in the pub where he was going to "fight" the paraplegic was so totally incredible!

Why am I so enthusiastic about this film? I have lived with a disability since 1949, and used a wheelchair since 1957.

Love to contact Hogan and have him "Chat" about his take on disability ... in the real. I'm sure he'd come across just like a HERO!
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The heaven has opened and a new angel is among us
sharkattack197821 May 2009
This is definitely my favourite of all of Paul Hogan's films. I remember watching this back when i was younger and i loved it. The whole story about a bank robber who finds his calling in a much different sector of the spectrum made it an entertaining film. The acting is superb by the three main characters which really helps flesh out this story to the point that you really care for the characters. Paul Hogan plays a likable con turned good guy, his real life wife Linda Kozlowski plays a church/charity worker for disadvantaged kids who has a heart of gold and lastly kudos to Elias Koteas whose portrayal of a disabled guy gives the movie the heart and emotion that I must say I didn't expect. All in all almost an angel is a great little movie with some surprises
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
aquilotta119 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Someone else - who apparently didn't stay to the end of the film - has utterly slated "Almost an Angel". I, on the other hand, saw it to the end, and loved it. Terry Dean (Paul Hogan) is a small-time crook and electronics wizard who, as soon as he's let out of prison, proceeds to plan a bank robbery. But the best-laid plans... In this case, he gets beaten to it by an armed gang. And Terry takes a bullet for a child.

In hospital, an experience convinces him that he has become an angel. On probation. (The viewer is left guessing until close to the very end whether it was merely a delirious near-death experience, or whether it was more.) Charlton Heston makes an excellent God-figure: and probation is a term that Terry understands.

So, believing that he's an angel on probation, Terry is sent back to make a difference... and has to work out what sort of things "The Boss" approves of... Robbery? Maybe not. But what about robbery to feed the poor and hungry?

We follow Terry as he learns - at times hilariously, at times deeply touchingly - to fulfil the terms of his probation... This is a tale about redemption - not merely Terry's, but those people with whom he becomes involved. It's a story about death, but most importantly, about life. It's the story about a man's relationship with "the Boss", and what faith is about.

The film contains action, comedy, cops and robbers, tragedy and victory... No, it probably doesn't rank as One Of Ye Greatest Films In History. But it is a funny, touching, heart-warming, beautiful film, and I only wish that it were available somewhere on DVD. For personal preference... I score it a 10 out 10. And am keeping my fingers crossed that SOMEONE will decide to release it on DVD! Please, pretty please!?
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An excellent film for the fan of Crocodile Dundee and Oh God!
johnbits20 March 2005
I have seen this film many times and enjoyed it each time. Although it contains only minimal language concerns, it is best when viewed uncensored and uncut--as are most films. I find the humor that Paul Hogan uses to bring this concept to film takes what sometimes seems familiar story lines and raises them to the wonderfully unique. It has one of those rare mixes of humor, drama, and bittersweet and thought-provoking themes. Hogan provides a consistent character throughout and writes an ending that should be quite satisfying for those who hate the vague, confusing ends so popular with script writers today. Like, Oh God!, I find the movie uplifting with each viewing, as I find Crocodile Dundee's offbeat humor refreshing each time. Regardless of the rating you would give, I am sure you will at least feel the time spent watching this film was worth it.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A "cute" Movie
ccthemovieman-121 November 2006
Once again, the husband-and-wife duo of Paul Hogan and Linda Kozlowski - team up for a film, as they did in the Crocodile Dundee series.

At face value, this appears to be a fun and appealing family film with the likable Hogan playing an angel. Even though he's a charming "angel" with a good heart and a good sense of humor, this is no Biblical angel, that's for sure. Actually, he's an almost mortally-wounded man who thinks he died and is an angel "on probation." So what you get is the Liberal ideal of what an "angel" would be (see above) but who also uses the Lord's name in vain, cheats and lies - not exactly according to the Book. Of course, part of that is played strictly for laughs.

Overall, it's still what they call a "cute" movie. I guess you could also call it a good "date" movie.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cheesy, but enjoyable...
MovieAddict20161 February 2004
Paul Hogan (Mr. Croc Dundee himself) is a criminal who dies and is then sent back to earth by God in order to sort of redeem himself. There are a few good scenes and feel-good moments (if contrived), and Hogan (originally offered the title role in "Ghost" along with Bruce Willis, which he sorta remade here) is a likable enough guy to carry a movie.

Silly, contrived, sappy, but good.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Old-fashioned fun
utgard1420 April 2020
Warning: Spoilers
By old-fashioned I don't mean it's a completely family friendly movie. It's definitely not. But it's the kind of story they made a lot in "the good old days." Paul Hogan plays a thief who dies and is sent back to Earth as an angel looking for redemption. It's all handled lightly and the movie is quite fun despite some darker parts. It's the kind of movie where a guy can invent stuff that does almost magical things yet he doesn't immediately patent it and make a fortune. Again, old-fashioned. Paul Hogan is great and keeps the movie afloat even if the script isn't impressive. Linda Kozlowski is easy on the eyes, even dressed like a nerd here, but she doesn't get much to work with. Give it a look. I doubt you'll hate it unless you read the plot description and were immediately filled with rage. If that's the case get some therapy please.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An all time classic
bevo-1367830 March 2020
I like the bit where he gets into a fight with the guy in a wheelchair
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Wonderful Surprise
slochmiller-388119 September 2019
A good movie with warmth and meaning. A welcome evening of entertainment and encouragement. Thank you.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Angelic
robertskinner-5767130 August 2019
Paul Hogan tried something different and it worked. A pleasant movie to watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
How can you fault a movie with a big heart?
mark.waltz21 January 2021
Warning: Spoilers
With the click of a switch from his early universal remote, released con Paul Hogan finds himself called to a higher power when he nearly loses his life and meets Charlton Heston at the pearly gates. Playing God, Heston send Hogan back to become a better person and to aid the needy rather than commit crimes for his own benefit. Hogan is an angel almost now simply because he's still breaking the law and utilizing cons to help others, and that results in a most charming little comedy.

Along the way, Hogan befriends pretty Linda Kozlowski (whom he married in real life that year), the sister of Elias Koteas, an embittered man in a wheelchair whom Hogan had earlier befriended in a bar. Koteas takes Hogan home to stay with him and after charming their mother, Doreen Lang, Hogan works on the kind but romantically hard boiled Kozlowski by doing good work at the recreation center for latchkey children that she runs.

When Hogan brings around wealthy Parley Baer to donate money to the center, Kozlowski begins to really open up, but issues with her brother Koteas crop up which really challenges Hogan's belief that he's an angel. From my recollection, this film came and went very quickly, dwindling Hogan's quick success on screen, but it is actually a film that deserved quite a bit more attention, a film along the lines of "It's a Wonderful Life" and "Heaven Can Wait". Hogan's charm is undebatable, and his supporting cast, particularly Koteas and Lang, are terrific. The mix of laughter and tears really works here, and there are a few scenes that really choked me up.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
It was okay
pizzadogstudios1 June 2020
I mean for a movie from the early 80s or 90s, I can't say this wasn't good. It had some really funny moments, especially from Hogan himself, and it had some really touching moments that would seem like something God would do. The only thing for me is they were trying to play with God a little and try to make a movie without really understanding it. That's something that I really don't appreciate and kind of bugs me, as well as some moments where the things that God would do were done by Hogan's character. Aside from that, most of the acting was really well done, the comedy was hit or miss, and the story was decent. That's really all I can say without going into spoilers, which I'm trying not to do.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyed this little Gem
cricrazy3 October 2019
I started the movie with full expectation to stop in the middle when I am bored or ready to sleep. I did finished the entire movie and I must say, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

It is by no mean a super funny or super gripping movie. But it is charming, funny, cute, clean movie. It brings a good morals without being too preachy.

Paul Hogan is charming as ever. Linda Kozlowski, Elias Koteas do a pretty decent job. The plot is simple and slow, but interesting.

Don't go by Rotten Tomato's rating, they don't give more than 3+ rating for any movies that had word God in them without being used as a curse word.

Overall, if you enjoy a family friendly, funny, cute movie from 80s-90s, you won't be disappointed.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A fairly worthy follow up to "Crocodile Dundee"
soranno21 October 2002
Paul Hogan attempts to get some laughs outside of the "Crocodile Dundee" films. Sometimes he does and sometimes he doesn't. His fantasy tale of a dead criminal's spirit (who he portrays) who suddenly begins doing good deeds for people in order to gain the status of "permanent angel" doesn't always work but it's not really a flop. Many of the film's best scenes go to Elias Koteas who portrays a paraplegic befriended by Hogan. The film also features Hogan's "Crocodile Dundee" films costar and real life wife Linda Kozlowski.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
More Proof That Angels Are Hard to Find.
tfrizzell12 June 2004
Dull little comedy about a small-time crook (Paul Hogan) who gets out of prison and thinks he is an angel after a freak accident. Naturally he justifies everything he does (including criminal activity) by saying that he is one of God's messengers. And of course he falls in love with a woman (real-life wife Linda Kozlowski) and tries to help her wheelchair-bound brother (Elias Koteas, in a wasted role for him). Hogan's financial success with the first two "Crocodile Dundee" films in the late-1980s led to this sappy little sleeping pill. Hogan, who wrote the screenplay, basically does the same routine he did in the series that made him famous. The subject matter and the black comedy here feels forced and uninspired. A dramatic route late with supernatural aspects mixed in is totally out-of-place and even a bit contrived. 2 stars out of 5.
4 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed