Boiling Point (1990) Poster

(1990)

User Reviews

Review this title
35 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
It's about change.
cheathamg8 February 2010
A lot of the comments have been about the film's relationship to the nature of violence, and it's true that it is a violent film. However, that's not the point of the movie. The film starts showing a young man sitting in the dark. He comes out into the light and walks slowly to where the action is taking place. He is dull, uninvolved, uninterested in what's going on. In the beginning, events happen to him. It is only after he is attacked by a hoodlum that he begins to take action himself. He volunteers for the mission to buy a gun and while on that expedition he is exposed to a wide variety of experiences that force him to become a more active personality. After his return he shows himself to be a take charge guy. The symbolism of the butterfly eggs is one of metamorphosis. The title "Boiling Point" has a meaning of change, the point at which water turns to steam. Finally, the last scene is of him in the same darkness as he was at the beginning, but this time when he emerges his movements are quick and jaunty. He is a different man.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very hard to get, but wonderful
OriginalMadman24 June 2001
Simply an awesome movie. I have no idea whatsoever if I got the movie the way intended. But what I did get was a couple of things. It's one of the funniest and most bizarre films I have ever seen. No matter what happens, people crashing motorcycles, getting beaten etc, no one, ever, shows any emotion. Just the "classic" japanese stone-face. There is no soundtrack in this movie either, and tempo is kinda low, but explodes now and then with meaningless violence. This might sound like utter crap, but Kitano pulls it off, and does it very well. It works, it's fun and it's interesting.
30 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great movie, but not for everyone!
meckert-33 August 2007
Well it's not a good film to watch on Sunday with your family. It's not a good movie if you're looking for some action. It's not a good movie if you're looking for philosophical dialogs.

But it's a great movie if' you're a Kitano fan. It's a great movie if you're interested in Japanese culture. It's a great movie if you like to sit back for a while and think deeper about what you're watching - it seems that throughout the film there's not much going on - the main character remains mute for most of the time, there is no music soundtrack in the background, the plot itself is not a straightforward one - you'll get the point right only after the last scene.

In some moments "Jugatsu" seems to be telling a simple and seemingly a little boring story - but a second after it blows in your face with aggression so intense that you start to think were it came from. It is not about blowing guts out or shooting people in the head. It's deeper.

What "Jugatsu" is about ? It's about revenge, loyalty, love and violence.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Kitano's very different yakuza film
Bogey Man14 June 2002
Takeshi Kitano's yakuza related trilogy consists of Violent Cop, Boiling Point and Sonatine. All these films are very different together, but they still share the usual elements of Kitano: Violent Cop is the bleakest, Boiling Point is the funniest and also oddest and Sonatine is like the combination of these two previous films, and Sonatine is also the greatest in the trilogy and also one of Kitano's most beautiful and greatest films. Boiling Point is very comic, but has also some Kitano elements of beauty and peace that we could see in his forthcoming films like Sonatine and Hana-Bi. Boiling Point tells the story of a baseball team and its relationship with the local ruthless yakuza gang. When couple of the team members decide to get a gun and fight some justice to the situation, we meet Kitano's character, a little criminal, who also has troubles with the yakuza. Kitano's character in this film is the most perverse and twisted I've ever seen! What follows is tragic and comic happenings as these tragicomic people try to get rid of the greedy and exploiting yakuza criminals, and stay alive at the same time.

There are many fine elements in this film, and this is pretty close to Sonatine, as both films have peaceful and incredibly beautiful scenes involving sea and flowers. The comic elements are very black and it is easy to see that Kitano was a comedian before starting his masterful directing career. His humor is often cynical, ironic and very personal. Just remember the scene at the bar, for instance! Kitano's humor demands brains to be fully understood and it is never as easy to laugh at and enjoy as some Jim Carrey farce (nothing against Jim, though). But Boiling Point is definitely not a mere comedy, it is a Japanese yakuza story with comical elements. The yakuza is presented here as stupid and childish bunch of criminals, who have to prove themselves that they are bad guys and worth respecting. There is a brilliant scene involving flowers and two machine guns, as Kitano and his pal decide to finish the miserable life of one yakuza team! In Kitano's films, usually guns are for men like extended penis: so important in order to "be someone." Violence is usually the only way Kitano's characters are able to communicate together.

The elements of beauty are always heart stoppingly effective in Kitano's art, and the scene at the flower field is very fantastic and memorable. And this was only the beginning as we witnessed the beauty and power of films like Sonatine and Hana-Bi couple of years later. Takeshi Kitano is simply one of the greatest artists I know, and his cinema is as unique as cinema itself was in its birth, over 100 years ago. There is no comparison for his films, they are so personal and come straight from the heart of this man.

Boiling Point is not Kitano's greatest film, but still more than noteworthy. It is tragic, funny, exciting and challengingly symbolic at the same time, and thus as personal as Kitano's masterpieces. There are many great scenes and acts committed by the characters, and perhaps the only flaw in here is that the film is little too long and slow at the end part of the film. But once the end scene comes, it is again something we could expect from Kitano, and is pretty similar to Sonatine's finale.

Boiling Point deserves 8/10 rating as a very interesting piece of Kitano cinema, and this is a hint of what was to come from this man couple of years later!
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unpredictable
eibon094 April 2001
3-4x Jugatsu/Boiling Point(1990) focuses on the theme of rebellion. The second consecutive film by Takeshi Kitano with an outsider who goes against the system. Masaki is a reactionary character who is content to be a nobody. He is an outsider who tends to do things just for the heck of it. Masaki and Uehara have a lot in common because both fight and lose to the system.

Uehara is a charismatic anti hero who is in the film for a small period of time. I only wished that Uehara had more screen time in Boiling Point(1990). Uehara is the meanest and sadistic person in a Takeshi Kitano directed picture. "Beat" Takeshi plays Uehara with flamboyant sadism and unpredictable viciousness. "Beat" Takeshi in Boiling Point(1990) follows in the footsteps of fellow tough guys, Lee Marvin, Robert Mitchum, Charles Bronson, Klaus Kinski, Richard Widmark, Harvey Keitel, Telly Savalas, and Lawrence Tierney.

The act of sodomy by Uehara on his best friend is a shocking scene that attacks the nerves of the viewer. The images from this scene are off beat and unsettling. Uehara seems in this scene to prefer being in the company of of his best friend than his girlfriend. Its scenes like this that gives the film a brutal and dark comic edge. You will never see a scene like this in a Hollywood picture nor for that matter in an American Independant Film because very few are bold and daring filmmakers.

3-4x Jugatsu/Boiling Point(1990) is the first true Takeshi Kitano film that has his trademarks of off beat images, moments of dullness, and sudden violence more completely than in his debut, Violent Cop(1989). Also the first film that Takeshi Kitano wrote and directed on his own. Its here that Takeshi Kitano came into his own as an auteur and movie maker. Takeshi Kitano has a passion for the sport of baseball which is why the main character is a member of his local town's baseball team. Takeshi Kitano films a flash forward sequence that reminds me of Point Blank(1967), the early films of Alain Resair and Nicolas Roeg, plus The Limey(1999).

The acting portion of the film is not a strong point for the director here. Average in fact compared to the other departments of the motion picture. "Beat" Takeshi takes the cake with his amazing performance as the unpredictable, Uehara. Masahiko ono does alright as the average and lazy Masaki. The acting from the rest of the cast varies from person to person.

A favorite motif of Takeshi Kitano is the scene of people hanging out and playing at the beach. In his best films, there is a scene where the main characters go to the beach to relax and take it easy. These scenes show the good nature of the characters of Uehara and his best friend when they are not doing bad things. The beach motif in Boiling Point(1990) is for the main characters a place to find peace and tranquility with its calm waves, soft sands, and cool blue skies. These scenes make the characters very likeable.

A lot of the visual use and motifs from this film is used again in both Sonatine(1993), and Kids Return(1996). The scene where Uehara kills his boss with a machine gun is used in the climax of Sonatine(1993). The idea of the person who messes up in life plays an important role in Kids Return(1996). Suicide is a theme that plays a major role in both Boiling Point and Sonatine. If Violent Cop(1989) is the older brother of Fireworks(1997) than Boiling Point(1990) is the older brother of the masterpiece, Sonatine(1993).

The violence in the film provides an interesting counterpoint to the dullness of life. Violence at times in here happens without reason or warning. Violence in the universe of "Beat" Takeshi is not pleasant nor romanticized but vicious and ugly. Violence in Boiling Point begins and ends quickly without any regards for the aftermath. The violent behavior from the characters of the film is something that is in all of us human beings whether we like it or not.

The director is a genius at mixing images of humor with images of brutality. The visuals here are much more bizarre than in Violent Cop(1989). Takeshi Kitano is excellent at using images and natural sounds to tell a story. Boiling Point(1990) uses images with the same flair and style of the Silent film era. There are images of beauty and images of ugliness that makes the film fascinating to view.

3-4x Jugatsu/Boiling Point(1990) is the second chapter in the lifelong "Beat" Takeshi series. The editing is done at a rapid fire pace. The scene where Uehara bashes a bottle of beer over and over again is done with humor. Other humorous scenes are the sequence where Uehara asks his best friend to cut his finger for sleeping with his girlfriend even though he told him to do it and the scene where Masaki and his best friend have trouble firing a gun because the safety is off. Takeshi ends the film with his usual bleak finale.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
First film announcing the others
DUBOSTg16 April 1999
This is the second film of Kitano, but the first which is really his, since "Violent Cop" was not initially to be directed by him. What is striking is that in this first film, we can see the premises of the next ones. Though not a real 'yakuza' film, they play a great role in it, and many scenes, are they shot in a bar, on the beach or in a flower field remind us of what Kitano will shoot later for Hana-Bi or Sonatine. A very interesting film, very satirical towards the japanese society and the yakuzas that behave violently just to convince themselves they are tough guys; even if I personally prefer his other movies.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A weirdly compelling film.
contronatura20 February 2000
While not as good as some of Takeshi Kitano's other films like Violent Cop or Fireworks, this still has much to recommend it. For one, this has Kitano's always-stunning direction and twisted mix of comedy and shocking violence. Kitano himself appears in a small role as a gangster, and it's perhaps his most twisted role to date. I would probably only recommend this film to Kitano fans, since it is very muddled and not as tight as his other films. But as a Kitano fan myself, I did like it very much.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Completely wild CONTAINS SPOILERS
zdz88881 August 2001
Warning: Spoilers
This is a movie about a dorky baseball player that becomes a man. The movie starts out with a baseball game and focuses on this character and shows how he is apathetic towards life, a born loser. He sucks at baseball, nobody really likes him that much and he has no girlfriend.

When he goes back to his job, a gangster from the Yakuza, Japanese mafia, is complaining about the carwash he got. So then the baseball player guy (i can't keep all these Japanese names in order) tries to hit him but is blocked. THe gangster says he broke his arm and goes to the doctor. Well this doesn't sit well with the Yakuza so they want to carwash owner to become part of his gang.

The coach of the baseball team, now a bar owner, used to be in the Yakuza. He tells them to not give the kid any trouble, but to make himself clear he beats the living crap out of the guy that took over his job. Now, this movie doesn't have a lot of blood, but every scene of violence is brutally disturbing. You don't expect it. The sea is calm and then all of the sudden a 100ft tidal wave destroys the shoreline. Anyway, that guy gets paid back by getting beaten so bad he he can't walk. He says he is going to get a gun and kill the yakuza boss, but since he can't walk the baseball player and his other outcast friend go to Okinawa to buy a black market gun from the military base.

One the way they meet "Beat" Takeshi, and I probably bet they wish they hadn't. The whole middle of the movie deals with their adventures with Takeshi's completely sadistic, perverted, insane character. Never in a movie has there been a likeable but aslo highly dispicable character all in the same person. He has no morals but he does, he hates everyone but he loves his friends. He's a paradox. I guess they put that whole part in as a way to show the two baseball players loss of innosense as they witness multiple acts of gratuitous sex, dismemeberment, murder and arms dealings.

The two guys return to the outskirts of Tokyo and take the gun to the Yakuza headquarters. In attempting to fire it, the gun jams and two of the tree guys get beaten severely. The "star" baseball player then returns and drives a gasoline tanker straight into the headquarters, blowing up the whole thing.

This movie is unlike any American film. I have recently turned to only watching foreign films because of my utter distaste for hollywood garbage and this film has definately pleased me.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A bit of a let down
cranialblowout21 January 2003
Having heard good things about Takeshi Kitano's films, I was looking forward seeing "Boiling Point", having purchased both this and "Sonatine" in the sales, even though it broke my Golden Rule of impulse buys: don't buy any film with quotes from un-named sources on the sleeve (especially if they've got spelling mistakes), in this case "A Genuine Original", "Beautifully directed, Indispensible viewing".

Anyway, the quotes were more misleading than lying, as the film definitely is both original and beautifully directed, but only really indispensable for fans of Kitano's, who don't need me to tell them to watch it. For everyone else, it probably isn't the best Kitano film to start with. Marketed as an action movie, the film is much more and much less: it has more heart and intelligence, but much less in the way of action or excitement, feeling more like a slow-burning drama with a little bit of gun-play and one big explosion; John Woo this ain't. However, the acting, from Kitano in particular, is excellent as is the stylish direction: Kitano fills the screen with beautiful images and twisted humour.

Worth a look, if you keep in mind that's very slow moving tale, with more baseball action than there is action movie. *** out of five.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Watch out for Kitano!
Captain_Couth3 December 2003
Boiling Point (1990) is about a goofy guy who works at a convince store and plays sandlot baseball in his spare time. His head is always in the clouds. One day he insults a high ranking Yakuza member while at work. Then that's when all of his troubles begin. An interesting film by Kitano. This is his second directorial project (after taking over the directorial reigns for an ailing director in Violent Cop). Even though he's prominently featured in the film's trailer, Kitano is only in the film for several scenes (but his part is very memorable). Don't be fooled by the trailer. This is not a hardcore Yakuza film. It's about a young guy who was in the wrong place at the wrong time. He should've "stayed in bed" that day. Poor kid. Recommended.

A.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not the best Kitano.
rainking_es16 March 2007
"Boiling point" is not a movie that you'll easily assimilate. Too much silence, a plot that looks a little bit confusing and that's quite simple at the same time. What's most remarkable about it is the way Takeshi Kitano shoots, his camera is always static, and hi has a very personal view of violence and humor.

Not everyone will understand this story that deals with amateur baseball players and yakuzas, but I guess i's quite advisable for those who love the films of this Japanese director.

*My rate: 6/10

---------------- ---------------- ------------------ ------------------- -------------------
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Inaccessible and surprisingly dull despite a scattering of good things
bob the moo15 October 2008
A local amateur baseball team has some trouble with Yakuza gangsters in the area, with the quiet and unassuming Masaki being one of those victimised the most. Pushed to the point of action, Masaki and his friend go to get a gun to challenge those thugs in power. This quest brings them into contact with the violent and erratic Uehara, who himself is losing to those within the Yakuza holding all the power.

I have been using my DVD rental club to catch up on some foreign films recently and part of this has been watching the films of Takeshi Kitano. Doing this has reminded me what an odd but engaging character he is and, by extension, his films are and I continued to add a few more of his to my list. Boiling Point (not sure why, other than marketing reasons, they settled on that title given that the translation is 3rd and 4th day of a month) is sadly not one of his films that did anything for me other than put me off. It is not that it is without anything of note or merit, but more that it just doesn't hang together as an accessible piece of film. I say this with the full knowledge that Kitano's films are often an acquired taste and tend towards silence and fragmentation of timelines but here it did feel like a deliberate decision to push the audience away.

With the narrative stuttering over the duration it is left to the moments to carry the film and there are not enough of them to go around. Moments of violence, sex and brutality are arresting no doubt and it is interesting to have such an abhorrent character as Uehara in a key place, but these are scattered and not developed. Instead we have the film generally moving in no specific direction in regards structure or characters and it is hard not to find it all a bit dull. The cast don't help by not making that much of an impression at any point other than scenes involving Kitano. He is not as interesting here as in other films but it is hard to ignore him as a violent force in the film. Alongside him the two boys look dull and uninteresting – a problem for them because they are supposed to be the main characters. As director and writer, Kitano may have been making cultural points (as some have suggested) and that context is required but, without the film helping me get it, I have no way to get this context and as a result the film just doesn't work for me. I'm not sold on this "context" argument because it does come from those who will not have Kitano questioned but either way the film is not a success if it cannot even serve those who are familiar with Kitano.

Boiling Point is not a total waste of time as it does have moments and things of interest but as a total product it is inaccessible, dull and built on a plot that is either uninteresting, incoherent or both. Kitano's presence in the second half picks it up a little but nowhere near enough to be worthy of mention alongside the many much better films that he has made.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great!
CroCop11 March 2004
Warning: Spoilers
this is my 3rd Kitano movie (after Violent Cop & Brother), i enjoyed this as much as the other, Kitano's movies move at such a pace which you think would be boring but there's something about his movies which draws you in.

This film was pretty much hilarious and brutal at the same time, i mean you wouldn't usually laugh at woman getting used for sex and getting slapped about harshly at every turn, but the way Takeshi's character does it makes it hilarious, especially the scene involing the ice lollies outside the store...bizarre humour.

This movie had a strange story, it never goes into enough depth to make you get real sucked into the characters, so the final scene, whilst spectacular kind of leaves you thinking 'they all died?'.

Other than a pretty shallow story i found this very entertaining...Takeshi's movies rule! Check this.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Japanese filmmaker Takeshi Kitano directs, writes, and acts in this gangster comedy about the yakuza, the notorious criminal organization of Japan.
toqtaqiya216 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
As always, Takeshi Kitano focuses on characters excluded from Japan's 'economic miracle'. His protagonist Masaki (Ono Masahiko), is a hopeless loser: no education (he is slow on the uptake); no prospects (he works part-time as a petrol-station attendant); no baseball skills (which implies a deficient sense of his place in Japanese society). He imagines crashing a stolen oil-tanker into the yakuza headquarters. In his mind, this suicide gives meaning and shape to a life-time of underachievement. Kitano's own extended cameo as Uehara, the Okinawan gangster who commands self-sacrificing loyalty from his friend Tamagi despite expecting his to sever a finger, submit to sodomy and so on, is a creation in the league of French writer Alfred Jarry's Ubu Roi: a lord of misrule, the embodiment of the disorderly underside of orderly Japan. As a controlled, music-free account of violence, crime and immorality on the verge of erupting through society's placid surfaces, the film is remarkable enough. What makes it phenomenal is Kitano's completely instinctive reinvention of the grammar and syntax of narrative filmmaking, unique in the popular cinema of the 1990s. Although it gave Kitano his second director credit, Boiling Point has all the hallmarks of a film by a debut director determined to get every idea he has ever had about film, life, death and baseball up there on the screen. His subsequent films, such as Sonatine (1993) and Hana-Bi (1997), are more mature but cannot recapture the raw aesthetic excitement of these beginnings.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Slow and full of dull moments
michele-mutti8424 November 2020
I understand that it's a story about pro-active changing yourself but I had to watch this movie in 2x and still felt slow. And I love Japan!

There are plenty of dull moments like:
  • The baseball game
  • Kitano plays baseball on beach with bitc*es
  • A lot of "close up on the emotionless face of the main character and be perfectly motionless for 2 minutes" moments


That Scarface fan-service was ok.

Do a favour yourself and go safe with a John Woo's movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
early Kitano traits in abundance
CountZero31316 October 2007
This precursor to Sonatine and Hana-bi (as well as Pulp Fiction and Jackie Brown) has all the elements that become Kitano trademarks - the skewered dark humour, deadpan expressions, misogyny, long periods of everyday life suddenly punctured by explosions of brutality. The humour works best - the beer bottle over the head gag and the confusion with the gun outside the gangsters' office being particularly memorable. The dialogue is spartan, which works most of the time, but is plodding when it doesn't, as in the reconciliation scene that ends with shared ice-lollies. The biggest sticking point is the character of Iguchi. He dominates the first half- hour, and his failure to reappear after the Okinawa sequence is unsatisfying. In fact, it spoils the whole third act.

This is a bleak vision of modern Japan, strangely de-populated and amoral. It is Kitano's Japan, and if you have had some of that before, you'll lap this up. Certainly not his best, better than Sonatine but not as good as Hana-bi. But good nonetheless.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Very disappointing
BigGuy25 July 2003
I really can't understand how anyone could see anything good about this movie. The story was incredibly choppy, there were numerous unexplicable gaps in the plot and the story. There wasn't a single character in the movie that was enjoyable or likable to watch except maybe iguchi. The main character basically just stood there for the whole movie, not even reacting to what happens around him. The few times he does act it is in a nonsensical way. I suppose that is supposed to indicate a mild-manner man reached his boiling point, but really it just felt contrived.

I suppose maybe if you are a fan of Beat you will like this movie, but he is only in it for a portion of the second half.

This is the lowest I have rated a film in a year and I have seen some really bad movies.
4 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Offbeat yakuza flick from 'Beat' Takeshi
Leofwine_draca12 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Slightly crazy star 'Beat' Takeshi was well-known in the '80s for his role as the host and creator of TAKESHI'S CASTLE, the insane game show where contestants injured themselves in a series of weird games. Takeshi made his directorial debut with VIOLENT COP, an effective and downbeat thriller, and followed up that film's success with this, his second outing as director.

I didn't enjoy BOILING POINT as much as Takeshi's previous film, mainly because of the performance of Takeshi himself. Takeshi appears in an extended cameo in the middle part of the film in a role that has little to do with the main plot; in fact, his thirty-minute turn is like a 'mini film' in itself, a portrait of an insane gangster who dishes out violence to one and all, whether it be his henchman, his girlfriend or the gangsters who formerly employed him. This is Takeshi gone over the edge; he's a sadistic, vindictive character and incredibly his cruel exploits are played for laughs, particularly his repetitive violence towards his girlfriend. Are we supposed to laugh at this stuff, I wonder? Because watching this guy commit rape (on his own henchman in the film's most depraved moment) and casual violence isn't my idea of fun. I liked Takeshi in VIOLENT COP and BATTLE ROYALE, but I couldn't stand him here.

It's a shame, as the rest of the film is pretty damn good. We witness the transformation of a mild-mannered gas station attendant into a suicidal fighter against the mob, and the whole film centres around this character of Masaki. Actor Yurei Yanagi, who takes the leading role in his debut performance, is bloody excellent and a real trooper. Although the film offers the Japanese style of taciturn acting – the male actors rarely show expression on their faces – Yanagi makes us sympathise with his character's plight and, indeed, actually like him.

Although the film is essentially a slow-burning revenge flick, you'll be surprised to hear that the action and violence is limited. There's only one shoot-out in the film, although there are quite a few beat-downs and other moments of crazy violence. Instead there's an emphasis on baseball, with many well-shot matches, and characterisation. Many of the incidents within the film, such as the car and motorbike accidents and the casual violence meted out by Takeshi himself, are played for laughs but the humour value is intermittent, not always working. As a result, BOILING POINT is very much a cult movie, one for lovers of offbeat comedy and bizarre, almost surreal antics rather than fans of traditional gangster movies.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Funny violence
stefanketelsen7 July 2008
Warning: Spoilers
This movie started out pretty slow pacing and kind of boring. I gotta say i was confused the first 40 minutes. But then Takeshi Kitano showed up and then all the fun started. He acts perfect in this movie. You gotta love him in this role. I laughed my pants of. Its good to see some funny violence. One thing i liked about the violence is that there were no exaggerated sounds when hitting. There is just one thing and that is the ending. I have no idea on what happened and i have seen many discussing this topic. I gotta say i have no clue. I think everyone who likes the Tarantino violence should see this movie. Go and find it and buy it. You won't be disappointed.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ice Cream, anyone?
Meganeguard22 May 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Seemingly lost in his own world, Kazuo, Dankan, lives his life in a constant haze. Completely unmotivated, Kazuo's friends and colleagues almost have to force him to participate in local sandlot baseball games and his work as a gas station attendant. After one game in which Kazuo struck out without even trying to swing the bat, Kazuo gets into a scuffle with a yakuza who is a member of the Otomo group. Stating that his man's arm has been broken, the branch boss of the Otomo group pays the owner of the gas station a visit and informs him that he had better make amends with the "injured" yakuza. Learning about the scuffle, the coach of Kazuo's baseball team Ishida, a former high ranking yakuza, promises to straighten things out for the younger man. Ishida does in fact beat up the branch boss, but the man's underlings soon beat him up. In order to make amends with his coach, Kazuo and a friend make their way down to Okinawa to purchase a pistol. However, they find a bit more than what they bargained for.

After being told to return some money the next day and to cut off his finger, Uehara, Beat Takeshi, takes his frustrations out on a car by repeatedly kicking the door of a car. It is at this time that Kazuo and his friend come upon the scene. Uehara, his right hand man Tamagi, and his girlfriend Fumiyo take the two men from Tokyo to a bar where amongst the smoke and karaoke Uehara and Tamagi beat up two men brutally. This is just the beginning of a couple of days of violence.

Considered one of Kitano's lesser films by many, Boiling Point is a slow paced movie that has some explosive bursts of violence. Also this film displays the image of the sea that is a trademark of Kitano's films and like Sonatine, Hana-bi, and much later parodied in Takeshis', the sea is the locale of both play and violence. Also, unlike many of Kitano's other violent characters, Uehara seems to lack the tender core that made characters such as Hana-bi's Nishi likable in his stony way. However, in this film, Uehara is the type who forces his friend to have sex with his lover and thereafter beats his lover Fumiyo on the head because she should not have slept with Tamagi even though she was told to. Add to this a couple of instances of rape, one male and one female; the total package is a completely unwholesome character. Looking back, Boiling Point is indeed a flawed film, but one can see the elements that would one day make Kitano an internationally acclaimed director. Recommended for fans of Japanese film, highly recommended for fans of Kitano Takeshi.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Skewed and disaffected yakusa-baseball-guns comedy
netwallah1 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Strange—an elegant thug picks on a small, shy, hapless baseball player-gas station attendant, who hits him back. The yakuzas take the affront seriously, and there's a complicated multiple-layer plot, involving the main character's sudden improvement as a baseball-player—he hits a home-run but overruns the slow runner ahead of him—and somehow involving a friend and former gangster, Iguchi, who demands respect, and sends the guy to Okinawa to buy a gun. In Okinawa with the slow runner he falls in with a pair of gangsters who party all night and get guns the next day; the main gangster, played by the director "Beat" Takeshi, is casually mean to his girlfriend, and he kills the gun merchant and the very formal yakuzas who are demanding money from him. As the gas station attendant and the slow runner leave he's killed in the parking lot of the Okinawa airport. The gsa and the sr go to the yakuza headquarters with the gun, but they don't know how to take the safety off and get beaten up. The gsa takes a fuel truck and with his pretty young girlfriend crashes into the y hq in an enormous ball of flame. The movie ends as it began, in the darkness of the portable john, and then as the credits roll the gsa trots across the park to the ballfield. I don't know—it's sort of disaffected or something, the main character hardly reacting to the world, expressionless mostly. Some funny scenes, and a lot of tough talk and punching and pointless mess.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good but not the best Kitano
titi-610 September 1999
This movie contains the classical elements of Kitano's movies: Long and comical silences followed by short violent scenes, a (little) romance and nice pictures.

Paradoxically, what prevented me from REALLY REALLY enjoy the entire story of this candid boy seeking revenge were the parts with Kitano playing. They take less than half of the film but seem too out of frame here.

Anyway, the fans will surely like it (as I did).
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Boring
Mister Wolf4 June 2000
*3-4x jugatsu* is a cocktail of drama,crime and absurd situations that never convince.The plot isn't interesting at all and its boring after 30 minutes. Sometimes very bloody,sometimes very hilarious but the humor comes on the wrong moments. The cast does a good job and that's the only positive element of this movie. 4.5/10
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of Beat Takeshi's least accessible movies. It mixes shocking violence, bizarre humour and some beautiful imagery, but fails to really gel.
Infofreak16 March 2003
If this was the first Beat Takeshi movie I'd ever watched I'm sure I would be absolutely baffled! Even admirers of his 'Sonatine' and 'Hana-bi' might find this offbeat movie a bit difficult to get into. Certain sequences are brilliant and simply unforgettable, but as a whole the movie fails to gel, and ultimately disappoints. The first hour or so of 'Boiling Point' features an amateur baseball player who crosses some local Yakuza with disastrous results. The main character Masaki (Masahiko Ono) is deliberately a bit of an idiot and difficult to like. This makes it hard to care about his fate. The movie really picks up when Beat Takeshi's character is introduced. He is completely unpredictable and dangerous, and the most repellent role I have ever seen Takeshi play. These parts of the movie remind me more of Takashi Miike's work like 'Dead Or Alive' than Takeshi's subsequent movies. They are very dark, disturbing with surreal touches and bits of bizarre humour. Takeshi still remains one of the most charismatic contemporary actors, and he displays originality and talent as a writer and director, but I found the movie to be nowhere near as satisfying as 'Hana-bi', his masterpiece released several years after this one. Even Kitano's previous movie 'Violent Cop', which was much less ambitious (and a little uneven) was more enjoyable for me than this. So I say newcomers to Takeshi best steer clear of 'Boiling Point', but fans will find it to be fascinating albeit flawed viewing.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
See Hana-bi instead!!!
anton-62 November 2001
I saw "Hana-bi" and thought it was good so I rented this with a friend.It was going to be a comedy but after about 20-30 minutes we was wondering what we was watching.A weird film that is almost impossible to understand and IT´S NOT A COMEDY. When the film had end I thought it was awful and bad but a couple of weeks later I started to think about it and I now I like the acting and some scenes but see "Hana-bi" instead.2/5
3 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed