Mama, There's a Man in Your Bed (1989) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
You'll Never Laugh So Hard!
Sylviastel17 February 2007
This is one of my favorite French films of all time. Juliet is an French African cleaning woman, mother of five (all with different fathers) and she works hard at a yogurt factory. I love Daniel Auteuil who plays Romauld. Anyway, Romauld is screwed at his job when the yogurt goes bad but it's Juliet who saves the day for him. She takes him in to her already crowded home and of course, they fall in love eventually. They are a mismatched couple in everything but they say opposites attract at least on celluloid they do. I still love Auteuil and think he is one of the best French actors around. Sorry Depardieu, I love you too but Daniel is just sexier. Anyway, the film is worth viewing for sheer enjoyment.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
ignore the idiotic title
mjneu593 December 2010
A more or less typical form of numbskull Hollywood osmosis was responsible for the change of title for this charming French interracial romance when it crossed the Atlantic, from the perfectly adequate 'Romuald and Juliette' (shades of Shakespeare), which at least identifies the two unlikely lovers. Romuald is an aggressive yogurt tycoon who works in the executive suite of a Paris skyscraper; Juliette is the black cleaning woman who empties his garbage overnight, and when she learns of an insider trading and sabotage scheme the two become allies and (inevitably) lovers. There's nothing deep or significant here, but the script is both sensitive and, at times, even clever, and (surprisingly) never loses sight of the obvious social/racial/economic gaps dividing its two protagonists. But to say it ends happily-ever-after is an understatement: the resolution is too incredibly upbeat. And does it seem odd that a French film should have to justify their affair by showing Romuald's wife also fooling around?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A splendid mood lifter!
M1racl3sHapp3n30 October 2021
In a world of prejudices only love can unmask the truth of who we really are. This movie is just like a precious jewel packed with wisdom and emotions but brave enough to show the other side of the coin. The message : be brave, follow your heart and intuition! The acting is spectacular, the plot so captivating that I willfully postponed my trip to the bathroom not to interrupt the movie. Don't miss out on this one.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Charming Movies Like This Are Rare Indeed
gregorybnyc5 May 2004
I don't know how I came across this film, but I think it was because of Daniel Auteuil, an actor I had not encountered before I first saw this film in the early 90s. I've since bought the video and have watched it many times. The sweet story of a myopic French executive and his black office cleaning lady is not at all racist as someone previously posted here. And it's refreshing to see a love story starring a woman with a Junoesque figure. Fermine Richard is a splendid, sexy presence, and the scene where her son is let out of prison and her greeting to him is hilarious. Daniel Auteuil, as the clueless executive whose eyes are finally opened is a sensational actor and he's actually handsome in this film. Usually he's submerged in some character, and you forget that he can be an effortless leading man. The children--his and hers--are delightful, as is Romuald's ex-wife and bumbling underlings who seek to oust Romuald from his position as the CEO of a successful yogurt company, play their absurd parts with winks and nods.

Again it is the masterly hand of Coline Sereau who lets this warm comedy unfold with grace and sweetness that make for a delightful time. I had heard the film was optioned for an American version with Richard Dreyfus in the part of Romauld. Sounds awful. Watch the masterly original instead!
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Sweet
Darguz10 March 2004
This is a very sweet film. While it has its humorous moments, I wouldn't really bill it as a comedy, but perhaps it's funnier if you're French. But I really loved the characters and the story. Firmine Richard is a real beauty (I'm going to look up more of her films), and I too fell in love with Juliette. I saw "Le Placard" last week, which was my first exposure to Daniel Auteuil; I didn't know he was in this film until I started watching it. There are a lot of great French actors that Americans are too unaware of. Expand your horizons folks -- watch foreign films. There are some real gems out there. Go to your library and check out a few.

Now, this 10-line-minimum rule is really starting to get annoying. I think my comment above is quite adequate, but the system still won't allow me to submit it. You folks really need to change that.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Wonderful Feelgood Comedy
devonblue1 October 2008
I would not compare it to Le Placard, which IMHO had more comic moments, but Romuald & Juliette while being a slow starter certainly kept your attention going throughout the film, nicely paced and reaching a heart warming conclusion :) There were many marvellous comedic moments, some brilliant pathos and realistic situation acting by all actors.

It was a typically French film, in which while confronting prejudices and phobias, which in turn the made the viewer confront his own shortcomings! I am certainly pleased to have this in my library, and will no doubt watch it time and time again, which to me is a mark of a great film.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pleasant and silly
rucricket26 October 2013
I watched this film with only the vaguest idea of the plot and only recognizing the name of Daniel Auteuil. Though not outstanding, this film managed what it aimed and left me feeling in a happy mood at the end. A fairly implausible plot takes nothing from a humorous work and if anything only adds to it. Not an Oscar winner by any means, nor does it aim to be. Auteuil is good, as one expects, but Firmine Richard is very entertaining as a strong willed mother of five. It's all very 80s, the clothes, the music, the technology, but it dates well. There are some really laugh out loud moments and some sad moments, as well as some boring moments, but the director and script keep the film moving quickly and the dull moments are few and far between. A very entertaining film and well worth a watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A french farce with plenty of wit, joie de vivre and social satire
rosie-brocklehurst8 February 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Why does this film lift my spirits when I am in the lowest of moods? It always does, and has done so for 25 years. I watch it at least once a year. Daniel Auteuil has the most expressive face. Firmine Richard, an untried ingenue when she made this, just lights up the room when she smiles. (Auteuil was brilliant as Ugolin, the dim innocent peasant of those masterpieces of French cinema - Jean De Florette and Manon Des Sources, based on the Pagnol novels.) Auteuil's face is just as expressive in his role as the duped boss in this fast moving light hearted farce, where he plays the blinkered and pompous chief executive of a multi-national yoghurt producer who develops an unlikely relationship with Juliette, the office cleaner. She is a woman raising 5 children single handedly in a dump of a flat, while working nights and surviving on minimum wages and less sleep. Big, black and beautiful and totally unlike Romuald's chic, over-indulged adulterous wife, Juliette represents woman with all her emotional strength and practical virtue. The contrasts are multiple. Juliette is poor. He is rich. She is French African and black. He is slightly built and white. She is working class. He is Bourgeois. He is blind to the world he inhabits and the scoundrels who surround him. She is good, strong, independent minded and wise. This is the sweetest of films that has the extraordinary ability to reach out and give you a hug.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Different and delightful rom com
theeyeshaveit46927 June 2008
Warning: Spoilers
This movie is a gem! It is the story of Juliette, a perfectly ordinary cleaning woman who works in the large corporate office of a yogurt company, and Romuald, the president of same. He takes no notice of her, he takes no notice of anyone until several plots to wrest his company away from him all hit at the same time. He is lost, no one to turn to and no one to trust when he discovers Juliette. As the cleaning woman, no one pays any attention to her, so they say and do incriminating things in front of her that she is smart enough to catch on to and use to help her helpless and hapless boss.

I was very happy when I finally managed to get the DVD and a second viewing was no less enjoyable than the first, many years before. One of my favorite rom coms ever.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Amusing French romantic comedy with a beautiful soundtrack
GlamGirl-228 January 1999
Daniel Auteuil is sad and silly, sweet and take charge as Romuald the hapless yogurt company CEO who loses his comfortable existence, but finds true love and wisdom. The soundtrack includes a terrific instrumental by Stevie Ray Vaughn--this film gives one hope that we may all find that "someone special" and have the perfect theme to accompany that romance. The perfect film for one who enjoys a good love story as well as a comedy of errors.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A wonderful film!
abigailbfay27 February 2007
This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time! The director did a wonderful job showing the contrasts between social classes, a situation that is very pertinent in France today. All the characters are lovable, especially Juliette and her family. The development of the romance is, while not entirely realistic, at least plausible, and does a wonderful job showing how much people will change for love. I found this to be a heart-warming Cinderella story - but one in which Cinderella is a powerful woman in and of herself. I laughed through this entire film, and absolutely loved it. I recommend Romuald et Juliette to anyone who enjoys unique characters, comedy, and nontraditional romance.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my favourite films
Rach-1317 November 1999
Romuald et Juliette is one of those French romantic comedies where they seem to break all the rules, rather like Trop Belle Pour Toi. The gorgeous Daniel Auteuil learns about true loyalty and love when his life threatens to crash around his ears. The film isn't a preachy morality tale, but a wonderful story that will keep you hooked until the last. Firmine Richard (as Juliette) is a heroine that women will cheer - her laughter is my abiding memory of this warm and witty film. The down-to-earth way she has of including all her children by their different fathers - particularly the birthdays - gives the film an edge that lifts it above your average romantic comedy. But its always the French that seem to show us how effortless this all is!
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
a light-hearted movie that leaves you thinking
caratime226 May 2006
i was glad that this movie did without all the supposed depth of all too many pseudo-serious interracial movies. race was one issue, yes, but so was class...and loyalty...and honesty, etc.

i also loved the idea that the love affair wasn't couched solely in the 'decorative' aspects of either character's appearance. aren't our divorce courts (on both sides of the Atlantic, i daresay!) filled now with enough couples who thought 'looking good. together.' is all it takes to make a solid marriage? in any case, the tenderness and sensuality of both characters was thick enough to cut in love scenes that would have brought a rainbow to any dreary day! in other words, a light-hearted movie that's by no means a light-weight!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funny and Thoughtful
Vickihaha12 March 2003
This movie is a hard-to-find gem! It is the story of Juliette, a perfectly ordinary cleaning woman who works in the large corporate office of a yogurt company, and Romuald, the president of same. He takes no notice of her, he takes no notice of anyone until several plots to wrest his company away from him all hit at the same time. He is lost, no one to turn to and no one to trust when he discovers Juliette. As the cleaning woman, no one pays any attention to her, so they say and do incriminating things in front of her that she is smart enough to catch on to and use to help her helpless and hapless boss. The complications are wild, she is not so ordinary as she seems with five children from five different ex-husbands who are all still madly in love with her, and he is not so shrewd as he thinks he is. This movie doesn't follow a predictable path and that's what keeps you watching. The acting is superb and there are some very moving moments along the way as well. The working class displays more savvy than those above them, almost in the same way "Gosford Park" showed the upper crust is not all it's cracked up to be mentally. I recommend this movie very much. See it! 9/10
19 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Delightful Comedy
charles-bell727 August 2007
This is one of my favourite films; a delightful comedy; so I was thrilled to learn it is about to be released on DVD in the UK, September 2007.

Romuald, played by Daniel Auteuil is a rich company president of a dairy firm. Juliette, played by the excellent Firmine Richard, is a cleaner of the company's Paris offices.Juliette, a black mother of several children, discovers a plot against Romuald who initially ignores her attempts to warn him. Slowly he grasps what this charming lady from the Parisian underclass has been trying to tell him. 'he seeks shelter in her crowded apartment as his marriage and career fall apart. An unlikely love blossoms. Cultures clash in what is a truly delightful light-hearted comedy.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
sweet, romantic, fluffy
ladylabyrinth3721 June 2004
There's nothing wrong with a movie that doesn't attempt to be deep and meaningful. Sometimes, you just want a nice "pick-me-up" to brighten your day. This movie doesn't exactly bring rainbows to your life, but it's not a waste of time either. I don't see the point in trying to bring up a deep-rooted psychological undertone when in fact, the movie is less racist for it's frank and casual attitude about the subject as pertains to the two characters. When He says "why?" to Her, She replies "because you're white, you're selfish, you're ..." and goes on to list a host of personal traits that the man definitely carries. Being White is one of his problems but her characterization of him BEYOND that one fact illuminates her view that his race is only a problem because he embodies all the negative aspects of that. Yes, she's a "lowly" but the fact is that that's reality - many minorities are stuck in low-end jobs living on the "lesser" end of life. The unfairness of this situation is mildly underscored in this movie - she is obviously intelligent, wise and kind. Because she is black, this somehow means that the idea of her entanglement with him is racist? I enjoyed the fact that this movie added race (or allowed to, perhaps the original script didn't include that aspect) to the mix to further dichotomize their differences. The point is that their differences aren't as wide as it seems; she extols his flaws and makes a conscious decision to change those flaws. What could be sweeter than watching a man make himself over for the love of a good woman?

I say anyone who thinks this story has racist elements either missed the point of the movie or they think minorities should never be portrayed as they are globally: trapped in low-end jobs, struggling to live decently and often clashing with the well-to-do who understand nothing of what it's like to live so "miserably". If you think adding a dash of reality in a movie is racist, then you're living in a dream world. I found this movie to be entirely believable mostly because IF such a thing were going to happen in real life, THIS is how it would most likely go down: subtly, spasticly, awkwardly and romantically.

There's nothing wrong with a nice romance movie now and then. All movies don't have to change your life.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So much better than Pretty Woman
plv2go26 June 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This movie came out about the same time as Pretty Woman. While the general theme is the same: wealthy man meets and learns to love a poor working class woman, the characters of Romuald and Juliette are much more lovable and worthy of our time with them. I have never forgotten them and consider the movie superior to Pretty woman in so many ways. Juliette is a remarkable woman and the clever ways she helps her boss overcome his problems will make you cheer. The final scenes contain some of the most memorable lines in romantic comedy. The efforts Romuald makes to win the love of Juliette surpass the puny climbing scene of Pretty Woman a hundred times over. See this movie, it will warm your heart.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent film
ajerika15 October 2005
I love foreign films and this is among the best. I tend to not see this as a comedy as it is listed and find it a commentary on how we see others around us. Firmine the lead in the film is not regarded must as she is a domestic in a large firm and people say and do things around her all the time that they otherwise would not say in front of others.

This leaves her with a bevy of information that can make or break the mere mortal. :) This actress is wonderful as this character and it is a poignant tale. There is an underlying tale and almost many stories within the story in this film. I just hope that if someone does decide to make an American/English version of this film it is not the vein of Three Men and a Baby that would definitely do a disservice to this FILM, A must see.....
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed