Flesh-Eating Mothers (1988) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
39 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Always stupid, but sometimes fun
Tito-811 April 2000
Well, this film has pretty much everything you would probably expect in a movie called "Flesh Eating Mothers". It has poor effects, a weak story, and of course, there are some AMAZINGLY bad actors. However, this doesn't necessarily mean that this is a bad movie. In fact, it's rather funny at times, and some of these laughs even seemed to be intentional. In fact, if it wasn't for a predictable and generally dull conclusion, I'd probably recommend this to people. As it is, it's not a bad way to kill 90 minutes, especially if you like low-budget stupidity.
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The most fun you'll ever have being stupefied!
alanmora12 December 2006
This is a fine example of bad acting and effects taken to just the right extreme to make for a cult classic! There's one bad line after another to make you chuckle and of course plenty of scenes that make you say "What the heck was that?" or "Wait a minute...what just happened?". The plot is good...a sexually transmitted disease is spread around town by the local gigolo which is only effective in women who have had children. The result? Biddies that bite! This little gem leaves very little to the imagination arms are chewed off, babies are eaten, and penises are devoured! A lot of fun...great to watch while you're drinking!
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
So Bad That Becomes Funny
claudio_carvalho4 June 2015
In a small town, the mothers unexpectedly become cannibals, eating their husbands and children. The police officer Cylde McDormick (Mickey Ross) kills his ex-wife when she attacks him after eating their son, but the chief of police Dixon (Ken Eaton) accuses McDormick and arrests him. Meanwhile a group of sons and daughters flee from their mothers. When McDormick escapes from prison, he meets the coroner Dr. Lee Grouly (Michael Fuer) that believes in him. Dr. Grouly researches the tissue from McDormick's ex-wife and his nurse Felicia Dodd (Carolyn Gratsch) discovers a venereal virus and the antidote. Meanwhile Dixon sends Officer Hitchcock (Morty Kleidermacher) to kill McDormick. What is Dixon hiding?

"Flesh Eating Mothers" is a trash so bad that becomes funny. The story and screenplay are ridiculous; the production, direction, performances, camera and lighting are amateurish; the sets and scenarios are poor. The special effects are laughable with lots of ketchup. My vote is three.

Title (Brazil): "Festim do Inferno" ("Feast from Hell")
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Desperate Housewives on Acid
Coventry16 December 2009
Depending on your state of mind and personal standards (obviously mine were very low this time), "Flesh Eating Mothers" can be considered a delightful and charming low-budget late 80's splatter comedy. Of course this is pretty stupid, but if you go into this expected anything else than inane and offensive trash, you only have yourselves to blame people! In a happy little suburban community, the middle-aged mommies suddenly all synchronously develop cannibalistic appetites and begin to devour their husbands and children. The cause of all this tomfoolery is a venereal infection caused by overactive and hyper-sleazy jogging Casanova. Oh he's quite the "stud", all right, especially with his massively hairy chest and smooth talking skills. The adolescents try to fight back, as well as a fugitive copper (the first reasonable man to shoots his cannibalistic wife straight through the head) and a really short coroner. "Flesh Eating Mothers" is a nice and tacky time-waster with cheesy gore effects that are explicit but nevertheless too absurd to shock anyone. For example, there's a particular sequence in which a bunch of women literally tear apart a security guard. The scene is gross but at the same time quite hilarious. Yeah, the execution is pretty clumsy, but hey, at least this film is a lot better than the similarly themed (but also enjoyable) "Rabid Grannies". The teenager characters are surprisingly likable and the goofy soundtrack is irresistibly cheerful. Also, the script contains a lot of really lame and clichéd humor that you can't help but laugh at. Even if they're cannibals, the women remain concerned whether or not they turned off the oven before leaving the house and even in between human meals they debate their silverware. The midget coroner finds love in the arms of a doctor's assistant who's about twice his size and, when seen through a microscope, the venereal disease looks like a badly animated cartoon. The absolute OTT offensive highlight of "Flesh Eating Mothers" features two hungry wives fighting over a cat and literally break it in two. Watch it, if you have a wretched sense of humor!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wonderfully Awful
paradox196021 May 2004
I LOVE this movie! It's one of the absolute WORST productions of a film I've ever seen. The acting, the directing, the special effects, even the lighting absolutely STINK! The scene with the two kids getting high and laughing their butts off talking about her mother eating her baby brother just had me ROLLING on the floor it was so poorly done. The very idea of a sexually transmitted zombie virus is so stupid I can't for a second believe anyone meant this movie to be taken seriously. A must-see if, like me, you're a fan of the hilariously god-awful!
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Sadir of Horror Movies
mprins10 December 1998
One can truthfully say that Flesh Eating Mothers is one of the worst horror movies ever written, directed, and acted. But one can also say that for pure camp enjoyment, there are few movies that are its equal. Insane, irreverent, and utterly incredible, Flesh Eating Mothers is a must-see for all those who enjoy watching awful movies more than they enjoy seeing good ones.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
* out of 4.
brandonsites198114 August 2002
The mothers of a small town that have been sleeping around find themselves infected with a virus that causes them to want to eat their children. Just awful film features a romance sub-plot involving a midget and a rather tall female, hardly any on screen deaths, cartoonish effects, and an awful sense of humor. What they could have done with this premise.......

Unrated; Graphic Violence.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Flesh Eating Mothers Eating My Brain!
CMRKeyboadist27 May 2006
Well, Flesh Eating Mothers is definitely as "B" a movie as they come. Although, anyone who knows anything about "B" horror films will realize that this is by far not the worst out of the genre. Flesh Eating Mothers is a film with tacky comedy, a few decent gore moments, and several little kids getting eaten.

Basically, a venereal disease gets out in a small suburban town and a group of about 6 mothers catch the disease. It starts out with simple hunger then mutates into blood thirst. Soon after, these mothers don't know what they are doing and start eating their children and everyone else around them. The only hope for the town is a group of teenagers that won't stand by and see their mothers eating everyone. How can they stop the onslaught? I first saw this movie back in 1998 when I worked at a Video Warehouse. I had just about seen every horror film in there except for Flesh Eating MOthers and head to rent it. Well, I liked it enough to search for it 7 years later and now have a fairly decent copy of the film. Whether it is uncut, I don't know. But the gore is adequate in the film with a few scenes here and there. The best gore scene is when one of the mothers rips the side of her husbands face off. The acting was as expected, bad. But could have been even worse. The script was bad. Most of the movie was bad. Don't get me wrong, it is still a fun movie, just don't be expecting to see something like "Brain Dead" or "Premutos". 6/10
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cannibalized Moms
Chrysanthepop16 March 2011
What can one expect from a movie titled 'Flesh Eating Mothers'? After reading the synopsis, I knew I had to get hold of this movie and arrange a movie night with friends. Of course. it's also important to be boozed up at least a little bit in order to enjoy something like this to the fullest. How can I describe this movie? Does it even need describing? Well, anyway, it's so bad, I mean so so bad that it's hilarious. The direction, the camera-work, music, acting...everything is so so bad. Not only are the performances abysmal but the actors look hideous. Normally, I do not like to comment about actors' looks in movies but here, with the exception of the porn-star looking nurse, all of them look hideous. The over-the top 80's fashion doesn't help much either. This was such campy fun that we were laughing out loud so often. Of course, perhaps needless to say, the humour is completely unintentional.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It has it moments...
michaelamay30 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
No real spoilers, just mention of two plot events.

Flesh eating mothers. What can one say about a film that starts off terrible and actually gets worse from there? IT'S GREAT!!! Now seriously, what does one really expect from a movie with this title, it has to be bad. Bad acting, bad direction (I take that back, there's no direction), and the most laugh out loud special effects and sound effects ever to grace the silver screen. **I have a piece of trivia about the movie. Several reviews mention the park scene where the kids crack up laughing then they talk about their mothers eating their baby brother. Turns out that was the best take they could get. The actors knew they were in a crappy movie and just could not get through the dialog without laughing. :) ** The bad film work, sound, acting, effects (including the animated virus under a microscope that put pacman to shame), and premise of the film makes it a must for anyone who loves terrible movies. I know you are out there all you z grade movie fans, so rent this one and you won't be disappointed. Well you will be disappointed, but that's the whole point :)
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Enjoyable low-budget horror
hyxtryx14 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This is mostly a rebuttal to all the negative reviews this movie got. Warning: there are spoilers in here, so don't read on if you don't want some of the movie spoiled.

I can't believe so many people hated this movie. What did you expect from a movie called "Flesh Eating Mothers"? Academy Award winning material? It's got a schlock-horror title, it's going to be schlock-horror! Anybody who watched this movie, obviously chose it because of it's title. And that's exactly what you got - Flesh Eating Mothers!

Aside from the fact that it involves... possession, I guess you could say... the premise is pretty unique. Where else have you seen a movie about mild mannered mothers turning into raving cannibals after contracting a sexually transmitted disease?

Granted, the acting is sub-par in a lot of areas, but I found many of the scenes quite funny. How can you not laugh at Rinaldi's mom ending his punishment early and letting him out of his room to have dinner, and asking him if he knows how veal is made, while at the same time tenderizing him to become veal himself... and then bites him on the forehead! The acting in that scene was fine for what it was! It was mostly supposed to be funny, and it succeeded! I don't care about the glass of milk. It's a magic glass. :')

Another scene where the awkward guy/girl are sitting on a park bench getting high and talking for pretty much the first time: Guy:"so what's eating you?" Girl:"I saw my father kissing a strange woman, I mean he had his hands all over her" Guy:"that's pretty bad." Girl:"not as bad as seeing my mom >bursts out laughing from the pot< eat my baby brother!" ... Girl:"No, no, I'm serious. I saw my mother eating my baby brother."

The attempt to convey the double emotion in there was a nice touch, and the way the actress pulled it off in the movie was great I thought.

One reviewer below mentioned a midget. There were no midgets in this movie. Another said that this was a Christian splatter film. While it did mention God, that doesn't mean it was a "Christian" movie. By that token, The Exorcist and Frailty would be Christian movies. And to the reviewer that asked "what does this movie say about adultery? That the men can get away with it and the women can't?" Well, the man didn't survive to tell the tale in the end, did he? And even if there is a bit of one-sidedness to it, the movie is called Flesh Eating MOTHERS. If the men turned cannibal too, it'd be a different movie. And it'd be missing that dichotomy of the fairer sex - mother's no less - being made to be the violent flesh-ripping beasts instead of the usual male in the role.

People talked about how badly the movie was made. If you want to see worse acting, check out "Redneck Zombies" (a good movie in its own right). If you want to see worse acting, script, and plot, check out "Children Shouldn't play with Dead Things". You'll think "Flesh Eating Mothers" is a masterpiece by comparison!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
campy low budget laugh
wrlang25 January 2007
Flesh Eating Mothers, well what can one say. The title sounded hilarious and it was campy kind of funny with some gags and enough special effects to make a go of a horror film. Mothers get a venereal disease that turns them into flesh eating wicked looking gangs. Of course the film was made back in the day when VD was easily cured. There is not much to compliment here, but I think they were just trying to make a film with a funny theme to get people's attention. They seemed to have a lot of fun making it and I can just imagine what the outtakes would have looked like if they were included. In the end, this is a class D film.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Chewed out by mom
nogodnomasters24 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The film has a clever idea. An STD is transmitted from Roddy Douglas (Louis Homyak) to all of his conquests. The virus turns women who have had children in flesh eaters including super human strength and zombie teeth.

The film had Troma style body parts and blood squirts, but lacked the character and dialogue to be a cult classic.

Okay as a rental. "Breathless" is a superior film.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No nudity. Adult themes.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Campy Tromatic Experience
LeeVanNero7 April 2017
that plays out like a Scooby Doo adventure directed by a young John Waters. Acting and script right up there with the likes of Flesh Gordon, and possibly made on an even smaller budget. Mostly lame S/E and make up, though some reasonably well done gore. But great fun, and certainly entertaining. For fans of Troma, and kitsch comedy horror !
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Funny. I felt like my brain was being eaten.
NightOfTheLivingDon19 September 2007
I am a B-Horror Movie junkie. I am an avid collector of blood-soaked schlock. Bad horror movies, in my eyes, "complete the circle" (its so bad it becomes good again by circling back up the quality loop) "Flesh Eating Mothers" is one of the only movies that I've ever seen that pulls a 520 on said loop. It is so bad that it surpasses the good mark and circles back down to the very bottom. I don't know how it did it, but it sure did. The film had all the tools to be a great cheesy horror flick. An 'out there' premise incorporating zombies, some corny-yet-amusing humor, sex, violence...in its respective field, it should have been a homerun! However, the very things that could have made it into a good-bad movie ultimately lead to its demise. The script became too corny, the plot became way too drawn out, the sex and violence became very sparse, and the action was just too too bad. It is up there with the most painfully long 89 minutes in film history.

As a lover of bad film, I cannot turn those brave enough to pop this one into their players away. By all means, see it so that you may form your own opinions. Just don't say I didn't warn you.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Low budget madness
agore323 January 2021
I will not repeat similar comments about the low budget movie that comes across funny. What helps is the New York accents of the actors as it actually adds to the appeal. I feel that we have been conditioned to actors without regional accents except when wanted for "character" and when they appear in movies it may give the impression of bad acting.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
'Desperate Housewives' could NEVER be this much outrageous fun!
Weirdling_Wolf24 December 2020
The singularly unsung name of Trash movie titan James Aviles Martin should be accorded the same veneration as fellow good taste transgressors and zealous envelope pushers, Jackie 'Blood Diner' Kong, Wayne 'Microwave Massacre' Berwick, Don 'Fiend' Dohler and that perfidious pair Bill Leslie and Terry Lofton, those big-thinking, micro-budget maniacs behind 'The Nail Gun Massacre' and yet, bafflingly, Martin's laudable cinematic legacy is nigh on forgotten and his sadistically satirical 'Flesh Eating Mothers' (1988), if mentioned at all, is summarily dismissed with all the lofty ceremony of a dysenteric stool! While the eminently boorish entertainment value to 'Flesh Eating Mothers' joyfully comes not from any narrative subtlety, since Martin's unrepentantly muck-headed opus has all the refined taste of an especially ruinous restroom floor, but his permissively prurient, ceaselessly yucky splatter movie has plentiful guts and we get to enjoy these recently restored, proudly glistening entrails in all their HD, 16mm gory glory! Much like Bob Balaban's twisted 'Parents' (1987) 'Flesh Eating Mothers' also boisterously pilfers the more exploitative, sanguinary tropes of B-Horror in order to bluntly satirize the myriad hateful hypocrisies and internecine intrigues simmering sickly behind the ostensibly immaculate white-picketed fences of small-town suburbia; and one can be quite sure certain that errant appendages infinitely more distressing than mildewed chicken bones lie buried beneath these murderous matriarch's ostentatiously groomed lawns! The contrived conservative domesticity of white bread suburbia is unceremoniously thrown into a retrograde, anthropological apocalypse as multitudinous, murder-mad mommy's become violently afflicted with a hitherto undocumented, virulently destructive, sexually transmitted virus which rapidly engenders an unprecedentedly pervasive desire in mommy dearest to gruesomely cannibalize her progeny's irresistibly sweet savoured flesh! Trash god James Aviles Martin's delightfully crude celluloid ode to explosive chode has innumerably insane highlights, not least being its bafflingly eclectic, super-schizoid score by the truly maverick Hayley Moss which bounds histrionically from deliciously cheesy Casio elevator-core to some righteously grooving didgeridoo-ing! The cast's bravura acting choices, while not always entirely competent are frequently hysterical and the fiendishly unrestrained final act of ceaselessly violent, body-violating cannibal carnage has a vintage John Waters-eque piquancy is a bourgeois-baiting delight! ('Desperate Housewives' could NEVER be this much outrageous fun!)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Trash for lovers of bad movies only
Stevieboy66629 April 2019
Suburban comedy horror about a sexually transmitted disease that turns mothers into flesh eating, zombie-like cannibals. This was obviously made on a shoe string. Everything about it is cheap. The acting is simply awful. Some of the actors playing teens look about 30. Despite being an American film the soundtrack oddly goes for an Aboriginal sound throughout. Plenty of gore, cheap looking but it is fun. This movie is intended as a comedy and it is fun at times. But there is no hiding its amateurish and cheap look. For lovers of bad movies only!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Cool gore, shame about the rest.
BA_Harrison27 January 2018
A sexually transmitted virus, spread by a local lothario, transforms the mothers of a small town into cannibals. A group of concerned teenagers attempt to administer a cure cooked up by a really short coroner and a leggy blonde nurse.

Low budget, tongue-in-cheek horror Flesh-Eating Mothers features a few reasonably splattery gore effects, including a cop having his arm ripped off, a spurting bullet shot to the head, a cat being ripped in half, lots of flesh-eating, and a guy having his face torn away; it also boasts suitably freaky make-up designs for the cannibalistic women (think Jack Nicholson as The Joker with really bad teeth).

Unfortunately, it cannot escape the fact that it's a very cheap and essentially amateurish effort that suffers from a weak script and terrible performances (the actors carry on regardless whenever they fluff their lines).

3.5 out of 10, rounded up to 4 for IMDb.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
See "Back from Hell" instead
one4now426 October 2003
Oddly enough, this is a Christian splatter film that comments religiously against adultery. I'm not Christian, but that's not what soured me on this crap. This is just one of the crappiest movies out there, and I don't judge these movies over continuity errors involving glasses of milk either. It's a horror-comedy that could only be funny if you look for everything they did wrong. The gore FX have their no-budget moments, but any kind of FX never make a movie a good movie, no matter how big a plus they can be. This was just a dull, excruciating mess. There's really nothing else I can say about this junk, and I would recommend "Back from Hell" instead, which is a great no-budget, Christian splatter film.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A gloriously sick and nasty hoot and a half
Woodyanders7 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Blackly amusing horror satire hits an all-time hilariously harsh and unmerciful zenith with this savagely funny, acidic and over-the-top no-holds-barred wholesale darkly comedic assault on two sacred all-American institutions: the sanctity of motherhood and the alleged tranquility of drably affluent middle-class suburbanite existence. A prolific married philander infects several frowzy bored-stiff homebody housefraus with a strange virus which turns the formerly sweet and harmless gals into lethal fiends with an insatiable craving for human flesh. Pretty soon the monstrous cannibalistic matrons are embarking on an all-out murderous spree: Among the grisly splatter highlights are a bang-up bloodthirsty pre-credits sequence depicting a hapless guy blowing away his wife with a shotgun after she rips his arm off, a mother-daughter coalition meeting that degenerates into a ghastly orgy of out of control violence, a severed hand in a refrigerator, a fat corrupt cop being graphically dismembered and ravenously devoured, another police officer filling his bestial better half full of lead when he catches her snacking on her own son, a hateful abusive drunk receiving a suitably brutal retribution from his formerly passive, now quite deadly and aggressive spouse, a cat being torn in half after the maniacal mommies find the cute little kitty hiding in a dumpster, and, most shocking of all, a baby boy getting noshed on. Besides the righteously copious and revolting gore, this film further delights viewers by boldly bucking standard genre conventions. For example, the police prove to be useless incompetents, so it's up to a motley bunch of teenagers which include a surly loner juvenile delinquent hoodlum to save the day. Sure, this movie has its fair share of flaws (flat photography, wildly uneven acting, a tinny, gratingly redundant score), but the ample explicit bloodshed, a few choice campy lines ("What are we supposed to do, stay here and have our a**es chewed out by our mothers?"), and especially the joyfully vicious take-no-prisoners nihilistic humor secure this honey's status as one supremely twisted treat just the same.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A Classic From My Childhood...
jwilliams-bonusstage4 November 2006
Agreed. Wretched movie, but when I first saw this movie, I was 9 years old, and this and Troll 2 totally creeped me out to no end! I kept thinking that my mom was going to eat me and stuff. Since I love milk, she still, to this day, asks me "Have you had your milk today?". I want to find this on DVD, as I'm sure it's absolutely hilarious to watch now!

My only question seriously is whether Eli Roth would be up for doing a sequel or update to this film. I hate his work, personally, and Hostel was a pathetic film. Nonetheless, he's the current king of gore IMO, so it would be nice to see him give this film a much needed update for the younger crowd!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Intensely Awesome!
james_cocos-snowboots2 September 2005
Flesh-Eating Mothers is a bombastic parody of the excesses of modern life. When the over-sexed mothers sit around and discuss their over-active sex lives (without their husband's participation) this movie really hits home as a commentary on modern morality in a world that has lost its teleological end as an ethical culture in which the end of life is ethical satisfaction and contentment with God and His ultimate purpose. As usual in teenage movies, the teenagers are the moral paragons while the adults struggle to live up to their example. This lesson never gets old; teenagers are shown to be more aware of the moral ramifications of immorality as they are more innocent than the parents they are railing against. This is a humorous examination of the ramifications of a world gone wrong, and a humorous one at that!! Highly recommended!!!!!
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bring Your Own Malox
Zantara Xenophobe19 December 2001
Warning: Spoilers
WARNING: This review contains some spoilers, so you might not want to read it. Mostly, it is just minor plot spoilers.

Depression. It can make people do some really stupid things. If I am depressed when I waltz into my local video rental store, I endanger myself to a quite annoying side effect of renting in themes. For example, I was once down enough to rent `The House on Sorority Row,' `Slumber Party Massacre 3,' and `The Last Slumber Party' all on the same day. Now those first two were actually really good slasher movies, but the last one mentioned was possible the worst movie I have ever seen. Today I rented in themes and got `Rabid Grannies' and `Flesh Eating Mothers.' While I nearly liked the first movie, `Flesh Eating Mothers' challenges `The Last Slumber Party' in its badness. Think of anything in a movie (directing, writing, acting, editing, etc.), anything at all, and I guarantee you that it is done with complete ineptness in this movie.

Here is the pitiful plot. The movie is set in a small town, where most horror movies are set. One particular married man happens to have trouble keeping control of his pants, and sleeps around with various women in the town. He's got a virus, a weird STD that he spreads to the women he fools around with. This virus has a terrible effect on women that have had children: it causes them to crave human flesh, even altering their facial features and making them look like rejects from `Return of the Living Dead.' One woman, the ex-wife of a cop, is affected first and devours her child. Her ex-husband arrives to catch her in the act, and shoots her in self-defense. Enter the film's pseudo villain, who's either a judge, a district attorney, or a high ranking policeman. If they mentioned what he was, I missed it, but I am guessing it is the latter. A few years earlier, his wife turned cannibal and chewed his arm off before he shot her, and he covered it up. He covers this new incident up, presumably to avoid comparisons with his past, so the only person that believes the cop is the friendly coroner. When four more mothers simultaneously go berserk and start munching on folk, their children band together and decide `they are responsible for their own mothers' actions.' If you can read that line again without laughing than this movie was made for you.

Not convinced yet by that awe-inspiring plot? Well, let's move on to some other aspects of the film. As I mentioned, everything is inept. Most notably, the direction. Things lurch from one scene to another with virtually no continuity or pace; it really feels like they were making this up as they went along, which is never a good idea. You are led to believe the cop is the main character, but he is removed from the film halfway through and the scene is done really poorly. The picture quality is dark and ugly, in a filthy sort of way…and cheap sort of way. That might have been passable ten years earlier, but this is 1989 we're talking about. Acting….I expect acting to be marginally good. Many movies are slammed for bad acting, but most of those are at least decent. But I haven't seen acting as bad as what this movie contains since seeing cheesy plays other kids put on in grade school. But even these pale in comparison to some of the special effects. First, there is the gore. Blood spurts out of people in a real sloppy way. That might be expected, but combined with the ugly cinematography it is worse that what it should be. There are also sound effects that were edited in. When the mothers eat, cover your ears! They insert laughable chewing and burping noises which do not fit the mouths of the actresses. Worst of all is the sound when they sink their teeth into people. I don't know about you, but I sure didn't know human beings crunched like fresh apples. It felt like the people who did sound effects for the Three Stooges shorts showed up for this one, too. And then there is the virus. When a nurse and the coroner peer into a microscope, they actually show this virus. It is an ANIMATED CARTOON! Seriously, this little brown dot that resembles Pac-Man is seen munching up the insides of a cell. It's so ridiculous it's funny. It makes me wonder if they just took an outdated school educational health film from the early seventies and inserted it into the scene.

Still not convinced? Well ponder this…At one point the villain is woefully discussing the happenings, claiming that the virus is `and act of God.' That this was `His answer to infidelity.' This is a sexist virus. Yes, it is, because it ONLY affects WOMEN, and only ones that have had children. Keep in mind that the person going around spreading the virus is a MARRIED MAN. Three of the five mothers that turn cannibal are widowed or divorced. What is this trying to say about infidelity? That men can fool around all they want and it is okay but with women it is a different story? And what does this say about what they believe God thinks on the subject? As if that wasn't offensive enough, let's not leave out the violence. I like the idea of a film breaking the taboo on killing off a child character, but here it couldn't be more tasteless. Mothers eating their (crispy crunchy) infants alive. And what happens to a cat crossed the line for me. This is not a horror-comedy that you may have been led to believe by the title or movie box. It is pure horror…in more ways than one. So, reader, beware of depression. It could lead you to rent one of the worst experiences of your life. Zantara's score: 1 out of 10.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Campy nonsense
Leofwine_draca24 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The title makes this sound like an exploitative Troma film but in fact it's a very low budget indie horror/thriller with comedic touches. The plot sees a cannibal virus spreading through a small town and only attacking women, hence the title. The town's menfolk have to figure out a way to save their loved ones while a series of very low budget gore scenes takes place, none of which are remotely believable. I think the filmmakers had no choice but to go for a campy approach as there's no way anybody was going to take this lighthearted nonsense seriously. Expect wooden acting, OTT villains, a handful of decent FX and general boredom.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed