Pin (1988) Poster

(1988)

User Reviews

Review this title
51 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
"Talk to Pin"
Gafke5 November 2003
Pin is a quiet, unsettling movie, a horror of the mind. Strongly resembling "Psycho," Pin still manages to stand on it's own as a deeply disturbing psycho-drama. Leon and Ursula are the children of ice cold parents; mother is a frigid neat freak, father is a distant man who cannot even tell his own children about the facts of life. Instead, he has Pin do it for him.

Pin is a life-sized medical mannequin covered (like the furniture in their home) with a sheath of see-through plastic. Father brings Pin to "life" with ventriloquy. Ursula knows it's a dummy, but Leon believes Pin is real.

Leon is a 1980s version of Norman Bates. He hates his parents, but yet he grows to be very much like them; distant, cold, always neat and clean and dressed like a department store mannequin. The irony here is brilliant. He has no friends, but for his sister and Pin. When their parents die in a freak car accident, Leon shows some signs of rebellion; ripping the plastic off the furniture and not cleaning the kitchen after a messy dinner. But the rebellion is short lived when Leon brings Pin into the house to live with them.

David Hewlett as Leon is excellent, so sad and lost one moment that you simply want to hug him, so vicious and psychotically frightening the next that you want to run the hell away from him as far and as fast as you can. Cyndy Preston as Ursula is one of the most likable characters I've seen in a long time. She is a genuinely sweet person, compassionate and kind, and she loves her brother dearly even though she realizes that he is a paranoid schizophrenic. She is the only one who manages to escape from the cold prison her parents have made for them both. Leon, hopelessly lost to Pin, is ultimately consumed by the dominant personality.

This film never got much attention, lost as it was in the wash of 1980s splatter films. This is indeed a shame, because Pin is everything that a good horror movie should be: quiet, tense, nerve-wracking and emotionally involving. You care about the characters, unlike the teens in slasher films whom you never get to know as a living, breathing human beings. These people are not just meat for the grinder. You like them, you want them to survive and conquer and overcome the past. All of these elements make this film that much harder to watch, and that much more horrific in its final, chilling moments. The ending is indeed a classic bittersweet one.

Highly recommended for people who enjoy a good, dark descent into the warped mind.
48 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Nice! Where did this come from?
capkronos4 March 2003
Seldom is this film spoken of and that's a shame. Impressively written and directed by Canadian filmmaker Sandor Stern (who is probably best known for scripting THE AMITYVILLE HORROR), this underrated psychological thriller comes as a rare and welcome surprise, especially at a time when Freddy, Michael Myers and Jason were hacking their way through theaters (and sadly, hogging most of the attention).

The prosperous Linden family live in tight household headed over by a very stern doctor father (Terry O'Quinn) and an obsessive-compulsive clean freak mother (Bronwen Mantel) so extreme she keeps plastic slip-covers over all the furniture. When their sheltered children, Leon and Ursula, begin to start inquiring about the birds and bees, O'Quinn uses his ventriloquist skills to bring a medical display dummy named Pin to life to answer their questions. The film then jumps ahead ten or so years when the parents are killed in a car crash and Leon (David Hewlett) begins to display schizophrenic tendencies. He still believes Pin is alive and is eventually reduced to using Pin to murder his "enemies" to keep his sister (Cyndy Preston) in his life.

A film as subtle and quiet as this one requires solid, serious dramatic performances to work and Hewlett, Preston and O'Quinn don't disappoint in this thoughtful and eerie film. A real sleeper. Don't miss it! Based on a novel by Andrew Niederman (who also wrote the novel the film THE DEVIL'S ADVOCATE was based on).

Score: 8 out of 10.
32 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A plastic treasure
fertilecelluloid30 December 2005
"Pin" has a strong, troubling, psycho-sexual undercurrent -- that's why I like it. I didn't mind the Andrew Neiderman novel, either, which presented the character of Pin from a totally realistic perspective. The atmosphere director Sandor Stern conjures here reminded me of the Virginia Andrews novel,"Flowers in the Attic", though not the ghastly film version. The children's world is enclosed and corruption of some kind is inevitable. In this, Pin is a life-size medical mannequin who is used as a parental surrogate for two children whose parents are too screwed up and occupied with their own affairs to see the folly of their decisions. The film is dark and moody, sexually loaded, and awfully grim in parts. The "voice" of Pin is disturbing in the extreme and his mere presence in each scene is fascinating but unnerving. Directed with enormous skill and beautifully acted. A treasure.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A different sort of 80s horror film
ThrownMuse26 April 2005
Leon and Ursula's parents aren't very affectionate. Their mother cares more about a spotless perfect household and their doctor father is always at work. He often brings them along, and uses ventriloquism to make it seem like his medical "anatomy" dummy is speaking to them. The kids are quite fond of the dummy (Pin) and believe he is really alive. As teens, after various upsetting events, they find themselves living in their home alone. Ursula is trying to become a well-adjusted adult, but Leon finds that his only true friend is Pin and still thinks he is actually alive. Is he? Or is Leon going crazy?

This is a very bizarre movie, and one of the better horror films I've seen from the 80s. The first half hour or so is sort of awkward to watch due to some of the children's experiences. The latter half of the film doesn't focus on Leon's psychology as much as one would expect, though it is clear that the kid has a warped idea of sexuality based on his twisted parental guidance and a freaky...incident he witnessed involving his beloved Pin. The acting is above average for an 80s horror film, and most genre fans will recognize David Hewlitt from "Cube." He does a good job playing the potentially-psycho teenager, and Cynthia Preston is marvelous as the sister trying to bring some stability to the family. Overall, this is an interesting, mildly creepy, and refreshingly toned-down offering from the decade of excess.

My Rating: 7/10.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Interesting slow paced psychological movie
dschmeding11 May 2008
I watched this movie expecting some kind of a horror/thriller from most of the comments here. Of course the basic story has quite some resemblances of the famous "Psycho" but I think that this movie is far more into the psychological level and less into thrills and chills. Thats why I now get some of the negative remarks because if you want to get a psycho axe wielding maniac and his rotten mom you sure will be disappointed by nice guy Leon and his pretty boring doll.

If you just watch Pin for what it is and that to me is a kind of apsychological drama, then it makes much more sense and has some interesting insights. The story revolves around two kids Leon and his Sister Ursula who grow up in a very conservative upbringing. Their mother a 60s cliché of a cleaning obsessed house woman and their father a doctor whom his kids call "Sir" and who teaches them several things through an anatomical doll using ventriloquism. The doll named "Pin" becomes a part of their lives and especially Leon becomes attached to it also talking to him in his fathers absence. Years later their parents die in a car crash and Leon and his sister start living on their own. From here on Pin becomes Leons Alter Ego and kind of a family member ... the downward spiral picks up pace and troubled Leon who desperately tries to keep his "family" together by keeping Ursula from other peoples influences starts going over the edge.

Ursula know about Leons mental state and plays along with his schizophrenic role play and the Pin doll which Leon gives his voice just like his father did. She doesn't want her brother to end in a sanitarium, realizing too late that her playing along just makes things worse.

The movie is very slow and the deterioration of Leons mental state is not thrilling, everything is shown in kind of a normal way because thats what it is for Leon. People die in this movie but its not for thrills and especially the ending shows that "Pin" is rather a drama than anything else. If you are interested in a psychological study in a "Psycho"-like set watch this movie, if you want corpses, thrills and scary horror dolls this sure is the wrong movie for you.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Underrated Psi-thriller
Daliery13 December 2001
I will be brief. This movie, a fantastic piece of Canadiana, is one of the most underrated movies in the horror genre. This endorsement is purely for true horror fans. If you love the genre, you will want to see Pin. It's one of those rare movies that relys on someone's twisted perception of normal events to trigger a series of terrific scenes. It is also a true horror movie, for it depicts the real consequences of a dysfunctional family, and how one can be subsequently affected. Every one I have ever showed this movie too says the same thing. "That's not right." Suffice is to say, it's the kind of movies that keeps the lights on when you go to bed.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent low budget psychological horror flick!
The_Void29 June 2005
The eighties produced a lot of horror films that were clearly made just for people to rent on Friday nights to ignore while they had a few beers and a laugh with their mates. While most of these films were instantly forgettable, some were actually quite good and unfortunately have been forgotten along with the forgettable ones. Pin is one such film. While the movie isn't a horror classic, and it takes essential elements from a range of sources, most notably Psycho; it still represents a good success in the psychological horror sub-genre. So, if you like your films to be dark and moody; you can go wrong here! Based on a best seller by Andrew Neiderman, Pin blends the story of a young boy growing up with murderous schizophrenia to horrifying effect. The plot follows a brother and sister, Leon and Ursula, whose father uses ventriloquism and an anatomical dummy as a learning tool for his children. What he doesn't count on, however, is Leon taking this act too seriously and believing that the dummy really is alive. A childish idea that leads to a very dark future for Leon.

While the film lacks any real potent bite, it blends it's elements together with a good plot pace well enough to ensure that the film always offers compelling viewing and although the action gets a little predictable at times, we always want to carry on watching to see what happens. The dummy itself is the centrepiece of the film and director Sandor Stern has managed to create a malevolent atmosphere around it. The thing looks creepy anyway, but when combined with it's put-on voice; I can imagine it giving some more easily scared viewers nightmares. Ventriloquism is a hobby that has always lent itself well to horror movies; from the dummy tale in 'Dead of Night', to this film and more; you can always count on a creepy movie if one of it's core subjects is the act of someone lending their voice to a plastic doll. The acting in the film is typically eighties; but it's not all that bad considering the type of movie that this is. On the whole; Pin is a nice atmospheric chiller that deserves more attention, so if you get the chance to see it; I highly recommend that you do!
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Morbid, offbeat.
gridoon19 October 1999
This film is certainly unique - nothing like you've ever seen before. That's not necessarily a good thing, but it does make it intriguing. Sure, it may remind you of "Psycho" or of "Magic" (the 1978 thriller with Hopkins), but its slow pacing, its MORBID atmosphere and its weirdness make it feel completely different from those movies. It's not particularly good or bad, just EXTREMELY weird . Pay attention to the opening sequence, or else the ending will seem inconclusive and you'll have to rewind the tape - like I did.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Oddly fascinating film.
Scott-4229 November 1999
I'd sat down to watch this, after hearing it recommended on and off for months, not really knowing what to expect.

Wow! Almost two hours later and without a single break, I'd finished one of the most disturbing psychological thriller I'd ever seen.

Far better than Magic and totally without the supernatural elements that ruined that one for me, I'd have to say PIN is one of the better thrillers I've seen in a long time.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad Canadian import
Pinback-42 February 2002
Warning: Spoilers
****Possible Spoilers***** Mix together PSYCHO, LOLITA, and MAGIC, and you'll get the picture of what this film is like. It's an ambitious effort made in Canada about a brother and sister who grow up with a plastic dummy called Pin. Their dad is a doctor and he's also a ventriloquist who uses Pin to teach his kids about the facts of life. The problem is that dad is overprotective and creepy so the kids talk to Pin so much that soon the brother thinks he's real, even more so as he grows older. The first part of the film is good, largely because of Terry O'Quinn, who plays dad here, which will remind you of his unforgettable performance in THE STEPFATHER. But once the premise is established, it becomes more predictable from the second half on. There is a very funny scene early in the film where a nurse enters the room where Pin is "living". Another scene has David Hewlett, who plays the brother, at a movie theater with a date watching SCANNERS; Hewlett starred in SCANNERS 2 three years later.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
... a nightmare in Plastic? Not! More like.....
LeathermanCraig30 January 2002
OK, this is supposed to be a horror/psychological thriller, right? Well, it fails on both parts - not too horror & not too psycho, either. What you DO get, however, is an overall decent movie with a few twists and turns to make it worth while and compelling.

Filmed in the 80s and it looks it. But, don't let this hinder you. Basic plot - 2 kids grow up with a doctor for a dad and a neat-nik NUT for a mother (opening to the kids - we see them having cookies & milk before going to bed - mom VACUUMS THE KITCHEN FLOOR FOR CRUMBS AFTER THEY'RE DONE!). Dad has a plastic medical model (life size) in his office - called Pin. They give you the way that his name comes around. Papa uses Pin in his practice to help kids feel at ease during the visit - and throws his voice to Pin - ventriloquism for dummies.

Fast forward to the 'present' - kids are grown (Leon & Ursula) and in their teens. I won't spoil the movie and give you the whole thing. Just suffice it to say that this is where the psychological aspect comes in. Suffice it to say that murder & mayhem and some general craziness come to play in this flick...

Parts of this movie are out of place - the nurse's sex party, for example, and parts are right in place - the eventual end of the story, the love interest that grows, etc.

Overall, a good flick with enough in it to keep your interest. Go for it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
SIMPLY ONE OF THE BEST HORRORS OF ALL TIME
PIN1988SP24 July 2003
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "PIN" for the first time back in 2001. Each time I see it it kinda gets better.

Before this one I only knew SANDOR STERN as the director behind "AMITYVILLE 4" and "GRIDLOCK",so i didn`t have many expectations. But God,is this film great.

It centers around a character called Leon(DAVID HEWLETT,of "DARKSIDE" and "CUBE"),who has this devilish-talking-dummy named Pin as a friend.

POSSIBLE SPOILERS: Pin guides Leon on his every-move,even when it happens to do with his sister,Ursula(CINDY PRESTON of "DARKSIDE',"THE BRAIN" and "PROM NIGHT 3".

I think "PIN" is one of the greatest horror movies of the 80`s. A truly scary and original one,extremely subtle low-budget flick.

It also has a great soundtrack signed by PETER MANNING ROBINSON("SOMETIMES THEY COME BACK...AGAIN").

I love "PIN" so much it appeared on the first issue of a fanzine i`m the publisher of called "FORGOTTEN HORRORS".

ALL HORROR NUTS GOTTA CHECK THIS ONE OUT.

PIN NUMBER 1 FAN.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Impressive psychological horror
Coventry7 November 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Pin is a shamelessly ignored 80's chiller that urgently deserves more attention. Without exaggerating, you can safely say that this is one of the most mesmerizing and emotion-provoking films of a decade where genre fanatics were only out to get cheap thrills and see bloody violence. Psychologically speaking, this is a quite a demanding film handling about serious issues such as schizophrenia and incestuous tendencies. Normally, this is far too ambitious for an independent horror film but Sandor Stern (co-writer and director of Pin…) efficiently blends it all into one seriously compelling and quite disturbing thriller. Leon and Ursula are the kids of a successful doctor (brilliant B-actor Terry O'Quinn) who brings an anatomically correct office dummy to live with his ventriloquism-skills. Leon is obsessed with this dummy – Pin – and keeps it in his parents' house after they got killed in a road accident. Leon descents further and further into madness while 'protecting' his younger sister and nursing the dummy.

Pin…is a very unsettling film, story-driven and very well elaborated. It all looks extra eerie because of the natural acting. This film introduces us to intriguing characters and they're played by neutral, but very devoted, performers. David Hewlett ('Cube') is truly chilling as Leon and he often stands the comparison with Norman Bates. The cherubic Cynthia Preston looks wonderful and she's very convincing as the emotional Ursula. The climax is rather predictable but yet you still feel a little uncomfortable when it is actually shown. This film should be saved from total oblivion! Flawless horror that sticks to you!

Favorite 'Rewind'-moment (HUGE SPOILER!!!!!!): In a subtle and well-photographed sequence, we see how the young Leon witnesses how a nurse uses the anatomically correct Pin to satisfy her own lusts. A traumatic experience that unquestionably had a giant impact on the further development of the boy's introvert personality.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"A good job is worth more than money... it is good for the mental health".
pzivojinovic1 June 2016
"Pin" is an anatomically correct, see-through mannequin. His interests include tutoring, chocolates and terrorizing young ladies. Pin speaks with a slow, thin, whispery voice. His educational expertise includes math and sex. He also enjoys listening to incestuous poetry and creeping quietly in the dark. Pin's story is destined to become a cult classic. The strength of this movie lies not in direction, nor necessarily in acting, but in story. Pin is one of the strangest movies you'll watch. Scenes include a skinless mannequin giving a private sex lecture to a young brother and sister, a man giving his daughter an abortion, and a nurse who uses Pin as a sex doll when she thinks no one else is watching.

This neglected gem is an example of 1980's horror at its most creative. Its not a gory film by any means, but it will chill you to the bone, as its a superbly crafted psychological study into the mental disintegration of a fragile mind. The most disquieting scenes of course involve Pin, whether its involving Leon, or just when another character is alone in the room with the mannequin. It seems to exude a threat even when Leon is not around to carry out Pin's 'bidding'. At the heart of this film is a superb performance by David Hewlett as the adult Leon. He gives a very sympathetic performance of someone whose mind has been unbalanced by the maladjusted childhood he has gone through. Cynthia Preston is also very good as the grown up Ursula, who tries to get her life back together, whilst also coping with the increasing demands of Leon/Pin. Don't expect anything too exploitative or overly sensational, as 'Pin' builds up the tension and the scares by telling a good story and providing proper character development. A fascinating film!!

Overall rating: 9 out of 10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A nice surprise
BloedEnMelk15 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I wouldn't call this movie a horror, but more a psychological thriller.

'Pin' is a story about two kids growing up with parents who are hardly there for them in their childhood. Their mother is a clean freak, their father is a doctor and a ventriloquist, who uses a dummy called Pin to 'help him out' in his practice. As children, both Ursula and Pin believe Pin to be real, and though he doesn't speak to them when father is not around, Pin does give birthday presents and is a really helpful chap. When both parents die in a car crash, Leon takes Pin home as a family member.

The acting of David Hewlett as Leon is impressive. This on itself makes the movie worth to see. Leon is a clean cut boy, who has more in common with both his parents than he would want to. His loneliness, jealousy, and the subtlety of his slowly growing madness is very well done.

The bad is, that even though there is some focus on the why Leon gets mad, personally I think this could have been done better. I would have liked to see more of his inner world going down hill. But what the script lacks, the acting of Hewlett makes up for. There is an important sexual undertone in this movie, which also could have been worked out better. Ursula going to her own father for an abortion, Leon's dark poetry, yes they gave an unsettling feeling, but all a bit too subtle. Maybe it was done this way to please the mainstream watchers, and it would have been too shocking otherwise. Anyway, it gave me the feeling that only the surface of all the underlying problems and feelings was scratched.

'Pin' was different then I expected it to be. When reading about it before I saw it, I thought it would end up much more like a horror cliché of the dummy coming to life. And constantly I was hoping that the end would not be that cheesy. When the movie was finished, it did leave me satisfied.

Today, which is the day after I watched it, I feel that this movie is still with me, in a positive way. And I always consider that a good sign. Even with all it's flaws, it impressed me more than I thought it would do.

I give it an 8 because I can not give it a 7,5.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Interesting, bizarre film...
Katatonia19 August 2003
Warning: Spoilers
+++=========+++ WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD +++=========+++

PIN is a hidden gem of a movie that most people don't even know about. It's quite a strange psychological thriller that is very creepy throughout the movie. I wouldn't call this a horror film, even though it does have some qualities of the genre.

DON'T READ BELOW THIS LINE IF YOU DON'T WISH TO KNOW THE BASIC STORY.

The plot is basically about a medical mannequin. It has a clear skin covering so that we see the tendons and muscles underneath. This is actually quite unnerving when it is shown on screen. Where the mannequin named PIN comes into the story is from a father who just so happens to be a doctor. The father has seemingly a self-mastered ventriloquist projecting his voice into "PIN" which talks to his patients, and his own son and daughter.

The son (Leon) grows up so close to PIN that he truly believes it is a real person. He learns to be a ventriloquist on his own as the years go by, to the final shock of his father. What was really weird is the voice of PIN sounded exactly the same when the son took over. His father seeing this realizes his mistake and takes PIN away to a speech he is to give. But, he is running very late and his speeding (and PIN?!) causes a fatal car wreck. The son retrieves PIN and brings him back to his home, believing more than ever that PIN is his only real friend. He even finishes PIN's clear skin to look more like a real human, which only adds to the bizarre creepiness.

In the second half of the film we find an Aunt moving in to look after the kids. She becomes a problem and is thus abruptly extinguished from the house, which looks like natural causes to the doctors and police.

Next, we find the daughter (Ursula) maturing and moving forward with her life. She begins to realize the severity of her brother's mental health, and her duty to stay by his side and care for him. Ursula now has a job she enjoys and a man she is quickly falling in love with. Leon and PIN do not approve of this...

I won't reveal the end of the story, except to say that there are several well executed plot twists. I really enjoy this film, it has a really unique feel about it. Even though we think PIN is not real, sometimes you actually forget that this is the case....which may or not be?!? The music also has some creepy moments and is well done. Some great performances are in this film, well worth mentioning. Terry O'Quinn (THE STEPFATHER) does a masterful job as the father. David Hewlett (CUBE) is also great as Leon, as well as Cynthia Preston playing Ursula.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just as good as Hitchcock's 'Psycho'!
EyeoftheBeholder126 December 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Probably one of the best psychological horror films I have ever seen! I know I am going to seem like I am exaggerating, but this is up there with Alfred Hitchcock's 'Psycho'! The film was superbly directed and the score was superb. Fine acting by Hewlett and Preston.

This is the type of film that gets under your skin, and frightens you more than any "horror porn" that gets spit out by Hollywood on massive levels, because this film is real. It's villain is just human being which makes it so much more terrifying and tragic because we watch this so called villain grow up and understand why he is the way he is, and then we realize his eventual fate.

A brilliant film, I recommend this to all.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Thought it was going to be stupid...
RevRonster31 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
On paper, this film sounds really lame and something that would probably be better suited for an unintentional comedy rather than a psychological thriller. However, thanks to a great performance from the lead, some really strange tones and themes and a killer ending, I found I enjoyed this film a whole lot more than I originally anticipated.

David Hewlett is just captivating as the lead with a screw loose that thinks a medical dummy is speaking to him. He carries the movie through and helps makes the film feel less like a bad B-horror movie and more like a "Psycho"-style psychological thriller. Yes, the movie gets uncomfortably weird at points but it proved to be more engaging that I thought it would be.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A paranoid-schizophrenic young man is taken over by a medical display dummy
chev-errant3 August 2006
This is a masterpiece ! Sadly neglected by the audience (probably because it lacked gore and fx) and by the critics (probably because it came from Canada: critics seems to have a habit of neglecting Canadian movies, unless they are directed by David Cronenberg). It's slow, haunting, unnerving and very well acted by all actors involved (mostly unknowns, except for Terry O'Quinn as the father and for David Hewlett as the son who acted also in Scanners II: The New Order (1991) and Cube (1997). It's directed with skill by Sandor Stern who was also responsible for the screenplay, based on a novel by Andrew Neiderman (who also wrote the novel The Devil's Advocate). The story: a young, lonely fragile-minded boy in need for parental love and guidance get's close-to-none from his too self-consumed parents and projects his needs into a medical display dummy which his father (a doctor) use as "a handyman" to help teaching his children. The only love and care the boy get's come from his kid-sister. The parents die in a horrible car-accident, leaving the children financially independent. They grow up to be teenagers and when the kid-sister starts to date, her brother's obsessive over-protectiveness results into chaos and murder. The final scenes are chilling and leave the audience (who has come to care for the characters) heartbroken.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
good creepy thriller
cecrle5 May 2003
No huge innovations or anything in this flick, but the overall effect is very creepy and eerie, without having to resort to gratuitous gross-outs or slasher imagery--just a disturbing little tale that's developed and paced in an amazingly effective way. See _Magic_ starring Anthony Hopkins for a similar tale of schizophrenic projection...
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great and disturbing portrayal makes film
iain234526 November 2002
The main character of this flick may be crazy...or he may just be manipulating others through his bizarre behavior. The problem of determining which faces those who must deal with the insane, and its portrayal here does give that creepoid an extra dose of scariness
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I want an office dummy too...
Semih21 June 2000
Warning: Spoilers
I was very impressed with this film. Nothing supernatural; everything was simple human psychology; but that's where the complexity of this story begins: what we create in our heads can be much more frightening than anything in reality. Here is a summary of this film's qualities. (possible spoilers) The first thing I noticed was the musical score. It was very original, even if it uses synthesized boy's choir sounds along with music-box like melodies which represent the hero of the film and the dummy Pin (oops! I shouldn't call him a dummy, Leon doesn't like that). Next thing I noticed was the acting: very natural and realistic. The directing was also impressive. I voted this film a 9 out of 10. I give 10 to movies that I think achieved originality in all aspects of film making. This film was good enough so it deserved a 9.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An exceedingly strange yet compelling movie.
Sorsha-412 October 1998
This movie is really bizarre. I started watching it on the sci-fi channel one day and while it isn't a really great movie, I could not change the channel. It centers around a boy's obsession with an imaginary character created by his father. I can't even begin to recount the rest of the movie, but let's just say it's odd. I still want to see it again, though. It is just oddly compelling.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Pin: Odd little film, not in a good way though
Platypuschow2 April 2018
Pin is a hard film to categorise, I'd say horrorish.......maybe just a thriller.

It tells the story of a strict family raising their two children. The father is a doctor who treats his anatomic educational mannequin as though it were a person and gets his children in on it as well.

As you can imagine this effects the kids quite severely especially the son who grows up to be more than a little odd.

Starring the excellent Terry O'Quinn and David Hewlett (Even though I didn't realise it was him until late in the film) this quirky little tale is filled with a combination of weird and deeply uncomfortable scenes.

Not sure who the demographic for this one would be, I'd say a definite one for those with a taste for the less than usual.

The Good:

Terry O'Quinn

David Hewlett is excellent but unrecognisable

The Bad:

Unsettling film

Not exactly engaging

Things I Learnt From This Movie:

I'm genuinely concerned for the writer of the film and their level of mental health. Some of the conversation matter from the kids, sex with an anatomy dummy and more moments raise questions I may not want to know the answers to.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Mind blowing
doe-334918 November 2017
PIN was written by Andrew Neiderman, who has written forty-seven novels under his own name, but is perhaps better known for the sixty-eight -- and counting -- that's ghostwritten from V.C. Andrews and her Flowers in the Attic series.

1988's Canadian movie adaption skips most of the incest, but trust me, it's no less strange.

Directed by Sandor Stern (the writer of the original The Amityville Horror and writer/director of the Patty Duke starring Amityville: The Evil Escapes), PIN starts with Dr. Frank Linden (Terry O'Quinn, forever The Stepfather in our hearts), who keeps a human size, anatomically correct Slim Goodbody-esque medical model in his office that he's named Pin. He uses Pin -- throwing his voice to make him speak -- to explain how the body works without it being awkward. The doctor is a cold and distant man; only his interactions through the doll seem warm.

Leon has problems. He probably has some mental illness, which isn't helped by his domineering mother, who doesn't allow him to play outside or bring friends home. Pin is his only friend in the entire world. Imagine his shock when he goes to visit Pin one day and a nurse is having sex with the doll. Isn't it delightful when a movie can just make your jaw hit the floor? Well, keep watching Pin.

The doctor and his wife constantly feel like they could kill one another at any moment. And Leon may not ever want to think about sex, but his sister can't stop thinking about it. Jump cut ahead in time and she's literally having sex with most of the football team while her brother is scrubbing graffiti about her off a locker. After Leon angrily fights several boys who are lining up to have their way with her (remember what I said about the surprising strangeness of this one), she agrees to stop having sex. That said, she needs an abortion, an operation that her father coldly does in front of Leon, telling him that he needs to watch this procedure for when he does it himself. They'll just tell mother she had some cramps.

One night, Dr. Linden and his wife are leaving for a speech. He forgets his notes and runs back to his office, where he finds Leon talking to Pin. Realizing his son has lost his mind, he takes Pin away. However, a car accident caused by his speeding (or is it Pin?) kills the parents off. As Leon investigates the crash, he takes Pin with him.

Leon and Ursula enjoy their freedom from their mother's strict cleaning habits and menus, but as other people try and enter their lives, like Aunt Dorthy or Stan, Ursula's love interest, Leon and Pin take them out. At this point, Pin is now dressing in Dr. Linden's clothes and has latex skin and a wig so he can appear human.

Oh! In the middle of all of this, Leon has a date with a redhead who is all over him. He panics and runs to Pin for help, then uses the frightening doll to chase the girl away from the house.

Leon believes that Stan is only interested in Ursula's money and to put him away. To be fair, they did discuss how crazy he's been acting and what they should do. I've never had to meet the doll friend of a girlfriend's brother, somewhat amazingly. Pin tells Leon how to dispose of Stan, but he's interrupted by Ursula, who is on her way home from her library job.

Upon finding blood on the carpet, Ursula starts to run. Leon blames Pin, who flips out on him, telling him that he has never lied for him or to him. His sister returns with an axe as the screen goes white.

Fast forward: Stan is OK and still with Ursula. She comes home to see Pin, who asks whether or not she's seen Leon. She answers, "No." It's then revealed that Ursula destroyed the doll, but now Pin has become Leon's full personality. He is now the doll.

Pin is unsettling. It's relatively bloodless, but that doesn't stop it's power to shock, whether you're reading it in book form or watching the movie. 

Read more at http://bit.ly/2Alliik
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed