North Shore (1987) Poster

(1987)

User Reviews

Review this title
39 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
80's Hawaii!
kenandraf22 July 2001
Good 80's formula movie which illustrates the North Shore Hawaii atmosphere well.Some weakness in script but still delivers due to educational tor of North Shore surfing lifestyle for that particular time.Good surfing cinematography here as well which makes this movie a cult classic.Not for people who do not like love stories and surfing.....
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Yo Kook! What's the haps?"
Cobbler7 January 2002
My top 10 films of all time include 12 Angry Men, Deliverance, and Rear Window, so you might be surprised by this review. North Shore is one of my favorite films, and it's mainly due to the character of Turtle, played by John Philbin (where are you now??) in a truly genius comic performance. Not only does Turtle get all of the best lines, but his character journey in overcoming self-doubt is a really nice & emotionally resonant element of the movie. All the actors are pleasant enough to watch, from Matt Adler (earnest and likeable) to Nia Peebles (foxy) to Gregory Harrison (Yoda-ish). Laird Hamilton is an awful actor, but you forgive him for it, because his surfing is incredible. The script is well-structured, the surfing scenes are excellent, and the romance is awesome. I really feel this is an underrated film, the best Karate Kid knockoff, and one of the best of the 80s sleepers. 9/10 P.S. I can't help but smile at that final shot. Awesome!
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of my favorite movies, but not for obvious reasons
wayne-213 May 2002
I agree with several other reviews concerning portraying locals as thugs and thieves, and that this isn't an Oscar quality movie. However, it was this movie that first showed me how beautiful O'ahu is. I ended up moving here from Virginia in 1992. The scenery was (and is) breathtaking, and watching the surfing was (and is) fantastic. As a haole, I got an education from the movie which kept me from making the mistakes Rick Kane made when he first got to Hawai'i.

If you live on O'ahu, or are visiting, and you find yourself in Waikiki on a Sunday when the waves are flat, come visit me at Hope Chapel-South Shore (at the Waikiki Community Center) - The entire pastoral staff surfs, along with most of the congregation. It is wonderful to hear God's word taught with surf illustrations.

Aloha!

Wayne
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Rick Kane gonna stomp your ass
nayrasher28 October 2002
This movie is so boss it doesn't even know it's boss. It is a seamless hour and a half of excitement! Rick Kane takes a stand and flees the landlocked Arizona desert, against his single-parent mother's wishes. There is great surfing, good shots and an amazing implied sex scene.

Having some of the world's best surfers before surfing and extreme sports became so "hip" makes this movie pure class. Hearing Occy say, "Hey Alex come jump in with us," in his Aussie-talk is priceless.

I first saw this movie on HBO when I was a grommet in '88 or so. Since three copies have been snaked by those who live life like Burkhardt. Fortunately this past weekend I finally found a new copy. By the way this film could be the reason Gabrielle Reese chose to marry Laird.

Here at imdb we treat friends no better, so see this film. Am I going to tell you that you must see this? If I have to.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Regardless of other users comments... this is truly a classic 80's surfing movie!
jrjoesullivan24 October 2005
Wheter or not the film is a "b" movie or not this is a definite classic! Regardless of the absence of a blockbuster budget, there is much to be taken from this film. And yes it does portray some of the locals in an accurate light. (Some of the locals are very rude and extremely territorial over certain areas of Hawaii). All in all, the rite of passage made by the main character is very heartfelt. Although it may be a little cheesy and even dated, this film is A CULT CLASSIC! A must for surfers, especially 80's kids! Do not overlook this film's position in your DVD library. Even if you do not surf, there is a great love story and explorer's feel to the film. Enjoy it.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Excellent Hoodad Movie!
engstfeld2 April 2002
This is a nice, if somewhat stupid, comedy and surfing B-movie. It had it's fair share of laughs and some great one liners, not to mention fabulous surfing scenes. It was entertaining enough and worth a rental if you're looking for a funny cheesy B-movie. A bit of a cult classic eh, yeah?.....yeah?.........no.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Two points of view *contains spoilers*
ViciousKilla11 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Okay, I'm have two points of view in regards to North Shore.

As a fan I love every second of this movie. I have watched it at least twice a year since my cousin gave my dad a worn out VHS copy from the video store she worked at. It was so warn out that at time's parts of it were almost ruined. There were audio issues and video artifacts all attributed to the state of the VHS tape. But, we loved it anyway.

My dad surfed. I surfed. We'd watch it I the dead of winter when there were no waves and no surfing to be done. We'd usually watch it again just before going surfing for the first time each season. North Shore became a family tradition and we used lines from it all the time. "No body listens to Turtle" became our way of saying that no one listened to our advice and suffered because of it. We called tourist kooks. We called ourselves Soul Surfers.

When my dad passed away a few years ago I went searching for the VHS copy, popped it in my VCR and it broke. Luckily I was able to track down the DVD. I loved to commentary and cast interviews. Watching it late the night I finally received it felt like my dad was there beside me, reciting our favorite lines with me again. If I am in a bad mood, all I have to do is pop in the DVD and I start feeling better.

It's got that cheesy 80's feel to it, but it works. Some of the cinematography are mind blowing, especially considering the budget and technology of the time. Nia Peeples looks amazing as Kiani (this was her first major role, BTW). Gregory Harrison made chandler come alive. An no one except John Philbin could have played Turtle. Throw in a cast of some of the greatest Pro surfers of the time (and some that qualify as greatest of all time), and it's got exactly what in needs to become a cult classic. Which it undoubtedly is, or else it would never have made the transition to DVD.

As a former film student and (still) wannabe writer/director I know this movie has faults. Yes, the Hui are played up. But, name one stereotype that isn't in a movie? We need the Hui to help drive the love story aspect and for that to happen they have to be bad ass dues with even worse attitudes. Some of the acting, by the non-actors (aka the pro surfers turned actors), was horrible. Some of the techniques used were dated and ruined certain scenes. For example, after Kiani and Rick leave the fashion shoot and go to another beach and it suddenly goes from full dark to 'daylight'.

Some of the dialog is terrible. But, then again some of the one liners are incredibly funny and highly memorable.

The plot has been criticized by many on here, and I honestly question how much attention they paid to the movie. Rick goes from Arizona to Hawaii to surf the 'season'. He does not have any thoughts about entering a surfing competition when he first arrives. It is only after he starts learning how to 'big wave surf' from Chandler and being notice by he Professor that he starts thinking of entering the contest. Even at the end of the competition he's laughing as he's about to be eliminated because "I never thought I'd make it this far." It's hard not to judge this movie by modern standards. It's also hard not to judge this movie by it's contemporaries and the standards of that time. But, considering the budget, it's not terrible.

All in all I give this a 7/10. We former film student half wont let me give it the 10/10 my fan half wants me to give it. It's worth checking out for those who have never seen it and worth a review by those who have panned it. My best advice to enjoying North Shore is to not look at it with the eye of a critic, but instead let the 80's cheesy cult, campy warmth envelope you. Hang loose, haole...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Remarkable Innocence
wildcats7631 October 2011
Both the Rick Kane character and Turtle embody a fresh innocence rarely captured on film. This was what made this film truly golden. Gregory Harrison played his character with the gravitas of a veteran actor. Just when you thought he would venture into pomposity, he reeled it in and made you smile. Credit goes to the writers and director for that as well.

This was NOT a surfing movie. This was a coming-of-age film. Rick is green in almost every sense of the word. By the end of the film, he has learned a bit about life, love, and himself.

The crown jewel of the movie, by far, is John Philbin's portrayal of the character of Turtle. He defies any stereotypical characterizations. He is real. He's an underdog from L.A., just trying to make his way and take life day by day. He cares about others and responds to caring from others. How often do you see a surfer portrayed this way? Nia Peeples portrayed the Hawaiian girl-next-door to perfection. She loved her family, loved horses, and her boyfriend too. Like something out of a Tom Petty song.

I loved the movie. Cheesiness is artistic in and of itself. Two thumbs up.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I've seen it eight times, a true surfer classic, true!
erisprods10 February 2001
My kid bro and me have watched it many times, and we love the dialogue and the surfer speak, and the lingo Turtle speaks. We spent two winters in Haliewa and know that it is a true -- if occassionally exagerrated -- mirror of the life there. And I've never ever seen better rides on film. "Occy" and Jerry Lopez are always great, and Laird Hamilton -- what a hunk!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Greatest Movie Ever
drewmilford18 August 2004
Yeah, North Shore is awesome. It's the greatest movie ever. Seriously. It's good in a cult way...I've watched this movie probably 100 times in the past 10 years. It's the best, and that fact that they rereleased it on DVD with interviews and deleted scenes shows that I'm not the only person who thinks its cool...I think every surfer has probably seen it at least once, even if just for the hell of it. There are about 1000 quotable lines in North Shore. Who ever wrote the script is awesome. The character "Turtle" has some of the best lines in the movie. Also, the music is really cool in 80s sort of way. I even think there's a Journey song at the end. I wonder if there's a soundtrack somewhere out there...
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Worth Watching
mrsnawahine15 May 2002
This isn't Oscar-caliber or anything, but I don't think it was meant to be. It's a fairly cute movie and the scenery really is beautiful. It's worth wasting a summer afternoon watching. My husband was born on O'ahu and after having visited there I can tell you the shots are pretty common of the scenery there. A fun little romp, but don't believe the stereotypes. I am as white a haole as they get, and I married a Hawaiian. Don't believe everything you see in the movies.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cult Classic
IMSandman28 June 2003
This movie is so bad, that it hilarious and has become a cult classic because of it. Let's think about the story... a boy from Arizona that wins a surfing contest in a wave pool (a few feet high) then goes to Hawaii to surf the North Shore. Have a few drinks and sit back and watch it. If you like surfing, partying and/or Hawaii, you will probably enjoy this movie.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
truly a soulful, fun and accurate depiction of soul surfing
waterman338 September 2002
This film has the language, the style and the attitude down ... plus greats rides from Occy (a world champ) and the great Jerry Lopez. John Philbin as Turtle has the surf pidgin down, and the surfing scenes are still the best ever. A true classic that can be seen many times. Nia Peeples is a babe, and Laird Hamilton shows the early stuff that has made him the world's number one extreme surfer.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Check it out, brah! (spoilers)
vertigo_1412 February 2002
North Shore is a real cult classic, a movie that you might have never heard of (unless obscure 80s films are what you normally seek out), with a little known cast (especially if you're unfamiliar with obscure 80s movie or 80s pro surfers), but that turns out to be surprisingly popular among a particular group of fans.

If you do enjoy obscure 80s movies and surfing adventures, then I would highly recommend checking out North Shore. Despite the surf-styled Romeo and Juliet and sports movie cliché, this movie has a lot to offer as far as a likable cast (especially John Philbin), tremendous action sequences, and a slick soundtrack to make it what I consider to be one of the best non-documentary surf movies.

Adorable Matt Adler plays Rick Kane, a recent high school grad fresh from the wave tanks of Arizona, who uses his winnings from a small contest to travel to the famous North Shore to surf the season. As he explains to his mom, who cautions that he has a scholarship awaiting him at a New York art school, that he has to find out now just how good of a surfer he could be. But, he's a cocky little novice, thinking he is just going to show up on the beaches and make himself famous. Things are much different than he expects and he's in for sort of a rude awakening.

When he arrives in Hawaii, he almost immediately encounters trouble, getting his stuff stolen by a gang of protective locals (featuring pro-surfer Gerry Lopez as Vince). As a result, Kane befriends surfboard shaper Turtle (John Philbin is perhaps the best character, and certainly the funniest, in the whole film), and his boss, Chandler (Gregory Harrison), who agrees to put him up at his place if Kane helps him redesign his company logo. With Chandler's sort of wise guidance, Kane gets some valuable guidance, which helps him among the locals and most importantly, with his surfing, as Chandler teaches him that old soul-surfer style. In the end, Kane becomes a good enough surfer to compete in the famous, but dangerous, Pipeline World Classic against some of the pros he idolizes (especially Lance Burkhart, played by pro-surfer Laird Hamilton).

The thing I enjoyed most when I had first seen this movie was the excellent photography. For those who had seen the movie on the old cable channel, Encore, the movie was accompanied with a sort of making-of documentary which explained all of the novel cinematography techniques used here. I have not yet seen the special features of the DVD to see if this was added, but nonetheless, it worked brilliantly, and you can really appreciate the surfing, even if you don't surf. The footage of Hawaii, too, is stunning.

Second, the relatively unknown cast has a lot of appeal. Matt Adler, who previously played Louis in 'Teen Wolf' or Jeff Freeman in 'Flight of the Navigator' (roles that he may be better remembered in) plays the lead, Rick Kane. Nia Peeples replaced another actress mid-shooting for the role of Rick's love interest, Kiani. Gregory Harrison, sort of hamming it up at moments, plays Chandler, Rick's mentor. But the best of all is John Philbin as the hilarious, good-natured Turtle. Also look for pro-surfers Laird Hamilton as Lance Burkhart, Gerry Lopez as Vince Moaloka, Robbie Page as Alex Rogers, Mark Occhilupo as Occy, and many others (especially in the Pipeline contest at the end).

And, finally, you have a pretty good soundtrack (of hard-to-find songs, unless you search hard on peer-to-peer networks) featuring Killing Joke, Chris Issak, Black Uhru, and my personal favorite, Australian rock band 'Gangajang' (their video for "Sounds of Then" can briefly be seen when Rick first goes to Burkhart's house with Alex and Occy).

They left it open for a sequel (Kane, at the end, says "Hey, I'll be back), but nothing ever came of it.

Aside from some of the slang, it's not even that dated. Overall, if you can get past some of the corniness and cliché, it may likely be one that you can watch over and over again.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great Surf Flick...but
kurtisle29 June 2014
It is a fun Hawaii film. Lots of home footage, lots of true to life ...interactions with locals and Hawaii itself. Good footage of the sea and the island. Though they don't show the traffic jams, long lines of JOJ Tourist whales at the Shave Ice Shack, who flock to see the famous North Shore and lay around on the sand smelling of Hawaiian Tropics cocoanut oil. My gripe is, the time frame. They make it look like you can become a pro class surfer in a few months. Folks, it taked years of hard surfing to become that good. No one learns it in a summer...The real surfers, "Soul Surfers" live and breathe salt water, on good and bad days. It HAS to be your life. There is no other way.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
not so swell down under
ptb-820 February 2005
I am astonished at the major comments here for this OK surf film. It really stems from the "California Dreamin" school of barnyard to beach antics and isn't really plausible. The idea that the lead kid learn to ride a board SO well in a concrete wave pool that he beats the real surfers at their game in the real ocean, is just plain silly. In Australia where most urban teens do surf, this film was laughed at audiences took it all with a grain of sea salt. Made in the 80s but with its heart in the 60s, it is fun to watch and looks and sounds good, but it is not a in a classic class at all. Even the actors didn't outlast this. We're seriously in LIQUID BRIDGE or RIDE THE WILD SURF or BEACH BLANKET BINGO land here. Oz stars like Occy and BIG Wednesday hero Gerry Lopez are drafted in to add head nodding recognition to our farm boy's wave prowess, but it only made the crowd in the cinema guffaw. It is for 10 years olds who do not question much. It's not even IN GODS HANDS and that was silly too.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Um... wtf (shhhhhhh)?!
dkbengel4 May 2009
I was lucky enough to grow up surfing in San Diego (not the biggest waves in the world but it was a hell of childhood, I'll tell you that) and I have seen A LOT of so-called surfer flicks in my life. After watching NORTH SHORE for the first time just now, all I can say is THANK GOD I never saw this as a kid. If I had seen this and mistakenly thought that this was a realistic portrayal of the surf scene, I would sold my board and totally gotten into, I don't know, accounting or something.

Seriously, this movie has a as much in common with real surfing as TOP GUN has was real military life. The acting is terrible, the music is worse, the cinematography is iffy at best and OH MY GOD what was Laird Hanilton thinking?! WOW!!! DO NOT SEE THIS MOVIE!!! IT SUCKS!!! If you want a REAL surf flick, see RIDING GIANTS. Hell, watch SURF'S UP instead of this. Seriously. Sucks. Sucks bad. Sucks REAL bad. Brah. ;)

PS: Had to change my summery from "WTF?!" to wtf because, apparently, we are supposed to whisper on this site. NO YELLING!!! (shhhhhh!) ;D
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Soul Surfing
wes-connors9 June 2010
"With the help of a surfing guru (Gregory Harrison) and the love and support of a local girl (Nia Peeples), teenage surf champion Rick Kane (Matt Adler) conquers his fears, gains the respect of his adversaries, and discovers the real secret to mastering the powerful waves of Oahu's North Shore. Also featuring appearances by wave legends Gerry Lopez and Laird Hamilton, and World Champions Shaun Tomson, Derek Ho, and Mark Occhilupo," according to the DVD sleeve.

Bland formulaic surf stuff. The Hawaiian waves outperform everyone with the notable exception of bleached blond John Philbin (as Turtle). Mr. Adler's surfing nemesis, Laird Hamilton (as Lance Burkhart), looks great in his Halloween party body paint. Mr. Harrison ages exceptionally well. And, pretty Ms. Peeples handles the romantic distaff cast practically by herself. The DVD extras are relatively generous, with "alternate ending" and "deleted scenes" that could make you wince.

**** North Shore (8/14/87) William Phelps ~ Matt Adler, John Philbin, Gregory Harrison, Nia Peeples
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Helped define me
kiltedmetalhed14 June 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I loved this film. North Shore actually helped define who I was as a kid. To the point that my mom started to call me Turtle and it has stuck with me to this day. Every one I know, except for family, calls me Turtle. I loved surfing as a kid, and still do, and I grew up in Arizona so I'd say I connected with this movie quite well. It was left wide open for some sort of sequel and I wish one would be made. If you can buy or rent this movie. It may be old and reek of the 80's but it is worth it. Some of the surf scenes are just great with the underwater photography. And a good portion of the surfers towards the end of the movie are real professional surfers. So it definitely adds some credit to the realism of the film. Not to mention the "bad guy" in this film is played by extreme sports buff Laird Hamilton. All in all is it a great film and good enough for the entire family. No nudity and a real light on the profanity. Just a purely entertaining film.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
funny fun
pswanson0010 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
North Shore is good mindless entertainment, but get real people, it is NOT a great film. Firstly, the very idea of there being an Arizona State Surfing Champion is hilarious. Secondly, his going to the north shore and even getting into a surfing contest is a major chuckle. His winning a heat is beyond-comprehension laugh-out-loud material. I do appreciate that we see early in the film that he REEally is not prepared for functioning in the actual ocean, as opposed to the Big Surf wave pool in Tempe. It's a good thing he acquired a mentor, or he would've died...and that's no hyperbole.

The major enjoyment I get from this film is seeing truly excellent performances by a stack of genuinely legendary surfers, especially Gerry Lopez, deservedly known as Mister Pipeline, and one of history's great watermen. Gregory Harrison's beard came in handy, as it allowed us to watch Ken Bradshaw in his place in the water. I get a big laugh out of Laird Hamilton, who was clearly in a state of severe discomfort in front of the camera. Watching this after repeated viewings of Riding Giants is especially funny, because he is now completely at ease with being filmed and interviewed. I guess he put on poise and self-confidence along with those 30 or 40 pounds of muscle. Occy is a gas, the prototypical fun Aussie, and a natural performer. There's also a twinge of sadness at seeing the late, great Mark Foo in his prime.

Even if you don't surf, you'll find this entertaining. I agree with the previous reviewers who opine that it has a lot more in common with Beach Blanket movies than reality, but it is fun to watch.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
North Shore
ashleyallinson15 June 2006
Perhaps one of the fondest memories of my childhood, North Shore is full of one-liners that stick with me to this day.

Winning a surfing tourney in a wave tank in Arizona, Rick takes his $500 prize and puts off going to art school to "ride the big waves of the north shore." Upon arrival, his buddy, a seedy strip bar owner, forgets that he told Rick he could stay with him. Luckily he meets up with a couple of Aussie surfers who take him to the north shore.

When the surfing finally commences, we see how much of a barney rick really is. "Twinnie? No one rides twinnie in Hawaii. He must think he's still on the mainland or something." So, his skills sucks and a local gang, the hui, robs him. With no place to stay and little else to speak of, Rick befriends a local, Turtle, who introduces him to his boss, Chandler, an old school soul surfer.

Offering Rick his hospitality, Chandler teaches Rick how to surf for the soul, downplaying the younger attitude of competition. Rick's skills progress in and out of the water and the hilarity ensues.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Inspiring" surf movie
mtnbikr-120 October 2005
This movie came out when I was still a young "grom", from the mainland. It's a movie about a teen named Rick Kane from Arizona, who wins a wave pool surfing contest and thinks he has what it takes to surf the power and awe of North Shore, Oahu.

On Rick's journey, he meets Chandler, who's "one of the best surfboard shapers in Hawaii, possibly the world." Chandler gives Rick the idea that surfing is for the "Soul" not "Hot-dogging".

This movie inspired me to be a "soul" surfer. And, now almost 20 years later, I still call "North Shore" on of my most favorite movies of all-time.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Chandler Surfboards T-Shirts Rule!!!
skatervet20 March 2004
Chandler Surfboards North Shore T-Shirts Rule "Chandler teach me how to big wave surf not even" Turtle "Here on the North Shore we treat friends mo better" Turtle "Yeah, design thing...design me right out of the picture hoale" "He one bad ripper yeah. I hear he break his stick he shred so bad" "Scrub it kook!" And the list goes on. If you love the movie you can quote every line. The DVD rules. Kudos to the company for actually believing in this film, after all of these years, and including interviews with the original cast. This film touched a nerve in a whole generation of surfers and wanna be surfers alike. Later Barneys.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bitchin' surf movie
RNMorton2 January 2004
Don't know how I missed this little gem. Adler leaves the wave machines of Arizona for the real big ones of Oahu. Equal time given to the big three beaches (Sunset Waimea and Pipeline) once he gets there. Film delivers exquisitely on its very simple level. The male version of Blue Crush, only 15 years before it. 10/10
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hang Ten Bra!!!!!!!!!!!
halo0124 June 2002
This movie is a treat from the beginning to the very end. If you were a child of the 80's, this one is right up your alley. Matt Adler who is the main character in this movie is a very underrated actor. If you do go out and rent this one, you will be very surprised. This one is a must see.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed