Sorority House Massacre (1986) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
61 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Not bad
Tikkin12 July 2006
Sorority House Massacre isn't too bad at all, but there is nothing original or fresh about it either. The basic plot is the same as Halloween (killer from an asylum escapes in search of his sister) and borrows a little from Nightmare On Elm Street (lots of weird nightmares about the killer). The nightmares don't really add much to the film, so I think it would have been better if they had been left out. The build up to the climax is a little slow, but once the action kicks in there are surprisingly a few tense moments, such as when the killer tries to climb in through the window.

Overall, Sorority House Massacre is just an average slasher flick. Watchable, but not very original. Also not very gory, so gore-hounds should look elsewhere.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Contrived Roger Corman-produced slasher is better than it should be
drownnnsoda25 May 2015
"Sorority House Massacre" follows Beth, a college coed who is spending Memorial Day Weekend at a sorority house with several sisters who want her to join. The house seems strangely familiar to Beth, and a series of dreams and bizarre visions link her to a madman who is dead set on nabbing her in the house.

In some ways a "Halloween" ripoff of the highest order, "Sorority House Massacre" takes the blueprint of Carpenter's classic and bases itself on the precise premise without an ounce of shame. Madman breaking out of a psych ward, shots of a group of girls walking through the tree-lined suburbs to class (except here the location is unabashedly California, and the girls college students). While some people have ripped this film for its shameless imitation, genre fans are more likely to appreciate the funky weirdness the film has to offer.

There are tinges of a psychic thriller set inside the slasher framework here that are handled surprisingly decently; lots of talk of ghosts, dreams and psychology, and brainwave connections make for some inventive plot fixings. The flashbacks and Beth's bizarre visions of the villain are edited and presented in a startling fashion, and somehow manage to be mildly creepy. The film is much less gory than the title would suggest, which is another reason the film falls in line with a psychic thriller perhaps more than a straightforward slasher. The performances are ho-hum at best, but for a low-budget late eighties horror flick, they are completely respectable.

Overall, "Sorority House Massacre" is a heck of a lot better than it should be. It is contrived and at times silly, but there are some genuinely startling on screen encounters with the villain, and the film is engaging in all of its hokey eighties corniness. The obnoxious late- eighties "Saved By the Bell" wardrobe and California atmosphere is also another amusing point of interest. 6/10.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Surprisingly good!
WritnGuy-25 September 1999
I had resisted renting this for a long time, expecting something very typical and stupid. And in some ways, it was pretty campy (watch for the dress-up session!) but once the horror gets started, it gets pretty good.

Beth, a girl plagued by obscure but genuinely creepy nightmares, moves into her new sorority, just when most of the girls leave for Memorial Weekend. She stays back with three others, who, that night, are joined by four guys for a night of fun. Seems pretty typical, right? Yeah, I suppose. But it does get good.

Through some study on the dreams, and memories, Beth realizes that this is the house she used to live in until her brother killed the family and attempted to kill her. And, surprisingly, it's not one of those "what a coincidence!" things when the crazy brother escapes the local asylum. It seems as if the the brother and sister have some connection in their dreams, and he knows she is at the house. So he breaks free (pretty easily) and goes on a hunt for her, but only after wreaking havoc in town, stealing a car, and breaking into a hunting store to get a knife and kill the owner.

It's nighttime, and it looks like Beth's dreams are becoming reality. They even find a hidden knife under a brick in the fireplace that she thought she imagined. Then the brother gets there, and the fun begins.

It's not stalk 'n slash, though, except for a few. Three guys are killed off, and then, when making out with her boyfriend, a girl is killed in a tent, and her boyfriend buck naked, escapes, gasping, "Some guy just killed Tracy!" Okay, so it is pretty campy, especially because he remains naked for a few minutes before miracuously finding some (girls?) pants in one room. Then the surviving four realize that they are trapped...with the killer...in the house....

Very good from there. The characters are likeable, and the killer is very twisted. It's great when he sees each of his victims as a family member he killed, right down to the end of the climax, which ends so well with Beth saying something like, "Get away from me, you sick son of a b*tch!" when she finally finds a knife while he is pulling her towards him.

Overall, an innovative movie, if you can look past the many stereotypes, and the cheese. The acting isn't terrible, and the characters become likeable, especially the last two girls. Definitely check this out, just for the really great horror towards the end.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Generic Slasher: The Movie
staciewilliams-8951524 June 2019
Listen, I've suffered through a lot of bad movies in my day, but the exciting thing about them is that, sometimes, they're so awful they almost turn into bizarre comedies full of weird line readings, insane dialogue, completely inhuman responses to big twists, etc. For me, the worst thing a film can do is be boring or mundane without a single inspired moment and, honestly, most bad films are usually far from boring.

This brings me to Sorority House Massacre - a film so dull, passionless, and lacking in anything remotely resembling excitement that I'm surprised I remembered it enough to give this review.

It manages to cram the plots of Halloween and A Nightmare on Elm Street into one, but it does absolutely nothing of note. Usually, in even the worst of slasher films, there's a character or death scene or two worth remembering, but there's absolutely nothing to latch onto here. It's all just going through the motions.

If you value your time, skip it.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Sorority House Massacre
Scarecrow-8817 March 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Beth(Angela O'Neill)has been battling recurring nightmares since moving back to her sorority after her beloved aunt passed away. There's a man who has just murdered an entire family and seems to be coming for her. Director Carol Frank juxtaposes Beth returning home to her sorority with a man named Bobby(John C Russell)trying to free himself from the cell of a psycho ward. What does happen over time is that Beth will find that the images that occur in her mind and dreams(not just that one recurring nightmare, but various images of Bobby trying at her with a long curving knife)are repressed memories from her childhood resurfacing because they are awakened as she comes to the sorority which was once that very home Bobby killed in. Bobby will break from his cell when he attacks a nurse and return to the scene of the crime to finish what he started..killing Beth, the one that got away. But, other sorority friends of Beth's will unfortunately bear her burden as they fall individually to his twisted wrath once he takes from a hardware store a knife he used to kill the owner.

Energetic photography, potent nightmarish images of Bobby and his mean blade in Beth's mind, and a likable performance from cute O'Neill as heroine Beth lend a helping hand in another of those run-of-the-mill college slashers where young adults are simply enjoying life until they walk unknowingly into the knife of a sicko. There are jump-scares aplenty, over and over. The film pretty much is predictable and the screenplay provides ways for Beth's poor college mates to perish. This has those wonderful 80's items we cherish, the lousy fashion, lots of posters of musicians hot at the time, and those glorious hairstyles. The film also shows lots of cleavage..nearly all the females(..but, Beth, of course, who appears to be the pure virginal innocent)show their breasts. The boyfriends are all goof balls(and most of the gals,as well)so that might be another reason to check this slasher flick out. Just don't expect originality, because this sticks pretty close to formula except the added angle of repressed memories.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Grade B version of "Halloween" with the setting of "The House on Sorority Row"
Wuchakk28 July 2019
"Sorority House Massacre" (1986) combines the plot of "Halloween" (psycho killer escapes asylum and goes after his little sister) with the sorority house setting of "The House on Sorority Row" (1983) and "Black Christmas" (1974). But the production values are subpar by comparison, sparking some to call it the worst 80's slasher film.

It's true that the movie starts shaky with filmmaking akin to an old soap opera, but it builds some suspense in the second half. And there are a few gems, like when Beth's sorta-date (the short, dark-haired guy) says, "I just like being with you." This shows that the writer actually put in some effort despite the Grade B (or Grade C) production values. The fact that there's no camp and everything plays out deadly seriously is a plus.

The film is short and sweet at 1 hour, 14 minutes; it was shot in Los Angeles.

GRADE: C
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Derivative, but not the worst of its type.
gridoon28 September 2002
Mad killer escapes from an insane asylum and goes after his sister (does this remind you of anything?), with whom he shares an unexplained telepathic link. This film is not too bad of its type, but it's just too derivative of both "Halloween" and "Nightmare on Elm Street" (there are many ominous dream sequences). The main heroine is fairly engaging, but the rest of the characters are almost indistinguishable from one another (and the men are badly acted, too). (**)
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
REALLY BAD!
dx4lifexpac16 April 2000
one night when i came across this movie in blockbuster i picked it up knowing that i would probably get a bad horror film. but i thought it would be bad in a good way. i should have known not too rent this, horror films were great from 74-84, but anything after that for the most part sucked. there are so many things that made this movie bad, too many too name, but i'll name one. this is the biggest Halloween rip off i ever saw. killer breaks out of a Psycho ward, and goes after this girl and what we find out is that her familly was killed by her brother and now he's coming for her. if that's not a Halloween rip off i don't know what is, if you wanna rip off Halloween that's fine it was a great movie, but atleast do a good job. i almost past out so many times durring the movie, it's so boring i can't think of one thing good to say about this movie at all i give it 1/10, and i give it a one only cause they riped off a classic horror film so atleast the makers of the film have taste
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Forgotten 80s Slasher... A Gem? You Decide!
gavin69422 October 2012
A little girl's brother kills the whole family, but she escapes by hiding in the basement. He is committed, and she grows up with a new family, eventually going to college and joining a sorority. Due to memory loss, she does not remember that the sorority house was her childhood home.

Thank you, Roger Corman, for producing this cheap attempt at a slasher, cashing in on a craze at the time. You are a producing genius.

I am more than a little confused by the "trying on the wardrobe" scene. Did it help the plot? No. This seemed like an excuse to play bad music for a minute and show three girls in various stages of undress. While (for good or bad) nudity is a crucial part of the slasher, this pushed the concept of "gratuitous" to new levels.

The film was written and directed Carol Frank, assistant to the director of "Slumber Party Massacre". Clearly that film's influence on this one is obvious, if for n other reason than the title. And Frank has done little else in the world of movies... very mysterious. (For what it is worth, this film is more than good for a first time director... the potential for a career was certainly there.)

The lead actress, Angela O'Neill, is unknown to most people, but she is actually now a success in Hollywood -- in the arts and props department. She has worked on such films as "American Beauty" and "Apollo 13". If this film did nothing else for the world of cinema, it launched O'Neill's career, and has benefited us all.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
sit back and enjoy
Earlameyer23 February 2002
I found this to be a pretty good movie. The scene with the dolls at the kitchen tables is one of the more memorable horror scenes for me. It gets to be a bit campy, but it is a generally good movie. There is horror, laughter, and as with any good teen horror...naked women. While it is taking a lot from Halloween I still find it to be a good watch and would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
So clichéd, so 80s, so awesome
mullermike11 November 2005
My friend and I got together and we were looking for a movie on satellite. Return of the Sith? Nah, too long. Sideways? Nope, too heady. Sorority House Massacre? Charge my card immediately!! Throw this movie in with cheesy, 80s horror flicks. Other films like "Slumber Party" Massacre come to mind. All are pretty much knockoffs of Halloween, the godfather of modern slasher flicks (I don't think Psycho was, for it was of an earlier generation). But it's all there, the bad 80s hair and outfits, actors that can't annunciate, and a killer that doesn't die, even after repeatedly being stabbed, punched, and hit with a shovel. This guy must be made of steel.

If the girl having visions about murders in her dream isn't a complete ripoff from Nightmare on Elm Street, nothing is. True, this freakish girl doesn't die in her dreams but everyone around her goes by the wayside. I'm surprised she wasn't subjected to more abuse, as she really was weird and had an eerie resemblance to Kyle McLaughlin.

Not to say I expected Shakespeare when I watched this rubbish. Bad acting was expected, some mindless T&A to go with several dead bodies, and that's what I received. The money shot occurs when the murderer is coming after the sorority girls, falls two stories off a ladder, then is able to spontaneously crash through the window minutes later. Even Altman couldn't pull that one off.

So ya, this is your basic 80s slasher flick. Not necessarily funny but mildly amusing. Make sure you watch it with a friend and crack jokes through it's entirety. And if somehow this movie scares you, get a cigarette and a shrink.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A lot less T&A than Wynorski's nightie slashers, but a lot more story and suspense (hmm, tough call...)
BillyBC28 May 2003
(**1/2 out of *****)

This is the only movie in the slasher-slashes-girls-in-their-nighties series -- which includes the "Slumber Party Massacre" movies and Jim Wynorski's "Hard to Die" (he also directed the sequel to this one) -- that stands on its own. It has nothing to do with the others, and, storywise, it's better. Angela O'Neill plays a traumatized college girl who has sleeping and waking nightmares about a madman who murdered his family, except for one sister (guess who it is), twelve years ago in the house that is now O'Neill's sorority house. When she and three of her sorority sisters are left alone for the weekend, her dreams come true when the same nutcase escapes from the mental hospital and comes back home to finish the job. I'm not gonna lie to you -- this is far from great -- but, it is surprisingly suspenseful in parts, the characters are fairly likable, and, unlike most of these other movies, the script does a believably good job of keeping the girls trapped in the house. There is a silly dress-up montage (including the obligatory topless scenes), the obligatory false-scare climax (including a totally unnecessary final murder that ticked me off), and lots of scenes of knives going into stomachs and backs. Otherwise, the T&A is not as rampant as in the other nightie slashers, but the story is (slightly) more rewarding.

HIGHLIGHT: One sorority chic and her boyfriend are fooling around in a tent in the backyard when the killer ruins all their fun by slashing up the tent and stabbing the girl right between the -- well, not the eyes -- and her boyfriend ditches her and runs, screaming and buck-naked, back into the house.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Well Acted, pretty girls and boys, lots of screams!!!
JimSthers9 December 2001
I really like this film, people will hate me for saying this, but I like it better than Halloween, don't ask me why?, I just do. I really liked the four main sorority girls, so much that it hurt when they got killed, the boyfriends I really didn't care for, anyway, this has a little blood, boobs, lots of screaming and running around, and even a little graphic violence. Its a fun film...
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Pure Schlock
tgoldberg631 July 2018
When people think of trashy 80s slasher films, this is the kind of movie that comes to mind. A bunch of sorority girls have a slumber party with their boyfriends and only one will survive unslashed - but not before a good serving of boobies, some tasteful man butt (which is either clothed or exposed depending on the camera angle), and a clothes changing montage with music that seems ripe for a vaporwave remix. The script is barely even TV quality, the acting is too restrained to convey any real tension, and the villain basically has no motivation. He's just a scary guy who waves a knife around and occasionally connects it with a screaming bimbo. If you're in the mood for junk food then this is worth an impulse watch (it's only 70 minutes, after all), but if you're actually looking to be scared or thrilled, don't bother.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not too shabby....there are worse ones than this.
AineOHara30 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This is a Roger Corman film so I was expecting some awfulness to it (ie: Planet 9 from outer space). However, it was a surprisingly good slasher film.

Yes, there are a lot of Halloween (the brother/sister), Friday the 13th (couple making out outside) and Nightmare on Elm Street (dreams ) references,but it had its own take and story to tell.

It would have been better if they were twins and had a connection that way...Maybe, not. The acting was better if not the same than one would see in any other slasher film. The hospital staff was portrayed as decent and real unlike the portrayal in Friday the 13th: Final Chapter. The dining room and nightmare sequences are probably the best.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ok Slasher Flick
gwnightscream3 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This 1986 horror film tells of a teenage girl who spends the weekend with friends at a sorority house. She starts having nightmares about a man trying to kill her. Soon, she realizes that the man and her are connected as well as the house. This is just ok, but it clearly rips off "Halloween" and "Slumber Party Massacre." You could give this one a try at least once if you're into the genre.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not Bad, But Not Good Either
ryan-1007528 January 2019
An authentic whack job (John C. Russell) wants out of the mental asylum he is in. Once he escapes he goes to a sorority house where he seems to have a certain connection to a college girl named Beth (Angela O'Neill).

In the end this movie is better than it should have really been. Does have some good imagery during the dream sequences, but takes too much from A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET and way too much from HALLOWEEN. I thought a big thing that would have worked for the movie was adding some back story to the characters. We do get Beth's, but none of the other characters seem to have much of a back story. None of the male college students have any. Because of this the only characters I really cared about were Beth and John (Vinnie Bilancio). John just seemed to be a nice guy, but man I wanted to get deeper into his character than what I got. You may say that's what you get for watching a slasher. Maybe, but I am not going to lower my bar just because I am watching a slasher flick. They too can have well-developed characters. I also think by doing this it may have extended the running time a little as it comes in at only 74 minutes.

Anyways, on a side note they end up watching SLUMBER PARTY MASSACRE, which I do recommend watching and writer/director Carol Frank worked as assistant to the director in that film. As well when some of the college girls decide to go through Cindy's clothes who has gone away for the weekend you are welcomed to Shoulder Pad City. Ahhh the 80s.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
not a bad low budget movie
stimpy-1317 May 2001
this film isn't that bad. about 10 years ago i couldn't sleep at night an this movie came on like at 3am an i loved it an for years I couldn't remember the name of it an recently I finally figured it out an so i went an bought it for 10 bucks it's not as good as I thought it was then

but I still like it only complaint is it's too much like slumber party massacre 2 but this one is better an makes more sense
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Too many flashback scenes.
bigpappa1--220 May 2000
During spring break, the few remaining members of a sorority house are attacked by a psycho, but looks like he is the brother of one of the sorority members. Film is entertaining and cheesy like many chillers in this genre, but the film has way too many flashback scenes to pad out the running time to 74 mins. By the way, the girls in the film look good naked. 6 out of 10.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Nadir of the '80s slasher boom
Leofwine_draca29 December 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This tiresome slasher yarn is lacking in wit, sophistication, originality, action or quality; all of the reasons you would want to watch a movie in the first place. Why did I decide to rent this film in the first place if it was so bad, you may ask. Well firstly the box art - many a time I have been suckered into seeing a film because of the cool box art. Secondly, I found this on the Medusa label, and there used to be a lot of interesting films on that label. Sadly this is not one of them. The best thing about the movie is the title, although sadly there isn't a "massacre" of any sort really.

Sure enough, the film opens with lots of p.o.v. camera-work and tinkly music. The plot in a nutshell is that teens are terrorised at night by a killer who has escaped from an asylum and turns out to be the brother of the lead. I'm surprised Moustapha Akkad didn't sue the makers of this HALLOWEEN rip-off. Then again as Roger Corman is behind this movie nothing would surprise me. What happened to that guy anyway? He started off by paving the way for the genres with his enjoyable B-movies of the late '50s, and has ended up producing all sorts of rubbish in his later years. The film is very cheap-looking, and in particular has some really bad sets which just look plain wrong. The most imagination is summoned in a dream sequence in which the lead discovers a load of weird life like dolls sitting around a dinner table, but that's it. Otherwise its business as usual with lots of irritating teens talking, messing around, and a bad guy picking them off one by one (in the last twenty minutes that is).

Watching a film in which teenage girls talk about the reasons for their hairstyles and try on various items of hideous '80s clothing isn't my ideal choice for an evening's entertainment, although the latter event is merely a gratuitous opportunity to throw in some extra nudity from the girls. With Roger Corman I wasn't surprised, although a scene later on in the film with a nude man was pretty shocking. The acting is awful, the cast bland and wooden, but that doesn't matter anyway as the script is rubbish to begin with. In an asylum scene one of the orderlies has some funny lines but that's about as unintentionally funny as the script gets and only provides a few chuckles here and there.

What else is there of note? In one scene characters watch HUMANOIDS FROM THE DEEP on television, another Corman reference and the film's nicest surprise. Is it scary? Nope, because the killer is just an ordinary Joe who you've passed on the street a million times. He becomes indestructible at the end of the film, but that just serves to drag out the running time even more, so that the last ten minutes drags like two hours. Watch out for a hilarious moment where the killer dives in through a window. On the first floor. Is he pals with Superman or something? So, in the end, SORORITY HOUSE MASSACRE is the bane of American '80s cinema, and a fine example of the trash that the slasher genre spawned. There isn't even the saving benefit of any gore for the horror fans, as the oh-so-imaginative killings are reduced to repeated non-bloody stabbings. This is a film ridden with annoying flashbacks, silly slow-motion dream sequences and false scares, and isn't to be recommended to your worst enemy. It's not even funny-bad. It's just boring.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable 80's slasher fare
Woodyanders19 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Troubled young college student Beth (a solid and sympathetic performance by Angela O'Neill) has a strange feeling about the sorority house that her friends reside in. Her pals dismiss her warning about a knife-wielding killer. However, Beth proves to be right after psycho Bobby (a creepily intense portrayal by John C. Russell) escapes from a mental hospital and heads straight to the sorority house so he can embark on a murderous spree. Writer/director Carol Frank maintains a swift pace throughout, draws the characters with more depth than usual, generates a reasonable amount of tension, and delivers a satisfying smattering of tasty gratuitous female nudity as well as a sufficient helping of bloody violence. Moreover, Beth's various dreams and visions provide a sizable jot of eerie and unsettling surrealistic oomph. The actresses are quite pretty and personable: Wendy Martel as sweet psychology major Linda, Pamela Ross as perky ditz Sara, and Nicole Rio as bitchy party gal Tracy. Michael Wetherwax's spirited hum'n'shiver synthesizer score hits the shuddery spot. Marc Reshovsky's slick cinematography makes good use of a prowling hand-held camera and offers plenty of strikingly offbeat visuals. Recommended viewing for slice'n'dice fans.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my favorites
charkade16 July 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Slasher films from the eighties are my favorite, they just don't make them like this one anymore.

Four sexy sorority girls and their dumb boyfriends (really dumb) are stalked by one of the girls' crazy brother. This is fairly bloodless and not that original, but it has something it appeals to me, I don't know if its the lead actresses (they are quite good) or the background music or the dream sequences. The first time you watch this is a lot of fun to guess who will be the next one to die, fortunately, the dumb boyfriends are the first to get killed, leaving us with three of the terrified girls (in little clothing, bra-less) trying to get away from the killer.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Surprisingly good of its kind
duce12230 August 2004
Sorority House Massacre (1987) C-74 min. D: Carol Frank. Angela O'Neill, Wendy Martel, Pamela Ross, Nicole Rio, John C. Russell, Marcus Vaughter, Vinnie Bilancio, Joe Nassi, Mary Anne, Gillian Frank, Joseph Mansier. Surprisingly good of its kind, this slasher flick, one of many MASSACRE films of the 80s, has more character development, symbolism, and backstory than it has any business having. A college student pledging for a sorority spends the weekend in the sorority house with her future sisters, sensing that her psychotic brother is coming after her. Guess what happens next. Lines like `Hold on, where's my brain?' make this film an Oscar contender (*sarcasm alert*). For slasher fans and horny guys looking for lots of big breasts and erotic butt shots. RATING: 5 out of 10. RATED R for graphic violence, grisly images, profanity, sexuality, nudity, adult themes.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
If You're A Massacre Fan , Then you Know You Gotta See it....
drhackenstine9 February 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Them '80's......they had all the best titles for the slasher movies. This is just another drop in the bucket for any slasher fan. Basic story borrows from Halloween and Slumber Party Massacre at the same time. The new girl in the local sorority house is having nightmares of a killer. Soon a maniac is stalking and killing her friends. I guess if you watch it empty-headedly, it's not too bad. There's a splash of blood here and there, a shocker conclusion, a twist in the middle, and some okay performances from the leading ladies. Better then most of the slashers that were coming out in '86. Still, it's pretty mediocre horror viewing. For slasher fans, watch it once, and I'm sure you will have had your fill. Sorority House Massacre 2 is much more zanier. Two stars.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Might be one of the worst B-slashers ever made
mattymatt4ever19 February 2003
And I don't mean that in a good way. 100 % Dullsville all the way through. The film doesn't contain anything worthy of my interest. Even the chicks aren't good-looking! So when they get naked, it's like, "Who cares?" Plus, I assumed since the film is titled "Sorority House Massacre," it would be about a bunch of GIRLS being stalked by a psychotic killer, and not a bunch of girls AND THEIR BOYFRIENDS! That totally destroys all the homo-erotic undertones. There's no moments of humor. The acting is mediocre, which is worse than bad in the case of a film like this, because I can't be impressed by the acting, nor can I laugh at it. There's a nifty scene involving the girls trying to escape from the bedroom window with a ladder, and the killer is waiting on the other end. Not exactly a Hitchcock moment, but it was pretty exciting and that's the only reason I'm giving the movie a score of "2." This is definitely not the trashiest B-slasher ever made, but it's definitely one of the most boring! And in a genre like this, being trashy is not a sin. Being boring--major sin!!! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL COSTS!!!!

My score: 2 (out of 10)
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed