Crimes of the Heart (1986) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
The McGrath sisters sure have a way with men!
MickeyTo21 October 1999
Putting three powerful actresses into one film isn't necessarily a guarantee that the project will work, however, this is one of those rare exceptions.

Beth Henley's play about three eccentric sisters in the south is adapted well to the screen, thanks in part to the careful direction of Bruce Beresford. Diane Keaton plays Lennie, the eldest sister, who's feelings of awkwardness prevent her from being happy. Jessica Lange is Meg, the fast-moving middle sister who packed up and left town for the big lights of Hollywood, only to be disappointed. And Sissy Spacek is Babe, the kooky youngest sister, recently charged with shooting her husband.

The sisters are tormented by their cousin and neighbor, Chick, played by Tess Harper. Her own desire to be an upstanding member of the ladies league, combined with her desire to outshine and belittle her cousins, make her the villain in this story.

The sisters are reunited when Babe shoots her husband. As she says, she 'didn't like his stinkin' looks.' Babe is slightly unbalanced. After shooting him in the stomach she went out and made herself a pitcher of lemonade. What was most bizarre was that she then had the nerve to offer him a glass!

Over the course of several days the sisters confront the demons that have been troubling them. Lennie has 'shrunken ovaries' and therefore cannot have children. She believes that this is keeping her from getting a man. Meg is tortured by her own selfishness. The rumors about her convincing Doc Porter (played by Sam Sheppard) to hang around in during a hurricane, only to suffer a life altering leg injury, are all true.

The film reads like the play from which is came from. The scenes are often long. The dialogue marches on from subject to subject. The characters are well fleshed out, however most of the information we get comes from suggestions and flashbacks made by the characters. One must listen to the dialogue in this film in order to truly follow the story.

The acting is first rate by all four leads. Sissy Spacek and Tess Harper are definate standouts. They each received nominations at the Oscars that year. Lange and Keaton play their parts well. The cast works as an ensemble, with no upstaging, but rather opportunities for everyone to shine.

Crimes of the Heart is a first rate piece that may not be appropriate for all movie goers, simply because it requires the viewer to pay attention to detail. The action is slow moving, making room for some wonderful dialogue.

Enjoy this film as it offers some great acting with a pretty decent script.
22 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Although this film is 15 years old now, it accurately depicts the psychological damage that generally occurs within in families as a result of depression and suicide.
res0owwh10 December 2001
Warning: Spoilers
POSSIBLE SPOILERS.

This movie is classified as a "comedy" but depicts real-life behaviours of people when subjected to suicide of a parent.

The three main characters, sisters, each deal with their childhood issues in their individualistic manners.

One is withdrawn, shy, and non-assertive as an adult, believes she is defective because of the ignorance of her grandfather in regard to a minor medical problem, and afraid of relationships with men.

Another is a chain-smoking alcoholic who hated her father, probably for more reasons than were depicted in the movie, has a long string of men whom she never allows herself to become genuinely close with, and suffers a temporary mental breakdown.

The third sister married a controlling and abusive man at her age 18 years, suffers from loneliness and suicidal ideologies, and finally snaps enough to shoot her husband due to his abusiveness.

The movie is a triumph in its illustration of accurate human behaviours and reactions to traumatic events and depicts the seriousness of those situations with humour. Additionally, it accurately depicts denial in operation.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
What a wonderful pitcher of lemonade
parsifalssister11 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
This is the south, true and simply amazingly illuminating. The three sisters, each unique in their own quirky way, adore each other as they resent each other. But the beauty is their coming together in those family moments when nothing is as good as kin.

So much sunshine lights on the faces and expressions of the actresses, and the tension, though slow, makes for a more interesting look into the inner life of Lenny, Babe and Meg.

The supporting case all did fine jobs, and although short lived, the interaction between Lange & Shepard magnified their personal connection.

Harper, the harpy, uppity cousin, was as typical as a cousin could get in a small town with know-it-all manners and nothing much to offer but spite. She played it for all it was worth, and then some, and get a head's up from the Academy.

Babe's character played by Sissy Spacek, was perhaps the central figure in the triumvirate, but Keaton and Lange held their own throughout.

A most worthy southern tale to laugh at, cry with and relate to with ease.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Amazing movie!!
julieannerosner5 May 2006
Based on the successful play this film gathered an ensemble of some of the most talented actors and actresses of our time, which includes Sissy Spacek, Sam Shepard, Tess Harper, Diane Keaton, and Jessica Lange. Taking place in the south, we follow the story of a family's relationship and how they are dealing with their sister shooting her husband. With the strong female cast we can't help but to feel their pain through their emotions, relationship with each other, and how they deal with life. Great strong character choices, yet sisters with something even greater in common....love of family, and loyalty. There are many lessons to learn in this film and one of the most important is you can't turn your back on your family, even when you run away they will be there for you. The acting is superb, the honesty is great and in all a wonderful film to see. A true classic and if you haven't seen the play, read it or rented it.....do it now...you won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Delightful
Ralpho31 July 2002
Usually when I sense that the actors had a great time making a movie, the result isn't particularly noteworthy. ("Cannonball Run" comes to mind.) But "Crimes of the Heart" is an exception. If Jessica Lange, Diane Keaton and Sissy Spacek weren't absolutely delighted to tackle the lead roles in this film, they are much better actors than I thought.

The material is reminiscent of Flannery O'Connor, who wrote some of the most humorous, offbeat Southern fiction extant.

The three sisters are so controlled by their visceral reactions that one wonders if any of them have ever had an intellectual moment. Although it would be maddening to have such people for friends, they're great instruments for movie comedy.

One final note: If anyone thinks Sissy Spacek is goofy-looking (as I used to), they will change their mind when they see her in this. She is absolutely gorgeous here.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
as sane as anyone walkin the streets of hazelhurst MS
sheela_na_gigs13 May 2005
Warning: Spoilers
i LOVE COTH. i know some of Henley's relatives & as hilarious as this movie (and play) are, the characters are true-to-life Southern eccentrics. living out of MS when i saw the play and the movie, i felt right at home. maybe one has to be US Southern to really understand the wackiness and schizophrenia of this part of the country. Henley writes about her own life and relatives and people of her community. Just as Slingblade is not so much movie as documentary, COTH is a memoir. When my mother watched Slingblade with me, she said, "Isnt this supposed to be 'film?" Didn't Mr Thornton win some award? Hell, he just went home to a family reunion and set up a video camera and let it roll. You know all those people; my God, we're kin to half of 'em." So it is with Henley's marvelous memoir, when eccentrics "are just as sane as anyone else walking down the streets of Hazlehurst MS."
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
My brief review of the film
sol-18 November 2005
An entertaining outrageous black comedy, it is supported by three excellent leading performances, although Sissy Spacek is by far the best, and the camera-work from Dante Spinotti is excellent, with creative camera angles and good use of panning. The film tries to bring in a nostalgic sense too though, and does not quite succeed, and the drama of the material does not mix well with the comedy. The choices of music are not too good either, and Tess Harper comes across as very annoying in an over-the-top way, but the virtues of the film are better than its shortcomings. The film comes across as rather lightweight with its black comedy treatment, but it certainly raises some issues with families and coping with one's past, among other ideas. It is not however a film to watch for its messages, but one to simply enjoy for its amusing parts and cinematic virtues, which include some good sound recording too.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Love this film.
jerricastanton9 May 2006
Crimes of the Heart We all have crimes of the heart.....sad, true, and blissful....at times...this film covers all the territory. Based on the successful play this film gathered an ensemble of some of the most talented actors and actresses of our time, which includes Sissy Spacek, Sam Shepard, Tess Harper, Diane Keaton, and Jessica Lange. Taking place in the south, we follow the story of a family's relationship and how they are dealing with their sister shooting her husband. With the strong female cast we can't help but to feel their pain through their emotions, relationship with each other, and how they deal with life. Great strong character choices, yet sisters with something even greater in common....love of family, and loyalty. There are many lessons to learn in this film and one of the most important is you can't turn your back on your family, even when you run away they will be there for you. The acting is superb, the honesty is great and in all a wonderful film to see. A true classic!! When family gathers....everything comes out.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Playwright Beth Henley serves up her own southern-baked black comedy, which simmers instead of boils.
gbrumburgh3 May 2001
Mississippi-born Beth Henley adapted her Pulitzer-prize winning play to the screen and, for that reason alone, is worth a look-see especially if you haven't seen the theatre production. Directed here by Bruce Beresford, this is quintessential Henley -- her first work to be produced professionally -- offering the story of the three quirky, maladjusted Magrath sisters, who reunite following family misfortune to reflect on their unstable past, present and futures.

Lenny, the eldest sister, is the repressed 'plain Jane' self-imposed into early spinsterhood because of her barren condition. Considering herself damaged goods, she now conducts her life as such, tending to her garden and other non-romantic pursuits. Meg, in the middle, is the listless live wire, the capricious, hard-living beauty who fled the coop early to pursue an aimless career in Hollywood as a singer. The prodigal daughter finally returns, rather reluctantly, when serious trouble brews back home. Babe, the youngest and most susceptible to eccentric behavior, seems to take after their dead, self-destructive mother (a suicide) as she battles with manic depression and resorts to off-the-wall bits of craziness. In jail at the present for critically shooting her husband (she "didn't like his looks"), her bizarre action prompts this filial reunion.

As served up by a triune of powerhouse, Oscar-winning ladies, the star performances should have really cooked. Instead they seems unoriginal and pat. Diane Keaton and Jessica Lange are overtly mannered as the two older sisters Lenny and Meg. Keaton especially, easily the "Sandy Dennis of the 70s and 80s", has her neurotic fireworks on full display. The snorting laughter, the flailing gestures, the quizzical eye-rolling, the stammering speeches. What seemed delightfully offbeat in Woody Allen comedies has become old hat and irksome as the years roll on. Lange, too, has her patented affectations on all four burners. The far-away gaze, the slow, reflective speech patterns, the whimsical, lackadaisical laugh and edgy stance. Both of the actresses have represented themselves much better in other vehicles. Ironically, Sissy Spacek, whose character lends itself to be the most neurotic of the three, comes off more inspired and assured -- a complete departure, by the way, from her typical "Coal Miner's Daughter" money-maker. Good for her.

In support, rangy actor/writer Sam Shepard, Lange's long-time off-camera squeeze, has little to do here but look longingly as Lange's on-camera squeeze. But Tess Harper goes way overboard as the overly-opiniated Chick, the snippy, mullet-haired cousin and next-door neighbor, who stereotypes the vicious down-home chatterbox to the nth degree. While her villainy (which kept jogging my memory of wonderful Madeleine Sherwood's Sister Woman portrayal in "Cat On a Hot Tin Roof") certainly enlivens the action as chief foil to the sisters, they tear down the walls of believability as well.

Despite some well-acted moments from this unarguably talented cast, the overbaked production cannot overcome its stagy origins, striving much too much to push the "black comedy" element down the viewer's throat. One wacky scene has Diane Keaton chasing Tess Harper out of her house and around the backyard with a broom, a bit that comes off just plain ridiculous even though it's meant to be a catalyst for liberating Keaton's Lenny character. I'm sorry, but broom-chasing went out with Marjorie Main's "Ma Kettle" character years ago. This and other eccentric scenes simply come off forced, as if the actors are playing the intention instead of the moment. Lange and Shepard's giddy dancing drunk scene, Spacek's over-sugared lemonade bit, and even Keaton's impromptu birthday cake segment are guilty of this felonious acting charge.

While definitely Tennessee Williams-influenced, the rather thin Henley story and characters pale in comparison. Working much better on stage, this movie remains, however, a curiosity item that somehow ended up on simmer instead of boil, despite the obvious potential.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
a wonderful movie with three wonderful actresses
disdressed1214 April 2009
i liked this movie quite a bit.i guess it's a chick flick,but i also think it was part dark comedy.at least there were elements of that here and there.either way,it was a good movie.it's basically about three sisters who have all grown up and gone their separate ways,who are then reunited under less than ideal circumstances.Diane Keaton,Jessica Lange ,and Sissy Spacek are three sisters that couldn't be more different.once they're brought together again,they form new bonds and learn about each other.the film is very poignant,very moving.this is no action movie,it's dialogue and character driven,so it may seem slow,and it's not for everyone.but in this case,it is the journey,not the destination that's important.watching the three woman as they react to a life changing event is fascinating.a word of caution.there are one or two scenes where a racial slur is uttered,which is disturbing.otherwise though,a wonderful movie with three wonderful actresses.for me,Crimes of the Heart is an 8/10
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Unpleasant dark comedy about three eccentric sisters
roghache19 April 2006
This is a black comedy and despite the famous cast, definitely not my cup of tea. The talents of the three famous actresses were wasted on this depressing bit of drivel. I prefer comedies of the heartwarming, romantic, light hearted, or zany school.

The story revolves around three troubled sisters in a Southern town, who reunite when the youngest, Babe (rather a bizarre character), gets herself in a jam after shooting her husband. The oldest sister, Lenny, is an awkward spinster who has stayed home throughout the years caring for her father. The alcoholic, chain smoking middle sister, Meg, left home early in the hopes of making it as a singer & actress in Hollywood. There's also a jealous & snoopy cousin, Chick, who's basically the villain of the piece.

It has a stellar cast, especially its three leading ladies in the roles of the neurotic sisters, who are all coping in their individual ways following the trauma of their mother's suicide by hanging. Diane Keaton plays the shy, insecure, stammering spinsterish Lenny, who feels herself inadequate to attract a man because of her inability to bear children (due to shrunken ovaries). Jessica Lange is cast as the wild sister, Meg, who hates her father and has had a string of failed relationships with men...including a current love interest, Doc Porter (played by Sam Shepherd). Sissy Spacek is the kooky younger sister, Babe, who married at a young age an abusive man.

Presumably well crafted with great performances, but the tale of the personal demons troubling the three eccentric sisters simply doesn't make for humour, as I see it. When Babe shoots her husband, then goes into the kitchen to make a pitcher of lemonade, and offers him a glass...well, it's not something I find hilarious or entertaining to watch. It's set in the South, and for me the best part of the film is the wonderful old Victorian family home where the sisters reunite. Otherwise, I'll stick to the Steel Magnolias type when I feel like a movie interweaving the tales of a group of women.
11 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
A true classic!!
Jurgenlachlan29 April 2006
Crimes of the Heart We all have crimes of the heart.....sad, true, and blissful....at times...this film covers all the territory. Based on the successful play this film gathered an ensemble of some of the most talented actors and actresses of our time, which includes Sissy Spacek, Sam Shepard, Tess Harper, Diane Keaton, and Jessica Lange. Taking place in the south, we follow the story of a family's relationship and how they are dealing with their sister shooting her husband. With the strong female cast we can't help but to feel their pain through their emotions, relationship with each other, and how they deal with life. Great strong character choices, yet sisters with something even greater in common....love of family, and loyalty. There are many lessons to learn in this film and one of the most important is you can't turn your back on your family, even when you run away they will be there for you. The acting is superb, the honesty is great and in all a wonderful film to see. A true classic!! When family gathers....everything comes out. My vote for this film is 7 out of 10.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Three of Hollywood's best actresses in one hysterical movie
DomiMMHS2 April 1999
But you may easily be disappointed, if you see Jessica Lange's performance here, whom I had so much respect for (well, there are few moments when she actually is believable, but most of the time she's just too fake, would-be cool and high above), and even worse, Diane Keaton's pathetic and unbelievable acting. And she was so good in so many other movies, what a shame...

What does make the movie worthwhile are the performances of a nasty Tess Harper and, before all, a wonderful Sissy Spacek. All in all, Lange, Keaton and Spacek don't deserve this film and it doesn't deserve them, nor can they save it. Oh yea, and the characters have rather stupid names and act in a too hysterical way. Though hardly enjoyable, Spacek and the better part of the story raise my personal rating to 4 out of 10.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Why don't they make em like they use to........
jettaugust29 April 2006
Crimes of the Heart Based on the successful play this film gathered an ensemble of some of the most talented actors and actresses of our time, which includes Sissy Spacek, Sam Shepard, Tess Harper, Diane Keaton, and Jessica Lange. Taking place in the south, we follow the story of a family's relationship and how they are dealing with their sister shooting her husband. With the strong female cast we can't help but to feel their pain through their emotions, relationship with each other, and how they deal with life. Great strong character choices, yet sisters with something even greater in common....love of family, and loyalty. There are many lessons to learn in this film and one of the most important is you can't turn your back on your family, even when you run away they will be there for you. The acting is superb, the honesty is great and in all a wonderful film to see. A true classic and if you haven't seen the play, read it or rented it.....do it now...you won't be disappointed. My vote for this film is 8 out of 10.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
sweet, without being all warm and glowy
Poochie29 November 1998
I've seen this film a few times. The first time I thought I'd have a hard time believing the 3 actresses as sisters because they didn't look alike. But as the film got rolling I didn't even think about it...it seemed natural that they were sisters. All 3 leads are great but Tess Harper is hilarious!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
It says right here: Assorted CREAMS.
Scrues18308 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
First off, a lot of people say the play is much better. I've never read it, even though it probably is true. Yet, the movie is still worth watching. Everybody managed to fit into their personalities, and did a fine job with character development. There were scenes that were very memorable and easy to relate to, such as the scene with the chocolates that were each taken a bite of by Meg. Or the part where Lenny asks Meg why she always had a bunch of jingle bells sowed on her dress while her and Babe only got three each. There are questions that are answered, pretty decent dialogue, and some funny moments. While this movie isn't a masterpiece, it's fun to watch on a rainy day. If you have siblings, you'll also easily relate to some of the problems faced with the characters. Diane Keaton, Sissy Spacek, and Jessica Lange had performances that you don't see everyday. I was quite surprised at how they delivered them. Watch it when you want something new and original.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Cheeseball excuse for a movie...
moonspinner5522 September 2001
Beth Henley's award-winning play about 'family' (her favorite topic) gets a cheeky, somewhat condescending screen-adaptation, with very little sensitivity or subtlety but a lot of Southern brawling. The story concerns three idiosyncratic sisters, and the trio of fine actresses in these roles are almost pitilessly miscast. Diane Keaton is the spinsterish one (though she's too young for the part), Jessica Lange is the sultry one (though she's too old for the part), and Sissy Spacek is the troubled one (though she's too sane for the part). I can't think of one thing that looks right, sounds right, or goes right in this picture. The production budget seems low and the script feels half-baked. The whole thing left me thinking, maybe "Steel Magnolias" wasn't so bad after all! *1/2 from ****
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
my thoughts...
mrsjcc031221 October 2005
GREAT little movie for somebody who will actually pay attention to it. Personally, I really enjoyed the story line of this movie. Kinda like "Steele Magnolias", "Bigger", "Rosewood", "The Color Purple" (just name a few) combined all into a certain type of setting. It just went to show the ignorance of our pasts. Each actress played an excellent role, and whoever chose them did a wonderful job of doing so. Got MY thumbs up!! To those of you who rated it low, SHAME ON YOU! Too Bad this measly little housewife can give a better review that you can. TRADE ME jobs! You can come here to my house and make sure the kids are taken care of, the military husband is cared for and the bills are paid, and I'LL go to sit and watch movies and get paid for it. Even Siskel and Ebert sucked at what they did!! Why do we even listen to you?
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great Story about two days in the lives of three sisters, played by three Oscar winning actresses.
Rosemea D.S. MacPherson25 September 1999
The oldest sister is Lenny, Diane Keaton, (The Other Sister). Oscar Winner Jessica Lange, is the second sister Meg who tries to make it in Hollywood, and Babe, Sissy Spacek, was nominated for and an Oscar for this part, and is a Golden Globe Winner, shot her husband. Babe is my favorite character in the movie. Most of what she says and does are my favorite scenes and quotes. The three sisters come to reunion to give emotional support to Babe. The movie is set in the South and the southern accent is there, especially when they say: Babe, Babe! This is a brilliant script nominated for an Academy Award for Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material from Another Medium by Pulitzer Prizewinning play, Beth Henley. The movie is mostly filmed in a house. I love that concept because it inspires writers and emerging film makers that one does not need a fortune to make a great movie. Especially if you are a woman. We like to talk, do our nails and hair. That is female bonding. This movie is raises very important issues: (1) mental health, because there is a history of depression in the family. Their mother committed suicide by hanging herself with the old yellow cat. Babe is trying to do the same thing. She has the most hysterical approaches. Then she kept talking about her mother as a transference of her own feelings of depression. (2) Racism, a white woman from the South having an affair with a black young man under age; (3) Physical abuse, Babe was abused by her husband. That is why she shot him. (4) Meg is aging and the sisters kept talking about whether Meg was still a virgin. (5) the aging grandfather, etc. This a gem of a movie! I have the tape and watch from time to time. Then there is the romance of Doc Porter, Sam Shepard (The Pelican Brief) and real life love Jessica Lange; and the busy body cousin, Chick Boyle, Tess Harper who was nominated for Best Supporting Actress for the part. I highly recommend this movie. It is just a blast! Favorite Scenes: Meg singing Happy Birthday to herself with three candles and three cookies. Babe with her head inside the oven. It is hysterical!

Favorite Quotes: Babe:" I am not liberal, I am a democrat, I was just lonely." "...after I shot him I put the gun down on the piano bench and went to the kitchen and made a pitcher of lemonade . . . Yes . . . I was dying of thirst my mouth was just dry as a bone."
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Is it possible to enjoy....?
Yale-616 January 2001
Tedious story of neurotic Southern women, each of whom should be in the loony bin. Great shame, as each of the three principals is a fine actress who's done great work in other films. The movie's only virtue is providing a topic for academic discussions: Is it possible to enjoy a film if you do not like even one of the main characters?
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Comedy, character studies, and tragedy mesh uncomfortably
aromatic-24 June 2000
I saw this on Broadway, and that production somehow manoeuvered the tightrope between three worlds in a way that even Beresford could not duplicate. The acting, of course, is excellent, but the mix comes off just enough off-kilter to rob it of any serious impact, and leaves the viewer wanting to rent Steel Magnolias instead.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Three very different sisters come home again
kijii2 November 2016
This is an offbeat comedy based on Beth Henley's multi-prize-winning play: the play won the 1981 Pulitzer Prize for Drama.

Here, three totally different sisters are reunited in their Mississippi house as a result of the youngest sister, Babe (Sissy Spacek), shooting her husband. The concern for everyone is what to do about it and wondering if Babe is crazy.

A second sister, Lenny (Diane Keaton), seems to be becoming an old maid since she has a withered ovary and is afraid of approaching men. In any case, she is taking care of Old Granddaddy (Hurd Hatfield) and uses that excuse to stay around home.

The third sister, Meg (Jessica Lange), has just arrived from Hollywood where she is becoming a movie star or a singer...or something. The one thing she has accomplished there is having sex with a lot of men. When she comes home to help with Babe's problem, she spends the night with Doc Porter (Sam Shepard) who is married with children.

The things that unite the three sisters are their memories and the fact that their mother killed a cat while committing suicide some time back. (The murder of the cat with the suicide had made the family a bit famous due to newspaper stories about the incident.)

This is a fun movie with three recent Oscar winners sharing almost equally in the overall plot: Diane Keaton had won an Oscar for Annie Hall (1977), Sissy Spacek for Coal Miner's Daughter (1980) and Jessica Lange for Tootsie (1982). Lange would later go on to win another Oscar for Blue Sky (1994).
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Them southern gals sure is a caution, ain't they?
Predrag22 May 2016
This movie is a bit on the dark side as it is about 3 sisters who are dysfunctional in their lives (wait-who isn't??) But is shows how in the end, families are meant to take care of each other when the going gets tough. If you are into semi-dark humor/drama, then this is a movie for you. The characters are completely believable (I think we all have some of each of them in us), and the story line is easy to follow. Sissy Spacek, Diane Keaton, and Jessica Lange have great chemistry together. Too bad they didn't make more movies together.

The material is reminiscent of Flannery O'Connor, who wrote some of the most humorous, offbeat Southern fiction extant. The three sisters are so controlled by their visceral reactions that one wonders if any of them have ever had an intellectual moment. Although it would be maddening to have such people for friends, they're great instruments for movie comedy. One final note: If anyone thinks Sissy Spacek is goofy-looking (as I used to), they will change their mind when they see her in this. She is absolutely gorgeous here!

Overall rating: 8 out of 10.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Didn't do much for me
katsismax16 May 2005
One viewer stated that this move addressed some issue, one being racism, the relationship between an older white southern women and a younger under age black man? I believe the issue here is pedophilia. If this had been presented as a man of Sissy Spacek's characters age and a 15 year old girl, everyone would be calling this child molesting, pedophilia, crime of the heart? No this crime is what it is, child molestation and they move tried to present it as a tender touching moment between a lonely older woman and a younger man, he was a child. Enough said, besides that issue this movie did not do much for me, depressing and lacked a point for me. Not one of Jessica Lange's better films.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Loved it
trinataylor21 May 2015
I saw this film with my best friend when it came out in 1986. We graduated from high school in 1986 and we both loved it so much, that until this day we still quote the lines. Lenny and her deformed ovary Babe and Willie Jade and Meg and her cokes.

I saw this film with my best friend when it came out in 1986. We graduated from high school in 1986 and we both loved it so much, that until this day we still quote the lines. Lenny and her deformed ovary Babe and Willie Jade and Meg and her cokes.

I saw this film with my best friend when it came out in 1986. We graduated from high school in 1986 and we both loved it so much, that until this day we still quote the lines. Lenny and her deformed ovary Babe and Willie Jade and Meg and her cokes.

It should have won some kind of award.

All my Best,

Trina:)
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews