Clue (1985) Poster

(1985)

User Reviews

Review this title
421 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Fantastic performances salvage a standard whodunnit
jdollak18 January 2005
I've been annoyed at most of the bad reviews I read of this movie, because none of them understand what it's all about. It's true; the script is not actually that great. What makes it great is how everything is delivered. The cast is fantastic in playing each part as a cliché, even when the lines are far from it. Curry plays the role with so much ham that it's understood why the script is like this. This is a play, not a movie. I can understand not being in the mood for this film. But I can't understand not appreciating these fantastic performances. Another person pointed out that this film needs to be seen in widescreen. This is correct-the movie reaches another level of greatness by seeing it in proper aspect-ratio. And I've never seen Colleen Camp looking this fantastic.
205 out of 241 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A hectic murdermysterycomedy with a pace like none other.
ryanj313 December 2004
This is easily Tim Curry's best role (yes, even better than Frank from RHPS). He is dry and quick to a level that I have never seen topped, and with an all star cast to support him, this is easily my favorite pun filled, fast paced comedy. The beginning of the story begins slow and exponentially increases til the very end. The speed at which the actors are delivering their lines is staggering at some points, and goes to the technical grace of the actors like Christopher Lloyd and Leslie Ann Warren. Also, the late great Madeline Kahn produces a hilarious Ms. White who shall be remembered as her second greatest role (under Young Frankenstein). I cannot say enough about this movie, the script and its wonderful actors.
163 out of 196 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A cult classic
Op_Prime22 September 2000
Clue is a laugh riot from start to finish. The cast is great with the obvious star being Tim Curry. The plot is well thought out and is rather original. Clue is the perfect mixture of comedy and mystery. The best treat is that this movie has three completely different and hilarious endings. This is a must see.
69 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Would anyone care for fruit or dessert?
R_O_U_S17 February 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Like Clockwise, this is just a movie I've always found very funny. Superbly casting some superlative film talents into the board game roles of Colonel Mustard et al, this throws the greatest over-actor of them all in as the butler and lets rip. The murders start to pile up, getting sillier and sillier (three cheers for the Singing Telegram Girl!) The pace picks up, so that about half an hour before the end the butler starts to exposit and virtually never stops. Oh, and there are three endings, just for good measure. And the last line is an all-time classic.
88 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The popular board game comes alive in this hilarious comedy!
mdm-1110 October 2004
Clue" (the movie), features just about every great comedy actor of the day. From Leslie Ann Warren to Michael McKean to Eileen Brennan to Howard Hessman to the priceless Tim Curry, they're all here! -- If you are familiar with the board game, just picture a film version of the search for "whodunit". This laugh-a-minute fun fest is loaded with outrageous, silly slapstick, superbly acted out by the great cast.

You'll be amazed at how many of the lines and gags get stuck in your head. I'll never be able to forget the flustered looks of Mrs. Peacock, the wit and charm of Wadsworth or the subtle facial expressions of Mrs. White. The picture in this WIDE SCREEN VERSION is the best yet of this film since it's initial release.

The soundtrack is kept in it's original mono, still I'd greatly enjoy hearing a stero or, even better, a surround sound version in the future. Now you have the option of really not knowing who did it until the final scenes play bringing surprise into the untold repeat viewings that are sure to occur.
85 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Game Cast At Play
dtb1 September 1999
CLUE has been one of our family's favorites for years. It's one of those irresistibly zany comedy-mysteries that, even though I have a copy of the film, I'm happy to watch it if I stumble across it on TV (don't touch that dial! :-)). Despite a few groaners among the gags (how many times did they need to sniff for doggie-doo in the beginning?), there are enough witty lines ("Communism was just a red herring!" and "Flames...on the side of my face...", among others, are frequently quoted in our home) delivered sparklingly by the top-notch cast amid enough madcap scampering about to make CLUE very watchable on a lazy afternoon, or even a not-so-lazy one, for that matter. Tim Curry (who deserves to be in more good movies) steals the show, particularly when he reenacts the entire movie in about 15 minutes during the climax, accompanied by John Morris's rollicking music. The film was released with three different endings, each of which has been shown on cable--the one that recalls MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS is my favorite. Give CLUE a shot...in your living room...with the DVD player!
60 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's All Good Baby...
coatzey21 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
How fantastic was this film??? It was made three years after i was born but the first time i saw it, about 7 year old i think... i fell in love. After mentioning to everyone i knew about this film nobody seemed to have heard of it... i get the same reaction now... all i can say is i feel real pity for the people that have never seen this film. One of the best films i have ever seen... not many people can watch films 4 times in one day but if you had the DVD you'd understand... watching all three random endings and then the film with all three!! Fantastic and you find yourself laughing just as much as you did the first time you watched it. All of the actors where brilliant and so incredibly funny, but i have to make a special mention to Tim Curry... OMG no matter what he does he's amazing but Wadsworth can turn the coldest heart, even when he's naughty ;) Tim Curry, we love you hun and you get better with age... It's all good babe!!!
91 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Lovely little murder mystery comedy!
The_Void30 January 2006
Films based on videogames are commonplace nowadays, but one thing I've never seen before is a film based on a board game! Clue is a murder mystery that takes its ideas from the popular game of Cluedo. I cant say I'm a fan of that board game (although I sometimes play it on the quiz machine in pub), but I am a fan of murder mystery - and while this film is more of a joke than anything, it generally plays it's cards right and what we have here is a very entertaining little flick, that really does deserve your time! The film shows it's experimental edge by having three endings (which can be played at random on the DVD), and throughout we are treated to a film that has it's audience in mind. Tim Curry is the big name on the cast list, and he plays butler Wadsworth. He's in charge of a house whose master has invited six guests to his home. Naturally, those guests are given the names of the people in Cluedo, and include the likes of Colonel Mustard, Mrs White and Miss Scarlet etc. We are then treated to a night of mystery, as we try to uncover who murdered the host...and why!

One criticism I could easily make of this film is that it doesn't really have a lot of plot. The mystery is very shallow, and is over very quickly. This is only a shame because of the fact that I would have liked to see this go on for longer, however, as the energy that the cast brings to the table is priceless, and really makes for a good time viewing. Tim Curry takes the lead role, and does what he does best. Curry is famous for campy performances in camp films like this, and his role as Wadsworth really does his reputation proud! The film does a very good job of keeping itself wide open, and by the end it really could have been any of the characters behind the murder. This is good because it allows writer-director Jonathon Lynn complete freedom over who committed the murder; but it harms the film, as the audience doesn't really get enough info to have a stab at it themselves. The style of the film suits the mood very well, with old-fashioned clothes and decor giving it that classic mystery feel. Now don't get me wrong; this isn't exactly a great film, but it's a lot of fun and I can't see why anyone wouldn't enjoy it.
35 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An overlooked classic!
Superunknovvn4 February 2008
When I started watching "Clue" I was amused by the fact that it was based on the famous game of the same name. Two or three actors that I liked are also listed in the cast, so I thought I might give this a shot, if only for curiosity value. Well, what do you know, "Clue" is one of the most fast paced and wittiest play-like comedies ever committed to film! Somehow the makers really managed to make this an original crime/comedy that spoofs all the Agatha Christie whodunnit-movies and blending it effortlessly with references to the the game. The script is so witty and clever it seems like a modern Oscar Wilde-adaptation. The actors and actresses help making it come to life. Even though I was mainly watching this for Christopher Lloyd (who starred in "Back To The Future" that same year, which is kinda hard to believe if you compare his looks in the two movies), Tim Curry (whose performance here seriously rivals all his other great roles like Frank 'N' Furter and Pennywise The Clown) and Michael McKean (great as ever), the whole cast really blew me away, because it had such a great on screen-chemistry together.

Up until the ending (the three different endings, that is), "Clue" is one hell of an entertaining ride that doesn't bore you for a second. This one is a real sleeper, one of the greatest and most overlooked comedies of the 80's. If you get a chance to watch it, definitely do so!
19 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
My Favorite movie!!
fcfern19 July 2006
Jonathan Lynn's 1985 comedy "Clue" has got to be the BEST movie ever created! Based off of the famous board game, Clue is a fantastic movie for people of all ages. I, myself, was drawn to this movie at the age of seven or eight, and it has faithfully been my favorite movie ever since!

The movie starts with six guests (Mr. Green, Colonel Mustard, Professor Plum, Miss. Scarlet, Mrs. White, and Mrs. Peacock) all being invited to a large mansion in New England for a dinner party, of which they know absolutely nothing about. At the party they all find out that they have more in common than they first realized, and the murders begin, starting with Mr. Boddy, the seventh guest! And as the night goes on, suspicion lands on each of the guests, as well as the butler Wadsworth. So not only is the movie uproarious, but it's actually a very intriguing mystery!

The acting is absolutely spot on in Clue! Eileen Brennan plays Mrs. Peacock, a talkative politician's wife. Madeline Kahn is Mrs. White, my favorite character in the movie! Mrs. White is a widow who may have more to do with her husband's death than she's letting on! Christopher Lloyd does a terrific job as Professor Plum, the ladies man wannabe! Michael McKean plays the hopelessly clumsy Mr. Green. Martin Mull is Colonel Mustard, the man who tries to act as if he knows exactly what is going on. Lesley Ann Warren is awesome as Miss. Scarlet the temptress, and of course you can not forget the amazing Tim Curry who plays cool and composed Wadsworth, the butler.

As I said before, this is a movie for people of all ages. In fact, just recently I got my six-year-old brother to watch it, and he too claims it is his favorite movie! Does he understand every single joke? No, of course not! But the upbeat, fast pace of the movie has him watching it over and over, and acting out the famous "Wadsworth Explains Everything" scene! I fully recommend this movie to anyone who wants to have a good laugh and tons of fun!
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my absolute favourites!
TheLittleSongbird5 February 2009
I mean, this movie is just fantastic, marginally better than Murder By death, which I didn't understand at the end, though that is a good film. With the costumes, the actors and a gem of a script, what could possibly go wrong? The script was hilarious. Every line was enough to make you fall off the chair. The Kingdom of Heaven bit was sidesplittingly funny, because it was just so random. True, it is nothing like the Board Game, but the way they revolve it around the Board Game, was so clever. Some of it was extremely silly, but have a heart, it's a comedy, it's supposed to be. The casting was just ingenious. Eileen Brennan was just flawless, giving Mrs Peacock a much needed bit of edge. Tim Cury stole every scene he was in, and he looked , as always, as though he was having the time of his life. Madeline Kahn was just hilarious, especially with her line "Husbands should be like Kleenex, soft, strong and disposable" and the iconic "Life before death is as improbable as sex after marriage". Christopher Lloyd seemed restrained, but his dry humour made Professor Plum an unforgettable character. Michael McKean was a bit whiny, but I don't care, it's called acting, plus Mr Green is supposed to be timid. Martin Mull has great comedic timing, and brought a bit a stupidity to his role of Colonel Mustard. My favourite characterisation was that of Miss Scarlet, played by Lesley Ann Warren, looking gorgeous in that emerald green dress. (Miss Scarlet was the closest characterisation to the board Game). Colleen Camp looked lovely and I liked the jokes about her boobs, and Lee Ving (part of a joke, Leaving soon) was very good too. The three endings were so funny, very silly, but it is like the Pink panther franchise, it is all about the comedy. You would've never guessed the final solution in a million years, because the third ending had me completely by surprise, and I am not kidding. This movie is a must-see for all Tim Curry fans, like me. If you want to see more of this talented man, check out Legend, Rocky Horror(obviously) and Stephen King's It(his career-best)10/10. Bethany Cox
25 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
My all time favorite movie!
Jaxxx25 October 2001
I love this movie more than any other. I cannot get enough of it. I have seen it over fifty times and still have trouble remembering who killed who, why they killed who, where they killed and the weapon they used to kill. After about ten times I could remember who killed who and why, plus what their dark secret was. Once you have it down, you can have fun paying attention who is not in the room (because they are killing another) and how they are able to sneak away from their partner, kill someone, and come back un noticed. The end is a little hard to follow (Mr Boddy was really the butler, Wadsworth was really Mr. Boddy) and it is annoying watching Wadsworth retell the events in a fast-forwarded version with all three endings. The acting and casting of parts is exceptional. It is a fun movie that most people will enjoy. Having three unique endings distinguishes this movie from all others. The final ending, and the reasons behind everything, is hysterical. You cannot see this movie just once... You need to see it atleast two, three, four times to pay attention to detail!
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun 'Whodunit' Mystery!
OllieSuave-00722 July 2004
This is one of those movies that I would watch repeatedly and still holds up as a great source of entertainment for me.

Based on the board game of the same name by Parker Brothers, six guests, Colonel Mustard, Mrs. White, Mr. Green, Mrs. Peacock, Professor Plum and Miss Scarlet are invited to a Victorian mansion for a dinner party. The host later reveals they are all being blackmailed and wanted to get everybody together to confront the perpetrator, the alleged Mr. Boddy, who later is murdered by one of the guests. What follows is an exciting and intriguing series of events of finger-pointing, revealing secrets, and motives - all leading to the thrilling investigation of the entire house for clues and Butler Wadsworth's reenactment of the night's events.

All the characters gave a memorable performance, each in his/her own unique flavor. The plot and story by Jonathan Lynn and John Landis, with solid direction by Lynn, are fast-paced and exciting, as this movie constantly reminds you that there is a murderer on the loose and there are obvious suspects on screen for you to decipher! In addition, I think John Morris' terrific music score enhances the mysterious feel of a murder mystery movie.

The humor is great, with Miss Scarlet's acid wit being my favorite. This is also one of those movies that you will find something new every time you watch it. Some downsides, I believe, were that some of the rooms like the Conservatory, Ball Room and Billiard Rooms weren't used enough and Mr. Green's character was a little too melodramatic. But overall, a fun comedy that never gets old.

Grade A-
37 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I laughed till my stomach hurt
mattgstreet9 September 2004
A hysterical spoof of the well known board game Cluedo, known as Clue

in America. One of the best comic castings ever. Tim Curry as the Butler- brilliantly wild eyed, OTT and campy. Any fan

of The Rocky Horror Picture Show will simply adore his performance in

this film. And Michael McKean as Mr.Green- After This Is Spinal Tap, he

gives his best performance in Clue. The cast really does not have any

weak spots who are all supported by a very funny script. John Landis at

his mid eighties best. The only downer is the different endings use similar script which does

get a little tiresome, but apart from that a flawless comedy. Now go

and see it!
39 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The first movie based on a board game deals with several characters must unravel a lot of murders at a bizarre mansion
ma-cortes7 May 2014
An entertaining and funny comedy of murders . The popular board game's roles must uncover a night of murder at a creepy mansion . It is in fact an amusing imitation of Crime Story including enjoyable and sympathetic performances by the entire cast . Well-known actors at large in a sinister Victorian mansion , then appears amusement and entertainment , as all of them running around and taking place murders , who's the killer? . This popular charade deals with a fistful of famed stars (Lesley Ann Warren , Christopher Lloyd , Michael Mckean , Madeline Kahn , Martin Mull , Eileen Brennan) incarnating suspect criminals , as six guests are invited and must cooperate with the staff to solve a murder mystery . The film takes place in "New England," 1954 as revealed in the opening scenes , as various characters are invited to a spooky mansion full of secret passages and spinning rooms , there they are received by an eccentric butler (amusingly played by Tim Curry who had previously starred in another comedy set in a gigantic mansion, that was The Rocky Horror Picture Show ,1975) and the buxom French maid Yvette (Colleen Camp though Jennifer Jason Leigh, Demi Moore and Madonna were considered for the role) . This is a very entertaining movie full of frolics , killings , antics , capers and suspects . As the popular characters must unravel a night of murder at an eerie country house . This film featured three endings, five bodies, six weapons and seven suspects . This is featured in one of the tag-lines for the film but as there are six murders, one for each weapon, there are actually six bodies not five.

This is a fun rendition of a famous board game called Cluedo , known in the USA as Clue , in fact , the color of each character's car is the same color as their playing piece in the game . It results to be an entertaining and bemusing spoof of Agatha Christie novels , though it is in fact a pale imitation of the earlier , much better and more satisfying sleuthing spoof ¨Murder by death¨ by Robert Moore with Alec Guinness , Truman Capote , Elsa Lanchester , David Niven , Nancy Walker , James Cromwell and Eileen Brennan too ; as this movie was followed by hammy spoof ¨Clue¨(1985) an inferior but enjoyable imitation of the previous parody . It is an entertaining and fun comedy of murders in which the laughs pile up before your eyes , director has got success in keeping the bizarre and grotesque appearances of the actors in hyperactive movement , shouting and frantic running around , principally from Tim Curry . Despite the ridiculous and unnecessary camera movements , Jonathan Lynn manages to maintain a coherent and compelling plot plenty of twists and turns . The screenplay is funny and high quality in which it's not difficult to work out on which murder-solvers each of them is modeled ; furthermore , stand up Tim Curry as a botcher as well as hyperactive butler and a suitably eccentric Lesley Ann Warren , of course , Christopher Lloyd is appealing too . The entire cast seems to be subsisting on sugar with wild eyes and frenetic movements the order of the day . You'll enjoy enormously the impersonations of the strange characters . The film was one of a number of pictures, mostly comedies, made and released between the mid-1970s and mid-1980s, that revived the old dark house mansion movie . Three endings were shot, and a different one shown at each theater . All three are included on video . The DVD, however, aside from all three endings, also offers the option to play the movie with one randomly selected ending. In some cities, the newspaper print ads indicated which version was being shown at each theater .

Lively and fun musical score by John Morris . Evocative and colorful cinematography by Victor J. Kemper . This whodunit mystery picture was uneven but professionally directed by Jonathan Lynn . Lynn is an expert on comedies as he has demonstrated in My cousin Vinny , The Distinguished Gentleman , Greedy , Nuns on the run , The Whole Nine Yards , among others . Lynn has also enjoyed notable success on the British stage and television with series as Yes Prime Minister , My Brother's Keeper , Doctor on the go , and Doctor at sea . Though the picture's performance at the box-office was disappointing, the film ¨Clue¨ has since developed a cult following .
14 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
" Well, he's certainly dead now. Why would anyone want to kill him twice?" - Wadsworth
Cat-Squire19 February 2005
A group of people are invited to a house and they all have one thing in common - they have all been getting blackmailed by the same person. When the man is confronted by evidence from the butler, he turns out the lights hoping that the people will kill the butler and carry on business as usual. But when the lights are turned back on, the man is dead. The group (including the butler) go to the kitchen and discover that the cook is dead also. They return to the study where they then discover the dead man is not actually dead at all - he's got up and moved. One of the women goes to the bathroom and finds the undead man in the bathroom - dead! So who was it? Was it: Wadsworth (the butler), Mrs Peacock, Miss Scarlet, Mrs White, Col. Mustard, Prof. Plum or Mr Green?

In a similar way to 'Murder By Death' the film thrives on comedy and confusion and, although you may find it confusing at times, everything makes sense when compiled at the end as it leads towards (on the DVD) one of three surprise endings. 'Clue' is funny from start to finish with some gags I can honestly say I didn't see coming. But this film would not have been as good were it not for the 3 C's: comedy, confusion and Curry.

Tim Curry was excellent in his role as Wadsworth the butler, stealing the show from all of the others with charisma which is present in all of his roles. The other actors were brilliant as well, just adding to the quality of an already great film. I preferred this to the aforementioned 'Murder By Death' and I think the reason was the comedy - I found 'Clue' more amusing than 'Murder By Death' though both are really good films.

I highly recommend this film to anyone and everyone, definitely worth the money. And to those who think this films rubbish - "Frankly Scarlet, I don't give a damn" - Wadsworth!!

Cat §quire

PS. If you liked this then check out 'Murder By Death' or vice versa!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A classic
Sleepin_Dragon13 August 2015
Nothing else needs to be said, other then this is a true classic film, brilliant conceived and hilariously acted. It's fast paced, side splittingly funny and beautifully acted. It's my favourite role of Tim Curry's, he's had thus far a wonderful career, but he's extraordinarily charming and energetic, he does not stop. Tim Curry apart it's the three female characters of Peacock, Scarlet and White that make the film. Madeline Kahn is so sexy as femme fatale Mrs White, Lesley Anne Warren has the most sensational figure (although Dr who fans may agree, when we first see her she looks like a vervoid.) However it's Eileen Brennan's Mrs Peacock that I enjoy most, she delivers some hilarious lines with a slick and easy manner. How cool is it to have a film with 3 different endings, each is so good. 10/10 a classic I never tire of, i'd put it up there with Murder by Death, it's that good.
15 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Why I love Clue
h-nancarrow24 April 2008
I am 32 now and when I was 16, I had watched Clue over 40 times. I love Clue as it is funny, I wanna be in there with Wadsworth and it is my favourite film ever. My video got so warn out I now watch it on DVD. When I was younger, myself and my mate, we knew the lines off by heart and I still am good at it now. Even my son who is 5 has watched the film more than ten times.

I think Tim Curry is great, have been a fan of him since I was young and saw the film and have been mad about the film ever since.

Tim Curry is great, am trying to tell my son all the other films that Tim is in, but I won't show him IT or Rocky Horror yet.

What can I say I'm just mad about Clue, I can watch it again and again and my son reacts all the scenes, so now it's great to have someone I can talk to about the film, as everyone else in my family, well I think I drove them mad when I use to watch it over and over again.

Tim Curry You're the best.
16 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Flames in side of my face are replaced with red marks from smiling to much.
natefs2 July 2019
Clue is a cultural masterpiece. I said what I said.

If I had to watch one movie for the rest of my life... Clue. A million times Clue An all-star cast! Lines you never get sick of! EVERYTHING! I won't go into spoilers but it's brilliant! Complete brilliant! Just watch it.... like now- Im gonna go watch it now too!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not very funny....and not much fun...
tmpj1 August 2010
This movie is somewhat over-rated. I found it to be a difficult watch. The humor is forced...not natural. There are many cheap shots and bad gags in this picture. While Tim Curry and Martin Mull make the film watchable to what extent that it is watchable, they are not enough to salvage this nightmare of a comedy...turned tragedy. About half an hour into the movie, I was so bored and so "not with it" that I did not care who got killed, who killed them...or why. This film is a parody on the old murder mysteries of the 20s, 30s and 40s...and not a lot of those films were good, either. "Clue" is cliché ridden, hammed-up, over-acted in spots by some of the characters, and a bit confusing at times. It could have been a bit better if it had been toned down perhaps a tad...and if the atmosphere for suspense had been better laid down. But...no...here it is..."in your face" comedy...right from the first frame...no building of the story...no coherence, no real theme, no reason that any of it makes sense...or even that it SHOULD make sense...and no real reason to watch it, from my perspective...and I do not recommend it unless you have...literally...the patience of Job.
28 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"Red Herrings" and lots of laughs!
native_girl33311 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Have you ever played a murder mystery game called "Clue"? There is one hilariously funny film adaptation from the year 1985.

A group of people are invited to a dark mansion by the mysterious Mr.Boddy. A butler Wadsworth (always brilliant Tim Curry) is there to welcome everybody. Everything is so odd and all of the guests are called nicknames like Colonel Mustard, Ms.Scarlet, Mrs. Peacock, etc. They don't know each other but everybody is eager to know why just them are there in the middle of nowhere locked in the frightening house? After a while happens a first murder... The guests soon realize that they are plotted to a cruel mind-game and there is no way out to this dark and mysterious mansion...

"Clue" includes very clever humor. There is a lot of witty word-games and puns so that the dialog is extremely memorable. There is also classic slapstick-humor also. The mood in the film is thrilling. You can easily enjoy comedic murder-solving and the movie can be watched many times. If you like the game "Clue" you have to see "Clue: the movie" The cast consist of some funny comedians like Michael Mckean, Christopher Lloyd, the late Madeline Kahn, etc. Tim Curry is energetic as Wadsworth.

In the end the movie thrills with alternative ending- sequence "This is how it could have happened" or "This is what really happened". As a child I loved the ending. The film manages to entertain me as an adult too.

Are you brave enough to play along? High recommends! "Frankly Scarlett I don't give a damn" -Wadsworth to Ms. Scarlet
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Frenetically Unfunny
bthwaithe19 April 2020
Good cast, blah script & very poor direction. Too many long shots when people drop a punchline. They should be closeups, otherwise the punchline gets lost. Lots & lots of lost punchlines in this film due to how it was filmed. Mel Brooks it ain't. It's supposed to be be energetic, fast moving fun but it's oddly dead. Jokes bomb. Actors stiffly deliver lines. You expect to hear a canned laugh track at most of the dialogue, like 1960s sitcoms that had uproarious laughter after unfunny lines. There's too much explanation of things you don't care about. You don't care who dies or why. You don't care who did it, or why. Maybe you have to be under 10 years when you see it. That has to be the excuse for all these highly rated reviews claiming it's one of the funniest things they've ever see. I didn't laugh once.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I'll give you a clue, why this movie is awesome! It's wasn't a bored game.
ironhorse_iv15 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
If you ever want to make a movie based on a board game, look at 1985's mystery comedy 'Clue' rather than 2012's 'Battleship". The film is a murder mystery set in a Gothic Revival mansion, and is styled after 1976's Murder by Death and other various murder/dinner parties of mystery. The film was directed by Jonathan Lynn, who collaborated on the script with John Landis. If you seem any John Landis film, you know it will be kinda funny. With the movie came a novelization by Michael McDowell and also a children's adaptation. Clue was Paramount's first adaptation of a now current Hasbro property, though at that time Cluedo was owned by Waddingtons and licensed in the U.S. as Clue to Parker Brothers; Hasbro later bought both Waddingtons and Parker Brothers. This predated by 19 years Paramount's deal to distribute other films and television series based on Hasbro properties. The film starts in 1954, against a backdrop of McCarthyism, six strangers are invited to a party in a secluded New England mansion host by house butler, Wadsworth (Tim Curry). The guest are all given pseudonyms to protect their true identity from each other. During dinner, Wadsworth reveals the true reason for the dinner: all of the guests are being blackmailed to hide their secrets by Wadsworth's house owner, Mr. Body (Lee Ving). Professor Plum (Christopher Lloyd) is a psychiatrist who lost his license because he had an affair with a female patient. Mrs. Peacock (Eileen Brennan) is the wife of a Senator who has accepted bribes to deliver her husband's vote. Mrs. White (Madeline Kahn) is a suspect regarding the mysterious death of her nuclear physicist husband. Miss Scarlet (Lesley Ann Warren) is a madam who operates an illegal brothel in Washington. Then Colonel Mustard (Martin Mull) is being blackmailed for scandalous pictures. Mr. Green (Michael McKean) is a homosexual, a secret that would cost him his job with the State Department if it were widely known. Some of the characters portray in the film is different from the game. Wasn't Mrs. White supposed to be a maid? Why isn't Professor Plum wearing something purple? Colonel Mustard is almost the only character that fits the board game description. Then the movie add a lot of new supporting characters. Now, why is Wadsworth in the movie? Wadsworth wants to turn Mr. Body in, but Mr. Body comes to the dinner, and reminds the guests that he can reveal their secrets in police custody and offers them an different proposition: by using weapons that he has provided to each of them, they can kill Wadsworth and destroy the evidence, keeping their secrets safe. Escape isn't an option as Wadsworth holds the only key to the locked doors, and vicious dogs patrol the perimeter, thus Mr. Body turns out the lights in the room, creating a moment of chaos in which someone shoots the gun. When they are brought back up, Mr. Body is dead, seemingly murdered by an unknown cause in the study. Who done it? Watch the movie to find out. The movie in keeping with the nature of the board game, release the movie at theater with one of three possible endings, with different theaters receiving each ending. If you get the DVD release, you have all three endings. Without spoiling it, only one of the three makes the most sense, while the other two, don't with all the plot holes A fourth ending was filmed, but supposedly it really wasn't very good so it was delete. I would love to see that fourth ending. I hope somebody find it one day. The explaining of the murder can be a bit annoying since you have to remember a lot of information and scenes. Is there any way, they can simple it. It can be campy, and seem not a family friendly film with all the dark death humor and sexual content references. It's rated PG. In my opinion, it should be rated PG-13. I doubt anybody 12 or under is going to get the sexual humor dialogue. The slapstick humor was funny, as well as smart comedy dialogue. Plus, all the scenes was film in nearly one location. That's pretty awesome to say. The exterior shots of the mansion were enhanced with matte paintings by matte artist Syd Dutton, as it was looks really real landscape. Overall: if you don't like the movie, you can always play the game, but if you do like the movie like me. You have something else to play one night.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Gimmick works, movie doesn't
hall8953 February 2012
Clue, the movie where if you don't like the ending don't despair because we've got two more endings you can try and maybe you'll like one of those better. An interesting gimmick. Sadly, that gimmick is about the only interesting thing the movie has to offer. When you're making a movie out of a board game you can't expect to produce a cinema classic. All you're looking to do is make a movie that's fun. And this movie just isn't fun enough. The performers have a good go at it, most notably a deliriously over the top Tim Curry, but the material lets them down. Jokes fall flat, the movie drags and by the end you really don't care who did it. And finding out who did it is the whole point of the movie so that's a problem.

The movie sets itself up the way anyone who's ever played the game knows it would. All the famous characters are brought together in a secluded mansion. Mrs. Peacock, Miss Scarlet, Mrs. White, Mr. Green, Professor Plum and Colonel Mustard. Somebody ends up lying dead on the floor. Who did it? And where? And with what? Well the where part is no great mystery. Or is it? There may be surprises to come. Anyhow our six suspects must figure out which of them is the killer. They are assisted by the butler Wadsworth, who serves as a sort of master of ceremonies for the bizarre evening, and the French maid Yvette. Along the way more bodies pile up. Attempted jokes pile up too but so many of them miss the mark. The comedy falls flat and the movie does too. None of the six suspects really stands out. Perhaps the filmmakers didn't want to point your suspicions in any one direction. But the effect is that bland characters make a bland movie. Michael McKean's Mr. Green and Madeline Kahn's Mrs. White are particularly dull. No fault of the performers, they really have nothing to work with. Even Christopher Lloyd, playing Professor Plum, is rather dry and boring. If you can make Christopher Lloyd boring you've really done something. Not something good though. Lesley Ann Warren does make a ravishing Miss Scarlett, always my prime suspect when I played the game. But she's upstaged in the va-va-va-voom department by Colleen Camp's wonderfully bouncy Yvette. Martin Mull makes no real impression as Colonel Mustard. Eileen Brennan's Mrs. Peacock does have some personality but she's more annoying than anything else. It's really left to Curry, playing Wadsworth, to inject some life into the movie. And he tries. Boy does he try, never more so than near the end with his madcap recap of events. But game as Curry is he can't perform a total salvage job on this largely disappointing movie. It's a whodunit where the answer is "who cares?"
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed