Adventures of the Gummi Bears (TV Series 1985–1991) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
26 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Funny, endearing, and fascinating show
ajolipa21 January 2005
Whenever I mention watching Gummi Bears, people can't help making the oh-so-witty comment "Huh? You actually watch a show about little candy bears?" "No," I patiently explain, "They are not the candy. They are Gummi Bears, members of an ancient medieval civilization with advanced technology, culture, morals, history, traditions..." By that point whoever I'm talking to has usually raised their eyebrows and started to back away slowly, or to laugh.

But it's their loss, because the Gummis are anything but little candy bears. This show goes further than any other Disney Afternoon show that I've seen in truly developing a whole mythology and culture that the viewer can actually learn from, while watching witty and entertaining plots involving adventures around the kingdom of Dunwyn. The show revolves around the Gummis of Gummi Glen, which used to be the center of a thriving Gummi culture that coexisted with humans, until the humans began to clash with the bears forcing them to flee overseas. A few were left behind in hiding, however, with the duty to protect the kingdom of humans from greedy people who might want to take it over (eg Duke Igthorn, a bitter exiled Duke who covets the throne), and to keep Gummi Glen functional until the other Gummis can return, at a time when humans will once again accept them without conflict. At the time of the show, the group living in Gummi Glen is composed of: Gruffi, the practical and cynical one who believes in hard work, living each day "the Gummi way", and not going out of his way to help silly humans (although in the end, he'll always go along to help); Grammi, whose work as the woman of the house cooking and cleaning and mending clothing hides an adventurous and daring nature; Zummi, the absent-minded and wise keeper of the library and ancient Gummi wisdom, including magic--which he is forever screwing up, in a truly endearing way; Tummi, whose name reveals his great love of food, although he also loves to garden and work on various crafts projects, and who has a patient and generous nature, sometimes to the extent that he can't say no to anything even when he should; Sunni, who's energetic and romantic, always dreaming of being a princess, but at the same time she's spunky and determined, and learns a lot as she grows up; Cubbi, who dreams of becoming a great knight and defending justice, and also just loves to play and to annoy Sunni; and finally Augustus, aka Gusto, who joins them later and doesn't live in Gummi Glen--he's an artist who doesn't believe in living life by strict rules and discipline, and so of course is constantly on Gruffi's nerves. In addition, there's Calla, Sunni's best friend, the princess who would rather be a tomboy or a knight, and Cavin, Cubbi's best friend, a page at the castle.

So that's the basic cast, plus a few others. Every character is multi-dimensional, and in particular, the development of their relationships is fascinating and complex and often touching. But in addition to the individual characters, the whole Gummi culture is well-developed and interesting. They are more advanced than the humans of their time, with wisdom and technology that the medieval humans have lost, now that they're in this era of rejecting the Gummis as silly myth. There are Gummi holidays and traditions, as well as sayings--my favorite of those being: "Though the first step is the hardest, and the last step ends the quest, the long steps in between are certainly the best." And of course the spells are great, with poor Zummi never picking up on the simple language they're written in. (One funny line is when Zummi's trying to create a small tornado, and misreads his paper: "Wumind Blumow Humere!" And then as the tornado suddenly starts up right under him: "I mean, Thumere!!") There are other centers of Gummi culture other than Gummi Glen, such as Ursalia, an ancient deserted city now inhabited by "Barbic" Gummis whose culture conflicts with the Glen Gummis' ideas of civilized culture, and also Gummadoon, the city that's under a spell to reappear for a day every hundred years. And of course, there's Gummiberri juice, the juice made from the secret recipe that allows the Gummis to bounce around, and makes humans extremely strong--hence it had better not fall into the wrong hands!

But not everyone will find a made-up culture of colored bears all that interesting. Even if you don't, the shows are well worth watching simply for the wit and entertainment of their plots and character interactions. The dialogue is sharp and amusing, the background music is charming, and the plots are sweet and entertaining. In my opinion, this is one of Disney's most intricate and well-developed and truly endearing shows. Highly recommended to anyone of any age who's willing not to be cynical about it.
39 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Awesome show!
redroselovewaits28 April 2003
Man, seeing this brings back some awesome memories. Does anyone know where you can find this on video? No one seems to believe that is was a real show, even though it is probably one of the best shows ever created for children. It's even better than most Japanese anime and being an avid anime fan, that's saying a lot.
17 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Love that Song!
BatStarIndyFreak8 July 2002
This was a well made cartoon that an adult can enjoy without condescending. All the characters were well played out and the stories were solid. There was plenty of wit displayed by the characters on both sides. I just had to memorize the theme song, just plain fun.
16 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A truly entertaining cartoon that will be missed
LittleAnjel16 August 2003
Gummi Bears is a classic Disney show that I think has surpassed so many of todays modern television shows. It was full of wonderful characters (mine being Cubbi) that many can enjoy no matter what age group they fall in. The story lines are those that all ages can follow and be sure to smile/laugh along with. It brings back so many wonderful memories for me from when I was very small. I wish this show would've continued to go through syndication, but Disney recently pulled the plug on them from Toon Disney. However, the episodes I remember still have me singing...Dashing and daring, courageous and caring, faithful and friendly with stories to share...Gummi Bears, Bouncing here and there, and everywhere!!!
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Excellent series
ultraviolet40031 August 2004
I agree with the other comments, this was great entertainment. I have some episodes on videotape. Seeing them again recently reminded me of what a cool cartoon it is. The characters were all cleverly created and fun. We have the matriarch, the smart one, the greedy one, the grumpy one... And a villain, Duke Igthorn, for good measure. The stories were varied and original, with both Gummis and human characters. Action was often centered around the castle. One of the best episodes was the one with the magical hat and escape from the castle. Excellent theme music also. Loads of magic and adventure with few dull moments! It's a shame this isn't seen much anymore, as it easily beats all those spin off series Disney made in the 90's.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The Best Disney Cartoon TV Show!
Ghondooby28 April 1999
This show is a great cartoon. Who wouldn't want to be like Calvin and hang out with the Gummi Bears all the time? The voices were great, including Bill Scott and June Foray from "Rocky and Bullwinkle" and Lorenzo Music of "Garfield" and "Rhoda". The stories of this show still hold up against most of the contemporary Disney attempts. Toon Disney needs to play it more often! Watch it, and be sucked into a world of Gummi Bears bouncing here and there and everywhere!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
A true gem from the '80s
TheLittleSongbird12 February 2010
I love the Disney cartoons Darkwing Duck, New Aventures of Winnie the Pooh, Talespin, The Little Mermaid, DuckTales and Rescue Rangers. Adventures of the Gummi Bears is a true gem from the '80s, that at 17 I can still enjoy to this day. The animation is wonderful, really colourful and lovely. And the theme tune is absolutely awesome, from the theme tune alone like Darkwing Duck, Talespin and DuckTales you can tell you are in for a treat. Add great writing, fine voices and outstanding episode ideas, and you have a classic cartoon series that anybody can enjoy no matter how old you are. I love this show, and I always will, I just wish it lasted longer. 9/10 Bethany Cox
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Jumping here and there and everywhere
mads leonard holvik27 May 2000
This series was on Norwegian TV in the late eighties, and as a kid it sucked me into a fantasy world. Their struggle to hide from the humans, and the juice they drank enabling them to jump around as a rubber ball, made for great TV. We still have the episodes on tape, and it is a well-used tape for sure.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Great entertainment
action-65 July 2000
I remember watching the adventures of The Gummibears on Norwegian television in the late 80`s, and it was a favorite. The show is about the Gummibears, who live under ground and in trees and fight the evil, evil, evil Duke Igthorn. It`s a Disney-series with real atmosphere and I still have many of the episodes on tape. Some of the episodes were quite scary back in the 80`s. The scariest and best were the episode with the evil gargoyle and the one with the volture-king.

A great series with great atmosphere, great characters and nice music.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Disney's finest (half-) hour.
montagrappa4 August 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Gummi Bears. What can I say about this show that hasn't been said already? This is, bar none, the best thing Disney ever made. The only problem with this show is, well, the name. I mean, I know how the candy inspired the show, but did they have to call it Gummi Bears? Actually, the name sounds kind of nice once your used to it, but I bet it scared off a lot of cynical adults from trying the show. Perhaps that's why there weren't any VHS tapes released here. But who cares? It's on DVD now, & I'm very glad.

This show had such a great balance of characters. I loved all the Gummi Bears(except Sunni. I thought she was annoying, although she had her moments), especially Cubbi(my favorite), Gusto(my other favorite) & Tummi(I loved his Lorenzo Music voice, & my first episode was The Oracle/Someday My Prints Will Come, in which both shorts focused on him). The human characters weren't bad either, particularly Cavin & Calla. And the villains... Duke Igthorn, Toady & the Ogres are among the funniest villains ever. Any episode with them in it is a good one. The interactions between all of them are amazing.

Gummi Bears could've had the most interesting characters in the world but it would be nothing without good stories. The dialogue was very witty(I laugh at Gummi Bears more often than the average cartoon) & intelligent(I hope to come up with dialogue as smart as this when I write my stories), & the adventures were very exciting. I loved it when they took the Quicktunnels into unknown lands & explored ancient Gummi cities(like in Day of the Beevilweevils, one of the best episodes). And some episodes were just totally funny(like The Fence Sitter & Just a Tad Smarter). Occasionally, there were even a couple of touching moments(such as in Up, Up & Away, one of the very best episodes). Oh, & the plots were very creative as well(especially the ways our heroes used Gummiberry Juice, which can make the bears bounce & make the humans super-strong). Not to mention that this is one of the most interesting cartoons ever. I can see why this show lasted 6 seasons.

Now if only Disney would hurry up & release an overdue Volume 2 of this wonderful series.

BOTTOM LINE- 10/10 5th best cartoon ever.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Gummi Bears rule!
HulkamaniacUM26 January 2005
I remember watching Gummi Bears on TV in my younger days, but until recently, all I had to remember the show was the annoying theme song...

Gummi Bears / Bouncing here and there and everywhere / (Something something something something something) / I love the Gummi Bears

As I sat down to focus my memories, I seem to remember the show's setting being medieval England, or at least a place not unlike it. The Gummi Bears, hunted by the evil duke, had a recipe for a magic potion that gave them super agility and rapid bouncing skills. Combined with their insatiable thirst for justice and peace, these mad bouncing skills helped the Gummi Bears foil the forces of evil every episode.

I love the Gummi Bears.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
THIS IS GREAT!!!
arnem29 October 2000
Could a cartoon be more interesting... I remember watching this as a kid, and I was thrilled by the bears, and of course a little frightened by the ogres. This is a must see for cartoon fans...!!!

BTW: If anyone know where I can buy the series on DVD or VHS, please let me know. Thanks.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
The best Disney animated serie
Luis Capote18 December 2002
Sixteen years ago I could watch on spanish public television this serie on saturday evening and i have to say that this is one of the best animated series as good as the best japanese anime. Concept, stories and characters make a solid project. And what about hilarious evil characters? Toady ("Sapito" in spanish translation) Duke Ightorn... Where are now all that original ideas? That´s a good question.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
gummi bears, here and there, bouncing everywhere....
pologuy8 August 1999
haha, this was a marvelous cartoon. great animation, excellent voices, and very witty humor. i loved this cartoon!!! it was a fun adventure every time i watched. one of my favorite cartoons of all-time, truly a classic!!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
One of the Few Saturday Morning Cartoons Worth Watching
ashleak65 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Remember Saturday Morning cartoons? That's the time slot where mostly forgettable cartoons aired. There are some gems though and this show "Disney's Adventures of the Gummi Bears" is one of those gems. This show is better than the usual Saturday Morning mundane cartoon fare.(most Saturday Morning cartoons back in the late 60s and 70s have limited animation, forgettable characters and repetitive plots and story lines). The animation is different than the usual Saturday Morning cartoon fare of the time, the stories are wonderful and the characters are lovable and complex unlike most other Saturday Morning cartoons during it's time. The characters live in Gummi Glen in a tree in a forest. The Gummies go on tons of adventures and they drink Gummi Berri Juice and that's what makes them bounce and it makes the humans super(temporarily). This show paved way for later Disney Golden Era classics such as DuckTales, TaleSpin, Darkwing Duck, Rescue Rangers and so many others. It's sad that Disney is making lame cartoons nowadays and not ones like this one. I definitely recommend checking this show out. It made Saturday Mornings more fun and parents, buy the DVD box set for your kids, they will love the show. If you like this show, check out other Disney Golden Era TV cartoons such as DuckTales or TaleSpin.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Disney's first cartoon TV series!!!!!
Seth Nelson29 August 2006
Disney entered the TV business - the "cartoon" TV business, that is - in 1985 with "Gummi Bears," a very nice, very moral animated series about, well, the Gummi Bears!!!!!

Man, when did this go off the air, like, 1992 or something? I don't have much to say about this show because I was just a little baby in the late 80s when this series was on. I do know, however, that this was part of "The Disney Afternoon," if I am correct, in 1990 or so. I remember that this was a cute show, and it had one thing that Disney cartoon shows up until the early 2000s had - adventures. And originality, too! Can't forget that! Those two things were the foundations that all good Disney shows were built upon! (Hey, don't forget to see my say on "DuckTales" and "TaleSpin" soon!)

"The Gummi Bears" will be getting a DVD release this fall, so you can finally put the Gummi Bears back in your living room for the holidays! (Now THAT'S warming.)

10 stars indeed!!!!!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Superior Entertainment
solexes22 August 2006
In my youth I used to watch any number of Animated series. Out of EVERY single series, this one, by far, is the one I remember the most. If you asked me about any other series I might be able to remember one or two episodes almost 20 years later, but not with the Gummi Bears. I remember every episode I saw, the story behind it, and sometimes the dialog.

I think one of the reasons this show was better than any other was that it was not hard handed with the messages delivered. A lot of animated children's shows try to teach that "Evil is wrong" without explaining why. Some guy wants to take over something or other, and thats bad, so we must defeat him through fighting.

In the Gummi Bears, they always solved their problems with logic, thought, and planning, rarely running into a situation without thinking about it and the consequences that derive from the action. Their "special power" of bouncing was only used in extreme emergencies, and was not relied on in every episode - or if it WAS used was used in ways other than just bouncing to get away - or bouncing on the heads of their enemies.

Not only was the defeat of "evil" addressed, but so was pride, avarice, greed, gluttony, being ill-prepared, rash thinking, and most importantly the bears, and a couple humans, accept people for their value as people, and not just money, ability, or brains.

But aside from the teachings, there was the entertainment value. Something as innocuous as a bird eating too many berries was turned into a entertainment. We were taken into the quick tunnels and transported across the forests to unknown lands, and even allowed to see some of the other forgotten Gummi sites.

Overall, I could not recommend more this show for anyone - and highly encourage parents to buy the DVD when it comes out - and watch it with your children - I assure you - you will be dragged into the story whether you like it or not.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
childhood recollections
jaye04-111 August 2006
I grew up with the show. Not the first time it aired, but the reruns. Out of all the shows I watched when I was a child, this is one I still remember. I remember bits of pieces of episodes and the actual gummi bears. It was extremely saddening when they took it off the air. There are very few shows from my childhood that I would buy if released on DVD, but this show is one I would still watch even as an adult. This children's show actual contained a plot and stayed true to the Disney name. It is good for both kids and adults. Even the theme song was catchy enough to remain in my memory, as a child I would sing along. This is a show that I am extremely excited to finally see on DVD!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Good show
I used to watch this show when I was a little girl. When I think about it, I only remember it vaguely, though. If you ask me, it was a good show. Two things I also remember vaguely are the opening sequence and theme song. In addition, everyone was ideally cast. Also, the writing was very strong. The performances were top-grade, too. I hope some network brings it back so I can see every episode. Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say that I'll always remember this show in my memory forever, even though I don't think I've seen every episode. Now, in conclusion, if some network ever brings it back, I hope that you catch it one day before it goes off the air for good.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
I Love The Gummi Bears!!!!
heavens_angel_8124 September 2005
I remember watching this as a little kid. This was one of my favorite show's. I think it was all the magic of it that really caught my eye because as a kid I always had a wild imagination at times. Magical things always caught my eye cause I new it could only happen in a fantasy world and I love fantasy. Still to this day it kind of helps me escape from the real world for awhile and go into a brand new and magical world that cannot be found in the human world. I mean you will never see bears bouncing around saving the day. I just loved this show. I wish it would come back on air. I think there are kids our there that would agree with me. I would recommend this show to everyone. I love "the gummi bears"!!!! I know you people think i am probably crazy but think about out it was a show that showed you how to show imagination i think anyway!!! All you kids out there I would say if this show ever comes back to TV watch it I definitely recommend it to you I think if u have a good imagination u will love it!!!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
One of the finest.
expo629 August 2005
Warning: Spoilers
This cartoon show was by far one of the absolute gems of the nineteen eighties. Set in medieval Europe, its the story of Six small, multi- colored, immensely charming, bears evading capture from human beings and trying to re- discover their past by numerous action packed adventures everyday. The ordinary becomes the extraordinary in this amazing program. It has spectacular everything, incredible writing, brilliant acting, solid plot and theme, and characters everyone could find something in common with. Honestly, its not just for kids. Everyone can enjoy this program. Coincidentally it was Disney's first ever syndicated television cartoon show, and they obviously put forth tremendous effort. The show must be seen to be believed.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Nostalgic Disney Fun!
OllieSuave-00717 November 2016
When I get home from elementary school, I would turn on the TV and watch the Disney Afternoon - a collection of cartoon shows that usually begins with The Adventures of the Gummi Bears. This show features, as IMDb puts it, a group of human-like bears who possess magic and advanced technology and who were at odds with human beings, thereby, forgetting their purpose. But, after crossing paths with some trusted humans, the Gummi Bears get an opportunity to explore their lost heritage.

I don't remember too much from the show, but it did create nice memories and I did remember it being a whimsical but adventurous story with courageous characters; the Gummi Bears jumping around like bouncing balls resonates in your mind.

It's a very nostalgic cartoon as well that will remind you of your childhood - a show that is miles better than much of those teenage flicks that Disney dishes out today.

Grade B
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Disney's fantasy series
I love this series from Disney, and also fantasy is my top genre. And since it was made in 1985, I am staring to love movies and series that are made on my birth year. My favorite characters from the show are Sunni Gummi (the teenage Gummi girl), Cavin & Princess Calla; I think they are a cute couple. I also love Aquairanne the Mermaid, the first REAL mermaid before The Little Mermaid's Ariel. She only appeared in one episode called "Water Way to Go," and was Gusto's (the artistic Gummi Bear) love interest.

Overall, I love this show, it is another Disney fantasy. And you know, I love the sound of Noelle North's voice when she does the voice of Princess Calla, she almost sound English...English English.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
An Early, Disney Animated TV Cartoon Classic.
Dawalk-111 July 2015
This is one of the shows that jump-started the subsidiary production company/studio: Walt Disney Television Animation (the other being Wuzzles). And what a great start to WDTA it was, and is. When this show premiered, it was over a year before I was born. I don't believe I ever watched it when it originally aired on CBS nor do I remember even watching it after being switched over to ABC. But I positively know for sure I watched it after it began airing as part of the Disney Afternoon block. I think I remember it airing on the Disney Channel too before it got moved to Toon Disney. Unfortunately, I wasn't fortunate enough to watch the Disney Channel with the picture unscrambled (other than for one week a month), thanks to that stupid, premium channel horse-feathers, so my parents wouldn't subscribe to it. We never had Toon Disney as part of our cable package, by the time someone finally decided to drop the premium channel thing, which should've never been conceived and executed in the first place, Toon Disney had already taken in some, certain shows. By the time we finally got the channel formerly known as Toon Disney, it had already been renamed Disney XD.

Not to get too off topic, but I just wanted and had to mention those things. Anyway, back to more about this show. First of all, if anyone wondered why it took as long as it did for a Disney animated t.v. series to be made, then the late Walt Disney's goal to have a cartoon made for the t.v. medium on a higher budget and quality should answer your question. Less than twenty years after Walt's death, this goal was achieved by all those who kept his company alive and they succeeded in what he had planned, and set out to do. I know Walt would've loved this series and the crew who worked on this would've done him proud. The top-notch animation is just one of the reasons this is considered to be one of the best and most beloved TV cartoons, Disney or otherwise, of not only the 1980s, but of all time, and deservedly so. Although there were other animations made for t.v. from that decade before it being on the same level (the various, animated adaptations of certain books for the ABC Weekend Specials). At the time, I hadn't even noticed there was that much difference in the animation qualities nor had I even heard of the term "limited animation" yet. Usually, Disney has been among the best production companies and studios with the greatest animation anyone will find.

A few years back, I became reacquainted with the show and began watching a few episodes on Youtube and Dailymotion a few years back, then to a break, then it was on again with watching what I hadn't seen in years earlier this year. And I've been enjoying them. It's been great seeing them again. An interesting thing is the similarities between this and The Black Cauldron, and what they have in common: Both were released in '85, set in medieval times, and featured aspiring knights (Taran and Cavin), and princesses (Eilonnwy and Calla). It was even more successful than The Black Cauldron. Besides the animation, the 'toon has everything else going for it: Plots, story lines, characters, etc. Pretty much what other reviewers here covered as I must concur. The theme song and the episodes are epic. This is just a well-done series that's truly adventurous overall. At the time, I had no idea just how significant this show was, especially its responsibility and impact on the t.v. animation of the '90s (though as much as I wish there was more consistency with that phenomenon, it wasn't always as much as I thought there would've been). It's full of wonder and the Gummi bears are magnificent. Another reviewer who mentioned trying to tell others about the show mentioned that they had no idea what he was talking about at all. I don't see how no one from that generation could not have heard of nor seen this, unless it pertained to those from a different generation. To all those who may not have already checked it out, I, too, recommended it as it's one of the better t.v. animations, of the '80s or otherwise. The perfect beginning to the assembly line of WDTA productions in the pre-Disney Channel Originals era (1985-2002).
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews