Full Moon in Paris (1984) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Eric Rohmer, how did I ever exist without you?
zetes13 December 2002
Sure, other artists, countless others, have spent their lives depicting the interrelationships of men and women. But I don't know of anyone who so consistently seems to understand human relationships than Eric Rohmer. So few can build as believable characters, such believable situations. Full Moon in Paris concerns a young woman, Louise (Pascale Ogier), who has arrived at a point of extreme confusion: she loves her long-time boyfriend, Rémi (Tchéky Karyo), but she desperately wants to be alone for once in her life. Rémi likes his life the way he has it, living in the suburbs, doing his job, coming home to Louise. But it's all too stifling for her. She rents an apartment in Paris, but that only partly steadies her mind. Louise also has another, more ambiguous boyfriend, Octave (Fabrice Luchini, who appears in several Rohmer films and stars in my very favorite, Perceval le Gallois). Their relationship is definitely on the romantic side, but both seem to be in it, at least most of the time, for each other's company. They can talk, where Rémi isn't an especially gifted conversationalist (not a good character trait if you're in a Rohmer film!). The film moves along as well as any Rohmer film, but for a long time I was pretty sure that Rohmer wouldn't be able to end it in any significant way, that it would end up being a great film (like I say, I couldn't find one of his films any less), but not one of his best. Fortunately, Rohmer really does find the perfect ending, which ends up lifting the film up and making it one of the director's best. The film really benefits from its perfectly written characters and amazing acting, as well. Ogier gives one of the strongest central performances in Rohmer's canon. Fabrice Luchini, man, I love this actor! He stars in my favorite Rohmer film and has a small roll in my second favorite (the vastly underrated 4 Adventures of Reinette and Mirabelle from 1987). Luchini is so perfect here, so subtly hilarious that most will not notice it. During one of Octave's many conversations with Louise, he rattles off a really good line and has to stop to write it down. Louise understandingly excuses herself to the restroom to give him time to get his quip recorded. 9/10.
42 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A woman who is in a relationship tries to create space for her own by living in two houses
asakoyuki22 March 2009
Eric Rohmer is one of my favorite directors because he captures human drama without being dramatic at all. The characters talks, explains their emotions, tries to make themselves understood by others, but there is a constant misunderstanding that cannot be explained. There is a vague feeling of despair and the futility of communication in general. When I first saw Eric Rohmer's film it reminded me of one of those TV shows that tries to portray a normal day-to-day life to teach foreign language. I feel Eric Rohmer's specialty is in this focus on language and communication, not to portray a specific story, but to portray communication and thus leads us to a story "out side" of the communication.
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I gave this movie a 10 rating. What follows is a positive review.
Céline6 February 1999
"Les Nuits de la Pleine Lune" is by far one of the best movies I have seen. Rohmer manages to capture the full complexity of a relationship that is on the rocks. Fabrice Lucini as Octave is very believable, even during his pensive rants in front of the camera for an extended period of time. Pascale Ogier as Louise gives a very good performance, showing us how a woman like Louise acts when caught in the middle of trying to decide between two men and resisting another. She is sometimes seducing, sometimes a devoted girlfriend, and sometimes just acts like she wants to run away from it all. Tchéky Karyo is perfect in his ability to show Remi's awkwardness in social situations. Overall, an excellent movie.

--Céline. Contact me at Niancul@aol.com
27 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Intellectuals, woman in crisis - Yes another Rohmer film
adrean-819-33909830 August 2010
One of the things Rohmer does which I have not seen with any other director is to take a location, seemingly dull, far from beautiful and somehow he renders it of utmost important to his story. In 'La femme d'aviateur' it's the interiors of Paris apartments and a moderate park in Paris called Le Parc de Buttes Chaumont. In 'Pauline a la plage' and 'Le Rayon Vert' there is an emphasis on the changes in people when you take them out of their daily routine and normal environment, specifically when they are on vacation, a very important part of French life.

In this film 'Les nuits de la pleine lune' (Full Moon in Paris) and L'ami de mon amie', he films relatively new suburbs of Paris with new ideas on architecture, new ideas on living and with young successful people. Most directors would never bother to even visit these grotesque modern suburbs, let alone film a film there. However it works with this film and L'ami de mon amie'. Why I don't know, but we know that it is a crucial element to the emotional journey of the main character in this film - her displacement between Paris and the suburbs. She prefers the chaos of Paris to the straight lines and cubism of her suburban apartment.

I thought Pascale Ogier was fantastic as the lead in this film. I think Rohmer has a fantastic knack for choosing lead woman, with only one exception in my mind to this rule. They are usually petite, fragile, mystically beautiful.....What I thought of when watching Pascale Ogier as Louise was a cat. Her slinky movements, her lazy eyes, her calmness, her desire for space - not your average women. I read just one year after making the film she died of a heart attack at the age of 26.

All in all an average or above average Rohmer film (which it not a bad thing). It sweeps over you with it's subtle charms and before you know it you will be under the film's spell.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very 1980s
skepticskeptical29 July 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I went to Paris for the first time a couple of years after this film was made. It was my very first trip to Europe, and I stayed for three months. Many memories have been rehydrated by this film. But I've noticed that just about every film made in the 1980s looks dated (and this one is no exception) because of the extreme adherence to the bizarre dictates of fashion of that decade: big hair, disco-dancing, high-waisted jeans and big shoulders. Everyone smacks vaguely of Madonna from that era. You cannot really mistake the images for any other decade.

As far as content, the film itself offers a great deal of philosophizing on relationships. Based on a couple of examples, I would say, in fact, that Roemer is probably more of a philosopher than a film maker. Not that this film is bad, but its focus is on ideas, not so much visuals. Throughout this lengthy examination of relationships, I found myself wondering why anyone would find Louise attractive given her rather annoying demeanor. So I suppose that the ending was predictable. And everyone knows what happens after the curtain comes down: Octave loses all interest in Louise the moment she becomes receptive to him.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Gotta love it!
LeRoyMarko14 January 2004
I enjoy this film very much. Rohmer as a way to describe feelings, to describe how those feelings can get all twisted sometimes. Love and the numerous questions it brings is well put to light. Books, smart funny talks and more... Pascale Ogier is superb. As for Fabrice Luchini, he's one of my favorite actor. He performs so well in this kind of role. And the name "Octave" fits him like a glove!

Out of 100, I gave it 81. That's good for *** out of ****.

Seen at home, in Toronto, on January 14, 2003.
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Superb film
DapperDustin6 August 2020
This was a treat to see. I loved the storyline, Great acting and plot twists. Great Parisian locales throughout. Highly recommended. The ending was the most thoughtful in the lead role.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Rohmer, Rohmer and again Rohmer
jromanbaker5 February 2021
If I had only one director's films to live with I would choose Rohmer. If I had to reduce his output to ten I would choose all of the six that make up the ' Comedies and Proverbs ' series, plus a couple from his ' Four Seasons ' and a couple from his ' Moral Tales. ' Les nuits de la pleine lune ' the fourth in his ' Comedies and Proverbs ' is his most tragic, and bears endless watching. It shows how an emotional house cannot be a divided one. As simple and as complex as that. Pascale Ogier is excellent in the role of a young woman who must live quite literally in two places; one with her partner in the suburbs, the other in Paris. She wants freedom and she wants to be attached and during the night of a full moon this situation comes to a climax. It is tragic because the outcome is not her choice, and I for one feel that this will be repeated again and again. She loves to be admired and wanted, and yet she is not at all promiscuous. I was struck too by the decors of both places and Rohmer's use of colour. Blue predominates. In her place in Paris she decorates it herself, and in her partner's place she seems to have only a small amount of choice. I could try to interpret the meaning of this, and also the meaning of the full moon which seems as meaningful as the sun in ' Le Rayon Vert ' also in the same series, but I will not indulge in analysis. I will only mention one observation; the moon is a sort of cold madness, while the sun in ' Le Rayon Vert ' and the experience of witnessing the elusive Green Ray before the sun sets promises the warmth of love. As usual Rohmer's choice of actors is perfect and that his dialogue is rich and clear. Why is he my favourite director ? That too is a mystery to me. I want to keep it that way because if I explained it to myself I might lose the magic of his films.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Film Review - Full Moon in Paris (1984) 7.5/10
lasttimeisaw28 August 2020
"But Louise cannot have her cake and eat it too, she is over-confident in rationalizing her and Remi's situation, openly suggesting that their relationship can be terminated if they find someone else whom they love more, only to be hoisted by her own petard, after finally bringing a random guy to her pied-à-terre, Louise has a rude awakening on this night of full moon, that she has finally gotten over with meaningless sex, and it is Remy, their home in the banlieue beckon her, however, Rohmer makes it clear that it is not just she who has the say-so in this precarious relationship, but at the very least, she has some place to return to when her entire world crumbles down."

read my full review on my blog: cinema omnivore, thanks
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
interesting adult drama
MartinHafer2 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This story is about a couple living together. Over and over, Louise tells Remi that she loves him but their lives are so different it's hard to imagine them staying together. She loves to party and he's a real home body. In fact, she loves living "the single life" so much, she's arranged to have an apartment for herself in Paris so she can stay there much of the time--all the while insisting that she loves Remi. He begs her to stay, but she insists on spending part of her life in town alone. Well, over time, she slowly begins to pull away from him--especially when she starts to suspect HE might be cheating on her (though SHE was the one who made all the arrangements to make it possible for her to do the cheating). So, since she assumes he's cheating, she picks a guy to sleep with--no love--just a one night stand. Well, she returns home to Remi only to discover that he, too, is having an affair but his is very serious and he asks her to leave. This seems to be a great example of the old saying "be careful what you ask for--you might just get it".

The acting is good and the story pretty involving. I like it because nothing in the movie happens by accident--Louise sets everything in motion and then is surprised when the life she chose occurs. There's a lot of irony and some lessons about relationships here.

PS--this is NOT a good film for kids. First, they would be bored by the story and because you get to see a pretty explicit view of Louise late in the film. Be forewarned.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Eric Rohmer's Comedies et Proverbes series:Part 4.
morrison-dylan-fan31 July 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Expecting to find all the extras in the DVD box set to be placed in the final,I was surprised to find a bonus DVD inside the case for the 4th title in Éric Rohmer's loose series,which led to me looking up at the moon in Paris.

The plot:

While happy with her boyfriend Remi,Louise is unable to brush away a desire to have her own personal space.Moving away to her own flat in Paris,Louise makes a deal with Remi,that they will only break up if either of them falls in love with someone else.Moving away from Remi,Louise soon discovers that this deal will have to be faced earlier than she expected.

View on the film:

Spending most of the movie in flats, (with the odd breakout of dancing at parties in the outside world) writer/director Éric Rohmer and cinematographer Renato Berta sterilise Louise's rooms,which are breached out in saturated whites and dour blacks.Leaving Louise on her own,Rohmer boils up a minimalist atmosphere that cuts any music from the soundtrack and leaves Louise's hollow footsteps as the lone sound. Spanning a number of months,the screenplay by Rohmer captures Louise's belief of everything remaining still,whilst she takes her own sidetracks.Whilst this does catch some of Louise "in the moment" thinking,it also leads to an emotional depth between Louise and Remi never fully being explored. For his major auteur focus on the bourgeoisie,Rohmer gives Louise's relationships a bitter after taste,but disappointingly keeps the focus on the incredibly dry surface of Louise's life,as a full moon appears in Paris.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Another Rohmer film about a woman
Gerry-1230 October 2000
Maybe I've OD'd on Rohmer, just having looked at this film, "My Girlfriend's Boyfriend" and "The Aviator's Wife" (all on DVD)in a single week. This has the silly addition to Rohmer's other obsessions, of the idea that the full moon causes unusual behavior. Actually the girl behaves just the way the protagonists of the other films do when the phase of the moon is unspecified, that is, very indecisive. The main male character is nicer than the one in most of Rohmer's films.
6 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Boring and unlikeable characters
smithwillsafice5 June 2019
I gave this film a chance. I really did. It is made up of extremely long and drawn out scenes where the main character is completely indecisive. It feels like not much happens at all in the film, except for the last 20 minutes, and even that is woefully unsatisfying. Don't waste your time
2 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed