Alvin & the Chipmunks (TV Series 1983–1990) Poster

(1983–1990)

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Childhood memories...
Monika-54 March 2002
Another Saturday morning cartoon I have a soft spot for...I even got a Chipmunks coloring book for Christmas one year! Cute characters and stories, and I thought it was so cool that Alvin, Simon and Theodore sang and did videos to the hot pop songs of the day (Up Where We Belong, Hungry Like The Wolf, etc). OK, it's cheesy now but it was great fun. By the way, has anyone else noticed that the Chipmunks theme song and Van Halen's "Jump" sound awfully similar?
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I LOVED this show when I was a kid!!!
dootuss14 November 2002
"Alvin and the Chipmunks" was, and is STILL one of my childhood favorites. This show had good story plots, characters, humor, and it was original. The music was great as well. I loved it when Alvin, Simon and Theodore were singing songs from that time, and years earlier. This show is indeed one of the best. P.S. Don't watch the episodes where they lampoon movies. Those ones suck.

This gets a perfect 10!
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A classic cartoon!
Legend_Killa16 May 2006
I just came across the theme song (we're The Chipmunks ooohhhh!). I started crying when I heard it because it reminded me of a happier time. A time when my entire week was built up toward Saturday morning TV. Once Saturday morning TV was over, a cloud of darkness appeared because I knew that I had school on Monday. This cartoon was one of the classic cartoons of all time. I feel sorry for todays generation, they don't get to experience the Saturday morning TV that my generation got to experience.

This cartoon is up there with Captain Planet, Thundercats and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another great '80's cartoon
tweiss198119 March 2001
This was probably the one cartoon made by Ruby-Spears Enterprises that lasted more than two seasons, but this is still a great cartoon. Even today, it looks more meticulously drawn and animated than a lot of other American cartoons now. I am a child of the '80s, and I grew up watching this show. It makes me wonder why we don't draw cartoons to this caliber anymore.

Most of the episodes are about the Seville brothers Alvin, Simon and Theodore, who often get themselves into a jam, and needing to get out of it, without causing too much more trouble (and without getting Dave too angry). The three chipmunks kept their old personalities from "The Alvin Show" (1961), but they now have different voices. Sometimes they also involve the Chipettes, known as Brittany, Jeanette and Eleanor.

They also did some spoofs on TV shows of the '80's era. They included "The A-Team", "Miami Vice", "Charlie's Angels", "Moonlighting", (that episode is a favorite of mine) etc. The Chipmunks also occasionally go into a song number, but it's not stupid Disney-like garbage. They performed "Surfin' USA", "Uptown Girl", "Do you Love me", "Monster Mash", and even classic '80's hits like "Beat It". Makes you feel all nostalgic inside...

"The Chipmunks Go To the Movies" offered parodies of late '80's/early '90s movies, like "Honey, I Shrunk the Kids", "King Kong", "A Christmas Carol", and "Batman".

This cartoon is currently running in syndication on Cartoon Network. If you can, I suggest to try it. You'll love it. And if anyone hates the boys just because they're chipmunks who appear to be living in a human world...well, Bugs Bunny is taller than Elmer Fudd, but no one gripes about it. "Anyting's possible inna cartoon!" -Bugs Bunny

Ross Bagdasarian's son, Ross Bagdasarian, Jr., did this cartoon in 1983, and had a movie, "The Chipmunk Adventure", in 1987. Pick it up today!

The 1980s had some of the coolest cartoons. It's, like, the stuff of legend, dude. Alvin and the Chipmunks forever....
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good show
I used to watch this show when I was a little girl. I only remember it vaguely, though. If you ask me, it was a good show. I remember the opening sequence and theme song vaguely, too. In addition to that, everyone was ideally cast. Also, the writing was very strong. The performances were top-grade, too. I hope some network brings it back so I can see every episode. Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say that I'll always remember this show in my memory forever, even though I don't think I've seen every episode. Now, in conclusion, if some network ever brings it back, I hope that you catch it one day before it goes off the air for good.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I love the Chipmunks
klutzulmaniack25 September 2005
I think anything to do with the Chipmunks is AMAZING. I have been a fan of the series ALL the series for years now.

Since then I've wished to have them at home. The songs are catchy all the movies and series are GREAT if your a real Chipmunks fan you'll appreciate all the series and their cuteness and the fact that they and the Chipette's are so cute.

The series I would particularly like is "The Chimunks" and "Alvin and the Chipmunks".

Alvin is cute and a lead singer. He's a babe and a star, Simon is smart back up singer and helps Alvins stay in line, Theodore is little babyish plays the drums loves his brothers and food.

Brittany is a perfect match for Alvin she's also cute lead singer and very conceited she and Alvin are constantly challenging each other as they are both stubborn. Jeanette isn't so much naturally smart but more so clumsy and a gorgeous dweeb she's interested in the same things as Simon only that she must study to be half his equal. Eleanor and Theodore are a very good match because they share the same interests they both like food and are both chubby and proud except little blonde Eleanor is maternal and not so innocent.

P.S. Does anyone know where it's possible to buy the series?!! Thanx
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
good cartoon; skewed message
kaimal10 August 2002
Alvin, Simon, and Theodore were three characters young boys could relate to: one was brainy, one hungry, and the other naughty. They practically represented the personalities of all boys. However, the plots mainly centered around the world of males. Unfortunately, the creators of the show brought in female characters in reaction to this, each the antithesis of their male counterparts. Invariably, they would often compete with the boys, and the boys ALWAYS lost. They never won, and while these scenarios might have given girls inspiration and confidence in the real world; the show's creators completely forgot about the young boys who originally tuned in to watch the chipmunks harmless antics. Ultimately, the message the show gave young boys was that girls are competition. The creators of the show should have emphasized a message of cooperation like they do in many present day cartoons. Instead, by having the girls beat the boys in practically every episode they were in, many young boys grew to resent the idea of female empowerment-- an idea no young boy should learn to resent.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Classic 80's Cartoon
Mariorox6 May 2000
What can I say? This was the perfect way to begin the excellent animation generation of the 80's. It had great plots, characters, humor, & originality. It also had great music. The Chipmunks had a cartoon series before. It was also very good. This is more of an updated versian of the original classic. And unlike other updates, doesn't ruin the original style. This is what cartoon animation is all about...FUN, Creativity, & just plain good.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's been a while but we're back in style!
CocaCola1817 June 2003
...yeah yeah I know I know... I still remember the theme tune to Alvin and The Chipmunks... but if truth be known they still air this cartoon which is a massive signal to show the fact that this was a good cartoon... It's simple really three Chipmunks that have been adopted by a human (yeah I know!) Dave! The cartoon follows the wacky antics of Theodore, Simon and that damn pesky Alvin!

Ah the memories!
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ah, childhood...
TheLittleSongbird9 June 2010
When I was a kid, I loved this show and the movie The Chipmunk Adventure. At 18, I still love it, it is just so endearing and fun with wonderful characters especially.

The animation is very good, bright, colourful and lively and it should be. The music is another strong asset, the theme song is among the catchiest theme songs I have ever heard on an animated show. The story lines are simple, but engrossing and well constructed, and the writing is superb, hilarious and touching, and it is one of those instances where every joke that occurs works. The characters are really likable, Alvin, Simon, Theodore, David, Miss Miller et al. just wonderful characters with unique personalities. And the voice acting is top-notch, very expressive and dynamic.

Overall, wonderful underrated show from my childhood. 10/10 Bethany Cox
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A hip cartoon show!
OllieSuave-00721 February 2018
This was a hip cartoon show that I've watched during my childhood - about three chipmunks named Alvin, Simon, and Theodore and their misadventures, with their adopted owner, Dave, thrown into the mix. I've always remember Alvin to be the adventurous one, Simon to be the brainy one, and Theodore to be the cuddly and thoughtful one.

A different cartoon that shows the hipness and a little bit of young-adult fun that attracts an audience of all ages. A catching opening tune and some unique stories.

Grade B
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The beginning of a beautiful friendship!
morgan-wikstrom24 August 2005
The Chipmunks are almost unknown here in Sweden, but in the mid-1990s one TV channel showed the 1980-90s series on Sunday mornings. I found it by sheer coincidence while zapping between channels, and it was love at first sight! I was a nearly 30-yrs old cartoon buff with the penchant for classic Looney Tunes and the like, I couldn't dream of falling for a cutesy-pootsy "kiddies" cartoon like that. But I simply HAD TO get up early every Sunday morning to watch it! The plots were usually rather tame (with some brilliant exceptions), but the dialog was fun and witty with lots of jokes a grown-up could appreciate. And these little guys were soooo CUTE and so COOL! The animation was so well done, and then there was the MUSIC!! It was so fun hearing those classic rock-and-roll tunes sung with those silly Chip&Dale-type voices.

But I must admit it took a few episodes to get the grip of things. Like: What are these very peculiar-looking little boys supposed to be? "Chipmunks"???!!!... They doesn't look the slightest like chipmunks to me. Why are they goofing around in those ridiculous nightshirts all the time? Why are they living with that human guy in a realistically drawn human world? All other talking cartoon animals live among other cartoon animals, not among humans. Weird, weird...

For many years I assumed The Chipmunks was something new, that David Seville was just a cartoon character, and Alvin, Simon and Theodore had always looked like their 1980-90s versions. I didn't knew there had been something before! So it was rather confusing to come across songs written by "David Seville", plush animals from 1959 resembling an ugly rat or distorted guinea-pig but supposed to be "Alvin from the Chipmunks", gramophone records from 1960 showing the boys as "real" chipmunks on the cover, and so on! But the Internet soon made all clear to me. Anyway, a great cartoon, so unlike the mass produced cheap crap of today (but the "Chipmunks goes to the Movies" series were rather poor -the movie spoofs were often not even funny).
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Alvin, Simon, Theodore! Do, Do, Do, Do ,Do , Do!
wchngliu2 July 2007
Alvin and The Chipmunks is one of my all-time favourite cartoons alongside Johnny Bravo and Thundercats. The success of the show later spawned remakes in 1983, 1989 and The Chipmunks Go To The Movies: a cartoon that featured renditions of famous Hollywood movies such as Frankenstein, Indiana Jones, Back To The Future and a chipmunk version of Batman entitled: Batmunk to name.

The stories were great, the characters were extremely likable and cute plus, the music was your standard pop and rock fare. Of course music was an important part of the 80s decade and from there onwards, it has become a cultural phenomenon. But very rarely were there cartoons where popular music was used as a theme within the narratives- and yet Alvin and The Chipmunks was the only animated programme that I know of, which successfully combined animation and great story lines with renditions of contemporary Popular and Rock anthems. These anthems included Michael Jackson's 'Beat It', Joan Jett and the Blackhearts 'I Love Rock'n'roll' performed by The Chippettes and The Beatles 'A Hard Day's Night'. The personalities of the three chipmunks brothers couldn't be any more different: Alvin was the so-called hell-raiser/trouble maker and lead vocalist of the band, whose antics often upset Dave, their adoptive father; Simon was the geek and intellectual who was on keyboards and/or the piano whilst Theodor was the slightly overweight,but innocent and sweet looking one, of whom played the drums.

This show was shown a lot on TV during the 80s and I used to tune in from school to watch these guys. As I mentioned, the opening sequence was excellent, the theme song is one of the most instantly recognisable, not to mention sing-a-long TV anthems, ever and the stories were varied but wonderful. And whilst this was originally a 60s creation on the part of Ross Bagdasarian, he and his son and wife Janice Karman have rightfully carried the touch for this show and thus their efforts have, in the process, gained a new generation of fans alongside the older generation throughout the 80s, 90s and today.

Watching these episodes brings back so many great memories. As an 80s child, it was a great decade for cartoons and Alvin and The Chipmunks was entertaining,great nostalgic fun that people of all ages can enjoy. And this was a great show.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So Many good memories, I can barely choose!
rorymacveigh18 July 2012
Warning: Spoilers
As a child, I used to spend a lot of time in the United States during the late 1990s and if there was anything that invokes good memories of that innocent time of my life, it has to be the three singing Chipmunks, Alvin, Simon and Theodore Seville. Although the show's original run had ended before I was born, reruns could still be seen on Cartoon Network's Saturday Morning Show, and it as just great. I remember sitting in front of our Television in Vermont watching this show with a bowl of cereal in my lap. For me and my brother, such a brilliant little show was a stark difference to the nothingness that was on at home, and when we had to go back to the UK, we essentially died inside when it came to the fact that we couldn't watch Alvin and the Chipmunks until we went back to the USA. Eventually we got a Skybox but by that time it had been taken off the air.

Now you may be wondering, what's to like about 3 singing Chipmunks? The answer is, everything! The stories, the songs, the characters and most of all, the innocence of it all. Unlike the swarm of Japanese shows that were starting to invade Cartoon Network like Digimon, Pokemon and Beyblade, where start to finish was non stop cartoon barbarism, Alvin and the Chipmunks was almost a last shred to that time of the 1980s where kids shows were made to be unintentionally innocent but still have their fair share of innuendos, almost like an earlier Animaniacs except for the Cartoon Barbarism. Also, the show wasn't like modern equivalents in the sense that it didn't go out of its way to be deliberately disgusting. Most shows that took AATC's place on the Saturday morning show had prolonged scenes of disgust and toilet humour that really should have been run during the middle of the day during school time, I saw no real enjoyment in it and sometimes felt physically sick.

AATC on the other hand managed to blend humour with innocence without having to resort to the lowest common denominator of toilet humour and disgusting, overly violent stereotypes. All this innocence and humour would always be wrapped up in a song, and you have to hand it to Ross Bagdasarian, his ability to write really good songs of continuing originality must make him one of the great songwriters, up there with Jeff Lynne or Freddie Mercury. It could also be said that AATC got me into my Rock n' Roll choice of music as they would often use existing songs from bands of the 70s and 80s, songs which were actually worth a listen and weren't fully laden with swear words and descriptions of one's sexual fantasies.

Of course the most important things were the stories. Each story had a moral and each story was unique in itself. I can't say I've watched every episode, but I don't seem to remember any episodes that didn't have at least some originality in them from the previous episodes. Most of the episodes had the tale of Alvin getting into trouble and it was up to him to get out of it before Dave found out, but each and every situation he was put it was unique and what happened between start and finish was always different and always had you wondering whether he would be able to fix his messes in time.

Overall, this has to be one of my favourite TV shows from my childhood, bringing back some of the best memories of my holidays as well as my youthful years of innocence. When and if I ever have children, I wish to introduce them to this show as well so they can get a true idea of what kids programming in the 80s and 90s was really like.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"We're the Chipmunks"
famelovingboy6815 June 2003
I totally love this show, I wish it was easier to find on television. I haven't seen it on tv, for along time, and it was on Cartoon Network. The characters paired together are perfect. Alvin the schemeful troublemaker who often does things that are illegal and oh, I love Dave's Trademark, getting his patience tested regularly, going, "Alvinn! Simon being the smart one, and Theodore the tenderhearted, fat one who eats alot, and has the most squeaky voice. The characters are perfect. There's always a great misadventure.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Brilliant
Sammy-2830 April 2002
I used to watch this when I was little now I am 15 and I still love it The chipmunks are so sweet!! And I love there songs 10/10 one of the best cartoons better than rubbish stuff like Edd,Ed and Eddy or Tom and Jerry.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Better than expected.
gte015v8 March 2001
I was channel surfing when I came across "Alvin and the Chipmunks." I decided to watch it, it might be amusing. I was surprised, I was expecting a corny 80's cartoon with dumb jokes. And, well, it IS a corny 80's cartoon, but the jokes are much better than I expected. I don't know how to explain it; picture this: Alvin and the chipmunks have run away from home, and they order coffee at a diner. The waitress asks, "Aren't you a little young for coffee?" to which Alvin replies in a surly tone and that ridiculously high voice: "We're orphans. No one cares if we stunt our growth." Just re-watch it with an open mind. And...ignore the dumb songs in each episode.
0 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed